DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 6, 8-11, 13-16, 28, 30-35 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, lines 3-5 recite, “the method comprising: inserting the electrical cable in at least one holder; after removing the protective layer with a knife or other cutting implement in order to expose at least one deviation of the foil shield or mesh…” This limitation has the following issues: • It is unclear if Applicant is positively claiming the step of “removing the protective layer with a knife or other cutting implement.” • It is unclear if the step of “removing the protective layer with a knife or other cutting implement” is performed after the previously recited of “inserting the electrical cable in at least one holder.” For purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted as including the step of removing the protective layer prior to inserting the electrical cable in at least one holder. Claim 9, lines 11-12 recite, “after removing a protective layer with a knife or other cutting implement in order to expose at least one deviation of the foil shield or mesh.” As currently written, the recitation of “a protective layer” introduces another protective layer in addition to the recitation of “a protective layer” set forth in the preamble of the claim. It is unclear if this is referring to a separate and distinct protective layer. Moreover, it is unclear what weight to give this limitation since it appears to requiring a method step or process step of preparing a work piece for use with the apparatus of claim 9. For purposes of examination, examiner will interpret this recitation as the holder configured to hold the protective layer that has at least partially been removed to expose the foil shield or mesh.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
As best understood, claims 1, 2, 9, 10 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ben-Ron et al (US Publication 2018/0175595), herein referred to as Ben-Ron, in view of Kodama (US Publication 2016/0111187) and Stevens (US Publication 2006/0254801), and further in view of Miller et al (US Patent 4,671,848), herein referred to as Miller, Dworkowski et al (US Publication 2002/0190230), herein referred to as Dworkowski, Kiyofuji et al (JP06114578), herein referred to as Kiyofuji, and Okuda (US Patent 4,170,726). Regarding claim 1, Ben-Ron discloses a method for ablating a foil shield or mesh (e.g., metal foil shield 136, 320) of an electrical cable (e.g., a shielded twisted pair cable 100 including two twisted wire pairs, each twisted wire pair including inner wires 132a, 132b within a separate metal foil shield 136) having a cross section (annotated fig. 1), the electrical cable having a protective layer (130) that is external to the foil shield or mesh (136), the method comprising:
inserting the electrical cable (para. 0018, lines 3-6 with para. 0025, lines 1-2; para. 0026, lines 6-8; and para. 0027, lines 4-8) in at least one holder (210); after removing the protective layer with a knife or other cutting implement (para. 0027, lines 4-8) in order to expose at least one deviation of the foil shield or mesh (annotated fig. 1; para. 0027, lines 4-12): rotating one or both of a portion (e.g., rotation of mirror assembly, block 416) of a laser system (para. 0020, lines 7-10) or the electrical cable;
determining, using at least one processor (230) whether or how much (para. 0025, lines 3-11; para. 0026, lines 8-14; para. 0027, lines 8-12) to move a part (i.e., lens 312) of a laser system (304) in order to position a focus of laser radiation (paragraph 0025, lines 3-5) generated by the laser system (304) so as to be concentrated on a surface (e.g., 326) of the foil shield or the mesh (metal foil shield 320) of the electrical cable (para. 0027, lines 8-12);
moving, using at least one motor (324), the part (312) of the laser system (304) in order to position the focus of laser radiation (308) generated by the laser system (304) to be concentrated on the surface (326) of the foil shield or the mesh (320) of the electrical cable (para. 0025, lines 6-11; para. 0027, lines 8-12); and operating, concurrently while rotating the portion (mirror assembly, block 416) of the laser system (para. 0027, lines 12-16), the laser system (304) to generate the laser radiation (308), with the position of the focus of the laser radiation concentrated along the circumference of the surface of the foil shield or the mesh of the electrical cable (para. 0025; para. 0027, lines 12-14), in order for the laser radiation (308) to ablate at least a part (para. 0020, lines 10-13; para. 0027, lines 12-16) of the foil shield or the mesh (320) along the circumference of the surface of the foil shield or the mesh of the electrical cable (thereby forming groove 322) so that the laser radiation remains constant (para. 0019, lines 11-27) along the circumference of the surface of the foil shield or the mesh of the electric cable (para. 0020, lines 1-10; para. 0025, lines 3-5).
● Ben-Ron fails to specifically disclose the protective layer [of the electrical cable] that is external to the foil shield or mesh has a cross section that deviates from being a perfect circle. However, the following references are pertinent to the aforementioned limitations: A. Kodama (US Publication 2016/0111187) teaches it is known in the art of electrical signal cables to include a protective layer (insulating tapes 4, 5) that is external to a foil shield or mesh (conductive metal layer 3). Kodama teaches protective layer (4, 5) has a cross section that deviates from being a perfect circle (e.g., figs. 6A-6C) due to overlapping portion (3a) of foil shield or mesh (3) and/or overlapping portions of the protective layer (4, 5) itself. Kodama teaches this cross section is formed due to the process of wrapping the protective layer and foil shield or mesh around the electrical signal cable. Further, Kodama teaches it manner of forming electrical cables is a known alternative to providing a substantially smooth and circular protective layer (jacket 14), as depicted in fig. 1, wherein this circular protective layer is similar in form to that of Ben-Ron. B. Stevens (US Publication 2006/0254801) teaches it is known in the art of multi-conductor electrical transmission cables (fig. 4) to include with a first shield member (320), a second shield member (340), and a jacket (350) surrounding a twisted wire pair (370). Stevens notes first shield member (320) is formed in the same manner as first shield member (120; para. 0037, lines 7- 10), such that “the shield member 120 is a laminated shielding tape that is applied such that the edges of the tape are either in abutting relationship or overlapping (as shown) to provide 100% shielding coverage” (para. 0021, lines 3-6). Critically, exterior to first shield member (320), second shield member (340) is a braided metal mesh beneath polymeric jacket (350). The teaching of Stevens suggests it is known in the art of electrical cables to configure at least one of the shielding members such that its edges are arranged in an abutting relationship or an overlapping relationship. It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the method of Ben-Ron substantially disclosed above with the teaching of Kodama and Stevens such that the protective layer [of the electrical cable] that is external to the foil shield or mesh has a cross section that is any reasonable shape, including a shape that deviates from being a perfect circle, since the shape of the cross section is dependent upon the manner of construction the manufacturer elects to construct the electrical cable from. Moreover, the aforementioned modification would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art because the substitution of known method of forming the foil shield/mesh and outer protective layer for another would have yielded predictable results and all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results. ● Ben-Ron fails to disclose the method includes the laser radiation generated by the laser system is focused outside of the electrical cable at a predetermined distance from the surface of the foil shield or the mesh of the electrical cable.
However, Miller teaches it is known in the art of systems utilizing lasers “to remove an insulating coating from an electrical conductor through use of a laser apparatus” (col. 2, lines 9-11). Miller specifically teaches in col. 2, lines 13-16, the system “remove[s] an insulating coating from a material by focusing a laser beam to cause generation of an ionized region or plasma region in the vicinity of the insulating coating” [emphasis added], wherein “the optical system 11 [creates] a focused laser beam 20 that provides a maximum concentration of energy in the region 22 having a predetermined spatial relationship with the [material to be removed]” (col. 2, lines 58-62). In figs. 1a-1d, the focal point of the laser is shown to be outside of the material to be removed by “a predetermined distance” at a respective point along the material that is confined to a specific area so as to be constant with respect to the surface rather than focusing the laser (20) directly upon the insulating material to be removed.
