DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 14-19, 21-24, 26-31, and 33-36 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues: Pogorelik does not include background signal transmission activity that is not responsive to input data.
Examiner response: Examiner respectfully disagrees. Pogorelik discloses randomly firing neurons (i.e., background transmission activity) without needing the input data (para [0397] “Accordingly, the present disclosure provides an inference system that enables efficient activation without requiring computation to be done on the input data during inference time, leading to a data agnostic system.” Para [0402] “The remining (second parameter−first parameter) activation percent may be fulfilled by randomly firing the required number of neurons. This method can enable efficient activations, yet no computation is done during inference time on the data itself (hence data agnostic).”). Arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant argues: Pogorelik’s random firing nodes do not introduce a degree of variability into transmissions of information between deterministically defined nodes.
Examiner response: Examiner respectfully disagrees. Randomly firing a neuron introduces a degree of variability as it is not known whether the neuron will transmit a signal or not, therefore the transmissions between the nodes have a degree of variability. Arguments are not persuasive.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-19, 21-23, and 33 are allowed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“an output configured to” in claim 1.
“an output configured to” in claim 14.
“an output configured to” in claim 24.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Sufficient structural support and corresponding function appears to be supported on pg. 10 lines 10-16, pg. 11 lines 16-27, and pg. 25 lines 28-30 of Applicant’s specification filed 12/11/2019.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rawal et al. (US-20190180187-A1) in view of Pogorelik et al. (US-20210319098-A1) and Hoffmann (US-20190286074-A1).
Regarding Claim 1,
Rawal teaches a system comprising:
a plurality of nodes and links arranged in a trained recurrent artificial neural network (para [0132] “For example in case of recurrent networks, the training time would be cut down to one validation loss instead of 40th.”), wherein during inference the trained recurrent artificial neural network is configured to transmit information between individual nodes in response to an input of new input data into one or more layers of nodes that are distributed throughout the trained recurrent artificial neural network (para “As illustrated in FIG. 10C, a recurrent node usually has two types of outputs. The first output is the main recurrent output at a given time, represented as h(t) and the second output is a native memory cell output at a given time c(t). The value of h(t) is weighted and fed (propagated) to three locations: (1) to a higher layer of the network at the same time step (e.g., RNN layer 2), (2) to other nodes in the network (e.g., RNN layer 1) at the next time step, and (3) to the node itself at the next time step. Before propagation, h(t) is combined with weighted activations from the previous layer, such as input word embeddings in language modeling, to generate eight node inputs (termed as base eight by Zoph et al.).”), wherein
i) the plurality of nodes and links arranged in the trained recurrent artificial neural network (para [0130] “Standard recurrent networks consist of layers formed by repetition of a single type of node.” And para [0132] “In both node and network architecture search, it can about two hours to fully train a network until 40 epochs.” Network is trained.) are deterministically defined (para [0060] “The fully-connected neural network module 4 has the following local topology hyperparameters—number of neurons in each neuron layer, number of neuron layers (e.g., L1, L2, Ln), and interconnections and interconnection weights between the neurons.” Number of neurons (i.e. nodes) and interconnections (i.e. links) are predefined in the hyperparameter (i.e. deterministic).), and
Rawal does not explicitly disclose
ii) the trained recurrent artificial neural network includes background signal transmission activity that is not responsive to the input of the new input data into the one or more layers of nodes that are distributed throughout the trained recurrent artificial neural network, wherein the background signal transmission activity is present prior to the input of the new input data in an absence of the new input data, wherein the background signal transmission activity introduces a degree of variability into transmissions of information between the deterministically defined nodes and causes either transmissions of information along the deterministically-defined links to be non-deterministic or decisions at the deterministically-defined nodes to be non- deterministic; and
an output configured to output indications of occurrences of topological patterns of signal transmission activity in the trained recurrent artificial neural network that are responsive to new input data, wherein the topological patterns represent a result of information processing by the trained recurrent artificial neural network in response to the new input data and the output indications are non-deterministic.
