DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks
This communication is considered fully responsive to the amendment filed on 10/14/2025.
Claims 1-5, 9, 11-12, 14-29 are pending and are examined in this office action.
Claims 1, 4-5, 9, 11, 14, 18-19, 23-25, 27-28 have been amended.
No new claim has been added and claims 6-8, 10, 13, has been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 10/14/2025, with respect to claims have been considered but are moot. The Examiner found features modified to claims that have changed the scope of the invention as a whole, Therefore, Applicant’s remarks regarding rejection under 35 U.S.C 103 for the claims are moot. Applicant's remarks are considered as forward looking statement for the newly reconstructed claims.
In view of the applicant’s amendment to the claims, the examiner has clarified and remapped the rejection to the argued claim limitations in details, using the prior art of record in the current prosecution of the claims as well in new arts. See of WIEDEMAN et al. (US 6272316 B1) with new mapping.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, 3-5, 9, 12, 14-18, 23-29, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recite “determining a comprehensive sky view map representation of link quality that encompasses an entirety of the sky for a stationary terminal at the fixed terminal location from the perspective of the stationary terminal by determining one or more link quality estimates for each transmission link to obtain a plurality of link quality estimates and obtaining a spatial aggregated link quality estimate for each predefined spatial region in a plurality of predefined spatial regions that collectively encompass the entirety of the sky by combining the link quality estimates for each transmission received from the transmitters when the respective transmitter is within the respective predefined spatial region to build a spatial summary of link quality over the entirety of the sky comprising a polar plot centered on the fixed terminal location and where rotation and radius indicate link quality over azimuth and elevation coordinates, respectively, or an equivalent parametric representation of a comprehensive sky view map constructed using a distribution, or superposition of distributions, on a sphere ” (claim 1; Line 5-16). However, there is no support in the specification for this feature. Instead, specification, HALEY et al. (US 20200367067 A1) Fig. 3, paragraphs 0066, 0071-0072 indicates
“ FIG. 3 is a Sky View Map 300 constructed using CNR (Carrier to Noise Ratio (CNR) ) values and corresponding relative satellite locations for multiple GPS satellites recorded by a terminal during an experiment over 8 days. In this case the terminal was mounted on the southern side of a building, with the building obstructing the northern view of the sky. The Sky View Map is a polar plot with rotation indicating azimuth (North zero degrees) and radial measurements representing elevation (or altitude angles). The example provided in the figure shows that the obstruction causes reduced CNR on the northern side of the wall. The slope of the wall 310 is also shown in the figure. Regions also exist where the GPS satellites did not visit, e.g., 320. Such regions could be marked as having unknown link quality using orbital parameters for the satellites. In this example, when multiple CNR observations were made at the same azimuth/elevation position the average CNR at that position was calculated. Other functions could be applied in place of the average, e.g., median, maximum, minimum.
[0072] In one embodiment a threshold is applied to the Sky View Map, removing samples having CNR below the threshold, with the remaining samples indicating a region where the view of the sky is less likely to be obstructed and hence communications link quality to a satellite is likely to be higher. FIG. 4 is a thresholded Sky View Map 400 which shows the regions in the Sky View Map of FIG. 3 where the CNR is greater than or equal to a threshold of 33 dB. Based on this, the terminal may select to limit its transmissions to within azimuth and elevations that are within this region, thus avoiding the obstruction on the northern side.”
The amended claim limitation “a comprehensive sky view map representation of link quality that encompasses an entirety of the sky for a stationary terminal at the fixed terminal location from the perspective of the stationary terminal by determining one or more link quality estimates for each transmission link to obtain a plurality of link quality estimates and obtaining a spatial aggregated link quality estimate for each predefined spatial region in a plurality of predefined spatial regions that collectively encompass the entirety of the sky by combining the link quality estimates for each transmission received from the transmitters when the respective transmitter is within the respective predefined spatial region to build a spatial summary of link quality over the entirety of the sky comprising a polar plot centered on the fixed terminal location and where rotation and radius indicate link quality over azimuth and elevation coordinates, respectively, or an equivalent parametric representation of a comprehensive sky view map constructed using a distribution, or superposition of distributions, on a sphere” appears to be broaden aspect of what is disclosed originally and raises the issues regarding whether the inventor had possession of a broader, more generic invention (See MPEP § 2163.05.I.A). Therefore the claim omits an element which applicant describes as an essential or critical feature of the invention originally disclosed and as such does not comply with the written description requirement. Appropriate clarification and/or correction are/is required within metes and bounds of the claimed invention. For the purposes of evaluating the prior art, the Examiner assumes any feature as necessarily being appropriate.
Claims 24, 25, 27, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
All Dependent claims 2-5, 9, 11-12, 14-23,26, 28-29 which depend on the above rejected independent claims are also interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for their respective independent claims above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 9, 12, 14-18, 23-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ARRINGTON et al. (US Patent No. 5918176 A; hereinafter as “ARRINGTON”, provided in IDS) in view of WIEDEMAN et al. (US 6272316 B1; hereinafter as “WIEDEMAN”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to ARRINGTON unless otherwise mentioned.