It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the method of Ben-Ron substantially disclosed above with the teaching of Miller such that the laser radiation generated by the laser system is focused at any reasonable location with respect to the surface of the electrical cable, including being focused outside of the electrical cable at a predetermined distance from the surface of the foil shield and the mesh of the electrical cable since the prior art shows the focal point concentration can be located in either position with respect to the outer surface of the electrical cable and adjusting the focal point would have yielded predictable results (i.e., the removal of material from the foil shield and the mesh). Moreover, the aforementioned modification would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art because locating the concentration of the laser radiation outside of the electrical cable at a predetermined distance from the surface of the foil shield and the mesh can mitigate heat dissipation associated with impinging radiation on the protective cover in closer proximity to the conducting material of the electrical cable (Miller, col. 1, lines 48-55). ● The modified method of Ben-Ron substantially disclosed above fails to include after removing the protective layer with a knife or other cutting implement in order to expose the at least one deviation of the foil shield or mesh for each respective point of a plurality of respective points on the circumference of the surface of the foil shield and the mesh of the electrical cable while rotating the portion of the laser system: - sensing, by a sensor, a respective distance of the sensor to the respective point while the electrical cable is held in the at least one holder; - determining, using the at least one processor and based on the respective distance, whether or how much to move the part of a laser system in order to position the focus of laser radiation generated by the laser system to be at the predetermined distance relative to the respective point; and - after sensing the respective distance of the sensor to the respective point, moving, using the at least one motor and concurrently while rotating the one or both of the portion of the laser system or the electrical cable, the at least one of the electrical cable or the part of the laser system to compensate for the deviations in the shape of the electrical cable from being the predetermined shape and to position the focus of the laser radiation from the laser system to be at the predetermined distance relative to the respective point along the circumference of the surface of the foil shield and the mesh of the electrical cable; and - after sensing the respective distance of the sensor to the respective point, after rotating the one or both of the portion of the laser system or the electric cable, and after moving the at least one of the electrical cable or the part of the laser system, operating, concurrently while rotating the one or both of the portion of the laser system or the electrical cable, the laser system to generate the laser radiation, with the position of the focus of the laser radiation to be at the predetermined distance relative to the respective point along the circumference of the surface of the foil shield and the mesh of the electrical cable, in order for the laser radiation to ablate at least a part of the foil shield and the mesh at the respective points along the circumference of the surface of the foil shield and the mesh of the electrical cable … so that the laser radiation remains constant along the circumference of the surface of the foil shield and the mesh of the electric cable and so that the laser radiation is generated after sensing the respective distance of the sensor to the respective point, after rotating the one or both of the portion of the laser or the electrical cable, and after moving the at least one of the electrical cable or the part of the laser system. However, the following references provide teaching pertinent to this limitation: A. Ben-Ron states in para. 0027, lines 4-8, “[c]ut to size electrical cable stripped from its outer jacket and a [braided] shield if such exists, is inserted (Block 408) into system 200 where holder 210 picks-up the electrical cable and advances it to a desired length…” [emphasis added]. The aforementioned step suggests circular shielding/screening sleeve (130) of cable (100) depicted in annotated fig. 1 is removed prior to inserting the cable into the metal foil shield system (200). In this case, at least one of the twisted wire pairs (132a, 132b) is inserted into holder (210) for removal of the respective foil shield and the mesh (metal foil shield 136). As noted above, the metal foil shields (136) have a non-circular, elliptical cross-section shape (annotated fig. 1) that deviates from the substantially perfect circular cross-sectional shape of shielding/screening sleeve (130). The elliptical cross-section shape of shielding/screening sleeve (130) twists along a length of the electrical cable so depending upon where along the cable the holder grasps the electrical cable, the elliptical cross-section shape will be arranged differently with respect to the laser system. Further, Ben-Ron discloses lens (312) of the laser system is adjustable “to maintain a laser radiation concentration point on surface 326 (Detail D) of metal foil shield 320 of electrical cables of different size” (para. 0025, lines 3-5). The teaching of Ben-Ron suggests facilitating adjustment of the focus of the laser radiation with respect to non-circular cross-sections. B. Dworkowski (US Publication 2002/0190230) teaches it is known in the art of laser cutting systems to provide an auto focus system with a sensor (12) that moves with the laser applicator to measure the distance from the sensor to the workpiece (par. 0082, lines 1-4) to generate a “profile of the distance along the predicted trajectory of the cutting head (para. 0082, lines 6-8). The auto focus system is configured “to adjust the vertical position of [a] laser focusing lens to keep [the] laser beam focused on the surface of the material” (para. 0127, lines 1-3). Dworkowski teaches, “[t]he system must respond to changes in the [workpiece] surface height” (para. 0063, lines 1-2), wherein Dworkowski notes “to keep the quality of cut consistently at the high level, it is important that the distance between the nozzle and the material be constant at all times. As a result, an autofocus actuator must be provided to either adjust the entire laser cutting head or control the vertical position of both laser focusing lens and nozzle tip at the same time” (para. 0063, lines 16-23). Dworkowski teaches “[d]istance to the surface will be measured in real time, and ahead of the current cutting spot (focused laser beam)” (para. 0064, lines 4-6). For this purpose, Dworkowski teaches the sensor uses a sampling rate (Ts) of 1kHz. As described para. 0085, lines 6-9 with respect the alternative embodiment depicted in fig. 19, “[w]hen [laser] head 14 approaches a particular area of the [workpiece], an appropriate distance data will be extracted from the memory, and focus of the laser cutting head [will be] adjusted accordingly.” The teaching of Dworkowski suggests, for each respective point along an intended cutting path, the sensor (12) senses a respective distance from the sensor to the respective point, uses a processor (e.g., autofocus controller 70) to determine how much to move a part of the laser system (e.g., lens) for the respective point, and to move, based on the sensed measurement, the position of part of the laser system to adjust the focus of the laser radiation when the location of the laser cutting spot reaches the respective point. C. Kiyofuji (JP06114578) teaches it is known in the art of laser beam machining of a rotating workpiece (1) to provide a sensor (12) configured to detect the position of the surface to be machined (i.e., a distance of the workpiece from the sensor). Kiyofuji states in lines 3-7 of the Constitution, “[l]aser beam machining is performed continuously in the peripheral direction and the axial direction for the surface to be machined while the position of the laser beam machining head 7 is controlled so that the distance between the laser beam machining head and the surface to be machined is attained to a specific value” [emphasis added]. As shown in fig. 2, Kiyofuji teaches sensor (12) is positioned ahead of laser beam machining head (7) with respect to the rotational direction of workpiece (1). Therefore, the teaching of Kiyofuji suggests it is known in the art to continuously measure a distance to respective points along the circumference of the workpiece and to use this data to control the position of the laser with respect to each of the corresponding respective points as each respective point on the surface of the workpiece rotates past the laser beam machining head (7), as shown in fig. 2. D. Okuda (US Patent 4,170,726) teaches it is known in the art of laser beam machining a rotating workpiece with an apparatus that includes a sensor (measuring means 7), a laser system (1, 1a, 2) and at least one processor (numerical control means 8). Okuda teaches sensing, by the sensor (7) a respective distance of the sensor to a respective point (col. 4, lines 39-42) while the workpiece is held on at least one holder (i.e., a structure that holds and rotates the workpiece [not shown]), determining, using at least one processor (8) and based on the respective distance (col. 4, lines 48-58), whether or how much to adjust the focus of the laser radiation (L) of the laser system to maintain the focus of the laser radiation on the surface of the workpiece (col. 4, lines 54-58), after sensing the respective distance of the sensor to the respective point, moving, and concurrently while rotating the workpiece (W), the part of the laser system to compensate for the deviations in the shape of the workpiece (W) from being the predetermined shape and to position the focus of the laser radiation from the laser system to be on the surface of the workpiece (W) at the predetermined distance from the respective point along the circumference of the surface of the foil shield and the mesh of the electrical cable (col. 4, lines 42-45); and after sensing the respective distance of the sensor to the respective point, after rotating the electric cable, and after moving the part of the laser system (1a), operating, concurrently while rotating the workpiece (W), the laser system (1) to generate the laser radiation (L), with the position of the focus of the laser radiation focused on the surface of the workpiece (W) along the circumference of the workpiece so the laser radiation (L) remains constant along the circumference of the surface of the workpiece (fig. 5) in order to perform work on the workpiece (W) so that the laser radiation is generated after sensing the respective distance of the sensor to the respective point (fig. 5), after rotating the electrical cable (in direction N), and after moving the part of the laser system (as controlled by numerical control means 8; col. 4, lines 53-58). Okuda teaches in col. 1, lines 60-64, “[the] object of this invention is to provide a method of accurately forming annular grooves in the outer periphery of workpieces, in which the workpiece in rotation is irradiated continuously with a laser beam [along] the path of rotation of its outer periphery.” With regards to the examiner’s interpretation of