DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/23/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued that, “The Office relies on Figure 4 and paragraphs [0041] and [0049] of Hofmann as disclosing the transmission of data comprising the code as an indicator of the carriage being at the predetermined location to an external device. (Office Action at pp. 3-4). Figure 4 and paragraphs [0041] and [0049] of Hofmann disclose determining a position of a vehicle relative to a given marker from established marker images in a detection range of a digital camera and outputting an absolute position and transmitting it to further components by a computer-programmable control unit, in which the digital camera is functionally connected to a computing device. However, such disclosure does not reasonably disclose or suggest communications hardware communicatively coupled to the locating system and at least one server that is remote from the rail-mounted lift system, wherein, in response to detecting the identification code, the communications hardware transmits data comprising the identification code as an indicator of the carriage being at the predetermined location to the at least one server, as recited in amended independent claims 1, 10, and 20. That is, Hofmann merely discloses an apparatus that includes a digital camera where an absolute position of a vehicle can be determined from a position of the vehicle and subsequently transmitting the absolute position, but is completely silent about what its further components encompass, and not communications hardware coupled to the locating system and at least one server remote from a rail-mounted lift system, and more particularly, transmitting data to the at least one server that is remote from the rail-mounted lift system, the data including the identification code as an indicator of the carriage being at the predetermined location. As such, Hofmann fails to cure the deficiencies of McBride.”
This is not found persuasive. Hofmann may not teach “communications hardware communicatively coupled to the locating system and at least one server that is remote from the rail-mounted lift system, wherein, in response to detecting the identification code, the communications hardware transmits data comprising the identification code as an indicator of the carriage being at the predetermined location to the at least one server” however, McBride teaches transmitting such information to an external server, as detailed in the rejection below. Thus, the claims remain rejected under the previously presented references as set forth below in more detail.
Applicant also argued, “Further, the Office relies on Figure 4 and col. 1, lines 41-45 and col. 4, lines 14-30 of Lanfer as disclosing data being matched with a corresponding code associated with a stored location via a look-up table, the stored location including a location that corresponds to a fixed position at which the first component or the second component is located. (Office Action at pp. 4- 5). Col. 1, lines 41-45 and col. 4, lines 14-30 of Lanfer disclose formation of a code word on a code carrier by several code marks that represent a direct measurement for a code reading apparatus, as well as scanning of the code carrier when a crane trolley moves lengthwise along a running rail. FIG. 4 of Lanfer discloses generation of code words or numbers with a shift register. However, such disclosure does not reasonably disclose or suggest transmitting data by the communications hardware, the data comprising the identification code to the at least one server, for the at least one server to match the identification code with a location that corresponds to a fixed position, and to determine a subject that is associated with the fixed position and store the fixed position in a record associated with the subject, as further recited in amended independent claims 1, 10, and 20. That is, Lanfer merely discloses transmitting scanning data from the code carrier by an electronic evaluating unit to a central control unit by means of slide contacts and busbars, but is completely silent about its table of FIG. 4 that generates code words or numbers with a shift register, including Q outputs from flipflops (23a-23e), corresponding to matching an identification code with a location that corresponds to a fixed position, as well as determining a subject that is associated with the fixed position and storing the fixed position in a record associated with the subject. As such, Lanfer fails to cure the deficiencies of McBride.””
This is not found persuasive. As outlined in the rejection below, although Lanfer may not teach the claimed limitation, Hoffmann teaches corresponding an identification code with a location that corresponds to a fixed position, and Meissner teaches association a fixed position with a subject. Thus, the claims remain rejected under the previously presented references as set forth below in more detail.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-7, 10-14, 20, 25, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McBride (US Patent Application Publication 20150143627) in view of Hofmann (US Patent Application 20090067673) further in view of Meissner (US Patent Application Publication 20170129503).
