DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Remarks
This communication is considered fully responsive to the amendment filed on 08/11/2026.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7 are pending and are examined in this office action.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7 have been amended.
No new claim has been added and previously claims 2, 4, 6, 8-9 had been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 08/11/2026, with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection. The Examiner found features modified to claims, i.e claim 1 as
“1. (Currently Amended) A method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
receiving a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message, wherein the RRC message comprises configuration information for a sidelink discovery message, wherein the configuration information comprises first information indicating at least one time domain resource in which the sidelink discovery message is transmitted, and second information indicating a scrambling parameter;
receiving downlink control information carrying third information identifying at least one resource, from among the at least one time domain resource, to be used for transmission of the sidelink discovery message; and
transmitting, to another UE, the sidelink discovery message based on the first information, the second information, and the third information.”
that have changed the scope of the invention, Therefore, Applicant’s remarks regarding rejection under 35 U.S.C 103 for the claims are moot. Applicant's remarks are considered as forward looking statement for the newly reconstructed claims.
In view of the applicant’s amendment to the claims, the examiner has clarified and remapped the rejection to the argued claim limitations in details, using the prior art of record in the current prosecution of the claims as well a new prior art. See YAMAZAKI et al. (US 20150215977 A1; hereinafter as “YAMAZAKI”).
Priority
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AlA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551,32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994) The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No., GB1316202.9 fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AlA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. None of the priority documents explicitly or implicitly disclose claim limitations as required by all independent claims, specifically, inter alia, “receiving downlink control information carrying third information identifying at least one resource, from among the at least one time domain resource, to be used for transmission of the sidelink discovery message;” . Therefore, the effective filing date of the application has been deemed to be the filing date, PCT/JP2014/002871 filed on 05/30/2014, of the instant application. The applicant is welcome to show where the examiner an find support for the claim limitation.
Per MPEP §2152.06 “(C). Submitting a claim to priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a) - (d) within the time period set in 37 CFR 1.55 by identifying a prior foreign application in a corrected application data sheet under 37 CFR 1.76 and by establishing that the prior foreign application satisfies the enablement and written description requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or filing a grantable petition to accept a delayed priority claim under 37 CFR 1.55. See MPEP §§ 213 - 216. ..”. The applicant must show that the Applicant has all the support for the claim languages in all the prior documents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 3 5, 7 recite amendment to the previous claim, i.e.” receiving downlink control information carrying third information identifying at least one resource, from among the at least one time domain resource, to be used for transmission of the sidelink discovery message “ .
However, there is no support in the specification and drawings for this feature. Without identifying “…from among the at least one time domain resource” the properties claimed specifically “receiving downlink control information carrying third information identifying at least one resource, from among the at least one time domain resource, to be used for transmission of the sidelink discovery message” is vague and uncertain to cause one of ordinary skill in the art to reasonably be able to assume that applicant had possession of the invention as claimed. MPEP 2163.01.
It seems that applicant is trying to cover Figure 4 in independent claim.
Following the from Applicant’s speciation, BAGAYOKO et al. (US 20200107181 A1) Figure 4 paragraphs 0099-0116.
“[0111] After the appropriate radio resources have been scheduled by the discovery control module 65 (of the base station 5), it generates and sends, at step S407, an appropriately formatted downlink control message, e.g. a message over the Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH), and includes in this message a suitable Downlink Control Information (DCI) format identifying the assigned radio resources for the requesting (first) mobile telephone 3-1. Instead of a DCI format), a suitable MAC Control Element (included in e.g. Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) signalling) may also be used and sent to the requesting mobile telephone 3-1.
[0112] Specifically, the discovery control module 65 informs the requesting mobile telephone 3-1 (of resources assigned to that mobile telephone for broadcasting the discovery notification) by providing one or more set of resource assignment information, herein referred to as Discovery Resource Assignment Information (DRAI). If DCI format is used, then each DRAI may include {SFN} information that identifies the resources to be used (although it may optionally include other information as well). However, if a MAC Control Element is used, then each DRAI may include a {SFN, sub-frame index, Resource Block Assignment, Transmit Power Control command} quadruplet that uniquely identifies the resources to be used and the required transmission characteristics to be applied by the mobile telephone to which the DRAI relates. The discovery control module 65 scrambles the data for each mobile telephone using the legacy (LTE) identity for that mobile telephone (such as its CRNTI or T-CRNTI) so that each mobile telephone is able to obtain its allocated DRAI(s) by descrambling the received message using the same identity.”
The above paragraph appears to merely disclose a granular approach may be possible; however, no further details are provided as claimed. It doesn’t appear to require receiving “receiving downlink control information carrying third information identifying at least one resource, from among the at least one time domain resource, to be used for transmission of the sidelink discovery message ” as claimed.
