DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Cho does not explicitly disclose wherein the passivation layer is a double-layered structure, one layer of the passivation layer adjacent to the organic filling layer has hydrophilic substances or groups, and another layer of the passivation layer adjacent to the organic planarization layer has hydrophobic substances or groups.
However, par [0095] the sixth insulation layer 60 may include an organic layer and may have a single-layer or multi-layer structure; and par [0096] of Cho discloses that the sixth insulation layer 60 may include at least one of an acryl-based resin, a methacryl-based resin, a polyisoprene-based resin, a vinyl-based resin, an epoxy-based resin, a urethane-based resin, a cellulose-based resin, a siloxane-based resin, a polyamide-based resin, or a perylene-based resin.
Note Cho suggests that the sixth insulation layer 60 may have a single-layer or multi-layer structure which 2 or more layer and that the sixth insulation layer 60 may include at least one of an acryl-based resin, a methacryl-based resin, a polyisoprene-based resin, a vinyl-based resin, an epoxy-based resin, a urethane-based resin, a cellulose-based resin, a siloxane-based resin, a polyamide-based resin, or a perylene-based resin.
Therefore, one of organic skill in the art can form the passivation layer to be a double-layered structure, and selectively choose one layer of the passivation layer adjacent to the organic filling layer has hydrophilic substances or groups, and selectively choose another layer of the passivation layer adjacent to the organic planarization layer has hydrophobic substances or groups as Cho suggest the possible combination of material in order form a ensure that moisture is drawn away from Transistor T1 to ensure reliability of the array substrate. For example, one layer of the passivation layer adjacent to the organic filling layer has hydrophilic substances or groups keeps moisture away from layer 50 and therefore away from the TFT T1 and another layer of the passivation layer adjacent to the organic planarization layer has hydrophobic substances or groups keeps moisture away from the from layer 60 and therefore away from layer 50 and therefore away from TFT T1.
As such it would have been obvious to form an array substrate of Cho comprising wherein the passivation layer is a double-layered structure, one layer of the passivation layer adjacent to the organic filling layer has hydrophilic substances or groups, and another layer of the passivation layer adjacent to the organic planarization layer has hydrophobic substances or groups in order that moisture is drawn away from Transistor T1 (the pixel circuit layer) to ensure reliability of the array substrate
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. 20190164998.
Regarding claim 1, fig. 8E of Cho disclose an array substrate, comprising:
a substrate layer BL;
a functional structure layer (BRL-50) disposed on the substrate layer and having an organic filling layer 50 (par [0095-0096]);
at least one passivation layer 60 (par [0096] - acryl-based resin - Acrylic-based hydrophilic resins are a class of water-dispersed polymers used in coatings and other applications, created by introducing hydrophilic groups into acrylic monomers) disposed on the organic filling layer 50 of the functional structure layer and having hydrophilic substances or groups; and
an organic planarization layer TFE (fig. 9 and par [0105] – organic) disposed on a surface of the passivation layer away from the functional structure layer.
Cho does not explicitly disclose wherein the passivation layer is a double-layered structure, one layer of the passivation layer adjacent to the organic filling layer has hydrophilic substances or groups, and another layer of the passivation layer adjacent to the organic planarization layer has hydrophobic substances or groups.
However, par [0095] the sixth insulation layer 60 may include an organic layer and may have a single-layer or multi-layer structure; and par [0096] of Cho discloses that the sixth insulation layer 60 may include at least one of an acryl-based resin, a methacryl-based resin, a polyisoprene-based resin, a vinyl-based resin, an epoxy-based resin, a urethane-based resin, a cellulose-based resin, a siloxane-based resin, a polyamide-based resin, or a perylene-based resin.
Note Cho suggests that the sixth insulation layer 60 may have a single-layer or multi-layer structure which 2 or more layer and that the sixth insulation layer 60 may include at least one of an acryl-based resin, a methacryl-based resin, a polyisoprene-based resin, a vinyl-based resin, an epoxy-based resin, a urethane-based resin, a cellulose-based resin, a siloxane-based resin, a polyamide-based resin, or a perylene-based resin.
Therefore, one of organic skill in the art can form the passivation layer to be a double-layered structure, and selectively choose one layer of the passivation layer adjacent to the organic filling layer has hydrophilic substances or groups, and selectively choose another layer of the passivation layer adjacent to the organic planarization layer has hydrophobic substances or groups as Cho suggest the possible combination of material in order form a ensure that moisture is drawn away from Transistor T1 to ensure reliability of the array substrate. For example, one layer of the passivation layer adjacent to the organic filling layer has hydrophilic substances or groups keeps moisture away from layer 50 and therefore away from the TFT T1 and another layer of the passivation layer adjacent to the organic planarization layer has hydrophobic substances or groups keeps moisture away from the from layer 60 and therefore away from layer 50 and therefore away from TFT T1.
As such it would have been obvious to form an array substrate of Cho comprising wherein the passivation layer is a double-layered structure, one layer of the passivation layer adjacent to the organic filling layer has hydrophilic substances or groups, and another layer of the passivation layer adjacent to the organic planarization layer has hydrophobic substances or groups in order that moisture is drawn away from Transistor T1 (the pixel circuit layer) to ensure reliability of the array substrate
Regarding claim 2, fig. 8 of Cho discloses wherein the functional structure layer further comprises: a barrier layer BRL disposed on the substrate layer; a buffer layer BFL disposed on the barrier layer; an active layer OSP1 disposed on the buffer layer; a first insulating layer 10 disposed on the active layer and the buffer layer; a first gate electrode layer GE1 disposed on the first insulating layer; a second insulating layer 20 disposed on the first gate electrode layer and the first insulating layer; a second gate electrode layer UE disposed on the second insulating layer; a dielectric layer 30 disposed on the second gate electrode layer and the second insulating layer; and a source/drain electrode layer (DE1/SE1) disposed on the dielectric layer and penetrating through the dielectric layer, the second insulating layer, and the first insulating layer to connect to two ends of the active layer; wherein the organic filling layer 50 is disposed between the dielectric layer 30 and the source/drain electrode layer (see layer on BA side and DE1/SE1 on NBA side and 50 between).
Regarding claim 3, fig. 8E of Cho discloses wherein the organic filling layer 50 has an extending part (parts extending from left and right sides of GV) and a vertical part, the extending part covers the dielectric layer, and the vertical part is perpendicularly connected to the extending part and penetrates through the dielectric layer, the second insulating layer, the first insulating layer, the buffer layer, and a portion of the barrier layer.
Regarding claim 4, fig. 8E of Cho discloses comprising a functional area NBA and a non-functional area BA surrounding the functional area, wherein the extending part of the organic filling layer is disposed in the non-functional area, and the active layer, the first gate electrode layer, the second gate electrode layer, and the source/drain electrode layer are disposed in the functional area.
Regarding claim 7, Cho discloses wherein a material of the passivation layer is one of organics with hydrophilic bonds (acryl-based resin).
Regarding claim 8, Cho discloses wherein the organics is one or more of organics with a carboxyl group (acrylic-based resins can have carboxyl groups) or organics with a hydroxyl group (acrylic-based resins are hydroxyl-functional, meaning they contain hydroxyl groups (\(OH\))).
Regarding claim 9, fig. 8 of Cho discloses wherein the active layer has a doped area correspondingly disposed at the two ends of the active layer, and the source/drain electrode layer is connected to the doped area.
Regarding claim 10, fig. 8 of Cho disclose a display device, comprising the array substrate according to claim 1.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VONGSAVANH SENGDARA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893