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim 1, ARRINGTON teaches a method for estimating link quality in a communication system, the method comprising:
(Fig. 1 where multiple satellites 102-106 are in communication with Mobile Device or communication unit 120. It also has a control facility 130: Col 3 lines 34-41; see fig. 3: Power Measurement/Link Quality ),
monitoring one or more transmission links from a plurality of transmitters at a fixed terminal location (aforesaid control facility 130 collects and monitor power level, geographic location from the mobile device 120 for a particular or fix location : Aforesaid control facility 130 monitors channels quality/transmission links of aforesaid Mobile Device 120 in aforesaid location to all the satellites 102-106: Col 3 lines 42-56, claim 1; aforesaid communication unit or mobile phone can be “ stationary cellular telephone (==a fixed terminal location of aforesaid communication unit or mobile phone ) or radio adapted to communicate with satellites 102-106.”: “CU 120 is capable of measuring signal power of one or more signals which is received from satellites 102-106 and sending the signal power measurement to control facility 130. In addition, CU 120 is capable of sending its location and a time stamp associated with each measurement to the control facility. The ability of CU 120 to measure and send power measurements to control facility 130 enables the communication system accurately to analyze link margins without the use of dispersed, stationary cellular base stations”: col 3 lines 5-25);
(Fig. 4: aforesaid “control facility to predict future link margin”: “control facility receives power measurements and location information from one or more CUs [==mobile device] dispersed throughout the area serviced by the communication system. Desirably, for each CU, the control facility receives power measurements for each cell in the CU's list of candidate cells”: …”The control facility processes the received power measurements in step 402 to create a Long Term Geographic Map (LTGM) (==a link quality estimate spatial summary) of the link margins within the area serviced by the communication system. The LTGM is created by associating the CU location data with each power measurement and, thus, creating a geographic map of power levels over a particular geographic area”: Col. 8 lines 34-62, claim 1, Col. 3 lines 42-56); and
using, by a transmitter in a communication system (==aforesaid control facility with transmitter and receiver, Fig. 9 element 904: transceiver ), the comprehensive sky view map representation of link quality for determining one or more transmission parameters for a transmission from the transmitter to a receiver in the communication system, (aforesaid control facility “receives power level measurement and a geographic location of the CU”: claim 1: aforesaid “control facility to predict future link margin anomalies” for CU/mobile device. control facility receives power measurements and location information from one or more CUs dispersed throughout the area serviced by the communication system”: Col. 8 lines 34-62). Aforesaid control facility determines “that the link margin anomaly is geographically stationary or weather related”. First, the control facility can notify the CU of degraded service in the CU's current location in step 512. The CU could display this information to the CU user who could then change the location of the CU to an area which affords better service. The control facility also can send a message to one or more transceiver nodes which are providing channels to the area to increase their transmission power in step 514: Col 11 lines 4-16; aforesaid “control facility processes the received power measurements in step 402 to create a Long Term Geographic Map (LTGM) of the link margins within the area serviced (==comprehensive sky view map) by the communication system. The LTGM is created by associating the CU location data with each power measurement and, thus, creating a geographic map of power levels over a particular geographic area. The LTGM is used to accumulate power measurement data desirably over a long period of time. The accumulation of data enables identification of regions where coverage is degraded, for example, because of local shadowing (e.g., buildings, mountains, or heavy forest). The information can be used in real-time or in future system design iterations to help mitigate trouble areas.”: Col. 8 lines 50-63).
While ARRINGTON teaches “monitoring one or more transmission links from a plurality of transmitters at a fixed terminal location,”
ARRINGTON does not expressively teach:
determining a comprehensive sky view map representation of link quality that encompasses an entirety of the sky for a stationary terminal at the fixed terminal location from the perspective of the stationary terminal by determining one or more link quality estimates for each transmission link to obtain a plurality of link quality estimates and
obtaining a spatial aggregated link quality estimate for each predefined spatial region in a plurality of predefined spatial regions that collectively encompass the entirety of the sky by combining the link quality estimates for each transmission received from the transmitters when the respective transmitter is within the respective predefined spatial region to build a spatial summary of link quality over the entirety of the sky comprising a polar plot centered on the fixed terminal location and where rotation and radius indicate link quality over azimuth and elevation coordinates, respectively, or an equivalent parametric representation of a comprehensive sky view map constructed using a distribution, or superposition of distributions, on a sphere; and
wherein either the transmitter is the stationary terminal at the fixed terminal location and the receiver is an access node moving relative to the stationary terminal, or the receiver is the stationary terminal at the fixed terminal location and the transmitter is an access node moving relative to the stationary terminal.
WIEDEMAN, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
determining a comprehensive sky view map representation of link quality that encompasses an entirety of the sky for a stationary terminal at the fixed terminal location from the perspective of the stationary terminal by determining one or more link quality estimates for each transmission link to obtain a plurality of link quality estimates (see fig. 7 where User Equipment and Gateway are in satellites communications with multiple satellites systems using multiple LINKs 12b; “ A plurality of satellites 12 of a satellite constellation each have an associated "footprint" 12a that is projected on the surface of the Earth and that moves with the satellite. A user terminal 13 has a display 13a, a key pad 13b, and an antenna 13c. Using suitable RF circuitry (not shown in FIG. 1) and the antenna 13c the user terminal 13 is able to send requests to, and receive information from a terrestrial gateway 14. The requests and information are relayed by at least one of the satellites 12 with RF links 12b to the antenna 13c, and with RF feeder links 14a to the gateway 14. The ephemeris and location of the satellites 12 (==sky view map ) is known by the gateway 14, and is also preferably known by the user terminal 13.”: col. 5 lines 34-51; “ The user terminal 13 is at one particular location (==fixed terminal location ) within the service area (SA), and is thus positioned at a particular latitude and longitude. The gateway 14 knows the location of the user terminal 13, in that the gateway 14 calculates the user terminal's position at the time of log-on and registration to the system. The gateway 14 can use, by example, the system's own ability to the calculate the user's position (such as by triangulation), and/or can employ Global Positioning Satellite (GPS) information or other known types of techniques”: Col. 5 lines 51-65; see fig. 2A, 2B: Sky View MAP or view of the SKY of “FISHEYE” View from User Equipment to the Satellite, “ a region of sky where the satellites 12 appear, and a region of sky where no satellites are ever visible. The relative sizes and shapes of these two regions depend on the inclination of the orbit, the height of the orbit, the ellipticity of the orbit, and the latitude and longitude of the user. ”: Col.5 lines 65-66 to Col. 6 lines 1-17; “ FIG. 9B shows a case where links (L) have been established between the user terminal 13 and the satellites A and B (links 1 and 2), and thus link quality information can be determined. Satellite C, although currently at the highest elevation angle and thus having the potential to provide the best communication path, is assumed to be currently blocked by some obstruction. The display 13b can be operated so as to provide a visual indication of which satellite paths, relative to the user terminal 13, are currently "best", or impaired but useable, or unusable. For example, the satellite A is at the lowest elevation angle, but a clear path exists between that satellite and the user terminal. Satellite B is at a higher elevation angle than satellite A, but the path is impaired (that is, the gateway 14 detects from the amount of power required to maintain the link that some RF impairment, such as foliage or a rain cell, lies along the path). Satellite C, while having the highest elevation angle and potentially the best path, is currently blocked and unusable. In this case each satellite "icon" is made visually distinct (e.g., a clear circle, a lightly shaded circle, and a heavily shaded circle (e.g., each satellite in FIG. 9A would be shown as solid black since no links have yet been established)). The display is thus presented on the user terminal 13 or on a computer display communicating through the user terminal 13. For example, an LCD display on the front surface of the user terminal 13 could be used”: Col. 7 lines 48-77 to col. 8 lines 1 -12 ) and
