DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. Claims 1-19 and 21-23 are presented for examination. Claim 20 is canceled.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s argument filed on 03/27/2025 with respect claims 1-19, 21-23 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant contends that the office action fails to teach or suggest the limitation of "wherein the NACK signal includes a first field indicating a reception failure cause and a second field indicating recommendation for the transmitting STA to increase transmit power." As recited in claim 1, and similar feature in claims 15, 19, 21, 22, and 23.
The Examiner directs the applicant’s attention that during examination, a claim must be given its broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) consistent with the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2111). So, the limitation above is taking in consideration the BRI, does not encapsulate the applicant's invention as to what the invention pertains. Therefore, the Examiner respectfully disagrees and asserts the cited reference of Gage et al. (U.S. PN: US 2014/03343 A1) in paragraphs [0035], [0100], and [0127] teaches the such limitation. For example, two types of control channel information may be defined herein: transmitter control information (TxCI) and receiver control information (RxCI). TxCI may be sent from a transmitter of user data to a receiver of user data and RxCI may be sent from a receiver of user data to a transmitter of user data. In a macro cellular system (e.g. LTE) where the base station controls many aspects of the uplink transmissions (as well as downlink transmissions), TxCI may be provided to a transmitting device by the base station as Downlink Control Information (DCI) or as a Downlink MAC Control Element. RxCI in the form of feedback may be provided by a wireless device to a base station as Uplink Control Information (UCI) or as an Uplink MAC Control Element. See paragraph [0035].
The imminent radio link failure indication information element may be used by a receiver to indicate that the received signal quality has deteriorated to the point where continued communication via the DD2D link may not be possible. The transmitter may then take measures to counteract the degraded signal (e.g. change MCS, increase transmit power) or it may terminate the inter-device session. The imminent radio link failure indication information element may be set to a value of 1, which indicates that DD2D link failure is imminent. The imminent radio link failure indication information element may be set to a value of 0, which indicates that signal quality is acceptable. See paragraph [0100].
Imminent radio link failure event notification is an indication to the transmitter that the D2D link is degrading quickly thus allowing the transmitter to take some remedial action (e.g. change MCS, increase transmit power, revert to a normal uplink/downlink session). This indication may be multiplexed with the per-transmission information (HARQ ACK/NAK) so that it may be (i) more timely than a (periodic) CSI report, and (ii) a more explicit indication of degrading signal than repeatedly sending HARQ NAKs. See paragraph [0127].
Also, the applicant contends that the office action fails to teach or suggest the limitation of “wherein the first field and the second field are separate fields." As recited in claim 1, and similar feature in claims 15, 19, 21, 22, and 23.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and asserts the cited reference of Gage et al. (U.S. PN: US 2014/03343 A1) in paragraph [0158] teaches the such limitation. For example, the RxCCH may comprise receiver reference signals (RRS) and receiver control information (RxCl), the RxCl may comprise one or more of: a buffer status report, a channel access request indication, a channel release acknowledgement, a channel quality indication, a HARQ ACK/NACK indication, an imminent radio link failure indication, a transmit power control indicator, or a precoding matrix indicator. The reverse link portion may comprises a Reverse Link Format Indicator (RLFIl), the RLFI identifying the RxCl elements included in the RxCCH. At least one of the user equipment and the second user equipment may be operating outside of a coverage area of a cellular network. See paragraph [0158].
The RxCCH may comprise receiver reference signals (RRS) and receiver control information (RxCI), the RxCI may comprise one or more of: a buffer status report, a channel access request indication, a channel release acknowledgement, a channel quality indication, a HARQ ACK/NACK indication, an imminent radio link failure indication, a transmit power control indicator, or a precoding matrix indicator. The reverse link portion may comprises a Reverse Link Format Indicator (RLFI), the RLFI identifying the RxCI elements included in the RxCCH. At least one of the user equipment and the second user equipment may be operating outside of a coverage area of a cellular network. See paragraph [0158].
As been described above, RxCI in the form of feedback may be provided by a wireless device to a base station as Uplink Control Information (UCI) or as an Uplink MAC Control Element, which it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the RxCI in the form of feedback could be NACK signal. Also, the RxCI may comprise one or more of: a buffer status report, a channel access request indication, a channel release acknowledgement, a channel quality indication, a HARQ ACK/NACK indication, an imminent radio link failure indication, a transmit power control indicator, or a precoding matrix indicator. Therefore, the Examiner equates Gage's "RxCI" to applicant's "NACK signal," since the RxCI in the form of feedback may be provided by a wireless device to a base station as Uplink Control Information (UCI) or as an Uplink MAC Control Element. Also, the Examiner equates Gage's " HARQ ACK/NACK indication" to applicant's “first field indicating a reception failure cause.” Further, the Examiner equates Gage's "transmitter to take some remedial action (e.g. change MCS, increase transmit power, revert to a normal uplink/downlink session)" to applicant's "second field indicating recommendation for the transmitting STA to increase transmit power." Emphasis added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-8, 10, 11, 13-19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over Quan et al. (US.PN: 2013/0176864 A1) "herein after as Quan" in view of Gage et al. (U.S. PN: US 2014/0334392 A1) "herein after as Gage."
