DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the Application No. 16662532 filed on
11/26/2025. Claim 16 has been cancelled, claims 1-15 and 17-20 are presented for examination and are currently pending. Applicant’s arguments have been carefully and respectfully considered.
Response to Arguments
2. The claim amendments filed 11/26/2025 has overcome the 112(b) rejection of 09/04/2025. As a result, the 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the independent claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
It is noted that the Applicant’s argument regarding the dependent claims which depend directly or indirectly from the independent claims are moot as well in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1, 14, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Baum et al. (US20200005127 filed 09/12/2019)
Regarding claim 1, Baum teaches a neural inference chip (The granular nature of the NN processing engine or processor, also referred to as a neurocomputer or neurochip [0019]) comprising: a first tier (4×16 processing element array is shown in FIG. 46. In this embodiment, the circuit, generally referenced 1100 [0308]) comprising a plurality of neural cores arranged in a two dimensional matrix along a plane of the first tier (comprises a PE fabric 1110 having 64 PEs (PE0 . . . PE63) arranged in a 4×16 array with four rows and sixteen columns [0308]),
the neural cores individually comprising a neural computation unit (the processing elements (PEs) 76 which are composed of a multiply and accumulate (MAC) circuit and local memory [0137]),
the neural computation unit being adapted to apply a plurality of synaptic weights to a plurality of input activations to produce a plurality of output activations (All four data inputs in the first column are multiplied by W[0] (i.e. W0), all four inputs in the second column are multiplied by W[1] (i.e. W4), all four inputs in the third column are multiplied by W[2] (i.e. W8), and so on through the last column which is multiplied by W[15] (i.e. W60). This process continues until all products in each of the PEs are computed and summed to yield output values y [0314]);
a second tier (Weight memory 1112 [0308], Fig. 46) physically positioned above or below the first tier (4×16 processing element array is shown in FIG. 46. In this embodiment, the circuit, generally referenced 1100 [0308]) in a stacked configuration therewith (see Fig. 46), the second tier (Weight memory 1112 [0308], Fig. 46) comprising a first neural network model memory arranged in a two dimensional matrix (Weight memory 1112 supplies weights W[0 . . . 15] across the 16 columns of the array [0308]. The Examiner notes [0 . . . 15] is a 1x16 row matrix with 1 row and 16 columns. In a matrix, two dimensions are represented by rows and columns) along a plane of the second tier (Weight memory 1112 [0308], Fig. 46), the plane of the second tier being parallel to the plane of the first tier (4×16 processing element array 1100 is parallel to Weight memory 1112, Fig. 46), the first neural network model memory being adapted to store the plurality of synaptic weights (Weight memory 1112 supplies weights W[0 . . . 15] across the 16 columns of the array [0308]); and
a communication network operatively coupled to the first neural network model memory and to the plurality of neural cores, the communication network being configured to provide dedicated buses for neural cores, the dedicated buses being separate from the plurality of neural cores, the dedicated buses being configured to provide the synaptic weights from the first neural network model memory to neural cores (see Fig. 46 below).
