DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks
This communication is considered fully responsive to the amendment filed on 01/16/2026.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7 are pending and are examined in this office action.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7 have been amended.
No new claim has been added and previously claims 2, 4, 6, 8-9 had been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 01/16/2026, with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection. The Examiner found features modified to claims, i.e claim 1 as “1. (Currently Amended) A method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
receiving a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message, wherein the RRC message comprises configuration information for a sidelink discovery message, wherein the configuration information comprises first information indicating a time domain resource in which the sidelink discovery message is transmitted, and second information indicating a scrambling parameter;
receiving downlink control information carrying third information identifying at least one resource to be used for transmission of the sidelink discovery message; and
transmitting, to another UE,the sidelink discovery message based on the first information, the second information, and the third information.”
that have changed the scope of the invention, Therefore, Applicant’s remarks regarding rejection under 35 U.S.C 103 for the claims are moot. Applicant's remarks are considered as forward looking statement for the newly reconstructed claims.
In view of the applicant’s amendment to the claims, the examiner has clarified and remapped the rejection to the argued claim limitations in details, using the prior art of record in the current prosecution of the claims as well a new prior art. See LEE et al. (US 20150327046 A1; hereinafter as “LEE”) in view of LEE et al. (US 20140342747 A1; hereinafter as “LEE2747”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5,7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over of LEE et al. (US 20150327046 A1; hereinafter as “LEE”) in view of LEE et al. (US 20140342747 A1; hereinafter as “LEE2747”)
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to LEE unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claim 5, LEE teaches a user equipment (UE) (see fig. 8: UE1, Fig. 11-13: UE1 ]), the comprising:
at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to process the instructions (UE must have a memory and processor, also see fig. 14: processor and memory ]) to:
receiving a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message (aforesaid UE1 receives D2D Discovery Request from eNB/EUTRAN , see fig. 7-8, Fig. 11-13 ; aforesaid Base Station sends “D2D Discovery Request“ to UE1 using upper layer RRC signaling [0082,[0102], “base station transmits a D2D discovery request message to UE 1 (S803). The D2D discovery request message may include D2D configuration information for transmission and reception of a discovery signal. In addition, the D2D configuration information may be transmitted through higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling).”: [0087]);
wherein the RRC message comprises configuration information for a sidelink discovery message (aforesaid high layer signaling/RRC signaling includes D2D configuration for D2D discovery : [0087] “ D2D configuration information may be transmitted through higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling). In this case, transmitting the discovery request message as in step S1103 may be omitted.”: [0102];: [0103]]
wherein the configuration information comprises first information indicating a time domain resource in which the sidelink discovery message is transmitted, and ( aforesaid D2D configuration includes, inter alia, time domain resource (==first information )and frequency domain resource for D2D discovery: .”: [0118] ]; NOTE: crossed/missed limitation will be addressed by another reference below);
receiving downlink control information (==DCI or PDCCH ) carrying third information identifying at least one resource to be used for transmission of the sidelink discovery message (aforesaid UE receives DCI/PDCCH from eNB/Base Station which includes D2D UE Identification (ID) for using in D2D discovery : [0065]-[0069]; “ UE 1 transmits the discovery signal through the resource allocated by the base station in step S1103.”: [0104] );
transmitting, to another UE (==UE2 ), the sidelink discovery message based on the first information, and the third information (see fig. 11: UE sends/transmit to UE2 DISCVORY SIGNAL (==sidelink discovery message) using resource and D2d ID: [0104]-[0106] ) ( NOTE: crossed/missed limitation will be addressed by another reference below).
While LEE teaches “wherein the RRC message comprises configuration information for a sidelink discovery message, wherein the configuration information comprises first information indicating a time domain resource in which the sidelink discovery message is transmitted”,
LEE does not expressively teach:
wherein the RRC message comprises configuration .. indicating .. and second information indicating a scrambling parameter;
transmitting, to another UE,the sidelink discovery message based on … the second information
LEE2747, in the same field of endeavor, discloses;
wherein the RRC message comprises configuration .. indicating .. and second information indicating a scrambling parameter (in Peer to peer communication, one UE (==UE11 in Fig. 7 ) receives RRC connection from eNB using PDCCH in advance which includes a scramming ID or D2D-RNTI information for decoding : [0134]; “D2D communication setup response message may further include information on a search space and a scrambling identifier of a control channel for D2D communication.”: [0014]; see fig. 7 where UE 11 receives “D2D Discovery Response” from eNodeB to be used for D2D communication for UE11 to Peer UE 61 sidelink/D2D communication : [0023]; “ UE 11 may be configured to signal a value indicating the D2D period of the D2D setup response message via radio resource control (RRC) signaling. The UE 11 switches the frequency thereof to a frequency specified in a specific period (time or interval) according to new setup”: [0125] );
transmitting, to another UE (see fig. 7 : Peer UE 61 ) ,the sidelink discovery message based on … the second information (UE11 sends to Peer UE61 D2D based on scrambling ID information : “ peer UE 61 may acquire related information in a process of being connected to the peer eNodeB (the eNodeB which serves the peer UE) (not shown) or via RRC connection”: [0134]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of LEE to include the above recited limitations as taught by LEE. The suggestion/motivation would be to determine whether or not to switch an operating frequency band of the first UE from a first frequency band to a second frequency band based on the resource region information, and performing the D2D communication with the second UE in the first frequency band or the second frequency band according to the result of determination, wherein one of the first frequency band or the second frequency band is used for transmission for the D2D communication and another is used for reception for the D2D communication.. (LEE; [007]-0063]).