Regarding claim 1, McBride teaches in at least Figures 2, 29, 45-47, a rail-mounted lift system (1000, 2000) comprising: a rail (2050) comprising a carriage support channel formed in the rail; a carriage (2100) slidably disposed in the carriage support channel of the rail for relative movement to the rail; a lift unit (2200) coupled to the carriage, the lift unit comprising a motor (2511) that extends and retracts a lifting strap (2505, 8860); and a locating system (8720) comprising a first component (8860) coupled to the carriage or the lift unit (8860 is coupled to the lift unit) and a second component (8725) that is separate from the first component, wherein one of the first component and the second component provides an identification code (8860) and another one of the first component and the second component detects the identification code (8725) when the carriage moves along the rail to bring the first component proximate to the second component and the identification code is within a sensing distance (Paragraphs 194-196 discusses that the transmitter 8860 is of a certain shape with a surface finish (i.e. code) that allows the receiver to track it, and to ascertain its location as it moves) and communications hardware communicatively coupled to the locating system and at least one server that is remote from the rail-mounted lift system (Paragraph 215 describes transmitting data from the various gait analysis systems, including the imaging system described in Paragraphs 194-196, and using them with a remote device or server, including trolley tracking, travelled distance, etc.). McBride does not teach the second component is fixed in a predetermined location on or near the rail, and in response to detecting the identification code, the communications hardware transmits data comprising the identification code as an indicator of the carriage being at the predetermined location to the at least one server, for the at least one server to match the identification code with a stored location that corresponds to a fixed position and to determine a subject that is associated with the fixed position and store the fixed position in a record associated with the subject. Hoffmann teaches the second component is fixed in a predetermined location on or near the rail (Figure 4; 30 is a camera receiver which senses a sensing area on a rail 20, and is mounted on a load arm upon which the load is suspended, thus it is suspended on the lifting unit, and it senses an area between lifting unit 62 and the rail 14), and in response to detecting the identification code (Figure 4; 30 detects the code as the carriage at 15/16 moves along track 14), the communications hardware transmits data comprising the identification code as an indicator of the carriage being at the predetermined location (Paragraphs 41 and 49) to the at least one server (when applied to McBride, the information would be transmitted to a server as described in McBride Paragraph 215) for the at least one server to match the identification code with a stored location that corresponds to a fixed position (Paragraph 41 describes determining an absolute position of a trolley from a specific marker’s known position, thus matching the identification code of a specific marker with a known location of that marker to determine a fixed position). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined McBride (directed to a trolley lift system) and Hoffmann (directed to a trolley locator system) and arrived at a trolley lift system with a locator system. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination "to very precisely determine the position of a vehicle." (Hoffmann Paragraph 18). McBride and Hoffman do not teach the data comprising the identification code is sent to the at least one server for the at least one server to determine a subject that is associated with the fixed position and store the fixed position in a record associated with the subject. Meissner teaches the data comprising the identification code is sent to the at least one server for the at least one server to determine a subject that is associated with the fixed position and store the fixed position in a record associated with the subject (Paragraph 118 describes trolleys transmitting their unique identifiers to fixed position towers, and the system associating (I.e. storing) to a database (i.e. record) those trolleys unique identifiers (i.e. the subjects) with those towers/locations (i.e. the fixed positions)). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined McBride (directed to a trolley lift system) and Hoffmann (directed to a trolley locator system) and Meissner (directed to a trolley locator system with subject identifiers) and arrived at a trolley lift system with a locator system including subject identifiers. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide “a carrier system for efficient material handling transferring containers from one form of transportation to another, and transporting containers from one area to another” (Meissner Paragraph 8).
Regarding claim 2, McBride teaches a hand control unit communicatively coupled to the lift unit, the hand control unit comprising: a display; one or more user interface controls; and a sensing device (Paragraph 160 describes that a remote control device can be used to control the system, such as a smartphone, and a smartphone has a display, controls, and sensors).
