DETAILED ACTION
Status of claims
The amendment to claims filed on 6/16/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 1, 13 and 18 are amended. Claims 23-24 are canceled. Currently claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10, and 12-22 are pending in the application.
Previous rejections are withdrawn in view of the above amendment.
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10 and 12-22 are rejected on a new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 12-16, 18-19 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henesian (US Patent 4,306,108) in view of Herman (US Patent 3,473,758).
Regarding Claim 1, Henesian discloses a solar array comprising:
a foldable and flexible semiconductive substrate (see solar cells 60, 61, 62…) being contained in a blanket container (see sheet 11 with wire mesh 31, 32, 33… in figs. 1-3; col. 1, lines 14-21; col. 4, lines 17-20; col. 7, lines 20-24) and comprising a plurality of panels (or segments of sheet 11 separated by apertures 22, 24, 26, …, see figs. 1-2);
A power supply network comprising:
a first plurality of solar cells (60, 61, 62, …) mounted to a first panel (or the segment of sheet 11 underneath the solar cells 60, 61, 62… ) of the plurality of panels (or segments of sheet 11 separated by apertures 22, 24, 26…, see figs. 1-2),
a second plurality of solar cells (70, 71, 72, …) mounted to a second panel (or the segments of sheet under the solar cells 70, 71, 72, …) of the plurality of panels (or segments of sheet separated by apertures 22, 24, 26….), and
a first circuit path (or electrical connection of the columns) formed on the foldable and flexible semiconductive substrate (11), wherein the first circuit path electrically connects the first plurality of solar cells (60, 61, 62, …) with the second plurality of solar cells (70, 71, 72, ….; see col. 4, line 59 through col. 5, line 21); and
a collapsible mast (200) coupled to the foldable and flexible semi-conductive substrate (or solar cells 60, 61, 62… contained in the blanket container - sheet 11);
wherein the blanket container (11), in a deployed state, is extended over the collapsible mast (see fig. 3; col. 7, lines 16-30).
Henesian describes that the mast is (200) receivable within a housing (300) that is affixed to the spacecraft, and is extendible on command from a retracted position within the housing to a fully extended operational position (see col. 7, lines 16-30). As such, the mast of Henesian is a closed section, e.g. a section being closed in the housing (300), collapsible mast.
Henesian does not describe the foldable and flexible semiconductive substrate contained in a blanket container coupled to the closed-section collapsible mast through at least one hinge, and wherein the blanket container is oriented facing the closed-section mast in a stowed state and rotated about a hinge to translate the blanket container to an orientation perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the closed section collapsible mast in the deployed state.
Williamson et al. discloses the foldable and flexible semiconductive substrate (or solar panel assembly 12) contained in a blanket container (or flexible sheet ) coupled to the closed-section collapsible mast (or deployment means 14 of booms 62 and 64) through at least one hinge (30, 34, see figs. 1, 3 and 6), and wherein the blanket container (60) is oriented facing the closed-section mast (14 with boom 62 and 64) in a stowed state (see fig. 1) and rotated about the hinge (30/34) to translate the blanket container to an orientation perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the closed section collapsible mast in the deployed state (see figs. 3-7).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the solar array of Henesian by using at least a hinge such that the blanket container (or the sheet) coupled to the closed section collapsible mast through at least one hinge to face the mast in a stowed state and rotate about the hinge to translate the blanket container (or the sheet/substrate containing the solar panel) to an orientation perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the mast in the deployed state as taught by Williamson et al., because Williamson et al. teaches such mechanism would allow the assembly (or the blanket container) to be folded in accordion fashion to a retracted position of stowage flat against one side of the body such that the solar panels of the assembly are disposed in face-to-face relation as to provide a relative flat folded array of minimum stowage volume (see col. 2, lines 10-26).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, modified Henesian discloses a solar array as in claim 1 above, wherein Henesian discloses the foldable and flexible semi-conductive substrate (11) to be Kapton (see col. 3, lines 13-17 of Henesian), which comprises a charge dissipative polyimide material comprising black poly (4,4'-oxydiphenylene-pyromellitimide).
Regarding claim 12, modified Henesian discloses a solar array as in claim 1 above, wherein Henesian discloses the first circuit path connects the first plurality of solar cells (60, 61, 62, …) in series with the second plurality of solar cells (70, 71, 72, …; see col. 4, line 59 through col. 5, line 21).
