DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed on 08/25/2025 and IDS filed 09/02/2025. As directed by the amendment: claims 6-8, 10-13, 17-18, 20 and 24 have been amended, claims 18 and 19 have been canceled, claims 1-5 and 21-23 have been canceled previously, and claims 26-28 have been added. Thus, claims 6-15, 17-18, 20 and 24-28 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Objections
3. In light of Applicant's Amendment of 08/25/2025, the objection to claims 8-9, 12 and 20 set forth in the Office Action of 05/23/2025, is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 6-9, 12, 13-15, 17-18, 20 and 24-28 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Allen (Patent No.: AU 2005239624 B2, Divisional Application AU 2011101478 A4 was cited in IDS filed 09/02/2025) in view of Walker et al. (hereinafter “Walker”) (Pub. No.: US 2003/0148659 A1), and further in view of Lung-Fa et al. (hereinafter “Lung-Fa”) (Pub. No.: US 2009/0053059 A1).
Regarding claims 6, 13-14, 18, 20 and 24-25, Allen discloses a fan (ceiling fan 5, as stated in Abstract), comprising:
a plurality of fan blades (plurality of fan blades 40 which are appended to, and extend radially outward from, the side 35 wall of said rotor core 20, see page 4, lines 6-8);
a motor (central rotor core 20 that is provided in the form of a flat cylinder, having subjacent 25 and upper 30 ends, separated by a cylindrical side wall 35, as stated on page 4 lines 1-5) for rotating the plurality of fan blades (the central rotor core 20 is inherently rotating the plurality of fan blades 40);
a lighting module (illuminating device LM120 with a translucent cover 120, which is enclosing the cavity 50, while allowing the light produced by an illumination device fitted to the illumination device mountings 100, as detailed on page 5 lines 17-25 and seen in annotated Figure 8) comprising a ring (connection ring 130 and/or main ring 125, see page 5 lines 23-30) including a plurality of tabs (including a plurality of anchoring hooks 135 or plurality of tabs, as stated on page 5 lines 23-30); and
a turret (turret portion TP55 that is defined by a truncated cone in combination with a flange 60 extending from the upper edge of said cone, as stated on page 4 lines 9-15).
Particularly, Allen demonstrates as how “ceiling fan having a central rotor core from which fan blades extend, said central core having an internal cavity, said ceiling fan including first electrical leads connected to a power supply and terminating in first electrical connectors, wherein said first electrical connectors are arranged to be accessible within said internal cavity” (see page 2 lines 1-7).
Further, as stated on page 4 lines 9-15, Allen expressly states that: Centrally mounted in the cavity is an anchoring disc 55. Said anchoring disc 55 is formed substantially as a relatively flat, inverted and truncated cone, with a flange 60 extending from the upper edge of said cone and two electrical connecting leads 65, 70 emerging from a central part of said 15 anchoring disc 55. The flange features three equally spaced, curved slots 75. Said slots feature wider 85 and narrower 90 portions of the same relative length.
In fact, disclosing this anchoring disc 55, which is formed as the inverted and truncated cone in combination with the flange 60, Allen specifically teaches a turret or turret portion TP55 that can be adapted to further form a bayonet mount with the lighting module 120.
As best seen in annotated Figure 2, Allen explicitly exhibits as how the turret portion TP55 comprises a plurality of cutouts or curved slots 75 for receiving tabs associated with the lighting module, as instantly claimed..
In this disclosure, Allen especially states that: Turning to figure 3, there is shown a lower view of an illumination device mounting disc 95 according to the invention. Said mounting disc 95 features complementary mountings 100 adapted to receive an illumination tube therebetween. It will be appreciated by those skilled in the art that the above-described illumination device mountings are merely one example of a multitude of mountings for illumination devices which may equally be utilized. The illumination device mounting disc 95 also features three equally spaced bolt- or screw-holes 105, adapted to enable adjacent positioning with respect to the bolt- or screw-holes 80 of the anchoring disc 55 (see page 4 lines 20-28).