Regarding claim 5, McBride teaches the first component is the transmitter and the second component is the receiver (Figure 45, either 8725 or 8860 can be designated the first and second component), wherein the second component is communicatively coupled to network interface hardware that receives the identification code from the second component and transmits the data comprising the identification code to the at least one server remotely located from the network interface hardware (Paragraphs 194-196), and wherein the carriage powers the receiver (McBride Paragraph 63 states "the trolley includes an electronic system having an imaging device." Paragraphs 64, 65, and others discuss that the trolley may be powered through a powered rail. Thus, as part of the trolley, the imaging device would be powered by the power rail as well, and the carriage, i.e. the portion interacting and receiving the charge from the powered rail, thus charges the trolley and imaging device).
Regarding claim 6, McBride teaches the rail further comprises an upper portion, a first support flange, and a second support flange that define the carriage support channel (Figure 43; the first and second support flanges are the portions 7052 and 7051 and the upper portion is where 7050 is marked); and the carriage comprises: a carriage body (Figure 7; 7065, as shown), and at least one pair of support wheels (Figure7; 7066) rotatably coupled to the carriage body, the at least one paid of support wheels slidably engaged with the first support flange and the second support flange.
Regarding claim 7, McBride teaches the rail further comprises a first sidewall (Figure 43; the portion of 7050 which is behind 7052) integrally formed with the upper portion (Figure 43, the entire support channel is integrally formed, as shown), and a second sidewall (Figure 43; the side of 7051 which is behind 7052, where 7051 is actually marked in the figure (as opposed to where 7050 is marked)) integrally formed with the upper portion and opposed to the first sidewall, the first sidewall, the second sidewall and the upper portion defining the carriage support channel, wherein: the first support flange extends into the carriage support channel from the first sidewall (Figure 43, 7051 left portion extends from 7051 right portion (divided by 7052)); and the second support flange extends into the carriage support channel from the second sidewall (7052 extends from the right side of 7050).
Regarding claim 10, McBride teaches a system comprising: a server computing device (Paragraph 215); and a rail-mounted lift system (1000, 2000) remote from the server computing device, the rail mounted lift system comprising: a rail (2050) comprising a carriage support channel formed in the rail, at least one assembly comprising a carriage (2100) slidably disposed in the carriage support channel of the rail for relative movement to the rail, the at least one assembly communicatively coupled to the server computing device (Paragraph 215), and a locating system (8720) comprising a first component coupled to the carriage (8725, 8860) and a second component (8725, 8860) that is separate from the first component, wherein one of the first component and the second component provides an identification code (8860) code and another one of the first component and the second component (8725) detects the identification code when the carriage moves along the rail to bring the first component proximate to the second component (Paragraphs 194-196 discusses that the transmitter 8860 is of a certain shape with a surface finish (i.e. code) that allows the receiver to track it, and to ascertain its location as it moves) and the identification code is within sensing distance, and communications hardware communicatively coupled to the locating system and the server computing device that is remote from the rail mounted lift system (Paragraph 215 describes transmitting data from the various gait analysis systems, including the imaging system described in Paragraphs 194-196, and using them with a remote device or server, including trolley tracking, travelled distance, etc.). McBride does not teach the second component is fixed in a predetermined location on or near the rail, and in response to detecting the identification code, the communications hardware transmits data comprising the identification code as an indicator of the at least one assembly being at the predetermined location to server computing device, for the server computing device to match the identification code with a location that corresponds to a fixed position and to determine a subject that is associated with the fixed position and store the fixed position in a record associated with the subject. Hoffmann teaches the second component is fixed in a predetermined location on or near the rail (Figure 4; 30 is a camera receiver which senses a sensing area on a rail 20, and is mounted on a load arm upon which the load is suspended, thus it is suspended on the lifting unit, and it senses an area between lifting unit 62 and the rail 14), and in response to detecting the identification code (Figure 4; 30 detects the code as the carriage at 15/16 moves along track 14), the communications hardware transmits data comprising the identification code as an indicator of the assembly being at the predetermined location (Paragraphs 41 and 49) to the server computing device (when applied to McBride, the information would be transmitted to a server as described in McBride Paragraph 215) for the server computer device to match the identification code with a location that corresponds to a fixed position (Paragraph 41 describes determining an absolute position of a trolley from a specific marker’s known position, thus matching the identification code of a specific marker with a known location of that marker to determine a fixed position). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined McBride (directed to a trolley lift system) and Hoffmann (directed to a trolley locator system) and arrived at a trolley lift system with a locator system. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination "to very precisely determine the position of a vehicle." (Hoffmann Paragraph 18). McBride and Hoffman do not teach the data comprising the identification code is sent to the server computing device for the server computing device to determine a subject that is associated with the fixed position and store the fixed position in a record associated with the subject.. Meissner teaches the data comprising the identification code is sent to the server computing device for the server computing device to determine a subject that is associated with the fixed position and store the fixed position in a record associated with the subject (Paragraph 118 describes trolleys transmitting their unique identifiers to fixed position towers, and the system associating (I.e. storing) to a database (i.e. record) those trolleys unique identifiers (i.e. the subjects) with those towers/locations (i.e. the fixed positions)). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined McBride (directed to a trolley lift system) and Hoffmann (directed to a trolley locator system) and Meissner (directed to a trolley locator system with subject identifiers) and arrived at a trolley lift system with a locator system including subject identifiers. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide “a carrier system for efficient material handling transferring containers from one form of transportation to another, and transporting containers from one area to another” (Meissner Paragraph 8).
Regarding claim 11, McBride teaches the at least one assembly further comprises network interface hardware that transmits the data comprising the identification code and an identification of the at least one assembly to the server computing device (Paragraphs 215-216 describe sending data, which would include the data including the location code for the transmitter 8860, through signal to a remote device, which would necessarily also identify the assembly as the incoming data) when the carriage moves along the rail to bring the first component proximate to the second component at the predetermined location and wherein the carriage powers the first component (McBride Paragraph 63 states "the trolley includes an electronic system having an imaging device." Paragraphs 64, 65, and others discuss that the trolley may be powered through a powered rail. Thus, as part of the trolley, the imaging device would be powered by the power rail as well, and the carriage, i.e. the portion interacting and receiving the charge from the powered rail, thus charges the trolley and imaging device).
Regarding claim 12, McBride teaches the server computing device determines the predetermined location of the at least one assembly based on the data received from the network interface hardware (Paragraph 215 and Paragraphs 194-196).
Regarding claim 13, McBride teaches the at least one assembly further comprises: a lift unit (2200) coupled to the carriage; and a hand control unit communicatively coupled to the lift unit, the hand control unit comprising: a display; one or more user interface controls; and a sensing device (Paragraph 160 describes that a remote control device can be used to control the system, such as a smartphone, and a smartphone has a display, controls, and sensors), wherein data relating to at least one of the subject and a user is generated based on one or more inputs received from at least one of the one or more user interface controls and the sensing device (Paragraph 216).
Regarding claim 14, McBride teaches the at least one assembly further comprises network interface hardware communicatively coupled to the hand control unit, the network interface hardware transmitting the data to the server computing device (Paragraph 216 "In other instances, the electric stimulator can send data associated with the patient's gait to the patient support system and the patient support system (e.g., a processor, module, or compute device included therein) can aggregate the data associated with the patient support system and the data associated with the electric stimulator and, in turn, can send an aggregated data set to the electronic device;" therefore the patient support system can have its own server computing device which can send and receive data with the electronic device (hand control unit)).