Regarding claim 14, Baum teaches the neural inference chip of claim 1, Baum teaches wherein the communication network is adapted to provide the same synaptic weights to all of the neural cores (Sixteen weights are output from the weight memory 1112 and applied to the PE array [0309], Fig. 46)
Regarding claim 18, Baum teaches a method comprising: providing synaptic weights from a first neural network model memory to a plurality of neural cores via a communication network, wherein the communication network is configured to provide dedicated buses for the plurality of neural cores, the communication network being operatively coupled to the first neural network model memory and to the plurality of neural cores (Sixteen weights are output from the weight memory 1112 and applied to the PE array [0309], see Fig. 46 below),
the plurality of neural cores being arrayed on and along a plane of a first tier (comprises a PE fabric 1110 having 64 PEs (PE0 . . . PE63) arranged in a 4×16 array with four rows and sixteen columns [0308]) of a neural inference chip (A high-level block diagram illustrating an example system on chip (SoC) NN processing system comprising one or more NN processing cores is shown in FIG. 4. The SoC NN processing system, generally referenced 100, comprises at least one NN processor integrated circuit (or core) 102 [0120]; The NN processing engine or core 60 comprises several hierarchical computation units. The lowest hierarchical level is the processing element (PE) [0122]. The SoC comprises circuit 1100, Fig. 46),
each core comprising a neural computation unit (the processing elements (PEs) 76 which are composed of a multiply and accumulate (MAC) circuit and local memory [0137]),
the neural computation unit adapted to apply a plurality of synaptic weights to a plurality of input activations to produce a plurality of output activations (All four data inputs in the first column are multiplied by W[0] (i.e. W0), all four inputs in the second column are multiplied by W[1] (i.e. W4), all four inputs in the third column are multiplied by W[2] (i.e. W8), and so on through the last column which is multiplied by W[15] (i.e. W60). This process continues until all products in each of the PEs are computed and summed to yield output values y [0314]),
the first neural network model memory being arrayed on and along a plane of a second tier (Weight memory 1112 [0308], Fig. 46) of the neural inference chip (A high-level block diagram illustrating an example system on chip (SoC) NN processing system comprising one or more NN processing cores is shown in FIG. 4. The SoC NN processing system, generally referenced 100, comprises at least one NN processor integrated circuit (or core) 102 [0120]; The NN processing engine or core 60 comprises several hierarchical computation units. The lowest hierarchical level is the processing element (PE) [0122]. The SoC comprises circuit 1100, Fig. 46),
the second tier (Weight memory 1112 [0308], Fig. 46) being physically positioned above or below the first tier (4×16 processing element array is shown in FIG. 46. In this embodiment, the circuit, generally referenced 1100 [0308]) in the neural inference chip (A high-level block diagram illustrating an example system on chip (SoC) NN processing system comprising one or more NN processing cores is shown in FIG. 4. The SoC NN processing system, generally referenced 100, comprises at least one NN processor integrated circuit (or core) 102 [0120]; The NN processing engine or core 60 comprises several hierarchical computation units. The lowest hierarchical level is the processing element (PE) [0122]. The SoC comprises circuit 1100, Fig. 46)
in a stacked configuration (see Fig. 46) whereby the plane of the first tier is parallel to the plane of the second tier (4×16 processing element array 1100 is parallel to Weight memory 1112, Fig. 46),
the dedicated buses being separate from the plurality of neural cores (the dedicated buses is separate from the neural cores (cores comprising PEs) in Fig. 46 above), the dedicated buses being configured to provide the synaptic weights from the first neural network model memory to the plurality of neural cores such that the synaptic weights are provided directly from the second tier to the first tier (Weight memory 1112 supplies weights W[0 . . . 15] across the 16 columns of the array [0308]; The Examiner notes Fig. 46 above shows the dedicated buses providing weights from the Weight memory 1112 to the PEs).
Regarding claim 19, Baum teaches a computer program product for neural inference processing, the computer program product comprising a computer readable storage medium having program instructions embodied therewith, the program instructions executable by a neural inference chip to cause the neural inference chip to perform a method comprising (the present invention may be embodied as a system, method, computer program product or any combination thereof. Accordingly, the present invention may take the form of an entirely hardware embodiment, … or an embodiment combining software and hardware aspects that may all generally be referred to herein as a “circuit,” “module” or “system.” Furthermore, the present invention may take the form of a computer program product embodied in any tangible medium of expression having computer usable program code embodied in the medium [0088]; The SoC NN processing system, generally referenced 100, comprises at least one NN processor integrated circuit (or core) 102 [0120]):
providing synaptic weights from a first neural network model memory to each of a plurality of neural cores via a communication network (Sixteen weights are output from the weight memory 1112 and applied to the PE array [0309], see Fig. 46 below),
