DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 2, 4, 16, 17, 19, 21, 22, 47, and 65-73 are currently pending. Claims 3, 5-15, 18, 20, 23-46, and 48-64 are cancelled. The amended claims do overcome the previously stated 103 rejections. However, upon further consideration, claims 1, 2, 4, 16, 17, 19, 21, 22, 47, and 65-73 are rejected under the following new 103 rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 16, 17, 19, 21, 22, 47, and 65-68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whear et al (US 2015/0318529) in view of Whear et al (WO 2017/062461), Furukawa et al (US 2014/0127565), and further in view of Onari et al (JP 06-203822 A, machine translation).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 16, 22, 47, and 65-68, Whear ‘529 discloses a vehicle comprising a flooded lead acid battery comprising:
an aqueous electrolyte including sulfuric acid and water;
a positive electrode;
a negative electrode; and
a separator between the positive electrode and the negative electrode, the separator comprising:
a battery separator (porous membrane) that may be made of polyolefin such as polyethylene or polypropylene that is laminated to a nonwoven layer/mat (fibrous mat) that is comprised of synthetic fiber or cellulosic fiber; and a carbon additive coating (nucleation additive coating) that is applied to the battery separator, the carbon additive coating comprising a carbon additive (nucleation additive) such as carbon black and a binder that may be part of the coating, wherein acrylates (acrylic binder) is an example of the binder; wherein the thickness of the carbon coating may be adjusted to meet the design parameters of the electrode plate spacing in the battery, the coating thickness may be adjusted from sub-micron to several hundred microns; wherein the carbon additive coating may include more than 85% carbon material which corresponds to 15% or less of a binder (acrylic binder); wherein the battery separator (porous membrane) has a cross-ribbed shape ([0003],[0006],[0012],[0031],[0043],[0048],[0057],[0066], [0068],[0093],[0101]). Whear ‘529 further teaches that the carbon material enables the separator to exhibit improved properties ([0031], [0065-0066], and suggests that the binder is present simply to provide binding properties to the carbon additive coating ([0057],[0115]).
However, Whear ‘529 does not expressly teach an acrylic binder that is 1% to 5% by weight of the nucleation additive coating (claim 1); or an acrylic binder that is 1% to 15% by weight of the nucleation additive coating (claim 66).
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the encompassed portion of the ranges with a reasonable expectation that the carbon additive coating would be successful (MPEP 2144.05 I). It would have also been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the relative amounts of carbon and binder to arrive at the claimed ranges in order to achieve a desired balance between the improved properties provided by carbon and the binding properties provided by the binder for the carbon additive coating of Whear ‘529 (MPEP 2144.05 II). The examiner notes that there does not appear to be any evidence of criticality of the claimed amount of acrylic binder of record.
However, Whear ‘529 does not expressly teach a porous membrane that has a porosity of at least 50%; a fibrous mat that is one of the group consisting of: an AGM separator, a pasting paper, a scrim, a membrane, and combinations thereof; a nucleation additive coating having a weight distribution of from 0.1 to 0.5 mg/cm2 and a thickness from 5 microns to 60 microns (claim 1); a nucleation additive coating having a weight distribution of 0.35 mg/cm2 and a thickness of 10 microns (claim 65); a porous membrane that is an AGM separator or is adjacent to an AGM separator (claim 16); a ribbed porous membrane that has a porosity of at least 65%; a fibrous mat that is one of the group consisting of: an AGM separator, a pasting paper, a scrim, a membrane, and combinations thereof; a nucleation additive coating having a weight distribution of from 0.1 to 0.5 mg/cm2 and a thickness from 5 microns to 60 microns (claim 66); wherein the nucleation coating further comprises a particulate filler (claims 67 and 68).