obtaining a spatial aggregated link quality estimate for each predefined spatial region in a plurality of predefined spatial regions that collectively encompass the entirety of the sky by combining the link quality estimates for each transmission received from the transmitters when the respective transmitter is within the respective predefined spatial region to build a spatial summary of link quality over the entirety of the sky comprising a polar plot centered on the fixed terminal location (“ FIG. 9B shows a case where links (L) have been established between the user terminal 13 and the satellites A and B (links 1 and 2), and thus link quality information can be determined. Satellite C, although currently at the highest elevation angle and thus having the potential to provide the best communication path, is assumed to be currently blocked by some obstruction. The display 13b can be operated so as to provide a visual indication of which satellite paths, relative to the user terminal 13, are currently "best", or impaired but useable, or unusable. For example, the satellite A is at the lowest elevation angle, but a clear path exists between that satellite and the user terminal. Satellite B is at a higher elevation angle than satellite A, but the path is impaired (that is, the gateway 14 detects from the amount of power required to maintain the link that some RF impairment, such as foliage or a rain cell, lies along the path). Satellite C, while having the highest elevation angle and potentially the best path, is currently blocked and unusable. In this case each satellite "icon" is made visually distinct (e.g., a clear circle, a lightly shaded circle, and a heavily shaded circle (e.g., each satellite in FIG. 9A would be shown as solid black since no links have yet been established)). The display is thus presented on the user terminal 13 or on a computer display communicating through the user terminal 13. For example, an LCD display on the front surface of the user terminal 13 could be used”: Col. 7 lines 48-77 to col. 8 lines 1 -12; “ the links shown in FIG. 9B may result from the user terminal 13 simply monitoring pilot channels received through the co-visible satellites. In this case the link indications may be based on pilot channel signal strength. If monitoring pilot channels the user terminal 13 may also be relaying the results of pilot channel measurements back to the gateway 14. In this case the gateway 14 may assume that the satellite C is blocked from the user terminal, since the gateway 14 knows the relative locations of the user terminal 13 and the satellite 12, and since the user terminal 13 does not report any pilot channel measurements for satellite C.
(23) As was stated above, the signal quality of the paths or links (==link quality ) may be displayed by color coding or gray-scale coding of the displayed paths and the associated satellite icon. For instance, a clear coloring could indicate a clear path, a gray coloring an impaired path, and a black coloring (of the satellite only) a blocked path. ”: Col. 8 lines 40-56; “ stationary user terminal 13 receives, for example, pilot signals from the satellites 12 over a sufficiently long period of time, and stores the record of the received signal quality, whether it be signal strength, bit error rate, frame error rate, some other metric, or a combination of these metrics. The user terminal 13 may then associate the signal quality record with the stored satellite ephemerides data and thereby create a map of the sky (==SKY VIEW MAP) with signal quality associated with position of the satellites 12.”:col. 10 lines 21-43) and
where rotation and radius indicate link quality over azimuth and elevation coordinates, respectively, or an equivalent parametric representation of a comprehensive sky view map constructed using a distribution, or superposition of distributions, on a sphere (“ An initial position of the user terminal 13 is indicated as P1. Based on the position of the user terminal 13 (latitude and longitude), and on the relative positions of the satellites A and B as shown in FIG. 4, and on the user terminal's azimuthal orientation, the user can be explicitly or implicitly instructed to move to a position P2 that is adjacent to windows facing the "best direction" (e.g., windows facing the south-east), in this case the windows at corner C1. It should be noted that some portions of the windows in corners C2 and C4 may also provide adequate communications performance.”: Col. 10 line 51 to Col. 11 line 9); and
wherein either the transmitter is the stationary terminal at the fixed terminal location ( “ The user terminal 13 is at one particular location (==fixed terminal location ) within the service area (SA), and is thus positioned at a particular latitude and longitude. The gateway 14 knows the location of the user terminal 13, in that the gateway 14 calculates the user terminal's position at the time of log-on and registration to the system. The gateway 14 can use, by example, the system's own ability to the calculate the user's position (such as by triangulation), and/or can employ Global Positioning Satellite (GPS) information or other known types of techniques”: Col. 5 lines 51-65; “ stationary user terminal 13 receives, for example, pilot signals from the satellites 12 over a sufficiently long period of time, and stores the record of the received signal quality, whether it be signal strength, bit error rate, frame error rate, some other metric, or a combination of these metrics. The user terminal 13 may then associate the signal quality record with the stored satellite ephemerides data and thereby create a map of the sky (==SKY VIEW MAP) with signal quality associated with position of the satellites 12.”:col. 10 lines 21-43); see fig. 1: User Equipment With 13C: transceiver ; “ A user terminal 13 has a display 13a, a key pad 13b, and an antenna 13c. Using suitable RF circuitry (not shown in FIG. 1) and the antenna 13c the user terminal 13 is able to send requests to, and receive information from a terrestrial gateway 14.”:Col. 5 lines 34-51) and
the receiver is an access node (==gateway ) moving relative to the stationary terminal, or the receiver is the stationary terminal at the fixed terminal location and the transmitter is an access node moving relative to the stationary terminal (“ A plurality of satellites 12 of a satellite constellation each have an associated "footprint" 12a that is projected on the surface of the Earth and that moves with the satellite. A user terminal 13 has a display 13a, a key pad 13b, and an antenna 13c. Using suitable RF circuitry (not shown in FIG. 1) and the antenna 13c the user terminal 13 is able to send requests to, and receive information from a terrestrial gateway 14. The requests and information are relayed by at least one of the satellites 12 with RF links 12b to the antenna 13c, and with RF feeder links 14a to the gateway 14. The ephemeris and location of the satellites 12 is known by the gateway 14, and is also preferably known by the user terminal 13.Col. 5 lines 34-51) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of ARRINGTON to include the azimuth and elevation of terminal as taught by WIEDEMAN. The suggestion/motivation would be to improving to assist a user of a mobile communication satellite system to log on to, initiate and receive calls, and maintain calls [Col. 2 lines 28-41]).