However, Pogorelik (US 20210319098 A1) teaches
ii) the trained recurrent artificial neural network (para [0402] “Also, this method may be applied post-hoc to already trained models and doesn't require fine tuning.” And para [0561] discloses the embodiments may be applied to a recurrent neural network.) includes background signal transmission activity that is not responsive to the input of the new input data into the one or more layers of nodes that are distributed throughout the trained recurrent artificial neural network (para [0402] “For inference at runtime, circuitry 6210 may execute instructions 6228 to analyze the activation statistics 6223. The actual activation operation at inference time may be composed of passing all neurons that are in the corresponding saved locations map (e.g., activation maps 6231) for the processed layer. The remining (second parameter−first parameter) activation percent may be fulfilled by randomly firing the required number of neurons.”), wherein the background signal transmission activity is present prior to the input of the new input data in an absence of the new input data (para [0397] “Accordingly, the present disclosure provides an inference system that enables efficient activation without requiring computation to be done on the input data during inference time, leading to a data agnostic system.”), wherein the background signal transmission activity introduces a degree of variability into transmissions of information between the deterministically defined nodes (para [0324] “In general, nodes 4891 receive input(s) via connections 4893 and derive an output based on an activation function. Any of a variety of activation functions (e.g., identity, binary step, tangent, arc-tangent, sigmoid, logistic or soft sigmoid, gaussian, or the like) can be used.” The nodes are deterministically defined by an activation function.) and causes either transmissions of information along the deterministically-defined links to be non-deterministic or decisions at the deterministically-defined nodes to be non-deterministic (para [0402] “The remining (second parameter−first parameter) activation percent may be fulfilled by randomly firing the required number of neurons.” Decision to randomly fire (i.e. non-deterministic transmission of information).); and
…wherein the topological patterns represent a result of information processing by the trained recurrent artificial neural network in response to the input data (para [0400] “For example, first, circuitry 6210 can execute instructions 6228 to take inference model 6222 (e.g., a trained deep neural network (DNN) model) and the input data 6224 (e.g., a training dataset with samples) and initializing an empty activation matrix 6229 that corresponds with each output feature map 6225 for all the layers. Typically, each training sample in the input data 6224 may be forward-propagated while all the activations for all the layers are accumulated in the corresponding activation matrix 6229 to produce activation maps 6231. In various examples, activation statistics 6223 may include the completed activation matrices 6229 and/or activation maps.” Activation map (i.e. topological pattern).) and the output indications are non-deterministic (para [0402] randomly firing neurons (i.e. non-deterministic).).
Rawal and Pogorelik are analogous because they are both directed to the same field of endeavor of neural networks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the neural network of Hoffmann with the random activations of Pogorelik.
Doing so would allow for efficient activations requiring little overhead storage while preserving accuracy and may run orders of magnitude faster than approximation-based activations (Pogorelik para [0402]).
Hoffmann teaches
an output configured to output indications of occurrences of topological patterns of signal transmission activity in the trained recurrent artificial neural network that are responsive to new input data (para [0063] describes firing neurons (i.e. signal transmission activity) resulting in a pattern of activated neurons.), wherein the topological patterns represent a result of information processing by the trained recurrent artificial neural network in response to the new input data (para [0059] “As a preparatory step, signatures of known objects are stored in a database for later use For identification, a new signature of an object is presented, which is processed 306 to generate neural activation patterns 308 using, for example, a neural network with Gaussian activations functions (tuning curves as described below) to map the input data provided in several real-valued variables onto binary neural activation patterns.” Activation pattern (i.e. output configured to output indications of topological patterns).) and the output indications are non-deterministic (para [0063] “With a given probability, p.sub.S, e.g., p.sub.S=0.1, a directed connection is formed from an active neuron 600 in the input layer 400 to a hidden neuron 402: for each pair of active neuron and element in the set of h hidden neurons, a connection 602 is formed if a uniform random number in the interval [0,1) is smaller than p.sub.S.” random (i.e., non-deterministic.).
Rawal and Hoffmann are analogous because they are directed towards the field of recurrent neural networks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the RNN of Rawal with the method of storing topological activation patterns of Hoffmann.
Doing so would allow for efficiently storing and retrieving neural network activation patterns for object recognition tasks (Hoffmann para [0069]).
Regarding Claim 2,
Hoffmann, Rawal, and Pogorelik teach the system of claim 1. Hoffman further teaches wherein decision thresholds of the nodes have a degree of randomness (para [0063] With a given probability, p.sub.S, e.g., p.sub.S=0.1, a directed connection is formed from an active neuron 600 in the input layer 400 to a hidden neuron 402: for each pair of active neuron and element in the set of h hidden neurons, a connection 602 is formed if a uniform random number in the interval [0,1) is smaller than p.sub.S. A connection is formed between neurons (i.e. nodes) if a random number is less than a threshold.).