As per claim 1:
Quan substantially teaches or discloses a method for use in an IEEE 802.11 station (STA) (see paragraph [0027], herein the system 100 includes a first wireless device 110 connected to a second wireless device 140 via a wireless network 130 (e.g., an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11ah wireless network, a wireless local area network (WLAN) compliant with an IEEE 802.11 protocol, and Fig. 1)), the method comprising : improperly receiving a packet within a received signal via a carrier sense multiple access (CSMA) wireless medium from a transmitting STA (see paragraph [0037], the second wireless device 140 may not successfully decode the first packet 132 sent by the first wireless device 110 and may send a negative acknowledgement (NACK) packet 136 to the first wireless device 110, paragraph [0009], and Fig. 1); transmitting a negative acknowledgement (NACK) signal based on the packet having been improperly received (see paragraph [0034], herein the second wireless device 140 may determine whether an error detected during decoding of the first packet 132 is caused by a channel condition or a collision and may send the NACK packet 136 to the first wireless device 110 based on the determination. When the error is caused by the channel condition, the NACK packet 136 may instruct the first wireless device 110 (or the first wireless device 110 may elect) to decrease the first MCS, increase the first transmit power level, or any combination thereof. When the error is caused by the collision, the NACK packet 136 may instruct the first wireless device 110 (or the first wireless device 110 may elect) to maintain the first MCS and the first transmit power level, and Fig. 1, step 136).
Quan does not explicitly teach wherein the NACK signal includes a first field indicating a reception failure cause and a second field indicating recommendation for the transmitting STA to increase transmit power, wherein the first field and the second field are separate fields.
However, Gage in the same the field of endeavor teaches wherein the NACK signal includes a first field indicating a reception failure cause and a second field indicating recommendation for the transmitting STA to increase transmit power, (see paragraph [0127], herein Imminent radio link failure event notification is an indication to the transmitter that the D2D link is degrading quickly thus allowing the transmitter to take some remedial action (e.g. change MCS, increase transmit power, revert to a normal uplink/downlink session). This indication may be multiplexed with the per-transmission information (HARQ ACK/NAK) so that it may be (i) more timely than a (periodic) CSI report, and (ii) a more explicit indication of degrading signal than repeatedly sending HARQ NAKs, and paragraph [0100]), wherein the first field and the second field are separate fields (see paragraph [0158], herein the RxCI may comprise one or more of: a buffer status report, a channel access request indication, a channel release acknowledgement, a channel quality indication, a HARQ ACK/NACK indication, an imminent radio link failure indication, a transmit power control indicator, or a precoding matrix indicator [Examiner notes: since the RxCI includes different fields, so it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the HARQ ACK/NACK indication filed and an imminent radio link failure indication filed are difference and separate fields]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the communication system of Quan with the teachings of Gage by including the NACK signal includes a first field indicating a reception failure cause and a second field indicating recommendation for the transmitting STA to increase transmit power, wherein the first field and the second field are separate fields.
This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the NACK signal includes a first field indicating a reception failure cause and a second field indicating recommendation for the transmitting STA to increase transmit power, wherein the first field and the second field are separate fields would have improved the equivalent equipment in a traditional wireless telecommunications system (see paragraph [0004] of Gage).
As per claim 2:
Quan teaches that wherein the NACK signal is based on a Physical Layer Convergence Protocol (PLCP) header of the packet not having been decoded properly (see paragraph [0009], herein where the NACK packet includes a bit indicating whether the decoding error was due to poor channel conditions (in which case the transmitter should change MCS and/or transmit power level) or a collision (in which case the transmitter should retry transmission while maintaining the MCS and the transmit power level). To illustrate, the receiver may determine an error in response to decoding a physical layer (PHY) preamble of a packet but not the remainder of the packet).
As per claim 3:
Quan teaches that wherein the NACK signal is based a clear channel assessment (CCA) after a length of time indicated in the PLCP header of the packet (see paragraph [0064], herein if the ACK packet 134 or the NACK packet 136 is not received at the first wireless device (e.g., within a predetermined time period), the first wireless device may retransmit the first packet 132 at an increased power level when the transmit power level is less than the maximum transmit power level).
As per claim 4:
Quan teaches that performing a Request to Send/Clear to Send (RTS/CTS) procedure to reserve a transmit opportunity (TXOP) for retransmission of the packet based on the CSMA wireless medium being busy (see paragraph [0065], herein Embodiments described herein may also be used with respect to a request to send (RTS)/clear to send (CTS) scenario. For example, a CTS message may include a MCS/power change indicator (as described with reference to the ACK packet 134 of FIG. 1), where the MCS/power change indicator instructs a transmitter to choose a higher or lower MCS/power than the MCS/power used to transmit a previous RTS message).
As per claim 5:
Quan teaches that determining whether there was a sudden power level change during reception of the signal based on the CSMA wireless medium not being busy (see paragraph [0065], a CTS message may include a MCS/power change indicator (as described with reference to the ACK packet 134 of FIG. 1), where the MCS/power change indicator instructs a transmitter to choose a higher or lower MCS/power than the MCS/power used to transmit a previous RTS message. Thus, embodiments described herein may be used to perform fast MCS control using one bit of a CTS message and/or fast power control using one bit (e.g., the same bit as for MCS control or a different bit) of the CTS message).