Thus, Applicant does not appear to be in possession of the claimed subject matter.
As such, the examiner has taken broadest reasonable interpretation, in light of the above specification, to reject the independent claims with respect to “receiving downlink control information carrying third information identifying at least one resource, from among the at least one time domain resource, to be used for transmission of the sidelink discovery message”.
Applicant is welcome to point out where in the specification the Examiner can find written description for the above-mentioned limitations if Applicant believes otherwise.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5,7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over of YAMAZAKI et al. (US 20150215977 A1; hereinafter as “YAMAZAKI”) in view of YAMAZAKI et al. (US 20140342747 A1; hereinafter as “LEE2747”)
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to YAMAZAKI unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claim 5, YAMAZAKI teaches a user equipment (UE) (fig. 10: UE 100-2 ) the comprising:
at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to process the instructions ( UE with memory and processor and code: [0043]) to:
receiving a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message ( RRC message between UE and eNB: [0064]; eNB notifies UE 100-2 and UE 100-1 D2D “”a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) which is common in the plurality of UEs 100 and that is used to collectively transmit a D2D control signal for controlling the D2D communication to the plurality of UEs 100.” In RRC message which include resource assignment information : [0089]-[0091]; “ eNB 200 notifies the UE 100-1 and the UE 100-2 of the D2D common RNTI at different timings” using RRC message: [0103] ; [0064]);
wherein the RRC message comprises configuration information for a sidelink discovery message (RRC message includes, inter alia, D2D resource : [0090]-[0091]; aforesaid “UE 100-2 that started standing by for the D2D communication periodically transmits a Discover signal for informing the surrounding of the existence thereof. The Discover signal may have a configuration based on the D2D group RNTI. ”: [0100]; RRC message includes D2D discovery for D2D Communication : [0105]-[0106]);
wherein the configuration information (==discovery signal configuration ) comprises first information indicating at time domain resource in which the sidelink discovery message is transmitted, and ( D2D resource include, inter alia, a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) which is common in the plurality of UEs 100 and that is used to collectively transmit a D2D control signal for controlling the D2D communication to the plurality of UEs 100: [0089]-[0091]; [0100]; “ UE 100-2 that started standing by for the D2D communication periodically transmits a Discover signal for informing the surrounding of the existence thereof. The Discover signal may have a configuration based on the D2D group RNTI. For example, a resource element (a resource unit including one subcarrier and one symbol) (== time domain resource ) used as the Discover signal or a sequence used in the transmission of the Discover signal may be determined on the basis of the D2D group RNTI.”: [0110]: “ radio resource assigned to the UE 100, inter alia, time domain resource” is designated by a subframe as shown in Fig. 5: [0068]; “ eNB 200 notifies the UE 100-1 and the UE 100-2 of the D2D common RNTI. In this way, at the time of start of the D2D communication (==a time domain resource in claim ), it is possible to simultaneously notify a plurality of UEs 100, which perform the D2D communication, of the D2D common RNT “; [0106]; the eNB 200 transmits, on the PDCCH, D2D scheduling information indicating assignment candidate radio resources that are radio resources available in the D2D communication. At this time, the eNB 200 inserts a CRC bit masked with D2D RNTI that is common in the cell of the eNB 200 into the D2D scheduling information, and transmits the D2D scheduling information when the CRC bit is inserted.”: [0111]Among radio resources assigned to the UE 100, a frequency resource is designated by a resource block and a time resource is designated by a subframe. ”: [0066]-[0068]); NOTE: crossed/missed limitation will be addressed by another reference below);
receiving downlink control information (==DCI or PDCCH ) carrying third information identifying at least one resource, from among the at least one time domain resource, to be used for transmission of the sidelink discovery message ( eNB notifies UEs 100 for D2D Communication : D2D control signal is transmitted in DCI for D2D communication: D2D Control signal includes resources “D2D Scheduling Information: “When the D2D control signal is the DCI for D2D, the eNB 200 transmits the D2D scheduling information, which includes a CRC bit masked with the D2D common RNTI, on the PDCCH. When a result obtained by performing decoding and CRC inspection for the D2D scheduling information by using the D2D common RNTI notified to the UE 100 indicates success, the UE 100 recognizes that the D2D common RNTI is D2D scheduling information addressed to the UE 100.”: [0089]-[0091] “Among radio resources assigned to the UE 100, a frequency resource is designated by a resource block and a time resource is designated by a subframe. ”: [0068]);
transmitting, to another UE (==UE100-1 ), the sidelink discovery message based on the first information, and the third information (UE 100-2 sends DISCOVERY SIGNAL to UE 100-1 in Fig. 10 based on RNTI information and D2D Scheduling Information : [0089]-[0091; “ UE 100-2 that started standing by for the D2D communication periodically transmits a Discover signal for informing the surrounding of the existence thereof. The Discover signal may have a configuration based on the D2D group RNTI. For example, a resource element (a resource unit including one subcarrier and one symbol) used as the Discover signal or a sequence used in the transmission of the Discover signal may be determined on the basis of the D2D group RNTI.”: [0100]).
