DETAILED ACTION
Note: The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 13, 14, 16, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fonseca et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2003/0139677 A1) (hereinafter “Fonseca”).
With respect to claim 1, Fonseca teaches an implant delivery system (see title “implantable wireless sensor for pressure measurement within the heart”) comprising:
an implant configured to measure pressure and to wirelessly communicate information to a receiver or reader device (par.0086 “transmitter and receiver… antenna 424 for generating and receiving signals from a sensor 426”);
a first sheath and a second sheath (par.0033-35 “coaxial delivery catheter consisting of two hollow extruded polymeric catheters”), wherein said first sheath is positioned at least partially within said second sheath (par.0033 “the smaller of the two disposed in the larger one”), the first sheath is translatable relative to said second sheath and wherein the first sheath comprises an exterior circumference (par.0033-35 “smaller catheter has an annular space to hold a folded sensor, which is released when the outer catheter is withdrawn proximally”, evidencing translational movement of the outer sheath relative to the inner sheath. The inner catheter, as a tubular member, inherently possesses an exterior circumference against which the sensor is mounted).
wherein said implant is removably mounted directly on the exterior circumference of said first sheath and is deployable from the exterior circumference such that said implant separates from the exterior circumference of said first sheath (par.0035 “sensor can be loaded into the annular space between the inner and outer catheters by inserting the sensor into a longitudinal slit cut into the outer catheter and attaching a tab on the sensor's surface into a slot cut into the inner coaxial catheter”—a removable, direct mechanical mounting to the exterior of the inner/first sheath; par.0035 “To deploy the device, the rotation of the inner tube is reversed and the sensor emerges through the slit of the outer catheter”—deployment is accomplished because by rotation of the inner tube the sensor will be retracted through the slit and positioned in the annular space between the two tubes, and to deploy the device, the rotation of the inner tube is reversed and the sensor emerges through the slit of the outer catheter, causing the sensor to separate from the inner catheter’s exterior surface), and
wherein at least a portion of said first sheath is contained inside said second sheath and said first sheath and said second sheath are movable with respect to one another to deploy and release said implant to a target site in an anatomy (par.0033-35 “coaxial delivery catheter… smaller of the two disposed inside the larger one… deploy the device, the rotation of the inner tube is reversed and the sensor emerges through the slit of the outer catheter”);
and further wherein said first sheath is configured to be partially inserted into a living body such that a proximal end of said second sheath
Although Fonseca does not explicitly teach a proximal end of said second sheath remains external to said living body, further modification to incorporate this feature would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (“PHOSITA”) at the time of invention for the following reasons. First, it is well known and conventional in catheter-based delivery systems that an outer/introducer sheath’s proximal portion remains outside the patient’s body for physician access and manipulation, while the distal end is advanced to the internal target site. See also prior cited at the end of the current office action for example teachings. Therefore, PHOSITA would have had predictable success at the time of invention in configuring Fonseca’s coaxial delivery catheter so that the outer sheath’s proximal hub remains external (enabling the physician to actuate the withdrawal/rotation needed to deploy the sensor) as this is simply the routine, expected manner of using any percutaneous coaxial catheter system, and Fonseca’s own system presupposes exactly this configuration. Furthermore, combining Fonseca’s coaxial sensor-delivery mechanism with the well-understood proximal-external/distal-internal catheter configuration would yield the claimed invention with predictable results (MPEP §2143, rationale (A) – combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results; and (C) –use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way).