Rawal and Hoffmann are analogous because they are both directed to the same field of endeavor of neural networks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the neural network of Hoffmann with the random activations of Pogorelik.
Doing so would allow for efficient activations requiring little overhead storage while preserving accuracy and may run orders of magnitude faster than approximation-based activations (Pogorelik para [0402]).
Regarding Claim 6,
Rawal, Pogorelik, and Hoffmann teach the system of claim 1. Hoffmann further teaches comprising an application trained to process the indications of the occurrences of topological patterns of signal transmission activity (para [0059] For identification, a new signature of an object is presented, which is processed 306 to generate neural activation patterns 308 using, for example, a neural network with Gaussian activations functions (tuning curves as described below) to map the input data provided in several real-valued variables onto binary neural activation patterns.),
Rawal, Pogorelik, and Hoffmann are analogous because they are both directed to the same field of endeavor of neural networks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the neural network of Hoffmann with the random activations of Pogorelik.
Doing so would allow for efficient activations requiring little overhead storage while preserving accuracy and may run orders of magnitude faster than approximation-based activations (Pogorelik para [0402]).
Pogorelik further teaches
an application trained to process the indications of the occurrences of topological patterns of signal transmission activity (para [0244] Discloses that the inference model (i.e. application) is used to process activation maps/network activations maps which indicates patterns of signal transmission activity. para [0400] “For example, first, circuitry 6210 can execute instructions 6228 to take inference model 6222 (e.g., a trained deep neural network (DNN) model) and the input data 6224 (e.g., a training dataset with samples) and initializing an empty activation matrix 6229 that corresponds with each output feature map 6225 for all the layers. Typically, each training sample in the input data 6224 may be forward-propagated while all the activations for all the layers are accumulated in the corresponding activation matrix 6229 to produce activation maps 6231. In various examples, activation statistics 6223 may include the completed activation matrices 6229 and/or activation maps.” Activation map (i.e. topological pattern).),
wherein the application is trained using the non-deterministic output indications from the trained recurrent artificial neural network (para [0413] The present disclosure provides using additional inference models (referred to as “adversarial models” or “adversaries”) during training where the main inference model is trained based on feedback from the adversarial models. The main inference model (i.e. application) is trained based on the feedback resulting from the non-deterministic outputs of the adversarial models (i.e. trained recurrent neural network). para [0400]-[0401] The inference model randomly fires its neuron creating a non-deterministic output. The main inference model (i.e. application) is trained using the adversarial model which has non-deterministic outputs (i.e. trained recurrent neural network).).
Rawal, Pogorelik, and Hoffmann are analogous because they are both directed to the same field of endeavor of neural networks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the machine learning model of Hoffmann with the adversarial networks of Pogorelik.
Doing so would allow for hardening the neural network by creating adversarial inputs designed to “fool” the neural network. This would allow for the network to recognize such attacks making the neural network more resilient to malicious input (Pogorelik para [0098]).
