DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of applicant's amendment filed on 7/27/26. Claim 68 is cancelled. Claims 22, 24, 29-31, 40 and 56-67 remain withdrawn. Claims 1, 5-48, 50, 56-67, 69-71 and 73-74 are currently pending and an action on the merits is as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-9, 10-12, 19, 20, 21, 23, 25-28, 37-39, 41-45, 69-71 and 73-74 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20090024042 to Nunez et al. (Nunez) in view of US20180098772 to Goldshtein et al. (Goldshtein) and US20170105711 to Masters further in view of US20200069426 to Conklin et al. (Conklin).
In regards to claims 1, 5, 20, 21, 25, 37, 38, 42, 44 and 45, Nunez teaches an implantable measurement device comprising: a first anchoring component configured to engage a first inner wall defining a first chamber of a heart; a first sensing element coupled to the first anchoring element, the first sensing element configured to perform physiologic measurement in the first chamber (see entire document, for example Fig. 2 and para. 0048 and 0050, pressure sensor 24); a second anchoring component configured to engage a second inner wall defining a second chamber of a heart that is different from the first chamber; a second sensing element coupled to the second anchoring component, the second sensing element configured to perform physiologic measurement in the second chamber of the heart (see entire document, for example Figs. 2, 13-17 and para. 0048, 0055, 0091, the unit 20 can have a sensor 24 on either side of the device on both substrates); the first and second anchoring components are configured to be positioned opposingly against an atrial septum of a patient (see entire document, for example Fig. 2 and para. 0047, 0055, 0076 and 0091, substrates 344 and 340 which act as anchors); and wherein the first sensing element is disposed in the first anchoring component and the second sending element is disposed in the second anchoring component (see entire document, for example Figs.2, 13-16, the sensors 24 are on both anchor substrates); sensor perform physiological measurements (see entire document, for example para. 0030-0032, 0045 and 0064, blood pressure is measured); and teaches the measurement electronics, such as on an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), for sensing and/or processing the signal of the sensor. In one embodiment, the ASIC includes a sensor. In an alternative embodiment, the ASIC is separate from the sensor (see entire document, for example para. 0031, 0045, 0064, 0066, 0090), but does not explicitly teach an electronics housing component configured to extend between the first and second anchoring components.
Goldshtein teaches an electronics housing component coupled to the first anchoring component and the second anchoring component, the electronics housing component configured to extend between the first and second anchoring components for the purpose of receiving and transmitting the sensor measurements taught by Nunez (see entire document, for example para. 0054 "the implant includes sensing elements are integrated into a tube shaped (rigid) implant body which contains the electronic circuitry" and para. 0055 "the implant includes several subassemblies, for example: ….(iii) an inner electronic assembly that includes electronic circuitry for interfacing with the sensing element and communicating the data to the external unit"). In addition Goldshtein teaches the inner electronics in the housing component includes an ASIC. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the implantable measurement device taught by Nunez with an electronics housing component coupled to the first anchoring component and the second anchoring component, the electronics housing component configured to extend between the first and second anchoring components for the predictable purpose of miniaturizing the IMD by placing the electronics for receiving and transmitting the sensor measurements in the electronics housing taught by Goldshtein. For clarification, it is also notoriously known that wireless sensors reduce or otherwise minimize the additional risk associated with sensor-based monitoring of cardiac health after surgery and/or after implantation of a cardiac device, see for example "US 20130144379 to Najafi et al., para. 0004 "Wired sensors, however, require passage of wires through cutaneous layers, thereby risking physical injury and infection. Wireless sensors are hence more desirable for such biological operation. Implantation of sensors, however, is an invasive procedure by itself, which elevates and contributes to the risk faced by the patient. There is hence a need for sensors and sensor systems that reduce or otherwise minimize the additional risk associated with sensor-based monitoring of cardiac health after surgery and/or after implantation of a cardiac device .").
Nunez as modified does not specifically disclose at least one of the first and second anchoring components comprises a membrane configured to be opened, fenestrated, punctured, traversed or crossed via an interventional or noninvasive procedure and wherein, in the deployed configuration both the first anchoring component and the second anchoring component are defined by a frame including an outer edge member, a central portion, and a plurality of circumferentially spaced apart radial members that extend radially between the outer edge member and the central portion to define a plurality of open spaces extending an entire distance between the outer edge member and the central portion, and wherein the outer edge member, the central portion, and the plurality of radial members comprise the same material. Masters teaches a similar anchor device that having a frame including an outer edge member ([FIG20A][¶80] outer edge 45), a central portion ([FIG20A][¶80] eyelet 42), and a plurality of circumferentially spaced apart radial members that extend radially between the outer edge member and the central portion ([FIG20A][¶80] wires 43) with open spaces extending between the outer edge and the central portion ([FIG20A][¶80] the wires have open areas between them), wherein the frame components are all the same material ([¶69] the wires are nitinol) and the anchor component comprises a membrane ([¶71] membrane 106). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the device of Nunez with the frame of Masters in order to allow have improved conformity to the heart anatomy with the nitinol frame ([¶8]).