Most importantly, however, is that such fittings, as described by Allen, could “allow the illumination device mounting to be fitted quickly and easily by the purchaser” (see page 2a).
Allen then goes on to describe how: Figure 7 depicts a translucent cover 120 which may be fitted to the subjacent end of the rotor core 20, thereby to enclose the cavity 50, while allowing the light produced by an illumination device fitted to the illumination device mountings 100 to escape from the cavity 50. Said cover is shown constructed from a main ring 125, into which has been centrally inserted a circular translucent glass disc 130. The cover 120 further features a connection ring 130 located above said main ring 125. The connection ring features three equally spaced anchoring hooks 135 which are formed integrally with said connection ring 130, and take the form of inverted 'L' profiles having a horizontal portion 140 and a vertical portion 145 connecting the horizontal portion 140 to the remainder of the connection ring 130. Said horizontal portion 140 is narrower than the width of the wider portion of the slots 75 provided in the flange 60 to the anchoring disc 55, but wider than 30 the narrower portion 90 of said slots. The hooks 135 are thereby adapted to pass through the wider portion 85 of said slots, allowing rotation of the cover 120 toward the narrower portion 90 of the slots to produce a suspending engagement of the cover 120 with the anchoring disc 55. This allows simple manual 'insert and turn' fitting of the cover 120. Figure 8 shows the ceiling fan 5 with a translucent cover 120 thus fitted (see page 5 lines 17-30).
Essentially, with reference to annotated Figures 2&7, Allen’s fan is designed such that the turret TP55 comprises a plurality of cutouts in which the plurality of tabs 135 of the lighting module or illuminating device LM120 being received when the lighting module/ illuminating device LM120 is coupled to the turret TP55 while the cover or translucent cover 120, including an annular plate or connecting ring 130 or main ring 125, can be adapted to be further inserted vertically and rotated to lock into position in the turret TP55, as otherwise, the system cannot normally operate.
Although Allen discloses the majority of Applicant’s claimed elements, he is still silent as to the fact that the turret TP55 is being adapted to form a bayonet mount.
Nonetheless, the use of a bayonet connection in lighting assemblies and/or ceiling fans is well-known in the art, as taught by Walker.
Walker in the same field of endeavor teaches a connector assembly, which includes a receptacle connector and a plug connector assembly (see Abstract).
Walker, in Paragraph [0036], explicitly teaches that: The installation of the entire fixture or ceiling fan is therefore accomplished as follows. It should be under stood that a hanging bracket is included for mounting adjacent to or over the junction box and receptacle connector 4 for mounting the fixture and that the mounting bracket will require a proper orientation relative to the fixture. It is anticipated that the fixture itself will be polarized relative to the hanging bracket, and will rotate into a locked position, in a bayonet/locking lug style connection. Thus, the corresponding mounting elements on the lighting fixture or ceiling fan will cooperate with the orientation of the mounting bracket. It should be appreciated also that the connector assemblies 4, 6 will be appropriately oriented that when the lighting fixture is properly aligned vis-a-vis the mounting brackets, the mating connectors 4, 10 must also be properly polarized. This prevents the occurrence where the user, somehow in preparing to assemble and install the fixture or fan assembly, misaligns the receptacle connector assembly. Thus, in the present invention, the receptacle connector is always spring-loaded to the home position, where the bracket and fixture are properly aligned. This allows the installer to move the fixture into the mounting bracket, whereby both the fixture/bracket and mating connectors 4, 10 are polarized. The fixture is thereafter rotated, to lock the fixture to its associated bracket. As the connector is rotatable, the fixture is rotated relative to the connector, which remains fixed, and the fixture is locked in place. If the fixture must be taken down, the connector returns to its home position, where it again is polarized.
However, most importantly in Walker is his idea of utilizing the bayonet/locking lug style connection.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made to combine the teaching of using a bayonet or locking lug style connection, as taught by Walker, with the ceiling fan of Allen, in order to further simplify and improve the assembly/disassembly process and thereby maximizing the production efficiency.
