Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 4-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Novak (WO2018017611A1, Cited pages are page numbers of the provided reference document and not those printed in the header) in view of Patel (US20110166673A1).
In regard to claim 1, Novak teaches a method for making an implantable medical product that includes extracellular matrix (ECM) material in sheet form (fig 5), the method comprising:
providing a first ECM sheet 12 having two side edges, a top edge and a bottom edge (fig 3B)
providing a second ECM sheet 14 having two side edges, a top edge and a bottom edge; (fig 3B)
superimposing the first and second ECM sheets (see figure 3B);
joining together the first and second (12, 14) ECM sheets by a continuous peripheral seam (flange 16 is the seam) that is provided along and that joins together the bottom edges of the first and second ECM sheets (flange is along the bottom side) and that extends substantially completely (substantially completely is defined in the instant disclosure as at least 75%) along adjacent first side edges of the first and second center-seamed ECM sheets and only partially along adjacent second side edges of the first and second center-seamed ECM sheets to form a pouch structure that includes an internal region or cavity and an opening; (fig 3A; Figure 5, a seam extends around full edges)
wherein the top edges of the first and second center-seamed ECM sheets are not joined together to form the opening (see fig 3A, 5), and wherein a portion of the first and second ECM sheets (12, 14) at the seam had substantially the same properties as the remainder of the first and second center- seamed ECM sheets (same material, see fig 3B).
However, Novak does not teach the first and second ECM sheet formation as claimed or that the seam is a lock-stitch seam.
Patel teaches providing a first ECM sheet and a second ECM sheet, wherein the first and second ECM sheets are each generally rectangular and include at least two ECM plies or layers and having top, bottom and two side edges (see figure 4, 4 layers are present in a sheet; the two 2 layers can be considered the first ECM sheet and the bottom 2 layers can be considered the second ECM sheet);
overlapping a first side edge of the first ECM sheet onto a first side edge of the second ECM sheet (figure 4; totally overlapped; the claim language does not require only a partial overlap)
joining together the overlapped side edges of the first and second ECM sheets by a first lock-stitched center seam [0008: lock stitch; see figure 1, at least one of the seams in through the center on a diagonal) to create a first center-seamed ECM sheet having two side edges, a top edge and a bottom edge (see figure 1);
providing a third ECM sheet and a fourth ECM sheet (see figure 4, 4 layers present per sheet), wherein the third and fourth ECM sheets are each generally rectangular and include at least two ECM plies or layers (since there are 4 layers the third ECM sheet can be interpreted as the top two layers and the fourth ECM sheet can be interpreted as the bottom two layers) and having top, bottom and two side edges (figure 1, 4):
overlapping a first side edge of the third ECM sheet onto a first side edge of the fourth ECM sheet joining together the overlapped side edges of the third and fourth ECM sheets by a second lock-stitched center seam [0008: lock stitch configuration; figure 1, the center seam on a diagonal is a center seam] to create a second center-seamed ECM sheet having two side edges, a top edge and a bottom edge (see figure 1);
the use of a lock-stitch seam to secure ECM sheets together [0036: ECM sheets; 0045: lock stitches 17].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of ECM sheets at the time the invention was filed to make each of the first and second ECM sheets of Novak multiple layers as taught by Patel and to secure the muti layered ECM sheets used the central lock stitched seams as taught by Patel because the multilayered and quilted construction prevents the layers from delaminating (abstract) and because multiple layers have improved strength durability compared to a single layer [0004].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of sewing and grafts at the time the invention was filed to use the lock-stitches of Patel in the seam of Novak because this can limit the possibility of ECM plies delaminating during implantation (see [0046]) and to be able to resize the pouch structure without unjoining the ECM sheets (see [0045]).
