Claims 1, 4-16, and 28 are currently pending with claims 2, 3, 17-27 and 29-35 being cancelled.
All of the 103 rejections have been maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-16, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2002/0121716 to Welsh et al. (hereinafter “Welsh”) in view of US 4,444,828 to Anthony et al. (hereinafter “Anthony”), and US 2011/0285048 to Barger et al. (hereinafter “Barger”).
As to claims 1, 5, 6, and 28, Welsh discloses a coextruded multilayer foam-film composite structure consisting of 3 layers: foam/film/foam or film/foam/film (paragraph 15). The foam and film layers are made of polyethylene, polystyrene or ethylene-octene copolymer corresponding to the claimed thermoplastic elastomeric polymer (paragraph 10). The foam layer and the film layer are formed from resin formulations devoid of crosslinking agents (example 1). The composite structure has a thickness of 0.1 to 15 mm (paragraph 19). The composite structure has a thickness of 1.4 mm or 55 mils (example 1). The composite structure has an average gauge variation across the width of the composite structure of less than 6%; and an average density variation across the width of the composite structure of less than 4% (paragraph 20). The average gauge variation across the width of the composite structure encompasses the claimed range.
In the case, where the claimed ranges overlap or touch the range disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257,191 USPQ90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
A weight per unit area is a product of the gauge and density. Hence, the composite structure would have an average variation of a weight per unit area of less than 0.24% (0.06 x 0.04 x100%). This is within the claimed range.
Welsh does not explicitly disclose the composite structure comprising (i) a width of 0.5 to 3.2 m, and (ii) the foam layer made of TPO.
Anthony, however, discloses a multilayer plastic film having a core layer and at least one film layer provided on at least one surface of the core layer (abstract). The core layer comprises low pressure, low density polyethylene wherein the at least one film layer comprises high pressure, low density polyethylene. The multilayer plastic film is a coextruded multilayer film having a width of 108 in or 2.7 m (column 2, lines 25-30 and column 3, lines 25-30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the coextruded multilayer foam-film composite structure disclosed in Welsh having a width disclosed in Anthony because such is one of typical widths of the coextruded multilayer plastic film and Anthony provides necessary details to practice the invention of Welsh.
Barger, however, discloses a coextruded multilayer foam-film composite structure consisting of three layers wherein the foam layer is an exterior layer (paragraph 6, and table 1). Hence, the composite structure consists of a film layer sandwiched between two foam layers. The foam layer is a thermoplastic olefin (TPO) foam layer whereas the film layer is an AFFINITY ethylene/1-octene copolymer layer (table 1). The TPO and the ethylene/1-octene copolymer are thermoplastic elastomeric polymer.
The multilayer foam-film composite structure has an anisotropic cell orientation with an aspect ratio of length to thickness in the range of from 2:1 to 10:1 to enhance toughness, tear resistance and puncture resistance (paragraph 5). The foam layer and the film layer are formed from resin formulations devoid of crosslinking agents (examples 1-18 and paragraph 16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute TPO for the ethylene-octene copolymer for the polymer of the foam layer because the TPO and the ethylene-octene copolymer have been shown in the art to be recognized equivalent polymers for the foam layer of the foam-film composite structure and the selection of these known equivalents to be used as polymers for the foam layer of the foam-film composite structure will be within the level of the ordinary skill in the art.
As to claim 4, Welsh discloses that the foam and film layers are interdigitated without an adhesive layer disposed between adjacent layers (example 1).
As to claims 7, 9 and 15, Welsh discloses that the composite structure has a thickness of 0.1 to 15 mm. In particular, the resulting composite structure has a thickness of 1.4 mm or 55 mils (table 1).
As to claims 8, 10-14 and 16, the combined disclosures of Welsh, Anthony and Barger do not disclose the multilayer foam-film composite structure having a bending stiffness of less than 20 in Taber stiffness configuration according to TAPPI/ANSI T 489 om-15, a tear strength greater than 38 kN/m according to ASTM D624, a maximum puncture greater than 30 N according to ASTM F1306 and an elongation at break greater than 500%.
However, it appears that the resulting coextruded multilayer foam-film composite structure meets all structural limitations and chemistry required by the claims.
The resulting coextruded multilayer foam-film composite structure consisting of 3 layers: foam/film/foam or film/foam/film. The foam and film layers are made of polyethylene, polystyrene or ethylene-octene copolymer corresponding to the claimed thermoplastic elastomeric polymer. The resulting foam layer is TPO foam layer. The foam layer and the film layer are formed from resin formulations devoid of crosslinking agents. The resulting composite structure has a thickness of 0.1 to 15 mm and a width of 2.7 m. In particular, the resulting composite structure has a thickness of 1.4 mm or 55 mils. The resulting composite structure has an average gauge variation across the structure of less than 6% and an average density variation across the structure of less than 4%.