Nunez as modified does not specifically disclose at least some of the open spaces defined by the frames of both the first anchoring component and the second anchoring component are sufficiently large to allow a puncture device and a catheter to pass therethrough during the interventional procedure. Conklin teaches a similar cardiac anchor where at least some of the openings defined by the frames of both the first anchoring component and the second anchoring component are sufficiently large to allow a puncture device and a catheter to pass therethrough during the interventional procedure ([¶243-247,581-582] the openings, as defined as the distance between the center 294 and the edge 295, can pass a puncture device or a catheter as the distance is 10-20mm). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine Nunez with the teachings of Conklin to have a membrane large enough to pass surgical instruments ([¶581-583]).
In regards to claims 6, 23 and 26, Goldshtein teaches the second sensing element is substantially flat against the inner wall (Claim 6), at least one of the first and second sensing elements is substantially flush with a corresponding first or second anchoring component (Claim 23) and the first and second sensing elements are substantially flush with the first and second anchoring components, respectively (Claim 26)(see entire document, for example para. 0009 "the gripping sleeve is in said gripping form, said first proximal surface and said second proximal surface are formed as nested conic structures extending proximally away from said proximal edge, or formed as parallel flat structures, separated by said proximal edge; or/and said first distal surface and said second distal surface are formed as nested conic structures extending distally away from said distal edge, or formed as parallel flat structures, separated by said distal edge.").
In regards to claims 7, 8, 9, 12, 27 and 41, Masters teaches biocompatible material disposed over at least a portion of a surface of a sensing element and anchoring element to promote tissue ingrowth ([¶74]).
In regards to Claim 10, Nunez modified teaches the essential features of the claimed invention, except for explicitly teaching the film comprises at least one feature configured to reduce tensile stress on the second sensing element. Masters teaches such limitation (see entire document, for example para. 0127 and 0139 and 0170) for the purpose improving the hemocompatibility of the wire without substantially changing its mechanical characteristics. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the implantable measurement device taught by Nunez modified with at least one feature configured to reduce tensile stress on the second sensing element taught by Masters for the predictable purpose of improving the hemocompatibility of the wire without substantially changing its mechanical characteristics.
In regards to Claim 11, Masters teaches the implantable measurement device comprises non-distensible rings, sections of high distensibility, or non- distensible rings and sections of high distensibility (see entire document, for example Fig. 2A and para. 0096).
In regards to claim 19, Goldshtein teaches a memory unit configured to store data received from at least one of the first and second sensing elements (see entire document, for example para. 0075 "memory for storing instructions or/and data. Alternatively or additionally, optionally, the data processor includes a non-volatile storage, for example, a magnetic hard-disk or/and removable media, for storing instructions or/and data.").
In regards to claim 28, Nunez modified discloses the essential features of the claimed invention, except for explicitly teaching the first and second sensing elements are aligned with respect to each other. It appears the device of Nunez modified would operate equally well regardless of the alignment of the sensors which would range from 0-180 degrees. Further, applicant has not disclosed that the alignment claimed solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose, indicating simply that the sensors may be aligned (see published Specification, para. 0189). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the device of Nunez modified to have aligned sensors because it appears to be an arbitrary design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over Nunez modified.
In regards to claim 39, Goldshtein teaches at least one of the first and second sensing elements is configured to perform temperature measurements after introducing inhalation of a bolus of cold air into lungs of a patient (see entire document, for example para. 0102 "temperature"). For clarification, the further limitation of "after introducing inhalation of a bolus of cold air into lungs of a patient" is considered intended use and not afforded patentable weight for the device claims.
In regards to claim 43, Masters teaches the first and second anchoring elements are made from a fluoropolymer membrane and nitinol ([¶74] fluoropolymer PTFE is used as the membrane and [¶69] the frame is nitinol).
In regard to claim 69, Conklin teaches at least some of the openings defined by the frames of both the first anchoring component and the second anchoring component are sufficiently large to allow a 24 Fr catheter to pass therethrough ([¶243-247,581-582] the openings, as defined as the distance between the center 294 and the edge 295, can pass a puncture device or a catheter as the distance is 10-20mm. A 24 Fr catheter is 8mm in diameter).
In regard to claim 70, Conklin teaches all of the openings defined by the frames of both the first anchoring component and the second anchoring component are sufficiently large to allow the puncture device and the catheter to pass therethrough during the interventional procedure ([¶243-247,581-582] the openings, as defined as the distance between the center 294 and the edge 295, can pass a puncture device or a catheter as the distance is 10-20mm).
In regard to claim 71, Masters teaches the frames of both the first anchoring component and the second anchoring component include up to five radial members ([FIG20A]).
In regards to claims 73 and 74, Masters teaches that the outer edge member, the central portion and the plurality of radial members comprise metal, specifically nitinol ([¶69]).
Claims 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nunez in view of Goldshtein and Masters and further in view of US20090030331 to Hochareon et al. (Hochareon).