Regarding claim 20, McBride teaches a kit of parts for retrofitting a rail-mounted lift system for automatically determining a location of an assembly along a length of a rail, the kit of parts comprising: a locating system (8720) comprising a first component (8725, 8860) and a second component (8725, 8860), wherein one of the first component and the second component (8860) provides an identification code corresponding to a predetermined location; network interface hardware communicatively coupled to one or more of the first component and the second component ((Paragraph 196 "the imaging device 8725 can capture one or more images and/or video streams and can send a signal representing data associated with the one or more images and/or video streams to the processor and/or to a module (e.g., a processing module) included in the electronic system" thus the imaging device includes network interface hardware to send the data to the module and the server computing device (the module) is connected to the network interface hardware)); a server computing device communicatively coupled to the network interface hardware and that is remote from the rail mounted lift system (Paragraph 215 describes transmitting data from the various gait analysis systems, including the imaging system described in Paragraphs 194-196, and using them with a remote device or server, including trolley tracking, travelled distance, etc.); and instructions for coupling the first component to a carriage or a lift unit of the rail- mounted lift system, coupling the second component on or near a rail of the rail-mounted lift system (Figure 45 shows the first component 8725 coupled to a rail and the first component coupled to the carriage/lift unit (8860), and thus when assembled, there would necessarily be instructions to the assembly person or machine to assemble the system in this way), and positioning the first component and the second component such that, when the first component and the second component are moved in proximity to one another due to movement of the carriage along the rail such that the identification code is within a sensing distance that extends from the carriage or the lift unit, the other of the first component and the second component detects the identification code (Paragraphs 194-196 discusses that the transmitter 8860 is of a certain shape with a surface finish (i.e. code) that allows the receiver to track it, and to ascertain its location as it moves). McBride does not teach the second component is fixed in a predetermined location on or near the rail, wherein in response to detecting the identification code, the network interface hardware transmits data comprising the identification code as an indicator of the carriage or lift unit being at the predetermined location to the server computing device for the server computing device to match the identification code with a location that corresponds to a fixed position and to determine a subject that is associated with the fixed position and store the fixed position in a record associated with the subject. Hoffmann teaches the second component is fixed in a predetermined location on or near the rail (Figure 4; 30 is a camera receiver which senses a sensing area on a rail 20, and is mounted on a load arm upon which the load is suspended, thus it is suspended on the lifting unit, and it senses an area between lifting unit 62 and the rail 14), and in response to detecting the identification code (Figure 4; 30 detects the code as the carriage at 15/16 moves along track 14), the network interface hardware transmits data comprising the identification code as an indicator of the carriage or lift unit being at the predetermined location (Paragraphs 41 and 49) to the server computing device (when applied to McBride, the information would be transmitted to a server as described in McBride Paragraph 215) for the server computing device to match the identification code with a location that corresponds to a fixed position (Paragraph 41 describes determining an absolute position of a trolley from a specific marker’s known position, thus matching the identification code of a specific marker with a known location of that marker to determine a fixed position). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined McBride (directed to a trolley lift system) and Hoffmann (directed to a trolley locator system) and arrived at a trolley lift system with a locator system. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination "to very precisely determine the position of a vehicle." (Hoffmann Paragraph 18). McBride and Hoffman do not teach the data comprising the identification code is sent to the server computing device for the server computing device to determine a subject that is associated with the fixed position and store the fixed position in a record associated with the subject.. Meissner teaches the data comprising the identification code is sent to the server computing device for the server computing device to determine a subject that is associated with the fixed position and store the fixed position in a record associated with the subject (Paragraph 118 describes trolleys transmitting their unique identifiers to fixed position towers, and the system associating (I.e. storing) to a database (i.e. record) those trolleys unique identifiers (i.e. the subjects) with those towers/locations (i.e. the fixed positions)). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined McBride (directed to a trolley lift system) and Hoffmann (directed to a trolley locator system) and Meissner (directed to a trolley locator system with subject identifiers) and arrived at a trolley lift system with a locator system including subject identifiers. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide “a carrier system for efficient material handling transferring containers from one form of transportation to another, and transporting containers from one area to another” (Meissner Paragraph 8).
