DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed 6/5/2025.
Claim 1 is amended.
Claims 3, 6, and 10-17 are cancelled.
Claim 25 is newly added.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-9, and 18-25 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant' s arguments, see pages 6-7, filed 6/5/2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-9, 16-18, and 20-21 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kannisto in view of Moldoveanu have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Applicant has amended claim 1 to include the limitation “the pouched composition comprising one or more cellulosic ether in an amount of about 1% by weight to about 5% by weight.” The prior art of record fails to disclose such a limitation. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly cited prior art.
Applicant's arguments filed 6/5/2025 regarding the combination of Kannisto and Duignan have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. While the Examiner has addressed Applicant’s arguments in the Advisory Action dated 6/20/2025, a copy of the arguments are furnished below for convenience.
Applicant argues that one of skill in the art would not be motivated to combine Kannisto, which is directed to a pouched product, with Duignan, which is directed to a chew product (p. 7).
The Examiner has noted Applicant's argument but finds it unpersuasive. The Examiner asserts that Applicant's distinction between pouched products and chew products is untenable because Duignan specifically discloses that the chew products can be placed in pouches ([0022], [0028], [0071]-[0073]; see also Fig. 5A). Thus, both Duignan and Kannisto similarly disclose pouched oral products. Moreover, the Examiner maintains the position that one of skill in the art would be motivated to use Duignan's pH stabilizer/adjuster to adjust the pH to better suit the product ([0059]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-9, 18, 20-21, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kannisto et al. (US 2020/0297026; of record) in view of Moldoveanu et al. (US 2015/0068545; of record) and Stahl et al. (US 2021/0307375).
Regarding claims 1-2, 4-5, and 25, Kannisto discloses an oral pouched nicotine product comprising a moist filling material (“pouched composition”) and a saliva-permeable pouch (“pouch”) (abstract) comprising:
about 30% to about 80% by weight of a particulate non-tobacco material ([0057], [0074]) which may comprise cellulose ([0076]) (“cellulosic fillers” and “particulate filler comprises a cellulose material” overlapping the claimed range of “about 10% by weight to about 40% by weight”),
a nicotine source ([0057]); “active ingredient,” “nicotine component” “stimulant” (see [0015])),
a non-encapsulated non-particulate flavoring agent ([0057]; “one or more flavoring agents”), and
about 1.0% to about 10% w/w of a salt ([0107]-[0108]; overlapping the claimed range of “about 3% to about 4.5%” and “about 3.5% to about 4.0%”),
wherein oral pouched nicotine product may be free from tobacco (i.e., an oral pouched nicotine non-tobacco product) ([0057]), and
wherein water is added to the moist filling material ([0023]; with no added oven volatiles such as propylene glycol) such that the moist filling material has a moisture content within the range of from about 10% to about 60% by weight, such as from about 40% to about 60% by weight ([0062]), wherein moisture content includes water ([0031]) (“water content of at least 30%”).
In a specific example, Kannisto discloses a moist filling material comprising 39% microcrystalline cellulose, 3% nicotine bitartrate dihydrate, 1.0% flavor containing limonene and linalyl acetate, 3.5% sodium chloride, and 51% water (Sample 1, Table 1; also contains no tobacco material).
However, Kannisto is silent as to at least one sweetener present in an amount of about 0.1% to about 5% by weight.
Moldoveanu teaches a smokeless tobacco product (abstract) which includes a tobacco formulation contained in a water permeable pouch ([0008]), wherein it is known in the art that exemplary flavorants can act to alter the bitterness, sweetness, sourness or saltiness of the smokeless tobacco product ([0094]), wherein flavorants include salts (e.g., sodium chloride), natural sweeteners or artificial sweeteners, and mixtures thereof ([0094]), wherein combinations of flavorants often sued include 0.1 to about 2 dry weight percent of an artificial sweetener, 0.5 to about 8 dry weight percent of a salt such as sodium chloride, and about 1 to about 5 dry weight percent of an additional flavoring ([0094]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added 0.1 to about 2 dry weight percent of an artificial sweetener as in Moldoveanu to Kannisto’s moist filling material in order to alter/enhance the sweetness of the oral product (Moldoveanu; [0094]).
Regarding the claim limitation “ a sweetener being present in an amount of about 0.1% to about 5% by weight based on the total weight of the pouched composition,” The Examiner notes that adding 0.1 to about 2 dry weight percent of artificial sweetener to Sample 1 would result in an oral product that has about 0.05 to 1 percent of artificial sweetener after accounting for the 51% weight of water. Thus, the added artificial sweetener would overlap the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Moreover, Kannisto further discloses that humectants are added during mixing on the components ([0168]).