With respect to claim 2, Fonseca does not explicitly teach wherein said first sheath is configured to be partially inserted into a blood vessel of said living body such that said proximal end of said second sheath remains external to said living body and said distal end is internal to said living body. However, further modification to incorporate this feature would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (“PHOSITA”) at the time of invention for the following reasons. First, it is well known and conventional in catheter-based delivery systems that an outer/introducer sheath’s proximal portion remains outside the patient’s body for physician access and manipulation, while the distal end is advanced to the internal target site (e.g. blood vessel). See also prior cited at the end of the current office action for example teachings. Therefore, PHOSITA would have had predictable success at the time of invention in configuring Fonseca’s coaxial delivery catheter so that the outer sheath’s proximal hub remains external (enabling the physician to actuate the withdrawal/rotation needed to deploy the sensor) as this is simply the routine, expected manner of using any percutaneous coaxial catheter system, and Fonseca’s own system presupposes exactly this configuration. Furthermore, combining Fonseca’s coaxial sensor-delivery mechanism with the well-understood proximal-external/distal-internal catheter configuration would yield the claimed invention with predictable results (MPEP §2143, rationale (A) – combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results; and (C) –use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way).
With respect to claim 13, Fonseca teaches wherein: said second sheath is configured to allow insertion of a catheter configured to selectively attach to said implant and move said implant proximally when retracted; wherein at least one anchor of said implant is collapsible; and wherein said anchor of said implant is configured to be placed in a collapsed state when said catheter moves the implant proximally into said second sheath (par.0059).
With respect to claim 14, Fonseca teaches wherein said second sheath is configured to allow said first sheath to be retracted into said second sheath while said implant is still connected to said first sheath, and configured to cover said first sheath and said implant while said first and second sheath are withdrawn from said living body (par.0033-35).
With respect to claim 16, Fonseca teaches wherein said implant further comprises a rigid housing, and at least one collapsible implant anchor, said at least one anchor being attached to said housing (par.0033-35, 59).
With respect to claim 32, Fonseca suggests an implant delivery system comprising: an implantable pressure sensor configured to wirelessly communicate information to a reader device; a first sheath and a second sheath, wherein the first sheath is translatable relative to the second sheath and wherein the first sheath comprises an exterior circumference; wherein the implantable pressure sensor is removably mounted directly on the exterior circumference of the first sheath and is deployable from the exterior circumference such that the implantable pressure sensor separates from the exterior circumference of the first sheath, and wherein at least a portion of first sheath is contained inside the second sheath and the first sheath is configured to be partially inserted into a living body such that a proximal end of the second sheath remains external to the living body and a distal end of the first sheath is internal to the living body (see rejection of claim 1 above; Fonseca also teaches an implantable pressure sensor, see abstract, par.0030, 60).
Claims 3-7 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fonseca, as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Levine et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2012/0116429 A1) (hereinafter “Levine”).
With respect to claims 3-5 and 33, Fonseca renders obvious to PHOSITA an implant delivery system as established above.
However, Fonseca does not teach the limitations further recited in claims 3-5 and 33.
Regarding claims 3 and 33, Levine teaches at least one fluid port positioned along a proximal end of said first sheath or second sheath, said fluid port fluidly coupled to at least one lumen extending down a length of said first sheath or second sheath to allow fluid flow through said lumen (par.0062).
Regarding claim 4, Levine teaches wherein said fluid is injected through said port and includes one of: a drug; a fluid used to enhance anatomical imaging; fluoroscopic contrast dye; barium; a radioactive material; blood; plasma; saline solution; a blood component; a particle suspension; a nano-device; and a nanomaterial (par.0062).
Regarding claim 5, Levine teaches wherein said at least one fluid port is configured to operatively couple to a device located outside of said body (par.0062).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to PHOSITA at the time of invention to further modify Fonseca to incorporate at least one fluid port in the manner recited above for the purpose of providing an indication that fluid flow has resumed in the vessel, as evidence by Levine (par.0062).
Regarding claim 6, Fonseca teaches wherein said device is a pressure transducer, configured to measure a fluid pressure at the distal end of said first sheath or a distal end of said second sheath (abstract; par.0030).
Regarding claim 7, Fonseca teaches wherein said measurement of fluid pressure at the distal end of said first or second sheath is used to calibrate or assess accuracy of said implant (par.0030, 65, 91).