Regarding claim 24, ARRINGTON teaches, a terminal apparatus (see fig. 1: Communication Unit (CU) 120) comprising an antenna (see fig. 1 where CU 120 has an antenna; also Fig. 8: CU 800), a transmitter (see fig. 1: CU 120, also Fig. 8: Mobile Device /CU 120 has Transceiver Unit 810; Col 13 lines 34-42), a receiver (see fig. 8: element 810), at least one a processor (Fig. 8 element 802: processing Unit) and
A memory comprising instructions to configure the least one processor to estimate link quality by (Fig.8 col. 13 lines 34-61): 9
monitoring one or more transmission links from a plurality of transmitters at a terminal location (Fig. 2: aforesaid CU 120 receives one or more signals from transceiver node or receives cell broadcast signals from candidate cells: col. 5 lines 30-40 );
determining and storing a comprehensive sky view map representation of link quality that encompasses an entirety of the sky for a stationary terminal at the fixed terminal location from the perspective of the stationary terminal by determining one or more link quality estimates for each transmission link to obtain a plurality of link quality estimates and obtaining a spatial aggregated link quality estimate for each predefined spatial region in a plurality of predefined spatial regions that collectively encompass the entirety of the sky by combining the link quality estimates for each transmission received from the plurality of other transmitters when the respective other transmitter is within the respective predefined spatial region to build a spatial summary of link quality over the entirety of the sky comprising a polar plot centered on the fixed terminal location and where rotation and radius indicate link quality over azimuth and elevation coordinates, respectively, or an equivalent parametric representation of a comprehensive sky view map constructed using a distribution, or superposition of distributions, on a sphere; and using the stored comprehensive sky view map representation of link quality for determining one or more transmission parameters for a plurality of transmissions, wherein each transmission is from the stationary terminal at the fixed terminal location to another receiver that is moving relative to the stationary terminal and is an access node in a communication system comprising the fixed terminal(Regarding rest of claim 24, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1).
Regarding claim 25, ARRINGTON teaches, a communication system (Fig. 1: “communication system includes satellites 102-106, Communication Unit 120 (CU), and control facility 130. The communication system is shown in conjunction with building 180 and cloud 182, which represent exemplary physical obstructions for signals between satellites 102-106 and CU 120.”: Col. 3 lines 34-41) comprising:
A plurality of terminals (CUs, mobile devices 120), each terminal comprising an antenna (see fig. 1 where Mobile Device 120 has an antenna), (see fig. 1:Mobile Device 120, also Fig. 8: Mobile Device /CU 120 has Transceiver Unit 810; Col 13 lines 34-42), a receiver (see fig. 8: element 810), at least one a processor (Fig. 8 element 802: processing Unit), and a memory (Fig. 8: Memory: mobile device must have memory); and
A core network comprising a plurality of access nodes configured to wirelessly communicate with the plurality of terminals (see fig. 1 where “communication system includes satellites 102-106, Communication Unit 120 (CU), and control facility 130. The communication system is shown in conjunction with building 180 and cloud 182, which represent exemplary physical obstructions for signals between satellites 102-106 and CU 120.” : Col. 3 lines 34-41), and
a scheduler apparatus (Fig. 9: Control Facility 900/Control Facility 130 in Fig. 1) comprising at least one processor (Fig. 9: Processing Means 902) and a memory (Fig. 9: element 908) comprising instructions to configure the at least one processor to receive a plurality of transmission link measurements from one or more stationary terminals in the plurality of terminals via the plurality of access nodes, wherein each transmission link measurements are obtained betweena respective one of the stationary terminals and one of a plurality of transmitters, wherein each transmitter is either an access node in the communication system or a transmitter in another system (aforesaid control facility 130 collects and monitor power level, geographic location from the mobile device 120: Aforesaid control facility 130 monitors channels quality/transmission links of Mobile Device 120 to all the satellites 102-106: Col 3 lines 42-56, claim 1; Fig. 4: aforesaid “control facility to predict future link margin”: “control facility receives power measurements and location information from one or more CUs [==mobile device] dispersed throughout the area serviced by the communication system. Desirably, for each CU, the control facility receives power measurements for each cell in the CU's list of candidate cells”: …”The control facility processes the received power measurements in step 402 to create a Long Term Geographic Map (LTGM) of the link margins within the area serviced by the communication system. The LTGM is created by associating the CU location data with each power measurement and, thus, creating a geographic map of power levels over a particular geographic area”: Col. 8 lines 34-62, claim 1, Col. 3 lines 42-56), and
to send one or more transmission parameters to the first stationary terminal for a transmission from the first stationary terminal at the fixed terminal location to a first access node in the plurality of access nodes or to send one or more transmission parameters to the first access node for a transmission to the first stationary terminal at the fixed terminal location (aforesaid control facility “receives power level measurement and a geographic location of the CU”: claim 1: aforesaid “control facility to predict future link margin anomalies” for CU/mobile device. control facility receives power measurements and location information from one or more CUs dispersed throughout the area serviced by the communication system”: Col. 8 lines 34-62). Aforesaid control facility determines “that the link margin anomaly is geographically stationary or weather related”. First, the control facility can notify the CU of degraded service in the CU's current location in step 512. The CU could display this information to the CU user who could then change the location of the CU to an area which affords better service. The control facility also can send a message to one or more transceiver nodes which are providing channels to the area to increase their transmission power in step 514: Col 11 lines 4-16).
ARRINGTON does not expressively teach:
to determine a comprehensive sky view map representation of link quality that encompasses an entirety of the sky foa first stationary terminal at a fixed terminal location from the perspective of the first stationary terminal by using the plurality of transmission link measurements to obtain one or more link quality estimates for each transmission link to the first stationary terminal to obtain a plurality of link quality estimates for the first stationary terminal and
obtaining a spatial aggregated link quality estimate for each predefined spatial region in a plurality of predefined spatial regions that collectively encompass the entirety of the sky by combining the link quality estimates for each transmission received from the transmitters when the respective transmitter is within the respective predefined spatial region to build a spatial summary of link quality over the entirety of the sky comprising a polar plot centered on the fixed terminal location and
where rotation and radius indicate link quality over azimuth and elevation coordinates, respectively, or an equivalent parametric representation of a comprehensive sky view map constructed using a distribution, or superposition of distributions, on a sphere, and
wherein the first access node is moving relative to the first stationary terminal.