Regarding Claim 24,
Rawal teaches a system comprising:
a plurality of deterministically defined nodes and deterministically defined links arranged in a trained recurrent artificial neural network (para [0130] “Standard recurrent networks consist of layers formed by repetition of a single type of node.” And para [0132] “In both node and network architecture search, it can about two hours to fully train a network until 40 epochs.” Network is trained.) are deterministically defined (para [0060] “The fully-connected neural network module 4 has the following local topology hyperparameters—number of neurons in each neuron layer, number of neuron layers (e.g., L1, L2, Ln), and interconnections and interconnection weights between the neurons.” Number of neurons (i.e. nodes) and interconnections (i.e. links) are predefined in the hyperparameter (i.e. deterministic).), wherein during inference the trained recurrent artificial neural network (para [0132] “For example in case of recurrent networks, the training time would be cut down to one validation loss instead of 40th.”) is configured to transmit information between individual nodes in response to an input of new input data into the trained recurrent artificial neural network (para “As illustrated in FIG. 10C, a recurrent node usually has two types of outputs. The first output is the main recurrent output at a given time, represented as h(t) and the second output is a native memory cell output at a given time c(t). The value of h(t) is weighted and fed (propagated) to three locations: (1) to a higher layer of the network at the same time step (e.g., RNN layer 2), (2) to other nodes in the network (e.g., RNN layer 1) at the next time step, and (3) to the node itself at the next time step. Before propagation, h(t) is combined with weighted activations from the previous layer, such as input word embeddings in language modeling, to generate eight node inputs (termed as base eight by Zoph et al.).”) and
Rawal does not explicitly disclose
the trained recurrent artificial neural network includes background signal transmission activity (para [0402] “For inference at runtime, circuitry 6210 may execute instructions 6228 to analyze the activation statistics 6223. The actual activation operation at inference time may be composed of passing all neurons that are in the corresponding saved locations map (e.g., activation maps 6231) for the processed layer. The remining (second parameter−first parameter) activation percent may be fulfilled by randomly firing the required number of neurons.”) that is not responsive to the input of the new input data and is present in the trained recurrent artificial neural network prior to the input of the new input data in the absence of the new input data, wherein the background signal transmission activity introduces a degree of variability into transmissions of information between the deterministically defined nodes and causes either transmissions of information along the deterministically-defined links to be non-deterministic or decisions at the deterministically-defined nodes to be non-deterministic; and
an output configured to output indications of occurrences of topological patterns of signal transmission activity in the trained recurrent artificial neural network that are responsive to new input data, wherein the topological patterns represent a result of information processing by the trained recurrent artificial neural network in response to the new input data and the output indications are non-deterministic.
However, Pogorelik (US 20210319098 A1) teaches
the trained recurrent artificial neural network (para [0402] “Also, this method may be applied post-hoc to already trained models and doesn't require fine tuning.” And para [0561] discloses the embodiments may be applied to a recurrent neural network.) includes background signal transmission activity that is not responsive to the input of the new input data and is present in the trained recurrent artificial neural network prior to the input of the new input data in the absence of the new input data (para [0397] “Accordingly, the present disclosure provides an inference system that enables efficient activation without requiring computation to be done on the input data during inference time, leading to a data agnostic system.”), wherein the background signal transmission activity introduces a degree of variability into transmissions of information between the deterministically defined nodes (para [0324] “In general, nodes 4891 receive input(s) via connections 4893 and derive an output based on an activation function. Any of a variety of activation functions (e.g., identity, binary step, tangent, arc-tangent, sigmoid, logistic or soft sigmoid, gaussian, or the like) can be used.” The nodes are deterministically defined by an activation function.) and causes either transmissions of information along the deterministically-defined links to be non-deterministic or decisions at the deterministically-defined nodes to be non-deterministic (para [0402] “The remining (second parameter−first parameter) activation percent may be fulfilled by randomly firing the required number of neurons.” Decision to randomly fire (i.e. non-deterministic transmission of information).);
Rawal and Pogorelik are analogous because they are both directed to the same field of endeavor of neural networks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the neural network of Hoffmann with the random activations of Pogorelik.
Doing so would allow for efficient activations requiring little overhead storage while preserving accuracy and may run orders of magnitude faster than approximation-based activations (Pogorelik para [0402]).
Hoffmann teaches
an output configured to output indications of occurrences of topological patterns of signal transmission activity in the trained recurrent artificial neural network that are responsive to new input data (para [0063] describes firing neurons (i.e. signal transmission activity) resulting in a pattern of activated neurons.), wherein the topological patterns represent a result of information processing by the trained recurrent artificial neural network in response to the new input data (para [0059] “As a preparatory step, signatures of known objects are stored in a database for later use For identification, a new signature of an object is presented, which is processed 306 to generate neural activation patterns 308 using, for example, a neural network with Gaussian activations functions (tuning curves as described below) to map the input data provided in several real-valued variables onto binary neural activation patterns.” Activation pattern (i.e. output configured to output indications of topological patterns).) and the output indications are non-deterministic (para [0063] “With a given probability, p.sub.S, e.g., p.sub.S=0.1, a directed connection is formed from an active neuron 600 in the input layer 400 to a hidden neuron 402: for each pair of active neuron and element in the set of h hidden neurons, a connection 602 is formed if a uniform random number in the interval [0,1) is smaller than p.sub.S.” random (i.e., non-deterministic.).
Rawal and Hoffmann are analogous because they are directed towards the field of recurrent neural networks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the RNN of Rawal with the method of storing topological activation patterns of Hoffmann.
