DETAILED ACTION
VACUUM CLEANER
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 02-17-2026 has been entered. Claims 1-10,13,17-23,24-25 are currently pending and have been examined. Applicant’s amendment overcomes 112 rejection previously set forth in Final Office action mailed on 08-14-2025. The previous rejection has been updated to a 103 rejection due to applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi (US20210052119A1).
Regarding claim 14, Choi teaches
mounting at least one rigid carrier (314, figure 7) on an outer surface of the elongate central body (311, figure 6), wherein the at least one rigid carrier projects from the outer surface of the elongate central body by a first distance (see annotated figure below); and
mounting at least one flexible cleaning element (3154, figures 3-5) to the at least one rigid carrier, wherein the at least one flexible cleaning element projects from the outer surface of the elongate central body by a second distance, and the first distance is less than the second distance (see annotated figure below),
wherein the at least one rigid carrier has a first wall including a first interior surface and a first exterior surface that extend at an angle away from the at least one flexible cleaning element on a first side of the at least one flexible cleaning element, and a second wall including a second interior surface and a second exterior surface that extend at an angle away from the at least one flexible cleaning element on a second side of the at least one flexible cleaning element, both the first wall and the second wall extending away from the elongate central body so as not to be flush with the elongate central body (see annotated figure below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8,13,17-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US20210052119A1) in view of Grogran (US3139641A).
Regarding claim 1, Choi teaches
an elongate central body (311, figure 6) having an outer surface;
at least one rigid carrier (314, figure 7) mounted on the outer surface of the elongate central body and projecting from the outer surface of the elongate central body by a first distance (see annotated figure below);
at least one flexible cleaning element (3154, figures 3-5) mounted to the at least one rigid carrier and projecting from the outer surface of the elongate central body by a second distance, wherein the first distance is less than the second distance; and
the at least one rigid carrier having a first wall (3145, figure 7) including a first interior surface and a first exterior surface that extend at an angle away from the at least one flexible cleaning element on a first side of the at least one flexible cleaning element, and a second wall (3145, figure 7) including a second interior surface and a second exterior surface that extend at an angle away from the at least one flexible cleaning element on a second side of the at least one flexible cleaning element, wherein a first space exists between the first exterior surface of the first wall and the outer surface of the elongate central body and a second space exists between the second exterior surface of the second wall and the outer surface of the elongate central body (see annotated figure below).
Choi fails to teach the one rigid carrier is removably mounted.
Grogran teaches a cylindrical brush construction (figures 1-3) that has removably mounted rigid carrier. (col 6 lines 45-69)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Choi to have the rigid carrier to be removably mounted based on the teachings of Grogran, since separating parts that were once integral involves only routine skill in the art. This modification would make it easier to replace the rigid carrier.
Regarding claim 2, modified Choi teaches wherein the first wall and the second wall of the at least one rigid carrier project from the outer surface of the elongate central body in a different direction (see annotated figure above) from the at least one flexible cleaning element (see Choi 3154, figure 7).
Regarding claim 3, Choi as modified in claim 1 teaches wherein the outer surface of the elongate central body comprises a recess (see Choi 3112-1 and 3112-2, figure 5) and wherein the at least one rigid carrier is removably mounted (see Grogran col 6 lines 45-69) in the recess on the outer surface of the elongate central body.
Regarding claim 4, modified Choi wherein the at least one rigid carrier comprises a plurality of clips (see Choi 3144 and 3144, figure 7) located between the first wall and the second wall (see annotated figure above) for securing a base of the at least one flexible cleaning element to the at least one rigid carrier.
Regarding claim 5, modified Choi teaches wherein the at least one rigid carrier (Choi 314, figure 7) comprises a first rigid carrier (Choi 314-1, figure 7)and a second rigid carrier (Choi 314-2, figure 7), wherein the first and second rigid carriers are spaced from one another to create a space between their respective walls to allow for a cutting implement to fit therein.
Regarding claim 6, modified Choi teaches wherein the at least one flexible cleaning element (Choi 3154, figure 7) is one or more of a bristle strip, a cleaning blade, or cleaning flap. (para 0089-0102 of Choi)
Regarding claim 7, modified Choi teaches wherein at least a portion of the at least one rigid carrier comprises a helical shape (figure 6 of Choi).
Regarding claim 8, modified Choi teaches wherein the at least one rigid carrier comprises a first portion of a length of the at least one rigid carrier (see Choi figure 6) having helical shape in a first direction and a second portion of the length of the at least one rigid carrier (See Choi figure 6) having a helical shape in a second direction.
Regarding claim 13, modified Choi teaches wherein the at least one flexible cleaning element cannot be deformed to a position which is less than the first distance when engaging a surface to be cleaned. (para 0086-0130 of Choi).
