DETAILED ACTION
Summary
Since the Office Action mailed on 14 July 2025, no amendments to the claims were made and claims 1, 4-7, and 9-13 remain in the application, which is being further examined in this Office Action, as well as applicant remarks being fully considered and responded to.
The 102 rejection is maintained in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-7, 9-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mikhaylik et al (US 2014/0062411 A1). This reference cited as Mikhaylik in this Office Action hereinafter.
Regarding claim 1, Mikhaylik discloses an electrochemical device for a lithium-sulfur battery (“The lithium batteries described herein may include an anode having lithium ( e.g., lithium metal, a lithium intercalation compound, or a lithium alloy) as the active anode species and a cathode having sulfur as the active cathode species.” [0026]) comprising:
a positive electrode (“Cathode 30 may include an active cathode material 32” [0030]), a negative electrode (“anode 10 comprising an active anode material layer 18” [0030]), and an electrolyte complex (“battery 6 includes a first polymer layer 24 residing at the anode and a second polymer layer 40 residing at the cathode” [0039]);
wherein the positive electrode comprises sulfur (“an active cathode material 32 (e.g., sulfur)” [0030]),
wherein the negative electrode comprises lithium (“an active anode material layer 18 ( e.g., lithium metal)” [0030]),
wherein the electrolyte complex comprises a first solid phase electrolyte (“a second polymer layer 40 residing at the cathode” [0039]) and a second solid phase electrolyte (“a first polymer layer 24 residing at the anode” [0039]),
wherein the first solid phase electrolyte and the second solid phase electrolyte are different from each other (“a "heterogeneous electrolyte" is an electrolyte including at least two different liquid solvents ( oftentimes referred to herein as first and second electrolyte solvents, or anode-side and cathode-side electrolyte solvents)” [0028]) and form a layered structure (“The two different liquid solvents may be miscible or immiscible with one another, although in many aspects of the invention, electrolyte systems include one or more solvents that are immiscible ( or can be made immiscible within the cell) to the extent that they will largely separate and at least one can be isolated from at least one component of the cell. A heterogeneous electrolyte may be in the form of a liquid, a gel, or a combination thereof.” [0028], and furthermore “The first and second electrolyte solvents were chosen for this particular electrochemical cell because dibutyl Ether does not dissolve polysulfide and is immiscible with polysulfides Solutions in 1,2-dimethoxyethane. Accordingly, the first and second electrolytes were expected to partition in this electrochemical cell.” [0120]),
wherein the first solid phase electrolyte faces the positive electrode (“a second polymer layer 40 residing at the cathode” [0039]) and the second solid phase electrolyte faces the negative electrode (“a first polymer layer 24 residing at the anode” [0039]),
wherein the first solid phase electrolyte comprises a first organic solvent having dielectric constant of 30 or more (“The cathode-side electrolyte solvent may have a relatively higher solubility towards polysulfides, but may be more reactive towards lithium metal. By separating the electrolyte solvents during operation of the battery such that the anode-side electrolyte solvent is present disproportionately at the anode and the cathode-side electrolyte solvent is present disproportionately at the cathode, the battery can benefit from desirable characteristics of both electrolyte solvents (e.g., relatively low lithium reactivity of the anode-side electrolyte solvent and relatively high polysulfide solubility of the cathode-side electrolyte solvent).” [0026], “electrolyte Solvents such as 1,2-dimethoxyethane have relatively high polysulfide solubility but are more reactive towards lithium metal, and, therefore, can cause corrosion of the anode and/or poor lithium morphology. Accordingly, in Some embodiments, batteries described herein include a heterogeneous electrolyte comprising at least a first electrolyte solvent and a second electrolyte solvent, wherein the first electrolyte solvent, which has characteristics that are more favorable towards the anode, is present disproportionately at the anode during operation of the battery, and the second electrolyte solvent, which has characteristics that are more favorable towards the cathode, is present disproportionately at the cathode.” [0031], and “Specific liquid electrolyte solvents that may be favorable towards the cathode ( e.g., have relatively high polysulfide solubility, and/or can enable high rate capability and/or high sulfur utilization) include, but are not limited to dimethoxyethane (DME, 1,2-dimethoxyethane) or glyme, diglyme, triglyme, tetraglyme, polyglymes, sulfolane” [0062] with italics added for emphasis on the common rationale behind selecting compounds for the corresponding first organic solvent and on dimethoxyethane and sulfolane being an alternative compounds to each other where sulfolane is a