Doing so would allow for efficiently storing and retrieving neural network activation patterns for object recognition tasks (Hoffmann para [0069]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Rawal/Pogorelik/Hoffmann, as applied above, and further in view of Paik et al. (US-20180197076-A1).
Regarding Claim 4,
Rawal, Pogorelik, and Hoffmann teach the system of claim 1.
Rawal, Pogorelik, and Hoffmann do not explicitly disclose
wherein either a timing of signal arrival at a destination node or a signal amplitude at the destination node has the degree of randomness.
Paik (US 20180197076 A1) teaches
wherein either a timing of signal arrival at a destination node or a signal amplitude at the destination node has the degree of randomness (para [0060] “Initially, all of the input neurons form a temporal pattern with a predetermined length, for example, 100 ms, such that every input neuron fires once with a random timing.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the neural network of Rawal, Pogorelik, and Hoffmann with the neuron spikes of Paik
Doing so would allow for measuring memory efficiency of the neural network (Paik para [0060]).
Claims 5 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Hoffmann/Rawal/Pogorelik, as applied above, and further in view of Hoffmann et al. (US-9336239-B1; hereinafter Hoffmann2).
Regarding Claim 5,
Rawal, Pogorelik, and Hoffmann teach the system of claim 1.
Rawal, Pogorelik, and Hoffmann do not explicitly disclose
wherein at least some pairs of nodes are linked by multiple links.
However, Hoffmann2 teaches
wherein at least some pairs of nodes are linked by multiple links (col. 8 lines 46-50; “FIG. 3B depicts a realization of a MagicNet in a neural network of two layers: an input layer and an output layer. The connections between input and output neurons have variable delays, and, as in this example, multiple connections are allowed between two neurons. For each element in the alphabet of an input stream, the network has one input neuron. To store a new pattern, a new output neuron is added and connections to this neuron are created and their delays set depending on the sequence of characters within the pattern.” Figure 3B shows multiple connections between a pair of nodes.).
Rawal, Pogorelik, Hoffmann, and Hoffmann2 are analogous because they are directed to the same field of endeavor of neural networks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of Hoffmann with the neural network connections of Hoffmann2.
Doing so would allow for improvements in power usage through implementing neuromorphic hardware, such as use of physical connections instead of multiplexed connections (Hoffmann2 col. 12 lines 51-57;)
Regarding Claim 26,
Rawal, Pogorelik, and Hoffmann teach the system of claim 24.
Rawal, Pogorelik, and Hoffmann do not explicitly disclose
wherein at least some pairs of nodes are linked by multiple connections from a source node to a destination node.
However, Hoffmann2 teaches
wherein at least some pairs of nodes are linked by multiple connections from a source node to a destination node (col. 8 lines 46-50; “FIG. 3B depicts a realization of a MagicNet in a neural network of two layers: an input layer and an output layer. The connections between input and output neurons have variable delays, and, as in this example, multiple connections are allowed between two neurons.”);
Rawal, Pogorelik, Hoffmann, and Hoffmann2 are analogous because they are directed to the same field of endeavor of neural networks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of Rawal, Pogorelik, and Hoffmann with the neural network connections of Hoffmann2.
Doing so would allow for improvements in power usage through implementing neuromorphic hardware, one would expect that optimizations, such as use of physical connections instead of multiplexed connections (Hoffmann2 col. 12 lines 51-57;)
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Rawal/Pogorelik/Hoffmann/Hoffmann2, as applied above, and further in view of Nugent et al. (US-20090043722-A1).
Regarding Claim 27,
Rawal, Pogorelik, Hoffmann, and Hoffmann2 teach the system of claim 26. Hoffmann, Rawal, Pogorelik, Hoffmann, and Hoffmann2 do not explicitly disclose
wherein the multiple connections comprise between 3 and 10 links excitatory links.
However, Nugent teaches
wherein the multiple connections comprise between 3 and 10 excitatory links (para [0184] “For example, connections 1914, 1923, 1936, 1945, 1951, and 1962 are excitatory, and connections 1912, 1934, 1956, and 1961 are inhibitory.” There are 6 excitatory connections connection nodes 1910 and 1940.).
Rawal, Pogorelik, Hoffmann, Hoffmann2, and Nugent are analogous because they are directed to the same field of endeavor of neural networks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the neural network with the neural network of Rawal, Pogorelik, Hoffmann, and Hoffmann2 with neuronal connections of Nugent.
