This action is in response to the Request for Continued Examination filed 5 January 2026. Claims 1, 8, 12 have been amended. Claims 21-23 have been canceled. Claims 24-26 are new. Claims 1-20, 24-26 are pending and have been considered below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20, 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohashi (US 2012/0059916 A1) in view of Lev et al. (US 9,621,428 B1) and further in view of Day et al. (US 2015/0373207 A1) and Dickelman et al. (US 2005/0060579 A1.
Note: Applicant does not appear to provide a description of a “single pane of glass”, and in particular the term “glass”, to distinguish “a single pane of glass” from just a single graphical pane, or any other type of graphical window. See Applicant’s specification Paragraph 0013 “the single pane of glass function may include a graphical user interface for network management comprising a display of network devices on a map, wherein each of the network devices is displayed as an icon on the map, a list of drill-down actions adjacent a corresponding one of the network devices”, Paragraph 0014 “the single pane of glass function may include method of network management comprising mapping network devices and interfaces between the network devices, defining a single pane of glass link based on an association with at least one of the devices or interfaces and an association with at least one variable for that device or interface, receiving a selection of the single pane of glass link, retrieving, from a third party, additional information related to the associated device or interface, and providing a data view pane for displaying the additional information” and Paragraph 0128 “to control the source for retrieved data, the data for applying a DVT for a single pane of glass (SPOG - discussed below) may need to be retrieved from the third-party system instantly”.
Claim 1. Ohashi discloses a graphical user interface comprising:
a map displaying network devices, displaying connected device information including a device name and the computer name of a connection destination client computer (P 0063), in a device list screen (P 0064), in the form of a network device screen by arranging icons corresponding to the devices on a map image such as an office map (P 0065);
a data view template that includes a selection of a single pane of glass action associated with one or more of the network devices or associated with one or more of the interfaces, the device information management module outputs information for a device list screen via the UI module (P 0061, Fig. 6) Figure 6 clearly shows device information displayed in a pre-determined format according to the UI module, and furthermore, Ohashi discloses that the device information could be displayed by arranging icons corresponding to the networked devices on a map image;
a selectable link associated with the single pane of glass action that is displayed based on the association to the associated network device or associated interface, a list screen includes a network device information display portion for displaying device information of network devices, and a locally connected device information display portion for displaying device information of devices locally connected to the client computer, acquired from the latest device information, and the model name of each device is displayed as a link that, when clicked, displays a subwindow with more detailed information about the network device (P 0062) a user places a cursor on an icon arranged on the map and detailed device and/or model information of a corresponding device or information indicating that a corresponding device is locally connected may be displayed in a sub-window (P 0065) As noted above, Applicant’s specification does not describe a single pane of glass in such a way as to distinguish it from any other type of graphical pane or window, and the model name link that displays detailed information is displayed adjacent to the associated network device in either of the list view or map view;
wherein the selectable link is displayed adjacent to the associated network device or adjacent to the associate interface, In Fig 6 and as described in Paragraph 0062, the link to select to display information about a device is displayed adjacent to the network device, e.g. the link MFD Model1 is displayed adjacent to Device 1 (and Device 2-3) and the link Inkjet Printer Model2 is displayed adjacent to Local Device 1 (and Local Device 2), and
a display, upon selection of the single pane of glass action link, of a single pane of glass display on the map, in list view, a link is associated with a model name of a network device that, when selected, displays detailed information about the selected network device in a sub-window (P 0062) or on a map image with icons corresponding to network devices, detailed device and/or model information of a corresponding device or information indicating that a corresponding device is locally connected may be displayed in a sub-window (P 0065) As noted above, nothing in Applicant’s specification or claims distinguishes “a single pane of glass display” from the sub-window displaying the detailed information for a selected network device,
that displays external data for the associated network device or the associated interface, wherein the … data is retrieved from a … source …, an information apparatus or management application that is not supplied by the vendor may not hold, in advance, detailed information of the network device, and may not be able to acquire adequate device information from the network device, therefore the vendor of each network device provides, in advance, information prepared by itself on the Internet, and makes it available by the device management utility, the vendor of each network device provides information on the Internet, and makes it available by the device management utility including link information for a manual or external site (P 0045, 0049) including information provided by the vendor of the device (P 0049) the vendor is identified by a vendor ID and provides a driver for the network device (P 0054) detailed information for the device is displayed from a list for a plurality of network devices, including device name, model name, IP address, the last update date/time of device information, and is displayed in a subwindow in list view or on a map image of the network when a user selects a link associated with the device (P 0062, 0065) Ohashi discloses that the vendor of a network device makes detailed information available to the device management utility, and the detailed information for a device is displayed in a subwindow when a link for the device is selected; Ohashi implies that each network device can be supplied from a specific vendor, equivalent to a third party, but Ohashi does not explicitly that each vendor is different, Day (cited below) discloses that not only is a network service supplied by a specific vendor, but that the services can be supplied by multiple vendors.
Ohashi does not explicitly disclose a map displaying network devices and interfaces between the network devices, as disclosed in the claims. However, in the same field of invention, Lev discloses a widget is a software construct expressive of an interface representing a topology element including routers, switches, gateways, bridges, firewalls, or any other suitable physical or virtual device, component, container, element, process, or object operable to exchange information in a network environment, the topology elements may include any suitable hardware, software, components, modules, interfaces, or objects that facilitate the operations thereof (C 2 L 54-67) an arrangement of various interconnected topology elements, and includes physical topology (e.g., placement of the various topology elements including device location, ports, etc.) and logical topology (e.g., data flows within the network regardless of its physical architecture) (C 3 L 3-8) elements of a multi-tiered cloud topology may be coupled to one another through one or more interfaces employing any suitable connection (wired or wireless), which provides a viable pathway for electronic communications (C 12 L 12-15) a widget template provides interfaces to manipulate the component (C 12 L 54-58) drawn with a cloud application topology modeling tool on a canvas (C 15 L 11-12, Fig. 5) a firewall interface element is placed between two widgets, a property sheet for the firewall interface element is displayed to facilitate user entry of firewall rules (C 16 L 11-27) server widgets may be connected to network widgets with appropriate server NIC widgets (C 17 L 39-41) a user may connect a server NIC widget with a network widget by drawing a line between two connection points on the respective widgets (C 18 L 12-15). Therefore, considering the teachings of Ohashi and Lev, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine a map displaying network devices and interfaces between the network devices with the teachings of Ohashi. One would have been motivated to combine a map displaying network devices and interfaces between the network devices with the teachings of Ohashi because displaying the connections between the network device icons on the map of Ohashi would provide a more complete rendering of the network map to the user allowing the user to more fully understand the network.
Ohashi and Lev do not disclose wherein at least some of the network devices and at least some of the interfaces are from different third parties; the displayed external data is retrieved from an external source that is provided by a third party from the different third parties, as disclosed in the claims. However, Ohashi discloses each vendor of devices stores a URL for a driver, and a vendor ID and device ID which are contained in notification information are specified by an installation operation to access the URL of the driver (P 0054). In the same field of invention, Day discloses a method for obtaining information concerning a telecommunications network (P 0031) the network may create a database with information from various information sources from an external third party, and presented to or otherwise available to a network administrator through a user interface (P 0039) the network may be displayed on a visual map (P 0041) information displayed on the network map may include third party vendor contact information, network capacity management information, and telecommunication network leaser information (P 0042) and a source of external data may include third party vendor information, including lists of building services and the available telecommunications components available from the third party vendor (P 0045). That is, while Ohashi implies that different devices may be provided by different vendors, this is not explicitly disclosed. Therefore, considering the teachings of Ohashi, Lev and Day, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine wherein at least some of the network devices and at least some of the interfaces are from different third parties; the displayed external data is retrieved from an external source that is provided by a third party from the different third parties with the teachings of Ohashi and Lev. One would have been motivated to combine wherein at least some of the network devices and at least some of the interfaces are from different third parties; the displayed external data is retrieved from an external source that is provided by a third party from the different third parties with the teachings of Ohashi and Lev to allow Ohashi to be more flexible by allowing the system to function with a heterogeneous set of network devices and not be restricted to a network of devices by a single vendor as appears to be anticipated by Ohashi (P 0045; the vendor of each network device provides, in advance, information prepared by itself on the Internet, and makes it available by the device management utility).
Ohashi does not disclose explicitly disclose the displayed external data comprises operations or commands specific to the third party from the external source, as disclosed in the claims. However, Ohashi discloses a user may install a device driver to display device information (P 0015) each vendor of devices stores a URL for a driver, and a vendor ID and device ID which are contained in notification information are specified by an installation operation to access the URL of the driver (P 0054) device status, device name, a model name, an IP address and operational variables including remaining amount of toner (P 0067, Fig. 7) and Lev further discloses a user may select a widget and modify widget metadata using drill down property sheets to modify property values (C 7 L 62-65) for visual modeling throughout the entire lifecycle of the cloud application from design through deployment and maintenance lifecycle (C 10 L 60-64). Day discloses the network may create a database with information from various information sources from an external third party, and presented to or otherwise available to a network administrator through a user interface (P 0039) the network may be displayed on a visual map (P 0041) information displayed on the network map may include third party vendor contact information, network capacity management information, and telecommunication network leaser information (P 0042) and a source of external data may include third party vendor information, including lists of building services and the available telecommunications components available from the third party vendor (P 0045). While the display in Figure 7 of Ohashi is not explicitly disclosed as the URL where the vendor provides a driver disclosed in Paragraph 0054, the combination of Ohashi and Lev allows a user to access the URL of the vendor, and use the variable modification functionality of Lev to set parameters of the driver provided by the vender in Ohashi, and Day further explicitly discloses that additional vendor, device and service information from a third party is selectably displayable on a network map. Therefore, considering the teachings of Ohashi, Lev and Day, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine explicitly disclose the displayed external data comprises operations or commands specific to the third party from the external source with the teachings of Ohashi, Lev and Day. One would have been motivated to combine explicitly disclose the displayed external data comprises operations or commands specific to the third party from the external source with the teachings of Ohashi, Lev and Day in order to ensure that the configuration of the device as provided by the driver in Ohashi are appropriate for the device as provided by the manufacturer.