wherein the first neural network model memory is arrayed on and along a plane of a second tier (Weight memory 1112 [0308], Fig. 46) of the neural inference chip (A high-level block diagram illustrating an example system on chip (SoC) NN processing system comprising one or more NN processing cores is shown in FIG. 4. The SoC NN processing system, generally referenced 100, comprises at least one NN processor integrated circuit (or core) 102 [0120]; The NN processing engine or core 60 comprises several hierarchical computation units. The lowest hierarchical level is the processing element (PE) [0122]. The SoC comprises circuit 1100, Fig. 46),
wherein the communication network is configured to provide dedicated buses for each neural core of the plurality of neural cores (see Fig. 46 below),
the communication network being operatively coupled to the first neural network model memory and to each of the plurality of neural cores (Fig. 46 below shows the communication network coupled to the Weight memory 1112 and PEs 1110),
the plurality of neural cores being arrayed on and along a plane of a first tier (comprises a PE fabric 1110 having 64 PEs (PE0 . . . PE63) arranged in a 4×16 array with four rows and sixteen columns [0308]) of the neural inference chip (A high-level block diagram illustrating an example system on chip (SoC) NN processing system comprising one or more NN processing cores is shown in FIG. 4. The SoC NN processing system, generally referenced 100, comprises at least one NN processor integrated circuit (or core) 102 [0120]; The NN processing engine or core 60 comprises several hierarchical computation units. The lowest hierarchical level is the processing element (PE) [0122]. The SoC comprises circuit 1100, Fig. 46),
the second tier (Weight memory 1112 [0308], Fig. 46) being physically positioned above or below the first tier (4×16 processing element array is shown in FIG. 46. In this embodiment, the circuit, generally referenced 1100 [0308]) in the neural inference chip (A high-level block diagram illustrating an example system on chip (SoC) NN processing system comprising one or more NN processing cores is shown in FIG. 4. The SoC NN processing system, generally referenced 100, comprises at least one NN processor integrated circuit (or core) 102 [0120]; The NN processing engine or core 60 comprises several hierarchical computation units. The lowest hierarchical level is the processing element (PE) [0122]. The SoC comprises circuit 1100, Fig. 46) in a stacked configuration (see Fig. 46) whereby the plane of the first tier is parallel to the plane of the second tier (4×16 processing element array 1100 is parallel to Weight memory 1112, Fig. 46),
the neural cores individually comprising a neural computation unit (the processing elements (PEs) 76 which are composed of a multiply and accumulate (MAC) circuit and local memory [0137]),
the neural computation unit adapted to apply a plurality of synaptic weights to a plurality of input activations to produce a plurality of output activations (All four data inputs in the first column are multiplied by W[0] (i.e. W0), all four inputs in the second column are multiplied by W[1] (i.e. W4), all four inputs in the third column are multiplied by W[2] (i.e. W8), and so on through the last column which is multiplied by W[15] (i.e. W60). This process continues until all products in each of the PEs are computed and summed to yield output values y [0314]),
the dedicated buses being separate from the plurality of neural cores (the dedicated buses is separate from the neural cores (cores comprising PEs) in Fig. 46 below), the dedicated buses being configured to provide the synaptic weights from the first neural network model memory to each neural core of the plurality of neural cores such that the synaptic weights are provided directly from the second tier to the first tier (Weight memory 1112 supplies weights W[0 . . . 15] across the 16 columns of the array [0308]; The Examiner notes Fig. 46 below shows the dedicated buses providing weights from the Weight memory 1112 to the PEs).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baum et al. (US20200005127 filed 09/12/2019) in view of Kim et al. ("Neurocube: A programmable digital neuromorphic architecture with high-density 3D memory." ACM SIGARCH Computer Architecture News 44.3 (2016): 380-392.)
Regarding claim 2, Baum teaches the neural inference chip of claim 1, Baum does not explicitly teach the limitations of claim 2.
Kim teaches wherein the communication network comprises a plurality of through-silicon vias (Multiple processing elements (PE) concurrently communicate with multiple DRAM vaults through high-speed TSVs, pg. 383, left col, last para. The Examiner notes that the communication network is the TSV which is a through-silicon via or through-chip via that passes through the die) extending between the first and second tiers in a direction generally perpendicular to the plane of the first tier (The TSVs extends between the first tier and second tier and the TSVs is in a direction perpendicular to the first tier in Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Baum to
incorporate the teachings of Kim for the benefit of improving computing power-efficiency (GOPs/s/W) over reported GPU based implementation while providing the programmability and scalability advantages over ASIC/FPGA platforms (Kim, pg. 381, left col., third para.).
Regarding claim 3, Baum teaches the neural inference chip of claim 1, Baum does not explicitly teach the limitations of claim 3.