Okuda, in col. 4, lines 32-35, Okuda states, “laser beam applicator 1 is set in position so that the workpiece W2 rotating in the direction of the arrow N at a specified speed will be irradiated with laser light L tangentially thereof with a suitable tolerance” [emphasis added]. Okuda teaches further in col. 4, lines 42-45, “[t]he laser beam applicator 1 and the tool 6 are operated at the same time in response to the instructions from the numerical control means 8 by way of the following means 1a and 6a.” The numerical control means (8) generates its instructions based upon data received from measurement means (7), i.e., Okuda teaches in col. 4, lines 48-67, “[t]he state of the workpiece worked with the laser beam L and the tool 6 is measured by the measuring means 7 under the control of the numerical control means 8 by way of the following means 7a, and the results are given to the numerical control means 8. The control means 8 processes the information received and gives instructions to the laser beam applicator 1 and the melt removing tool 6 via the following means 1a and 6a to accurately control the positions of the irradiation point P and contact point Q from moment to moment.” Therefore, since numerical control means (8) controls laser beam applicator (1), and laser beam applicator (1) must initially be set in position with respect to the surface of workpiece (W), one having an ordinary skill in the art could foresee that a possible solution would be for the numerical control means (8) processes information received from measurement means (7) regarding an original state of the workpiece (W), i.e., distance of outer surface thereof from sensor (7), prior to any machining being performed to optimize the initial positioning of laser beam applicator (1) with respect to workpiece (W). It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the method of Ben-Ron substantially disclosed above with the teaching of Dworkowski, Kiyofuji and Okuda such that the method includes after removing the protective layer with a knife or other cutting implement to expose deviations of the foil sheath or mesh, for each respective point of a plurality of respective points on at least a part of a circumference of a surface of the foil shield or mesh while rotating one or both of the portion of the laser system or the electrical cable: sensing, by a sensor, respective distances to respective points along the circumference of the surface of the foil shield and the mesh while the electrical cable is held in the at least one holder; determining, using the at least one processor and based on the respective distance, whether or how much to adjust the system to position the focus of the laser radiation of the laser system at the predetermined distance relative to the respective point along the circumference of the foil shield and the mesh; after sensing the respective distance of the sensor to the respective point, moving, using the at least one motor and concurrently while rotating the one or both of the portion of the laser system or the electrical cable, the at least one of the electrical cable or the part of the laser system to compensate for the deviations in the shape of the electrical cable from being the predetermined shape; and after sensing the respective distance of the sensor to the respective point, after rotating the one or both of the portion of the laser system or the electric cable, and after moving the at least one of the electrical cable or the part of the laser system, operating, concurrently while rotating the one or both of the portion of the laser system or the electrical cable, the laser system to generate the laser radiation, with the position of the focus of the laser radiation to be at the predetermined distance relative to the respective point along the circumference of the surface of the foil shield and the mesh of the electrical cable, in order for the laser radiation (308) to ablate at least a part of the foil shield and the mesh at the respective points along the circumference of the surface of the foil shield and the mesh of the electrical cable … so that the laser radiation remains constant along the circumference of the surface of the foil shield and the mesh of the electric cable and so that the laser radiation is generated after sensing the respective distance of the sensor to the respective point, after rotating the one or both of the portion of the laser or the electrical cable, and after moving the at least one of the electrical cable or the part of the laser system in order to allow the apparatus performing the method of Ben-Ron to accurately ablate a groove of consistent depth on the outer surface of the foil shield and the mesh of electrical cables that do not have a consistent cross-section shape around their circumference (e.g. metal foil shield/sleeve 136 of Ben-Ron depicted in fig. 1 with an oval-shaped cross-section). Moreover, as taught by Dworkowski, it is known for the processor to create a topographical map correlating respective distances to particular points along the intended trajectory or cutting path of the workpiece (i.e., around the circumference of the cable), thereby allowing the controller to accurately maintain or adjust the focal position of the laser with respect to the surface of the workpiece, wherein Kiyofuji and Okuda teach it is known in the art to apply distance measuring and subsequent laser focus techniques similar to those taught by Dworkowski with respect to substantially flat, laid out workpiece with surface undulations on substantially cylindrical elongated workpieces, the teaching being applicable to the method of ablating the foil shield and the mesh on electrical cables. Regarding claim 2, the modified method of Ben-Ron substantially disclosed above includes wherein the protective layer that is external to the foil shield or mesh is composed of rubber directly under which is the foil shield or mesh (as taught and/or suggested by Stevens; see e.g., fig. 4); the laser system comprises at least one laser (Ben-Ron, 304) and at least one lens (Ben-Ron, 312); and wherein moving the at least one of the electrical cable (Ben-Ron, 320) or the part of the laser system a part of a laser system comprises moving the lens (Ben-Ron, para. 0025, lines 3-11). Regarding claim 9, the modified method of Ben-Ron substantially disclosed above in the 103 rejection for claim 1 includes all features of an apparatus (Ben-Ron fig. 3A) for ablating a foil shield and the mesh of an electrical cable (Ben-Ron para. 0008, lines 1-4), the electrical cable having a protective layer (e.g., Ben-Ron 130) that is external to the foil shield or mesh (136) having a cross section that deviates from being a perfect circle (e.g., as taught and/or suggested by Stevens 350 and Kodama 4, 5), the apparatus comprising:
at least one holder (210) configured to hold the electrical cable (100); at least one sensor (e.g., Kiyofuji, 12) configured to sense a distance of the sensor to the electrical cable while the electrical cable is held in the at least one holder (as taught by Dworkowski, Kiyofuji and Okuda);
a laser system (Ben-Ron 304, 308, 312, 316) including a laser (304) and at least one lens (312);
at least one motor (Ben-Ron paragraph 0020, lines 6-10 and paragraph 0025, lines 6-9);
and
at least one processor (Ben-Ron 230; paragraph 0010, lines 1-2) in communication with the at least one sensor (as taught by Dworkowski, Kiyofuji and Okuda), the laser system (Ben-Ron 304, 308, 312, 316), and the at least one motor (Ben-Ron paragraph 0018, lines 9-11), the at least one processor configured to:
after removing a protective layer with a knife or other cutting implement in order to expose at least one deviation of the foil shield or mesh (Ren-Ron, para. 0027, lines 4-12) for each respective point of a plurality of respective points on a circumference of a surface of the foil shield and the mesh of the electrical cable while rotating one or both of a portion of a laser system or the electrical cable (as taught by Dworkowski, Kiyofuji and Okuda):
receive, from the at least one sensor, respective distances of the sensor to respective points along a circumference of a surface of the foil shield and the mesh of the electrical cable (as taught by Dworkowski, Kiyofuji and Okuda);
determine, based on the respective distances, whether or how much to move at least one of the electrical cable or a part of a laser system (i.e. lens 312) in order to position a focus of laser radiation (308) generated by the laser system (304) to be outside of the electric cable at a predetermined distance (as taught by Miller col. 2, lines 58-62) from the respective points along the circumference of the surface of the foil shield and the mesh of the electrical cable (Ben-Ron paragraph 0025, lines 3-13);
after sensing the respective distances of the sensor to the respective points (Milne, paragraph 0027, lines 8-12), control rotating of one or both of a portion of the laser system or the electrical cable (Ben-Ron paragraph 0027, lines 12-19 and Miller, col. 3, lines 31-38);
after sensing the respective distances of the sensor to the respective points (as taught by Dworkowski, Kiyofuji and Okuda), control the at least one motor in order to move the at least one of the electrical cable or the part of the laser system (i.e. lens 312) concurrently while the one or both of the portion of the laser system or the electrical cable are rotating in order to compensate for the deviations of the electrical cable from being the perfect circle (as taught by Dworkowski, Kiyofuji and Okuda) and to position the focus of laser radiation generated by the laser system to be at the predetermined distance relative to the respective points along the circumference of the surface of the foil shield and the mesh of the electrical cable (Ben-Ron paragraph 0020, lines 1-6); and
after sensing the respective distances of the sensor to the respective points (as taught by Dworkowski, Kiyofuji and Okuda), after rotating the one or both of the portion of the laser system or the electric cable (as taught by Dworkowski, Kiyofuji and Okuda), and after moving the at least one of the electrical cable or the part of the laser system (as taught by Dworkowski, Kiyofuji and Okuda), control the laser system in order to generate the laser radiation (Ben-Ron paragraph 0027, lines 12-19), concurrently while the one or both of the portion of the laser system or the electrical cable is rotating, with the position of the focus of the laser radiation outside of the electric cable (as taught by Miller) at the predetermined distance from the respective points along the circumference of the surface of the foil shield and the mesh of the electrical cable (Ben-Ron paragraph 0025, lines 2-9), in order for the laser radiation to ablate at least a part of the foil shield and the mesh at the respective points along the circumference of the surface of the foil shield and the mesh of the electrical cable (Ben-Ron paragraph 0021) so that the laser radiation remains constant along the circumference of the surface of the foil shield and the mesh of the electric cable (Ben-Ron paragraph 0025, lines 3-5 and as taught by Miller 22), and so that the laser radiation is generated after sensing the respective distances of the sensor to the respective points, after rotating the one or both of the portion of the laser system or the electric cable, and after moving the at least one of the electrical cable or the part of the laser system (Dworkowski, Kiyofuji and Okuda).