sulfone-based component that has a dielectric constant of 43.4), a first lithium salt (“a polymer layer is formed by depositing a mixture of a monomer and a solvent (e.g., an electrolyte solvent), optionally including other components such as crosslinking agents, lithium salts, etc., onto an electrode surface.” [0057] with italics added for emphasis, where “ionic electrolyte salts for use in the electrolytes of the present invention include, but are not limited to, LiSCN, LiBr, LiI, LiClO4, LiAsF6, LiSO3CF3, LiSO3CH3, LiBF4, LiB(Ph)4, LiPF6, LiC(SO2CF3)3, and LiN(SO2CF3)2.” [0070] and a “The cathode and porous separator were filled with 84 wt % of 1,2-dimethoxyethane and 16 wt % of salt-lithium bis(trifluoromethanesulfoneimide) ( e.g., a second electrolyte solvent).” [0116] was used in Example 6), a first polymer formed by polymerization of a first crosslinkable monomer (“a polymer layer is formed by depositing a mixture of a monomer and a solvent (e.g., an electrolyte solvent), optionally including other components such as crosslinking agents, lithium salts, etc., onto an electrode surface. The mixture may then be polymerized and/or crosslinked to form a polymer gel.” [0057]) and a first inorganic particle (“polymer layer(s) in contact with the anode or cathode, the polymer layer(s) may optionally comprise a filler. The filler may be dispersed within the polymer, may be added as a layer on the polymer, and/or may fill any pores in the polymer. The filler may comprise, for example, a metal, a polymer, or a ceramic. In one embodiment, the filler is a heterogeneous insoluble material. The filler may comprise, in some embodiments, a metal oxide, an oxy-hydroxide, a sulfide, a nitride, or a combination thereof. For example, the filler may include one or more of Al2O3, AlOOH, SiO2 , AlN, BN, and Li3N” [0054]),
wherein the second solid phase electrolyte comprises a second organic solvent having dielectric constant of 20 or less (“By separating the electrolyte solvents during operation of the battery such that the anode-side electrolyte solvent is present disproportionately at the anode and the cathode-side electrolyte solvent is present disproportionately at the cathode, the battery can benefit from desirable characteristics of both electrolyte solvents (e.g., relatively low lithium reactivity of the anode-side electrolyte solvent” [0026], “For instance, an electrolyte including the solvent dioxolane generally has relatively low reactivity towards lithium and has good lithium ion conductivity, but has relatively low polysulfide solubility” [0031], further supported in “partitioning of a heterogeneous electrolyte such that a first electrolyte solvent that has characteristics favorable towards the anode (e.g., low reactivity towards lithium, good lithium ion conductivity, and relatively low polysulfide solubility) is present disproportionately at the anode” [0043] with italics collectively added to link the common rationale behind selecting dioxolane as the corresponding second organic solvent, which is known in the art to have a dielectric constant of about 7.13), a second polymer formed by polymerization of a second crosslinkable monomer (“a polymer layer is formed by depositing a mixture of a monomer and a solvent (e.g., an electrolyte solvent), optionally including other components such as crosslinking agents, lithium salts, etc., onto an electrode surface. The mixture may then be polymerized and/or crosslinked to form a polymer gel.” [0057]) and a second inorganic particle (“polymer layer(s) in contact with the anode or cathode, the polymer layer(s) may optionally comprise a filler. The filler may be dispersed within the polymer, may be added as a layer on the polymer, and/or may fill any pores in the polymer. The filler may comprise, for example, a metal, a polymer, or a ceramic. In one embodiment, the filler is a heterogeneous insoluble material. The filler may comprise, in some embodiments, a metal oxide, an oxy-hydroxide, a sulfide, a nitride, or a combination thereof. For example, the filler may include one or more of Al2O3, AlOOH, SiO2 , AlN, BN, and Li3N” [0054]),
wherein the second lithium salt and the second polymer are dispersed in the second solid phase electrolyte (“a polymer layer is formed by depositing a mixture of a monomer and a solvent (e.g., an electrolyte solvent), optionally including other components such as crosslinking agents, lithium salts, etc., onto an electrode surface. The mixture may then be polymerized and/or crosslinked to form a polymer gel.” [0057] and “The filler may be dispersed within the polymer” [0054]),
wherein the first organic solvent is selected from the group consisting of sulfone-based organic solvent (sulfolane” [0062] with italics added for emphasis on sulfolane, which is sulfone based and has a dielectric constant of 43.4), carbonate-based organic solvent and gamma-butyrolactone, and
wherein the second organic solvent is selected from the group consisting of tetrahydrofuran and dioxolane (“relatively low lithium reactivity of the anode-side electrolyte solvent” [0026], “For instance, an electrolyte including the solvent dioxolane generally has relatively low reactivity towards lithium” [0031]).