As per claim 6:
Quan teaches that performing a Request to Send/Clear to Send (RTS/CTS) procedure to reserve a transmit opportunity (TXOP) for retransmission of the packet based on a sudden power level change during reception of the signal (see paragraph [0065], herein Embodiments described herein may also be used with respect to a request to send (RTS)/clear to send (CTS) scenario. For example, a CTS message may include a MCS/power change indicator (as described with reference to the ACK packet 134 of FIG. 1), where the MCS/power change indicator instructs a transmitter to choose a higher or lower MCS/power than the MCS/power used to transmit a previous RTS message. Thus, embodiments described herein may be used to perform fast MCS control using one bit of a CTS message and/or fast power control using one bit (e.g., the same bit as for MCS control or a different bit) of the CTS message).
As per claim 7: Quan teaches that including, in the second field indicating recommendation in the NACK signal, an indication to decrease a modulation and coding scheme (MCS), based on an MCS of a frame body of the packet being greater than the MCS of a preamble of the packet (see paragraph [0034], herein when the error is caused by the channel condition, the NACK packet 136 may instruct the first wireless device 110 (or the first wireless device 110 may elect) to decrease the first MCS, increase the first transmit power level, or any combination thereof).
As per claim 8: Quan teaches that including, in the second field indicating, an indication to increase transmit power, based on a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) of a frame body of the packet being greater than an MCS of a preamble of the packet (see paragraph [0053], herein when the error is caused by the channel condition, the NACK packet 136 may instruct the first wireless device 110 (or the first wireless device 110 may elect) to decrease the first MCS, increase the transmit power level, or any combination thereof. When the error is caused by the collision, the NACK packet 136 may instruct the first wireless device 110 (or the first wireless device 110 may elect) to maintain the first MCS and the transmit power level. Alternately, the first wireless device 110 may update the MCS and/or the transmit power level even when the error was caused by a collision).
As per claim 10:
Quan teaches that on condition that the PLCP header of the packet is not decoded properly, determining whether a high power level was observed during reception of the packet (see paragraph [0009], herein the receiver may determine an error in response to decoding a physical layer (PHY) preamble of a packet but not the remainder of the packet, and the receiver may determine whether the decoding error was due to poor channel conditions or due to a collision. The receiver may indicate the cause of the decoding error in the NACK packet, and the transmitter may selectively increase, decrease, or maintain its MCS and/or transmission power level in response to the indicated cause of the decoding error).
As per claim 11:
Quan teaches that including, in the second field, an indication to increase transmit power, based on a high power level not being observed during reception (see paragraph [0009], herein when the receiver cannot successfully decode a transmitted packet, the receiver may send a negative acknowledgement (NACK) packet, where the NACK packet includes a bit indicating whether the decoding error was due to poor channel conditions (in which case the transmitter should change MCS and/or transmit power level) or a collision (in which case the transmitter should retry transmission while maintaining the MCS and the transmit power level)).
As per claim 13:
Quan teaches that sending a reporting and measurement capability message to the STA (see paragraph [0007], herein the receiver may estimate a second MCS based on a signal characteristic (e.g., signal to noise ratio (SNR), signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR), and/or received signal strength indication (RSSI)) that is derived from the received packet).
As per claim 14:
Quan teaches that sending a reporting and measurement reporting message to the transmitting STA (see paragraph [0007], herein when the second MCS is greater than the first MCS, the receiver may send an acknowledgement (ACK) packet to the transmitter, where the ACK packet includes bit(s) (e.g., a MCS change indicator) instructing the transmitter to increase its MCS).
As per claim 15:
Quan substantially teaches or discloses an IEEE 802.11 station (STA) comprising (see paragraph [0027], herein The system 100 includes a first wireless device 110 connected to a second wireless device 140 via a wireless network 130 (e.g., an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11ah wireless network, a wireless local area network (WLAN) compliant with an IEEE 802.11 protocol, and Fig. 1)): a receiver configured to improperly receive a packet within a received signal via a carrier sense multiple access (CSMA) wireless medium from a transmitting STA (CSMA) wireless medium from a transmitting STA (see paragraph [0037], the second wireless device 140 may not successfully decode the first packet 132 sent by the first wireless device 110 and may send a negative acknowledgement (NACK) packet 136 to the first wireless device 110, paragraph [0009], and Fig. 1); a transmitter configured to transmit a negative acknowledgement (NACK) signal based on the packet not having been improperly received (see paragraph [0034], herein the second wireless device 140 may determine whether an error detected during decoding of the first packet 132 is caused by a channel condition or a collision and may send the NACK packet 136 to the first wireless device 110 based on the determination. When the error is caused by the channel condition, the NACK packet 136 may instruct the first wireless device 110 (or the first wireless device 110 may elect) to decrease the first MCS, increase the first transmit power level, or any combination thereof. When the error is caused by the collision, the NACK packet 136 may instruct the first wireless device 110 (or the first wireless device 110 may elect) to maintain the first MCS and the first transmit power level, and Fig. 1, step 136).
Quan does not explicitly teach wherein the NACK signal includes a first field indicating a reception failure cause and a second field indicating recommendation for the transmitting STA to increase transmit power, wherein the first field and the second field are separate fields.