However, modified Kannisto is silent as to the pouched composition comprising one or more cellulosic ether in an amount of about 1% by weight to about 5% by weight, or where the one or more cellulosic ether comprises methyl cellulose, hydroxypropyl cellulose (HPC), hydroxypropylmethylcellulose (HPMC), hydroxyethyl cellulose, or carboxymethylcellulose (CMC).
Stahl teaches a nicotine pouch composition (abstract), wherein the pouch composition further comprises a humectant ([0152]) selected from hydroxypropyl cellulose ([0153]; “cellulosic ether” and “HPC”), the humectant is in an amount of such as 1-3% by weight of the pouch composition ([0154]; within the claimed range of “about 1% by weight to about 5% by weight”), wherein the humectant acts to attract and retain water in the oral cavity during use and additionally moderates the release of nicotine, e.g., facilitates the sustained release of nicotine ([0155]; see also [0241]).
It would have been obvious to said skilled artisan to have modified Kannisto’s humectant to be hydroxypropyl cellulose in an amount such as 1-3% by weight of the pouch composition as in Stahl in order to obtain the predictable and beneficial result of additionally facilitating the sustained release of nicotine (Stahl; [0155]).
Regarding claims 7-9, modified Kannisto discloses the flavor contains limonene (Example 1; Table 1). One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that limonene has a carbon-carbon bond, and is a monoterpene.
Regarding claim 18, modified Kannisto discloses the oral pouched nicotine product further comprises a pH adjusting agent ([0057]).
Regarding claim 20, modified Kannisto discloses the artificial sweeteners include sucralose, saccharin, aspartame, acesulfame K, neotame, and the like (Moldoveanu; [0094]).
Regarding claim 21, modified Kannisto discloses 3% nicotine bitartrate dihydrate (Sample 1; Table 1).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kannisto et al. in view of Moldoveanu et al. as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Cheng et al. (US 2009/0022856; of record).
Regarding claim 19, modified Kannisto discloses the oral composition as discussed above with respect to claim 18, wherein the flavoring agent can include sweeteners (Moldoveanu; [0094]).
However, modified Kannisto is silent as to one or more binding agents comprising a natural gum binder.
Cheng teaches an oral pouch product including an immobilized flavorant (abstract) comprising one or more natural or modified starches or polysaccharides, such as gum Arabic and other ingredients, such as sweeteners present in an range of preferably about 4 wt% to about 6 wt% in order to contribute to the overall solubility of the immobilizing matrix thereby helping to regulate and the rate of degradation of the immobilizing matrix and thus the release of flavorant from the oral pouch product (para. 33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the composition of modified Kannisto to include gum Arabic as in Cheng in order to obtain the predictable result of forming an immobilizing matrix to desirably control the degradation rate of the immobilizing matrix and thus the rate of release of flavorant from the oral pouch product (Cheng; para. 33).
Claims 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kannisto et al. in view of Moldoveanu et al. as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Duignan et al. (US 2021/0195937; of record).
Regarding claims 22-24, modified Kannisto discloses the oral composition as discussed above with respect to claim 21, including a pH adjusting agent ([0057]) including sodium carbonate or sodium bicarbonate ([0101]).
However modified Kannisto is silent as to further comprising an aryl or carboxylic acid in the amount of up to about 10% by weight; wherein the aryl or carboxylic acid is benzoic acid.
Duignan teaches a smokeless product containing or more non-tobacco plant material (abstract) wherein a pH stabilizer or pH adjuster (22, 24) may be acetic acid, benzoic acid, sodium carbonate, sodium bicarbonate, and mixture thereof (para. 59), wherein the pH stabilizer or pH adjuster includes about 0.5-4 % of the total weight (para. 59).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted modified Kannisto’s pH adjusting agent (e.g., sodium carbonate or sodium bicarbonate) for Duignan’s pH stabilizer or pH adjuster in the form of acetic acid or benzoic acid because (a) substituting equivalents known for the same purpose is obvious (see MPEP 2144.06(I), and (b) such a modification would allow the pH of the solution to be maintained over a shelf life along with changing the pH to better suit the product (Duigan; para. 59).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-9, 18-19, and 25 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of copending Application No. 17/836771 in view of Moldoveanu et al. (US 2015/0068545; of record) and Stahl et al. (US 2021/0307375).
