Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, the limitation “dimensioned to meet pipe thickness requirements” is considered
to be vague and indefinite, because it is unclear what “thickness requirements” are being referred to and exactly what and how those thickness requirements would be met, as there are many factors which would determine the necessary thickness of a pipe, such as material, pipe diameter, operating pressures, etc. Therefore clarification is needed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CA 2,298,901.
In regard to claim 1, CA ‘901 discloses a connection comprising:
a first tubular member having a pin end 4 comprising:
a first portion 4 having a first inner diameter; and
a second portion 6 having a pin face 8 dimensioned to meet pipe thickness requirements (see page 8, lines 4-9, where the pin end is made thick enough to satisfy the requirement of creating a metal to metal seal to guarantee the complete sealing of the joint under any operating condition) and disposed at an outermost end of the pin end of the first tubular member; and
a second tubular member having a box end 1 comprising:
a first portion 1 having a first outer diameter; and
a second portion having a box face 11 at an outermost end of the box end of the second tubular member,
wherein the first tubular member and the second tubular member are configured to connect when a threading of the pin end-engages with a threading of the box end; and wherein a thickness of the pin face 8 is substantially identical to a thickness of the box face 11 (see page 8, last two lines where it states that the shoulders 13 and 15 are 2mm in height and see figs. 4A and 4C where the end surfaces of 11 and 8 taper down to an end surface that matches the shoulder heights of 13 and 15).
In regard to claim 3, wherein the outer diameter of the box end is larger than the outer diameter of the pin end (element 11 tapers outward from the end surface at 3 in fig. 4A to have a larger diameter than 5).
In regard to claim 6, wherein the pin end of the first tubular member comprises a seal element 7, and wherein the box end of the second tubular member comprises a seal element 7.
In regard to claim 7, wherein the seal element of the pin end of the first tubular member is a center seal element 7, and wherein the seal element of the box end of the second tubular member is a center seal element 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CA 2,298,901 in view of Hellmund et al. 4,153,283.
In regard to claims 6 and 7, CA ‘901 discloses a seal elements where 8 and 10 contact
and where 11 and 9 contact, where surfaces 9 and 10 are linear surfaces and surfaces 8 and 11 are flares, but it is unclear if the flared surfaces are curvilinear. Hellmund et al. teaches that providing metal to metal seals in pin and box connections with mating curvilinear 13, 14 and linear surfaces 11, 12 is common and well known in the art. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the flares surfaces of CA ‘901 curvilinear, as taught by Hellmund.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3 and 6-9 have been considered but are unpersuasive.
Applicant argues that a pin face “dimensioned to meet pipe thickness requirements”
inherently requires that the pin face extends to the inner diameter surface of the pin and that Cerruti fails to disclose this structure. However, Applicant has failed to provide any support as to why the limitation “dimensioned to meet pipe thickness requirements” requires that the pin face extend to the inner diameter surface of the pipe.
It is the Examiner’s position that the limitation “dimensioned to meet pipe thickness requirements” is extremely broad and does not require that the pin face extend to the inner diameter surface of the pin in order to anticipate this limitation in the claim.
Cerruti discloses making the pin end surface 8 sufficiently thick enough to satisfy the requirement of creating a metal to metal seal to guarantee the complete sealing of the joint under any operating condition (see page 8, lines 4-9), which is considered by the Examiner to be a dimension “to meet pipe thickness requirements). Therefore the Cerruti rejection has been maintained.
Applicant argues that Cerruti fails to disclose the thickness of any portion of elements 8
or element 11, specifically that they have substantially the same thickness.
The Examiner disagrees, as the last two lines of page 8 of the specification discloses that the height of the shoulders, 13 and 15 are about 2mm. Additionally, figs. 4A and 4C depict the end surfaces of 11 and 8 as having the exact same thicknesses as that of shoulders 13 and 15, respectively.
Applicant argues that that the only disclosures relating to the dimensions of these elements ties their thickness to the depth of the annular slots 12 and 14 and includes various annotated figures relating to the thickness of the slots and end faces. It is unclear why the Applicant is referring to annular slots 12 and 14, when the limitation of claim 1 in question is “wherein a thickness of the pin face is substantially identical to a thickness of the box face”. The specification of Cerruti clearly states that “the hight of the shoulders are about 2mm, for the internal and external shoulders”. Cerruti clearly states that shoulders 8, 11, 13 and 15 have the same thickness and therefore the rejection has been maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID BOCHNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679