DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Applicant amended the claims and they no longer invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Response to Arguments
Examiner acknowledges the receipt of the Applicant’s Amendment dated August 26, 2026. Applicant amended claims 1 and 12. Applicant canceled claims 19-20. Claims 1-18, 21, and 22 are pending.
Applicant’s arguments as to air exiting the outlet not substantially being mixed with air sucked into the inlet is not found to be persuasive, as both inlet and outlet have a degree of mixing with the atmosphere. Therefore the rejection of the claims are similarly maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-18, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. Claims 1 and 12 recite "the wireless interface unit offloads data processing to the external computer." It is not clear to a skilled artisan how to construct without undue experimentation the wireless interface unit so as to accomplish the function attributed to the recited offloading of data processing. A “wireless interface unit” is merely defined as establishing electrical and communication contact in Page 14 Lines 17-21 of the Specification as an alternative to a cable-connection, and the specific data processing being offloaded is not further defined by the Specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hollenbeck et al. (International Publication WO 2013/132091, hereinafter “Hollenbeck”) and in further view of Ernst et al. (U.S. Publication 2011/0123098, hereinafter “Ernst”), Chilek et al. (U.S. Publication 2015/0055297, hereinafter “Chilek”), Gilhuly et al. (U.S. Publication 2005/0234526, hereinafter “Gilhuly), Yakovlev et al. (U.S. Publication 2020/0101291, hereinafter “Yakovlev”), and Ritchey et al. (U.S. Patent 9,101,279).
As to Claim 1, Hollenbeck discloses a handheld scanner “intraoral scanner” in 32/27 and Figs. 1-2 for intraoral scanning, comprising:
a main body (201) in 32/29 comprising a mounting part (202) in 33/9 and Fig. 1, wherein the mounting part is configured to mount a tip (100) in 32/29 and Figs. 1-3 and 5a-6b for the scanner;
an image sensor “image sensor” in 33/19 and a light source “light source” in 33/23 arranged in the main body “other parts of the main body” in 33/18; electronic components “processing electronics” in 33/19 for operating the scanner.
However, Hollenbeck does not specifically disclose a cooling system configured to cool the electronic components via convection by circulating air around electronic components comprising a battery. Ernst and Chilek are applied as secondary references to evidence the level of skill of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention. Ernst teaches in the related field of intraoral scanners that an intraoral scanner “wand” in [0066] and Fig. 2 has a cooling system (35, 36, 37, 38) in [0066] comprising an air circulation system (36, 37) in [0066], where the air circulation system comprises an inlet at (36) and an outlet (38) in [0066]. Chilek teaches in the related field of endoscopy in [0028] wherein a scope (10) in [0030] and Figs. 1 and 4-8 with heatsink (70, 90) in [0036] comprises an air circulation system (80) in [0041] for circulating air around electronic components “electronic components” in [0038] resulting in cooling via convection in [0047] including for a battery “battery” in [0031] wherein the outlet and inlet are arranged such that the air exiting the outlet is not mixed with the air sucked into the inlet (Chilek, [0042]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the scanner of Hollenbeck with cooling means as taught by Ernst which also cool electronic components as taught by Chilek to fulfill the same function with predictable results. As to Claim 19, Hollenbeck in views of Ernst and Chilek discloses the handheld scanner according to claim 1,
In order to expedite prosecution, Gilhuly teaches in the analogous field of oral scopes wherein a fan (272) in [0125] and heat sink (270) in [0125] are provided in direct proximity to a battery (274) in [0125] as shown in Fig. 45. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the cooling system of Hollenbeck, Ernst, and Chilek with additional fans at various locations including direct proximity to the battery as taught by Gilhuly such that the air circulation system circulated air directly over the battery in order to fulfill the same cooling function via air flow with predictable results.
However Hollenbeck does not specifically disclose wireless connection to an external computer. Yakovlev teaches in the analogous field of endoscopy wherein external device (2030) in [0236] and Figs. 20-22 powered by either batteries or a wall outlet interface wirelessly with external computers via wireless interface unit (2220) in [0236]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the scanner and electronic components of Hollenbeck with the wireless interface unit of Yakovlev to interface with a computer in order to for high-speed communication for diagnostics or real-time feedback to inform the doctor or patient (Yakovlev, [0236], [0286], and [0296]). The transmission of data from the processing components via the wireless interface to an external computer wherein the computer does further processing necessarily means that data processing is effectively offloaded, since the computer is performing data processing functions. In order to expedite prosecution, it is additionally noted that Ritchey explicitly teaches that information is offloaded over a wired or wireless network to a remote computer system for computer data and information storage and processing in order to reduce demand in 99/18-22.
