DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
The following is a final Office Action in response to Applicant’s communications received on May 11, 2026. Claims 1, 14 and 25 has been amended, and claims 4, 10, 13, 17, 20, 24 and 28 have been cancelled.
Currently claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-12, 14-16, 18-19, 21-23, 25-27 and 29-30 are pending. Claims 1, 14 and 25 are independent.
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s amendments necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection in this Office Action.
The objection to claim 1 as set forth in the previous Office Action is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendments.
The 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejection as set forth in the previous Office Action is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendments.
Applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 14 and 25 are NOT sufficient to overcome the 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejection as set forth in the previous Office Action. Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejection to claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-16, 18-19, 21-23, 25-27 and 29-30 has been maintained.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 05/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the Remarks on page 18, Applicant disagrees and traverses the rejection based on the following arguments. However, the Examiner did not find these arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-12, 14-16, 18-19, 21-23, 25-27 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
As per Step 1 of the subject matter eligibility analysis, it is to determine whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.
In this case, claims 1-3, 5-9 and 11-12 are directed to a method for providing information retrieved from the ERP system to the CRM system for use in the workflow of the CRM transaction, which falls within the statutory category of a process; claims 14-16, 18-19 and 21-23 are directed to a system comprising processing devices and memory devices, which falls within the statutory category of a machine; and claims 25-27 and 29-30 are directed to a system comprising processing devices and memory devices, which falls within the statutory category of a machine. Step 1 is satisfied.
In Step 2A of the subject matter eligibility analysis, it is to “determine whether the claim at issue is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea, a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon). Under this step, a two-prong inquiry will be performed to determine if the claim recites a judicial exception (an abstract idea enumerated in the 2019 Guidance), then determine if the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception. See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (2019 Guidance), 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 54-55 (January 7, 2019).
In Prong One, it is to determine if the claim recites a judicial exception (an abstract idea enumerated in the 2019 Guidance, a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon).
Taking the method as representative, claim 1 recites “a method of integrating information [stored in a CRM and an ERP] on behalf of an enterprise…,” installing a framework of microcomponents into the CRM, receiving a request to initiate a CRM transaction, determining, based on the CRM transaction, the sales organization picker microcomponent is associated with the workflow of the CRM transaction, retrieving information from the ERP system, providing the information retrieved from the EPR system to the CRM system, determining the plant picker microcomponents is associated with the workflow of the CRM transaction, retrieving additional information from the ERP system, providing the additional information retrieved from the ERP system by the plant picker microcomponents to the CRM system, providing a user interface to enable a user to modify a configuration, performing a price simulation process…, receiving a web service call…, retrieving pricing data from the ERP system, providing the pricing data in XML format to the CRM system, and upgrading the sales organization picker microcomponent; the dependent claims further recite the similar limitations. Each of these steps involves observation, evaluation, judgment, or opinion. For example, “observing the CRM transaction and determining whether a sales organization picker microcomponent associated with the workflow of the CRM transaction” requires evaluation of the CRM transaction and judgment to determine whether a sales organization picker /plant picker microcomponent associated with the workflow of the CRM transaction. The Specification provided an example supports the view of mental process, such as “The sale area picker uses the SAP customer number that is attached to the CPQ quote to determine the SAP customer ID associated with the account.” (Spec, ¶ 28). None of the limitations recites technological implementation details for any of these steps, but instead recite only results desired by any and all possible means. The limitations, as drafted, are directed to methods, allowing a user to manage CRM transactions, managing commercial interactions, and managing interactions between people, which fall within the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping. See Under the 2019 Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 52. The mere nominal recitation of generic computer components including “by one or more processors”, “by processors”, “memory devices” and “a user interface” for performing no more than generic computer functions do not take the claims out of the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping because they do not provide meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. See MPEP § 2106.05(h). Thus, claims fall in the mental processes grouping, and therefore, the claim recite an abstract idea.
In Prong Two, it is to determine if the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception.
Beyond the abstract idea, the claims recite the additional elements of by one or more processors”, “by processors”, “memory devices” and “a user interface” for executing instructions to perform the steps. These additional elements are recited at a high level of generality and merely invoked as tools to perform the generic computer functions including receiving, storing, manipulating, and transmitting information over a network. Thus, merely adding a generic computer, generic computer components, or programmed computer to perform generic computer functions does not automatically overcome an eligibility rejection. Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. V. CLS Bank Int’l, 134 S. Ct. 2347, 2358-59, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1983-84 (2014). Again, automating an abstract process does not convert it into a practical application. See Credit Acceptance v. Westlake Servs., 859 F.3d 1044, 1055 (Fed. Cir. 2017) (“Our prior cases have made clear that mere automation of manual processes using generic computers does not constitute a patentable improvement in computer technology.”). However, simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and nothing in the claims that reflects an improvement to the functioning of a computer itself or another technology. Therefore, the claims are directed to an abstract idea, and the analysis is proceeding to Step 2B.
In Step 2B of Alice, it is "a search for an ‘inventive concept’—i.e., an element or combination of elements that is ‘sufficient to ensure that the patent in practice amounts to significantly more than a patent upon the [ineligible concept’ itself.’” Id. (alternation in original) (quoting Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 132 S. Ct. 1289, 1294 (2012)).