Regarding claim 4¸ Mikhaylik discloses the electrochemical device for a lithium-sulfur battery with all the features set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein the first lithium salt is at least one selected from the group consisting of lithium bis(trifluoromethane sulfonyl)imide, lithium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide, lithium perchlorate, lithium hexafluoroarsenate, lithium tetrafluoroborate, lithium hexafluorophosphate, lithium hexafluoroantimonate, lithium difluoromethane sulfonate, lithium aluminate, lithium tetrachloroaluminate, lithium chloride, lithium iodide, lithium bis(oxalate)borate, and lithium trifluoromethane sulfonyl imide (“ionic electrolyte salts for use in the electrolytes of the present invention include, but are not limited to, LiSCN, LiBr, LiI, LiClO4, LiAsF6, LiSO3CF3, LiSO3CH3, LiBF4, LiB(Ph)4, LiPF6, LiC(SO2CF3)3, and LiN(SO2CF3)2.” [0070] and a “The cathode and porous separator were filled with 84 wt % of 1,2-dimethoxyethane and 16 wt % of salt-lithium bis(trifluoromethanesulfoneimide) ( e.g., a second electrolyte solvent).” [0116] was used in Example 6).
Regarding claim 5, Mikhaylik discloses the electrochemical device for a lithium-sulfur battery with all the features set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein the first crosslinkable monomer is at least one selected from the group consisting of polyethylene glycol diacrylate (“Monomers can also be crosslinked, if desired, with any suitable crosslinker, such as aziridines, divinyibenzene, diacrylates,” [0053]), triethylene glycol diacrylate (“Monomers can also be crosslinked, if desired, with any suitable crosslinker, such as aziridines, divinyibenzene, diacrylates,” [0053]), trimethylolpropane ethoxylate triacrylate, and bisphenol A ethoxylate dimethacrylate (“Monomers can also be crosslinked, if desired, with any suitable crosslinker, such as aziridines, divinyibenzene, diacrylates, dimethacrylates,” [0053]).
Regarding claim 6, Mikhaylik discloses the electrochemical device for a lithium-sulfur battery with all the features set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein the first inorganic particle is at least one selected from the group consisting of alumina (Al2O3), silicon dioxide (SiO2), titanium dioxide (TiO2), barium titanate (BaTiO3), lithium oxide (Li2O), lithium fluoride (LiF), lithium hydroxide (LiOH), lithium nitride (Li3N), barium oxide (BaO), sodium oxide (Na2O), lithium carbonate (Li2CO3), calcium carbonate (CaCO3), lithium aluminate (LiAlO2), strontium titanate (SrTiO3), tin oxide (SnO2), cerium oxide (CeO2), magnesium oxide (MgO), nickel oxide (NiO) calcium oxide (CaO), zinc oxide (ZnO), zirconium dioxide (ZrO2), and silicon carbide (SiC) (“the filler may include one or more of Al2O3, AlOOH, SiO2, AlN, BN, and Li3N” [0054] with italics added for emphasis on the disclosed compounds that correspond to the claimed first inorganic particle).
Regarding claim 7, Mikhaylik discloses the electrochemical device for a lithium-sulfur battery with all the features set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein a thickness of the first solid phase electrolyte is 100 µm or less (“The thickness of a polymer layer may vary, e.g., over a range from about 0.1 microns to about 100 microns” [0056]).
Regarding claim 9, Mikhaylik discloses the electrochemical device for a lithium-sulfur battery with all the features set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein the second organic solvent is dioxolane (“A gel polymer electrolyte was formed by mixing 8.9 g of electrolyte ( dimethoxyethane ( 40% ), dioxolane ( 40% )” [0100] with italics added for emphasis in Example 1).
Regarding claim 10, Mikhaylik discloses the electrochemical device for a lithium-sulfur battery with all the features set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein the second lithium salt is at least one selected from the group consisting of lithium bis(trifluoromethane sulfonyl)imide, lithium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide, lithium perchlorate, lithium hexafluoroarsenate, lithium tetrafluoroborate, lithium hexafluorophosphate, lithium hexafluoroantimonate, lithium difluoromethane sulfonate, lithium aluminate, lithium tetrachloroaluminate, lithium chloride, lithium iodide, lithium bis(oxalate)borate, and lithium trifluoromethane sulfonyl imide (“ionic electrolyte salts for use in the electrolytes of the present invention include, but are not limited to, LiSCN, LiBr, LiI, LiClO4, LiAsF6, LiSO3CF3, LiSO3CH3, LiBF4, LiB(Ph)4, LiPF6, LiC(SO2CF3)3, and LiN(SO2CF3)2.” [0070] and a “The cathode and porous separator were filled with 84 wt % of 1,2-dimethoxyethane and 16 wt % of salt-lithium bis(trifluoromethanesulfoneimide) ( e.g., a second electrolyte solvent).” [0116] was used in Example 6).
