DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 10-18, and 21-23 are pending in the current application.
No claims are amended in the current application.
Claims 2-9, 19, and 20 are canceled in the current application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed September 16, 2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections set forth in the Non-Final Office action dated June 16, 2026 have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are set forth below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign mentioned in the description:
[0056] of the specification as originally filed recites “ridges 935.” However, none of the Drawings depict this reference sign. Figure 9B depicts reference sign 930 twice, and it appears that one of these should be re-labeled as 935.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference characters not mentioned in the description:
Figure 12A depicts reference character 1210. However, the specification as originally filed does not disclose or define this reference character.
Figure 13B depicts reference character 1304. However, the specification as originally filed does not disclose or define this reference character.
Claim Objections
Claims 22 and 23 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 22 and 23 recite “The vent of claim 21 wherein ….” These claims are missing a comma “,” after claim 21. For the purposes of uniformity and consistency with all other dependent claims, these claims should be amended to recite “The vent of claim 21, wherein ….”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 10-18, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 18, and 21 recite the relative terms “about” and “around” that render the claims indefinite. In determining the range encompassed by these terms, one must consider the context of the term as it is used in the specification and claims of the application. Ortho-McNeil Pharm., Inc. v. Caraco Pharm. Labs., Ltd., 476 F.3d 1321, 1326, 81 USPQ2d 1427, 1432 (Fed. Cir. 2007). See MPEP 2173.05(b) III A. The terms “about” and “around” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The specification as originally filed at [0071] recites: “Where a specific numerical value is mentioned herein, it should be considered that the value may be increased or decreased by 20%, while still staying within the teachings of the present application, unless some different range is specifically mentioned. Where a specified logical sense is used, the opposite logical sense is also intended to be encompassed.” The meaning of the phrase “[w]here a specified logical sense is used, the opposite logical sense is also intended to be encompassed” is unclear, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of this recitation. Therefore, it is unclear how to clearly interpret the disclosure of the specification and uniformly apply it to all claimed values and ranges. It is further unclear how the presence of the term “about” is intended to affect the scope of claimed values and ranges. For the purpose of examination, all claimed values and ranges are interpreted as including ±20% of the recited value or range. Additionally, limitations preceded by the term “about” are interpreted in the same manner as immediately discussed above as including ±20% of the recited value or range and as additionally including reasonable deviation/error associated with measurement as would be determined by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 10-17, 22, and 23 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, since these claims depend from the claims rejected above, and do not remedy the aforementioned deficiencies.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 15 recites “the vent has an OTR of less than 0.01 ml per day. Claim 15 depends from claims 1, 13, and 14, where claim 1 recites “the vent has an OTR of between about 1.5 ml to about 0.01 ml per day.” The claim 15 OTR range of “less than 0.01 ml per day” is lower than the lower endpoint of the OTR range of claim 1. Therefore, claim 15 fails to further the limit the scope of claim 1, and is deficient under 35 USC 112(d).
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10-18, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansen et al. (EP 2272661 A1), in view of Forsyth (US 2010/0221462 A1), and as evidenced by Gilbert (US 4000846 A).