The claim as described in Prong Two above, nothing in the claims that integrates the abstract idea into a practical application. The same analysis applies here in Step 2B.
Beyond the abstract idea, the claims recite the additional elements of by one or more processors”, “by processors”, “memory devices” and “a user interface” for executing instructions to perform the steps. These computer components are recited at a high level of generality, nothing more than any generic computer that capable performs generic computer functions including receiving, storing, and transmitting data over a network. In the present case, at best, the one or more processors/processors may perform the steps of receiving, storing, and transmitting (providing) data over a network. However, the functions of receiving, storing and transmitting data over a network have been recognized by the courts as merely well-understood, routine, and conventional functions of generic computers. See MPEP 2106.05 (d) (II) (Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network); Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versate Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1383, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93.). Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer for performing generic computer functions are not enough to qualify as a practical application, and the combination of the claimed elements do not provide significantly more to an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f) & (h)).
For the foregoing reasons, claims 1-3, 5-9 and 11-12 cover subject matter that is judicially-excepted from patent eligibility under § 101 as discussed above, the other claims 14-16, 18-19, 21-23, 25-27 and 29-30 parallel claims 1-3, 5-9 and 11-12—similarly cover claimed subject matter that is judicially excepted from patent eligibility under § 101.
Therefore, the claims as a whole, viewed individually and as a combination, do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-12, 14-16, 18-19, 21-23, 25-27 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gil et al., (US 2002/0188513, hereinafter: Gil), and in view of Wilkins et al., (US 2020/0005123, hereinafter: Wilkins), and further in view of Desai et al., (US 2014/0208266, hereinafter: Desai), and Kemmer et al., (US 20160162920, hereinafter: Kemmer), and Charlton et al., (US 10176888 B2, hereinafter: Charlton).
Regarding claim 1, Gil discloses a computer-based method of integrating information stored in multiple database systems on behalf of an enterprise in real-time without the need for data synchronization or complex application programming interface (API) integration via a third party, wherein the multiple database systems comprise a customer relationship management (CRM) system of the enterprise and an enterprise resource planning (ERP) system of the enterprise (see Fig. 5-6, ¶ 50, ¶ 70, ¶ 100-101), the method performed by one or more computing systems, comprising processing devices and memory devices coupled to the processing devices, with one or more memory devices having microcomponent instructions stored thereon that, when executed by one or more processors of the one or more computing system is configured to (see ¶ 36), cause the one or more processing devices to perform the method comprising:
wherein at least one of the microcomponents is configured to receive extensible markup language (XML) based service calls from the CRM system (see ¶ 78-79, ¶ 92-92, ¶ 113, ¶ 121), convert the XML format into ERP-native API calls and retrieve validated data from the ERP system (see Fig. 18; ¶ 84, ¶ 93, ¶ 180, ¶ 198).
Receiving a request to initiate a CRM transaction (see Abstract: a request from a network system for access real-time data is received; ¶ 7-9, ¶ 11, ¶ 56, ¶ 64, ¶ 69, ¶ 80-81, ¶ 89, ¶ 120: a customer or partner initiates a transaction directly to the execution subsystem), wherein the CRM transaction is a configure, price, quote (CPQ) process for a selected product have a workflow that is to be executed by the CRM system, wherein the ERP system of the enterprise maintains information relevant to the CRM transaction (see ¶ 8, ¶ 70: describes the system includes application or subsystems for enterprise resource planning (ERP) and customer relationship management (CRM) may provide or support functionality and maintain customer information in a database);
Associating based on the CRM transaction, the sales organization picker microcomponent is associated with the workflow of the CRM transaction (see ¶ 78-80, ¶ 82 and ¶ 90);
Retrieving using the sales organization picker microcomponent, retrieving information from the ERP system, wherein the information is associated with the workflow for the CRM transaction (see ¶ 79, ¶ 96, ¶ 122 and ¶ 128-129);
providing in real-time the information retrieved from the ERP system by the sales organization picker microcomponent to the CRM system for use in the workflow of the CRM transaction (see ¶ 10, ¶ 62, ¶ 70-72, and ¶ 123-126);
Associating the plant picker microcomponent is associated with the workflow of the CRM transaction (see ¶ 78-80, ¶ 127, ¶ 137).
Retrieving using the plant picker microcomponent, additional information from the ERP system, wherein the additional information is associated with the workflow for the CRM transaction (see ¶ 88, ¶ 90, ¶ 96 and ¶ 149);
17providing in real-time the additional information retrieved from the ERP system by the second microcomponent to the CRM system for use in the workflow of the CRMby the plant picker microcomponent to the CRM system for use in the workflow of the CRM transaction (see ¶ 10, ¶ 62-64, ¶ 72, and claim 1);
Providing a user interface to enable a user to modify a configuration of said selected product (see Fig. 15; ¶ 73, ¶ 78, ¶ 177); and wherein subsequent to receiving a request to configure a product associated with the CPQ process (see ¶ 9-10, ¶ 78, ¶ 90, ¶ 200), retrieving rule-based configuration options from the ERP system using a fourth microcomponent (see ¶ 86-88, ¶ 128-129, ¶ 172-173);
Receiving a web service call from the CRM system to the pricing and order simulation microcomponent using an (XML) format structure (see ¶ 7-10, ¶ 162-163); and
retrieving pricing data from the ERP system, and in response, providing, by processors, with microcomponent instructions stored on coupled memory devices, the pricing data in XML format to the CRM system (see ¶ 96, ¶ 124, ¶ 129);
wherein said user views real-time information provided by plant picker component and uses such information to create said request to initiate said CRM transaction based at least in part to information provided by said plant picker component (see Abstract; ¶ 8, ¶ 13, ¶ 80, ¶ 86); and
wherein said user modifies configuration information of said selected product at said user interface after said plant picker microcomponent has determined that said selected product is configurable (see ¶ 78, ¶ 86, ¶ 126, ¶ 131, ¶ 145).