Regarding claim 13, modified Henesian discloses a solar array as in claim 12 above, wherein Henesian further discloses a third panel of the plurality of panels (or a segment of sheet 11 supporting solar cells 80, 81, 82… in the third column) that includes a third plurality of solar cells (80, 81, 82…); a fourth panel of the plurality of panels (or a segment of sheet supporting solar cells 90, 91, 92, … in the fourth column) that includes a fourth plurality of solar cells (90, 91, 92, …, see fig. 1); and second circuit path formed on the foldable and flexible semi-conductive substrate (or electrical connection between the third and fourth columns), wherein the second circuit path connects the third plurality of solar cells in series with the fourth plurality of solar cells (see col. 4, line 59 through col. 5, line 21).
Regarding claims 14-15, modified Henesian discloses a solar array as in claim 13 above, wherein Henesian discloses the solar cells in each column connected in parallel to each other, and the columns connected in series to each other (see col. 4, line 59 through col. 5, line 21). As such, Henesian discloses the first circuit path connects the first panel i) in series with the second panel by way of the columns being connected in series and ii) in parallel with the third panel by way of the solar cells being connected in parallel; and the second circuit path connects the third panel i) in series with the fourth panel by way of the columns being connected in series and ii) in parallel with the second panel by way of the solar cells being connected in parallel.
Regarding claim 16, modified Henesian discloses a solar array as in claim 1 above, wherein Henesian shows the panels (or segments of the sheet 11 corresponding to columns of solar cells) are joint by small segments of the substrate (or sheet 11, see fig. 1) and the first circuit path of connecting the columns by way of terminals and wire meshes (31, 32, 33, …: see figs. 1-2 and col. 4, line 59 through col. 5, line 21). As such, Henesian discloses a hinge (or a small segment) that hingedly couples to at least the first panel (or the segment of sheet 11 corresponding to the first column) and the first circuit path (connecting the first and second columns of solar cells by way of meshes) is separate from the hinge.
Regarding claim 18, modified Henesian discloses a solar array as in claim 1 above, wherein Henesian discloses the foldable and flexible semi-conductive substrate (11) is configured to isolate the power circuits (wire meshes 31, 32, 33…; electrical conductive joints 111, 112, 113…, metallic traces 41, 42, 43, …; and the connector 51, 52, …) within the power supply network (see figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 19, modified Henesian disclose a solar array as in claim 1 above, wherein Henesian discloses the foldable and flexible semi- conductive substrate is made of Kapton (see col. 3, lines 14-17). As such, Henesian discloses the substrate is configured to transmit current through at least the first plurality of solar cells that maintains the first plurality of solar cells at a voltage potential and to transmit power beyond the voltage potential through power circuits in the power supply network to dissipate excess charge across the power supply network and minimize solar arcing as claimed.
Regarding claim 21, modified Henesian discloses a solar array as in claim 1 above, wherein Henesian shows the closed-section collapsible mast tensions the foldable and flexible semi-conductive substrate in the deployed state (see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 22, modified Henesian discloses a solar array as in claim 1 above, wherein Williamson et al. discloses wherein the closed-section collapsible mast (boom 62/64) extends the foldable and flexible semi-conductive substrate (substrate of solar cells) by driving the closed-section collapsible mast (62/64) along a longitudinal axis of the closed-section collapsible mast with an actuator (see motor 72 or engine 40, see fig. 2) coupled to the closed-section collapsible mast (boom 62/64, figs. 1-7).
Claim(s) 3 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Henesian (US Patent 4,306,108) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kuechler (US Patent 6,320114).
Regarding claim 3, Henesian or modified Henesian discloses a solar array as in claim 1 above, wherein Henesian discloses the plurality of panels (or segments of sheet 11 supported the columns of solar cells) are jointed/hinged together by smaller segments (see fig. 1) and Williamson et al. also discloses the plurality of panels are jointed/hinged together by a piano hinge (24, see figs. 3-7).
Modified Henesian does not disclose a plurality of hinge pins interposed between adjacent panels to hingedly couple adjacent panels.
Kuechler discloses using a hinge (3) including a hinge pin (7) interposed between adjacent panels (2) to hingely couple adjacent panels (see figs. 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify to solar array of modified Henesian by using a plurality of hinges having a plurality of hinge pins (7) interposed between adjacent panels to hingely couple separate adjacent panels as taught by Kuechler; because Henensian and Williamson et al. suggest using hinge, and Kuechler teaches such hinges provide are additionally used as electrically conductive back surfaces of the panels for static charge dissipation from all panels to common ground through low transition resistances in the hinges (see col. 2, lines 18-25).