Regarding Claim 2, Novak teaches a method, wherein the first and second ECM sheets are provided by trimming larger ECM sheets to remove defects (see Page 28, Line 7-8, ECM materials harvested as intact sheets is the same as trimming sheets to remove defects),
with the ECM material comprising acellular ECM from a decellularized mammalian tissue source (see Page 26, Lines 23-27; also see Page 27, Lines 13-15),
selected from the group consisting of small intestine submucosa (SIS), urinary bladder submucosa, stomach submucosa, epithelium of mesodermal origin, dermal extracellular matrix, subcutaneous extracellular matrix, gastrointestinal extracellular matrix, tissue surrounding growing bone, placental extracellular matrix, omentum extracellular matrix, cardiac extracellular matrix, kidney extracellular matrix, pancreas extracellular matrix, lung extracellular matrix, urinary basement membrane, liver basement membrane, and combinations thereof (see Page 27, Lines 13-23).
Regarding Claim 4, Novak teaches a method, wherein
the peripheral seam extends substantially completely along the overlapped edges of the first and second ECM sheets (interpreted as the first overlapped edge) a. (Figs. 1A and 1C, On walls 12,14 flange 16 extends substantially completely on lateral side which is interpreted as the first edge "Substantially completely" is defined as approximately 75% -100% in the instant specification; figure 5 the seam extends completely around all seamed edges)
However, Novak does not teach the first seam is lock-stitched or the first and second ECM sheets (multiple layers) as claimed.
Patel further teaches the seam is a lock-stitched seam and the use of multiple layers (figure 4, two layers in each of the first and second overlapped ECM sheets) as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. (Fig. 2, Suture line 19 on the periphery 25 further secures multiple layers 12; Fig. 4, Shows a cross section of the lock-stitch with sutures 30,31 through layers 12; see [0045] and [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a lock-stitch as taught by Patel on the seams of Novak in order to limit the possibility of ECM plies delaminating during implantation (see [0046]) and to be able to resize the pouch structure without unjoining the ECM sheets (see [0045]). Because of where the seam is, when the multiple layers of Patel are substituted into the device of Novak, the lock stitching will secure through all of the layers at the seam when combined.
Regarding Claim 5, Novak teaches a method, further comprising inserting an electrical medical device into the internal region or cavity of the pouch structure (Fig. 1D, Medical device 200 is inserted in pouch product 10; also see Page 12, Lines 26-30).
Regarding Claim 6, Novak teaches a method, wherein the medical device is a subcutaneous implantable cardioverter-defibrillator, a pump, a pacemaker, synthetic heart valve, ventricular assist device, artificial heart, physiological sensor, catheter, or an associated component thereof (see Page 38, Lines 21- 30 and Page 29, Lines 1-3).
Regarding Claim 7, Novak teaches a method, further comprising closing the opening of the pouch structure by stitching or stapling after inserting the electrical device therein (see Page 26, Lines 16-18; also see Page 42, Lines 1-3).
Regarding Claim 8, Novak teaches a method further comprising providing a composition that is a pharmacological agent into the internal region or cavity of the pouch structure (see Page 32, Lines 1-13, Non-native bioactive substances are pharmacological agents and since they can be incorporated into the ECM material, they can also be found in the internal cavity of the pouch structure).
Regarding Claim 9, Novak teaches a method, wherein the pharmacological agent is or includes an antibiotic agent which is added prior to inserting the medical device into the pouch structure (see Page 32, Lines 8 - 16, Antibiotics are listed as a pharmacological agent that can be added prior to the procedure that involves inserting the medical device).
Regarding Claim 10, Novak teaches a method further comprising folding the edges of any or all of the sheets prior to stitching to provide a double thickness of the ECM sheets being stitched together (Figs. 2A and 2B, Flap 42, a section of wall 12, is folded over exterior of wall 14 to close opening 36; see Page 13, Lines 14-18; also see Page 26, Lines 10-18 ; also see Page 42, Lines 1-3).
Regarding Claim 11, Novak in view of Ward and Patel teaches a pouch product prepared by the method of claim 1 (see Claim 1 rejection).