Gil disclose the process execution component may include software or application for initiating business workflow by a transaction, a request, or a demand from a partner system, generating and maintaining the context of the transaction in real-time (see ¶ 79-80); and setting up unit price for a particular product (see ¶ 126).
Gil does not explicitly disclose wherein the CRM transaction is a configure, price, quote (CPQ) process have a workflow that is to be executed by the CRM system of the enterprise; however, Wilkins in an analogous art for generating product quotes discloses
wherein the CRM transaction is a configure, price, quote (CPQ) process for a selected product having a workflow that is to be executed by the CRM system of the enterprise (see Abstract, ¶ 2-4, ¶ 7: configurator the generate a quote for a product or service, the quote including a quote workflow and quote attributes; ¶ 32: the CPQ systems are processed through a customer defined workflow).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gil to include teaching of Wilkins in order to gain the commonly understood benefit of such adaption, such as providing the benefit of a more accurate pricing solution, enabling better decision making. Since the combination of each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Gil discloses an integrated network application designed and architected as a complete closed-loop system, it incorporate all of the features in one package required to execute and coordinate transactions accurately in the network and be able to monitor the performance of any given partner. It offers partners multiple connection options to minimize IT investment, reduce overhead, and increase adoption rates among partners. It supports direct, real-time connections to a number of enterprise resource planning (ERP), material requirement planning (MRP), supply chain management (SCM), customer relationship management (CRM), warehouse management systems (WMS), and enterprise application integration (EAI) applications or subsystems for direct back-end system integration. Communication with any existing system is possible using multiple electronic connection protocols, including enterprise application integration (EAI), electronic data interchange (EDI) files, flat file, and application connectors, so it does not require users to install and run software from their system (see ¶ 56-57); The enterprise component represents the enterprise and is integrated into the existing system of the enterprise. The enterprise component is operable to generate real-time data relevant to one or more transactions in which the enterprise is involved in the supply chain, and the partner component represent a partner and is integrated into the existing system of the partner; and the functionality of these components can be performed with suitable data processing facility running appropriate software and operating under the control of any suitable operating system (see ¶ 76).
Gil and Wilkins do not explicitly disclose the following limitations; however, Desai in an analogous art for managing applications discloses
Installing a framework of microcomponents into the CRM system of the enterprise, further wherein the framework of microcomponents comprises a sales organization picker microcomponent, a plant picker microcomponent, and a pricing and order simulation microcomponent, wherein the sales organization picker microcomponent is a first low-code integration link to the ERP system of the enterprise, wherein the plant picker microcomponent is a second low-code integration link to the ERP system, and wherein the pricing and order simulation microcomponent is a third low-code integration link to the ERP system (see ¶ 20, ¶ 39, ¶ 72-75, ¶ 83, ¶ 93, ¶ 96: VBScript is one of the low code programming techniques).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gil and in view of Wilkins to include teaching of Desai in order to gain the commonly understood benefit of such adaption, such as providing the benefit of enhancing computation efficiency, in turn of operational efficiency. Since the combination of each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Gil discloses a plurality of enterprise components for accessing real-time data of partner systems and retrieving data relevant to one or more transactions in which the partner is involved in the supply chain; and a network system of network may be implemented at least in part at each of enterprise domain. The network domain may be linked through a gateway to another network domain such as the service network may be linked to the supplier network through the respective network domains to route transaction between the networks (see ¶ 11-13, ¶ 45, and ¶ 126).
Gil, Wilkins and Desai do not explicitly disclose performing a price simulation process, however, Kemmer in an analogous art for simulating the cost of goods and services discloses
Performing based on the information retrieved from the ERP system, using the sales organization picker microcomponent and the additional information retrieved from the ERP system using the plant picker microcomponent, to perform a price simulation process using the pricing and order simulation microcomponent by (see ¶ 18-20 and ¶ 34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gil and in view of Wilkins and Desai to include teaching of Kemmer in order to gain the commonly understood benefit of such adaption, such as providing the benefit of a more optimal solution, in turn of operational efficiency. Since the combination of each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Gil discloses the real-time information within the supply chain can be used to modify or update the respective contexts for the transactions, and the partner coordinator may independently push out the real-time data to the network domain by cooperating with one or more existing legacy system at the customer domain (see ¶ 87).