As to Claim 2, Hollenbeck discloses the handheld scanner according to claim 1, wherein the inlet and outlet are separated by at least 5mm (106) in 35/14 and Fig. 5A having a thickness of 0.4 mm - 2 mm as described in 22/22-24 that is a small proportion of the length of the tip as a frame of reference for a magnitude of dimensions appropriate the handheld scanner and therefore necessarily the placement of the inlet and outlet thereupon. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the inlet and outlet at varying lengths relative to the length of the tip in order to fulfill the same function of providing an inlet and outlet for air to circulate with predictable results of varying cooling efficiencies as the distance between the inlet and outlet are varied. It would have been additionally obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the inlet and outlet at varying distances depending on desired cooling characteristics (Chilek, [0040]).
As to Claim 3, Hollenbeck discloses the handheld scanner according to claim 1, wherein the inlet and outlet are separated by 20 mm or more (106) in 35/14 and Fig. 5A having a thickness of 0.4 mm - 2 mm as described in 22/22-24 that is a small proportion of the length of the tip as a frame of reference for a magnitude of dimensions appropriate the handheld scanner and therefore necessarily the placement of the inlet and outlet thereupon. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the inlet and outlet at varying lengths relative to the length of the tip in order to fulfill the same function of providing an inlet and outlet for air to circulate with predictable results of varying cooling efficiencies as the distance between the inlet and outlet are varied. It would have been additionally obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the inlet and outlet at varying distances depending on desired cooling characteristics (Chilek, [0040]).
As to Claim 4, Hollenbeck discloses a removable tip (100) in 32/29 and Figs. 1-3 and 5a-6b configured to be mounted to the scanner according to claim 1.
As to Claim 5, Hollenbeck discloses the removable tip according to claim 4, wherein the tip comprises:
a framework (104) in 34/6 and (106) in 35/14 and Fig. 3; and
an optical element “optical element (103)” and “mirror” in 34/4-5, wherein the optical element comprises a mirror “mirror” in [0200].
As to Claim 6, Hollenbeck discloses the removable tip according to claim 5, wherein the mirror is arranged such that light from the light source is guided towards an object “towards the set of teeth” in 29/2 located outside the tip and light returning from the object is guided towards the image sensor “light returning from the set of teeth is transmitted towards a camera” in 29/3-4.
As to Claim 7, Hollenbeck discloses the removable tip according to claim 6, wherein the tip comprises an opening (203) in 34/19 and Fig. 4 at the distal end for mounting the tip to the scanner as shown in Fig. 5a, and an opening of ring (206) in 35/6 and Fig. 4 at the proximal end that such that the light from the light source and the returning light from the object is via the opening at the proximal end.
As to Claim 8, Hollenbeck discloses a system comprising the handheld scanner of claim 1, and a removable tip (100) in 32/29 and Figs. 1-3 and 5a-6b configured to be mounted to the scanner.
As to Claim 9, Hollenbeck discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the removable tip comprises: a framework (104) in 34/6 and (106) in 35/14 and Fig. 3; and an optical element “optical element (103)” and “mirror” in 34/4-5, wherein the optical element comprises a mirror.
As to Claim 10, Hollenbeck discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the mirror is arranged such that light from the light source is guided towards an object “towards the set of teeth” in 29/2 located outside the tip and light returning from the object is guided towards the image sensor “light returning from the set of teeth is transmitted towards a camera” in 29/3-4.
As to Claim 11, Hollenbeck discloses the system of claim 10, wherein the tip comprises an opening (203) in 34/19 and Fig. 4 at the distal end for mounting the tip to the scanner as shown in Fig. 5a, and an opening of ring (206) in 35/6 and Fig. 4 at the proximal end that such that the light from the light source and the returning light from the object is via the opening at the proximal end.
As to Claim 12, Hollenbeck discloses a handheld scanner “intraoral scanner” in 32/27 and Figs. 1-2 for intraoral scanning, comprising:
a main body (201) in 32/29 comprising a mounting part (201) in 33/9 and Fig. 1, wherein the mounting part is configured to mount a tip (100) in 32/29 and Figs. 1-3 and 5a-6b for the scanner;
an image sensor “image sensor” in 33/19 and a light source “light source” in 33/23 arranged in the main body “other parts of the main body” in 33/18;
electronic components “processing electronics” in 33/19 for operating the scanner.
However, Hollenbeck does not specifically disclose a cooling system configured to cool the electronic components via convection by circulating air around electronic components comprising a battery. Ernst and Chilek are applied as secondary references to evidence the level of skill of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention. Ernst teaches in the related field of intraoral scanners that an intraoral scanner “wand” in [0066] and Fig. 2 has a cooling system (35, 36, 37, 38) in [0066] comprising an air circulation system (36, 37) in [0066], where the air circulation system comprises an inlet at (36) and an outlet (38) in [0066]. Chilek teaches in the related field of endoscopy in [0028] wherein a scope (10) in [0030] and Figs. 1 and 4-8 with heatsink (70, 90) in [0036] comprises an air circulation system (80) in [0041] for circulating air around electronic components “electronic components” in [0038] resulting in cooling via convection in [0047] including for a battery “battery” in [0031], such that air sucked into an inlet (78) in [0042] and Fig. 6 is not heated by air exiting an outlet “outlet” in [0042], wherein the outlet and inlet are arranged such that the air sucked into the inlet is not heated by air exiting the outlet (Chilek, [0042]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the scanner of Hollenbeck with cooling means as taught by Ernst which also cool electronic components as taught by Chilek to fulfill the same function with predictable results.