Whear ‘461 discloses a pasting paper or an AGM separator that is a substrate for a laminate structure battery separator; a porous membrane that has a porosity of about 60% (pg. 26, lines 21-22) (pg. 19, lines 6-7); a coating (nucleation additive coating) applied to a microporous battery separator membrane (porous membrane) at a thickness of 5 um to 75 um (pg. 46, lines 10-19); wherein the coating includes material such as silica (particulate filler) (pg. 42, lines 3-8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Whear ‘529 separator to include a pasting paper or an AGM separator in place of the nonwoven layer; a porous membrane that has a porosity of about 60%; a coating that has a thickness of 5 um to 75 um and includes a particulate filler such as silica in order to provide a multilayer or composite battery separator which has excellent oxidation resistance and is stable in a lead acid battery system as well as improved charge acceptance and wettability (Abstract and pg. 6, lines 8-10). In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Whear ‘529/Whear ‘461 separator to include a nucleation additive coating having a thickness from 5 microns to 60 microns because it has been held that the discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454. 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)). Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Whear ‘529/Whear ‘461 separator to include a porous membrane that has a porosity of at least 65% because even if the range of prior art and the claimed range do not overlap, obviousness may still exist if the ranges are close enough that one of ordinary skill in the art would not expect a difference in properties (In re Woodruff 16 USPQ 2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)).
However, Whear ‘529 as modified by Whear ‘461 does not expressly teach a nucleation additive coating comprising a nucleation additive, wherein the nucleation additive comprises acetylene black (claim 1).
Furukawa et al discloses a coating layer for a lead-acid battery, comprising conductive carbon material such as carbon black, wherein the carbon black can be selected from at least one of acetylene black, furnace black, and ketjen black ([0008],[0014]).
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because the disclosure of Furukawa indicates that acetylene black is a suitable material for use as conductive carbon material for a lead-acid battery. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use has generally been held to be prima facie obvious (MPEP §2144.07). As such, it would be obvious to use acetylene black. In addition, the substitution of one known type of carbon black for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
However, Whear ‘529 as modified by Whear ‘461 and Furukawa et al does not expressly teach a porous membrane having a larger surface area than the fibrous mat such that the fibrous mat does not completely cover the porous membrane (claims 1 and 66).
Onari et al discloses a peripheral portion of a glass mat (fibrous mat) that is made smaller than a separator substrate (porous membrane) which corresponds to the separator substrate having a larger surface area than the glass mat such that the glass mat does not completely cover the porous membrane ([0007] and Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Whear ‘529/Whear ‘461/Furukawa separator to include a porous membrane having a larger surface area than the fibrous mat such that the fibrous mat does not completely cover the porous membrane in order to prevent short circuits, particularly those occurring at the lower portion of the battery so as to prolong the life of the battery with quality stabilized (Abstract).
Examiner’s note: the Office takes the position that “a weight distribution of from 0.1 to 0.5 mg/cm2”, “a weight distribution of 0.35 mg/cm2”, and “the flooded lead acid battery displays a dynamic charge acceptance greater than a comparative flooded lead acid battery which includes a separator without a nucleation additive used” are inherent characteristics of the Whear ‘529/Whear ‘461/Furukawa battery because the combination of Whear ‘529, Whear ‘461, and Furukawa teaches the same carbon additive coating comprising acetylene black and acrylic binder with the same thickness as the present invention.
Regarding claim 4, Whear ‘529 does not expressly teach a polyethylene that is an ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene.
Whear ‘461 discloses a porous membrane that is made of a material such as an ultrahigh molecular weight polyethylene (pg. 26, lines 15-26).
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because the disclosure of Whear ‘461 indicates that ultrahigh molecular weight polyethylene is a suitable material for use as porous membrane. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use has generally been held to be prima facie obvious (MPEP §2144.07). As such, it would be obvious to use ultrahigh molecular weight polyethylene.
Regarding claims 17 and 19, Whear ‘529 does not expressly teach a porous membrane comprising a particle-like filler (claim 17); wherein the particle-like filler is selected from the group consisting of: dry finely divided silica, precipitated silica, amorphous silica, alumina, talc, and combinations thereof (claim 19).
Whear ‘461 discloses a microporous polymer layer (porous membrane) comprising an inert filler material (particle-like filler), wherein the filler is selected from dry, finely divided silica, alumina, talc (pg. 28, lines 8-10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Whear battery separator to include a particle-like filler such as dry, finely divided silica, alumina, talc in order to eliminate stratification and provide oxidation resistance to the separator (Abstract and pg. 28, lines 18-19).