Gil, Wilkins, Desai and Kemmer do not explicitly disclose the following limitations, however, Charlton in an analogous art for software upgrading management discloses
upgrading the sales organization picker microcomponent, wherein upgrading the sales organization picker microcomponent does not affect the operation of the plant picker microcomponent (see col. 15, lines 18-55, claim 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gil and in view of Wilkins, Desai and Kemmer to include teaching of Charlton in order to gain the commonly understood benefit of such adaption, such as providing the benefit of a more flexible solution for software management, in turn of operational efficiency. Since the combination of each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
In addition, the phrases “wherein the framework of microcomponents comprises a sales organization picker microcomponent, a plant picker microcomponent, and a pricing and order simulation microcomponent, wherein the sales organization picker microcomponent is a first low-code integration link to the ERP system of the enterprise, wherein the plant picker microcomponent is a second low-code integration link to the ERP system, and wherein the pricing and order simulation microcomponent is a third low-code integration link to the ERP system” are merely characterizing the type of the framework of microcomponents is directed to nonfunctional descriptive material because they cannot exhibit any functional interrelationship with the way the steps are performed. Therefore, it has been held that nonfunctional descriptive material will not distinguish the invention from prior art in term of patentability. (In re Gulack, 217 USPQ 401 (Fed. Cir. 1983), In re Ngai, 70 USPQ2d (Fed. Cir. 2004), In re Lowry, 32 USPQ2d 1031 (Fed. Cir. 1994); MPEP 2111.05).
Regarding claim 2, Gil discloses the computer-based method of claim 1, wherein at least one of the sales organization picker microcomponent and plant picker microcomponent are configurable (see ¶ 131).
Regarding claim 3, Gil, Wilkins, Desai and Kemmer do not explicitly disclose the following limitations, however, Charlton discloses the computer-based method of claim 2, wherein each of the sales organization picker microcomponent and plant picker microcomponent are separately upgradable (see claim 6, claim 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gil and in view of Wilkins, Desai and Kemmer to include teaching of Charlton in order to gain the commonly understood benefit of such adaption, such as providing the benefit of a more flexible solution for software management, in turn of operational efficiency. Since the combination of each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 5, Gil discloses the computer-based method of claim 1, further comprising:
providing, by at least one of the sales organization picker microcomponent and plant picker microcomponents, bi-directional data exchange between the CRM system and the ERP system (see ¶ 100: exchanges and management of data between the components of the network; ¶ 126).
Regarding claim 6, Gil discloses the computer-based method of claim 5 wherein the bi-directional data exchange is in real time (see ¶ 8, ¶ 41, ¶ 86, ¶ 100, and ¶ 126).
Regarding claim 7, Gil discloses the computer-based method of claim 1, further comprising:
periodically executing a batch routine to synchronize data between the CRM system and the ERP system (see ¶ 62, ¶ 176-177 and claim 7).
Regarding claim 8, Gil discloses the computer-based method of claim 7, further comprising:
retrieving information from the ERP system using the sales organization picker microcomponent and plant picker microcomponent in between the execution of successive batch routines (see ¶ 33, ¶ 66 and ¶ 96).
Regarding claim 9, Gil discloses the computer-based method of claim 8, wherein the batch routine is executed daily (see ¶ 176-177).
Regarding claim 11, Gil discloses the computer-based method of claim 1, wherein the sales organization picker microcomponent is a real time function to fetch sales organization data from the ERP system (see ¶ 11-12, ¶ 80 and ¶ 200).
Regarding claim 12, Gil discloses the computer-based method of claim 1 1, wherein the plant picker microcomponent is a real time function to fetch plant availability data from the ERP system (see ¶ 10, ¶ 149 and ¶ 200).
Regarding claim 14, Gil discloses a computing system to integrate information stored in multiple database systems on behalf of an enterprise in real-time without the need for data synchronization or complex application programming interface (API) integration via a third party, wherein the multiple database systems comprise a customer relationship management (CRM) system of the enterprise and an enterprise resource planning (ERP) system of the enterprise (see Fig. 5-6, ¶ 50, ¶ 70, ¶ 100-101), processing devices and memory devices coupled to the processing devices, with one or more memory devices having microcomponent instructions stored thereon that, when executed by one or more processors of the one or more computing system is configured to (see ¶ 36), cause the one or more processing devices to:
wherein at least one of the microcomponents is configured to receive extensible markup language (XML) based service calls from the CRM system (see ¶ 78-79, ¶ 92-92, ¶ 113, ¶ 121), convert the XML format into ERP-native API calls and retrieve validated data from the ERP system (see ¶ 84, ¶ 93, ¶ 180, ¶ 198).
Receive a request to initiate a CRM transaction (see Abstract: a request from a network system for access real-time data is received; ¶ 7-9, ¶ 11, ¶ 56, ¶ 64, ¶ 69, ¶ 80-81, ¶ 89 and ¶ 120: a customer or partner initiates a transaction directly to the execution subsystem), wherein the CRM transaction is a configure, price, quote (CPQ) process having a workflow that is to be executed by the CRM system of an enterprise, wherein the ERP system maintains information relevant to the CRM transaction (see ¶ 8, ¶ 70: describes the system includes application or subsystems for enterprise resource planning (ERP) and customer relationship management (CRM) may provide or support functionality and maintain customer information in a database);
Associating based on the CRM transaction, the sales organization picker microcomponent is associated with the workflow of the CRM transaction (see ¶ 78-80, ¶ 82 and ¶ 90);
Retrieve using the sales organization picker microcomponent, information associated with the workflow of the CRM transaction from the ERP system (see ¶ 79, ¶ 96, ¶ 122 and ¶ 128-129);
providing on behalf of the microcomponent, in real-time the information retrieved from the ERP system by the sales organization picker microcomponent to the CRM system in the first data format for use in the workflow of the CRM transaction (see ¶ 10, ¶ 62, ¶ 70-72, and ¶ 123-126);
associating the plant picker microcomponent is associated with the workflow of the CRM transaction (see ¶ 78-80, ¶ 127, ¶ 137).