Regarding claim 25, McBride teaches the at least one server (Paragraph 215). McBride does not teach wherein the at least one server is configured to store the fixed position in the record associating the subject within one or more locations in a facility. Meissner teaches the at least one server is configured to store the fixed position in the record associating the subject within one or more locations in a facility (Paragraph 118 describes trolleys transmitting their unique identifiers to fixed position towers, and the system associating (I.e. storing) to a database (i.e. record) those trolleys unique identifiers (i.e. the subjects) with those towers/locations (i.e. the fixed positions)). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined McBride (directed to a trolley lift system) and Hoffmann (directed to a trolley locator system) and Meissner (directed to a trolley locator system with subject identifiers) and arrived at a trolley lift system with a locator system including subject identifiers. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide “a carrier system for efficient material handling transferring containers from one form of transportation to another, and transporting containers from one area to another” (Meissner Paragraph 8).
Regarding claim 26, McBride does not teach in response to matching the identification code, the at least one server is further configured to discern a first subject from a plurality of subjects located in a plurality of spaces of the one or more locations in the facility that is lifted by a first lift unit from a plurality of lift units in the plurality of spaces. Hoffmann teaches matching the identification code (Figure 4; 30 detects the code as the carriage at 15/16 moves along track 14). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined McBride (directed to a trolley lift system) and Hoffmann (directed to a trolley locator system) and arrived at a trolley lift system with a locator system. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination "to very precisely determine the position of a vehicle." (Hoffmann Paragraph 18). McBride and Hoffman do not teach the at least one server is further configured to discern a first subject from a plurality of subjects located in a plurality of spaces of the one or more locations in the facility that is lifted by a first lift unit from a plurality of lift units in the plurality of spaces. Meissner teaches the at least one server is further configured to discern a first subject from a plurality of subjects located in a plurality of spaces of the one or more locations in the facility that is lifted by a first lift unit from a plurality of lift units in the plurality of spaces (Paragraph 118 describes each subject presenting a unique identifier to be discerned from a plurality of other subject in a plurality of other locations (tower or station scanners) in the facility, which when applied to McBride would be lift units). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined McBride (directed to a trolley lift system) and Hoffmann (directed to a trolley locator system) and Meissner (directed to a trolley locator system with subject identifiers) and arrived at a trolley lift system with a locator system including subject identifiers. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide “a carrier system for efficient material handling transferring containers from one form of transportation to another, and transporting containers from one area to another” (Meissner Paragraph 8).
Claim 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McBride (US Patent Application Publication 20150143627) in view of Hofmann (US Patent Application 20090067673) further in view of Meissner (US Patent Application Publication 20170129503) in view of Mullin (US Patent Application Publication 20190006030).
Regarding claim 4, McBride teaches wherein one of the first component and the second component is a transmitter (Figure 48, 8860) and another one of the first component and the second component is a receiver (Figure 48; 8725), and the receiver is an imaging device (Figure 45, 8725), an IR receiver, an RFID detector, or a wireless receiver. McBride, as modified, does not teach the transmitter is a barcode, a OR code, an infrared (IR) beacon, a radio frequency identification (RFID) emitter or tag, or a wireless transmitter. Mullin teaches the transmitter is a barcode, a QR code, an infrared (IR) beacon, a radio frequency identification (RFID) emitter or tag (Abstract, describes a system for identifying the location of a target using RFID tags and RFID readers to read the tags and determine location), or a wireless transmitter. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined McBride (directed to a trolley lift system) and Hoffmann (directed to a trolley locator system) and Meissner (directed to a trolley locator system with subject identifiers) and Mullin (directed to an RFID tag transmitter) and arrived at a trolley lift system with a locator system including subject identifiers and RFID transmitters. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to allow for “evaluating workflow in a healthcare facility” (Mullin Paragraph 14).
Claims 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McBride (US Patent Application Publication 20150143627) in view of Hofmann (US Patent Application 20090067673) further in view of Meissner (US Patent Application Publication 20170129503) in view of Haider (US Patent Application Publication 20150237222).
Regarding claim 16, McBride, as modified, does not teach the server computing device authenticates the user to operate the at least one assembly. Haider teaches the server computing device authenticates the user to operate the at least one assembly (Paragraphs 15- 16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of McBride to include user authentication as taught or suggested by Haider in order to "avoid mishandling or faulty examination" of patients using the device (Paragraph 15 of Haider).