Doing so would allow for connecting neuron circuits together to form certain topologies that result in desired properties, such as maximizing internal feed-back and memory retention (Pogorelik para [0222]).
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Rawal/Pogorelik/Hoffmann/Hoffmann2, as applied above, and further in view of Cherubini et al. (US-20190392303-A1).
Regarding Claim 28,
Rawal, Pogorelik, Hoffmann, and Hoffmann2 teach the system of claim 26.
Rawal, Pogorelik, Hoffmann, and Hoffmann2 do not explicitly disclose
wherein the multiple connections comprise between 10 and 30 inhibitory links.
However, Cherubini (US 20190392303 A1) teaches
wherein the multiple connections comprise between 10 and 30 inhibitory links (para [0041] “In FIG. 4, output neurons are connected to each other via all-to-all lateral inhibitory connections 36, while input neurons 31 are connected to output neurons 32 via all-to-all excitatory connections 35.” Fig.4 shows at least 11 and less than 30 inhibitory connections between neuron 27 and 32.).
Rawal, Pogorelik, Hoffmann, Hoffmann2, and Cherubini are analogous because they are directed to the same field of endeavor of neural networks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the neural network of Rawal, Pogorelik, Hoffmann, and Hoffmann2 with the inhibitory connection of Cherubini.
Doing so would allow for improving class representation (Cherubini para [0048]).
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Rawal/Pogorelik/Hoffmann, as applied above, and further in view of Furber (US-20080267188-A1).
Regarding Claim 29,
Rawal, Pogorelik, and Hoffmann teach the system of claim 24.
Rawal, Pogorelik, and Hoffmann do not explicitly disclose
wherein each node is coupled to output signals to between 10^3 and 10^5 other nodes and to receive signals from between 10^3 and 10^5 other nodes.
However, Furber teaches
wherein each node is coupled to output signals to between 10^3 and 10^5 other nodes and to receive signals from between 10^3 and 10^5 other nodes (para [0003] In neural systems of interconnected neurons, neurons typically have very high connectivity with one another. It is often the case that a given neuron accepts data from between 1,000 and 10,000 other neurons, and outputs data to a similar number of neurons.).
Rawal, Pogorelik, Hoffmann, and Furber are analogous because they are directed to the same field of endeavor of neural networks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the neural network of Rawal, Pogorelik, and Hoffmann with the neuron connections of Furber.
Doing so would allow for a multi-cast communication in the neural network wherein data can be transmitted from a single neuron to multiple neurons but not all of the neurons allowing for a reduced bandwidth in communication of the neural network (Furber para [0004]).
Claims 7, 30-31 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Rawal/Pogorelik/Hoffmann, as applied above, and further in view of Reimann et al. (US-20180197069-A1).
Regarding Claim 7,
Rawal, Pogorelik, and Hoffmann teach the system of claim 1.
Rawal, Pogorelik, and Hoffmann do not explicitly disclose
wherein the topological patterns of signal transmission activity are clique patterns of signal transmission activity.
However, Reimann teaches
wherein the topological patterns of signal transmission activity are clique patterns of signal transmission activity (para [0037] “In particular, the neural network devices can include highly prominent motifs of directed cliques of up to eight neurons.”).
Rawal, Pogorelik, Hoffmann, and Riemann are analogous because they are both directed towards neural network activation patterns.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of identifying activation patterns of Rawal, Pogorelik, and Hoffmann with the network subgraph of Reimann.
Doing so would allow for structural characterizations of neural networks in the construction or reconstruction of a neural network. Reconstruction can allow for mimicking at least some of the structure of the first neural network in order to create a simpler version of the first network (Reimann para [0035]).
Regarding Claim 30,
Rawal, Pogorelik, and Hoffmann teach the system of claim 24.
Rawal, Pogorelik, and Hoffmann do not explicitly disclose
wherein the topological patterns of signal transmission activity are clique patterns of signal transmission activity.
However, Reimann teaches
wherein the topological patterns of signal transmission activity are clique patterns of signal transmission activity (para [0037] “In particular, the neural network devices can include highly prominent motifs of directed cliques of up to eight neurons.”).