Retrieve using the plant picker microcomponent, retrieve additional information from the ERP system, wherein the additional information is associated with the workflow for the CRM transaction (see ¶ 88, ¶ 90, ¶ 96 and ¶ 149);
receiving a service call from the CRM system in a first data format (see ¶ 7-9);
converting the service call from the first data format to a second data format (see ¶ 9, ¶ 13, ¶ 93, ¶ 126, ¶ 202);
retrieving the information associated with the workflow of the CRM transaction from the ERP system using the second data format (see ¶ 96, ¶ 129);
17providing on behalf of the microcomponent, in real-time the additional information retrieved from the ERP system by the plant picker microcomponent to the CRM system for use in the workflow of the CRMby the second microcomponent to the CRM system for use in the workflow of the CRM transaction (see ¶ 10, ¶ 62-64, ¶ 72, and claim 1);
Receiving a web service call from the CRM system to the pricing and order simulation microcomponent using an XML format structure (see ¶ 7-10, ¶ 113, ¶ 162-163); and
Retrieving pricing data from the ERP system, and in response (see ¶ 96, ¶ 126), providing, by processors, with microcomponent instructions stored on coupled memory devices (see ¶ 36), the pricing data in XML format to the CRM system (see ¶ 96, ¶ 124, ¶ 129);
wherein said user views real-time information provided by plant picker component and uses such information to create said request to initiate said CRM transaction based at least in part to information provided by said plant picker component (see Abstract; ¶ 8, ¶ 13, ¶ 80, ¶ 86); and
wherein said user modifies configuration information of said selected product at said user interface after said plant picker microcomponent has determined that said selected product is configurable (see ¶ 78, ¶ 86, ¶ 126, ¶ 131, ¶ 145).
Gil disclose the process execution component may include software or application for initiating business workflow by a transaction, a request, or a demand from a partner system, generating and maintaining the context of the transaction in real-time (see ¶ 79-80); and setting up unit price for a particular product (see ¶ 126).
Gil does not explicitly disclose wherein the CRM transaction is a configure, price, quote (CPQ) process have a workflow that is to be executed by the CRM system of the enterprise; however, Wilkins in an analogous art for generating product quotes discloses
wherein the CRM transaction is a configure, price, quote (CPQ) process having a workflow that is to be executed by the CRM system of an enterprise (see Abstract, ¶ 2-4, ¶ 7: configurator the generate a quote for a product or service, the quote including a quote workflow and quote attributes; ¶ 32: the CPQ systems are processed through a customer defined workflow). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gil to include teaching of Wilkins in order to gain the commonly understood benefit of such adaption, such as providing the benefit of a more accurate pricing solution, enabling better decision making. Since the combination of each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Gil discloses an integrated network application designed and architected as a complete closed-loop system, it incorporate all of the features in one package required to execute and coordinate transactions accurately in the network and be able to monitor the performance of any given partner. It offers partners multiple connection options to minimize IT investment, reduce overhead, and increase adoption rates among partners. It supports direct, real-time connections to a number of enterprise resource planning (ERP), material requirement planning (MRP), supply chain management (SCM), customer relationship management (CRM), warehouse management systems (WMS), and enterprise application integration (EAI) applications or subsystems for direct back-end system integration. Communication with any existing system is possible using multiple electronic connection protocols, including enterprise application integration (EAI), electronic data interchange (EDI) files, flat file, and application connectors, so it does not require users to install and run software from their system (see ¶ 56-57); The enterprise component represents the enterprise and is integrated into the existing system of the enterprise. The enterprise component is operable to generate real-time data relevant to one or more transactions in which the enterprise is involved in the supply chain, and the partner component represent a partner and is integrated into the existing system of the partner; and the functionality of these components can be performed with suitable data processing facility running appropriate software and operating under the control of any suitable operating system (see ¶ 76).
Gil and Wilkins do not explicitly disclose the following limitations; however, Desai in an analogous art for managing applications discloses
install a framework of microcomponents into the CRM system of the enterprise, further wherein the framework of microcomponents comprises a sales organization picker microcomponent, a plant picker microcomponent, and a pricing and order simulation microcomponent, wherein the sales organization picker microcomponent is a first low-code integration link to the ERP system of the enterprise, wherein the plant picker microcomponent is a second low-code integration link to the ERP system, and wherein the pricing and order simulation microcomponent is a third low-code integration link to the ERP system (see ¶ 39, ¶ 72-75, ¶ 83, ¶ 93, ¶ 96: VBScript is one of the low code programming techniques).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gil and in view of Wilkins to include teaching of Desai in order to gain the commonly understood benefit of such adaption, such as providing the benefit of enhancing computation efficiency, in turn of operational efficiency. Since the combination of each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Gil discloses a plurality of enterprise components for accessing real-time data of partner systems and retrieving data relevant to one or more transactions in which the partner is involved in the supply chain; and a network system of network may be implemented at least in part at each of enterprise domain. The network domain may be linked through a gateway to another network domain such as the service network may be linked to the supplier network through the respective network domains to route transaction between the networks (see ¶ 11-13, ¶ 45, and ¶ 126).