However, Gage in the same the field of endeavor teaches wherein the NACK signal includes a first field indicating a reception failure cause and a second field indicating recommendation for the transmitting STA to increase transmit power (see paragraph [0127], herein Imminent radio link failure event notification is an indication to the transmitter that the D2D link is degrading quickly thus allowing the transmitter to take some remedial action (e.g. change MCS, increase transmit power, revert to a normal uplink/downlink session). This indication may be multiplexed with the per-transmission information (HARQ ACK/NAK) so that it may be (i) more timely than a (periodic) CSI report, and (ii) a more explicit indication of degrading signal than repeatedly sending HARQ NAKs, and paragraph [0100]), , wherein the first field and the second field are separate fields (see paragraph [0158], herein the RxCI may comprise one or more of: a buffer status report, a channel access request indication, a channel release acknowledgement, a channel quality indication, a HARQ ACK/NACK indication, an imminent radio link failure indication, a transmit power control indicator, or a precoding matrix indicator [Examiner notes: since the RxCI includes different fields, so it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the HARQ ACK/NACK indication filed and an imminent radio link failure indication filed are difference and separate fields]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the communication system of Quan with the teachings of Gage by including the NACK signal includes a first field indicating a reception failure cause and a second field indicating recommendation for the transmitting STA to increase transmit power, wherein the first field and the second field are separate fields.
This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the NACK signal includes a first field indicating a reception failure cause and a second field indicating recommendation for the transmitting STA to increase transmit power, wherein the first field and the second field are separate fields would have improved the equivalent equipment in a traditional wireless telecommunications system (see paragraph [0004] of Gage).
As per claim 16:
Quan teaches that wherein the NACK signal is based on a Physical Layer Convergence Protocol (PLCP) header of the packet is decoded properly (see paragraph [0009], herein where the NACK packet includes a bit indicating whether the decoding error was due to poor channel conditions (in which case the transmitter should change MCS and/or transmit power level) or a collision (in which case the transmitter should retry transmission while maintaining the MCS and the transmit power level). To illustrate, the receiver may determine an error in response to decoding a physical layer (PHY) preamble of a packet but not the remainder of the packet).
As per claim 17:
Quan teaches that wherein the NACK signal is based a clear channel assessment (CCA) after a length of time indicated in the PLCP header of the packet (see paragraph [0064], herein if the ACK packet 134 or the NACK packet 136 is not received at the first wireless device (e.g., within a predetermined time period), the first wireless device may retransmit the first packet 132 at an increased power level when the transmit power level is less than the maximum transmit power level).
As per claim 18:
Quan teaches that wherein the STA is further configured to perform a Request to Send/Clear to Send (RTS/CTS) procedure to reserve a transmit opportunity (TXOP) for retransmission of the packet (see paragraph [0065], herein Embodiments described herein may also be used with respect to a request to send (RTS)/clear to send (CTS) scenario. For example, a CTS message may include a MCS/power change indicator (as described with reference to the ACK packet 134 of FIG. 1), where the MCS/power change indicator instructs a transmitter to choose a higher or lower MCS/power than the MCS/power used to transmit a previous RTS message. Thus, embodiments described herein may be used to perform fast MCS control using one bit of a CTS message and/or fast power control using one bit (e.g., the same bit as for MCS control or a different bit) of the CTS message).
As per claim 19:
Quan substantially teaches or discloses a method for use in a station (STA), the method comprising (see abstract, and Fig. 1): transmitting, by a transmitting STA, a packet via a carrier sense multiple access (CSMA) wireless medium to a receiving STA (CSMA) wireless medium from a transmitting STA (see paragraph [0029], herein During operation, the first wireless device 110 (e.g., an IEEE 802.11ah sensor or other devices having a low duty cycle) may transmit a first packet 132 to the second wireless device 140 (e.g., another IEEE 802.11ah device or a non-IEEE 802.11ah device) using a first modulation and coding scheme (MCS) and at a first transmit power level, and Fig. 1); and retransmitting the packet via the CSMA wireless medium (see paragraph [0064], herein if the ACK packet 134 or the NACK packet 136 is not received at the first wireless device (e.g., within a predetermined time period), the first wireless device may retransmit the first packet 132 at an increased power level when the transmit power level is less than the maximum transmit power level. Further, if neither the ACK packet 134 nor the NACK packet 136 is received at the first wireless device 110, the first wireless device 110 may retransmit the first packet 132 at a decreased MCS (i.e., decreased from the first MCS) when the transmit power level is equal to the maximum transmit power level).
Quan does not explicitly teach receiving a negative acknowledgement (NACK) signal including a first field indicating a remediation a reception failure cause and a second field indicating recommendation for the transmitting STA to increase transmit, wherein the first field and the second field are separate fields; and remediating the reception failure cause based on the second field.
However, Gage in the same the field of endeavor teaches receiving a negative acknowledgement (NACK) signal including a first field indicating a remediation a reception failure cause and a second field indicating recommendation for the transmitting STA to increase transmit; and remediating the reception failure cause based on the second field (see paragraph [0127], herein Imminent radio link failure event notification is an indication to the transmitter that the D2D link is degrading quickly thus allowing the transmitter to take some remedial action (e.g. change MCS, increase transmit power, revert to a normal uplink/downlink session). This indication may be multiplexed with the per-transmission information (HARQ ACK/NAK) so that it may be (i) more timely than a (periodic) CSI report, and (ii) a more explicit indication of degrading signal than repeatedly sending HARQ NAKs, and paragraph [0100]) wherein the first field and the second field are separate fields (see paragraph [0158], herein the RxCI may comprise one or more of: a buffer status report, a channel access request indication, a channel release acknowledgement, a channel quality indication, a HARQ ACK/NACK indication, an imminent radio link failure indication, a transmit power control indicator, or a precoding matrix indicator [Examiner notes: since the RxCI includes different fields, so it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the HARQ ACK/NACK indication filed and an imminent radio link failure indication filed are difference and separate fields]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the communication system of Quan with the teachings of Gage by receiving a negative acknowledgement (NACK) signal including a first field indicating a remediation a reception failure cause and a second field indicating recommendation for the transmitting STA to increase transmit, wherein the first field and the second field are separate fields; and remediating the reception failure cause based on the second field.
