DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8, 9, 19, 21, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Trombetta et al. (US 2021/0078793) (hereinafter Trombetta).
Regarding Claim 1
Trombetta teaches a recyclable container structure (below – Fig. 12 and 13) comprising: a polymeric rigid tray (12) comprising a bottom wall and at least one upwardly extending sidewall, wherein the at least one sidewall terminates in a flange (38) and wherein the flange comprises at least one peelable zone (56) and at least one permanently affixed zone (58); a flexible polymeric film lidding (18), wherein the lidding is permanently affixed to the flange in the permanently affixed zone, and wherein the flexible polymeric lidding is peelably affixed to the flange in the peelable zone, wherein the flexible polymeric film lidding is heat sealable, and wherein the flexible polymeric film lidding is heat sealed directly to the polymeric rigid tray in the permanently affixed zone and in the peelable zone; and wherein the heat or pressure applied within the peelable zone heat seal is less than the heat or pressure applied within the permanently adhered zone (Fig. 17b); and wherein the polymeric rigid tray and the polymeric film lidding comprise polypropylene (Paragraphs [0049], [0051], [0063], and [0073]-[0076]).
Regarding Claim 8
Trombetta teaches the polymeric film lidding is inherently sealable to the polymeric rigid tray, inasmuch as Applicant teaches.
Regarding Claim 9
Trombetta teaches the flange (38) has a top surface and the permanently affixed zone (58) and the peelable zone (56) are located on the top surface of the flange.
Regarding Claim 19
Trombetta teaches the lidding additionally comprises a thumb tab (52).
Regarding Claim 21
Trombetta teaches the peelable zone (56) comprises a first heat seal formed at a first temperature (T1) and a first pressure, and the permanently affixed zone (58) comprises a second heat seal formed at a second temperature (T2) and a second pressure, wherein the first temperature and the second temperature are different.
Regarding Claim 22
Trombetta teaches the first temperature is less than the second temperature.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-9, 19, 21, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ward (US 3398876) in view of Trombetta et al. (US 2021/0078793) (hereinafter Trombetta).
Regarding Claim 1
Ward teaches a recyclable container structure (below – Fig. 1, 5, and 6) comprising: a polymeric rigid tray comprising a bottom wall (26) and at least one upwardly extending sidewall (21-24), wherein the at least one sidewall terminates in a flange (31-34) and wherein the flange comprises at least one peelable zone (31/33/34) and at least one permanently affixed zone (32); a flexible polymeric film lidding (36), wherein the lidding is permanently affixed to the flange in the permanently affixed zone, and wherein the flexible polymeric lidding is peelably affixed to the flange in the peelable zone, wherein the flexible polymeric film lidding is heat sealable, and wherein the flexible polymeric film lidding is heat sealed directly to the polymeric rigid tray in the permanently affixed zone and in the peelable zone; and wherein the polymeric rigid tray and the polymeric film lidding comprise thermoplastic material (Col. 1, Ln. 71 – Col. 2, Ln. 21; and Col. 2, Ln. 35-59).
Ward does not specifically teach the heat or pressure applied within the peelable zone heat seal is less than the heat or pressure applied within the permanently adhered zone, or the polymeric rigid tray and the polymeric film lidding comprise polypropylene.
Trombetta teaches a recyclable container structure (Fig. 12 and 13) comprising: a polymeric rigid tray (12) comprising a bottom wall and at least one upwardly extending sidewall, wherein the at least one sidewall terminates in a flange (38) and wherein the flange comprises at least one peelable zone (56) and at least one permanently affixed zone (58); a flexible polymeric film lidding (18), wherein the lidding is permanently affixed to the flange in the permanently affixed zone, and wherein the flexible polymeric lidding is peelably affixed to the flange in the peelable zone, wherein the flexible polymeric film lidding is heat sealable, and wherein the flexible polymeric film lidding is heat sealed directly to the polymeric rigid tray in the permanently affixed zone and in the peelable zone; and wherein the heat or pressure applied within the peelable zone heat seal is less than the heat or pressure applied within the permanently adhered zone (Fig. 17b); and wherein the polymeric rigid tray and the polymeric film lidding comprise polypropylene (Paragraphs [0049], [0051], [0063], and [0073]-[0076]).
Ward and Trombetta are analogous inventions in the field of container structures having peelable lidding attached by heat welding. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the thermoplastic material of the rigid tray and lidding with the teachings of the rigid tray and lidding being polyethylene, as polyethylene is a known thermoplastic used in making trays and lids as shown by Trombetta. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
It would have further been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the polyethylene container of Ward in Trombetta with applying the technique of the heat or pressure applied within the peelable zone heat seal being less than the heat or pressure applied within the permanently adhered zone as taught by Trombetta to the polyethylene container of Ward for the predictable result of heat sealing the tray to the lidding with a peelable and permanently affixed zone. See MPEP 2143(I)(D).
Regarding Claim 6
Ward in view of Trombetta (hereinafter “modified Ward”) teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Ward further teaches the tray comprises four sidewalls (21-24) and the permanently affixed zone (32) of the flange is aligned with one of the four sidewalls (22), as can be seen in the figures above.
Regarding Claim 7
Modified Ward teaches all the limitations of claim 6 as stated above. Ward further teaches the peelable zone (31/33/34) is aligned with three of the four sidewalls (21/23/24), as can be seen in the figures above.
Regarding Claim 8
Modified Ward teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Modified Ward further teaches the polymeric film lidding (36) is inherently sealable to the polymeric rigid tray (Col. 2, Ln. 19-21).
Regarding Claim 9
Modified Ward teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Ward further teaches the flange (31-34) has a top surface and the permanently affixed zone (32) and the peelable zone (31/33/34) are located on the top surface of the flange, as can be seen in the figures above.
Regarding Claim 19
Modified Ward teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Ward further teaches the lidding additionally comprises a thumb tab (34b).
Regarding Claim 21
Modified Ward teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Trombetta teaches the peelable zone (56) comprises a first heat seal formed at a first temperature (T1) and a first pressure, and the permanently affixed zone (58) comprises a second heat seal formed at a second temperature (T2) and a second pressure, wherein the first temperature and the second temperature are different.
Regarding Claim 22
Modified Ward teaches all the limitations of claim 21 as stated above. Trombetta teaches the first temperature is less than the second temperature.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference as applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JENNIFER CASTRIOTTA/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/DON M ANDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733