Regarding claims 1 and 25, the copending application recites an oral composition configured for oral use (claim 1), wherein the composition is enclosed in a pouch to form a pouched composition (claim 15) comprising a filler (claim 1), wherein the filler is in the form of a particulate filler (claim 16), wherein the particulate filler comprises a cellulose material, a cellulose derivative, and combinations thereof (claim 17), an active ingredient (claim 1), one or more flavoring agents (claim 6), one or more sweeteners (claim 18), and a salt, the salt being present in an amount of about 3% to about 4.5% by weight based on the total weight of the composition (claim 1), wherein the composition is substantially free of a tobacco material (claim 14), and wherein the composition has a water content of at least about 30% by weight based on the total weight of the composition (claim 3).
While the copending application recites the genus of cellulose derivatives, the copending application does not recite the species cellulosic ether in an amount of about 1% by weight to about 5% by weight or that the one or more cellulosic ether comprises methyl cellulose, hydroxypropyl cellulose (HPC), hydroxypropylmethylcellulose (HPMC), hydroxyethyl cellulose, or carboxymethylcellulose (CMC).
Stahl teaches a nicotine pouch composition (abstract), wherein the pouch composition further comprises a humectant ([0152]) selected from hydroxypropyl cellulose ([0153]; “cellulosic ether” and “HPC”), the humectant is in an amount of such as 1-3% by weight of the pouch composition ([0154]; within the claimed range of “about 1% by weight to about 5% by weight”), wherein the humectant acts to attract and retain water in the oral cavity during use and additionally moderates the release of nicotine, e.g., facilitates the sustained release of nicotine ([0155]; see also [0241]).
It would have been obvious to said skilled artisan to have modified the copending application’s composition to be hydroxypropyl cellulose in an amount such as 1-3% by weight of the pouch composition as in Stahl in order to obtain the predictable and beneficial result of additionally facilitating the sustained release of nicotine (Stahl; [0155]).
Moreover, the copending application does not recite the at least one sweetener being present in an amount of about 0.1% to about 5% by weight.
Moldoveanu teaches a smokeless tobacco product (abstract) which includes a tobacco formulation contained in a water permeable pouch ([0008]), wherein it is known in the art that exemplary flavorants can act to alter the bitterness, sweetness, sourness or saltiness of the smokeless tobacco product ([0094]), wherein flavorants include salts (e.g., sodium chloride), natural sweeteners or artificial sweeteners, and mixtures thereof ([0094]), wherein combinations of flavorants often sued include 0.1 to about 2 dry weight percent of an artificial sweetener, 0.5 to about 8 dry weight percent of a salt such as sodium chloride, and about 1 to about 5 dry weight percent of an additional flavoring ([0094]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added 0.1 to about 2 dry weight percent of an artificial sweetener as in Moldoveanu to the copending application’s composition in order to alter/enhance the sweetness of the oral product (Moldoveanu; [0094]).
Regarding claim 2, the copending application recites wherein the salt is present in an amount of about 3.5% to about 4.0% by weight based on the total weight of the composition (claim 2).
Regarding claim 4, the copending application recites wherein the composition has a water content of at least about 40% by weight based on the total weight of the composition (claim 4).
Regarding claim 5, the copending application recites wherein the active ingredient is selected from the group consisting of a nicotine component, botanicals, stimulants, amino acids, vitamins, cannabinoids, cannabimimetics, terpenes, nutraceuticals, and combinations thereof (claim 5).
Regarding claim 7, the copending application recites wherein the one or more flavoring agents comprises a compound having a carbon-carbon double bond, a carbon-oxygen double bond, or both (claim 7).
Regarding claim 8, the copending application recites wherein the one or more flavoring agents comprises one or more aldehydes, ketones, esters, terpenes, terpenoids, trigeminal sensates, or combinations thereof (claim 8).
Regarding claim 9, the copending application recites wherein the one or more flavoring agents comprises one or more of ethyl vanillan, cinnamaldehyde, sabinene, limonene, gamma- terpinene, beta-farnesene, and citral (claim 9).
Regarding claim 18, the copending application recites wherein the composition further comprises one or more sweeteners, one or more binding agents, one or more humectants, one or more organic acids, one or more gums, one or more buffering agents and/or pH adjusters, and combinations thereof (claim 18).
Regarding claim 19, the copending application recites wherein the one or more binding agents comprises a natural gum binder (claim 19).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/SONNY V NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755