Regarding claim 17, McBride, as modified, does not teach the server computing device determines that the subject is matched to one or more components of the at least one assembly. Haider teaches the server computing device determines that the subject is matched to one or more components of the at least one assembly (Paragraphs 15-16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of McBride to include user authentication as taught or suggested by Haider in order "to ensure that the correct patient is examined or operated on and also that the correct examination or operation is performed" (Paragraph 15 of Haider).
Claim 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McBride (US Patent Application Publication 20150143627) in view of Hofmann (US Patent Application 20090067673) further in view of Meissner (US Patent Application Publication 20170129503) in view of Chang (US Patent Application Publication 20160051155).
Regarding claim 18, McBride, as modified, does not teach a barcode that is readable by the sensing device provides one or more programming instructions for communicatively coupling the network interface hardware to the server computing device. Chang teaches a barcode that is readable by the sensing device provides one or more programming instructions for communicatively coupling the network interface hardware to the server computing device (Paragraph 18 describes linking a smart phone to an electronic device system using a barcode). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of McBride to include a barcode system to connect the remote controller to the main system as taught or suggested by Chang in order to allow for easy connection of multiple remote controllers. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined McBride (directed to a trolley lift system) and Hoffmann (directed to a trolley locator system) and Meissner (directed to a trolley locator system with subject identifiers) and Chang (directed to a barcode instruction control) and arrived at a trolley lift system with a locator system including subject identifiers and barcode instruction control. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to “avoid the inaccuracy of manual transcription” (Chang Paragraph 6).
Claim 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McBride (US Patent Application Publication 20150143627) in view of Hofmann (US Patent Application 20090067673) further in view of Meissner (US Patent Application Publication 20170129503) in view of Glukhovsky (US Patent Application Publication 20180071159).
Regarding claim 19, McBride does not teach the at least one assembly comprises a plurality of assemblies, each one of the plurality of assemblies is communicatively coupled to the server computing device; and the locating system comprises a plurality of first components, each one of the plurality of first components coupled to each one of the plurality of assemblies. Glukhovsky teaches the at least one assembly comprises a plurality of assemblies (Figure 8; 5100A and 51008), each one of the plurality of assemblies is communicatively coupled to the server computing device (Paragraph 41 describes the controller/processor device connected to the various components of the system to control it, which would include both trolleys). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of McBride to include a second trolley as taught or suggested by Glukhovsky in order to allow additional support for a user. Glukhovsky does not teach the locating system comprises a plurality of first components, each one of the plurality of first components coupled to each one of the plurality of assemblies, however McBride teaches a locating system on the first trolley and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to duplicate that system on additional trolleys in order to track their locations and avoid collisions and allow for effective use of the trolleys together, and duplicating the components of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McBride (US Patent Application Publication 20150143627) in view of Hofmann (US Patent Application 20090067673) further in view of Meissner (US Patent Application Publication 20170129503) in view of Bergenstrale (US Patent Application Publication 20120000876).
Regarding claim 27, McBride does not teach the rail further comprises a conductor track electrically coupled to a power supply, and the carriage comprises one or more conductive rollers that engage with the conductor track to electrically couple the lift unit to the power supply. Bergenstrale teaches the rail further comprises a conductor track electrically coupled to a power supply, and the carriage comprises one or more conductive rollers that engage with the conductor track to electrically couple the lift unit to the power supply (Paragraph 7). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined McBride (directed to a trolley lift system) and Hoffmann (directed to a trolley locator system) and Meissner (directed to a trolley locator system with subject identifiers) and Bergenstrale (directed to a charging rail and rollers) and arrived at a trolley lift system with a locator system including subject identifiers and a charging rail and rollers. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination “for continuously powering and/or charging a lift unit as the lift unit is traversed across a rail” (Bergenstrale Paragraph 4).
Conclusion
/MORGAN J MCCLURE/Examiner, Art Unit 3673