Regarding claim 10, the modified apparatus of Ben-Ron substantially disclosed above includes wherein the at least one processor (Ben-Ron 230) is configured to control the at least one motor in order to move the lens (Ben-Ron 312) respective compensation distances in order to position the focus of the laser radiation at the predetermined distance relative to the respective points along the circumference of the foil shield and the mesh of the electrical cable (Ben-Ron paragraph 0025, lines 3-13); and
wherein the respective compensation distance comprises a distance to move the lens in order to compensate for a surface deviation at the respective point (as taught by Dworkowski, Kiyofuji and Okuda). Regarding claim 28, the modified apparatus of Ben-Ron substantially disclosed above includes wherein the sensor senses the respective distance for the respective point along the circumference of the surface of the foil shield and the mesh of the electric cable (as taught by Dworkowski, Kiyofuji and Okuda); wherein, after the sensor senses the respective distance for the respective point, one or both of the portion of the laser system or the electrical cable are rotated thereby moving the respective point; and wherein the compensation, by moving the at least one of the electrical cable or the part of the laser system (as taught by Miller), for the deviation of the electrical cable at the respective point is performed: (1) after the sensor senses the respective distance for the respective point; and (1) after the one or both of the portion of the laser system or the electrical cable are rotated thereby moving the respective point (as taught by Dworkowski, Kiyofuji and Okuda).
As best understood, claims 3, 6, 8, 11, 13-16, 30-35 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ben-Ron (US Publication 2018/0175595), Kodama (US Publication 2016/0111187), Stevens (US Publication 2006/0254801), Miller (US Patent 4,671,848), Dworkowski (US Publication 2002/0190230), Kiyofuji (JP06114578), Okuda (US Patent 4,170,726) in further view of Campagna (US Patent 6,130,404). Regarding claim 3, the modified method of Ben-Ron substantially disclosed above includes the lens (Ben-Ron, 312) is moved respective compensation distances in order to position the focus of the laser radiation at the predetermined distance relative to the respective points along the circumference of the foil shield and the mesh of the electrical cable (Ben-Ron, para. 0025, lines 9-11); and
wherein the respective compensation distance comprises a distance to move the lens in order to compensate for a surface deviation at the respective point (as taught by Dworkowski, para. 0064, lines 6-4; para. 0085, lines 6-9; and para. 0127, lines 1-3); wherein moving the at least one lens the respective compensation distance results in the focus of the laser radiation being outside of the electrical cable (as taught by Miller) by the predetermined distance at the respective point along the circumference of the foil shield and the mesh of the electrical cable (Ben-Ron, para. 0025, lines 12-17); and wherein the at least one motor pushes the at least one lens (Ben-Ron para. 0025, lines 6-8) in order for the focus of the laser radiation to be outside of the electrical cable (as taught by Miller). The modified method of Ben-Ron substantially disclosed above fails to disclose the at least one lens moves transverse to a cross-section of the electrical cable so that the at least one lens of positioned closer to or further away from the electrical cable. However, the following teaching is pertinent to this limitation: A. Miller teaches it is known in the art of devices for ablating a foil shield and the mesh (16) of an electrical cable that the lens (11b) of the optical system can be oriented and positioned in a variety of ways to facilitate the focusing of laser radiation (20) of the laser system at the respective distance outside of the outer surface of the electrical cable (fig. 1b). For example, Miller teaches a first embodiment (figs. 1a-1d) in which the laser radiation (20) of laser unit (10) is reflected from laser unit (10) off of mirror (11a) and passes through lens (11b) in a direction transverse to the cross-section of the electrical cable. Alternatively, Miller teaches another embodiment (i.e., fig. 2b) with lens (11b) positioned such that the laser radiation (20) passes therethrough parallel to the longitudinal axis (4) of the electrical cable, the laser radiation then being reflected by a final mirror (11d) toward the outer surface of the electrical cable. In this embodiment, lens (11b) is moved along direction indicated by arrow (2) to adjust a focus of the laser beam with respect to the surface of the electrical cable (col. 3, lines 24-28). The teaching of Miller’s second embodiment suggests to one having an ordinary skill in the art that if it were necessary to adjust the focus of laser radiation (20) in the first embodiment, lens (11b) would be moved along the direction in which the laser radiation passes through the lens, i.e., transverse to the cross-section of the electrical cable, such that the at least one lens (11b) is positioned closer to or further away from the electrical cable. B. Campagna (US Patent 6,130,404) teaches it is known in the art of optical laser systems for removing a protective cover from a cylindrical metal core to position a focusing lens (56) after the last mirror (54’) in a rotating mirror system (54), such that the radiation of the laser beam imparts directly onto the workpiece after leaving the lens (fig. 4) in a direction transverse to a cross-section of the workpiece. While the optical systems taught by Miller are depicted in schematic form, the optical laser system taught by Campagna presents the structural components in more detail, presenting an optical system similar to that disclosed by Ben-Ron. It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify the method of Ben-Ron substantially disclosed above with the teaching of Miller and Campagna such that the at least one lens moves transverse to a cross-section of the electrical cable so that the at least one lens of positioned closer to or further away from the electrical cable since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Additionally, the aforementioned modification would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art because the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results and all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results. Regarding claim 6, the modified method of Ben-Ron substantially disclosed above includes the at least one lens (312) positioned on a carousel (Ben-Ron, para. 0009, lines 1-5 and annotated fig. 3A, wherein lens 312 being positioned within an axially extending portion of “common mount” driven by belt 328; see also Miller, figs. 1a-1d and fig. 2b); wherein, while the at least one holder (Ben-Ron, 210) holding the electrical cable (Ben-Rin, 100) is stationary (Ben-Ron para. 0027, lines 12-16; the holder does not rotate while control computer 230 activates laser 304 and motor 423 that rotates mirror assembly to ablate groove), the carousel is rotated so that the laser radiation is applied to an entire circumference of the surface of the foil shield and the mesh (Ben-Ron para. 0027, lines 12-19); and wherein, while the carousel is rotated such that the laser radiation is applied to the entire circumference of the surface of the foil shield and the mesh (Id.), the laser radiation generated by the laser remains constant while the at least one motor moves the lens transverse to the cross-section of the electrical cable (Ben-Ron, para. 0025, lines 9-13) in order for the focus of the laser radiation to be at the predetermined distance from the foil shield and the mesh of the electrical cable (as taught by Miller) at each respective point along the entire circumference of the surface of the foil shield and the mesh (Ben-Ron para. 0026 and 0027 and as taught by Dworkowski, Kiyofuji and Okuda).