This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the receiving a negative acknowledgement (NACK) signal including a first field indicating a remediation a reception failure cause and a second field indicating recommendation for the transmitting STA to increase transmit, wherein the first field and the second field are separate fields; and remediating the reception failure cause based on the second field would have improved the equivalent equipment in a traditional wireless telecommunications system (see paragraph [0004] of Gage).
As per claim 21: Quan substantially teaches or discloses a method for use in an IEEE 802.11 station (STA) the method comprising: (see paragraph [0027], herein The system 100 includes a first wireless device 110 connected to a second wireless device 140 via a wireless network 130 (e.g., an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11ah wireless network, a wireless local area network (WLAN) compliant with an IEEE 802.11 protocol, and Fig. 1)), receiving a packet within a received signal via a carrier sense multiple access (CSMA) wireless medium from a transmitting STA (see paragraph [0029], herein During operation, the first wireless device 110 (e.g., an IEEE 802.11ah sensor or other devices having a low duty cycle) may transmit a first packet 132 to the second wireless device 140 (e.g., another IEEE 802.11ah device or a non-IEEE 802.11ah device) using a first modulation and coding scheme (MCS) and at a first transmit power level, and Fig. 1); transmitting a negative acknowledgement (NACK) signal responsive to a Physical Layer Convergence Protocol (PLCP) header of the packet not having been decoded properly and a high power level not having been detected during reception of the packet (see paragraph [0009], herein the receiver may determine an error in response to decoding a physical layer (PHY) preamble of a packet but not the remainder of the packet, and the receiver may determine whether the decoding error was due to poor channel conditions or due to a collision. The receiver may indicate the cause of the decoding error in the NACK packet, and the transmitter may selectively increase, decrease, or maintain its MCS and/or transmission power level in response to the indicated cause of the decoding error), responsive to the (PLCP) header of the packet not having been decoded properly and a high power level not having been detected during reception of the packet (see paragraph [0034], herein the second wireless device 140 may not successfully decode the first packet 132 sent by the first wireless device 110 and may send a negative acknowledgement (NACK) packet 136 to the first wireless device 110. For example, the second wireless device 140 may determine whether an error detected during decoding of the first packet 132 is caused by a channel condition or a collision and may send the NACK packet 136 to the first wireless device 110 based on the determination. When the error is caused by the channel condition, the NACK packet 136 may instruct the first wireless device 110 (or the first wireless device 110 may elect) to decrease the first MCS, increase the first transmit power level, or any combination thereof. When the error is caused by the collision, the NACK packet 136 may instruct the first wireless device 110 (or the first wireless device 110 may elect) to maintain the first MCS and the first transmit power level, and Fig. 1). Quan does not explicitly teach wherein the NACK signal includes a first field indicating a reception failure cause and a second field indicating recommendation for the transmitting STA to increase transmit power, wherein the NACK signal includes a reception failure cause and a field indicating a remediation action recommendation for the transmitting STA to remediate the reception failure cause which includes an indication to immediately retransmit the packet, wherein the first field and the second field are separate fields.
However, Gage in the same the field of endeavor teaches wherein the NACK signal includes a first field indicating a reception failure cause and a second field indicating recommendation for the transmitting STA to increase transmit power, wherein the NACK signal includes a reception failure cause and a field indicating a remediation action recommendation for the transmitting STA to remediate the reception failure cause which includes an indication to immediately retransmit the packet (see paragraph [0127], herein Imminent radio link failure event notification is an indication to the transmitter that the D2D link is degrading quickly thus allowing the transmitter to take some remedial action (e.g. change MCS, increase transmit power, revert to a normal uplink/downlink session). This indication may be multiplexed with the per-transmission information (HARQ ACK/NAK) so that it may be (i) more timely than a (periodic) CSI report, and (ii) a more explicit indication of degrading signal than repeatedly sending HARQ NAKs, and paragraph [0100]), wherein the first field and the second field are separate fields (see paragraph [0158], herein the RxCI may comprise one or more of: a buffer status report, a channel access request indication, a channel release acknowledgement, a channel quality indication, a HARQ ACK/NACK indication, an imminent radio link failure indication, a transmit power control indicator, or a precoding matrix indicator [Examiner notes: since the RxCI includes different fields, so it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the HARQ ACK/NACK indication filed and an imminent radio link failure indication filed are difference and separate fields]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the communication system of Quan with the teachings of Gage by including the NACK signal includes a first field indicating a reception failure cause and a second field indicating recommendation for the transmitting STA to increase transmit power, wherein the NACK signal includes a reception failure cause and a field indicating a remediation action recommendation for the transmitting STA to remediate the reception failure cause which includes an indication to immediately retransmit the packet, wherein the first field and the second field are separate fields.
This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the NACK signal includes a first field indicating a reception failure cause and a second field indicating recommendation for the transmitting STA to increase transmit power, wherein the NACK signal includes a reception failure cause and a field indicating a remediation action recommendation for the transmitting STA to remediate the reception failure cause which includes an indication to immediately retransmit the packet, wherein the first field and the second field are separate fields would have improved the equivalent equipment in a traditional wireless telecommunications system (see paragraph [0004] of Gage).