As such, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably appraised that that the turret portion TP55 would be necessarily adapted to further form a bayonet mount with the lighting module and/or for further including slots for further receiving the tabs 135 of the lighting module to further form a bayonet mount and/or the cover or translucent cover 120 being adapted to be further inserted vertically and rotated to further lock into position in the turret TP55, as instantly claimed.
Although the combination of Allen/ Walker discloses the vast majority of Applicant’s claimed elements, it does not explicitly disclose that the lighting module comprising one or more LEDs and/or a ring for supporting the one or more LEDs.
Nonetheless, the use of LEDs in a lighting module is well-known in the art, as taught by Lung-Fa.
Lung-Fa in the same field of endeavor teaches another ceiling fan 2, wherein the housing 22 comprises a stationary portion 221 and a swivel portion 222.
Specifically, in Paragraph [0025], Lung -Fa discloses as how: a plurality of lighting elements 26 are circularly disposed on the stationary portion 221 of the housing 22 at the inside of the fan stand 2221 and connected to the first circuit. When the fan blade 25 starts to rotate, the plurality of lighting elements 26 located inside the fan blade 25 emit light due to electric connections of the first circuit, and thus light is guided and emitted via the light guiding means 252 of the fan blade 25.
Especially, in Paragraph [0026], Lung-Fa further teaches: The stationary portion 221 may further comprise a plurality of upper lighting elements 261 on an upper side of the fan blade 25, and a plurality of lower lighting elements 262 on a lower side of the fan blade 25. The upper lighting element 261 and the lower lighting element 262 are preferably LEDs, but may also be LEDs, light bulbs, or a combination thereof. The LED may be a red-light LED, a green-light LED, a blue-light LED, a white-light LED, or a combination thereof. An external side of the upper lighting element 261 may further include an upper translucent cover 226, and an external side of the lower lighting element 262 may further include a lower translucent cover 227, so that light may be passed through the upper lighting element 261 and the lower lighting element 262.
Most importantly, however, is the specific arrangement of the LEDs that are clearly arranged on a ring R26. As best seen immediately above, Lung-Fa evidently illustrates as how the lighting module LM comprises a plurality of LEDs mounted on a circular ring and/or how the lighting module LM, which is including one or more LED, further comprising a mounting plate MP for mounting a ring for supporting the one or more LEDs and a lens, as instantly claimed.
In this disclosure, Lung-Fa further states: At least one fan blade has light guiding means, an optic fiber for receiving light transmitted from a light generator and is circularly disposed in the stationary portion of the housing at the inside of the fan stand. The optic fiber has a suitable number of notches disposed thereon for achieving the effect of translucence. When the fan blade starts to rotate, light from the optic fiber is guided via the light guiding means of the fan blade and emitted (see Abstract).
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made to combine the teaching of using a ring for supporting one or more LEDs and/or one or more LEDs and/or mounting plate, as taught by Lung-Fa, with the ceiling fan of Allen/ Walker, as part of an obvious combination of known prior art structures, in this case the use of a ring for supporting one or more LEDs and/or a plurality of LEDs to achieve predictable results, in this case, to further increase a product availability or improve manufacturing efficiency and reduce prices. See KSR; MPEP 2141 III A.
Thus modified, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been reasonably appraised that the lighting module would be further comprising one or more LEDs and a ring including a plurality of tabs and/or including one or more LEDs and a cover, wherein the cover being adapted to be further inserted vertically and rotated to lock into position in the turret and/or a ring supporting the one or more LEDs, wherein the lighting module including tabs and/or one or more LEDs and a ring including tabs and/or would be further comprising a mounting plate for mounting the ring for supporting the one or more LEDs and a lens, as instantly claimed.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Allen, Walker and Lung-Fa substantially disclose the fan, as claimed and detailed above. Additionally, as best seen in annotated Figure 2, Allen evidently demonstrates as how the turret or turret portion TP55 comprises a cylinder or inverted and truncated cone in combination with the flange 60, as stated on page 4 lines 12-15, including the plurality of cutouts or curved slots 75 and/or the plurality of cutouts comprise slots (curved slots 75, as stated on page 4 lines 15-20).