Regarding claim 8, the modified method of Ben-Ron substantially disclosed above includes wherein the laser radiation applied to the entire circumference of the surface of the foil shield and the mesh ablates some, but not all (Ben-Ron para. 0020, lines 10-12), of the foil shield and the mesh thereby generating a groove (Ben-Ron, para. 0020, lines 12-15) on the foil shield and the mesh (Ben-Ron para. 0027, lines 12-16); and further comprising: gripping, using a gripper (Ben-Ron 250), a segment of the foil shield and the mesh (Ben-Ron para. 0027, lines 19-23); and generating, while the gripper (250) is gripping the segment (Ben-Ron paragraph 0027, lines 19-23) and while the at least one holder (210) is holding the electrical cable, a twisting movement of the segment of the foil shield and the mesh (Ben-Ron, para. 0027, line 23) and a remainder of the electrical cable relative to one another (Ben-Ron para. 0027, lines 23-27) in order to generate shear stress in the groove on the surface of the at least a part of the foil shield and the mesh thereby separating the segment of the foil shield and the mesh from the remainder of the electrical cable (Ben-Ron para. 0028). Regarding claim 11, the modified apparatus of Ben-Ron substantially disclosed above includes wherein the at least one processor (230) is configured to control the at least one motor (324) in order to move the lens (Ben-Ron, para. 0025, lines 6-13) the respective compensation distance (Dworkowski, para. 0127, lines 1-3) thereby resulting in the focus of the laser radiation being outside of the electrical cable by the predetermined distance at the respective point along the circumference of the foil shield and the mesh of the electrical cable (as taught by Miller col. 2, lines 58-62). The modified apparatus of Ben-Ron substantially disclosed above fails to specifically disclose the motor is configured to push the at least one lens transverse to a cross-section of the electrical cable so that the at least one lens is positioned closer to or further away from the electrical cable in order for the focus of the laser radiation to be outside of the electrical cable. However, the following teaching is pertinent to this limitation:
A. Miller teaches it is known in the art of devices for ablating a foil shield and the mesh (16) of an electrical cable that the lens (11b) of the optical system can be oriented and positioned in a variety of ways to facilitate the focusing of laser radiation (20) of the laser system at the respective distance outside of the outer surface of the electrical cable (fig. 1b). For example, Miller teaches a first embodiment (figs. 1a-1d) in which the laser radiation (20) of laser unit (10) is reflected from laser unit (10) off of mirror (11a) and passes through lens (11b) in a direction transverse to the cross-section of the electrical cable. Alternatively, Miller teaches another embodiment (i.e., fig. 2b) with lens (11b) positioned such that the laser radiation (20) passes therethrough parallel to the longitudinal axis (4) of the electrical cable, the laser radiation then being reflected by a final mirror (11d) toward the outer surface of the electrical cable. In this embodiment, lens (11b) is moved along direction indicated by arrow (2) to adjust a focus of the laser beam with respect to the surface of the electrical cable (col. 3, lines 24-28). The teaching of Miller’s second embodiment suggests to one having an ordinary skill in the art that if it were necessary to adjust the focus of laser radiation (20) in the first embodiment, lens (11b) would be moved along the direction in which the laser radiation passes through the lens, i.e., transverse to the cross-section of the electrical cable, such that the at least one lens (11b) is positioned closer to or further away from the electrical cable.
B. Campagna (US Patent 6,130,404) teaches it is known in the art of optical laser systems for removing a protective cover from a cylindrical metal core to position a focusing lens (56) after the last mirror (54’) in a rotating mirror system (54), such that the radiation of the laser beam imparts directly onto the workpiece after leaving the lens (fig. 4) in a direction transverse to a cross-section of the workpiece. While the optical systems taught by Miller are depicted in schematic form, the optical laser system taught by Campagna presents the structural components in more detail, presenting an optical system similar to that disclosed by Ben-Ron.
It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify the method of Ben-Ron substantially disclosed above with the teaching of Miller and Campagna such that the motor is configured to push the at least one lens moves transverse to a cross-section of the electrical cable so that the at least one lens of positioned closer to or further away from the electrical cable since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Additionally, the aforementioned modification would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art because the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results and all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 13, the modified method of Ben-Ron substantially disclosed above includes wherein the at least one processor (Ben-Ron 230) is configured to control the at least one motor (324) in order for the laser system and the at least one holder (210) to move relative to one another (Miller col. 3, lines 31-38) in order for the laser radiation to be applied to an entire circumference of the surface of the foil shield and the mesh (Ben-Ron, para. 0027, lines 12-16); and wherein the at least one processor (230) is configured to control the at least one motor (324) in order to move the lens (Ben-Ron, para. 0025, lines 6-8) the respective compensation distances such that the focus of the laser radiation is outside of the electrical cable at the predetermined distance relative to the foil shield and the mesh of the electrical cable (as taught by Miller) at the respective points along the entire circumference of the surface of the foil shield and the mesh (Ben-Ron, para. 0027, lines 12-16). The modified method of Ben-Ron substantially disclosed above fails to specifically disclose the at least one motor comprises a first motor and a second motor for performing each of the two functions set forth above. However, Dworkowski teaches it is known in the art of laser machining devices with an adjustable focusing lens to have independent drives for actuating the adjustment of the focusing lens (e.g., par. 0139) and for moving the laser head with respect to the workpiece (e.g., x-y positioning system, ALC 101).
It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the method of Ben-Ron substantially disclosed above with the teaching of Dworkowski to include a first motor to move the laser around the circumference of the electrical cable and a second motor to adjust the focus of the laser at the outside of the electrical cable at the predetermined distance in order to allow the processor to control the various interrelated systems independently.
Regarding claim 14, the modified method of Ben-Ron substantially disclosed above the modified method of Ben-Ron substantially disclosed above includes the laser (304) and the lens (312) are positioned on a carousel (Ben-Ron, annotated fig. 3A and para. 0009, lines 1-5); wherein, while the at least one holder (Ben-Ron, 210) holding the electrical cable (Ben-Ron 100) is stationary (Ben-Ron para. 0027, lines 12-16; the holder does not rotate while control computer 230 activates laser 304 and motor 423 that rotates mirror assembly to ablate groove), the at least one processor (230) is configured to control the first motor in order to rotate the carousel so that the laser radiation is applied to an entire circumference of the surface of the foil shield and the mesh (Ben-Ron paragraph 0027, lines 12-19); and wherein, while the carousel is rotated such that the laser radiation is applied to the entire circumference of the surface of the foil shield and the mesh (Id.), the laser radiation generated by the at least one laser remains constant while the at least one processor (230) controls the second motor in order to move the at least one lens transverse to the cross-section of the electrical cable, thereby moving the focus of the laser radiation to be at the predetermined distance from the foil shield and the mesh of the electrical cable at each of the respective points along the entire circumference of the surface of the foil shield and the mesh (as taught by Dworkowski and Okuda).
Regarding claim 15, the modified method of Ben-Ron substantially disclosed above fails to specifically include the sensor (e.g., Kiyofuji, 12) is positioned on the carousel so that the at least one lens (312) rotates in combination with the at least one sensor (Kiyofuji, fig. 2). However, the following references provide teaching pertinent to this limitation:
A. Okuda teaches it is known in the art of laser systems with a robotic laser head (14) that is movable with respect to the workpiece to position the sensor (12) directly on head (14) in a predetermined relation with respect to the laser output thereof (fig. 5).