Ohashi does not explicitly disclose wherein the single pane of glass display comprises a display pane on the map that displays third party information from the displayed external data that is related to a corresponding network device upon selection of the selectable link for the corresponding network device or related to a corresponding network interface upon selection of the selectable link for the corresponding network interface, further wherein the third party information is from a plurality of the different third parties each associated with different ones of the network devices or interfaces, as disclosed in the claims. However, Ohashi discloses a user may install a device driver to display device information (P 0015) each vendor of devices stores a URL for a driver, and a vendor ID and device ID which are contained in notification information are specified by an installation operation to access the URL of the driver (P 0054) device status, device name, a model name, an IP address and operational variables including remaining amount of toner (P 0067, Fig. 7) and Lev further discloses a user may select a widget and modify widget metadata using drill down property sheets to modify property values (C 7 L 62-65) for visual modeling throughout the entire lifecycle of the cloud application from design through deployment and maintenance lifecycle (C 10 L 60-64). Day discloses the network may create a database with information from various information sources from an external third party, and presented to or otherwise available to a network administrator through a user interface (P 0039) the network may be displayed on a visual map (P 0041) information displayed on the network map may include third party vendor contact information, network capacity management information, and telecommunication network leaser information (P 0042) and a source of external data may include third party vendor information, including lists of building services and the available telecommunications components available from the third party vendor (P 0045). While the display in Figure 7 of Ohashi is not explicitly disclosed as the URL where the vendor provides a driver disclosed in Paragraph 0054, the combination of Ohashi and Lev allows a user to access the URL of the vendor, and use the variable modification functionality of Lev to set parameters of the driver provided by the vender in Ohashi, and Day further explicitly discloses that additional vendor, device and service information from a third party is selectably displayable on a network map. Therefore, considering the teachings of Ohashi, Lev and Day, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine wherein the single pane of glass display comprises a display pane on the map that displays third party information from the displayed external data that is related to a corresponding network device upon selection of the selectable link for the corresponding network device or related to a corresponding network interface upon selection of the selectable link for the corresponding network interface, further wherein the third party information is from a plurality of the different third parties each associated with different ones of the network devices or interfaces with the teachings of Ohashi, Lev and Day. One would have been motivated to combine wherein the single pane of glass display comprises a display pane on the map that displays third party information from the displayed external data that is related to a corresponding network device upon selection of the selectable link for the corresponding network device or related to a corresponding network interface upon selection of the selectable link for the corresponding network interface, further wherein the third party information is from a plurality of the different third parties each associated with different ones of the network devices or interfaces with the teachings of Ohashi, Lev and Day in order to ensure that the configuration of the device as provided by the driver in Ohashi are appropriate for the device as provided by the manufacturer.
Ohashi does not disclose wherein the display pane provides a golden baseline alert when the third party information triggers a dynamic golden baseline rule; wherein the dynamic golden baseline rule is generated and changed based, at least in part, on golden baseline data that is: automatically generated based, at least in part, on tracking of live data corresponding to the network devices and the interfaces: and automatically changed based, at least in part, on the tracking of the live data, as disclosed in the claims. However, Lev discloses the cloud application topology is modified according to the rules without human intervention (C 2 L 37-50, C 8 L 35-44). In the same field of invention, Dickelman discloses a baseline is defined and the system is monitored for anomalies (P 0015) in real-time (P 0016) wherein an integrity check is performed for the quality of correctness, completeness, wholeness, soundness and compliance by monitoring changes to a baseline configuration of the operating system and other third-party software, and if a change is detected to a baseline configuration parameter, an alert can be generated to acknowledge the change (P 0024) policy deviations and vulnerabilities and can quickly and cost-effectively create baselines and performance is measured against those baselines to identify systems that are not in compliance (P 0027). In Lev, cloud application topology that is modified according to rules without human intervention is analogous to the claimed golden baseline rule, and the topology can be automatically modified, meaning it is dynamic. The baseline of Dickelman is analogous to the golden baseline and is dynamically changeable, analogous to the claimed dynamic golden baseline. Therefore, considering the teachings of Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine wherein the display pane provides a golden baseline alert when the third party information triggers a dynamic golden baseline rule; wherein the dynamic golden baseline rule is generated and changed based, at least in part, on golden baseline data that is: automatically generated based, at least in part, on tracking of live data corresponding to the network devices and the interfaces: and automatically changed based, at least in part, on the tracking of the live data with the teachings of Ohashi, Lev and Day. One would have been motivated to combine wherein the display pane provides a golden baseline alert when the third party information triggers a golden baseline rule; wherein the golden baseline rule is generated and changed based, at least in part, on golden baseline data that is: automatically generated based, at least in part, on tracking of live data corresponding to the network devices and the interfaces: and automatically changed based, at least in part, on the tracking of the live data with the teachings of Ohashi, Lev and Day in order to ensure that the configuration of the device as provided by the driver in Ohashi are appropriate for the device as provided by the manufacturer and are in compliance with established policies (Dickelman: P 0027).
Claim 2. Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman disclose the graphical user interface of claim 1, and Ohashi further discloses a user places a cursor on an icon arranged on the map and detailed device and/or model information of a corresponding device or information indicating that a corresponding device is locally connected may be displayed in a sub-window (P 0065) a link may be included on the display of the detailed information, the link to a manual or to an external site (P 0068) The information displayed in the window shown in Fig. 6 may also be shown in the form of a network map, when a device in the map is selected, a device details window like the one shown in Fig. 7 is displayed, the details window may contain a link to a vendor provide manual or a link to an external site; therefore, selecting the details first window and then selecting a link to the manual or the external site would be equivalent to drilling down to the manual or the external site, but Ohashi does not explicitly disclose drilling down to “nested” windows. Lev further discloses a user may select a widget and modify widget metadata using drill down property sheets to modify property values (C 7 L 62-65). Therefore, considering the teachings of Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the single pane of glass action is one of a selection of drill-down actions with the teachings of Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman y. One would have been motivated to combine the single pane of glass action is one of a selection of drill-down actions with the teachings of Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman in order to provide a user with a convenient method of selecting the links to the manual or external site from the details window and to provide an efficient method of displaying the appropriate properties and sub-properties of a selected network device.
Claim 3. Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman disclose the graphical user interface of claim 1, and Ohashi discloses the vendor of each network device provides information on the Internet, and makes it available by the device management utility including link information for a manual or external site (P 0045) While a vendor of a device need not necessarily be the manufacturer of the device, a manufacturer of a device is a vendor to the public or to a third party vendor, therefore, a manufacturer is a vendor, and Day disclose a source of external data may include third party vendor information, including lists of building services and the available telecommunications components available from the third party vendor (P 0045). Therefore, considering the teachings of Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the different third parties are manufacturers of the associated network device or interface with the teachings of Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman. One would have been motivated to combine the different third parties are manufacturers of the associated network device or interface with the teachings of Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman to allow Ohashi to be more flexible by allowing the system to function with a heterogeneous set of network devices and not be restricted to a network of devices by a single vendor as appears to be anticipated by Ohashi (P 0045; the vendor of each network device provides, in advance, information prepared by itself on the Internet, and makes it available by the device management utility).
Claim 4. Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman disclose the graphical user interface of claim 3, and Ohashi in view of Day further discloses the third party information and the data is retrieved from a website of the third party but displayed as part of the graphical user interface, a link may be included on the display of the detailed information, the link to a manual or to an external site (P 0068). Day has been combined with Ohashi for the limitation directed to third party information.
Claim 5. Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman the graphical user interface of claim 4, and Lev further discloses the property sheet is displayed as a pop-up menu over the topology map canvas (C 15 L 1-2, Figs. 5, 10). Therefore, considering the teachings of Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display of the third party information and the retrieved data is within a pane displayed for the map with the teachings of Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman. One would have been motivated to combine the display of the third party information and the retrieved data is within a pane displayed for the map with the teachings of Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman in order conserve real-estate by displaying the details window in the same window as the network map instead of to one side so as to maintain the size of the network map. Day has been combined with Ohashi for the limitation directed to third party information.
Claim 6. Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman disclose the graphical user interface of claim 1, and Lev further discloses a user may select a widget and modify widget metadata using drill down property sheets to modify property values (C 7 L 62-65). Therefore, considering the teachings of Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the single pane of glass action link comprises references for one or more variables and is displayed relative to an indication of the one or more variables with the teachings of Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman. One would have been motivated to combine the single pane of glass action link comprises references for one or more variables and is displayed relative to an indication of the one or more variables with the teachings of Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman in order to provide an efficient method of displaying the appropriate properties and sub-properties of a selected network device.