With specific regard to the limitation “the turret comprises a hollow cylinder including the plurality of cutouts formed in an outer sidewall thereof”, as recited in claim 7, it is noted that applicant has not disclosed that using a hollow cylinder results in an unpredicted result not seen in the Prior Art and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with inverted and truncated cone, as taught by Allen. Accordingly, absent persuasive evidence that the hollow cylinder is functionally significant, the limitations above constitute a mere change in shape and fail to patentably distinguish over the prior art. See MPEP 2144.04(4)(b).
Regarding claim 9, Allen, Walker and Lung-Fa substantially disclose the fan, as claimed and detailed above. Additionally, on page 4 lines 15-20, Allen expressly states that: The flange features three equally spaced, curved slots 75. Said slots feature wider 85 and narrower 90 portions of the same relative length.
Thus, according to the combination, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably appraised that each slot 75 comprises a thin or narrower portion 90 and an oversized or wider 85 portion, as instantly claimed.
Regarding claim 12, Allen, Walker and Lung-Fa, substantially disclose the fan, as claimed and detailed above.
However, although the combination of Allen/ Walker/ Lung-Fa discloses the vast majority of Applicant’s claimed elements, it does not explicitly disclose specifics regarding the motor structure.
Nonetheless, Lung-Fa, in Paragraph [0030], successfully teaches that: The combinational design of a stator 323 and a rotor 324 can be divided into two types, inner rotor design and outer rotor design. In the combinational design in which inner rotor design is adopted, the rotor 324 is located inside the stator 323, and the stator 323 remains stationary while the rotor 324 is connected to a spinning axis during operation. In the combinational design in which outer rotor design is adopted, the rotor 324 is located outside the stator 323, and the stator 323 remains stationary while the rotor 324 rotates about a stationary axis 3231 during operation. In this preferred embodiment of the invention, a combinational design with outer rotor design is preferably employed, in which the rotor 324 is located outside the stator 323, and the stator 323 is disposed on the stationary axis 3231 and connected to the stationary portion 321 of the housing 32, while the rotor 324 is connected to the fan stand 3221 so as to allow the fan blade 35 to rotate. However, the combinational design with inner rotor design may also be employed if required, in which the rotor 324 is disposed inside the stator 323 and connected to a spinning axis, and further connected to the swivel portion 322 and the fan stand 3221 of the housing 32.
Essentially, Lung-Fa’s motor is designed such that a stator 323, which is disposed outward of the rotor, is having an opening while a neck or turret portion 3231 is being directly and/or indirectly positioned/mounted relative to the opening of the stator.
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made to combine the teaching of using an outer stator and/or stator opening, as taught by Lung-Fa, with the motor of Allen, Walker and Lung-Fa, as part of an obvious combination of known prior art structures, in this case the use of an outer stator to achieve predictable results, in this case, to further improve operation and longevity of fan motors See KSR; MPEP 2141 III A.
Thus modified, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably appraised that the motor would be further comprising a stator having an opening and/or the turret would be further positioned in the opening, as instantly claimed.
Regarding claims 15, 17 and 20, Allen, Walker and Lung-Fa substantially disclose the fan, as claimed and detailed above.
Additionally, in Paragraph [0025], Lung -Fa specifically teaches as how: a plurality of lighting elements 26 are circularly disposed on the stationary portion 221 of the housing 22 at the inside of the fan stand 2221 and connected to the first circuit. When the fan blade 25 starts to rotate, the plurality of lighting elements 26 located inside the fan blade 25 emit light due to electric connections of the first circuit, and thus light is guided and emitted via the light guiding means 252 of the fan blade 25.
Especially, in Paragraph [0026], Lung-Fa further teaches: The stationary portion 221 may further comprise a plurality of upper lighting elements 261 on an upper side of the fan blade 25, and a plurality of lower lighting elements 262 on a lower side of the fan blade 25. The upper lighting element 261 and the lower lighting element 262 are preferably LEDs, but may also be LEDs, light bulbs, or a combination thereof. The LED may be a red-light LED, a green-light LED, a blue-light LED, a white-light LED, or a combination thereof. An external side of the upper lighting element 261 may further include an upper translucent cover 226, and an external side of the lower lighting element 262 may further include a lower translucent cover 227, so that light may be passed through the upper lighting element 261 and the lower lighting element 262.