WIEDEMAN, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
to determine a comprehensive sky view map representation of link quality that encompasses an entirety of the sky foa first stationary terminal at a fixed terminal location from the perspective of the first stationary terminal by using the plurality of transmission link measurements to obtain one or more link quality estimates for each transmission link to the first stationary terminal to obtain a plurality of link quality estimates for the first stationary terminal (see fig. 7 where User Equipment and Gateway are in satellites communications with multiple satellites systems using multiple LINKs 12b; “ A plurality of satellites 12 of a satellite constellation each have an associated "footprint" 12a that is projected on the surface of the Earth and that moves with the satellite. A user terminal 13 has a display 13a, a key pad 13b, and an antenna 13c. Using suitable RF circuitry (not shown in FIG. 1) and the antenna 13c the user terminal 13 is able to send requests to, and receive information from a terrestrial gateway 14. The requests and information are relayed by at least one of the satellites 12 with RF links 12b to the antenna 13c, and with RF feeder links 14a to the gateway 14. The ephemeris and location of the satellites 12 (==sky view map ) is known by the gateway 14, and is also preferably known by the user terminal 13.”: col. 5 lines 34-51; “ The user terminal 13 is at one particular location (==fixed terminal location ) within the service area (SA), and is thus positioned at a particular latitude and longitude. The gateway 14 knows the location of the user terminal 13, in that the gateway 14 calculates the user terminal's position at the time of log-on and registration to the system. The gateway 14 can use, by example, the system's own ability to the calculate the user's position (such as by triangulation), and/or can employ Global Positioning Satellite (GPS) information or other known types of techniques”: Col. 5 lines 51-65; see fig. 2A, 2B: Sky View MAP or view of the SKY of “FISHEYE” View from User Equipment to the Satellite, “ a region of sky where the satellites 12 appear, and a region of sky where no satellites are ever visible. The relative sizes and shapes of these two regions depend on the inclination of the orbit, the height of the orbit, the ellipticity of the orbit, and the latitude and longitude of the user. ”: Col.5 lines 65-66 to Col. 6 lines 1-17; “ FIG. 9B shows a case where links (L) have been established between the user terminal 13 and the satellites A and B (links 1 and 2), and thus link quality information can be determined. Satellite C, although currently at the highest elevation angle and thus having the potential to provide the best communication path, is assumed to be currently blocked by some obstruction. The display 13b can be operated so as to provide a visual indication of which satellite paths, relative to the user terminal 13, are currently "best", or impaired but useable, or unusable. For example, the satellite A is at the lowest elevation angle, but a clear path exists between that satellite and the user terminal. Satellite B is at a higher elevation angle than satellite A, but the path is impaired (that is, the gateway 14 detects from the amount of power required to maintain the link that some RF impairment, such as foliage or a rain cell, lies along the path). Satellite C, while having the highest elevation angle and potentially the best path, is currently blocked and unusable. In this case each satellite "icon" is made visually distinct (e.g., a clear circle, a lightly shaded circle, and a heavily shaded circle (e.g., each satellite in FIG. 9A would be shown as solid black since no links have yet been established)). The display is thus presented on the user terminal 13 or on a computer display communicating through the user terminal 13. For example, an LCD display on the front surface of the user terminal 13 could be used”: Col. 7 lines 48-77 to col. 8 lines 1 -12 ) and
obtaining a spatial aggregated link quality estimate for each predefined spatial region in a plurality of predefined spatial regions that collectively encompass the entirety of the sky by combining the link quality estimates for each transmission received from the transmitters when the respective transmitter is within the respective predefined spatial region to build a spatial summary of link quality over the entirety of the sky comprising a polar plot centered on the fixed terminal location (“ FIG. 9B shows a case where links (L) have been established between the user terminal 13 and the satellites A and B (links 1 and 2), and thus link quality information can be determined. Satellite C, although currently at the highest elevation angle and thus having the potential to provide the best communication path, is assumed to be currently blocked by some obstruction. The display 13b can be operated so as to provide a visual indication of which satellite paths, relative to the user terminal 13, are currently "best", or impaired but useable, or unusable. For example, the satellite A is at the lowest elevation angle, but a clear path exists between that satellite and the user terminal. Satellite B is at a higher elevation angle than satellite A, but the path is impaired (that is, the gateway 14 detects from the amount of power required to maintain the link that some RF impairment, such as foliage or a rain cell, lies along the path). Satellite C, while having the highest elevation angle and potentially the best path, is currently blocked and unusable. In this case each satellite "icon" is made visually distinct (e.g., a clear circle, a lightly shaded circle, and a heavily shaded circle (e.g., each satellite in FIG. 9A would be shown as solid black since no links have yet been established)). The display is thus presented on the user terminal 13 or on a computer display communicating through the user terminal 13. For example, an LCD display on the front surface of the user terminal 13 could be used”: Col. 7 lines 48-77 to col. 8 lines 1 -12; “ the links shown in FIG. 9B may result from the user terminal 13 simply monitoring pilot channels received through the co-visible satellites. In this case the link indications may be based on pilot channel signal strength. If monitoring pilot channels the user terminal 13 may also be relaying the results of pilot channel measurements back to the gateway 14. In this case the gateway 14 may assume that the satellite C is blocked from the user terminal, since the gateway 14 knows the relative locations of the user terminal 13 and the satellite 12, and since the user terminal 13 does not report any pilot channel measurements for satellite C.
(23) As was stated above, the signal quality of the paths or links (==link quality ) may be displayed by color coding or gray-scale coding of the displayed paths and the associated satellite icon. For instance, a clear coloring could indicate a clear path, a gray coloring an impaired path, and a black coloring (of the satellite only) a blocked path. ”: Col. 8 lines 40-56; “ stationary user terminal 13 receives, for example, pilot signals from the satellites 12 over a sufficiently long period of time, and stores the record of the received signal quality, whether it be signal strength, bit error rate, frame error rate, some other metric, or a combination of these metrics. The user terminal 13 may then associate the signal quality record with the stored satellite ephemerides data and thereby create a map of the sky (==SKY VIEW MAP) with signal quality associated with position of the satellites 12.”:col. 10 lines 21-43) and
where rotation and radius indicate link quality over azimuth and elevation coordinates, respectively, or an equivalent parametric representation of a comprehensive sky view map constructed using a distribution, or superposition of distributions, on a sphere (“ An initial position of the user terminal 13 is indicated as P1. Based on the position of the user terminal 13 (latitude and longitude), and on the relative positions of the satellites A and B as shown in FIG. 4, and on the user terminal's azimuthal orientation, the user can be explicitly or implicitly instructed to move to a position P2 that is adjacent to windows facing the "best direction" (e.g., windows facing the south-east), in this case the windows at corner C1. It should be noted that some portions of the windows in corners C2 and C4 may also provide adequate communications performance.”: Col. 10 line 51 to Col. 11 line 9), and
wherein the first access node is moving relative to the first stationary terminal (“ A plurality of satellites 12 of a satellite constellation each have an associated "footprint" 12a that is projected on the surface of the Earth and that moves with the satellite. A user terminal 13 has a display 13a, a key pad 13b, and an antenna 13c. Using suitable RF circuitry (not shown in FIG. 1) and the antenna 13c the user terminal 13 is able to send requests to, and receive information from a terrestrial gateway 14. The requests and information are relayed by at least one of the satellites 12 with RF links 12b to the antenna 13c, and with RF feeder links 14a to the gateway 14. The ephemeris and location of the satellites 12 is known by the gateway 14, and is also preferably known by the user terminal 13.Col. 5 lines 34-51).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of ARRINGTON to include the azimuth and elevation of terminal as taught by WIEDEMAN. The suggestion/motivation would be to improving to assist a user of a mobile communication satellite system to log on to, initiate and receive calls, and maintain calls [Col. 2 lines 28-41]).