Claim 7. Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman disclose the graphical user interface of claim 1, and Ohashi discloses each vendor of devices stores, in advance, a URL where the vendor provides a driver, and a vendor ID and device ID which are contained in notification information of connection of a network device from the network or which are specified by an installation operation are specified to access the URL where the vendor provides the driver, thereby downloading the driver (P 0054) if link information for the manual of the MFP or an external site, and the like were acquired as device information and/or model information, these pieces of information may be displayed on the details screen (P 0068) and Lev further discloses a property sheet is displayed for a selected widget, wherein the property sheet has a plurality of links for identifying and displaying specific properties, i.e. properties for Configuration, Software and Plan (C 15 L 61-62, Fig. 9-10, Property Sheet 50) the property sheet corresponding to the firewall widget may be displayed to facilitate user entry of firewall rules applicable to the firewall widget (C 16 L 19-22). Ohashi appears to disclose that the URL, or link, includes information that with device driver ID, a vendor ID and device ID, model, and external site information, but Ohashi does not disclose that this information can be updated. However, it is clear that in Lev the values that are related to the network link displayed in the properties sheet are encode by inputting the updated values in the property sheet, therefore, any updated values will be reflected when the link is selected. It would have been obvious that the URL, or link, information provided in a notification in Ohashi could be updated through the property sheet, which is associated with the selected network element, in Lev. Therefore, considering the teachings of Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine wherein the operations or commands are encoded in an update to the single pane of glass action link with the teachings of Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman. One would have been motivated to combine wherein the operations or commands are encoded in an update to the single pane of glass action link with the teachings of Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman in order to provide an efficient method of displaying the appropriate properties and sub-properties of a selected network device.
Claim 8. Ohashi discloses a graphical user interface for network management comprising:
a display of network devices on a map, wherein each of the network devices is displayed as an icon on the map, displaying connected device information including a device name and the computer name of a connection destination client computer (P 0063), in a device list screen (P 0064), in the form of a network device screen by arranging icons corresponding to the devices on a map image such as an office map (P 0065);
a list of actions displayed adjacent a corresponding one of the network devices, wherein the drill-down actions for the corresponding network device apply to that corresponding network device, further wherein the drill-down actions are selectable for application to the corresponding network device, in list view, a link is associated with a model name of a network device that, when selected, displays detailed information about the selected network device in a sub-window (P 0062) a user places a cursor on an icon arranged on the map and detailed device and/or model information of a corresponding device or information indicating that a corresponding device is locally connected may be displayed in a sub-window (P 0065) a link may be included on the display of the detailed information, the link to a manual or to an external site (P 0068) The information displayed in the window shown in Fig. 6 may also be shown in the form of a network map, when a device in the map is selected, a device details window like the one shown in Fig. 7 is displayed, the details window may contain a link to a vendor provide manual or a link to an external site; the details window include selectable actions including a link to the manual or the external site;
a single pane of glass option, a user places a cursor on an icon arranged on the map and detailed device and/or model information of a corresponding device or information indicating that a corresponding device is locally connected may be displayed in a sub-window (P 0065); and
a display pane that displays third party information related to the corresponding network device upon selection of the single pane of glass option for the corresponding network device, a user may install a device driver to display device information (P 0015) the vendor of each network device provides information on the Internet, and makes it available by the device management utility including link information for a manual or external site (P 0045) including information provided by the vendor of the device and information specific to the device (P 0049) each vendor of devices stores a URL for a driver, and a vendor ID and device ID which are contained in notification information are specified by an installation operation to access the URL of the driver (P 0054) detailed device and/or model information of a corresponding device or information indicating that a corresponding device is locally connected may be displayed in a sub-window (P 0065) when a device is selected, the detailed information displayed may include a link to a manual for the device and a link to an external site providing device information and/or model information (P 0068) It is clear that each device may be provided by a respective vendor.
Ohashi does not explicitly disclose a display of interfaces between each of the network devices on the map, as disclosed in the claims. However, in the same field of invention, Lev discloses a widget is a software construct expressive of an interface representing a topology element including routers, switches, gateways, bridges operable to exchange information in a network environment (C 2 L 54-64) an arrangement of various interconnected topology elements, and includes physical topology (e.g., placement of the various topology elements including device location, ports, etc.) and logical topology (e.g., data flows within the network regardless of its physical architecture) (C 3 L 3-8) drawn with a cloud application topology modeling tool on a canvas (C 15 L 11-12, Fig. 5) server widgets may be connected to network widgets with appropriate server NIC widgets (C 17 L 39-41) a user may connect a server NIC widget with a network widget by drawing a line between two connection points on the respective widgets (C 18 L 12-15). Therefore, considering the teachings of Ohashi and Lev, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine a display of interfaces between each of the network devices on the map with the teachings of Ohashi. One would have been motivated to combine a display of interfaces between each of the network devices on the map with the teachings of Ohashi because displaying the connections between the network device icons on the map of Ohashi would provide a more complete rendering of the network map to the user allowing the user to more fully understand the network.
Ohashi does not disclose a list of drill-down actions; a list of drill-down actions displayed adjacent a corresponding one of the interfaces, wherein the drill-down actions for the corresponding interface apply to that corresponding interface, further wherein the drill-down actions are selectable for application to the corresponding interface; a single pane of glass option as part of the drill-down actions, as disclosed in the claims. However, Ohashi discloses in list view, a link is associated with a model name of a network device that, when selected, displays detailed information about the selected network device in a sub-window (P 0062) or on a map image with icons corresponding to network devices, detailed device and/or model information of a corresponding device or information indicating that a corresponding device is locally connected may be displayed in a sub-window (P 0065) and Lev discloses a widget is a software construct expressive of an interface representing a topology element including routers, switches, gateways, bridges operable to exchange information in a network environment (C 2 L 54-64) a user may select a widget and modify widget metadata using drill down property sheets to modify property values (C 7 L 62-65) server widgets may be connected to network widgets with appropriate server NIC widgets (C 17 L 39-41) a user may connect a server NIC widget with a network widget by drawing a line between two connection points on the respective widgets (C 18 L 12-15). That is, Ohashi discloses selecting a link adjacent to a network device and displaying detailed information, but does not disclose displaying drill-down actions as part of the detailed information, whereas, in Lev, a widget can represent a connection between network devices and a user may drill down on a widget to modify properties. Therefore, considering the teachings of Ohashi and Lev, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine a list of drill-down actions; a list of drill-down actions displayed adjacent a corresponding one of the interfaces, wherein the drill-down actions for the corresponding interface apply to that corresponding interface, further wherein the drill-down actions are selectable for application to the corresponding interface; a single pane of glass option as part of the drill-down actions with the teachings of Ohashi. One would have been motivated to combine a list of drill-down actions; a list of drill-down actions displayed adjacent a corresponding one of the interfaces, wherein the drill-down actions for the corresponding interface apply to that corresponding interface, further wherein the drill-down actions are selectable for application to the corresponding interface; a single pane of glass option as part of the drill-down actions with the teachings of Ohashi in order to provide a user with a convenient method of selecting the links to the manual or external site from the details window and to provide an efficient method of displaying the appropriate properties and sub-properties of a selected network device.
Ohashi does not disclose wherein the display pane further displays third party information related to the corresponding interface upon selection of the single pane of glass option for the corresponding interface, as disclosed in the claims. However, Ohashi discloses in list view, a link is associated with a model name of a network device that, when selected, displays detailed information about the selected network device in a sub-window (P 0062) or on a map image with icons corresponding to network devices, detailed device and/or model information of a corresponding device or information indicating that a corresponding device is locally connected may be displayed in a sub-window (P 0065) and Lev discloses a widget is a software construct expressive of an interface representing a topology element including routers, switches, gateways, bridges operable to exchange information in a network environment (C 2 L 54-64) a user may select a widget and modify widget metadata using drill down property sheets to modify property values (C 7 L 62-65) server widgets may be connected to network widgets with appropriate server NIC widgets (C 17 L 39-41) a user may connect a server NIC widget with a network widget by drawing a line between two connection points on the respective widgets (C 18 L 12-15). That is, Ohashi discloses selecting a link adjacent to a network device and displaying detailed information, but does not disclose displaying detailed information for corresponding interfaces, whereas, in Lev, a widget can represent a connection between network devices and a user may drill down on a widget to modify properties. Therefore, considering the teachings of Ohashi and Lev, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine wherein the display pane further displays third party information related to the corresponding interface upon selection of the single pane of glass option for the corresponding interface with the teachings of Ohashi. One would have been motivated to combine wherein the display pane further displays third party information related to the corresponding interface upon selection of the single pane of glass option for the corresponding interface with the teachings of Ohashi in order to provide a user with a convenient method of selecting the links to the manual or external site from the details window and to provide an efficient method of displaying the appropriate properties and sub-properties of a selected network device.