B. Kiyofuji teaches sensor (12) is mounted on the same structure upon with laser beam machining head (7) is mounted in order to facilitate scanning of the entire circumference of the workpiece (fig. 2). Kiyofuji states, “[t]he position sensor (12) and the laser beam machining head (7) are arranged contiguously mutually so that these are opposed to the surface to be machined on the plane where the axes of the workpiece cross each other” (Constitution, lines 7-9). As evident from figs. 1 and 2, Kiyofuji provides a bracket (annotated fig. 2) which holds position sensor (12) at a predetermined location with respect to laser beam machining head (7).
It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify the sensor of Ben-Ron substantially disclosed above with the teaching of Okuda and Kiyofuji such that the sensor is positioned on the carousel so the laser (i.e., the location with which the directed and focused beam of the laser) and lens rotate in combination with the sensor to eliminate the need for additional structures configured to move the sensor alone and so the processor can continuously receive distance information with respect to the portion of the circumference at which the laser is currently aiming. Moreover, regardless of whether the lens is positioned axially along the rotational axis of the carousel or radially outward from the focal point, the lens rotates with the carousel.
Regarding claim 16, the modified method of Ben-Ron substantially disclosed above includes wherein the at least one processor (Ben-Ron, 230) controls the laser system (Ben-Ron paragraph 0018, lines 9-11) such that the laser radiation applied to the entire circumference of the surface of the foil shield and the mesh ablates some, but not all (Ben-Ron, para. 0020, lines 10-12), of the foil shield and the mesh thereby generating a groove (Ben-Ron, para. 0020, lines 12-15) the entire circumference of the foil shield and the mesh (Ben-Ron para. 0027, lines 12-16) and further comprising: gripping, using a gripper (Ben-Ron 250), a segment of the foil shield and the mesh on one side of the groove (Ben-Ron paragraph 0027, lines 19-23); and wherein the at least one processor is configured to control the gripper, the at least one holder, and at least one motor in order to generate, while the gripper (250) is gripping the segment and while the at least one holder (210) is holding another segment of the foil shield or the mesh, a twisting movement of the segment of the foil shield and the mesh (Ben-Ron, para. 0027, line 23) and the another segment of the foil shield or the mesh relative to one another (Ben-Ron para. 0027, lines 23-27) in order to generate shear stress in the groove on the surface of the at least a part of the foil shield and the mesh thereby separating the segment of the foil shield and the mesh from the another segment of the foil shield or the mesh (Ben-Ron para. 0028). Ben-Ron fails to specifically disclose the groove is formed such that so that a layer underneath the foil shield or the mesh is not exposed and a depth of the groove is the same along the entire circumference due to compensation of the at least one deviation of the electrical cable from being the perfect circle. However, as set forth above in the 103 rejection for claim 1, Kodama and Stevens teach it is known in the art of forming electrical cables to form the protective layer with a non-circular cross section due to overlapping layers thereof and overlapping layers of inner foil shields. It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify the device of Ben-Ron substantially disclosed above such that the groove is formed such that so that a layer underneath the foil shield or the mesh is not exposed and a depth of the groove is the same along the entire circumference due to compensation of the at least one deviation of the electrical cable from being the perfect circle because the substitution of one known element (i.e., circular protective layer) for another (protective layer with overlapping portions that deviates from a circular shape) would have yielded predictable results and all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results. Regarding claim 30, the modified method of Ben-Ron substantially disclosed above includes wherein the laser system comprises at least one laser (Ben-Ron 304) and at least one lens (e.g., Ben-Ron 312); wherein the predetermined shape comprises a perfect circle (e.g., circular cross-section shape indicated by dotted-line outline of shielding/screening sleeve 130 in Ben-Ron, annotated fig. 1); and wherein, while the at least one holder (Ben-Ron 210) holding the electrical cable is stationary (e.g., Miller, col. 3, lines 31-34), the carousel is rotated so that the laser radiation is applied to an entire circumference of the surface of the foil shield and the mesh (Ben-Ron, para. 0027, lines 12-16); and wherein, while the carousel is rotated such that the laser radiation is applied to the entire circumference of the surface of the foil shield and the mesh, the laser radiation generated by the at least one laser remains constant (Ben-Ron, para. 0025, lines 6-13). ● The modified method of Ben-Ron substantially disclosed above fails to specifically disclose wherein the sensor is positioned on the carousel so that the at least one lens rotate in combination with the sensor. However, the following prior art provides teaching pertinent to this limitation: A. Kiyofuji teaches it is known in the art to provide a sensor (12) mounted on the same structure upon with laser beam machining head (7) is mounted in order to facilitate scanning of the entire circumference of the workpiece (fig. 2). Kiyofuji states, “[t]he position sensor (12) and the laser beam machining head (7) are arranged contiguously mutually so that these are opposed to the surface to be machined on the plane where the axes of the workpiece cross each other” (Constitution, lines 7-9). As evident from figs. 1 and 2, Kiyofuji provides a bracket (annotated fig. 2) which holds position sensor (12) at a predetermined location with respect to laser beam machining head (7). B. Okuda teaches it is known in the art of laser systems with a robotic laser head (14) that is movable with respect to the workpiece to position the sensor (12) directly on head (14) in a predetermined relation with respect to the laser output thereof (fig. 5). It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify the sensor of Ben-Ron substantially disclosed above with the teaching of Okuda and Kiyofuji such that the sensor is positioned on the carousel so the laser (i.e., the location with which the directed and focused beam of the laser) and lens rotate in combination with the sensor to eliminate the need for additional structures configured to move the sensor alone and so the processor can continuously receive distance information with respect to the portion of the circumference at which the laser is currently aiming. ● The modified method of Ben-Ron substantially disclosed above fails to include the at least one motor moves the at least one lens transverse to a cross-section of the electrical cable in order for the focus of the laser radiation to be at the predetermined distance from the foil shield and the mesh of the electrical cable at each respective point along the entire circumference of the surface of the foil shield and the mesh while the carousel is rotated to apply the constant laser radiation to the entire circumference of the surface of the foil shield and the mesh. However, the following teaching is pertinent to this limitation: A. Miller teaches it is known in the art of devices for ablating a foil shield and the mesh (16) of an electrical cable that the lens (11b) of the optical system can be oriented and positioned in a variety of ways to facilitate the focusing of laser radiation (20) of the laser system at the respective distance outside of the outer surface of the electrical cable (fig. 1b). For example, Miller teaches a first embodiment (figs. 1a-1d) in which the laser radiation (20) of laser unit (10) is reflected from laser unit (10) off of mirror (11a) and passes through lens (11b) in a direction transverse to the cross-section of the electrical cable. Alternatively, Miller teaches another embodiment (i.e., fig. 2b) with lens (11b) positioned such that the laser radiation (20) passes therethrough parallel to the longitudinal axis (4) of the electrical cable, the laser radiation then being reflected by a final mirror (11d) toward the outer surface of the electrical cable. In this embodiment, lens (11b) is moved along direction indicated by arrow (2) to adjust a focus of the laser beam with respect to the surface of the electrical cable (col. 3, lines 24-28). The teaching of Miller’s second embodiment suggests to one having an ordinary skill in the art that if it were necessary to adjust the focus of laser radiation (20) in the first embodiment, lens (11b) would be moved along the direction in which the laser radiation passes through the lens, i.e., transverse to the cross-section of the electrical cable, such that the at least one lens (11b) is positioned closer to or further away from the electrical cable. B. Campagna (US Patent 6,130,404) teaches it is known in the art of optical laser systems for removing a protective cover from a cylindrical metal core to position a focusing lens (56) after the last mirror (54’) in a rotating mirror system (54), such that the radiation of the laser beam imparts directly onto the workpiece after leaving the lens (fig. 4) in a direction transverse to a cross-section of the workpiece. While the optical systems taught by Miller are depicted in schematic form, the optical laser system taught by Campagna presents the structural components in more detail, presenting an optical system similar to that disclosed by Ben-Ron. It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify the method of Ben-Ron substantially disclosed above with the teaching of Miller and Campagna such that the at least one lens moves transverse to a cross-section of the electrical cable so that the at least one lens of positioned closer to or further away from the electrical cable since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Additionally, the aforementioned modification would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art because the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results and all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 31, the modified method of Ben-Ron substantially disclosed above includes: obtaining at least one image of the foil shield and the mesh of the electrical cable (Ben-Ron, para. 0022, lines 8-9) using at least one camera (e.g., Ben-Ron 332); controlling (Ben-Ron, para. 0018, lines 9-11 and para. 0027, lines 19-23) placement of one or more fingers (252); and peeling, using the one or more fingers, the foil shield and the mesh (para. 0027, lines 23-27). • The modified method of Ben-Ron substantially disclosed above fails to specifically disclose the method includes determining, based on the at least one image, a location where the foil shield and the mesh of the electrical cable starts; controlling, based on the location where the foil shield and the mesh of the electrical cable starts, placement of one or more fingers. However, Ben-Ron discloses the following features pertinent to this limitation: A. In para. 0022, lines 5-8, Ben-Ron states, “cameras 332 are configured to capture or help to observe the segment of the electrical cable that protrudes from holder 210 and in particular help to observe the groove 322 ablation and the segment of metal foil separation.” This suggests the cameras directly observe the location of the groove on the foil shield and the mesh, wherein the edges of the groove indicate “a location where the foil shield and the mesh of the electrical cable starts,” as claimed. B. In para. 0022, lines 11-13, Ben-Ron discloses captured image data is delivered to processing unit (336) for analysis, wherein “information derived from processing of the images received can be delivered as a feedback to the control computer 230” (para. 0022, lines 11-13). C. In para. 0027, lines 20-23, Ben-Ron states, “control computer 230 activates … gripper 250 to grip the protruding (proximate) segment of metal foil shield (Block 424) located after the groove.” D. In para. 0018, lines 9-11, Ben-Ron states, “[c]ontrol computer 230 controls operation of all units and devices of the metal foil removal system 200.” It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify the method of Ben-Ron substantially disclosed above in light of the further disclosure provided by Ben-Ron such that the method includes determining, based on the at least one image, a location where the foil shield and the mesh of the electrical cable starts; controlling, based on the location where the foil shield and the mesh of the electrical cable starts, placement of one or more fingers in order to integrate the feedback provided by processing unit (336) to facilitate accurate placement of gripper (250) with respect to the groove.