Regarding claim 27, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claim 3, ARRINGTON in view of WIEDEMAN teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, ARRINGTON teaches, the method as claimed in claim 1,
wherein an determining a link quality estimate comprises:
determining the expected receive signal strength for a transmission from the transmitter to the receiver (Fig. 1: the communication system includes satellites 102-106, Communication Unit 120 (CU), and control facility 130: col. 3 lines 33-41; aforesaid control facility “generating a first power level measurement of a first power level of a first channel [==expected receive signal strength] which is provided by a first node [==CU/Mobile] of the at least one transceiver node [==satellites”: claim 1),
wherein the expected receive signal strength is estimated using an estimate of a transmitter power, a receiver gain, and path loss based on an estimate of a link distance (CU 120 is capable of measuring signal power of one or more signals which is received from satellites 102-106 and sending the signal power measurement to control facility 130:” “CU 120 is capable of sending its location and a time stamp associated with each measurement to the control facility. The ability of CU 120 to measure and send power measurements to control facility 130 enables the communication system accurately to analyze link margins without the use of dispersed, stationary cellular base stations”: Col. 3 lines 42-60);
obtaining an estimate of an observed receive signal strength at the receiver (“CU 120 is capable of measuring signal power of one or more signals which is received from satellites 102-106”: col. 3 lines 42-60); estimating a link quality estimate based on a difference between the expected receive signal strength and observed receive signal strength (..a receiver (e.g., CU 120) which could measure the received power levels of the broadcast channels for multiple cells would read equal power levels. However, in the real world, the received power levels would differ. It is this difference in received power levels which indicates the strength of signals received in each cell.”: Col.4 lines 30-46).
Regarding claim 4, ARRINGTON in view of WIEDEMAN teaches the invention of claim 1, as set forth above. Further, WIEDEMAN teaches, The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the receiver at the terminal location is the stationary terminal (see fig. 8 ) andstationary terminal to the uplink receiver when the uplink receiver is within the respective-a predefined spatial region ( “Further in accordance with this invention the step of displaying includes a step of displaying a graphic presentation of the sky which comprises indications of the location, elevation angle and direction of movement of the co-visible satellites, and also an azimuthal orientation of the user terminal. The graphic presentation of the sky may also include an indication of an obscura region of the sky that is devoid of satellites.”: Col. 3 lines 12-26 ).
Regarding claim 5, ARRINGTON in view of WIEDEMAN teaches the invention of claim 1, as set forth above. Further, ARRINGTON teaches, The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein one or more of the link quality estimates are a spatial relative link quality estimate obtained by comparing one or more parameters of a reference link between the stationary terminal and the receiver for a plurality of locations of the receiver such that estimation of the link quality does not require knowledge of a transmit power or an antenna characteristic (CU 120 could communicate with any one of satellites 102-106: A CU's perceived reception power of a signal transmitted by a particular satellite depends on several factors, including the transmission power of the signal, the distance between the satellite and the CU, physical obstructions between the satellite and the CU, and other factors” [==one or more parameters of a reference link]: Col. 4 lines 39-46)
Regarding claim 9, ARRINGTON in view of WIEDEMAN teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, ARRINGTON teaches, The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein combining the link quality estimates comprises combining a plurality of link quality estimates obtained between a receiver at the fixed terminal location and one or more transmitters within the respective spatial region over a historical time period. (“the control facility previously determined to have the best power levels available to the CU. The determination of which cells are best is made from historic power level measurements of the broadcast channels previously sent to the control facility from one or more CUs’: col.6 lines 1-7; “control facility 130 receives signal power measurements from CUs and uses those measurements, along with CU location information and measurement time stamps, to affect power levels of signals provided within the system ”: Col.5 lines 10-23).
Regarding claim 12, ARRINGTON in view of WIEDEMAN teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, ARRINGTON teaches, The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein determining a link quality estimate comprises: performing a plurality of measurements of received signal strength from one or more transmitters at the fixed terminal location; (“receiving an instruction from the control facility to hand off communications from the first channel to a second channel after the control facility determines that the CU should communicate at the second power level by using the second channel”: claim 2 ); and providing the plurality of measurements as input to a model which returns a link quality estimate ( Switch from first channel to second channel based on measurement: Claim 2).
Regarding claim 14, ARRINGTON in view of WIEDEMAN teaches the invention of claim 12 as set forth above. Further, ARRINGTON teaches, The method as claimed in claim 12, wherein the measurements are made by an apparatus external to the stationary terminal and the comprehensive sky view map representation of link quality is provided to the stationary terminal (“control facility receives power measurements and location information from one or more CUs dispersed throughout the area serviced by the communication system”: col 8 lines 34-49).
Regarding claim 15, ARRINGTON in view of WIEDEMAN teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, ARRINGTON teaches, The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the communication system is a satellite communication system and comprises at least one satellite access node and a plurality of terminals. (See Fig. 1 where communication system has multiple satellite with terminals).
Regarding claim 16, ARRINGTON in view of WIEDEMAN teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, ARRINGTON teaches, The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein monitoring one or more transmission links from the plurality of one or more transmitters comprises monitoring one or more transmissions from one or more satellites in a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS). (Fig. 1: satellite communication; “the CU could sent the information through a satellite or other transceiver node to the control facility”: Fig. 2 element 206: col. 8 line 56- col 7 line 7).
