DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/Arguments
Applicant's amendment filed on 4/28/2026 has been entered.
Claims 2 and 11-17 were previously cancelled.
Claims 18-20 have been canceled.
Claims 1 and 3-10 have been amended.
Claims 21-25 have been added.
Claims 1, 3-10, and 21-25 are still pending in this application, with claim 1 being independent.
Applicant's amendment overcomes the 10/31/2025 rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101 of claims 1, 3-10, and 18-20 [Remarks p. 6: “Applicant traverses with respect to the remaining claims, and notes that the remaining claims have been amended to remove the limitations cited in the Office Action as reciting an abstract mental process. Applicant further submits that the claims, as amended, include additional elements that integrate any alleged abstract idea into a patent eligible practical application and/or amount to significantly more than any alleged abstract idea.”].
Applicant’s amendment overcomes the 10/31/2025 rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 of claims 1, 3-9, and 18-20. Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claim 1 [Remarks p. 7: “By this response, the claims have been amended to set forth "show[ing] a weld instruction design interface on [a] display screen, the weld instruction design interface providing an interface through which can be setup a series of weld instructions to guide [a] weld operator through a plurality of welding operations .... " The claims have further been amended to set forth "monitor[ing], using sensor data, a weld status of one or more welding operations ... and configure[ing] one or more properties of ... one or more weld instructions shown on the display screen based on the weld status." Applicant submits that Davidson, Fischer, Daniel, and/or Hsu, whether alone or in combination, would not suggest to a person of ordinary skill the obviousness of the above limitations.”] have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument [i.e., at least for example using sensor data].
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“the display screne” in line 4 should be “the display [[screne]]screen”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 22 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“an identify” in line 3 should be “an [[identify]]identity”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 3:
The limitation “the one or more visual properties” in line 6 lacks sufficient antecedent basis, and will be interpreted as “the one or more ” so as to correspond to claim 1, line 23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-10, and 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Davidson (EP 2533931 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Davidson teaches:
A system to generate weld instructions for display to a weld operator [para. 0012: “Embodiments of the present invention provide a data structure for storing weld configuration and sequence data for a welding system. The data structure includes one or more welding "bank" that stores both a preferred configuration (e.g., semi-automatic, automatic, robotic) weld process or program data, and weld sequence data. By structuring the weld program and sequence data with a specific configuration, welding equipment can be easily re-configured to accommodate specific parts, operators, and welds. The data structure therefore provides a welding system which is more flexible than prior art devices, and which allows a single piece of equipment to be easily used for both hand-held and automatic welding processes, minimizing capital investments required in weld cells.”; para. 0036], the system comprising:
a display screen [i.e., a conventional commercially available user display device, e.g., a PC monitor or touch screen as known other devices capable of providing information to and receiving information from a user; see paras. 0011, 0026; para. 0021: “The user interface 32 can include a user display and input devices, such as keys, switches, joysticks, analog or digital potentiometers, or other devices to provide information to and receive information from an operator or user of the welding system 10.”];
a processor [fig. 1: controller 16]; and
a machine readable storage device [fig. 1: memory 18] comprising machine readable instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to:
show a weld instruction design interface on the display screen [e.g., a menu; fig. 1: user interface 32; fig. 2: user input device 101; para. 0040] the weld instruction design interface providing an interface through which can be setup a series of weld instructions to guide the weld operator through a plurality of welding operations [the reference explicitly states that an operator is able to specify a weld sequence (refer to fig. 3 - #120) via a display on the user interface, i.e., wherein a user edits/programs a data structure 105 via input device 101 in fig. 2, at least comprising defining a configuration 100, a weld sequence 103, weld process program 104, weld banks 106, 107, 109, 111 comprising weld files 110, 112, 116; paras. 0036-41];
generate a weld program based on the series of weld instructions setup via the weld instruction design interface [Davidson describes an example use case, wherein a weld program for a part to be processed has 4 different welds, and each weld corresponding to a distinct weld file, the system allowing for a user to further control the level of automation of the process by customizing individual weld banks; para. 0042: “In this example: Nick and Frank are two operators who weld the same part. The part has 4 welds, and therefore 4 weld files. Nick and Frank each have set up their own weld banks to optimize the settings and configurations for their own maximum performance, skill level and preferences. Here, for example, Frank prefers that the trigger program select configuration selection be On, that the trigger hold be activated, and that an arc start error be activated. Nick prefers a more simple semi-automatic configuration. Each operator has selected different weld programs and parameters for welding the part. Although not shown here, as described above, operator limits, arc data monitoring parameters, and CAD drawings could also be associated with the weld banks and/or weld files.”];
execute the weld program [the system can be configured to automatically execute the weld program, e.g., a welding unit comprising a robot; para. 0047]; and
in response to execution of the weld program:
show, on the display screen, one or more weld instructions of the series of weld instructions setup via the weld instruction design interface [i.e., the user interface is capable of displaying associated operator limits, arc data monitoring parameters, and CAD drawings corresponding to each weld file of the welding process, as relevant information to provide the operator or user of the welding system 10 when executing that particular weld file, according to, e.g., the preferences of the operator],
monitor, using sensor data, a weld status of one or more welding operations related to the one or more weld instructions [i.e., conventional sensor feedback is used to monitor relevant welding parameters with regards to maintaining acceptable ranges in a weld file; para. 0031: “The arc data monitoring parameters can, for example, specify which of a plurality of available welding parameters to monitor (volts, wire feed speed, current), provide a range of acceptable values for the monitored parameters, and be used to prompt an alarm (e.g. a visual display such as a light, or an audio alarm) to the weld operator when the acceptable range is exceeded.”; para. 0044: “During operation, the controller 16 receives feedback from a voltage sensor 26, a current sensor 28, and a wire feed speed sensor or tachometer 24, and can also optionally monitor gas flow through a gas flow sensor associated with the gas valve 23, and coolant flow in coolant system 25. The feedback data is used by the controller 16 to control the power supply 12, wire feed system 20, and gas valve 23. Additional feedback data can also be provided from external components. This data can include, for example, travel speed of the torch, proximity sensor input data, clamp closure data, and other data. The controller 16 can also monitor input voltage and current levels from input power lines, and provide feedback data relate to these values, as well as average motor voltage and current values.”], and
configure one or more properties of the one or more weld instructions shown on the display screen based on the weld status [the controller automatically adjusts control of the power supply, wire feed system, and gas valve according to the sensor feedback; para. 0044].
Regarding claim 3, Davidson teaches the system as defined in claim 1.
Davidson further teaches:
wherein the machine readable instructions further cause the processor to:
identify a change in the weld status of the one or more welding operations related to the one or more weld instructions [para. 0030: “…Preferably, default parameters will be stored in memory 18 and associated with specific programs or processes 104, which can then be changed or adjusted by the operator….”]; and
update the one or more visual properties of the one or more weld instructions shown on the display screen based on the change [i.e., arc data monitoring parameters as relevant information displayed to the user; para. 0030: “…Preferably, default parameters will be stored in memory 18 and associated with specific programs or processes 104, which can then be changed or adjusted by the operator. Weld sequence stages can be stored in memory 18 and then correlated with specific weld files. 110, 112,114, 116 and correlated with weld programs 104….”].
Regarding claim 4, Davidson teaches the system as defined in claim 1.
Davidson further teaches:
further comprising one or more sensors configured to capture the sensor data used to monitor the weld status of the one or more welding operations related to the one or more weld instructions [para. 0044: “During operation, the controller 16 receives feedback from a voltage sensor 26, a current sensor 28, and a wire feed speed sensor or tachometer 24, and can also optionally monitor gas flow through a gas flow sensor associated with the gas valve 23, and coolant flow in coolant system 25. The feedback data is used by the controller 16 to control the power supply 12, wire feed system 20, and gas valve 23. Additional feedback data can also be provided from external components. This data can include, for example, travel speed of the torch, proximity sensor input data, clamp closure data, and other data. The controller 16 can also monitor input voltage and current levels from input power lines, and provide feedback data relate to these values, as well as average motor voltage and current values.”].
Regarding claim 5, Davidson teaches the system as defined in claim 1.
Davidson further teaches:
wherein the machine readable instructions further cause the processor to:
identify a change in the weld status of the one or more welding operations related to the one or more weld instructions, the change being from pending or active to failed or defective; and stop the plurality of welding operations in response to the change [Davidson further teaches the controller capable of stopping the operation of a weld file in response to a trigger signal or after a predetermined time period, e.g. in response to detected error conditions; para. 0023: “Common welding process state condition signals input and output through the 1/0 board 17 can include, for example, triggering signals for triggering a welding sequence, contactor on (weld on), gas valve on (purge), wire feed motor foreword (jog), wire feed motor reverse (retract), weld program selection, and touch sense detect. Common error conditions can include, for example, voltage sense error, arc start error, wire stick errors, motor over current errors, coolant flow errors, or gas flow errors. Analog input and output signals, including voltage command and feedback, wire feed command and feedback, and current feedback can also be provided on the 1/0 board 17. Welding state data, error data, feedback and command data can also be transmitted to and from the welding system 10 through communications system 30 discussed above, and by access to a weld parameter library as described above.”; para. 0047: “For example, the configuration data may specify to switch from one weld file to another when a trigger is either pulled or released, or when a predetermined time period is reached. A dual switch or other switching device can also be identified in the configuration data to switch between welds. Although a specific set of configuration parameters are shown here, in general, any parameter that is set once for each weld bank 106 can be associated with the bank configuration identifier table 108.”].
Regarding claim 6, Davidson teaches the system as defined in claim 4.