Ohashi does not explicitly disclose wherein the display pane displays the third party information from a plurality of third parties associated with each of the network devices or the interfaces, further wherein the plurality of third parties are external sources and the third party information is retrieved from the external sources and displayed in the display pane together despite the third party information being from different ones of the external sources, as disclosed in the claims. However, Ohashi discloses Ohashi discloses each vendor of devices stores a URL for a driver, and a vendor ID and device ID which are contained in notification information are specified by an installation operation to access the URL of the driver (P 0054). In the same field of invention, Day discloses the network may create a database with information from various information sources from an external third party, and presented to or otherwise available to a network administrator through a user interface (P 0039) the network may be displayed on a visual map (P 0041) information displayed on the network map may include third party vendor contact information, network capacity management information, and telecommunication network leaser information (P 0042) and a source of external data may include third party vendor information, including lists of building services and the available telecommunications components available from the third party vendor (P 0045). While the display in Figure 7 of Ohashi is not explicitly disclosed as the URL where the vendor provides a driver disclosed in Paragraph 0054, the combination of Ohashi and Lev allows a user to access the URL of the vendor, and use the variable modification functionality of Lev to set parameters of the driver provided by the vender in Ohashi, and Day further explicitly discloses that additional vendor, device and service information from a third party is selectably displayable on a network map. That is, while Ohashi implies that different devices may be provided by different vendors, this is not explicitly disclosed. Therefore, considering the teachings of Ohashi, Lev and Day, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine wherein the display pane displays the third party information from a plurality of third parties associated with each of the network devices or the interfaces, further wherein the plurality of third parties are external sources and the third party information is retrieved from the external sources and displayed in the display pane together despite the third party information being from different ones of the external sources with the teachings of Ohashi and Lev. One would have been motivated to combine wherein the display pane displays the third party information from a plurality of third parties associated with each of the network devices or the interfaces, further wherein the plurality of third parties are external sources and the third party information is retrieved from the external sources and displayed in the display pane together despite the third party information being from different ones of the external sources with the teachings of Ohashi and Lev to allow Ohashi to be more flexible by allowing the system to function with a heterogeneous set of network devices and not be restricted to a network of devices by a single vendor as appears to be anticipated by Ohashi (P 0045; the vendor of each network device provides, in advance, information prepared by itself on the Internet, and makes it available by the device management utility).
Ohashi does not disclose wherein the display pane provides a golden baseline alert when the third party information triggers a dynamic golden baseline rule; wherein the dynamic golden baseline rule is generated and changed based, at least in part, on golden baseline data that is: automatically generated based, at least in part, on tracking of live data corresponding to the network devices and the interfaces; and automatically changed based, at least in part, on the tracking of the live data, as disclosed in the claims. However, Lev discloses the cloud application topology is modified according to the rules without human intervention (C 2 L 37-50, C 8 L 35-44). In the same field of invention, Dickelman discloses a baseline is defined and the system is monitored for anomalies (P 0015) in real-time (P 0016) wherein an integrity check is performed for the quality of correctness, completeness, wholeness, soundness and compliance by monitoring changes to a baseline configuration of the operating system and other third-party software, and if a change is detected to a baseline configuration parameter, an alert can be generated to acknowledge the change (P 0024) policy deviations and vulnerabilities and can quickly and cost-effectively create baselines and performance is measured against those baselines to identify systems that are not in compliance (P 0027). In Lev, cloud application topology that is modified according to rules without human intervention is analogous to the claimed golden baseline rule, and the topology can be automatically modified, meaning it is dynamic. The baseline of Dickelman is analogous to the golden baseline and is dynamically changeable, analogous to the claimed dynamic golden baseline. Therefore, considering the teachings of Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine wherein the display pane provides a golden baseline alert when the third party information triggers a dynamic golden baseline rule; wherein the dynamic golden baseline rule is generated and changed based, at least in part, on golden baseline data that is: automatically generated based, at least in part, on tracking of live data corresponding to the network devices and the interfaces; and automatically changed based, at least in part, on the tracking of the live data with the teachings of Ohashi, Lev and Day. One would have been motivated to combine wherein the display pane provides a golden baseline alert when the third party information triggers a golden baseline rule; wherein the golden baseline rule is generated and changed based, at least in part, on golden baseline data that is: automatically generated based, at least in part, on tracking of live data corresponding to the network devices and the interfaces; and automatically changed based, at least in part, on the tracking of the live data with the teachings of Ohashi, Lev and Day in order to ensure that the configuration of the device as provided by the driver in Ohashi are appropriate for the device as provided by the manufacturer.
Claim 9. Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman disclose the graphical user interface of claim 8, and Ohashi further discloses the third party comprises a manufacturer of the network device or the interface, the vendor of each network device provides information on the Internet, and makes it available by the device management utility including link information for a manual or external site (P 0045) While a vendor of a device need not necessarily be the manufacturer of the device, a manufacturer of a device is a vendor to the public or to a third party vendor, therefore, a manufacturer is a vendor. Furthermore, Day has been combined with Ohashi for the limitation directed to third party information.
Claim 10. Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman disclose the graphical user interface of claim 9, and Ohashi further discloses the third party information comprises data from a website from the manufacturer, a link may be included on the display of the detailed information, the link to a manual or to an external site (P 0068). Day discloses the external data source may be publicly available map source accessible through one or more websites of the Internet (P 0051) wherein the third party information comprises data from a plurality of websites (Claim 7). Therefore, considering the teachings of Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine wherein the plurality of third parties are external sources and the third party information wherein the third party information comprises data from a plurality of websites with the teachings of Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman. One would have been motivated to combine wherein the plurality of third parties are external sources and the third party information wherein the third party information comprises data from a plurality of websites with the teachings of Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman to allow Ohashi to be more flexible by allowing the system to function with a heterogeneous set of network devices and not be restricted to a network of devices by a single vendor as appears to be anticipated by Ohashi (P 0045; the vendor of each network device provides, in advance, information prepared by itself on the Internet, and makes it available by the device management utility).
Claim 11. Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman disclose the graphical user interface of claim 8, and Ohashi in view of Day further discloses the single pane of glass option comprises a universal resource locator (URL), a user may install a device driver to display device information (P 0015) the vendor of each network device provides information on the Internet, and makes it available by the device management utility including link information for a manual or external site (P 0045) including information provided by the vendor of the device (P 0049) each vendor of devices stores a URL for a driver, and a vendor ID and device ID which are contained in notification information are specified by an installation operation to access the URL of the driver (P 0054). Day discloses an information sheet is accessible through a tab or hyperlink on the user interface (P 0068). Therefore, considering the teachings of Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine that includes information about the third party information with the teachings of Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman. One would have been motivated to combine that includes information about the third party information with the teachings of Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman to allow Ohashi to be more flexible by allowing the system to function with a heterogeneous set of network devices and not be restricted to a network of devices by a single vendor as appears to be anticipated by Ohashi (P 0045; the vendor of each network device provides, in advance, information prepared by itself on the Internet, and makes it available by the device management utility).
Claim 12. Ohashi discloses a method of network management comprising:
mapping network devices, displaying connected device information including a device name and the computer name of a connection destination client computer (P 0063), in a device list screen (P 0064), in the form of a network device screen by arranging icons corresponding to the devices on a map image such as an office map (P 0065);
wherein each of the network devices … is associated with a plurality of variables, the detailed information displays status of the network device including operational variables and device variables (P 0067, Fig 7);
generating a single pane of glass link based on … the associated variables, the device information management module outputs information for a device list screen via the UI module (P 0061, Fig. 6) a list screen includes a network device information display portion for displaying device information of network devices, and a locally connected device information display portion for displaying device information of devices locally connected to the client computer, acquired from the latest device information, and the model name of each device is displayed as a link that, when clicked, displays a subwindow with more detailed information about the network device (P 0062) a user places a cursor on an icon arranged on the map and detailed device and/or model information of a corresponding device or information indicating that a corresponding device is locally connected may be displayed in a sub-window (P 0065) As noted above, Applicant’s specification does not describe a single pane of glass in such a way as to distinguish it from any other type of graphical pane or window, and the model name link that displays detailed information is displayed adjacent to the associated network device in either of the list view or map view, Figure 6 clearly shows device information displayed in a pre-determined format according to the UI module, and furthermore, Ohashi discloses that the device information could be displayed by arranging icons corresponding to the networked devices on a map image, and Paragraph 67 and Figure 7 disclose the displayed variables;
receiving a selection of the single pane of glass link, a user places a cursor on an icon arranged on the map and detailed device and/or model information of a corresponding device or information indicating that a corresponding device is locally connected may be displayed in a sub-window (P 0065);
… variables from a list of drill-down actions … can be applied to at least a subset of the network devices or the interfaces that are associated with the … variables, in list view, a link is associated with a model name of a network device that, when selected, displays detailed information about the selected network device in a sub-window (P 0062) a user places a cursor on an icon arranged on the map and detailed device and/or model information of a corresponding device or information indicating that a corresponding device is locally connected may be displayed in a sub-window (P 0065) a link may be included on the display of the detailed information, the link to a manual or to an external site (P 0068) The information displayed in the window shown in Fig. 6 may also be shown in the form of a network map, when a device in the map is selected, a device details window like the one shown in Fig. 7 is displayed, the details window may contain a link to a vendor provide manual or a link to an external site; the details window include selectable actions including a link to the manual or the external site;
retrieving, from a third party, additional information related to the associated device or interface, the vendor of each network device provides information on the Internet, and makes it available by the device management utility including link information for a manual or external site (P 0045) including information provided by the vendor of the device (P 0049) when a device is selected, the detailed information displayed may include a link to a manual for the device and a link to an external site (P 0068); and
providing a data view pane for displaying the additional information, detailed device and/or model information of a corresponding device or information indicating that a corresponding device is locally connected may be displayed in a sub-window (P 0065).