Regarding Claims 1, 18, and 21, Hansen teaches a packaging material comprising a one-way pressure relief valve laminate (i.e., a vent) comprising a first inner film 10 (i.e., a first layer) having an inlet opening 13/14 (i.e., a first breach) configured for communication with an interior of the packaging, a second outer film 11 having an outlet opening 15 (i.e., a second breach) configured for communication with an exterior of the packaging, and a channel portion 12 formed and extending between the inlet and outlet openings, where the inlet opening 13/14 and the outlet opening are depicted as being offset/non-coaxial from each other (Hansen, Abstract, [0001], [0063]-[0072], [0085], Fig 2). Hansen teaches the valve laminate second outer film (second film) can be formed with a combination of layers that include an EVOH material and/or a PET film (Hansen, [0031], [0052], [0054]). The specification as originally filed identifies that PET films and EVOH layers are laser absorptive layers (Spec as originally filed, [0037]-[0043]). "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id. See MPEP 2112.01, II. Therefore, Hansen’s second outer film (second film) formed with an EVOH material or a PET film is considered to be laser absorptive. Hansen teaches the packaging material is for releasing gases from a coffee product (Hansen, Abstract, [0001], [0009]-[0010], [0025], [0046]). It is well known in the art that packaging for storing coffee products (such as roasted beans and grounds) requires pressure relief for permitting release of CO2 from the package while preventing entrance of any substantial amounts of O2 in order to avoid oxidation, prevent deterioration of flavor and aroma, and avoid packaging rupture from CO2 build-up as evidenced by Gilbert (Gilbert, Abstract, Cols 1-2). In view of the foregoing, one skilled in the art would readily recognize Hansen’s one-way pressure relief valve for releasing gases from a coffee product would be specifically designed for releasing CO2 gases and being one-way so as not to allow any substantial amounts of external gas (such as O2) from entering as evidenced by Gilbert above. Hansen teaches a laser can be utilized to cut the openings and form small protrusions that generate air pockets and the channel portion (Hansen, [0003], [0021]-[0022], [0037]-[0046], [0073], Figs 2, 4a). Additionally, it is noted that "even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2113, I. Hansen teaches the small protrusions yield a channel portion interspace (i.e., channel diameter) of 10-100 μm (Hansen, [0017], [0043]). Hansen’s channel diameter range overlaps the claimed range of about 50-200 μm, and therefore, renders obvious the claimed range (MPEP 2144.05). Hansen teaches for a coffee product the inlet opening is smaller than 200 μm (Hansen, [0024]-[0025], [0046]). Hansen’s inlet opening (first breach) diameter range encompasses the claimed range of about 50-200 μm, and therefore, renders obvious the claimed range (MPEP 2144.05).
Hansen – Figure 2
Hansen remains silent regarding the diameter of the outlet opening (second breach) being 50-200 μm.
Forsyth, however, teaches a flexible packaging laminated film comprising perforations to allow for different control of oxygen and gas transmission rates in different sections (Forsyth, Abstract, [0001]-[0008], [0026]-[0036]). Forsyth teaches perforations preferably have an average diameter of less than 100 microns (Forsyth, [0029]-[0036]). Forsyth’s perforation diameter range overlaps the claimed range of about 50-200 μm, and therefore, renders obvious the claimed range (MPEP 2144.05).
Since Hansen and Forsyth both disclose packaging laminated films comprising inlet/outlet/perforations and Hansen already discloses forming inlets in a substantially similar micron range, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed Hansen’s outlet opening (second breach) with a diameter that renders obvious the claimed range according to Forsyth’s guidance to yield a packaging film that allows for tailored properties for different packaging requirements, that allows for controlling oxygen and gas transmission rates in different sections, and that prevents leakage of products between different sections as taught by Forsyth (Forsyth, [0001]-[0012], [0026], [0036]-[0043], [0052]).
Although modified Hansen does not explicitly disclose an oxygen transmission rate of about 0.01-1.5 ml per day and an exhaust of about 500 ml of CO2 at 1 psi in around 24 hours, modified Hansen discloses a packaging material comprising a one-way pressure relief valve laminate for releasing gases and preventing penetration of ambient air that is substantially identical in structure and materials as the claimed invention (Hansen, [0009]-[0010]; Spec as originally filed, [0037]-[0049]). Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01, I. In view of the foregoing, modified Hansen’s packaging material comprising the one-way pressure relief valve laminate is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness over the claimed OTR and CO2 exhaust properties with a predictable and reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 10, modified Hansen teaches the first and second breaches are formed by a laser (Hansen, [0003], [0021]-[0022], [0037]-[0038], [0073]; Forsyth, [0043], [0091]). Additionally, it is noted that "even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2113, I.