Regarding claim 1, LEE teaches A method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: receiving a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message, wherein the RRC message comprises configuration information for a sidelink discovery message, wherein the configuration information comprises first information indicating a time domain resource in which the sidelink discovery message is transmitted, and second information indicating a scrambling parameter; receiving downlink control information carrying third information identifying at least one resource to be used for transmission of the sidelink discovery message; and transmitting, to another UE,the sidelink discovery message based on the first information, the second information, and the third information (this claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5).
Regarding claim 7, LEE teaches A base station (see fig. 7-8, Fig. 11-13 BS/EUTRAN) for controlling communication between a user equipment (UE) (==UE1 in fig. 7-8, Fig. 11-13 ) and another UE ( ==UE2 in fig. 7-8m Fug. 11-13 ), the base station comprising:
at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to process the instructions to (BS/eNB/EUTRAN must have a memory and processor, also see fig. 14: processor and memory ])
transmit, to the UE (==UE1), a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message aforesaid UE1 receives D2D Discovery Request from eNB/EUTRAN , see fig. 7-8, Fig. 11-13 ; aforesaid Base Station sends “D2D Discovery Request“ UE1 using upper layer RRC signaling [0082,[0102], “base station transmits a D2D discovery request message to UE 1 (S803). The D2D discovery request message may include D2D configuration information for transmission and reception of a discovery signal. In addition, the D2D configuration information may be transmitted through higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling).”: [0087
wherein the RRC message comprises configuration information for a sidelink discovery message (aforesaid high layer signaling/RRC signaling includes D2D configuration for D2D discovery : [0087] “ D2D configuration information may be transmitted through higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling). In this case, transmitting the discovery request message as in step S1103 may be omitted.”: [0102];: [0103]]
wherein the configuration information comprises first information indicating a time domain resource in which the sidelink discovery message is transmitted ( aforesaid D2D configuration includes, inter alia, time domain resource (==first information )and frequency domain resource for D2D discovery: .”: [0118] ]; NOTE: crossed/missed limitation will be addressed by another reference below);NOTE: crossed/missed limitation will be addressed by another reference below);
transmit downlink control information carrying third information identifying at least one resource to be used for transmission of the sidelink discovery (aforesaid UE receives DCI/PDCCH from eNB/Base Station which D2D UE Identification (ID) for using in D2D discovery : [0065]-[0069]; “ UE 1 transmits the discovery signal through the resource allocated by the base station in step S1103.”: [0104]) and
wherein the sidelink discovery message is transmitted, from the UE to the another UE (==UE2) , based on the first information, and the third information
(see fig. 11: UE sends/transmit to UE2 DISCVORY SIGNAL (==sidelink discovery message) using resource and D2d ID: [0104]-[0106] ) ( NOTE: crossed/missed limitation will be addressed by another reference below).
while monitoring the discovery signal through the allocated resource (S713).”: [0082] ; ( NOTE: crossed/missed limitation will be addressed by another reference below).
LEE does not expressively teach:
wherein the configuration information comprises first information indicating…second information indicating a scrambling parameter
wherein the sidelink discovery message is transmitted, from the UE to the another UE , based on the first information, the second information.
LEE2747 , in the same field of endeavor, discloses;
wherein the configuration information comprises first information indicating…second information indicating a scrambling parameter (in Peer to peer communication, one UE (==UE11 in Fig. 7 ) receives RRC connection from eNB using PDCCH in advance which includes a scraming ID or D2D-RNTI information for decoding : [0134]; “D2D communication setup response message may further include information on a search space and a scrambling identifier of a control channel for D2D communication.”: [0014]; see fig. 7 where UE 11 receives “D2D Discovery Response” from eNodeB to be used for D2D communication for UE11 to Peer UE 61 sidelink/D2D communication : [0023]; “ UE 11 may be configured to signal a value indicating the D2D period of the D2D setup response message via radio resource control (RRC) signaling. The UE 11 switches the frequency thereof to a frequency specified in a specific period (time or interval) according to new setup”: [0125]);
wherein the sidelink discovery message is transmitted, from the UE to the another UE (see fig. 7 : Peer UE 61 ), based on the first information, the second information (UE11 sends to Peer UE61 D2D based on scrambling ID information : “ peer UE 61 may acquire related information in a process of being connected to the peer eNodeB (the eNodeB which serves the peer UE) (not shown) or via RRC connection”: [0134]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of LEE to include the above recited limitations as taught by LEE. The suggestion/motivation would be to determine whether or not to switch an operating frequency band of the first UE from a first frequency band to a second frequency band based on the resource region information, and performing the D2D communication with the second UE in the first frequency band or the second frequency band according to the result of determination, wherein one of the first frequency band or the second frequency band is used for transmission for the D2D communication and another is used for reception for the D2D communication.. (LEE; [007]-0063]).
Regarding claim 3, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 7.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M Mostazir Rahman/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411