A weight per unit area is a product of the gauge and density. Therefore, the examiner takes the position that the composite structure would have an average variation of the weight per unit area of less than 0.24% (0.06 x 0.04 x100%). That is within the claimed range.
Therefore, the examiner takes the position that the bending stiffness of less than 20 in Taber stiffness configuration according to TAPPI/ANSI T 489 om-15, a tear strength greater than 38 kN/m according to ASTM D624, a maximum puncture greater than 30 N according to ASTM F1306 and an elongation at break greater than 500% would be present as like material has like property.
Response to Arguments
Applicant alleges that there is no reasonable expectation of success in combing the teachings of Welsh, Anthony and Barger to arrive at the claimed multi-layer sheet having the claimed average gauge variation across the web of the sheet of less than 5%, and an average variation of a weight per unit area across the web of the sheet of less than 5%. Applicant’s allegation is simply a statement without any factual evidence to support it.
As previously discussed, Welsh discloses a coextruded multilayer foam-film composite structure consisting of 3 layers: foam/film/foam or film/foam/film (paragraph 15). The foam and film layers are made of polyethylene, polystyrene or ethylene-octene copolymer corresponding to the claimed thermoplastic elastomeric polymer (paragraph 10). The composite structure has an average gauge variation across the width of the composite structure of less than 6%; and an average density variation across the width of the composite structure of less than 4% (paragraph 20). A weight per unit area is a product of the gauge and density. Hence, the composite structure would have an average variation of a weight per unit area of less than 0.24% (0.06 x 0.04 x100%). This is within the claimed range.
Welsh does not explicitly disclose the composite structure comprising (i) a width of 0.5 to 3.2 m, and (ii) the foam layer made of TPO.
Anthony, however, discloses a multilayer plastic film having a core layer and at least one film layer provided on at least one surface of the core layer (abstract). The multilayer plastic film is a coextruded multilayer film having a width of 108 in or 2.7 m (column 2, lines 25-30 and column 3, lines 25-30).
Barger, however, discloses a coextruded multilayer foam-film composite structure consisting of three layers wherein the foam layer is an exterior layer (paragraph 6, and table 1). Hence, the composite structure consists of a film layer sandwiched between two foam layers. The foam layer is a thermoplastic olefin (TPO) foam layer whereas the film layer is an AFFINITY ethylene/1-octene copolymer layer (table 1). The TPO and the ethylene/1-octene copolymer are thermoplastic elastomeric polymer.
As there is a motivation to combine the teachings of Welsh, Anthony and Barger, a prima facie case of obviousness is said to exist. Therefore, the rejection over Welsh in view of Anthony and Barger has been maintained.
Claims 1, 4-16, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Welsh in view of US 2008/0199645 to Julien (hereinafter “Julien”) and Barger.
As to claims 1, 5, 6, and 28, Welsh discloses a coextruded multilayer foam-film composite structure consisting of 3 layers: foam/film/foam or film/foam/film (paragraph 15). The foam and film layers are made of polyethylene, polystyrene or ethylene-octene copolymer corresponding to the claimed thermoplastic elastomeric polymer (paragraph 10). The foam layer and the film layer are formed from resin formulations devoid of crosslinking agents (example 1). The composite structure has a thickness of 0.1 to 15 mm (paragraph 19). The composite structure has a thickness of 1.4 mm or 55 mils (example 1). The composite structure has an average gauge variation across the structure of less than 6% and an average density variation across the structure of less than 4% (paragraph 20). The average gauge variation encompasses the claimed range.
In the case, where the claimed ranges overlap or touch the range disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257,191 USPQ90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
A weight per unit area is a product of the gauge and density. Therefore, the examiner takes the position that the composite structure would have an average variation of the weight per unit area of less than 0.24% (0.06 x 0.04 x100%). This is within the claimed range.
Welsh does not explicitly disclose the composite structure comprising (i) a width of 0.5 to 3.2 m, and (ii) the foam layer made of TPO.
Julien, however, discloses a multilayer plastic film having an outer layer of PVDF copolymer or an alpha-olefin polymer, and a backing layer of a TPU copolymer and a gas barrier layer attached to the side of the backing layer opposite the outer layer (abstract and figure 1). The multilayer plastic film is a coextruded multilayer film having a width up to 60 in or 1.5 m (paragraphs 52, 54, and 111).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use coextruded multilayer foam-film composite structure disclosed in Welsh having a width disclosed in Julien because such is one of typical widths of the coextruded multilayer plastic film and Julien provides necessary details to practice the invention of Welsh.
Barger, however, discloses a coextruded multilayer foam-film composite structure consisting of three layers wherein the foam layer is an exterior layer (paragraph 6, and table 1). Hence, the composite structure consists of a film layer sandwiched between two foam layers. The foam layer is a thermoplastic olefin (TPO) foam layer whereas the film layer is an AFFINITY ethylene/1-octene copolymer layer (table 1). The TPO and the ethylene/1-octene copolymer are thermoplastic elastomeric polymer.