5. Claims 9, 12, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over Quan in view of Gage in further view of Sampath et al. (US.PN: 2014/0126580) "herein after as Sampath."
As per claim 9: Quan-Gage as combined does not explicitly teach including, in the second filed, an indication to perform a mixed retransmission that includes retransmitting an aggregated medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (A-MPDU), based on a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) of a frame body of the packet being greater than the MCS of a preamble of the packet. However, Sampath in the same the field of endeavor teaches including, in the second filed indicating an indication to perform a mixed retransmission that includes retransmitting an aggregated medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (A-MPDU), based on a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) of a frame body of the packet being greater than the MCS of a preamble of the packet (see paragraph [0065], herein the packet 320 can include a physical layer (PHY) preamble including the destination address. In some embodiments, the retransmission of error-correction information may be applied to aggregated MPDUs (A-MPDUs) where at least one MPDU has been correctly decoded, so that the address was correctly received. In various embodiments, all MPDUs in an A-MPDU can have same destination address, so the RX STA 310 can obtain the address by decoding a single MPDU). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, at the time the invention was made to modify the communication system of Quan-Gage as combined with the teachings of Sampath including an indication to perform a mixed retransmission that includes retransmitting an aggregated medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (A-MPDU), based on a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) of a frame body of the packet being greater than the MCS of a preamble of the packet. This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, at the time the invention was made, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the including an indication to perform a mixed retransmission that including an indication to perform a mixed retransmission that includes retransmitting an aggregated medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (A-MPDU), based on a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) of a frame body of the packet being greater than the MCS of a preamble of the packet would have improved communication efficiency.
As per claim 12: Quan-Gage as combined does not explicitly teach including, in the second field, an indication to immediately retransmit the packet, based on Short Training Field (STF) and/or Long Training Field (LTF) correlations being observed during reception of the packet. However, Sampath in the same the field of endeavor teaches including, in the second field, an indication to immediately retransmit the packet, based on Short Training Field (STF) and/or Long Training Field (LTF) correlations being observed during reception of the packet (see paragraph [0083], herein the RX STA 210 and/or 310 to store the received MPDUs (e.g., at blocks 245 and/or 365), the MPDU can be delimited with robust delimiters, using techniques similar to the robust addressing and robust sequencing described above. In an embodiment, aggregated PPDUs (A-PPDUs) can be used. In various embodiments, A-PPDUs can include one or more of an STF, a long training field (LTF), a SIG field, and a plurality of PSDUs. In some embodiments, each PSDU can include a separate STF and/or LTF). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, at the time the invention was made to modify the communication system of Quan-Gage as combined with the teachings of Sampath by including an indication to immediately retransmit the packet, based on Short Training Field (STF) and/or Long Training Field (LTF) correlations being observed during reception of the packet. This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, at the time the invention was made, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized including an indication to immediately retransmit the packet, based on Short Training Field (STF) and/or Long Training Field (LTF) correlations being observed during reception of the packet would have improved communication efficiency.
As per claim 22: Quan substantially teaches or discloses an IEEE 802.11 station (STA) comprising (see paragraph [0027], herein The system 100 includes a first wireless device 110 connected to a second wireless device 140 via a wireless network 130 (e.g., an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11ah wireless network, a wireless local area network (WLAN) compliant with an IEEE 802.11 protocol, and Fig. 1)): a receiver configured to receive a packet within a received signal via a carrier sense multiple access (CSMA) wireless medium from a transmitting STA (see paragraph [0029], herein During operation, the first wireless device 110 (e.g., an IEEE 802.11ah sensor or other devices having a low duty cycle) may transmit a first packet 132 to the second wireless device 140 (e.g., another IEEE 802.11ah device or a non-IEEE 802.11ah device) using a first modulation and coding scheme (MCS) and at a first transmit power level, and Fig. 1); a transmitter configured to transmit a negative acknowledgement (NACK signal responsive to a Physical Layer Convergence Protocol (PLCP) header of the packet not having been decoded properly (see paragraph [0009], herein the receiver may determine an error in response to decoding a physical layer (PHY) preamble of a packet but not the remainder of the packet, and the receiver may determine whether the decoding error was due to poor channel conditions or due to a collision. The receiver may indicate the cause of the decoding error in the NACK packet, and the transmitter may selectively increase, decrease, or maintain its MCS and/or transmission power level in response to the indicated cause of the decoding error), responsive to the PLCP header not having been decoded properly and a high power level not having been detected during reception of the packet (see paragraph [0034], herein the second wireless device 140 may not successfully decode the first packet 132 sent by the first wireless device 110 and may send a negative acknowledgement (NACK) packet 136 to the first wireless device 110. For example, the second wireless device 140 may determine whether an error detected during decoding of the first packet 132 is caused by a channel condition or a collision and may send the NACK packet 136 to the first wireless device 110 based on the determination. When the error is caused by the channel condition, the NACK packet 136 may instruct the first wireless device 110 (or the first wireless device 110 may elect) to decrease the first MCS, increase the first transmit power level, or any combination thereof. When the error is caused by the collision, the NACK packet 136 may instruct the first wireless device 110 (or the first wireless device 110 may elect) to maintain the first MCS and the first transmit power level, and Fig. 1); wherein the NACK signal includes a field indicating a remediation action recommendation for the transmitting STA to immediately retransmit the packet responsive to the PLCP header not having been decoded properly and the high power level having been detected during reception of the packet (see paragraph [0009], herein when the receiver cannot successfully decode a transmitted packet, the receiver may send a negative acknowledgement (NACK) packet, where the NACK packet includes a bit indicating whether the decoding error was due to poor channel conditions (in which case the transmitter should change MCS and/or transmit power level) or a collision (in which case the transmitter should retry transmission while maintaining the MCS and the transmit power level, and paragraph [0037]), and Fig. 3). Quan does not explicitly teach wherein the NACK signal includes a first field indicating a reception failure cause and a second field indicating a recommendation for the transmitting STA to remediate the reception failure cause, which includes an indication to increase transmit power, wherein the NACK signal includes a field indicating the reception failure cause and a field indicating a remediation action recommendation for the transmitting STA to immediately retransmit the packet, wherein the first field and the second field are separate fields.