Kim teaches further comprising: at least one additional tier comprising at least one additional neural network model memory, (second DRAM (as additional tier) out of four tiers of DRAM, Fig. 4, pg. 380; … 3D with multiple tiers of DRAM, abstract)
wherein the communication network is additionally operatively coupled to the at least one additional neural network model memory (TSV is additionally operatively coupled to the at least second DRAM, Fig. 2, pg. 380; Multiple processing elements (PE) concurrently communicate with multiple DRAM vaults through high-speed TSVs, pg. 383, left col, last para.) and
adapted to provide synaptic weights from the at least one additional neural network model memory to the plurality of neural cores (The NN shown in Fig. 4 is stored in the DRAM stack, pg. 382, right col, last para. comprising Wij as weights is provided to each of the PEs (processing elements) via TSV (Fig. 4). The Examiner notes that DRAM stack is neural network model memory and PEs are the neural cores)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Baum to
incorporate the teachings of Kim for the benefit of improving computing power-efficiency (GOPs/s/W) over reported GPU based implementation while providing the programmability and scalability advantages over ASIC/FPGA platforms (Kim, pg. 381, left col., third para.).
Regarding claim 4, Baum and Kim teaches the neural inference chip of claim 3, Kim teaches wherein a neural network model (In this paper, we will use the term neural network (NN) to represent an artificial neural network, pg. 381, left col, last para.)
is stored across the first neural network model memory (The NN shown in Fig. 4 is stored in the DRAM stack, pg. 382, right col, last para.; Our approach is based on following key innovations: 1. In-memory neuromorphic processing. The Neurocube integrates a fine grained, highly parallel, compute layer within a 3D high-density memory package, the hybrid memory cube (HMC), pg. 381, left col, second para.) and
the at least one additional neural network model memory (The example of ConvNN shows how Neurocube can be used to program other NN, … Therefore, different types of network can be programmed in Neurocube without architectural changes, pg. 387, right col, last para.)
The same motivation to combine dependent claim 3 applies here.
5. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baum et al. (US20200005127 filed 09/12/2019) in view of Kim et al. ("Neurocube: A programmable digital neuromorphic architecture with high-density 3D memory." ACM SIGARCH Computer Architecture News 44.3 (2016): 380-392.) and further in view of Gao et al. ("Tetris: Scalable and efficient neural network acceleration with 3d memory." Proceedings of the Twenty-Second International Conference on Architectural Support for Programming Languages and Operating Systems. 2017.)
Regarding claim 5, Baum and Kim teaches the neural inference chip of claim 3, but they do not explicitly teach the limitations of claim 5.
Gao teaches wherein a plurality of neural network models are stored across the first neural network model memory and the at least one additional neural network model memory (an eight-die HMC memory stack organized into 16 vaults. Each vault is associated with an array of 14 × 14 NN processing elements, pg. 752, left col, second para., Fig. 2, pg. 754; In addition to processing different NNs or layers in each vault, we can divide large NN layers across the vaults to process them in parallel, pg. 758, right col, section 4.2. The Examiner notes that Fig. 2 has eight DRAM tiers or layers and each tier comprises an array of different NNs or layers in each vault.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Baum and Kim to incorporate the teachings of Gao for the benefit of improving computational density by optimally using area for processing elements and on-chip buffers, and that moving partial computations to DRAM dies (Gao, pg. 752, left col., second para.)
6. Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baum et al. (US20200005127 filed 09/12/2019) in view of Burger et al. (US20160379686)
Regarding claim 6, Baum teaches the neural inference chip of claim 1, Baum does not explicitly teach wherein each core further comprises: an activation memory adapted to store the input activations and the output activations; and a local controller, the local controller being adapted to load the input activations from the activation memory to the neural computation unit and to store the plurality of output activations from the neural computation unit to the activation memory.
Burger teaches wherein each core (neural engine 5802, Fig. 58) further comprises:
an activation memory adapted to store the input activations and the output activations; (input memory (activations) 5804, Fig. 58; First memory 5804 is used to buffer input activations data [0330]) and
a local controller, the local controller being adapted to load the input activations from the activation memory to the neural computation unit and to store the plurality of output activations from the neural computation unit to the activation memory (controller component 5704 issues commands to neural engines … to stream a subset of the input activations from DRAM channels into storage elements of the parallel neural engines [0331])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Baum to incorporate the method of Burger for the benefit of a die stacking technology for providing high bandwidth, low power memory in a 3D integrated circuit technology (Burger [0274])
Regarding claim 7, Baum teaches the neural inference chip of claim 1, Baum does not explicitly teach further comprising: a third tier comprising an activation memory, wherein the communication network is additionally operatively coupled to the activation memory and adapted to provide activations from the activation memory to each of the plurality of neural cores.