Regarding claim 21, Whear ‘529 also discloses a battery separator comprising a surfactant ([0046]).
Claims 69-72 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whear ‘529 in view of Whear ‘461, Furukawa et al, and Onari et al as applied to claims 1 and 66 above, and further in view of Ketzer et al (US 2015/0099189).
However, Whear ‘529 as modified by Whear ‘461 and Furukawa et al does not expressly teach a fibrous mat that has a thickness of at least about 200 um, at least about 250 um, at least about 300 um, at least about 400 um, at least about 500 um, at least about 600 um, at least about 700 um, at least about 800 um, at least about 900 um, at least about 1 mm, or at least about 2 mm (claims 69 and 70); a fibrous mat that has a thickness of at least about 500 um, at least about 600 um, at least about 700 um, at least about 800 um, at least about 900 um, at least about 1 mm, or at least about 2 mm (claims 71 and 72).
Ketzer et al discloses a separator that includes a fiber mat/reinforcement mat “250” (fibrous mat) positioned adjacent to a microporous membrane (porous membrane) to reinforce the microporous membrane, wherein the reinforcement mat (fibrous mat) has a thickness of between 50 um and about 500 um ([0054],[0064],[0079]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Whear ‘529/Whear ‘461/Furukawa/Onari separator to include a fibrous mat that has a thickness of between 50 um and about 500 um in order to utilize sufficient thickness to reinforce the porous membrane and/or provide puncture resistance ([0054]). In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Whear ‘529/Whear ‘461/Furukawa/Onari/Ketzer separator to include a fibrous mat that has a thickness of at least about 500 um because in a case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ 2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)). There is no evidence of criticality of the claimed thickness of the fibrous mat.
Claim 73 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whear et al (US 2015/0318529) in view of Whear et al (WO 2017/062461), and further in view of Onari et al (JP 06-203822 A, machine translation).
Whear ‘529 discloses a battery comprising:
an aqueous electrolyte including sulfuric acid and water;
a positive electrode;
a negative electrode; and
a separator between the positive electrode and the negative electrode, the separator comprising:
a battery separator (porous membrane) that may be made of polyolefin such as polyethylene or polypropylene that is laminated to a nonwoven layer/mat (fibrous mat) that is comprised of synthetic fiber or cellulosic fiber; and a carbon additive coating (nucleation additive coating) that is applied to the battery separator, the carbon additive coating comprising a carbon additive (nucleation additive) such as carbon black and a binder that may be part of the coating; wherein the thickness of the carbon coating may be adjusted to meet the design parameters of the electrode plate spacing in the battery, the coating thickness may be adjusted from sub-micron to several hundred microns; wherein the carbon additive coating may include more than 85% carbon material which corresponds to 15% or less of a binder ([0003],[0006],[0012],[0031],[0043],[0048], [0057],[0066],[0068],[0093],[0101]). Whear ‘529 further teaches that the carbon material enables the separator to exhibit improved properties ([0031], [0065-0066], and suggests that the binder is present simply to providing binding properties to the carbon additive coating ([0057],[0115]).
However, Whear ‘529 does not expressly teach a binder that is 1% to 5% by weight of the nucleation additive coating.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the encompassed portion of the ranges with a reasonable expectation that the carbon additive coating would be successful (MPEP 2144.05 I). It would have also been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the relative amounts of carbon and binder to arrive at the claimed ranges in order to achieve a desired balance between the improved properties provided by carbon and the binding properties provided by the binder for the carbon additive coating of Whear ‘529 (MPEP 2144.05 II). The examiner notes that there does not appear to be any evidence of criticality of the claimed amount of binder of record.
However, Whear ‘529 does not expressly teach a porous membrane that has a porosity of at least 50%; a fibrous mat that is one of the group consisting of: an AGM separator, a pasting paper, a scrim, a membrane, and combinations thereof; a nucleation additive coating having a weight distribution of from 0.1 to 0.5 mg/cm2 and a thickness from 5 microns to 60 microns.