Regarding claim 11, Mikhaylik discloses the electrochemical device for a lithium-sulfur battery with all the features set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein the second crosslinkable monomer is at least one selected from the group consisting of polyethylene glycol diacrylate (“Monomers can also be crosslinked, if desired, with any suitable crosslinker, such as aziridines, divinyibenzene, diacrylates,” [0053]), triethylene glycol diacrylate (“Monomers can also be crosslinked, if desired, with any suitable crosslinker, such as aziridines, divinyibenzene, diacrylates,” [0053]), trimethylolpropane ethoxylate triacrylate, and bisphenol A ethoxylate dimethacrylate (“Monomers can also be crosslinked, if desired, with any suitable crosslinker, such as aziridines, divinyibenzene, diacrylates, dimethacrylates,” [0053]).
Regarding claim 12, Mikhaylik discloses the electrochemical device for a lithium-sulfur battery with all the features set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein the second inorganic particle is at least one selected from the group consisting of alumina (Al2O3), silicon dioxide (SiO2), titanium dioxide (TiO2), barium titanate (BaTiO3), lithium oxide (Li2O), lithium fluoride (LiF), lithium hydroxide (LiOH), lithium nitride (Li3N), barium oxide (BaO), sodium oxide (Na2O), lithium carbonate (Li2CO3), calcium carbonate (CaCO3), lithium aluminate (LiAlO2), strontium titanate (SrTiO3), tin oxide (SnO2), cerium oxide (CeO2), magnesium oxide (MgO), nickel oxide (NiO) calcium oxide (CaO), zinc oxide (ZnO), zirconium dioxide (ZrO2), and silicon carbide (SiC) (“the filler may include one or more of Al2O3, AlOOH, SiO2, AlN, BN, and Li3N” [0054] with italics added for emphasis on the disclosed compounds that correspond to the claimed first inorganic particle).
Regarding claim 13, Mikhaylik discloses the electrochemical device for a lithium-sulfur battery with all the features set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein a thickness of the second solid phase electrolyte is 100 µm or less (“The thickness of a polymer layer may vary, e.g., over a range from about 0.1 microns to about 100 microns” [0056]).
Regarding claim 15, Mikhaylik discloses the electrochemical device for a lithium-sulfur battery with all the features set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein an interfacial resistance between the electrolyte complex and the positive or negative electrode is reduced by integration of the electrolyte complex and the positive or negative electrode (“in one set of embodiments a heterogeneous electrolyte is used. Any liquid or gel material capable of storing and transporting ions ( e.g., lithium ions for a lithium battery) may be used, including a combination of liquids, a combination of liquid(s) and a polymer, etc., so long as the material(s) facilitates the transport of lithium ions between the anode and the cathode. The electrolyte may be electronically non-conductive to prevent short circuiting between the anode and the cathode.” [0060]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 14 October 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant appears to remark that prior art reference does not disclose the claim limitations in claim 1 of “the second solid phase electrolyte faces the negative electrode, … wherein the second solid phase electrolyte comprises a second organic solvent …, and wherein the second organic solvent is selected from the group consisting of tetrahydrofuran and dioxolane.”, but instead discloses that tetrahydrofuran and dioxolane are taught to face the positive electrode.
In response to applicant remark described above, this Office Action reflects a clearer perspective of what Mikhaylik teaches. To reiterate the citations in this Office Action, the organic solvent selected toward the positive electrode, or the corresponding first organic solvent, has a relatively higher solubility towards polysulfides such as 1,2-dimethoxyethane ([0026] and [0031]) in which sulfolane is disclosed to be an alternative to ([0062]), and the organic solvent selected toward the negative electrode, or the corresponding second organic solvent, has a relatively low lithium reactivity in which dioxolane functions as in Mikhaylik.
Applicant appears to remark that Mikhaylik does not discuss the importance of controlling the solvents with regard to dielectric constant.
In response to applicant remark described above, claim 1 requires first and second organic solvents to have the recited dielectric constants, which all organic solvents have inherent dielectric constants known in the art, and does not require prior art reference to disclose or teach the significance behind the controlled dielectric constant.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLENE BERMUDEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/SADIE WHITE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721