Davidson further teaches:
wherein the one or more sensors comprise at least one of: a current sensor, a wire feed sensor, a voltage sensor, or a gas flow sensor [para. 0044: “During operation, the controller 16 receives feedback from a voltage sensor 26, a current sensor 28, and a wire feed speed sensor or tachometer 24, and can also optionally monitor gas flow through a gas flow sensor associated with the gas valve 23, and coolant flow in coolant system 25. The feedback data is used by the controller 16 to control the power supply 12, wire feed system 20, and gas valve 23. Additional feedback data can also be provided from external components. This data can include, for example, travel speed of the torch, proximity sensor input data, clamp closure data, and other data. The controller 16 can also monitor input voltage and current levels from input power lines, and provide feedback data relate to these values, as well as average motor voltage and current values.”].
Regarding claim 7, Davidson teaches the system as defined in claim 1.
Davidson further teaches:
wherein the one or more properties comprise one or more visual properties [i.e., the corresponding CAD drawing for each weld file, e.g., for showing at least a location of the weld; para. 0042].
Regarding claim 8, Davidson teaches the system as defined in claim 1.
Davidson further teaches:
wherein the one or more properties comprise at least one of: an object color, a text color, a background color, a text typeface, a text font, a size, a zoom level, or a background image [the examiner is interpreting the CAD drawing as being a background image; para. 0032: “...For example, a CAD file stored with the weld bank 106 could provide a drawing and weld parameter data for a series of welds for a part that is intended to be welded using the weld files stored in the weld bank 106. Each of the series of welds could correspond to a specific weld file…”].
Regarding claim 9, Davidson teaches the system as defined in claim 1.
Davidson further teaches:
wherein the weld instruction design interface further provides the interface through which can be defined an event and a weld instruction that will be shown in response to the event, wherein the one or more weld instructions are shown on the display screne in response to an occurrence of the event [the examiner is interpreting the “predefined weld process” pertaining to different welding situations as being a weld event; para. 0029: “…The weld process or program data 104 can include a predefined weld process type such as spray MIG, pulsed MIG, short circuit MIG, and Regulated Metal Deposition (RMD), and can also include specific weld parameters selected to optimize the weld for selected material types and/or thicknesses, shielding gas, wire and other material parameters…”].
Regarding claim 10, Davidson teaches the system as defined in claim 1.
Davidson further teaches:
wherein each weld instruction of the series of weld instructions includes at least one of: text, audio, an object, an image, a video, or a weld location indicator [the examiner is interpreting the CAD drawing as being an image; para. 0032: “...For example, a CAD file stored with the weld bank 106 could provide a drawing and weld parameter data for a series of welds for a part that is intended to be welded using the weld files stored in the weld bank 106. Each of the series of welds could correspond to a specific weld file…”].
Regarding claim 21, Davidson teaches the system as defined in claim 1.
Davidson further teaches:
wherein the machine readable instructions further cause the processor to configure the one or more properties of the one or more weld instructions shown on the display screen based on a weld cell in which the one or weld instructions are shown [i.e., the voltage sensor, current sensor, wire feed sensor, and gas flow sensor of Davidson as the claimed weld cell; see also para. 0012].
Regarding claim 22, Davidson teaches the system as defined in claim 1.
Davidson further teaches:
wherein the machine readable instructions further cause the processor to configure the one or more properties of the one or more weld instructions shown on the display screen based on an identify of the weld operator [e.g., whether it is Nick or Frank; para. 0042].
Regarding claim 23, Davidson teaches the system as defined in claim 1.
Davidson further teaches:
wherein the machine readable instructions further cause the processor to configure the one or more properties of the one or more weld instructions shown on the display screen based on a shift of the weld operator [para. 0033: “The weld banks 106 and weld files 110 can be named for specific parts, operators, or shifts to simplify locating the appropriate files...”].
Regarding claim 24, Davidson teaches the system as defined in claim 1.
Davidson further teaches:
wherein the machine readable instructions further cause the processor to configure the one or more properties of the one or more weld instructions shown on the display screen based on a weld instruction template of the weld operator [the examiner is interpreting “canned programs” as the claimed weld instruction template, allowing for customized versions to be made therefrom; para. 0029: “The weld programs or processes can be "canned" programs stored in a separate memory location in memory 18, and moved into or correlated with the individual weld banks 106 and weld files 110, 112, 114, and 116.”].
Regarding claim 25, Davidson teaches the system as defined in claim 1.
Davidson further teaches:
wherein the machine readable instructions further cause the processor to configure the one or more properties of the one or more weld instructions shown on the display screen based on one or more hierarchical property values [the examiner is interpreting “default parameters” relative to changed/adjusted values thereof as the claimed one or more hierarchical property values; para. 0030: “Preferably, default parameters will be stored in memory 18 and associated with specific programs or processes 104, which can then be changed or adjusted by the operator. Weld sequence stages can be stored in memory 18 and then correlated with specific weld files. 110, 112,114, 116 and correlated with weld programs 104….”].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THEODORE J EVANGELISTA/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/TIFFANY T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761