Regarding Claim 12, Novak teaches an implantable pouch product for receiving a medical device (Abstract; figs 1, 5) and teaches an implantable medical product, comprising:
a pouch structure comprising extracellular matrix (ECM) material in sheet form (Fig. 1A, Pouch product 10 includes walls 12 and 14, which can be made of ECM material; See Page 26, lines 23-27 and Page 27, lines 13-15, Walls 12, 14 can be made of remodelable material such as ECM materials.),
wherein the ECM material comprises acellular ECM from a decellularized mammalian tissue source (see Page 26, Lines 23-27; also see Page 27, Lines 13-15),
selected from the group consisting of small intestine submucosa (SIS), urinary bladder submucosa, stomach submucosa, epithelium of mesodermal origin, dermal extracellular matrix, subcutaneous extracellular matrix, gastrointestinal extracellular matrix, tissue surrounding growing bone, placental extracellular matrix, omentum extracellular matrix, cardiac extracellular matrix, kidney extracellular matrix, pancreas extracellular matrix, lung extracellular matrix, urinary basement membrane, liver basement membrane, and combinations thereof (see Page 27, Lines 13-23),
wherein the pouch structure comprises an internal region or cavity (Figs. 1A and 1B, Walls 12 and 14 form an inner pocket) and an opening (Figs. 1A and 1B, Pouch product 10 has an upper opening 36; See Page 12, lines 26-28),
and is configured and sized to receive, encase and retain an electrical medical device inserted therein (see Page 39, Lines 20-28) (Fig. 1D, Medical device 200 is inserted in pouch product 10; also see Page 12, Lines 26-30);
wherein the pouch structure comprises a first ECM sheet and second ECM sheet, wherein the first and second ECM sheets are each generally rectangular ECM sheets (Figs. 1A and 1C, Walls 12 and 14 are generally rectangular) and include at least two ECM plies or layers (see Page 12, Lines 24-26) and having top, bottom and two side edges (Fig. 1A, Walls 12, 14 have a top side 22, bottom side 24, and lateral sides 18,20),
wherein a first side edge of the first sheet overlaps a first side edge of the second sheet (Figs. 1A and 1C, Walls 12 and 14 have overlapping lateral edges 18,20, either of which could be a first side edge)
wherein the pair of first and second generally rectangular ECM sheets are superimposed upon each other (Figs. 1A and 1C, Walls 12 and 14 are superimposed; fig 5) and joined together with a continuous peripheral seam (Figs. 1A and 1C, Walls 12 and 14 are joined along flange 16, (A seam is a line where things join (Cambridge dictionary)), so the flange in this invention is considered a peripheral seam; figure 5, seam extends along the bottom and laterally sides fully)
that is provided along and that joins together the bottom edges of the sheets (Fig. 1A , Flange 16 is along the bottom side 24) and that extends substantially completely (defined in the instant disclosure as 75-100%) along adjacent first side edges of the first and second center seamed ECM sheets and only partially along adjacent second side edges of the sheets (Fig. 1A, Flange 16 extends along a portion of lateral sides 18,2, fig 5 extends around ¾ sides completely) to form the pouch structure;
and wherein the top edges of the first and second ECM sheets are not joined together to form the opening of the pouch structure (Fig. 1A, Walls 12 and 14 are not bonded together along distances 30, 32 and top side 20 to allow for device insertion; Fig. 1C, opening 36 is for device insertion, Opening 36 is on the top edges of sheets where the walls 12, 14 are not bonded; fig 5)
and are configured for closing by stitching or stapling after receiving the device (see Page 26, Lines 16-18; also see Page 42, Lines 1-3)
and wherein a portion of the first and second ECM sheets at the seam has substantially the same properties as the remainder of the first and second ECM sheets (Single layer wall material, therefore substantially the same material properties. The applicant has not specified which properties). pg 18 lines 15-29: fold or flange is made of any of the laminate wall materials describe herein. Since the flange is formed by folding the material of the ECM sheets, the flange is made of the same material and therefore has substantially the same (material) properties. The examiner suggests being more specific about which properties are being referred to.
However, Novak does not teach ECM sheets are joined by lock stitching or the first and second ECM sheets are center seamed each having at least two ECM plies with overlapped side edges jointed together by a second center seam.