Alternatively, in regards to claim 16, modified Henesian discloses a solar array as in claim 1 above, Henesian shows the panels (or segments of the sheet 11 corresponding to columns of solar cells) are joint by small segments of the substrate (or sheet 11, see fig. 1) and the first circuit path of connecting the columns by way of terminals and wire meshes (31, 32, 33, …: see figs. 1-2 and col. 4, line 59 through col. 5, line 21).
Henesian does not explicitly describe using a hinge (or a joint with pivotal center) that hingedly couples to at least the first panel.
Kuechler discloses using a hinge (3) including a hinge pin (7) interposed between adjacent panels (2) to hingely couple adjacent panels (see figs. 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify to solar array of modified Henesian by using a hinge to hingely couple to the separate panels as taught by Kuechler, because Kuechler teaches such hinges provide are additionally used as electrically conductive back surfaces of the panels for static charge dissipation from all panels to common ground through low transition resistances in the hinges (see col. 2, lines 18-25).
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Henesian (US Patent 4,306,108) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Austin (US 20150326176).
Regarding claim 4, modified Henesian discloses a solar array as in claim 3 above.
Modified Henesian does not disclose the plurality of hinge pins comprise a carbon fiber material.
Austin discloses hinges made of carbon fiber, which is a strong material for high-strength ([0080]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the hinge pins of modified Henesian to comprise carbon fiber strong material for high-strength as taught by Austin.
Claim(s) 8, 10, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Henesian (US Patent 4,306,108) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Minelli (US 20090301544).
Regarding claims 8, 10, 17, and 20, modified Henesian discloses a solar array as in claim 1 above, wherein Henesian discloses the circuit (see wire mesh such as 32) is between the panels (or the segments of sheets supporting columns of solar cells, see figs. 1-2).
Modified Henesian does not teach including a series of blocking diodes within the first circuit path as claimed in claim 8, a plurality of blocking diodes positioned on the first panel and the second panel as claimed in claim 10, a plurality of blocking diodes disposed on the foldable and flexible semi-conductive substrate, the plurality of blocking diodes is configured to prevent back feeding of current into one or more of the first plurality of solar cells or the second plurality of solar cells as claimed in claim 17, or a plurality of blocking diodes positioned between the first panel and the second panel as claimed in claim 20.
Minelli discloses arranging blocking diodes within the circuit (102) or between the panels (or arrays of solar cells) to prevent current flowing back into one or more photovoltaic cell string which are not exposed to sunlight (or arrays, [0020]), wherein the circuit (102) is on the substrate (106, see figs. 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the solar array of modified Henesian by incorporating a series of blocking diodes; which are positioned within the circuit path, on the first panel and second panel, on the substrate or between the first and second panels (or arrays); to prevent current flowing back into one or more photovoltaic cell string which are not exposed to sunlight as taught by Minelli. Furthermore, arranging the blocking diodes within the circuit path, on the panels, on the substrate or between the panels would involve nothing more than a mere rearrangement of parts that would not modify the operation of the solar array, and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Alternatively, claim(s) 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Henesian (US Patent 4,306,108) as applied to claim 13 above.
Alternatively, in regards to claims 14-15, Henesian or modified Henesian discloses a solar array as in claim 13 above, wherein Henesian discloses the solar cells in each column connected in parallel to each other, and the columns connected in series to each other; and in usual application, the solar cells would be connected in such a way that the power output of solar cells would be additive so as to provide maximum electrical power (see col. 4, line 59 through col. 5, line 21).
Henesian does not explicitly show the first circuit path connects the first panel i) in series with the second panel and ii) in parallel with the third panel; nor the second circuit path connects the third panel i) in series with the fourth panel and ii) in parallel with the second panel.
However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have connected the solar cells such that the first circuit path connects the first panel i) in series with the second panel and ii) in parallel with the third panel; nor the second circuit path connects the third panel i) in series with the fourth panel and ii) in parallel with the second panel to achieve additive voltage from the series connection and additive current from the parallel connection, because Henesian teaches the solar cells would be connected in such a way that the power output of solar cells would be additive so as to provide maximum electrical power in usual application (see col. 5, lines 17-21)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8, 10, 12-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues the previously cited references do not teach the claimed invention as amended in claim 1.
However, Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the new ground of rejection. See the rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
THANH-TRUC TRINH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/THANH TRUC TRINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726