Regarding Claim 11, modified Hansen teaches the first and second breaches are openings that can be formed by a mechanical means such as a needle or punch (Hansen, [0003]). Additionally, it is noted that "even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2113, I.
Regarding Claim 12, modified Hansen teaches the first inner film 10 (first layer) has the inlet opening 13/14 (first breach) that is in communication with an interior of the packaging and the second outer film 11 has the outlet opening 15 (second breach) that is in communication with an exterior of the packaging (Hansen, Abstract, [0001], [0063]-[0072], [0085], Fig 2).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Hansen teaches the one-way pressure relief valve laminate can be a label adhered to the packaging with a liquid layer providing adhesiveness between the inner film and the outer film (Hansen, [0030], [0068], [0074]-[0078], Fig 5). Modified Hansen teaches the first inner film 10 (first layer) has the inlet opening 13/14 (first breach) that is in communication with an interior of the packaging and the second outer film 11 has the outlet opening 15 (second breach) that is in communication with an exterior of the packaging (Hansen, Abstract, [0001], [0063]-[0072], [0085], Fig 2).
Regarding Claim 14, modified Hansen teaches a liquid layer 19 that provides sealing is disposed in the channel portion over the inlet opening (first breach) and outlet opening (second breach) (Hansen, [0068], [0075]-[0078], Fig 2).
Regarding Claim 15, although modified Hansen does not explicitly disclose an oxygen transmission rate of about 0.01 ml per day, modified Hansen discloses a packaging material comprising a one-way pressure relief valve laminate for releasing gases and preventing penetration of ambient air that is substantially identical in structure and materials as the present invention (Hansen, [0009]-[0010]; Spec as originally filed, [0037]-[0049]). Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01, I. In view of the foregoing, modified Hansen’s packaging material comprising the one-way pressure relief valve laminate is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness over the claimed OTR property with a predictable and reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 16, modified Hansen teaches the one-way pressure relief valve laminate is wound up and provided on a roll stock (Hansen, [0016], [0042]).
Regarding Claim 17, modified Hansen teaches the one-way pressure relief valve laminate is configured to be unwound and rewound to form a roll stock until intended for use, where the laminate is configured to elastically deform and include spacers to allow for air pockets to reform (Hansen, [0015]-[0016], [0041]-[0042]).
Regarding Claim 22, modified Hansen teaches the packaging material comprises the one-way pressure relief valve laminate (vent) comprising the first inner film 10 (first layer) having the inlet opening 13/14 (first breach) configured for communication with an interior of the packaging, the second outer film 11 having the outlet opening 15 (second breach) configured for communication with an exterior of the packaging, and the channel portion 12 formed and extending between the inlet and outlet openings, where the inlet opening 13/14 and the outlet opening are depicted as being offset/non-coaxial from each other (Hansen, Abstract, [0001], [0063]-[0072], [0085], Fig 2). Modified Hansen teaches a laser can be utilized to cut the openings and form small protrusions that generate air pockets and the channel portion (Hansen, [0003], [0021]-[0022], [0037]-[0046], [0073], Figs 2, 4a). Modified Hansen teaches the small protrusions yield a channel portion interspace (channel diameter) of 10-100 μm (Hansen, [0017], [0043]).
Regarding Claim 23, modified Hansen teaches the inlet opening 13/14 (first breach) is perpendicular to the channel portion 12 (Hansen, Abstract, [0001], [0063]-[0072], [0085], Fig 2). Modified Hansen teaches a laser can be utilized to cut the openings and form small protrusions that generate air pockets and the channel portion (Hansen, [0003], [0021]-[0022], [0037]-[0046], [0073], Figs 2, 4a). Modified Hansen teaches the small protrusions yield a channel portion interspace (channel diameter) of 10-100 μm (Hansen, [0017], [0043]).
Conclusion
/Eli D. Strah/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782