Further, as best seen immediately above, Lung-Fa evidently illustrates as how the lighting module LM comprises a plurality of LEDs mounted on a circuit substrate or on a ring and/or how the lighting module LM, including one or more LED, further comprising a mounting plate for mounting a ring for supporting the one or more LEDs and a lens, as instantly claimed.
In this disclosure, Lung-Fa explicitly teaches that: At least one fan blade has light guiding means, an optic fiber for receiving light transmitted from a light generator and is circularly disposed in the stationary portion of the housing at the inside of the fan stand. The optic fiber has a suitable number of notches disposed thereon for achieving the effect of translucence. When the fan blade starts to rotate, light from the optic fiber is guided via the light guiding means of the fan blade and emitted (see Abstract).
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made to combine the teaching of using a ring or circuit substrate for supporting one or more LEDs, as taught by Lung-Fa, with the ceiling fan of Allen/Walker/Lung-Fa, as part of an obvious combination of known prior art structures, in this case the use of a ring for supporting one or more LEDs and/or a plurality of LEDs to achieve predictable results, in this case, to further increase a product availability or improve manufacturing efficiency and reduce prices. See KSR; MPEP 2141 III A.
Thus modified, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably appraised that the lighting module would be further comprising a plurality of LEDs that would be further mounted on a circuit substrate and/or the lighting module would be further comprising a mounting plate for mounting a ring for supporting the one or more LEDs and a lens and/or the lighting module would be further comprising one or more LEDs, as instantly claimed.
Regarding claim 26, Allen, Walker and Lung-Fa substantially disclose the fan, as claimed and detailed above.
Additionally, with reference to annotated Figures 2 & 7, Allen explicitly exhibits as how the turret TP55 extends downwardly while tabs 135 form a releasable locking engagement with the slots 75 in the turret TP55 when the ring or connecting ring 130 or main ring 125 being inserted upwardly into the turret and rotated, as otherwise the system cannot normally operate.
However, although the combination of Allen/ Walker/ Lung-Fa discloses the vast majority of Applicant’s claimed elements, it does not explicitly disclose specifics regarding the motor structure.
Nonetheless, Lung-Fa, in Paragraph [0030], successfully teaches that: The combinational design of a stator 323 and a rotor 324 can be divided into two types, inner rotor design and outer rotor design. In the combinational design in which inner rotor design is adopted, the rotor 324 is located inside the stator 323, and the stator 323 remains stationary while the rotor 324 is connected to a spinning axis during operation. In the combinational design in which outer rotor design is adopted, the rotor 324 is located outside the stator 323, and the stator 323 remains stationary while the rotor 324 rotates about a stationary axis 3231 during operation. In this preferred embodiment of the invention, a combinational design with outer rotor design is preferably employed, in which the rotor 324 is located outside the stator 323, and the stator 323 is disposed on the stationary axis 3231 and connected to the stationary portion 321 of the housing 32, while the rotor 324 is connected to the fan stand 3221 so as to allow the fan blade 35 to rotate. However, the combinational design with inner rotor design may also be employed if required, in which the rotor 324 is disposed inside the stator 323 and connected to a spinning axis, and further connected to the swivel portion 322 and the fan stand 3221 of the housing 32.
Essentially, Lung-Fa’s motor is designed such that a stator 323, which is disposed outward of the rotor, is having an opening while a neck or turret portion 3231 is being directly and/or indirectly positioned/mounted relative to the opening of the stator.
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made to combine the teaching of using an outer stator and/or stator opening, as taught by Lung-Fa, with the motor of Allen, Walker and Lung-Fa, as part of an obvious combination of known prior art structures, in this case the use of an outer stator to achieve predictable results, in this case, to further improve operation and longevity of fan motors See KSR; MPEP 2141 III A.