While YAMAZAKI teaches “wherein the RRC message comprises configuration information for a sidelink discovery message, wherein the configuration information comprises first information indicating a time domain resource in which the sidelink discovery message is transmitted”,
YAMAZAKI does not expressively teach:
wherein the RRC message comprises configuration .. indicating .. and second information indicating a scrambling parameter;
transmitting, to another UE,the second information.
LEE2747, in the same field of endeavor, discloses;
wherein the RRC message comprises configuration .. indicating .. and second information indicating a scrambling parameter (in Peer to peer communication, one UE (==UE11 in Fig. 7 ) receives RRC connection from eNB using PDCCH in advance which includes a scramming ID or D2D-RNTI information for decoding : [0134]; “D2D communication setup response message may further include information on a search space and a scrambling identifier of a control channel for D2D communication.”: [0014]; see fig. 7 where UE 11 receives “D2D Discovery Response” from eNodeB to be used for D2D communication for UE11 to Peer UE 61 sidelink/D2D communication : [0023]; “ UE 11 may be configured to signal a value indicating the D2D period of the D2D setup response message via radio resource control (RRC) signaling. The UE 11 switches the frequency thereof to a frequency specified in a specific period (time or interval) according to new setup”: [0125] );
transmitting, to another UE (see fig. 7 : Peer UE 61 ) ,the second information (UE11 sends to Peer UE61 D2D based on scrambling ID information : “ peer UE 61 may acquire related information in a process of being connected to the peer eNodeB (the eNodeB which serves the peer UE) (not shown) or via RRC connection”: [0134]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of YAMAZAKI to include the above recited limitations as taught by LEE2747. The suggestion/motivation would be to determine whether or not to switch an operating frequency band of the first UE from a first frequency band to a second frequency band based on the resource region information, and performing the D2D communication with the second UE in the first frequency band or the second frequency band according to the result of determination, wherein one of the first frequency band or the second frequency band is used for transmission for the D2D communication and another is used for reception for the D2D communication.. (LEE2747; [007]-0063]).
Regarding claim 1, YAMAZAKI teaches A method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: receiving a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message, wherein the RRC message comprises configuration information for a sidelink discovery message, wherein the configuration information comprises first information indicating at least one time domain resource in which the sidelink discovery message is transmitted, and second information indicating a scrambling parameter; receiving downlink control information carrying third information identifying at least one resource, from among the at least one time domain resource, to be used for transmission of the sidelink discovery message; and transmitting, to another UE, the sidelink discovery message based on the first information, the second information, and the third information. (this claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5).
Regarding claim 7, YAMAZAKI teaches A base station (Fig. 10 : eNB 200) for controlling communication between a user equipment (UE) (= UE100-2 in fig. 10 ) and another UE ( == UE100-1 in fig. 10 ), the base station comprising:
at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to process the instructions to ( BS must have memory, processor);
transmit, to the UE (==UE1), a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message ( see fig. 10: eNB 200 sends D2D RTRI with RRC message to UE 100-2: “ eNB 200 notifies the UE 100-2 of the D2D common RNTI (the D2D RNTI and the D2D group RNTI)”: [0099] ; ( RRC message between UE and eNB: [0064]; eNB notifies UE 100-2 and UE 100-1 D2D “”a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) which is common in the plurality of UEs 100 and that is used to collectively transmit a D2D control signal for controlling the D2D communication to the plurality of UEs 100.” In RRC message which include resource assignment information : [0089]-[0091] )
wherein the RRC message comprises configuration information for a sidelink discovery message RRC message includes, inter alia, D2D resource : [0090]-[0091]; aforesaid “UE 100-2 that started standing by for the D2D communication periodically transmits a Discover signal for informing the surrounding of the existence thereof. The Discover signal may have a configuration based on the D2D group RNTI. ”: [0100]);