Rawal, Pogorelik, Hoffmann, and Riemann are analogous because they are both directed towards neural network activation patterns.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of identifying activation patterns of Rawal, Pogorelik, and Hoffmann with the network subgraph of Reimann.
Doing so would allow for structural characterizations of neural networks in the construction or reconstruction of a neural network. Reconstruction can allow for mimicking at least some of the structure of the first neural network in order to create a simpler version of the first network (Reimann para [0035].).
Regarding Claim 31,
Rawal, Pogorelik, and Hoffmann teach the system of claim 1.
Rawal, Pogorelik, and Hoffmann do not explicitly disclose
wherein the topological patterns of signal transmission activity are directed clique patterns.
However, Reimann (US 20180197069 A1) teaches
wherein the topological patterns of signal transmission activity are directed clique patterns (para [0037] “In particular, the neural network devices can include highly prominent motifs of directed cliques of up to eight neurons.”).
Rawal, Pogorelik, Hoffmann, and Riemann are analogous because they are both directed towards neural network activation patterns.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of identifying activation patterns of Rawal, Pogorelik, and Hoffmann with the network subgraph of Reimann.
Doing so would allow for structural characterizations of neural networks in the construction or reconstruction of a neural network. Reconstruction can allow for mimicking at least some of the structure of the first neural network in order to create a simpler version of the first network (Reimann para [0035].).
Regarding Claim 34,
Rawal, Pogorelik, and Hoffmann teach the system of claim 24.
Rawal, Pogorelik, and Hoffmann do not explicitly disclose
wherein the topological patterns of signal transmission activity are directed clique patterns.
However, Reimann further teaches
wherein the topological patterns of signal transmission activity are directed clique patterns (para [0037] “In particular, the neural network devices can include highly prominent motifs of directed cliques of up to eight neurons.”).
Rawal, Pogorelik, Hoffmann, and Riemann are analogous because they are both directed towards neural network activation patterns.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of identifying activation patterns of Rawal, Pogorelik, and Hoffmann with the network subgraph of Reimann.
Doing so would allow for structural characterizations of neural networks in the construction or reconstruction of a neural network. Reconstruction can allow for mimicking at least some of the structure of the first neural network in order to create a simpler version of the first network (Reimann para [0035].).
Claims 35-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Rawal/Pogorelik/Hoffmann, as applied above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US-20030140020-A1).
Regarding Claim 35,
Hoffmann, Rawal, Pogorelik, and Chen teach the method of claim 1. Chen further teaches wherein a deterministically defined node comprises one or more of a predetermined decision threshold (para [0043] “4. E-step: compute the action potentials of hidden neurons and normalize into [0,1] (Step 304). If the activation level of a neuron is larger than threshold, .alpha., then it fires (Step 306).”) or a predetermined time constant and a deterministically defined link comprises one or more of a predetermined transmission time or signal amplitude attenuation (para [0063] “When a neuron receives current input from other neurons, its membrane potential will increase. The neurons in an assembling group compete for action, if membrane potential passes a threshold, a spike will generate. The neuron that receives stronger signals will fire first, and produce stronger amplitude.”).
Hoffmann and Chen are analogous because they are both directed to the same field of endeavor of neural networks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the neural network of Hoffmann with the neural network architecture of Chen.
Doing so would allow for performing inference and learning while retaining many characteristics of a biological neural networks (Chen Abs.).
Regarding Claim 36,
Hoffmann, Rawal, Pogorelik, and Chen teach the system of claim 24. Chen further teaches wherein a deterministically defined node comprises one or more of a predetermined decision threshold (para [0043] “4. E-step: compute the action potentials of hidden neurons and normalize into [0,1] (Step 304). If the activation level of a neuron is larger than threshold, .alpha., then it fires (Step 306).”) or a predetermined time constant and a deterministically defined link comprises one or more of a predetermined transmission time or signal amplitude attenuation (para [0063] “When a neuron receives current input from other neurons, its membrane potential will increase. The neurons in an assembling group compete for action, if membrane potential passes a threshold, a spike will generate. The neuron that receives stronger signals will fire first, and produce stronger amplitude.”).
Hoffmann and Chen are analogous because they are both directed to the same field of endeavor of neural networks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the neural network of Hoffmann with the neural network architecture of Chen.
Doing so would allow for performing inference and learning while retaining many characteristics of a biological neural networks (Chen Abs.).
Conclusion
/HENRY NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2121