As such, according to the combination, the Examiner must assert that the turret TP55 would be surely extending downwardly relative to a stator of the motor, as instantly claimed.
Regarding claims 27 and 28, Allen, Walker and Lung-Fa substantially disclose the fan, as claimed and detailed above.
Additionally, with reference to annotated Figures 2 & 7, Allen explicitly exhibits as how the turret TP55 extends downwardly while tabs 135 are certainly forming a releasable locking engagement with the slots 75 in the turret TP55 when the ring or connecting ring 130 or main ring 125 being inserted upwardly into the turret TP55 and rotated, as otherwise the system cannot normally operate.
Further, in Paragraph [0026], Lung-Fa specifically teaches: The stationary portion 221 may further comprise a plurality of upper lighting elements 261 on an upper side of the fan blade 25, and a plurality of lower lighting elements 262 on a lower side of the fan blade 25. The upper lighting element 261 and the lower lighting element 262 are preferably LEDs, but may also be LEDs, light bulbs, or a combination thereof. The LED may be a red-light LED, a green-light LED, a blue-light LED, a white-light LED, or a combination thereof. An external side of the upper lighting element 261 may further include an upper translucent cover 226, and an external side of the lower lighting element 262 may further include a lower translucent cover 227, so that light may be passed through the upper lighting element 261 and the lower lighting element 262.
In fact, as best seen immediately above, Lung-Fa evidently illustrates as how the lighting module LM comprises a plurality of LEDs mounted on a circular ring and/or how the lighting module LM, which is including one or more LED, further comprising a mounting plate MP for mounting a ring for supporting the one or more LEDs and a lens, as instantly claimed.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made to combine the teaching of using a ring of LEDs, as taught by Lung-Fa, with the ceiling fan of Allen/ Walker, Lung-Fa, as part of an obvious combination of known prior art structures, in this case the use of a ring for supporting one or more LEDs and/or a plurality of LEDs to achieve predictable results, in this case, to further increase a product availability or improve manufacturing efficiency and reduce prices. See KSR; MPEP 2141 III A.
Thus modified, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been reasonably appraised that the lighting module would be further comprising a ring of LEDs arranged to further direct light radially inwardly from an outer circumference of a transparent circular lens and/or the tabs would be further extending radially outwardly from an upstanding portion of the lighting module forming the ring and would be further adapted to further receive the turret, as instantly claimed.
7. Claim 10 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Allen in view of Walker, and further in view of Yang (Patent No.: US 4,637,673), as evidenced by Erdman (US 4,005,347 A).
Regarding claim 10, Allen discloses a fan (ceiling fan 5, as stated in Abstract) comprising:
a plurality of fan blades (plurality of fan blades 40 which are appended to, and extend radially outward from, the side 35 wall of said rotor core 20, see page 4, lines 6-8);
a motor (central rotor core 20, as stated on page 4 lines 1-5) for rotating the plurality of fan blades (the central rotor core 20 is inherently rotating the plurality of fan blades 40);
a lighting module (illuminating device LM120 with a translucent cover 120, which is enclosing the cavity 50, while allowing the light produced by an illumination device fitted to the illumination device mountings 100, as detailed on page 5 lines 17-25 and seen in annotated Figure 8); and
a turret (turret portion TP55 that is defined by a truncated cone in combination with a flange 60 extending from the upper edge of said cone, as stated on page 4 lines 9-15).
Particularly, Allen demonstrates as how “ceiling fan having a central rotor core from which fan blades extend, said central core having an internal cavity, said ceiling fan including first electrical leads connected to a power supply and terminating in first electrical connectors, wherein said first electrical connectors are arranged to be accessible within said internal cavity” (see page 2 lines 1-7).
Further, as stated on page 4 lines 9-15, Allen expressly states that: Centrally mounted in the cavity is an anchoring disc 55. Said anchoring disc 55 is formed substantially as a relatively flat, inverted and truncated cone, with a flange 60 extending from the upper edge of said cone and two electrical connecting leads 65, 70 emerging from a central part of said 15 anchoring disc 55. The flange features three equally spaced, curved slots 75. Said slots feature wider 85 and narrower 90 portions of the same relative length.