Regarding claim 32, the modified method of Ben-Ron substantially disclosed above includes the one or more fingers (Ben-Ron, 252) are supported by the carousel (Ben-Ron, fig. 3A). Ben-Ron fails to specifically disclose the at least one camera (332) is also supported by the carousel. However, Ben-Ron notes in para. 0022, lines 1-4, “[m]onitoring system 240 can include one or more video cameras 332 and an image processing module. The video cameras can be placed in several locations around the perimeter or circumference of the electric cable.” If monitoring system (240) included one video camera (332), the video camera (332) would need to be configured to monitor or view the entire perimeter or circumference of the electrical cable. One having an ordinary skill in the art could derive a number of suitable solutions to this problem, e.g., providing the video camera (332) upon a separate rotating body to facilitate its movement around the perimeter or circumference of the electric cable. This, however, would raise other design issues, e.g., driving the separate rotating body at a synchronous rate with respect to the carousel. While this is certainly manageable, it introduces additional design complications. Alternatively, the video camera (332) could be mounted on the carousel to provide a continuous vantage point for observation from a consistent reference point. It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify the method of Ben-Ron substantially disclosed above such that the at least one camera (332) is also supported by the carousel since there are a limited number of solutions available for mounting and/or positioning a video camera to observe the periphery of the electrical cable after the groove has been ablated and it would have been obvious to try any reasonable solution from the limited number of available solutions available and the solutions would have would have yielded predictable results with no change in their respective function.
Regarding claim 33, the modified method of Ben-Ron substantially disclosed above includes after peeling the foil shield and the mesh, obtaining, using the at least one camera (e.g., Ben-Ron 332), at least one other image (video cameras take a plurality of consecutive photos at a high rate of speed); and determining, based on the at least one other image, whether one or more wires of the electrical cable are exposed (Ben-Ron, para. 0029, lines 6-7). Regarding claim 34, the modified method of Ben-Ron substantially disclosed above includes the laser system comprises at least one laser (Ben-Ron 304) and at least one lens (Ben-Ron 312); wherein the at least one lens and the sensor are positioned on a carousel; wherein the carousal (Ben-Ron, annotated fig. 3A) rotates 360 degrees in one rotation (Ben-Ron, para. 0027, lines 16-17).
The modified method of Ben-Ron substantially disclosed above fails to specifically disclose the at least one lens is positioned more than 90 degrees in a direction of rotation away from the positioning of the sensor on the carousel.
However, the following references provide teaching pertinent to this limitation:
A. Kiyofuji teaches it is known in the art of mounting a sensor (12) for use in a laser machining system to position the sensor in a leading position with respect to circumferential movement of the laser around the workpiece. Kiyofuji teaches a bracket (annotated fig. 2) is used to position sensor (12) at a suitable position with respect to laser beam machining head (7) for acquiring surface measurements. Notably, the bracket is configured so as to hold position sensor (12) perpendicular to the surface of the workpiece of a given diameter (i.e., a substantially large cylindrical workpiece). If the workpiece were of a smaller diameter, it would be desirable to adjust the position of the sensor to maintain its angular relationship with respect to the surface of the workpiece. Additionally, when configuring the device to perform work on smaller workpieces, it would be advantageous to position the sensor at a suitable distance from laser machining head (7).
B. Okuda teaches it is known in the art of laser beam machining a rotating workpiece the at least one lens is positioned more than 90 degrees in a direction of rotation away from the positioning of the sensor on the carousel. Okuda states in col. 4, lines 39-42, “the measuring point R for the measuring means 7 will be suitably spaced apart from the point of irradiation, P, on a circumferential line on which the laser beam L irradiates the workpiece.” The teaching of Okuda suggests the at least one lens could be positioned at any reasonable position along a direction of rotation with respect to the sensor on the carousel, including being positioned more than 90 degrees away from the sensor.
C. Campagna provides additional teaching it is known in the art of laser machining that the lens (56) of the optical system can be arranged radially outward from the focal point where work is performed along the outer surface of the workpiece (as depicted in fig. 4) as opposed to being positioned axially along the rotational axis of the reflecting means (as disclosed by Ben-Ron, fig. 3A).