Burger teaches further comprising: a third tier (DRAM, such as hybrid memory cube (HMC). HMC combines through-silicon vias and microbumps to connect multiple (e.g., 4 to 8) die of memory cell arrays on top of each other [0265]) comprising
an activation memory, (input memory (activations) 5804, Fig. 58; First memory 5804 is used to buffer input activations data [0330])
wherein the communication network (Although not shown in FIGS. 45A-45C, one or more of the dies in 3D acceleration and memory component 4502 may include through-silicon vias (TSVs) to allow upper die to communicate with lower die [0275])
is additionally operatively coupled to the activation memory and adapted to provide activations from the activation memory to the plurality of neural cores (low power memory stack 5706 includes a parallel array of DRAM channels (5726, 5728, 5730, . . . 5732, 5734) to provide access to high-bandwidth memory that can be used to store the activations. The activations are streamed from these parallel channels to the parallel neural engines (5712, 5714, 5716, . . . , 5718, 5720) [0329])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Baum to incorporate the method of Burger for the benefit of a die stacking technology for providing high bandwidth, low power memory in a 3D integrated circuit technology (Burger [0274])
Regarding claim 8, Baum teaches the neural inference chip of claim 1, Baum does not explicitly teach further comprising: a third tier comprising an activation memory, wherein an additional communication network is operatively coupled to the activation memory and adapted to provide activations from the activation memory to each of the plurality of neural cores.
Burger teaches further comprising: a third tier (DRAM, such as hybrid memory cube (HMC). HMC combines through-silicon vias and microbumps to connect multiple (e.g., 4 to 8) die of memory cell arrays on top of each other [0265]) comprising
an activation memory, (input memory (activations) 5804, Fig. 58; First memory 5804 is used to buffer input activations data [0330])
wherein an additional communication network (Although not shown in FIGS. 45A-45C, one or more of the dies in 3D acceleration and memory component 4502 may include through-silicon vias (TSVs) to allow upper die to communicate with lower die [0275])
is operatively coupled to the activation memory and adapted to provide activations from the activation memory to the plurality of neural cores. (low power memory stack 5706 includes a parallel array of DRAM channels (5726, 5728, 5730, . . . 5732, 5734) to provide access to high-bandwidth memory that can be used to store the activations. The activations are streamed from these parallel channels to the parallel neural engines (5712, 5714, 5716, . . . 5718, 5720) [0329])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Baum to incorporate the method of Burger for the benefit of a die stacking technology for providing high bandwidth, low power memory in a 3D integrated circuit technology (Burger [0274])
7. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baum et al. (US20200005127 filed 09/12/2019) in view of Kim et al. ("Neurocube: A programmable digital neuromorphic architecture with high-density 3D memory." ACM SIGARCH Computer Architecture News 44.3 (2016): 380-392.) and further in view of Burger et al. (US20160379686)
Regarding claim 9, Baum teaches the neural inference chip of claim 1, Baum does not explicitly teach wherein the communication network is operatively coupled to the third tier and adapted to provide the synaptic weights from the first neural network model memory to each of the plurality of neural cores of the third tier.
Kim teaches wherein the communication network is operatively coupled to the third tier (Multiple processing elements (PE) concurrently communicate with multiple DRAM vaults through high-speed TSVs, pg. 383, left col, last para. The Examiner notes that the communication network is the TSV which is a through-silicon via or through-chip via that passes through the die) and
adapted to provide the synaptic weights from the first neural network model memory to the plurality of neural cores of the third tier. (The NN shown in Fig. 4 is stored in the DRAM stack, pg. 382, right col, last para. comprising Wij as weights is provided to each of the PEs (processing elements) via TSV (Fig. 4). The Examiner notes that DRAM stack is neural network model memory and PEs are the neural cores)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Baum to
incorporate the teachings of Kim for the benefit of improving computing power-efficiency (GOPs/s/W) over reported GPU based implementation while providing the programmability and scalability advantages over ASIC/FPGA platforms (Kim, pg. 381, left col., third para.).