However, Gage in the same the field of endeavor teaches wherein the NACK signal includes a first field indicating a reception failure cause and a second field indicating a recommendation for the transmitting STA to remediate the reception failure cause, which includes an indication to increase transmit power, wherein the NACK signal includes a first field indicating the reception failure cause and a second field indicating a recommendation for the transmitting STA to immediately retransmit the packet, (see paragraph [0127], herein Imminent radio link failure event notification is an indication to the transmitter that the D2D link is degrading quickly thus allowing the transmitter to take some remedial action (e.g. change MCS, increase transmit power, revert to a normal uplink/downlink session). This indication may be multiplexed with the per-transmission information (HARQ ACK/NAK) so that it may be (i) more timely than a (periodic) CSI report, and (ii) a more explicit indication of degrading signal than repeatedly sending HARQ NAKs, and paragraph [0100]), wherein the first field and the second field are separate fields (see paragraph [0158], herein the RxCI may comprise one or more of: a buffer status report, a channel access request indication, a channel release acknowledgement, a channel quality indication, a HARQ ACK/NACK indication, an imminent radio link failure indication, a transmit power control indicator, or a precoding matrix indicator [Examiner notes: since the RxCI includes different fields, so it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the HARQ ACK/NACK indication filed and an imminent radio link failure indication filed are difference and separate fields]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the communication system of Quan with the teachings of Gage by including the NACK signal includes a first field indicating a reception failure cause and a second field indicating a recommendation for the transmitting STA to remediate the reception failure cause, which includes an indication to increase transmit power, wherein the NACK signal includes a field indicating the reception failure cause and a field indicating a remediation action recommendation for the transmitting STA to immediately retransmit the packet, wherein the first field and the second field are separate fields.
This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the NACK signal includes a first field indicating a reception failure cause and a second field indicating a recommendation for the transmitting STA to remediate the reception failure cause, which includes an indication to increase transmit power, wherein the NACK signal includes a field indicating the reception failure cause and a field indicating a remediation action recommendation for the transmitting STA to immediately retransmit the packet, wherein the first field and the second field are separate fields would have improved the equivalent equipment in a traditional wireless telecommunications system (see paragraph [0004] of Gage).
Quan-Gage as combined teach all the subject matter of claim 22 except short training field (STF) and/or long training field (LTF) correlations were detected during reception of the packet. However, Sampath in the same the field of endeavor teaches short training field (STF) and/or long training field (LTF) correlations were detected during reception of the packet (see paragraph [0083], herein the RX STA 210 and/or 310 to store the received MPDUs (e.g., at blocks 245 and/or 365), the MPDU can be delimited with robust delimiters, using techniques similar to the robust addressing and robust sequencing described above. In an embodiment, aggregated PPDUs (A-PPDUs) can be used. In various embodiments, A-PPDUs can include one or more of an STF, a long training field (LTF), a SIG field, and a plurality of PSDUs. In some embodiments, each PSDU can include a separate STF and/or LTF). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, at the time the invention was made to modify the communication system of Quan-Gage as combined with the teachings of Sampath by including short training field (STF) and/or long training field (LTF) correlations were detected during reception of the packet. This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, at the time the invention was made, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the Short Training Field (STF) and/or Long Training Field (LTF) correlations having been detected during reception of the packet would have improved communication efficiency.