Ohashi does not disclose mapping network devices and interfaces between the network devices, as disclosed in the claims. However, in the same field of invention, Lev discloses a widget is a software construct expressive of an interface representing a topology element including routers, switches, gateways, bridges operable to exchange information in a network environment (C 2 L 54-64) an arrangement of various interconnected topology elements, and includes physical topology (e.g., placement of the various topology elements including device location, ports, etc.) and logical topology (e.g., data flows within the network regardless of its physical architecture) (C 3 L 3-8) drawn with a cloud application topology modeling tool on a canvas (C 15 L 11-12, Fig. 5) server widgets may be connected to network widgets with appropriate server NIC widgets (C 17 L 39-41) a user may connect a server NIC widget with a network widget by drawing a line between two connection points on the respective widgets (C 18 L 12-15). Therefore, considering the teachings of Ohashi and Lev, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine mapping network devices and interfaces between the network devices with the teachings of Ohashi. One would have been motivated to combine mapping network devices and interfaces between the network devices with the teachings of Ohashi because displaying the connections between the network device icons on the map of Ohashi would provide a more complete rendering of the network map to the user allowing the user to more fully understand the network.
Ohashi does not disclose each of the … interfaces is associated with a plurality of variables, as disclosed in the claims. However, Lev discloses a user may select a widget and modify widget metadata using drill down property sheets to modify property values (C 7 L 62-65). Therefore, considering the teachings of Ohashi and Lev, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine each of the … interfaces is associated with a plurality of variables with the teachings of Ohashi and Lev. One would have been motivated to combine each of the … interfaces is associated with a plurality of variables with the teachings of Ohashi and Lev because displaying the connections between the network device icons on the map of Ohashi would provide a more complete rendering of the network map to the user allowing the user to more fully understand the network.
Ohashi does not disclose generating a single pane of glass link … based on a subset of the associated variable for that that are encoded into the single pane of glass link … interface; based on the encoded variables from a list of drill-down actions that can be applied to at least a subset of the network devices or the interfaces that are associated with the encoded variables, as disclosed in the claims. However, Ohashi discloses each vendor of devices stores, in advance, a URL where the vendor provides a driver, and a vendor ID and device ID which are contained in notification information of connection of a network device from the network or which are specified by an installation operation are specified to access the URL where the vendor provides the driver, thereby downloading the driver (P 0054) if link information for the manual of the MFP or an external site, and the like were acquired as device information and/or model information, these pieces of information may be displayed on the details screen (P 0068) and Lev further discloses a property sheet is displayed for a selected widget, wherein the property sheet has a plurality of links for identifying and displaying specific properties, i.e. properties for Configuration, Software and Plan (C 15 L 61-62, Fig. 9-10, Property Sheet 50) the property sheet corresponding to the firewall widget may be displayed to facilitate user entry of firewall rules applicable to the firewall widget (C 16 L 19-22) the property sheet corresponding to the firewall widget may be displayed to facilitate user entry of firewall rules applicable to the firewall widget (C 16 L 19-22). Ohashi appears to disclose that the URL, or link, includes information that with device driver ID, a vendor ID and device ID, model, and external site information, but Ohashi does not disclose that this information can be updated. However, it is clear that in Lev the values that are related to the network link displayed in the properties sheet are encode by inputting the updated values in the property sheet, therefore, any updated values will be reflected when the link is selected. It would have been obvious that the URL, or link, information provided in a notification in Ohashi could be updated through the property sheet, which is associated with the selected network element, in Lev. Therefore, considering the teachings of Ohashi and Lev, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine generating a single pane of glass link … based on a subset of the associated variable for that that are encoded into the single pane of glass link … interface; based on the encoded variables from a list of drill-down actions that can be applied to at least a subset of the network devices or the interfaces that are associated with the encoded variables with the teachings of Ohashi and Lev. One would have been motivated to combine generating a single pane of glass link … based on a subset of the associated variable for that that are encoded into the single pane of glass link … interface; based on the encoded variables from a list of drill-down actions that can be applied to at least a subset of the network devices or the interfaces that are associated with the encoded variables with the teachings of Ohashi and Lev in order to provide an efficient method of displaying the appropriate properties and sub-properties of a selected network device.
Ohashi does not disclose retrieving from a third party … the encoded variables, as disclosed in the claims. However, Ohashi discloses a user may install a device driver to display device information (P 0015) each vendor of devices stores a URL for a driver, and a vendor ID and device ID which are contained in notification information are specified by an installation operation to access the URL of the driver (P 0054) a device information screen may load device information about the device including device status, device name, a model name, an IP address and operational variables including remaining amount of toner (P 0067, Fig. 7) and Lev further discloses a user may select a widget and modify widget metadata using drill down property sheets to modify property values (C 7 L 62-65) for visual modeling throughout the entire lifecycle of the cloud application from design through deployment and maintenance lifecycle (C 10 L 60-64). In the same field of invention, Day discloses a method for obtaining information concerning a telecommunications network (P 0031) the network may create a database with information from various information sources from an external third party, and presented to or otherwise available to a network administrator through a user interface (P 0039) the network may be displayed on a visual map (P 0041) information displayed on the network map may include third party vendor contact information, network capacity management information, and telecommunication network leaser information (P 0042) and a source of external data may include third party vendor information, including lists of building services and the available telecommunications components available from the third party vendor (P 0045). While the display in Figure 7 of Ohashi is not explicitly disclosed as the URL where the vendor provides a driver disclosed in Paragraph 0054, the combination of Ohashi and Lev allows a user to access the URL of the vendor, and use the variable modification functionality of Lev to set parameters of the driver provided by the vender in Ohashi and Day further explicitly detects additional services provided by third parties. Therefore, considering the teachings of Ohashi, Lev and Day, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine retrieving from a third party … the encoded variables with the teachings of Ohashi and Lev. One would have been motivated to combine retrieving from a third party … the encoded variables with the teachings of Ohashi and Lev in order to provide an efficient method of displaying the appropriate properties and sub-properties of a selected network device and to further perform configuration maintenance as needed.
Ohashi does not disclose updating the single pane of glass link based on the additional information, as disclosed in the claims. However, Ohashi discloses device information includes a link information for a manual or external site (P 0045, 0049) and a URL where the vendor provides a driver for the network device (P 0054) the "update device information" button updates the device information (P 0062) a device information screen may load device information about the device including the last update time of the device information (P 0063) and Lev discloses the property sheet corresponding to the firewall widget may be displayed to facilitate user entry of firewall rules applicable to the firewall widget (C 16 L 19-22) and Day discloses the network may create a database with information from various information sources from an external third party, and presented to or otherwise available to a network administrator through a user interface (P 0039) the network may be displayed on a visual map (P 0041) information displayed on the network map may include third party vendor contact information, network capacity management information, and telecommunication network leaser information (P 0042) and a source of external data may include third party vendor information, including lists of building services and the available telecommunications components available from the third party vendor (P 0045). While the display in Figure 7 of Ohashi is not explicitly disclosed as the URL where the vendor provides a driver disclosed in Paragraph 0054, the combination of Ohashi and Lev allows a user to access the URL of the vendor, and use the variable modification functionality of Lev to set parameters of the driver provided by the vender in Ohashi and Day further explicitly detects additional services provided by third parties. Therefore, considering the teachings of Ohashi, Lev and Day, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine updating the single pane of glass link based on the additional information with the teachings of Ohashi, Lev and Day. One would have been motivated to combine updating the single pane of glass link based on the additional information with the teachings of Ohashi, Lev and Day in order to provide an efficient method of displaying the appropriate properties and sub-properties of a selected network device and to further perform configuration maintenance as needed.
Ohashi does not disclose tracking live data corresponding to the network devices and the interfaces; automatically generating, based at least in part, on the tracking of the live data, golden baseline data; generating, based, at least in part, on the golden baseline data, a golden dynamic baseline rule; automatically changing, based at least in part on the tracking of the live data, the golden baseline data; automatically changing, based, at least in part, on the changed golden baseline data, the dynamic golden baseline rule; providing a golden baseline alert on the data view pane when the additional information triggers the golden baseline rule, as disclosed in the claims. However, Lev discloses the cloud application topology is modified according to the rules without human intervention (C 2 L 37-50, C 8 L 35-44). In the same field of invention, Dickelman discloses a baseline is defined and the system is monitored for anomalies (P 0015) in real-time (P 0016) wherein an integrity check is performed for the quality of correctness, completeness, wholeness, soundness and compliance by monitoring changes to a baseline configuration of the operating system and other third-party software, and if a change is detected to a baseline configuration parameter, an alert can be generated to acknowledge the change (P 0024) policy deviations and vulnerabilities and can quickly and cost-effectively create baselines and performance is measured against those baselines to identify systems that are not in compliance (P 0027). In Lev, cloud application topology that is modified according to rules without human intervention is analogous to the claimed golden baseline rule, and the topology can be automatically modified, meaning it is dynamic. The baseline of Dickelman is analogous to the golden baseline and is dynamically changeable, analogous to the claimed dynamic golden baseline. Therefore, considering the teachings of Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine tracking live data corresponding to the network devices and the interfaces; automatically generating, based at least in part, on the tracking of the live data, golden baseline data; generating, based, at least in part, on the golden baseline data, a golden dynamic baseline rule; automatically changing, based at least in part on the tracking of the live data, the golden baseline data; automatically changing, based, at least in part, on the changed golden baseline data, the dynamic golden baseline rule; providing a golden baseline alert on the data view pane when the additional information triggers the golden baseline rule with the teachings of Ohashi, Lev and Day. One would have been motivated to combine tracking live data corresponding to the network devices and the interfaces; automatically generating, based at least in part, on the tracking of the live data, golden baseline data; generating, based, at least in part, on the golden baseline data, a golden baseline rule; automatically changing, based at least in part on the tracking of the live data, the golden baseline data; automatically changing, based, at least in part, on the changed golden baseline data, the golden baseline rule; providing a golden baseline alert on the data view pane when the additional information triggers the golden baseline rule with the teachings of Ohashi, Lev and Day in order to ensure that the configuration of the device as provided by the driver in Ohashi are appropriate for the device as provided by the manufacturer.