The multilayer foam-film composite structure has an anisotropic cell orientation with an aspect ratio of length to thickness in the range of from 2:1 to 10:1 to enhance toughness, tear resistance and puncture resistance (paragraph 5). The foam layer and the film layer are formed from resin formulations devoid of crosslinking agents (examples 1-18 and paragraph 16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute TPO for the ethylene-octene copolymer for the polymer of the foam layer because the TPO and the ethylene-octene copolymer have been shown in the art to be recognized equivalent polymers for the foam layer of the foam-film composite structure and the selection of these known equivalents to be used as polymers for the foam layer of the foam-film composite structure will be within the level of the ordinary skill in the art.
As to claim 4, Welsh discloses that the foam and film layers are interdigitated without an adhesive layer disposed between adjacent layers (example 1).
As to claims 7, 9 and 15, Welsh discloses that the composite structure has a thickness of 0.1 to 15 mm. In particular, the resulting composite structure has a thickness of 1.4 mm or 55 mils (table 1).
As to claims 8, 10-14, and 16, the combined disclosures of Welsh, Julien and Barger do not disclose the multilayer foam-film composite structure having a bending stiffness of less than 20 in Taber stiffness configuration according to TAPPI/ANSI T 489 om-15, a tear strength greater than 38 kN/m according to ASTM D624, a maximum puncture greater than 30 N according to ASTM F1306 and an elongation at break greater than 500%.
However, it appears that the resulting coextruded multilayer foam-film composite structure meets all structural limitations and chemistry required by the claims.
The resulting coextruded multilayer foam-film composite structure consisting of 3 layers: foam/film/foam or film/foam/film. The foam and film layers are made of polyethylene, polystyrene or ethylene-octene copolymer corresponding to the claimed thermoplastic elastomeric polymer. The resulting foam layer is TPO foam layer. The foam layer and the film layer are formed from resin formulations devoid of crosslinking agents. The resulting composite structure has a thickness of 0.1 to 15 mm and a width of 2.7 m. In particular, the resulting composite structure has a thickness of 1.4 mm or 55 mils. The resulting composite structure has an average gauge variation across the structure of less than 6% and an average density variation across the structure of less than 4%.
A weight per unit area is a product of the gauge and density. Therefore, the examiner takes the position that the composite structure would have an average variation of the weight per unit area of less than 0.24% (0.06 x 0.04 x100%). That is within the claimed range.
Therefore, the examiner takes the position that the bending stiffness of less than 20 in Taber stiffness configuration according to TAPPI/ANSI T 489 om-15, a tear strength greater than 38 kN/m according to ASTM D624, a maximum puncture greater than 30 N according to ASTM F1306 and an elongation at break greater than 500% would be present as like material has like property.
Response to Arguments
Applicant alleges that there is no reasonable expectation of success in combing the teachings of Welsh, Julien and Barger to arrive at the claimed multi-layer sheet having the claimed average gauge variation across the web of the sheet of less than 5%, and an average variation of a weight per unit area across the web of the sheet of less than 5%. Applicant’s allegation is simply a statement without any factual evidence to support it.
As previously discussed, Welsh discloses a coextruded multilayer foam-film composite structure consisting of 3 layers: foam/film/foam or film/foam/film (paragraph 15). The foam and film layers are made of polyethylene, polystyrene or ethylene-octene copolymer corresponding to the claimed thermoplastic elastomeric polymer (paragraph 10). The composite structure has an average gauge variation across the width of the composite structure of less than 6%; and an average density variation across the width of the composite structure of less than 4% (paragraph 20). A weight per unit area is a product of the gauge and density. Hence, the composite structure would have an average variation of a weight per unit area of less than 0.24% (0.06 x 0.04 x100%). This is within the claimed range.
Welsh does not explicitly disclose the composite structure comprising (i) a width of 0.5 to 3.2 m, and (ii) the foam layer made of TPO.
Julien, however, discloses a multilayer plastic film having an outer layer of PVDF copolymer or an alpha-olefin polymer, and a backing layer of a TPU copolymer and a gas barrier layer attached to the side of the backing layer opposite the outer layer (abstract and figure 1). The multilayer plastic film is a coextruded multilayer film having a width up to 60 in or 1.5 m (paragraphs 52, 54, and 111).
Barger, however, discloses a coextruded multilayer foam-film composite structure consisting of three layers wherein the foam layer is an exterior layer (paragraph 6, and table 1). Hence, the composite structure consists of a film layer sandwiched between two foam layers. The foam layer is a thermoplastic olefin (TPO) foam layer whereas the film layer is an AFFINITY ethylene/1-octene copolymer layer (table 1). The TPO and the ethylene/1-octene copolymer are thermoplastic elastomeric polymer.
As there is a motivation to combine the teachings of Welsh, Julien and Barger, a prima facie case of obviousness is said to exist. Therefore, the rejection over Welsh in view of Julien and Barger has been maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Hai Vo/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1788