In fact, disclosing this anchoring disc 55 which is formed as the inverted and truncated cone in combination with the flange 60, Allen specifically teaches a turret TP55 that is surely can be adapted to form a bayonet mount with the lighting module 120.
Most importantly, however, is that such fittings, as described by Allen, allow the illumination device mounting to be fitted quickly and easily by the purchaser (see page 2a).
Allen then goes on to describe how: Figure 7 depicts a translucent cover 120 which may be fitted to the subjacent end of the rotor core 20, thereby to enclose the cavity 50, while allowing the light produced by an illumination device fitted to the illumination device mountings 100 to escape from the cavity 50. Said cover is shown constructed from a main ring 125, into which has been centrally inserted a circular translucent glass disc 130. The cover 120 further features a connection ring 130 located above said main ring 125. The connection ring features three equally spaced anchoring hooks 135 which are formed integrally with said connection ring 130, and take the form of inverted 'L' profiles having a horizontal portion 140 and a vertical portion 145 connecting the horizontal portion 140 to the remainder of the connection ring 130. Said horizontal portion 140 is narrower than the width of the wider portion of the slots 75 provided in the flange 60 to the anchoring disc 55, but wider than 30 the narrower portion 90 of said slots. The hooks 135 are thereby adapted to pass through the wider portion 85 of said slots, allowing rotation of the cover 120 toward the narrower portion 90 of the slots to produce a suspending engagement of the cover 120 with the anchoring disc 55. This allows simple manual 'insert and turn' fitting of the cover 120. Figure 8 shows the ceiling fan 5 with a translucent cover 120 thus fitted.
As best seen in annotated Figures 2&7, Allen explicitly exhibits as how the turret TP55 comprises a plurality of cutouts or curved slots 75 for receiving tabs or anchoring hooks 135 associated with the lighting module or illuminating device LM120, as otherwise, the system cannot normally operate.
Although Allen discloses the majority of Applicant’s claimed elements, he does not explicitly disclose specifics regarding the motor structure. Further, he is silent as to the fact that the turret being adapted to form a bayonet mount and/or provides a housing for a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) and/or windings of the stator terminate directly to the PCBA via a loom and plug.
Nonetheless, the use of a bayonet connection in lighting assemblies and/or ceiling fans is well-known in the art, as taught by Walker.
Walker in the same field of endeavor teaches a connector assembly, which includes a receptacle connector and a plug connector assembly (see Abstract).
Walker, in Paragraph [0036], explicitly teaches that: The installation of the entire fixture or ceiling fan is therefore accomplished as follows. It should be under stood that a hanging bracket is included for mounting adjacent to or over the junction box and receptacle connector 4 for mounting the fixture and that the mounting bracket will require a proper orientation relative to the fixture. It is anticipated that the fixture itself will be polarized relative to the hanging bracket, and will rotate into a locked position, in a bayonet/locking lug style connection. Thus, the corresponding mounting elements on the lighting fixture or ceiling fan will cooperate with the orientation of the mounting bracket. It should be appreciated also that the connector assemblies 4, 6 will be appropriately oriented that when the lighting fixture is properly aligned vis-a-vis the mounting brackets, the mating connectors 4, 10 must also be properly polarized. This prevents the occurrence where the user, somehow in preparing to assemble and install the fixture or fan assembly, misaligns the receptacle connector assembly. Thus, in the present invention, the receptacle connector is always spring-loaded to the home position, where the bracket and fixture are properly aligned. This allows the installer to move the fixture into the mounting bracket, whereby both the fixture/bracket and mating connectors 4, 10 are polarized. The fixture is thereafter rotated, to lock the fixture to its associated bracket. As the connector is rotatable, the fixture is rotated relative to the connector, which remains fixed, and the fixture is locked in place. If the fixture must be taken down, the connector returns to its home position, where it again is polarized.