Regarding claim 17, ARRINGTON in view of WIEDEMAN teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, ARRINGTON teaches, The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the one or more transmission parameters comprises one or more of transmit time, duration, data rate, power, frequency, or in the case of a plurality of transmit antennas, which antenna or which combination of antennas to use for transmission (A control facility (130) within a wireless communication system receives, from a communication unit (120) (CU), a power measurement (306) of a signal (150) projected by a transceiver node (102). The power measurement (306) can be associated with location information (304) for the CU (120) and a time stamp (302). The control facility (130) uses this information to determine whether the CU (120) is being provided with a signal (150) having an acceptable link margin. [abstract])
Regarding claim 18, ARRINGTON in view of WIEDEMAN teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, ARRINGTON teaches, The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein using the comprehensive sky view map representation of link quality for determining one or more transmission parameters for a transmission from a transmitter to a receiver comprises scheduling multiple redundant transmissions for each of one or more messages across one or more satellite passes using probabilities of success determined using the comprehensive sky view map representation of link quality (CU 120 is capable of measuring signal power of one or more signals which is received from satellites 102-106 and sending the signal power measurement to control facility 130. In addition, CU 120 is capable of sending its location and a time stamp associated with each measurement to the control facility: Col. 3 lines 41-61; Examiner’s Note: CU/Mobile devices connect with multiple satellites as shown in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 23, ARRINGTON in view of WIEDEMAN teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, ARRINGTON teaches, The method as claimed in claim 1, further comprising transmitting one or more messages based on a schedule determined using the comprehensive sky view map representation of link quality. (each satellite 102-106 transmits the broadcast channel at a distinct timeslot and frequency: col. 4 lines 21-24).
Regarding claim 26, ARRINGTON in view of WIEDEMAN teaches the invention of claim 25 as set forth above. Further, ARRINGTON teaches, the system as claimed in claim 25 wherein the plurality of access nodes comprises a plurality of satellite access nodes (Fig. 1: satellites nodes 102-106).
Regarding claim 28, ARRINGTON in view of WIEDEMAN teaches the invention of claim 25 as set forth above. Further, ARRINGTON teaches, determining the comprehensive sky view map representation of link quality is performed by the stationary terminal;
(Fig. 4: aforesaid “control facility to predict future link margin”: “control facility receives power measurements and location information from one or more CUs [==mobile device] dispersed throughout the area serviced by the communication system. Desirably, for each CU, the control facility receives power measurements for each cell in the CU's list of candidate cells”: …”The control facility processes the received power measurements in step 402 to create a Long Term Geographic Map (LTGM) (==a link quality estimate spatial summary) of the link margins within the area serviced by the communication system. The LTGM is created by associating the CU location data with each power measurement and, thus, creating a geographic map of power levels over a particular geographic area”: Col. 8 lines 34-62, claim 1, Col. 3 lines 42-56);
the transmitter is the stationary terminal at the fixed terminal location and the receiver is moving relative to the stationary terminal; and
(aforesaid control facility “receives power level measurement and a geographic location of the CU”: claim 1: aforesaid “control facility to predict future link margin anomalies” for CU/mobile device. control facility receives power measurements and location information from one or more CUs dispersed throughout the area serviced by the communication system”: Col. 8 lines 34-62). Aforesaid control facility determines “that the link margin anomaly is geographically stationary or weather related”. First, the control facility can notify the CU of degraded service in the CU's current location in step 512. The CU could display this information to the CU user who could then change the location of the CU to an area which affords better service. The control facility also can send a message to one or more transceiver nodes which are providing channels to the area to increase their transmission power in step 514: Col 11 lines 4-16); and
using the comprehensive sky view map representation of link quality estimate for determining one or more transmission parameters includes repeatedly using the comprehensive sky view map representation of link quality for a plurality of transmissions where for each transmission the comprehensive sky view map representation of link quality is used for determining one or more transmission parameters for the respective transmission
(see fig. 5 element 502, 504: col. 10 lines 6-60).
Regarding claim 29, ARRINGTON in view of WIEDEMAN teaches the invention of claim 16 as set forth above. Further, ARRINGTON teaches, wherein the plurality of transmitters comprises at least one satellite access node in the satellite communication system and at least one transmitter in another system. (Fig. 1: satellites nodes 102-106).
Claims 2.,11 , 19-22, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ARRINGTON in view of WIEDEMAN and further in view of TRERISE et al. (US 20130271320 A1; hereinafter as “TRERISE”, provided in IDS).
Regarding claim 2, ARRINGTON in view of WIEDEMAN teaches claim 1, as above.
ARRINGTON in view of WIEDEMAN does not specifically teach:
wherein determining a link quality estimate comprises:
determining, by the stationary terminal, a link quality estimate based upon the expected receive signal strength for a transmission from one of the transmitters to the stationary terminal, wherein the expected receive signal strength is estimated using an estimate of a transmitter power, a transmit antenna gain, a receiver antenna gain, and a path loss based on an estimate of a link distance between the stationary terminal and the transmitter.
TRERISE, in the same field of endeavor, discloses: wherein determining a link quality estimate comprises:
determining, by the stationary terminal (see fig. 1A; Communication Device 110: [0027]), a link quality estimate based upon the expected receive signal strength for a transmission from one of the transmitters to the stationary terminal, wherein the expected receive signal strength is estimated using an estimate of a transmitter power, a transmit antenna gain, a receiver antenna gain, and a path loss based on an estimate of a link distance between the stationary terminal and the transmitter (The communication device 110 may comprise suitable logic, circuitry, interfaces and/or code that may be operable to receive and process signals from the communication network 114 and/or the GNSS network 116. The communication device 110 may be operable to receive and process communication signals from the communication network 114. Exemplary signals may comprise 2.5G, 3G, 4G, LTE, WiMax, WiFi, Bluetooth and ZigBee signals. The communication device 110 may be operable to receive and process GNSS signals from a plurality of geosynchronous satellites in the GNSS network 116. In accordance, with an embodiment of the invention, the communication device 110 may be operable to utilize the GNSS signals received from GNSS network 116 and/or the communication signals that are received from the communication network 114 and determine how the satellite dish 106 should be aligned in order to optimize the reception of the satellite signals from the satellite television network 112. The communication device 110 may comprise an antenna alignment application (app), which may be operable to guide a user of the communication device 110 through various steps to align the satellite dish 106. [0031], Also Fig. 4A: [0098]-[0099]; NOTE: communication device uses power/gain to determine optical satellite link: [0061]-[0062]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was filed to create the invention of ARRINGTON in view of WIEDEMAN to include the above recited limitations as taught by TRERISE in order to determine how the satellite dish should be aligned in order to optimize the reception of the satellite signals from the satellite television network (TRERISE; Par. 0031).