Baum and Kim does not explicitly teach further comprising: a third tier comprising a plurality of neural cores,
Burger teaches further comprising: a third tier comprising a plurality of neural cores, (DRAM, such as hybrid memory cube (HMC). HMC combines through-silicon vias and microbumps to connect multiple (e.g., 4 to 8) die of memory cell arrays on top of each other [0265])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Baum and Kim to incorporate the method of Burger for the benefit of a die stacking technology for providing high bandwidth, low power memory in a 3D integrated circuit technology (Burger [0274])
8. Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baum et al. (US20200005127 filed 09/12/2019) in view of Kim et al. ("Neurocube: A programmable digital neuromorphic architecture with high-density 3D memory." ACM SIGARCH Computer Architecture News 44.3 (2016): 380-392.) in view of Burger et al. (US20160379686) and further in view of Gao et al. ("Tetris: Scalable and efficient neural network acceleration with 3d memory." Proceedings of the Twenty-Second International Conference on Architectural Support for Programming Languages and Operating Systems. 2017.)
Regarding claim 10, Baum, Kim and Burger teaches the neural inference chip of claim 9, Baum, Kim and Burger does not explicitly teach configured to provide a first neural network model to both the first and third tiers
Gao teaches configured to provide a first neural network model to both the first and third tiers (The HMC stack (Figure 2 left) is vertically divided into sixteen 32-bit-wide vaults, pg. 754, left col, last para.; An NN engine is placed in each vault, pg. 754, right col, last para. The Examiner notes that the HMC in Fig. 2 has many tiers or layers, each tier has vaults and a neural network is placed in each vault)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Baum, Kim and Burger to incorporate the method of Gao for the benefit of improving computational density by optimally using area for processing elements and on-chip buffers, and that moving partial computations to DRAM dies (Gao, pg. 752, left col, second para.)
Regarding claim 11, Baum, Kim and Burger teaches the neural inference chip of claim 9, Baum, Kim and Burger does not explicitly teach configured to provide different neural network models to each of the first and third tiers.
Gao teaches configured to provide different neural network models (In addition to processing different NNs or layers in each vault, pg. 758, right col, section 4.2)
to the first and third tiers (The HMC stack (Figure 2 left) is vertically divided into sixteen 32-bit-wide vaults)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Baum, Kim and Burger to incorporate the method of Gao for the benefit of improving computational density by optimally using area for processing elements and on-chip buffers, and that moving partial computations to DRAM dies (Gao, pg. 752, left col, second para.)
9. Claims 12, 13, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baum et al. (US20200005127 filed 09/12/2019) in view of Zhang (US20190164038)
Regarding claim 12, Baum teaches the neural inference chip of claim 1, Baum does not explicitly teach wherein the communication network has at least two dimensions, a first of the at least two dimensions extending between tiers of the neural inference chip.
Zhang teaches wherein the communication network (They are communicatively coupled by a plurality of inter-level connections 160, i.e. through-silicon vias (TSV's) 160 a-160 c (FIG. 6C) [0053])
has at least two dimensions, (Fig. 6C shows that each TSV’s 160a-160c has a length and width)
a first of the at least two dimensions extending between tiers of the neural inference chip (length extends between tiers or layers of vertically integrated neuro-processor 100, Fig. 5A and 6C)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Baum to incorporate the method of Zhang for the benefit of an integrated circuit, and more particularly to a neuro-processor for artificial intelligence (AI) applications [0003] that improves computational density and storage of a neuro-processor. (Zhang [0010-0011])
Regarding claim 13, Baum teaches the neural inference chip of claim 1, Baum does not explicitly teach wherein the communication network has at least three dimensions, a first of the at least three dimensions extending between tiers of the neural inference chip and a second of the at least three dimensions extending within a tier of the neural inference chip.
Zhang teaches wherein the communication network (They are communicatively coupled by a plurality of inter-level connections 160, i.e. through-silicon vias (TSV's) 160 a-160 c (FIG. 6C) [0053])
has at least three dimensions, (Fig. 2C shows that TSV has a length, width and depth)
a first of the at least three dimensions extending between tiers of the neural inference chip and a second of the at least three dimensions extending within a tier of the neural inference chip. (length extends between tiers or layers of vertically integrated neuro-processor 100 and width extending within a tier of the integrated neuro-processor 100, Fig. 2C)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Baum to incorporate the method of Zhang for the benefit of an integrated circuit, and more particularly to a neuro-processor for artificial intelligence (AI) applications [0003] that improves computational density and storage of a neuro-processor. (Zhang [0010-0011])
Regarding claim 15, Baum teaches the neural inference chip of claim 1, Baum does not teach wherein the communication network is adapted to provide the same synaptic weights to a subset of the neural cores.