Gil, Wilkins and Desai do not explicitly disclose performing a price simulation process, however, Kemmer in an analogous art for simulating the cost of goods and services discloses
Perform based on the information retrieved from the ERP system, using the sales organization picker microcomponent and the additional information retrieved from the ERP system using the plant picker microcomponent, performing a price simulation process using a pricing and order simulation microcomponent by (see ¶ 18-20 and ¶ 34). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gil and in view of Wilkins and Desai to include teaching of Kemmer in order to gain the commonly understood benefit of such adaption, such as providing the benefit of a more optimal solution, in turn of operational efficiency. Since the combination of each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Gil discloses the real-time information within the supply chain can be used to modify or update the respective contexts for the transactions, and the partner coordinator may independently push out the real-time data to the network domain by cooperating with one or more existing legacy system at the customer domain (see ¶ 87).
Gil, Wilkins, Desai and Kemmer do not explicitly disclose the following limitations, however, Charlton in an analogous art for software upgrading management discloses
upgrade the sales organization picker microcomponent, wherein upgrading the sales organization picker microcomponent does not affect the operation of the plant picker microcomponent (see col. 15, lines 18-55, claim 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gil and in view of Wilkins, Desai and Kemmer to include teaching of Charlton in order to gain the commonly understood benefit of such adaption, such as providing the benefit of a more flexible solution for software management, in turn of operational efficiency. Since the combination of each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
In addition, the phrases “wherein the framework of microcomponents comprises a sales organization picker microcomponent, a plant picker microcomponent, and a pricing and order simulation microcomponent, wherein the sales organization picker microcomponent is a first low-code integration link to the ERP system of the enterprise, wherein the plant picker microcomponent is a second low-code integration link to the ERP system, and wherein the pricing and order simulation microcomponent is a third low-code integration link to the ERP system” are merely characterizing the type of the framework of microcomponents is directed to nonfunctional descriptive material because they cannot exhibit any functional interrelationship with the way the steps are performed. Therefore, it has been held that nonfunctional descriptive material will not distinguish the invention from prior art in term of patentability. (In re Gulack, 217 USPQ 401 (Fed. Cir. 1983), In re Ngai, 70 USPQ2d (Fed. Cir. 2004), In re Lowry, 32 USPQ2d 1031 (Fed. Cir. 1994); MPEP 2111.05).
Regarding claim 15, Gil discloses the computing system of claim 14, wherein at least one of the sales organization picker microcomponent and plant picker microcomponent are configurable (see ¶ 131).
Regarding claim 16, Gil, Wilkins, Desai and Kemmer do not explicitly disclose the following limitations, however, Charlton discloses the computing system of claim 15, wherein each of the sales organization picker microcomponent and plant picker microcomponent are separately upgradable (see claim 6, claim 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gil and in view of Wilkins, Desai and Kemmer to include teaching of Charlton in order to gain the commonly understood benefit of such adaption, such as providing the benefit of a more flexible solution for software management, in turn of operational efficiency. Since the combination of each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 18, Gil discloses the computing system of claim 14, further comprising:
provide, by at least one of the sales organization picker microcomponent and plant picker microcomponent, bi-directional data exchange between the CRM system and the ERP system (see ¶ 100: exchanges and management of data between the components of the network; ¶ 126).
Regarding claim 19, Gil discloses the computing system of claim 18, wherein the bi-directional data exchange is in real time (see ¶ 8, ¶ 41, ¶ 86, ¶ 100, and ¶ 126).
Regarding claim 21, Gil discloses the computing system of claim 14, wherein the sales organization picker microcomponent is a real time function to fetch sales organization data from the ERP system (see ¶ 11-12, ¶ 80 and ¶ 200).
Regarding claim 22, Gil discloses the computing of claim 21, wherein the plant picker microcomponent is a real time function to fetch plant availability data from the ERP system (see ¶ 10, ¶ 149 and ¶ 200).
Regarding claim 23, Gil discloses the computing system of claim 22, further comprising:
subsequent to receiving a request to configure a product associated with the CPQ process, retrieve rule-based configuration options from the EPR system using a configuration microcomponent (see ¶ 90, ¶ 126-129 and ¶ 173).
Regarding claim 25, Gil discloses a computing system to integrate information stored in multiple data systems on behalf of an enterprise in real-time without the need for data synchronization or complex application programming interface (API) integration via a third party, wherein the multiple database systems comprise a configure, price, quote (CPQ) system of the enterprise and an enterprise resource planning (ERP) system of the enterprise (see Fig. 5-6, ¶ 50, ¶ 70, ¶ 100-101), the computing system comprising processing devices and memory devices coupled to the processing devices, with one or more memory devices having microcomponent instructions stored thereon that, when executed by one or more processors cause the one or more processors to:
wherein at least one of the microcomponents is configured to receive extensible markup language (XML) based service calls from the CRM system (see ¶ 78-79, ¶ 92-92, ¶ 113, ¶ 121), convert the XML format into ERP-native API calls and retrieve validated data from the ERP system (see ¶ 84, ¶ 93, ¶ 180, ¶ 198).