Regarding claim 11, ARRINGTON in view of WIEDEMAN teaches claim 1 as above.
ARRINGTON in view of WIEDEMAN does not specifically teach, , wherein determining the comprehensive sky view map representation of link quality is distributed between the stationary terminal and a component external to the stationary terminal, which provides feedback information to the stationary terminal, wherein the feedback information is one or more of a performance metric, Acknowledgement rates or average packet success and is used by the stationary terminal to determine the comprehensive sky view map or the feedback information is the comprehensive sky view map estimate or an update to the comprehensive sky view map.
TRERISE, in the same field of endeavor, discloses
wherein determining the comprehensive sky view map representation of link quality is distributed between the stationary terminal and a component external to the stationary terminal, which provides feedback information to the stationary terminal, wherein the feedback information is one or more of a performance metric, Acknowledgement rates or average packet success and is used by the stationary terminal to determine the comprehensive sky view map or the feedback information is the comprehensive sky view map estimate or an update to the comprehensive sky view map (The communication device 156 may be operable to run or execute an antenna alignment app that may be utilized to align the antennas 160A, 162A and the millimeter wave antennas 164A, 164N in the distributed millimeter antenna system within the premises 158: [0042]; the antenna alignment app may acquire receive satellite signal metrics and/or satellite signal data and/or data from the low noise block downconverter 220. The antenna alignment app may analyze received satellite signal metrics and/or satellite signal data, data from one or more sensors within the communication device 250, data received from the GNSS network 116, data received from the communication network 114, and/or data stored on the communication device 250 to calculate the proper alignment of the satellite dish assembly: [0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was filed to create the invention of ARRINGTON in view of WIEDEMAN to include the above recited limitations as taught by TRERISE in order to determine how the satellite dish should be aligned in order to optimize the reception of the satellite signals from the satellite television network (TRERISE; Par. 0031).
Regarding claim 19, ARRINGTON in view of WIEDEMAN teaches claim 18 as above.
ARRINGTON in view of WIEDEMAN does not specifically teach, wherein scheduling multiple redundant transmissions further comprises queuing one or more message packets for transmission such that queue priority is based on probability of success determined using the comprehensive sky view map representation of link quality for each transmission.
TRERISE, in the same field of endeavor, discloses
wherein scheduling multiple redundant transmissions further comprises queuing one or more message packets for transmission such that queue priority is based on probability of success determined using the comprehensive sky view map representation of link quality for each transmission. (Fig.1A where an app running on a communication device may be utilized for aiming or aligning a satellite dish or antenna with satellite system /network 112: Satellite TV network with multiple Satellite 112b in Fig. 1A is syncing up with the commutation device to connect to TV: Based on low noise to the satellite connections, aforesaid communication devices connects to TV right satellite network: [0027], [0030]-0031] [0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was filed to create the invention of ARRINGTON in view of WIEDEMAN to include the above recited limitations as taught by TRERISE in order to determine how the satellite dish should be aligned in order to optimize the reception of the satellite signals from the satellite television network (TRERISE; Par. 0031).
Regarding claim 20, ARRINGTON in view of WIEDEMAN in view of TRERISE teaches claim 19 as shown above. Furthermore, TRERISE teaches, wherein message packets are queued such that those with lowest likelihood of success are given the best opportunity for redundant replication in the queue and transmission. (The satellite information pane 430 may also comprise a satellite details section 450. The satellite details section 450 may comprise detailed information for a particular satellite, which may correspond to one of the satellite identifier field’s 442.sub.1-442.sub.N. For example, the satellite details section 450 may comprise satellite identification information such as satellite name, satellite operator, and/or coordinate information such as orbit and/or position in space. The satellite details section 450 may also comprise content related information such as broadcast sources and/or channels included in the signals, restrictions such as whether content is paid or free, and so on [Examiner’s Note: given the best opportunity for redundant replication in the queue and transmission]. The satellite details section 450 may be displayed for each satellite when the user accesses the corresponding satellite identifier field, or taps the display above the satellite identifier field. In some instances, each satellite identifier field 442.sub.i may incorporate a sub-field (not shown) for expressly requesting detailed information for a corresponding satellite, with the displaying of the satellite details section 450 being displayed as result of selection of that sub-field.: [0099], Also see Fig. 4B, Fib. 4C).
Regarding claim 21, ARRINGTON in view of WIEDEMAN teaches claim 18 as above.
ARRINGTON in view of WIEDEMAN does not specifically teach, wherein scheduling comprises multiple redundant transmissions is performed using an optimization method, in which transmit times are restricted to a discrete grid with spacing W over a time interval T.
TRERISE, in the same field of endeavor, discloses: wherein scheduling comprises multiple redundant transmissions is performed using an optimization method, in which transmit times are restricted to a discrete grid with spacing W over a time interval T. T (see Fig. 2B an app running on a communication device may be utilized for aiming or aligning an antenna in a terrestrial system, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. Referring to FIG. 2A, there is shown an antenna 260. The antenna 260 may comprise a plurality of antenna elements 260a, . . . , 260n.The antenna 260 may comprise a plurality of sensors 262a, . . . , 262n. The sensors 262a, . . . , 262n may comprise suitable logic, circuitry, interfaces and/or code that may be operable to determine a position and/or orientation of the antenna 260. The sensors 262a, . . . , 262n may comprise a gyroscope, an accelerometer, a compass and/or an altimeter. Position information from one or more of the sensors 262a, . . . , 262n may be acquired by and utilized by an antenna alignment app, which may be running on a communication device, to determine the current position and/or a newly determined current position of the antenna 260 during alignment of the antenna 158: [0066]-[0067]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was filed to create the invention of ARRINGTON in view of WIEDEMAN to include the above recited limitations as taught by TRERISE in order to determine how the satellite dish should be aligned in order to optimize the reception of the satellite signals from the satellite television network (TRERISE; Par. 0031).
Regarding claim 22, ARRINGTON in view of WIEDEMAN in view of TRERISE teaches claim 21 as shown above. Furthermore, ARRINGTON teaches, wherein the time interval is T = [now-L, now+L], where L is a latency time period (control facility 130 receives signal power measurements from CUs and uses those measurements, along with CU location information and measurement time stamps, to affect power levels of signals provided within the system.: col. 5 lines 10-24).
Conclusion
/M Mostazir Rahman/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411