Patel teaches a center-seamed ECM sheet (fig 1, 4) each having at least two plies or layers (four layers, fig 4) wherein a first side edge of the first ECM sheet overlaps a first side edge of the second ECM sheet (fig 1, 4) with a center seam (see seam across the diagonal in the center of figure 1)
and further teaches a first lock-stitched seam, (Fig. 4, Shows a cross section of the lock-stitch with sutures 30,31 through layers 12; see [0045]; also see [0043], A useful pattern can have one stitch line), and a peripheral lock-stitch seam (Fig. 2, Suture line 19 on the periphery 25 further secures multiple layers 12; Fig. 4, Shows a cross section of the lock-stitch with sutures 30,31 through layers 12; see [0045] and [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a lock-stitch as taught by Patel to secure the seam Novak in order to limit the possibility of ECM plies delaminating during implantation (see [0046]) and to be able to resize the pouch structure without unjoining the ECM sheets (see [0045]) and to use the multi-layer structure with a center seam of Patel in the first and second ECM sheets of Novak in order to
Regarding Claim 13, Novak teaches a medical product,
wherein the first and second ECM sheets each have a rounded corner located within the peripheral seam (As best understood, Fig. 1A, Walls 12, 14 have rounded corners 28, 26 that are along flange 16, a seam is a line where things join (Cambridge dictionary) so the flange in this invention is considered a peripheral seam).
However, Novak does not teach ECM sheets joined by lock-stitching or that the first and second ECM sheets are center seamed.
Patel further teaches a peripheral lock-stitched seam (Fig. 2, Suture line 19 on the periphery 25 further secures multiple layers 12; Fig. 4, Shows a cross section of the lock-stitch with sutures 30,31 through layers 12; see [0045] and [0046]).
As discussed in the rejection of claim 12, Patel teaches the first and second ECM sheets are center seamed. (fig 1)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a lock-stitch as taught by Patel to on the seam of Novak in order to limit the possibility of ECM plies delaminating during implantation (see [0046]) and to be able to resize the pouch structure without unjoining the ECM sheets (see [0045]).
Regarding Claim 14, Novak teaches an implantable medical product,
wherein the peripheral seam extends substantially completely along the overlapped edges of the first and second ECM sheets (Figs. 1A and 1C, On walls 12, 14 flange 16 extends substantially completely on lateral side 18 and about half-way along lateral side 20, "Substantially completely" is defined as approximately 75% -100% in the instant specification).
However, Novak does not teach the seam is lock stitched.
Patel further teaches a first lock-stitched seam (Fig. 4, Shows a cross section of the lock-stitch with sutures 30,31 through layers 12; see [0045]; also see [0043], A useful pattern can have one stitch line.)
and a peripheral lock-stitched seam (Fig. 2, Suture line 19 on the periphery 25 further secures multiple layers 12; Fig. 4, Shows a cross section of the lock-stitch with sutures 30,31 through layers 12; see [0045] and [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a lock-stitch as taught by Patel on the seam of Novak in order to limit the possibility of ECM plies delaminating during implantation (see [0046]) and to be able to resize the pouch structure without unjoining the ECM sheets (see [0045]).
Regarding Claim 15, Novak teaches a medical product, wherein the first and second ECM sheet each includes a plurality of holes in a spaced pattern (Figs. 1A and 1C, Walls 12 and 14 have a plurality of through openings 34 in a spaced pattern).’
However, Novak does not teach the ECM sheets are center seamed.
As discussed in the rejection of claim 12, Patel teaches the ECM sheets are center seamed (fig 4)
Regarding Claim 16, Novak teaches a medical product, further comprising the electrical medical device inserted in the internal region or cavity (Fig. 1D, Medical device 200 is inserted in pouch product 10; also see Page 12, Lines 26-30).
Regarding Claim 17, Novak meets the claim limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 16 and further teaches the electrical medical device is selected from the group consisting of a subcutaneous implantable cardioverter-defibrillator, a pump, a pacemaker, a synthetic heart valve, ventricular assist device, artificial heart, physiological sensor, catheter, and an associated component thereof (see Page 38, Lines 21- 30 and Page 29, Lines 1-3).
Regarding Claim 18, Novak meets the claim limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 12 and further teaches the internal region or cavity of the pouch structure contains a pharmacological agent (see Page 32, Lines 1-13, Non-native bioactive substances are pharmacological agents and since they can be incorporated into the ECM material, they can also be found in the internal cavity of the pouch structure).