As per claim 23: Quan substantially teaches or discloses a method for use in a station (STA), the method comprising (see paragraph [0027], herein The system 100 includes a first wireless device 110 connected to a second wireless device 140 via a wireless network 130 (e.g., an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11ah wireless network, a wireless local area network (WLAN) compliant with an IEEE 802.11 protocol, and Fig. 1)): transmitting a packet via a carrier sense multiple access (CSMA) wireless medium to a receiving STA (see paragraph [0029], herein During operation, the first wireless device 110 (e.g., an IEEE 802.11ah sensor or other devices having a low duty cycle) may transmit a first packet 132 to the second wireless device 140 (e.g., another IEEE 802.11ah device or a non-IEEE 802.11ah device) using a first modulation and coding scheme (MCS) and at a first transmit power level, and Fig. 1); wherein the field indicating an action recommendation includes an indication to increase transmit power on a condition that a PLCP header was not decoded properly and that a high power level was not detected during reception of the packet (see paragraph [0009], herein the receiver may determine an error in response to decoding a physical layer (PHY) preamble of a packet but not the remainder of the packet, and the receiver may determine whether the decoding error was due to poor channel conditions or due to a collision. The receiver may indicate the cause of the decoding error in the NACK packet, and the transmitter may selectively increase, decrease, or maintain its MCS and/or transmission power level in response to the indicated cause of the decoding error); on a condition that the PLCP header was not decoded properly, that a high power level was detected during reception of the packet, (see paragraph [0009], herein where the NACK packet includes a bit indicating whether the decoding error was due to poor channel conditions (in which case the transmitter should change MCS and/or transmit power level) or a collision (in which case the transmitter should retry transmission while maintaining the MCS and the transmit power level). To illustrate, the receiver may determine an error in response to decoding a physical layer (PHY) preamble of a packet but not the remainder of the packet); and retransmitting the packet via the CSMA wireless medium (see paragraph [0064], herein if the ACK packet 134 or the NACK packet 136 is not received at the first wireless device (e.g., within a predetermined time period), the first wireless device may retransmit the first packet 132 at an increased power level when the transmit power level is less than the maximum transmit power level. Further, if neither the ACK packet 134 nor the NACK packet 136 is received at the first wireless device 110, the first wireless device 110 may retransmit the first packet 132 at a decreased MCS (i.e., decreased from the first MCS) when the transmit power level is equal to the maximum transmit power level). Quan does not explicitly teach receiving a negative acknowledgement (NACK) signal including a first field indicating a reception failure cause and a second field indicating a recommendation teach receiving a negative acknowledgement (NACK) signal including a first field indicating a reception failure cause and a second field indicating a recommendation to increase transmit power, wherein the first field and the second field are separate fields; wherein the field indicating a remediation action recommendation includes an indication to increase transmit power; wherein the field indicating a remediation action recommendation includes an indication to increase transmit power.
However, Gage in the same the field of endeavor teaches receiving a negative acknowledgement (NACK) signal including a first field indicating a reception failure cause and a second field indicating a recommendation teach receiving a negative acknowledgement (NACK) signal including a first field indicating a reception failure cause and a second field indicating a recommendation to increase transmit power; wherein the field indicating a remediation action recommendation includes an indication to increase transmit power; wherein the second field includes an indication to increase transmit power (see paragraph [0127], herein Imminent radio link failure event notification is an indication to the transmitter that the D2D link is degrading quickly thus allowing the transmitter to take some remedial action (e.g. change MCS, increase transmit power, revert to a normal uplink/downlink session). This indication may be multiplexed with the per-transmission information (HARQ ACK/NAK) so that it may be (i) more timely than a (periodic) CSI report, and (ii) a more explicit indication of degrading signal than repeatedly sending HARQ NAKs, and paragraph [0100]), wherein the first field and the second field are separate fields (see paragraph [0158], herein the RxCI may comprise one or more of: a buffer status report, a channel access request indication, a channel release acknowledgement, a channel quality indication, a HARQ ACK/NACK indication, an imminent radio link failure indication, a transmit power control indicator, or a precoding matrix indicator [Examiner notes: since the RxCI includes different fields, so it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the HARQ ACK/NACK indication filed and an imminent radio link failure indication filed are difference and separate fields]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the communication system of Quan with the teachings of Gage by receiving a negative acknowledgement (NACK) signal including a first field indicating a reception failure cause and a second field indicating a recommendation teach receiving a negative acknowledgement (NACK) signal including a first field indicating a reception failure cause and a second field indicating a recommendation to increase transmit power, wherein the first field and the second field are separate fields; wherein the second field includes an indication to increase transmit power; wherein the field indicating a remediation action recommendation includes an indication to increase transmit power.
This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized receiving a negative acknowledgement (NACK) signal including a first field indicating a reception failure cause and a second field indicating a recommendation teach receiving a negative acknowledgement (NACK) signal including a first field indicating a reception failure cause and a second field indicating a recommendation to increase transmit power, wherein the first field and the second field are separate fields; wherein the second field includes an indication to increase transmit power; wherein the second field includes an indication to increase transmit power would have improved the equivalent equipment in a traditional wireless telecommunications system (see paragraph [0004] of Gage).
Quan-Gage as combined teach all the subject matter of claim 23 except Short Training Field (STF) and/or Long Training Field (LTF) correlations were detected during reception of the packet. However, Sampath in the same the field of endeavor teaches Short Training Field (STF) and/or Long Training Field (LTF) correlations were detected during reception of the packet (see paragraph [0083], herein the RX STA 210 and/or 310 to store the received MPDUs (e.g., at blocks 245 and/or 365), the MPDU can be delimited with robust delimiters, using techniques similar to the robust addressing and robust sequencing described above. In an embodiment, aggregated PPDUs (A-PPDUs) can be used. In various embodiments, A-PPDUs can include one or more of an STF, a long training field (LTF), a SIG field, and a plurality of PSDUs. In some embodiments, each PSDU can include a separate STF and/or LTF). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, at the time the invention was made to modify the communication system of Quan-Gage as combined with the teachings of Sampath by including Short Training Field (STF) and/or Long Training Field (LTF) correlations were detected during reception of the packet. This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, at the time the invention was made, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the Short Training Field (STF) and/or Long Training Field (LTF) correlations were detected during reception of the packet would have improved communication efficiency.
Examiner Notes
6. When amending the claims, applicants are respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Prior Art
7. The prior art of record, considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure, is listed in the attached PTO-892 form.
Conclusion
8. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL; Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The examiner can normally be reached on MON-FRI 8:30 AM-5:00 PM EST, also please fax interview request to (571) 273- 2069.
/OSMAN ALSHACK/
Examiner, Art Unit 2112
/ALBERT DECADY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2112