wherein the configuration information comprises first information indicating a time domain resource in which the sidelink discovery message is transmitted ( D2D resource include, inter alia, a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) which is common in the plurality of UEs 100 and that is used to collectively transmit a D2D control signal for controlling the D2D communication to the plurality of UEs 100: [0089]-[0091]; [0100]; “ UE 100-2 that started standing by for the D2D communication periodically transmits a Discover signal for informing the surrounding of the existence thereof. The Discover signal may have a configuration based on the D2D group RNTI. For example, a resource element (a resource unit including one subcarrier and one symbol) used as the Discover signal or a sequence used in the transmission of the Discover signal may be determined on the basis of the D2D group RNTI.”: [0110]: “ “ the eNB 200 transmits, on the PDCCH, D2D scheduling information indicating assignment candidate radio resources that are radio resources available in the D2D communication. At this time, the eNB 200 inserts a CRC bit masked with D2D RNTI that is common in the cell of the eNB 200 into the D2D scheduling information, and transmits the D2D scheduling information when the CRC bit is inserted.”: [0111]Among radio resources assigned to the UE 100, a frequency resource is designated by a resource block and a time resource is designated by a subframe. ”: [0066]-[0068]); NOTE: crossed/missed limitation will be addressed by another reference below);
transmit downlink control information carrying third information identifying at least one resource , from among the at least one time domain resource, to be used for transmission of the sidelink discovery (eNB notifies UEs 100 for D2D Communication : D2D control signal is transmitted in DCI for D2D communication: D2D Control signal includes resources “D2D Scheduling Information: “When the D2D control signal is the DCI for D2D, the eNB 200 transmits the D2D scheduling information, which includes a CRC bit masked with the D2D common RNTI, on the PDCCH. When a result obtained by performing decoding and CRC inspection for the D2D scheduling information by using the D2D common RNTI notified to the UE 100 indicates success, the UE 100 recognizes that the D2D common RNTI is D2D scheduling information addressed to the UE 100.”: [0089]-[0091] “Among radio resources assigned to the UE 100, a frequency resource is designated by a resource block and a time resource is designated by a subframe. ”: [0068]);
and
wherein the (==UE 100-2) to the another UE (==UE100-1) , based on the first information, and the third information (UE 100-2 sends DISCOVERY SIGNAL to UE 100-1 in Fig. 10 based on RNTI information and D2D Scheduling Information : [0089]-[0091; “ UE 100-2 that started standing by for the D2D communication periodically transmits a Discover signal for informing the surrounding of the existence thereof. The Discover signal may have a configuration based on the D2D group RNTI. For example, a resource element (a resource unit including one subcarrier and one symbol) used as the Discover signal or a sequence used in the transmission of the Discover signal may be determined on the basis of the D2D group RNTI.”: [0100] ) ( NOTE: crossed/missed limitation will be addressed by another reference below).
YAMAZAKI does not expressively teach:
wherein the configuration information comprises first information indicating…second information indicating a scrambling parameter
wherein the sidelink discovery message is transmitted, from the UE to the another UE , based on the first information, the second information.
LEE2747 , in the same field of endeavor, discloses;
wherein the configuration information comprises first information indicating…second information indicating a scrambling parameter (in Peer to peer communication, one UE (==UE11 in Fig. 7 ) receives RRC connection from eNB using PDCCH in advance which includes a scraming ID or D2D-RNTI information for decoding : [0134]; “D2D communication setup response message may further include information on a search space and a scrambling identifier of a control channel for D2D communication.”: [0014]; see fig. 7 where UE 11 receives “D2D Discovery Response” from eNodeB to be used for D2D communication for UE11 to Peer UE 61 sidelink/D2D communication : [0023]; “ UE 11 may be configured to signal a value indicating the D2D period of the D2D setup response message via radio resource control (RRC) signaling. The UE 11 switches the frequency thereof to a frequency specified in a specific period (time or interval) according to new setup”: [0125]);
wherein the sidelink discovery message is transmitted, from the UE to the another UE (see fig. 7 : Peer UE 61 ), based on the first information, the second information (UE11 sends to Peer UE61 D2D based on scrambling ID information : “ peer UE 61 may acquire related information in a process of being connected to the peer eNodeB (the eNodeB which serves the peer UE) (not shown) or via RRC connection”: [0134]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of YAMAZAKI to include the above recited limitations as taught by LEE2747. The suggestion/motivation would be to determine whether or not to switch an operating frequency band of the first UE from a first frequency band to a second frequency band based on the resource region information, and performing the D2D communication with the second UE in the first frequency band or the second frequency band according to the result of determination, wherein one of the first frequency band or the second frequency band is used for transmission for the D2D communication and another is used for reception for the D2D communication.. (LEE2747; [007]-0063]).
Regarding claim 3, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 7.
Conclusion
/M Mostazir Rahman/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411