Regarding Claim 19, Novak meets the claim limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 18 and further teaches the pharmacological agent comprises an antibiotic agent (see Page 32, Lines 8 - 16, Antibiotics are listed as a pharmacological agent that can be added prior to the procedure that involves inserting the medical device).
Regarding Claim 20, Novak meets the claim limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 12 and further teaches the edges of any or all of the first and second ECM sheets are folded to provide a double thickness of the first and second ECM sheets joined by stitched seams (Figs. 2A and 2B, Flap 42, a section of wall 12, is folded over exterior of wall 14 to close opening 36; see Page 13, Lines 14-18; also see Page 26, Lines 10-18; also see Page 42, Lines 1-3).
However, Novak does not teach ECM sheets joined by lock-stitching or that the first and second ECM sheets are center seamed.
Patel further teaches ECM sheets joined by the lock-stitched seams (Fig. 2, suture line 19 on the periphery 25 further secures multiple layers 12; Fig. 4, shows the cross section of a lock-stitch with sutures 30,31 through layers 12; see [0045] and [0046]) and a center seamed ECM sheet as discussed in the rejection of claim 12 (see fig 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a lock-stitch as taught by Patel to secure the flange/seam of Novak in order to limit the possibility of ECM plies delaminating during implantation (see [0046]) and to be able to resize the pouch structure without unjoining the ECM sheets (see [0045]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Novak (WO2018017611A1, Cited pages are page numbers of the provided reference document and not those printed in the header) in view of Patel (US20110166673A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee (US20180098836A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Novak teaches a method, which further comprises,
die cutting the first and second ECM sheets to provide a plurality of holes (see Page 18, Lines 20-22, Stamping or otherwise cutting would include die cutting as a method to create the plurality of openings).
However, Novak does not teach ECM sheets that are center seamed or the ECM sheets joined by lock stitching or die cutting ECM sheets to create rounded corners.
Patel further teaches ECM sheets having the overlapped side edges and first seam (fig 4) and a first lock-stitched seam (Fig. 4, Shows a cross section of the lock-stitch with sutures 30,31 through layers 12; see [0045]; also see [0043], A useful pattern can have one stitch line.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a lock-stitch on ECM sheets as taught by Patel on the seam/flange of Novak in order to limit the possibility of ECM plies delaminating during implantation (see [0046]) and to be able to resize the pouch structure without unjoining the ECM sheets (see [0045]) and further obvious to have the center seam of Patel in order to have multiple layers and improve strength and durability [0004; abstract; [0045-0046].
Lee teaches tissue matrices with holes and further teaches die cutting the first and second ECM sheets to provide rounded corners and a plurality of holes prior to joining the pair of first and second ECM sheets by the peripheral lock-stitched seam (Figs. 1A and 1C, depicts an ECM sheet 10 produced by die cutting to have rounded corners 15 and a plurality of holes 20; see [0067], ECM sheet is not joined to another sheet when cut).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to die cut the ECM sheet as taught by Lee to form rounded corners and a plurality of holes as taught by Novak in order to save processing time by simultaneously shaping the perimeter of the ECM sheet and making holes (see [0067]).
Response to Arguments
In regard to the 103(a) rejection of claims 1, 2, and 4-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Novak (WO2018017611A1) in view of Ward (US20170360544A1) and Patel (US20110166673A1), the applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are all directed towards new claim limitations which have been addressed above. The applicant argues that Novake teaches against a continuous peripheral lock stitch seam because Novak teaches a bonded flange to joint the edges that has a greater density and lower porosity. Adding a lock-stitch seam would not change the flange itself which is created by folded material. The stitch would simply reinforce the bond. Further, the applicant has pointed out that Novak actually states reinforcement materials such as sutures may be included. (Figure 1C description of the disclosure) Accordingly, Novak does not teach away from the use of sutures when they are actually suggested.
In regard to the 103(a) rejection of claim 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Novak (WO2018017611A1) in view of Ward (US20170360544A1) and Patel (US20110166673A1) and further in view of Lee (2018/0098836A1), no further arguments have been presented.
Conclusion
/CHRISTIE BAHENA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774