Claims 8-10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fonseca, as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Stalker et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2008/0071339 A1) (hereinafter “Stalker”).
Stalker was applied in the previous office action.
With respect to claims 8-10 and 18, Fonseca renders obvious to PHOSITA an implant delivery system as established above.
However, Fonseca does not teach the limitations recited in claims 8-10 and 18.
With respect to claim 8, Stalker teaches at least one marker configured to be visible with a fluoroscope (par.0032 “retaining element 48 may include a radio-opaque marker at or near its distal end”).
With respect to claim 9, Stalker teaches said marker comprises a radio opaque material positioned on at least one of: a distal tip of said first sheath; the distal end of said second sheath; a portion of said implant; and as a plurality of markings spaced along a portion of said first or said second sheath (par.0032 “retaining element 48 may include a radio-opaque marker at or near its distal end”).
With respect to claim 10, Stalker teaches said marker is attached to at least one anchor on the implant (par.0032 “retaining element 48 may include a radio-opaque marker at or near its distal end”; anchor 74 is presumably attached to marker 48 as depicted in Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 18, Stalker teaches said implant includes a marker configured to be at least partially visible under fluoroscopic imaging (par.0032).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to PHOSITA at the time of invention to modify Fonseca to utilize a marker in the manner recited above in order to aid in accurately delivering and deploying an implant/device within a patient’s body, as evidence by Stalker (par.0005).
Claims 11, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fonseca and Stalker, as applied to claim 8 above, in view of Kick et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2006/0135963 A1) (hereinafter “Kick”).
Kick was applied in the previous office action.
With respect to claims 11, 12, and 19, Fonseca and Stalker teach an implant delivery system as established above.
However, Fonseca and Stalker do not teach the limitations recited in claims 11, 12, and 19.
Regarding claim 11, Kick teaches a plurality of markers are positioned along said implant in an asymmetric pattern, said pattern is configured to facilitate determination of implant orientation when viewed on a fluoroscope (par.0074 “asymmetric radiopaque markers 1712 to provide rotational and longitudinal orientation information... allow for positioning under fluoroscopy”).
Regarding claim 12, Kick teaches said asymmetric pattern comprises markers at three of four corners of a two-dimensional rectangle when viewed normal to a plane of said rectangle on a fluoroscope (par.0074; see also Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 19, Kick teaches a plurality of said markers are spaced at known intervals along anchor wire of said anchor to facilitate distance estimation during angiographic imaging; and wherein said marker is located on the anchor wire near a point where said anchor wire attaches to said housing (par.0074; see also Fig. 17).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to PHOSITA at the time of invention to modify Fonseca and Stalker to incorporate a plurality of markers in the recited arrangement in order to provide rotational and longitudinal orientation information, as evidence by Kick (par.0074).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fonseca, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Mustapha (US PG Pub. No. 2010/0100055 A1).
Mustapha was applied in the previous office action.
With respect to claim 15, Fonseca renders obvious to PHOSITA an implant delivery system as established above.
However, Fonseca does not teach the limitations recited in claim 15.
Regarding claim 15, Mustapha teaches said first sheath is configured with a distal tip made of a soft material to reduce vessel trauma during use, wherein said distal tip has a durometer softer than Shore 40A (par.0038 “the distal portion 16 provides a soft or flexible sheath portion that still provides mild support while in the vessel, which is highly suited for intervention of the vessel without substantial risk of vessel trauma”).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to PHOSITA at the time of invention to modify Fonseca such that the distal tip is made of a soft material in order to provide mild support while in the vessel, which is highly suited for intervention of the vessel without substantial risk of vessel trauma, as evidence by Mustapha (see par.0038).
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent No. 4874378
US Patent No. 6120480
US Patent No. 7481771
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections raised in the previous office action have been considered, but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Please see prior art section above for more detail, updated citations, and updated obviousness rationale.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PUYA AGAHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791