However, most importantly in Walker is his idea of utilizing the bayonet/locking lug style connection.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made to combine the teaching of using a bayonet or locking lug style connection, as taught by Walker, with the ceiling fan of Allen, in order to further simplify and improve the assembly/disassembly process and thereby maximizing the production efficiency.
Although the combination of Allen/ Walker discloses the vast majority of Applicant’s claimed elements, it is still silent as to the motor structure and/or to the fact that the turret provides a housing for a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA).
Yang in the same field of endeavor teaches an easily disassemble separate ceiling fan switch box structure which makes the upper cover and the lower housing body of the switch box locked and joined (see Abstract).
Further, in Abstract, Yang expressly states that “an annular or frame-shaped PC board can also be installed in the inner part of the lower housing body to allow the said elements and their wire distribution receptacle to be directly installed thereon, hereby making the ceiling fan switch box structure simplified and compact for convenient disassembly or assembly.”
Furthermore, in column 3 lines 10-31, Yang specifies: Shown in FIGS. 3 and 4 are views of another embodiment of the invention, wherein several positioning plates (23) are provided on the inner circumference of the lower housing body (2). A screw (24) locks an annular PC board (7), on which predesigned circuit conducting connection circuits are provided, to directly connect the related elements such as switch device, capacitor etc. Further the said wire distribution receptacle (5) is also directly coupled on board (7) thereby forming an integral arrangement. Further, a wire distribution receptacle (3) is provided in the inner part of the upper cover (1). During assembly said wire distribution receptacle (3) can directly and mutually couple with the wire distribution receptacle (5) provided on the PC board (7) according to the set relationship thereby forming a complete control circuit (as shown in FIG. 4).
In FIG. 5 is another embodiment of this structure wherein a frame-type PC board is locked in the same manner as said above in the inner part of the lower housing body (2). The action of said frame-type PC board (8) is identical to that of the above-said annular PC board (7).
Still further, in column 3 lined 35-38, Yang especially notes that: The joining device between the upper cover (1) and the lower housing body (2) employs the rotatable rabbeting way (actually, a bayonet slot).
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made to combine the teaching of using a housing for a printed circuit board assembly, as taught by Yang, with the ceiling fan of Allen/ Walker, as part of an obvious combination of known prior art structures, in this case the use of a circuit board, to achieve predictable results, in this case, to control an airflow through the system. See KSR; MPEP 2141 III A.
Thus modified, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably appraised that a turret would be further adapted to further form a bayonet mount with the lighting module and/or the turret would be further providing a housing for a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA), as instantly claimed.
Furthermore, it’s a well-established fact that the motor comprising a stator including windings connected to the circuit board.
As an evidentiary reference, please see Erdman (US 4005347 A) which particularly demonstrates: A logic circuit comprising NOR gates and transistor switches and drivers activated in response to signals from the shaft position sensors are utilized to control current switching in the stator windings of the motor (see Abstract).
Erdman, in column 8 lines 15-28, teaches that: Commutation of the stator windings is achieved by means of a solid control circuit 70 comprising NOR gates and transistor switches and drivers activated in response to signals from the shaft position sensors. The circuit may be of the type illustrated in FIGS. 6 and 7 where a star winding configuration is employed or of the type illustrated in FIGS. 7, 9 and 10 where a bridge arrangement is employed.
As best seen in annotated Figure 1, Erdman explicitly exhibits as how windings of the stator terminate directly to the control circuit 70.
As such, the Examiner must assert that the windings of the stator terminate directly to the PCBA via a loom and plug, otherwise, the system cannot normally operate.
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim,
but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of
the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 11, the prior art of record does not teach a fan having all the limitations of claims 10 and 11, but more specifically wherein the PCBA comprises an infra- red receiver, and a reflector is located between a lens and a mounting plate of the lighting module, wherein the reflector is adapted to allow control signals from an infra-red transmitter to pass through to the infra-red receiver.
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant's arguments filed 08/25/2025 have been fully considered but they are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection. Further, the Examiner notes that the newly applied reference addresses the applicant's arguments as set forth in the above rejections.
Conclusion
10. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/CHARLES G FREAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/L.P/Examiner, Art Unit 3746