Zhang teaches wherein the communication network is adapted to provide the same synaptic weights (In FIG. 9B, the neuro-processing circuit 180 ij serves four memory arrays 170 ijA-170 ijD, i.e. it uses the synaptic weights stored in the memory arrays 170 ijA-170 ijD [0065])
to a subset of the neural cores (The first and second components 180 ijA, 180 ijB collectively form the neuro-processing circuit 180 ij. [0069])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Baum to incorporate the method of Zhang for the benefit of an integrated circuit, and more particularly to a neuro-processor for artificial intelligence (AI) applications [0003] that improves computational density and storage of a neuro-processor. (Zhang [0010-0011])
10. Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baum et al. (US20200005127 filed 09/12/2019) in view of Kim et al. ("Neurocube: A programmable digital neuromorphic architecture with high-density 3D memory." ACM SIGARCH Computer Architecture News 44.3 (2016): 380-392.) in view of Burger et al. (US20160379686) and further in view of Zhang (US20190164038)
Regarding claim 17, Baum teaches the neural inference chip of claim 1, Baum does not explicitly teach wherein the communication network comprises a plurality of rows with one of the tiers, each connected to a subset of the plurality of neural cores across tiers, and wherein the communication network is adapted to provide the same synaptic weights to those cores connected to each of the plurality of rows.
Kim teaches wherein the communication network comprises a plurality of rows with one of the tiers, each connected to a subset of the plurality of neural cores across tiers, (Fig. 4 shows TSV comprises a plurality of rows, each connected to a subset of PEs across tiers, pg. 382) and
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Baum to
incorporate the teachings of Kim for the benefit of improving computing power-efficiency (GOPs/s/W) over reported GPU based implementation while providing the programmability and scalability advantages over ASIC/FPGA platforms (Kim, pg. 381, left col., third para.).
Baum and Kim does not explicitly teach wherein the communication network is adapted to provide the same synaptic weights to those cores connected to each of the plurality of rows.
Zhang teaches wherein the network is adapted to provide the same synaptic weights to those cores connected to each of the plurality of rows (In FIG. 9B, the neuro-processing circuit 180 ij serves four memory arrays 170 ijA-170 ijD, i.e. it uses the synaptic weights stored in the memory arrays 170 ijA-170 ijD [0065]; The preferred vertically integrated neuro-processor 100 comprises an array with m rows [0031])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Baum and Kim to incorporate the method of Zhang for the benefit of an integrated circuit, and more particularly to a neuro-processor for artificial intelligence (AI) applications [0003] that improves computational density and storage of a neuro-processor (Zhang [0010-0011]).
11. Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baum et al. (US20200005127 filed 09/12/2019) in view of Datta et al. (US20130339281)
Regarding claim 20, Baum teaches the neural inference chip of claim 1, Baum does not explicitly teach the limitations of claim 20.
Datta teaches further comprising: at least a third tier (the neuron group NG2, Fig. 4) comprising a plurality of neural cores arranged in a two dimensional matrix along a plane of the third tier (Each processor 10 comprises at least one neuron group 12 [0069]; embodiments of the invention may include various processing elements (including computer simulations) that are modeled on biological neurons [0026]), the second tier (multiple synapses 31, such as synapses S1-2 and S2-3 [0045], Fig. 4) being positioned between the first (neuron group NG1, Fig. 4) and third tiers (neuron group NG2, Fig. 4),
wherein the communication network is additionally operatively coupled to the neural cores of the third tier for providing synaptic weights from the second tier thereto (As such, the synaptic weight of a synapse 31 interconnecting two neuron groups 12 is shared between the two neuron groups 12 in both the forward direction and the backward direction [0048]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Baum to incorporate the method of Datta for the benefit of interconnecting neuron groups on different processors via a plurality of reciprocal communication pathways, and facilitating the exchange of reciprocal spiking communication between two different processors (Datta, abstract)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.G./Examiner, Art Unit 2148
/MICHELLE T BECHTOLD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2148