Claim 13. Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman disclose the method of claim 12, and Ohashi further discloses the third party is related to the associated device or interface, the vendor of each network device provides information on the Internet, and makes it available by the device management utility including link information for a manual or external site (P 0045) including information provided by the vendor of the device (P 0049) when a device is selected, the detailed information displayed may include a link to a manual for the device and a link to an external site (P 0068).
Claim 14. Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman disclose the method of claim 13, and Ohashi further discloses the third party is a manufacturer of the associated device or interface, the vendor of each network device provides information on the Internet, and makes it available by the device management utility including link information for a manual or external site (P 0045) While a vendor of a device need not necessarily be the manufacturer of the device, a manufacturer of a device is a vendor to the public or to a third party vendor, therefore, a manufacturer is a vendor.
Claim 15. Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman disclose the method of claim 13, and Ohashi further discloses the additional information is a website from the manufacturer that is displayed on the data view pane, selection of the "update device information" button retrieves updated information and updates the device information in the network device information management table with the latest device information and displays a list of pieces of device information of a plurality of network devices including a device name, a model name, an IP address, the last update date/time of device information, when the device link is selected, a screen displaying more detailed information of the network device is displayed on a subwindow (P 0062) a link may be included on the display of the detailed information, the link to a manual or to an external site (P 0068).
Claim 16. Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman disclose the method of claim 15, and Ohashi further discloses the data view pane displays the additional information from a plurality of websites from a plurality of third parties, a user may install a device driver to display device information (P 0015) the vendor of each network device provides information on the Internet, and makes it available by the device management utility including link information for a manual or external site (P 0045) including information provided by the vendor of the device (P 0049) each vendor of devices stores a URL for a driver, and a vendor ID and device ID which are contained in notification information are specified by an installation operation to access the URL of the driver (P 0054) detailed device and/or model information of a corresponding device or information indicating that a corresponding device is locally connected may be displayed in a sub-window (P 0065) when a device is selected, the detailed information displayed may include a link to a manual for the device and a link to an external site (P 0068) It is clear that each device may be provided by a respective vendor. Day further discloses the network may create a database with information from various information sources from an external third party, and presented to or otherwise available to a network administrator through a user interface (P 0039) information for other vendors may also be illustrated in the user interface, the network may be displayed on a visual map (P 0041) the external data source may be publicly available map source accessible through one or more websites of the Internet (P 0051). Therefore, considering the teachings of Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine wherein the additional information from each of the websites is displayed together on the data view pane with the teachings of Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman. One would have been motivated to combine wherein the additional information from each of the websites is displayed together on the data view pane with the teachings of Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman in order to provide an efficient method of displaying the appropriate properties and sub-properties of a selected network device and to further perform configuration maintenance as needed.
Claim 17. Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman disclose the method of claim 12, and Lev further discloses the property sheet is displayed as a pop-up menu over the topology map canvas (C 15 L 1-2, Figs. 5, 10) the property sheet is displayed adjacent to the mapping in Figure 6. Therefore, considering the teachings of Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the data view pane is displayed adjacent to the mapping with the teachings of Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman. One would have been motivated to combine the data view pane is displayed adjacent to the mapping with the teachings of Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman in order conserve real-estate by displaying the details window in the same window as the network map instead of to one side so as to maintain the size of the network map.
Claim 18. Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman disclose the method of claim 12, and Ohashi further discloses a user places a cursor on an icon arranged on the map and detailed device and/or model information of a corresponding device or information indicating that a corresponding device is locally connected may be displayed in a sub-window (P 0065) a link may be included on the display of the detailed information, the link to a manual or to an external site (P 0068) The information displayed in the window shown in Fig. 6 may also be shown in the form of a network map, when a device in the map is selected, a device details window like the one shown in Fig. 7 is displayed, the details window may contain a link to a vendor provide manual or a link to an external site; therefore, selecting the details first window and then selecting a link to the manual or the external site would be equivalent to drilling down to the manual or the external site, but Ohashi does not explicitly disclose drilling down to “nested” windows. Lev further discloses a user may select a widget and modify widget metadata using drill down property sheets to modify property values (C 7 L 62-65). Therefore, considering the teachings of Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the selection of the single pane of glass link is from a list of drill-down actions that can be applied to at least a subset of the network devices or the interfaces with the teachings of Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman. One would have been motivated to combine the selection of the single pane of glass link is from a list of drill-down actions that can be applied to at least a subset of the network devices or the interfaces with the teachings of Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman in order to provide a user with a convenient method of selecting the links to the manual or external site from the details window and to provide an efficient method of displaying the appropriate properties and sub-properties of a selected network device.
Claim 19. Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman disclose the method of claim 12, and Ohashi further discloses a device information screen may load device information about the device including device status, device name, a model name, an IP address and operational variables including remaining amount of toner (P 0067, Fig. 7) Any one of the devices IP address or remaining amount of toner could be interpreted as a built in variable. That is, Ohashi discloses that the operational variables of a device may be read from the device, Ohashi does not disclose that the variable may be modified, and Lev discloses that the functionality of modifying network device widget metadata, and that the system of Lev may be used in the maintenance of existing networks, Lev does not explicitly disclose reading a variable from an existing network device for the purposes of performing maintenance on that device. Therefore, considering the teachings of Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the variables comprises at least one of built-in variables, parser variables, generic variables, or customized variables with the teachings of Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman. One would have been motivated to combine the variables comprises at least one of built-in variables, parser variables, generic variables, or customized variables with the teachings of Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman in order to provide an efficient method of displaying the appropriate properties and sub-properties of a selected network device and to further perform configuration maintenance as needed.
Claim 20. Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman disclose the method of claim 12, and Ohashi discloses a user may install a device driver to display device information (P 0015) each vendor of devices stores a URL for a driver, and a vendor ID and device ID which are contained in notification information are specified by an installation operation to access the URL of the driver (P 0054) a device information screen may load device information about the device including device status, device name, a model name, an IP address and operational variables including remaining amount of toner (P 0067, Fig. 7) and Lev further discloses a user may select a widget and modify widget metadata using drill down property sheets to modify property values (C 7 L 62-65) for visual modeling throughout the entire lifecycle of the cloud application from design through deployment and maintenance lifecycle (C 10 L 60-64). Day discloses the network may create a database with information from various information sources from an external third party, and presented to or otherwise available to a network administrator through a user interface (P 0039) the network may be displayed on a visual map (P 0041) information displayed on the network map may include third party vendor contact information, network capacity management information, and telecommunication network leaser information (P 0042) and a source of external data may include third party vendor information, including lists of building services and the available telecommunications components available from the third party vendor (P 0045). While the display in Figure 7 of Ohashi is not explicitly disclosed as the URL where the vendor provides a driver disclosed in Paragraph 0054, the combination of Ohashi and Lev allows a user to access the URL of the vendor, and use the variable modification functionality of Lev to set parameters of the driver provided by the vender in Ohashi and Day further explicitly detects additional services provided by third parties. Therefore, considering the teachings of Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the encoding comprises inserting the variables into the single pane of glass link with the teachings of Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman. One would have been motivated to combine the encoding comprises inserting the variables into the single pane of glass link with the teachings of Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman in order to provide an efficient method of displaying the appropriate properties and sub-properties of a selected network device and to further perform configuration maintenance as needed.
Claims 21-23 have been canceled.
Claim 24. Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman disclose the graphic user interface of claim 1, and Lev discloses the cloud application topology is modified according to the rules without human intervention (C 2 L 37-50, C 8 L 35-44). Dickelman discloses a baseline is defined and the system is monitored for anomalies (P 0015) in real-time (P 0016) wherein an integrity check is performed for the quality of correctness, completeness, wholeness, soundness and compliance by monitoring changes to a baseline configuration of the operating system and other third-party software, and if a change is detected to a baseline configuration parameter, an alert can be generated to acknowledge the change (P 0024) policy deviations and vulnerabilities and can quickly and cost-effectively create baselines and performance is measured against those baselines to identify systems that are not in compliance (P 0027). In Lev, cloud application topology that is modified according to rules without human intervention is analogous to the claimed golden baseline rule, and the topology can be automatically modified, meaning it is dynamic. The baseline of Dickelman is analogous to the golden baseline and is dynamically changeable, analogous to the claimed dynamic golden baseline. Therefore, considering the teachings of Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine wherein the dynamic golden baseline rule is automatically changed based, at least in part, when the golden baseline data triggers the dynamic golden baseline rule to produce an updated dynamic golden baseline rule with the teachings of Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman. One would have been motivated to combine wherein the dynamic golden baseline rule is automatically changed based, at least in part, when the golden baseline data triggers the dynamic golden baseline rule to produce an updated dynamic golden baseline rule with the teachings of Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman in order to ensure that the configuration of the device as provided by the driver in Ohashi are appropriate for the device as provided by the manufacturer and are in compliance with established policies (Dickelman: P 0027).