Receive a request to initiate a CRM transaction (see Abstract: a request from a network system for access real-time data is received; ¶ 7-9, ¶ 11, ¶ 56, ¶ 64, ¶ 69, ¶ 80-81, ¶ 89 and ¶ 120: a customer or partner initiates a transaction directly to the execution subsystem), wherein the CPQ transaction has a workflow that is to be executed by the CPQ system, wherein the ERP system of the enterprise maintains information relevant to the CPQ transaction, wherein the ERP system of the enterprise maintains information relevant to the CRM transaction (see ¶ 8, ¶ 70: describes the system includes application or subsystems for enterprise resource planning (ERP) and customer relationship management (CRM) may provide or support functionality and maintain customer information in a database);
Associating based on the CPQ transaction, the sales organization picker microcomponent is associated with the workflow of the CPQ transaction (see ¶ 56, ¶ 78-80, ¶ 124-125 and ¶ 128);
Retrieve using the sales organization picker microcomponent, information from the ERP system, wherein the information is associated with the workflow for the CPQ transaction (see ¶ 96 and ¶ 129);
P22PProvide in real-time the information retrieved from the ERP system by the sales organization picker microcomponent to the CPQ system for use in the workflow of the CPQ transaction (see ¶ 10, ¶ 62, ¶ 70-72, and ¶ 123-126);
Associating the plant picker microcomponent is associated with the workflow of the CPQ transaction (see ¶ 56, ¶ 69, ¶ 80-81, ¶ 129, and ¶ 188);
Retrieve using the plant picker microcomponent, retrieve additional information from the ERP system, wherein the additional information is associated with the workflow for the CPQ transaction (see ¶ 88, ¶ 96 and ¶ 129);
Provide in real-time the additional information retrieved from the ERP system by the plant picker microcomponent to the CPQ system for use in the workflow of the CPQ transaction (see ¶ 10, ¶ 62-64, ¶ 72, and claim 1);
receiving a web service call from the CRM system to the pricing and order simulation microcomponent using an (XML) format structure (see ¶ 7-10, ¶ 162-163); and
retrieving pricing data from the ERP system, and in response, providing the pricing data in XML format to the CRM system (see ¶ 96, ¶ 124, ¶ 129);
wherein said user views real-time information provided by plant picker component and uses such information to create said request to initiate said CRM transaction based at least in part to information provided by said plant picker component (see Abstract; ¶ 8, ¶ 13, ¶ 80, ¶ 86); and
wherein said user modifies configuration information of said selected product at said user interface after said plant picker microcomponent has determined that said selected product is configurable (see ¶ 78, ¶ 86, ¶ 126, ¶ 131, ¶ 145).
Gil disclose the process execution component may include software or application for initiating business workflow by a transaction, a request, or a demand from a partner system, generating and maintaining the context of the transaction in real-time (see ¶ 79-80); and setting up unit price for a particular product (see ¶ 126).
Gil does not explicitly disclose wherein the CRM transaction is a configure, price, quote (CPQ) process have a workflow that is to be executed by the CRM system of the enterprise; however, Wilkins in an analogous art for generating product quotes discloses
wherein the CRM transaction is a configure, price, quote (CPQ) process have a workflow that is to be executed by the CRM system of the enterprise (see Abstract, ¶ 2-4, ¶ 7: configurator the generate a quote for a product or service, the quote including a quote workflow and quote attributes; ¶ 32: the CPQ systems are processed through a customer defined workflow).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gil to include teaching of Wilkins in order to gain the commonly understood benefit of such adaption, such as providing the benefit of a more accurate pricing solution, enabling better decision making. Since the combination of each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Gil discloses an integrated network application designed and architected as a complete closed-loop system, it incorporate all of the features in one package required to execute and coordinate transactions accurately in the network and be able to monitor the performance of any given partner. It offers partners multiple connection options to minimize IT investment, reduce overhead, and increase adoption rates among partners. It supports direct, real-time connections to a number of enterprise resource planning (ERP), material requirement planning (MRP), supply chain management (SCM), customer relationship management (CRM), warehouse management systems (WMS), and enterprise application integration (EAI) applications or subsystems for direct back-end system integration. Communication with any existing system is possible using multiple electronic connection protocols, including enterprise application integration (EAI), electronic data interchange (EDI) files, flat file, and application connectors, so it does not require users to install and run software from their system (see ¶ 56-57); The enterprise component represents the enterprise and is integrated into the existing system of the enterprise. The enterprise component is operable to generate real-time data relevant to one or more transactions in which the enterprise is involved in the supply chain, and the partner component represent a partner and is integrated into the existing system of the partner; and the functionality of these components can be performed with suitable data processing facility running appropriate software and operating under the control of any suitable operating system (see ¶ 76).