Hollenbeck provides for a frame of reference for a magnitude of dimensions appropriate the handheld scanner and therefore necessarily the placement of the inlet and outlet thereupon. It would have been additionally obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the inlet and outlet at varying distances depending on desired cooling characteristics (Chilek, [0040]).
In order to expedite prosecution, Gilhuly teaches in the analogous field of oral scopes wherein a fan (272) in [0125] and heat sink (270) in [0125] are provided in direct proximity to a battery (274) in [0125] as shown in Fig. 45. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the cooling system of Hollenbeck, Ernst, and Chilek with additional fans at various locations including direct proximity to the battery as taught by Gilhuly such that the air circulation system circulated air directly over the battery in order to fulfill the same cooling function via air flow with predictable results.
However Hollenbeck does not specifically disclose wireless connection to an external computer. Yakovlev teaches in the analogous field of endoscopy wherein external device (2030) in [0236] and Figs. 20-22 powered by either batteries or a wall outlet interface wirelessly with external computers via wireless interface unit (2220) in [0236]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the scanner of Hollenbeck with the wireless interface unit of Yakovlev to interface with a computer in order to for high-speed communication for diagnostics or real-time feedback to inform the doctor or patient (Yakovlev, [0236], [0286], and [0296]). The transmission of data from the processing components via the wireless interface to an external computer wherein the computer does further processing necessarily means that data processing is effectively offloaded, since the computer is performing data processing functions. In order to expedite prosecution, it is additionally noted that Ritchey explicitly teaches that information is offloaded over a wired or wireless network to a remote computer system for computer data and information storage and processing in order to reduce demand in 99/18-22.
As to Claim 13, Hollenbeck discloses the handheld scanner according to claim 12, wherein the inlet and outlet are separated by 20 mm or more (106) in 35/14 and Fig. 5A having a thickness of 0.4 mm - 2 mm as described in 22/22-24 that is a small proportion of the length of the tip. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the inlet and outlet at varying lengths relative to the length of the tip in order to fulfill the same function of providing an inlet and outlet for air to circulate with predictable results of varying cooling efficiencies as the distance between the inlet and outlet are varied.
As to Claim 14, Hollenbeck discloses a system comprising the handheld scanner of claim 12, and a removable tip (100) in 32/29 and Figs. 1-3 and 5a-6b configured to be mounted to the scanner.
As to Claim 15, Hollenbeck discloses the system of claim 14, wherein the removable tip comprises:
a framework (104) in 34/6 and (106) in 35/14 and Fig. 3; and
an optical element “optical element (103)” and “mirror” in 34/4-5, wherein the optical element comprises a mirror.
As to Claim 16, Hollenbeck discloses the system of claim 15, wherein the mirror is arranged such that light from the light source is guided towards an object “towards the set of teeth” in 29/2 located outside the tip and light returning from the object is guided towards the image sensor “light returning from the set of teeth is transmitted towards a camera” in 29/3-4.
As to Claim 17, Hollenbeck discloses the system of claim 16, wherein the tip comprises an opening (203) in 34/19 and Fig. 4 at the distal end for mounting the tip to the scanner as shown in Fig. 5a, and an opening of ring (206) in 35/6 and Fig. 4 at the proximal end that such that the light from the light source and the returning light from the object is via the opening at the proximal end.
As to Claim 18, Hollenbeck in views of Ernst and Chilek discloses the handheld scanner according to claim 1, wherein the inlet is configured to draw air in from outside the main body (Chilek, [0042]).
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hollenbeck, Ernst, Chilek, and Gilhuly and in further view of Kaji (U.S. Publication 2003/0163025).
As to Claims 21 and 22, Hollenbeck in views of Ernst and Chilek discloses the handheld scanner according to claims 1 and 12 respectively. Kaji teaches in the analogous field of endoscopy wherein generated heat is transferred to air supply and vented to the atmosphere in [0072] and Figs. 4A-4B. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the cooling system of Hollenbeck in views of Ernst, Chilek, and Gilhuly such that no component of the handheld scanner intervenes air circulating from the outlet to the battery to facilitate venting of the air supply to the atmosphere as taught by Kaji in order to fulfill the same cooling function via air flow with predictable results.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM CHOU/
Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/MICHAEL J CAREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795