Claim 25. Ohashi discloses a graphical user interface comprising:
a map displaying network devices, displaying connected device information including a device name and the computer name of a connection destination client computer (P 0063), in a device list screen (P 0064), in the form of a network device screen by arranging icons corresponding to the devices on a map image such as an office map (P 0065);
a data view template that includes a selection of a single pane of glass action associated with one or more of the network devices or associated with one or more of the interfaces, the device information management module outputs information for a device list screen via the UI module (P 0061, Fig. 6) Figure 6 clearly shows device information displayed in a pre-determined format according to the UI module, and furthermore, Ohashi discloses that the device information could be displayed by arranging icons corresponding to the networked devices on a map image;
a selectable link associated with the single pane of glass action that is displayed based on the association to the associated network device or associated interface, a list screen includes a network device information display portion for displaying device information of network devices, and a locally connected device information display portion for displaying device information of devices locally connected to the client computer, acquired from the latest device information, and the model name of each device is displayed as a link that, when clicked, displays a subwindow with more detailed information about the network device (P 0062) a user places a cursor on an icon arranged on the map and detailed device and/or model information of a corresponding device or information indicating that a corresponding device is locally connected may be displayed in a sub-window (P 0065) As noted above, Applicant’s specification does not describe a single pane of glass in such a way as to distinguish it from any other type of graphical pane or window, and the model name link that displays detailed information is displayed adjacent to the associated network device in either of the list view or map view;
wherein the selectable link is displayed adjacent to the associated network device or adjacent to the associate interface, In Fig 6 and as described in Paragraph 0062, the link to select to display information about a device is displayed adjacent to the network device, e.g. the link MFD Model1 is displayed adjacent to Device 1 (and Device 2-3) and the link Inkjet Printer Model2 is displayed adjacent to Local Device 1 (and Local Device 2), and
a display, upon selection of the single pane of glass action link, of a single pane of glass display on the map, in list view, a link is associated with a model name of a network device that, when selected, displays detailed information about the selected network device in a sub-window (P 0062) or on a map image with icons corresponding to network devices, detailed device and/or model information of a corresponding device or information indicating that a corresponding device is locally connected may be displayed in a sub-window (P 0065) As noted above, nothing in Applicant’s specification or claims distinguishes “a single pane of glass display” from the sub-window displaying the detailed information for a selected network device,
that displays external data for the associated network device or the associated interface, wherein the … data is retrieved from a … source …, an information apparatus or management application that is not supplied by the vendor may not hold, in advance, detailed information of the network device, and may not be able to acquire adequate device information from the network device, therefore the vendor of each network device provides, in advance, information prepared by itself on the Internet, and makes it available by the device management utility, the vendor of each network device provides information on the Internet, and makes it available by the device management utility including link information for a manual or external site (P 0045, 0049) including information provided by the vendor of the device (P 0049) the vendor is identified by a vendor ID and provides a driver for the network device (P 0054) detailed information for the device is displayed from a list for a plurality of network devices, including device name, model name, IP address, the last update date/time of device information, and is displayed in a subwindow in list view or on a map image of the network when a user selects a link associated with the device (P 0062, 0065) Ohashi discloses that the vendor of a network device makes detailed information available to the device management utility, and the detailed information for a device is displayed in a subwindow when a link for the device is selected; Ohashi implies that each network device can be supplied from a specific vendor, equivalent to a third party, but Ohashi does not explicitly that each vendor is different, Day (cited below) discloses that not only is a network service supplied by a specific vendor, but that the services can be supplied by multiple vendors.
Ohashi does not explicitly disclose a map displaying network devices and interfaces between the network devices, as disclosed in the claims. However, in the same field of invention, Lev discloses a widget is a software construct expressive of an interface representing a topology element including routers, switches, gateways, bridges, firewalls, or any other suitable physical or virtual device, component, container, element, process, or object operable to exchange information in a network environment, the topology elements may include any suitable hardware, software, components, modules, interfaces, or objects that facilitate the operations thereof (C 2 L 54-67) an arrangement of various interconnected topology elements, and includes physical topology (e.g., placement of the various topology elements including device location, ports, etc.) and logical topology (e.g., data flows within the network regardless of its physical architecture) (C 3 L 3-8) elements of a multi-tiered cloud topology may be coupled to one another through one or more interfaces employing any suitable connection (wired or wireless), which provides a viable pathway for electronic communications (C 12 L 12-15) a widget template provides interfaces to manipulate the component (C 12 L 54-58) drawn with a cloud application topology modeling tool on a canvas (C 15 L 11-12, Fig. 5) a firewall interface element is placed between two widgets, a property sheet for the firewall interface element is displayed to facilitate user entry of firewall rules (C 16 L 11-27) server widgets may be connected to network widgets with appropriate server NIC widgets (C 17 L 39-41) a user may connect a server NIC widget with a network widget by drawing a line between two connection points on the respective widgets (C 18 L 12-15). Therefore, considering the teachings of Ohashi and Lev, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine a map displaying network devices and interfaces between the network devices with the teachings of Ohashi. One would have been motivated to combine a map displaying network devices and interfaces between the network devices with the teachings of Ohashi because displaying the connections between the network device icons on the map of Ohashi would provide a more complete rendering of the network map to the user allowing the user to more fully understand the network.
Ohashi and Lev do not disclose wherein at least some of the network devices and at least some of the interfaces are from different third parties; the displayed external data is retrieved from an external source that is provided by a third party from the different third parties, as disclosed in the claims. However, Ohashi discloses each vendor of devices stores a URL for a driver, and a vendor ID and device ID which are contained in notification information are specified by an installation operation to access the URL of the driver (P 0054). In the same field of invention, Day discloses a method for obtaining information concerning a telecommunications network (P 0031) the network may create a database with information from various information sources from an external third party, and presented to or otherwise available to a network administrator through a user interface (P 0039) the network may be displayed on a visual map (P 0041) information displayed on the network map may include third party vendor contact information, network capacity management information, and telecommunication network leaser information (P 0042) and a source of external data may include third party vendor information, including lists of building services and the available telecommunications components available from the third party vendor (P 0045). That is, while Ohashi implies that different devices may be provided by different vendors, this is not explicitly disclosed. Therefore, considering the teachings of Ohashi, Lev and Day, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine wherein at least some of the network devices and at least some of the interfaces are from different third parties; the displayed external data is retrieved from an external source that is provided by a third party from the different third parties with the teachings of Ohashi and Lev. One would have been motivated to combine wherein at least some of the network devices and at least some of the interfaces are from different third parties; the displayed external data is retrieved from an external source that is provided by a third party from the different third parties with the teachings of Ohashi and Lev to allow Ohashi to be more flexible by allowing the system to function with a heterogeneous set of network devices and not be restricted to a network of devices by a single vendor as appears to be anticipated by Ohashi (P 0045; the vendor of each network device provides, in advance, information prepared by itself on the Internet, and makes it available by the device management utility).
Ohashi does not disclose explicitly disclose the displayed external data comprises operations or commands specific to the third party from the external source, as disclosed in the claims. However, Ohashi discloses a user may install a device driver to display device information (P 0015) each vendor of devices stores a URL for a driver, and a vendor ID and device ID which are contained in notification information are specified by an installation operation to access the URL of the driver (P 0054) device status, device name, a model name, an IP address and operational variables including remaining amount of toner (P 0067, Fig. 7) and Lev further discloses a user may select a widget and modify widget metadata using drill down property sheets to modify property values (C 7 L 62-65) for visual modeling throughout the entire lifecycle of the cloud application from design through deployment and maintenance lifecycle (C 10 L 60-64). Day discloses the network may create a database with information from various information sources from an external third party, and presented to or otherwise available to a network administrator through a user interface (P 0039) the network may be displayed on a visual map (P 0041) information displayed on the network map may include third party vendor contact information, network capacity management information, and telecommunication network leaser information (P 0042) and a source of external data may include third party vendor information, including lists of building services and the available telecommunications components available from the third party vendor (P 0045). While the display in Figure 7 of Ohashi is not explicitly disclosed as the URL where the vendor provides a driver disclosed in Paragraph 0054, the combination of Ohashi and Lev allows a user to access the URL of the vendor, and use the variable modification functionality of Lev to set parameters of the driver provided by the vender in Ohashi, and Day further explicitly discloses that additional vendor, device and service information from a third party is selectably displayable on a network map. Therefore, considering the teachings of Ohashi, Lev and Day, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine explicitly disclose the displayed external data comprises operations or commands specific to the third party from the external source with the teachings of Ohashi, Lev and Day. One would have been motivated to combine explicitly disclose the displayed external data comprises operations or commands specific to the third party from the external source with the teachings of Ohashi, Lev and Day in order to ensure that the configuration of the device as provided by the driver in Ohashi are appropriate for the device as provided by the manufacturer.