Regarding claim 17, modified Choi teaches wherein the at least one rigid carrier includes at least two rigid carriers (Choi 314, figure 6) spaced evenly around the elongate central body. (see Choi 311, figure 6)
Regarding claim 19, Choi teaches
an elongate central body (311, figure 6) having an outer surface;
at least one rigid carrier (314, figure 7) mounted on the outer surface of the elongate central body and projecting from the outer surface of the elongate central body by a first distance (see annotated figure below);
at least one flexible cleaning element (3154, figures 3-5) mounted to the at least one rigid carrier and projecting from the outer surface of the elongate central body by a second distance, wherein the first distance is less than the second distance; and
the at least one rigid carrier having:
a first wall (3145, figure 7) including a first interior surface and a first exterior surface that extend at an angle away from the at least one flexible cleaning element on a first side of the at least one flexible cleaning element; and
a second wall (3145, figure 7) including a second interior surface and a second exterior surface that extend at an angle away from the at least one flexible cleaning element on a second side of the at least one flexible cleaning element, wherein the first exterior surface of the first wall extends at an angle less than 90 degrees with respect to the outer surface of elongate central body and the second exterior surface of the second wall extends at an angle that is less than 90 degrees with respect to the outer surface of the elongate central body. (see annotated figure below)
Choi fails to teach the one rigid carrier is removably mounted.
Grogran teaches a cylindrical brush construction (figures 1-3) that has removably mounted rigid carrier. (col 6 lines 45-69)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Choi to have the rigid carrier to be removably mounted based on the teachings of Grogran, since separating parts that were once integral involves only routine skill in the art. This modification would make it easier to replace the rigid carrier.
Regarding claim 18, modified Choi teaches wherein the at least one rigid carrier (Choi 314, figure 6) includes at least two rigid carriers (Choi 314-1,314-2, figure 7) spaced evenly around the elongate central body (311, figure 7).
Regarding claim 20, modified Choi teaches wherein the at least one flexible cleaning element is capable of deforming but always projecting a distance equal to or greater than the first distance as the at least one flexible cleaning element contacts a surface to be cleaned. (para 0086-0130 of Choi).
Regarding claim 21, modified Choi teaches wherein the outer surface of the elongate central body comprises a recess (see Choi 3112-1 and 3112-2, figure 5) and wherein the at least one rigid carrier is removably mounted (see Grogran col 6 lines 45-69) in the recess on the outer surface of the elongate central body.
Regarding claim 22, modified Choi teaches wherein the at least one rigid carrier comprises a plurality of clips (see Choi 3144 and 3144, figure 7) located between the first wall and the second wall (see annotated figure above) for securing a base of the at least one flexible cleaning element to the at least one rigid carrier.
Regarding claim 23, modified Choi teaches wherein the at least one rigid carrier (Choi 314, figure 7) comprises a first rigid carrier (Choi 314-1, figure 7) and a second rigid carrier (Choi 314-2, figure 7), wherein the first and second rigid carriers are spaced from one another to create a space between their respective walls, the space being at least double the thickness of the flexible cleaning element to allow for a cutting implement to fit therein.
Claim(s) 9-10 and 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US20210052119A1) in view of Grogran (US3139641A) as applied to claims 1 and 19 further in view Morishita (JP2003290092A)
Regarding claims 9 and 24, Choi as modified above teaches all limitations stated above, but fails to teach at least one other flexible cleaning element mounted directly to the elongate central body in the space between the first rigid carrier and the second rigid carrier.
Morishita teaches a method of manufacturing rotary cleaning body for vacuum cleaner (abstract) that includes flexible cleaning element (23, figures 1-4) mounted to a rigid carrier, and other flexible cleaning element (20, figure 2) mounted directly to elongate central body (10, figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Choi to least one other flexible cleaning element mounted directly to the elongate central body in the space between the first rigid carrier and the second rigid carrier based on the teachings of Morishita, since a mere duplication of essential working part of device involves only routine skill in the art. This modification would improve the cleaning effect of the brushroll.
Regarding claims 10 and 25, modified Choi teaches wherein the at least one other flexible cleaning element projects (see Morishita 20, figures 1-2) from the outer surface of the elongate central body by a third distance which is at least greater than the first distance (see Morishita, figures 1-2 shows element 20 is shorter than flexible cleaning element).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments see filed 02-17-2026, with respect to the
rejection(s) of claim(s) 1,14 and 19 and their dependent claims under 35 U.S.C.102 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection (as necessitated by amendment) relies on a different combination of prior art references, not applied in the prior rejection of record to teach the amendment.
Conclusion
/SARAH AKYAA FORDJOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723