In regards to Claims 13-18, Nunez modified teaches the essential features of the claimed invention, except for one or more remote sensing elements coupled to an anchor by a sensing tether (Claims 13-15). Hochareon teaches one or more remote sensing elements coupled to an anchor by a sensing tether for the purpose of having additional sensors comprising a pressure sensor, a blood chemistry sensor, a blood gas sensor used to monitor for heart failure, progression of emphysema or pulmonary embolism (see entire document, for example para.0018, 0020). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the implantable measurement device taught by Nunez in view of Goldshtein to have remote sensing elements coupled to an anchor by a sensing tether for the purpose of having additional sensors comprising a pressure sensor, a blood chemistry sensor, a blood gas sensor used to monitor for heart failure, progression of emphysema or pulmonary embolism.
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nunez in view of Goldshtein and Masters and further in view of US 20180126179 to Haasi et al. (Haasi).
In regards to Claim 32, Nunez modified teaches the essential features of the claimed invention, except for at least one reinforcement strut connecting the electronics housing to at least one of the first and second anchoring component. Haasi teaches the use of at least one reinforcement strut connecting the electronics housing to at least one of the first and second anchoring component for the purpose of engaging the patient's heart and to secure the expandable anchoring member and the housing to the patient's heart (see entire document, for example para. 0006, 0009, 0019, 0023, 0080 and 0092, struts 40). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the implantable measurement device taught by Nunez in view of Goldshtein to include at least one reinforcement strut connecting the electronics housing to at least one of the first and second anchoring component taught by Haasi for the predictable purpose of engaging the patient's heart and to secure the expandable anchoring member and the housing to the patient's heart
Claims 33-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nunez in view of Goldshtein and Masters and further in view of US20170358942 to Pugh et al. (Pugh).
In regards to Claims 33-36, Nunez in view of Goldshtein teach the essential features of the claimed invention, except for the electronics housing component includes a battery and an antenna configured to relay measurement data from the first and second sensing elements (Claim 33); the antenna defines a periphery of the at least one of the first and second anchoring components (Claim 34); and the antenna is configured to transmit measurement data to an external monitoring system (Claim 36). Pugh teaches such limitations for the purpose of monitoring physiological measurement and recharging the implant device (see entire document, for example para. 0001, 0004, 0006, 0011, 0049, 0056, 0058, 0066, 0072, 0147 and 0151, antenna 435 and energization elements 530 situated on the periphery send and receive signal and receive power wirelessly). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the implantable measurement device taught by Nunez in view of Goldshtein to include the electronics housing component includes a battery and an antenna configured to relay measurement data from the first and second sensing elements; an antenna defines a periphery of the at least one of the first and second anchoring components; and the antenna is configured to transmit measurement data to an external monitoring system taught by Pugh for the predictable purpose of monitoring physiological measurement and recharging the implant device.
Claims 46-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nunez in view of Goldshtein and Masters and further in view of US20130281988 to Magnon et al. (Magnon).
In regards to Claims 46-48, Nunez in view of Goldshtein teach the essential features of the claimed invention, except for the implantable measurement further comprising a therapeutic device, an occlude or a shunt. Magnon teaches such limitations for the purpose of providing therapy in response to the physiological measurement (see entire document, for example para. 0009 "Cardiac implants in the atrial septum have been used for many purposes. For example, septal occluders can be used for transcatheter closure of congenital heart defects, such as the atrial septal defects or the patent foramen ovale; and atrial shunt devices can be used to treat congestive heart failures by allowing a small volume of blood to travel from the left side of the heart to the right side of the heart, thereby reducing the left atrial pressure."). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the implantable measurement device taught by Nunez in view of Goldshtein to include a therapeutic device, an occlude or a shunt taught by Magnon for the predictable purpose of providing therapy in response to the physiological measurement.
Claim 50 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nunez in view of Goldshtein and Masters and further in view of US 7236821 to Cates et al. (Cates).
In regards to Claim 50, Nunez in view of Goldshtein teach the essential features of the claimed invention, except for the sensing elements are piezocapacitive sensors. Cates teaches sensing elements in cardiac implants are piezocapacitive sensors ([C13 L25-31] piezo elements are used to measure pressure). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to implement the implantable measurement device taught by Nunez in view of Goldshtein with piezocapacitive sensors taught by Cates for the predictable purpose of monitoring hemodynamic parameters.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/27/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that Conklin does not disclose the anchoring components include a frame including an outer edge member a central portion, and a plurality of circumferentially spaced apart radial members that comprise the same material and that define a plurality of open spaces and thus it would not be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Conklin with the other prior art references, Examiner respectfully disagrees. The fact that Conklin does not disclose all of the elements of the frame does not mean that it is not combinable with the other cited references. Conklin is directed to transeptal devices, specifically anchors for septal defects just like Nunez, Goldshtein and Masters. Masters is relied on to teach the specifics of the frame but Conklin it is noted also discloses an anchor with an outer circumference ([FIG2G][¶243-244] peripheral portion 295) and support wires and mesh ([¶249,581-582]) and a central hub ([¶244]) that are made of nitinol ([¶227]) and where the membrane is PTFE ([¶581]). Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Conklin with the Nunez, Goldshtein and Masters in order to allow for penetration of the anchor or occluder at a later time during medical procedures.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL A CATINA/Examiner, Art Unit 3791 /TSE CHEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791