It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify the method of Ben-Ron substantially disclosed above with the teaching of Okuda such that the at least one lens is positioned at any reasonable location with respect to the sensor, including being positioned more than 90 degrees in a direction of rotation away from the positioning of the sensor on the carousel, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention (i.e., a location of the lens on the carousel and corresponding position of sensor) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Additionally, the aforementioned modification would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art because the substitution of one known element for another (e.g., a lens mounted axially along the rotational axis for the radially mounted lens taught by Campagna) would have yielded predictable results and all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 35, the modified method of Ben-Ron substantially disclosed above includes wherein the laser system comprises at least one laser (Ben-Ron, 304) and at least one lens (e.g., Ben-Ron 312); wherein the respective distance of the sensor to the respective point is dynamically sensed; wherein the at least one lens is dynamically updated based on the respective distance (as taught by Dworkowski, Kiyofuji and Okuda; the at least one lens (Ben-Ron 312) and the sensor (as taught by Dworkowski, Kiyofuji, and Okuda) are positioned on a carousel (as taught by Kiyofuji and Okuda); wherein the carousal rotates 360 degrees in one rotation (Ben-Ron, para. 0027, lines 16-17); and wherein, for the respective point, each of the following is performed is less than the one rotation of the carousel (as suggested by Ben-Ron, para. 0027, lines 16-17): the respective distance of the sensor to the respective point is dynamically sensed (e.g., Dworkowski, para. 0074 and Kiyofuji, fig. 2); the at least one lens is dynamically updated based on the respective distance (as taught by Dworkowski, Kiyofuji, and Okuda); and the laser system generates the laser radiation with the position of the focus of the laser radiation to be outside of the electric cable at the predetermined distance from the respective point (as taught by Miller, e.g., see figs. 1b-1c). Regarding claim 37, the modified method of Ben-Ron substantially disclosed above includes after applying the laser radiation in order to generate the groove, using at least one camera (332) to detect the groove (Ben-Ron para. 0022). Ben-Ron fails to specifically disclose using at least one camera to detect the groove in order to move the gripper into a position on the one side of the groove so that the gripper is positioned relative to the groove. However, Ben-Ron states, “information derived from processing of the images received [from cameras 332 of monitoring system 240] can be delivered as a feedback to the control computer 230” (para. 0022, lines 11-13). Further, Ben-Ron states in para. 0023, lines 14-15, “[m]otor 324 could also provide the desired movement to gripper 250.” Previously, Ben-Ron states in para. 0018, lines 3-11, “[m]etal foil shield removal system 200 includes … a holder 210 configured to hold an electrical cable such that a segment of the electrical cable metal foil shield to be removed protrudes from holder 210, a metal foil shield ablation system 220, a control computer 230… a process monitoring system 240 and a gripper 250.” Control computer 230 controls operation of all units and devices of the … system 200.” Finally, in para. 0027, lines 19-27, Ben-Ron describes how control computer 230 activates gripper 250 to grip the segment of the metal foil located after the groove for removal, subsequent rotation of gripper 250. Still Further, in para. 0028, Ben-Ron describes further movement of holder 210 to pull the electric cable back to leave the removed segment of metal foil in gripper 250. While motor (324) may be used to actuate the gripping and/or twisting functions of gripper (250), providing additional axial adjustment for gripper (250) relative to the groove may be helpful for facilitating observation of the ablation process. it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify the method of Ben-Ron substantially disclosed above with the further disclosure and/or teaching of Ben-Ron such that at least one camera to detect the groove in order to move the gripper into a position on the one side of the groove so that the gripper is positioned relative to the groove in order to provide accurate position data for placement of gripper (250) after the groove forming process is complete as keeping gripper (250) in a gripping location proximate to the groove forming location could obstruct a view of cameras (332).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
To the extent Applicant's arguments might be applicable to the rejections set forth in the current Office Action, the arguments filed October 16, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On page 12, lines 17-27 of the Remarks, Applicant argues, “claim 1 is effectively focused on a deviation, not of the cable itself (in its entirety) but on an interior layer - the foil shield or mesh. This is unlike any of the cited references, which are focused on ostensibly on deviations of an exterior surface. For example, Miller is focused on laser-induced removal of a surface coating. Dworkowski is focused on topographical mapping. Kiyofuji is likewise focused on laser processing on a surface of a workpiece. Okuda is focused on working the outer periphery of an article. In contrast, the deviations found on an interior layer (such as the foil shield or mesh after removing the exterior layer of the cable) are different from deviations of the electrical cable itself. This is particularly true with regard to the foil shield or mesh, which by their nature may be subject to deviation. However, the cited art does not even consider deviations within an interior layer, particularly one such as the foil shield or mesh, which engender special problems.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to Applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
As currently written, the original outer periphery of the electrical cable is removed, such that the shield that is to be removed by the laser ablation device becomes an outer surface.
On page 12, lines 28-32 of the Remarks, Applicant argues, “the Office Action states that Ben-Ron discloses a cross-section that deviates from a perfect circle; yet miraculously, Ben-Ron fails to teach or even suggest any means by which to correct this problem. As argued previously, this is textbook hindsight given that, as argued in the Office Action, Ben-Ron discloses the problem and fails to provide any suggested solution.” In response to Applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
In this case, Examiner highlights Ben-Ron for disclosing “a cross-section that deviates from a perfect circle” in order to help establish what is known in the art to one having an ordinary skill, i.e., the varying shapes of different portions of the electrical cable. Ben-Ron need not “teach or even suggest any means by which to correct this problem” [emphasis added]. Rather, the Ben-Ron reference helps to establish the range of knowledge available to those of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made. The aforementioned teaching of Ben-Ron is utilized to provide a basis from which to consider the secondary teaching references. Ben-Ron need not provide any suggested solution as the disclosure of Ben-Ron is not specifically directed to the issue of accounting for deviations in the surface of a portion of an electrical cable. On page 12, line 33 – page 13, line 3 of the Remarks, Applicant argues, “[t]he Office Action states that ‘the teaching of Ben-Ron suggests facilitating adjustment of the focus of the laser radiation with respect to non-linear cross-sections that deviate from a predetermined shape (e.g., circular) would have been a know[n] issues in ablating the foil shield and the mesh with the metal foil removal system.’ This is incorrect. First, Ben-Ron does not discuss, at all, the ‘focus’ of the laser. Separate from this, any discussion regarding cables of ‘different sizes’ is for exactly that – cables that are designed to be of different thickness – not cable hat due to some defect result in different sizes…” Examiner respectfully disagrees. According to fig. 4, Ben-Ron indicates in step 412, “displace lens 312 to adapt location of concentrated laser beam to cable size.” This step relates to the focus of the laser, i.e., displacing lens 312 to adjust the location of the laser beam’s concentrated focal point depending upon the cable size. On page 13, lines 16-20 of the Remarks, Applicant argues, “[t]he invention focuses on the deviations from the predetermined shape – whether circular or elliptical. In this regard, suggesting that any teaching regarding a non-circular shape mesh is proof positive of teaching the invention is simply mistaken. Rather, it is the dynamic determination of the deviations, and the correction of the focus of the laser in order to at least partly correct the deviations, which is at issue. As such, Applicant respectfully contends that the cited art fails to teach or suggest the invention as presently claimed. Examiner respectfully disagrees. This argument is not persuasive. The invention does not appear to focus of deviations from the predetermined shape that is elliptical. Rather, as currently written, the preamble requires “the electrical cable having a protective layer that is external to the foil shield or mesh and having a cross section that deviates from being a perfect circle…” Additionally, in response to Applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the secondary references (i.e., Miller, Dworkowski, Kiyofuji, and Okuda) provide requisite teaching for the dynamic determination of deviations across the surface of a workpiece.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Harris et al (US Patent 3,953,706) states in col. 13, lines 32-40, “[the laser device] can be used in conjunction with insulated wire leads that are either circular in cross section, or else are somewhat elliptically shaped. In this latter instance, the focusing of the beam upon the insulation becomes somewhat of a compromise, in that i[t] is usually desirable to focus the laser beam on a mid radius of the insulated wire, rather than on a portion corresponding to either the major diameter or the minor diameter of the wire.” Cheo et al (US Patent 4,208,126) discloses a detection system for cable insulation. Poilleux (US Patent 3,719,421) discloses an optical measurement device. Li et al (US Patent 10,618,171) discloses a robotic manipulator. Kurosawa (US Patent 10,226,836) discloses a controller for a laser machining device. Jin (US Publication 2010/0309307) discloses a system for measuring deviation of a cylindrical object (i.e., a stint). Bramhall et al (US Publication 2011/0243423) discloses a system for inspecting electrical stimulation leads that includes processing data from a camera module to identify deviations from expected positions (fig. 9). Matsumoto et al (US Publication 2011/0279828) discloses an inspection device for boiler tubes. Aono (US Publication 2014/0015961) discloses an apparatus for detecting defects on an outer surface of a workpiece. Lindstrom et al (US Publication 2012/0227998) discloses a shielded pair cable. Watanabe et al (US Publication 2013/0175081) discloses a differential transmission cable. Schurmann (US Publication 2013/0043225) discloses a laser processing head. Nonen et al (US Publication 2014/0048302) disclose a differential signal cable with an outer insulating tape cover and an inner shield tape (4) with overlapping portion (4a) that surrounds an elliptical insulator (3) formed around twin-axial center conductors (2). Kodama (US Publication 2016/0111187) discloses an outer diameter measuring instrument (fig. 7A) that uses a laser to measure the outer diameter of a differential signal cable.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMUEL A DAVIES/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724 February 9, 2026
/BOYER D ASHLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724