Ohashi does not explicitly disclose wherein the single pane of glass display comprises a display pane on the map that displays third party information from the displayed external data that is related to a corresponding network device upon selection of the selectable link for the corresponding network device or related to a corresponding network interface upon selection of the selectable link for the corresponding network interface, further wherein the third party information is from a plurality of the different third parties each associated with different ones of the network devices or interfaces, as disclosed in the claims. However, Ohashi discloses a user may install a device driver to display device information (P 0015) each vendor of devices stores a URL for a driver, and a vendor ID and device ID which are contained in notification information are specified by an installation operation to access the URL of the driver (P 0054) device status, device name, a model name, an IP address and operational variables including remaining amount of toner (P 0067, Fig. 7) and Lev further discloses a user may select a widget and modify widget metadata using drill down property sheets to modify property values (C 7 L 62-65) for visual modeling throughout the entire lifecycle of the cloud application from design through deployment and maintenance lifecycle (C 10 L 60-64). Day discloses the network may create a database with information from various information sources from an external third party, and presented to or otherwise available to a network administrator through a user interface (P 0039) the network may be displayed on a visual map (P 0041) information displayed on the network map may include third party vendor contact information, network capacity management information, and telecommunication network leaser information (P 0042) and a source of external data may include third party vendor information, including lists of building services and the available telecommunications components available from the third party vendor (P 0045). While the display in Figure 7 of Ohashi is not explicitly disclosed as the URL where the vendor provides a driver disclosed in Paragraph 0054, the combination of Ohashi and Lev allows a user to access the URL of the vendor, and use the variable modification functionality of Lev to set parameters of the driver provided by the vender in Ohashi, and Day further explicitly discloses that additional vendor, device and service information from a third party is selectably displayable on a network map. Therefore, considering the teachings of Ohashi, Lev and Day, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine wherein the single pane of glass display comprises a display pane on the map that displays third party information from the displayed external data that is related to a corresponding network device upon selection of the selectable link for the corresponding network device or related to a corresponding network interface upon selection of the selectable link for the corresponding network interface, further wherein the third party information is from a plurality of the different third parties each associated with different ones of the network devices or interfaces with the teachings of Ohashi, Lev and Day. One would have been motivated to combine wherein the single pane of glass display comprises a display pane on the map that displays third party information from the displayed external data that is related to a corresponding network device upon selection of the selectable link for the corresponding network device or related to a corresponding network interface upon selection of the selectable link for the corresponding network interface, further wherein the third party information is from a plurality of the different third parties each associated with different ones of the network devices or interfaces with the teachings of Ohashi, Lev and Day in order to ensure that the configuration of the device as provided by the driver in Ohashi are appropriate for the device as provided by the manufacturer.
Ohashi does not disclose wherein the display pane provides a golden baseline alert when the third party information triggers a static golden baseline rule; wherein the static golden baseline rule is generated based, at least in part, on static golden baseline data that is automatically generated based, at least in part, on the network devices and the interfaces, as disclosed in the claims. However, Lev discloses a determination may be made whether to modify the cloud application topology (C 18 L 31-32). In the same field of invention, Dickelman discloses the disclosed software program from a single location can manage the discovery of policy deviations and vulnerabilities and can quickly and cost-effectively create baselines (P 0027). Lev clearly discloses that the application topology, analogous the claimed baseline, may not be modified, meaning the topology remains statis, and Dickelman discloses that baselines are created based on discovery of policies, meaning they are not modified and used in a static manner. Therefore, considering the teachings of Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine wherein the display pane provides a golden baseline alert when the third party information triggers a static golden baseline rule; wherein the static golden baseline rule is generated based, at least in part, on static golden baseline data that is automatically generated based, at least in part, on the network devices and the interfaces with the teachings of Ohashi, Lev and Day. One would have been motivated to combine wherein the display pane provides a golden baseline alert when the third party information triggers a static golden baseline rule; wherein the static golden baseline rule is generated based, at least in part, on static golden baseline data that is automatically generated based, at least in part, on the network devices and the interfaces with the teachings of Ohashi, Lev and Day in order to ensure that the configuration of the device as provided by the driver in Ohashi are appropriate for the device as provided by the manufacturer and are in compliance with established policies (Dickelman: P 0027).
Claim 26. Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman disclose the graphical user interface of claim 25, and Ohashi discloses device information can include information indicating an update time of the driver program of the network device (P 0049) a user installs a device driver (P 0051) where a driver is provided by a vendor (P 0054). Lev discloses a determination may be made whether to modify the cloud application topology (C 18 L 31-32) and Dickelman discloses the disclosed software program from a single location can manage the discovery of policy deviations and vulnerabilities and can quickly and cost-effectively create baselines (P 0027). While Ohashi does not explicitly disclose a baseline, Ohashi discloses a vendor provided device driver that can installed. The vendor provided drive can be considered a baseline. Lev discloses that a cloud topology may remain static, i.e. not modified, and Dickleman discloses that a baseline is created upon discovery of software program policies, that is, each baseline is policy dependent and not modified. The combination of Dickleman and Lev with Ohashi would create an unmodified baseline (device driver) per a user’s request. Therefore, considering the teachings of Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine wherein the static golden baseline data is for a user-defined point in time with the teachings of Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman. One would have been motivated to combine wherein the static golden baseline data is for a user-defined point in time with the teachings of Ohashi, Lev, Day and Dickelman are appropriate for the device as provided by the manufacturer and are in compliance with established policies (Dickelman: P 0027).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues:
Page 3 of the Office Action restates "Applicant does not appear to provide a description of 'single pane of glass', and in particular, 'glass', to distinguish 'a single pane of glass' from just a single graphical pane, or any other type of graphical window."
Applicant respectfully maintains that "single pane of glass" is a term of art for at least the reasons stated on page 8 of Applicant's Remarks accompanying the Amendment filed on November 26, 2024. The Office's statement on 'single pane of glass' is present on page 3 of the Office Action dated December 16, 2024, which Applicant's Remarks accompanying the Amendment filed on June 12, 2025 addresses in the Remarks filed on November 26, 2024. The Office's statement on 'single pane of glass' is also present on page 3 of the Office Action dated May 29, 2024, which Applicant's Remarks addressed on page 8 of the Remarks accompanying the Amendment filed on November 26, 2024.
Per the description of “single pane of glass” in Applicant’s specification, all user interactive windows in the cited prior art meet Applicant’s description.
The applicant argues:
Applicant respectfully submits that Ohashi, Lev, Day, and Dickelman, either alone or in combination, do not teach or suggest each and every recitation of amended independent claims 1, 8, and 12. For example, Ohashi does not teach or suggest at least:
wherein the display pane provides a golden baseline alert when the third party information triggers a dynamic golden baseline rule; wherein the dynamic golden baseline rule is generated and changed based, at least in part, on golden baseline data that is:
automatically generated based, at least in part, on tracking of live data corresponding to the network devices and the interfaces; and
automatically changed based, at least in part, on the tracking of the live data
as recited by amended independent claim 1, or the similar recitations of amended independent claims 8 and 12.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Lev discloses the cloud application topology is modified according to the rules without human intervention (C 2 L 37-50, C 8 L 35-44). In the same field of invention, Dickelman discloses a baseline is defined and the system is monitored for anomalies (P 0015) in real-time (P 0016) wherein an integrity check is performed for the quality of correctness, completeness, wholeness, soundness and compliance by monitoring changes to a baseline configuration of the operating system and other third-party software, and if a change is detected to a baseline configuration parameter, an alert can be generated to acknowledge the change (P 0024) policy deviations and vulnerabilities and can quickly and cost-effectively create baselines and performance is measured against those baselines to identify systems that are not in compliance (P 0027). In Lev, cloud application topology that is modified according to rules without human intervention is analogous to the claimed golden baseline rule, and the topology can be automatically modified, meaning it is dynamic. The baseline of Dickelman is analogous to the golden baseline and is dynamically changeable, analogous to the claimed dynamic golden baseline.
New independent Claim 25 is directed to the same limitations of independent claims 1, 8 and 15, but is directed to a static golden baseline rule rather than a dynamic golden baseline rule. Claim 25 has been rejected over Ohashi in view of Lev and Dickelman. Ohashi discloses device information can include information indicating an update time of the driver program of the network device (P 0049) a user installs a device driver (P 0051) where a driver is provided by a vendor (P 0054). Lev discloses a determination may be made whether to modify the cloud application topology (C 18 L 31-32) and Dickelman discloses the disclosed software program from a single location can manage the discovery of policy deviations and vulnerabilities and can quickly and cost-effectively create baselines (P 0027). While Ohashi does not explicitly disclose a baseline, Ohashi discloses a vendor provided device driver that can installed. The vendor provided drive can be considered a baseline. Lev discloses that a cloud topology may remain static, i.e. not modified, and Dickleman discloses that a baseline is created upon discovery of software program policies, that is, each baseline is policy dependent and not modified. The combination of Dickleman and Lev with Ohashi would create an unmodified baseline (device driver) per a user’s request.
Conclusion
/J.M.H/Examiner, Art Unit 2145 4/1/2026
/CESAR B PAULA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2145