Whear ‘461 discloses a pasting paper or an AGM separator that is a substrate for a laminate structure battery separator; a porous membrane that has a porosity of about 60% (pg. 26, lines 21-22) (pg. 19, lines 6-7); a coating (nucleation additive coating) applied to a microporous battery separator membrane (porous membrane) at a thickness of 5 um to 75 um (pg. 46, lines 10-19).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Whear ‘529 separator to include a pasting paper or an AGM separator in place of the nonwoven layer; a porous membrane that has a porosity of about 60%; a coating that has a thickness of 5 um to 75 um in order to provide a multilayer or composite battery separator which has excellent oxidation resistance and is stable in a lead acid battery system as well as improved charge acceptance and wettability (Abstract and pg. 6, lines 8-10). In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Whear ‘529/Whear ‘461 separator to include a nucleation additive coating having a thickness from 5 microns to 60 microns because it has been held that the discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454. 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)).
However, Whear ‘529 as modified by Whear ‘461 does not expressly teach a porous membrane having a larger surface area than the fibrous mat such that the fibrous mat does not completely cover the porous membrane (claim 73).
Onari et al discloses a peripheral portion of a glass mat (fibrous mat) that is made smaller than a separator substrate (porous membrane) which corresponds to the separator substrate having a larger surface area than the glass mat such that the glass mat does not completely cover the porous membrane ([0007] and Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Whear ‘529/Whear ‘461 separator to include a porous membrane having a larger surface area than the fibrous mat such that the fibrous mat does not completely cover the porous membrane in order to prevent short circuits, particularly those occurring at the lower portion of the battery so as to prolong the life of the battery with quality stabilized (Abstract).
Examiner’s note: the Office takes the position that “a weight distribution of from 0.1 to 0.5 mg/cm2” and “the battery displays a dynamic charge acceptance greater than a comparative battery which includes a separator without a nucleation additive used” are inherent characteristics of the Whear ‘529/Whear ‘461 battery because the combination of Whear ‘529 and Whear ‘461 teaches the same carbon additive coating comprising carbon and acrylic binder with the same thickness as the present invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/17/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that “Moreover, and importantly, D4 is directed to a materially different structure than that presently claimed. In this regard, in D4, the reinforcement mats are associated with the electrodes and electrode active material, not with the separator as presently claimed. D4 separately identifies the "battery separator 220" as the component positioned between the positive electrode and negative electrode to electrically insulate the electrodes while permitting ionic transport. See D4 at [0053]-[0054]. In contrast, D4 describes reinforcement mat 230 as being "positioned near a surface of negative electrode 212" and "disposed partially or fully over the surface of negative electrode 212." D4 at [0055]. D4 further explains that reinforcement mat 230 is "impregnated or saturated with the negative active material 214" and may be "entirely disposed within the negative active material 214," i.e., fully buried within the lead paste. D4 at [0056]. Similarly, D4 describes reinforcement mat 240 as positioned near the positive electrode and potentially impregnated or saturated with positive active material. D4 at [0069]. Thus, D4 is primarily concerned with reinforcement mats that interact with, support, and may even be embedded within electrode active material. Indeed, D4 explains that the conductive material of reinforcement mat 230 contacts the electrode, and more specifically the active material of the electrode, to enable electron flow. D4 at [0057]. This stands in stark contrast to the presently claimed lead acid batteries, in which the fibrous mat is recited as part of the separator itself, together with the porous membrane and nucleation additive coating. That is, the claimed fibrous mat is not an electrode reinforcement mat impregnated with active material like that of D4”.
In response, as stated above, Ketzer (D4) discloses not only reinforcement mat 230, but also reinforcement mat 250 that is positioned adjacent the separator 220. So, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the thickness of the reinforcement mat 230 is also applicable to reinforcement 250 in order to reinforce the porous membrane and/or provide puncture resistance (see para. [0054]).
Conclusion
/T.S.C/Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 9/21/2026