Gil and Wilkins do not explicitly disclose the following limitations; however, Desai in an analogous art for managing applications discloses
install a framework of microcomponents into the CRM system of the enterprise, further wherein the framework of microcomponents comprises a sales organization picker microcomponent, a plant picker microcomponent, and a pricing and order simulation microcomponent, wherein the sales organization picker microcomponent is a first low-code integration link to the ERP system of the enterprise, wherein the plant picker microcomponent is a second low-code integration link to the ERP system, and wherein the pricing and order simulation microcomponent is a third low-code integration link to the ERP system (see ¶ 39, ¶ 72-75, ¶ 83, ¶ 93, ¶ 96: VBScript is one of the low code programming techniques).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gil and in view of Wilkins to include teaching of Desai in order to gain the commonly understood benefit of such adaption, such as providing the benefit of enhancing computation efficiency, in turn of operational efficiency. Since the combination of each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Gil discloses a plurality of enterprise components for accessing real-time data of partner systems and retrieving data relevant to one or more transactions in which the partner is involved in the supply chain; and a network system of network may be implemented at least in part at each of enterprise domain. The network domain may be linked through a gateway to another network domain such as the service network may be linked to the supplier network through the respective network domains to route transaction between the networks (see ¶ 11-13, ¶ 45, and ¶ 126).
Gil, Wilkins and Desai do not explicitly disclose performing a price simulation process, however, Kemmer in an analogous art for simulating the cost of goods and services discloses
Preform based on the information retrieved from the ERP system using the sales organization picker microcomponent and the additional information retrieved from the ERP system using the plant picker microcomponent, a price simulation process using a pricing and order simulation microcomponent by (see ¶ 18-20 and ¶ 34). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gil and in view of Wilkins and Desai to include teaching of Kemmer in order to gain the commonly understood benefit of such adaption, such as providing the benefit of a more optimal solution, in turn of operational efficiency. Since the combination of each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Gil discloses the real-time information within the supply chain can be used to modify or update the respective contexts for the transactions, and the partner coordinator may independently push out the real-time data to the network domain by cooperating with one or more existing legacy system at the customer domain (see ¶ 87).
Gil, Wilkins, Desai and Kemmer do not explicitly disclose the following limitations, however, Charlton in an analogous art for software upgrading management discloses
upgrade the sales organization picker microcomponent, wherein upgrading the sales organization picker microcomponent does not affect the operation of the plant picker microcomponent (see col. 15, lines 18-55, claim 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gil and in view of Wilkins, Desai and Kemmer to include teaching of Charlton in order to gain the commonly understood benefit of such adaption, such as providing the benefit of a more flexible solution for software management, in turn of operational efficiency. Since the combination of each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
In addition, the phrases “wherein the framework of microcomponents comprises a sales organization picker microcomponent, a plant picker microcomponent, and a pricing and order simulation microcomponent, wherein the sales organization picker microcomponent is a first low-code integration link to the ERP system of the enterprise, wherein the plant picker microcomponent is a second low-code integration link to the ERP system, and wherein the pricing and order simulation microcomponent is a third low-code integration link to the ERP system” are merely characterizing the type of the framework of microcomponents is directed to nonfunctional descriptive material because they cannot exhibit any functional interrelationship with the way the steps are performed. Therefore, it has been held that nonfunctional descriptive material will not distinguish the invention from prior art in term of patentability. (In re Gulack, 217 USPQ 401 (Fed. Cir. 1983), In re Ngai, 70 USPQ2d (Fed. Cir. 2004), In re Lowry, 32 USPQ2d 1031 (Fed. Cir. 1994); MPEP 2111.05).
Regarding claim 26, Gil discloses the computing system of claim 25, wherein at least one of the sales organization picker microcomponent and plant picker microcomponent are configurable (see ¶ 131).
Regarding claim 27, Gil, Wilkins, Desai and Kemmer do not explicitly disclose the following limitations, however, Charlton discloses the computing system of claim 26, wherein at least one of the sales organization picker microcomponent and plant picker microcomponent are upgradable (see claim 6, claim 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gil and in view of Wilkins, Desai and Kemmer to include teaching of Charlton in order to gain the commonly understood benefit of such adaption, such as providing the benefit of a more flexible solution for software management, in turn of operational efficiency. Since the combination of each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 29, Gil discloses the computing system of claim 25, further comprising: provide, by at least one of the sales organization picker microcomponent and plant picker microcomponent, bi-directional data exchange between the CPQ system and the ERP system (see ¶ 100: exchanges and management of data between the components of the network; ¶ 126).
Regarding claim 30, Gil discloses the computing system of claim 29, wherein the bi-directional data exchange is in real time (see ¶ 8, ¶ 41, ¶ 86, ¶ 100, and ¶ 126).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Underwood (WO 01/10082 A2) discloses a method for managing business objects in a system that includes a plurality of sub-activities and sub-activity logic adapted to generate an output based on an input received from user upon execution.
Battas et al., (US 2002/0107864) discloses a method for enabling an enterprise to run zero latency enterprise and allowing the enterprise to integrate its services, applications and data in real time.
Underwood (US 6601233 B1) discloses a method for generating software based on business components to carry out the capabilities of the logical business components and the functional interrelationship between the logical business components.
Sullivan et al., (US 2017/0330121) discloses a system for creating and accounting ERP frameworks for handling the multiple types of operational workflows that an ERP system may implement.
Beckerle et al., (CN 101076793) disclose system for constructing and managing data integration process comprises user interface, programming interface, service, and component, running engine and outer connector.
Misovski et al., (US 8938734 B2) discloses a method for providing user-driven configuration of application content package for installation on the client device and for integration with an application running on a client device.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAN G CHOY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3624