DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is a response to Applicant's Amendment filed on 12/19/25. By virtue of this amendment, claims 3-5,7,19-20,23 are cancelled and thus, claims 1-2,6,8-18,21-22,24-26 are currently presented in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2,6,8-9,11-13 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Moser (US Pub. No: 2013/0163697) in view of Mazzaro et al (US Pub. No:2015/0084811).
With respect to claims 1 and 9, Moser discloses a method of generating a pulsed radio frequency (RF) signal [Fig. 2], comprising: receiving a waveform file including digital representations of one or more pulsed waveforms [Fig. 2 shows Binary data signal input into ASK digital shaping unit 13 and paragraph 32 shows “shaping unit 13 receives at input a digital data signal”]; generating a digital waveform 13 comprising a continuous sequence of the one or more pulsed waveforms [Fig. 4, ds through dsdm at Fig. 5, and paragraphs 32-33….at reference numeral 21 in Fig 4 and paragraph 38, shows the binary data signal input d being digitally shaped in pulse shaper to output a filtered wave shape ds….Fig. 5 shows the one or more pulsed waveforms d and ds]; generating a pulsed analog signal 26, 27 that that is an analog version of the digital waveform [Fig. 4 and paragraph 18 shows a digital-analogue conversion stage for converting the digital data signal shaped in the unit…reference numerals 26, 27 shows a digital-analogue conversion stage; paragraph 17 and 33]; and amplitude modulating a radio frequency (RF) carrier 11, 12, 13 utilizing the pulsed analog signal as a modulating signal to generate a pulsed RF signal exhibiting the envelope waveform of the pulsed analog signal [paragraphs 15-17…paragraph 15 shows local oscillator 11 for generating an oscillating signal at a determined carrier frequency; paragraph 16 shows shaping data pulses to provide a data amplitude modulation signal…paragraphs 17, 33, and 39 shows power amplifier 12 to modulate the amplitude of the data in the oscillating carrier signal].
Moser do not explicitly disclose one or more arbitrary pulsed waveforms.
Mazzaro et al disclose one or more arbitrary pulsed waveforms (61). Paragraphs [89 or 99]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the one or more arbitrary waveforms of Mazzaro et al into the
circuit is provided for the transmission of data amplitude modulated radio frequency signals of Moser et al to improve more flexibility in the transmitted/received.
With respect to claim 2, Moser as modified above, discloses wherein one or more arbitrary pulsed waveforms.
With respect to claim 6, Moser as modified above, discloses wherein the modulator comprises a mixer (11,12,13) configured to receive the RF carrier and the modulating signal and generate the pulsed RF signal at least partially based on a combination of the RF carrier and the modulating signal. Paragraphs [31-33].
With respect to claim 8, Moser as modified above, discloses a regulator to regulate a power level of the pulse RF signal generated by the mixer (11,12,13).Paragraphs [31-33].
With respect to claim 11, Moser as modified above, wherein one or more pulsed waveforms of the digital waveform exhibiting a multi-step waveform or an arbitrary waveform. Figure 5.
With respect to claim 12, Moser as modified above, discloses wherein the receiving the waveform file comprises: receiving the waveform file from a source external to the radio frequency generator. Figure 4, input reference 21.
With respect to claim 13, Moser as modified above, discloses wherein the amplitude modulating the radio frequency (RF) carrier (12) comprises: applying power level adjustments to the RF carrier according to the envelope waveform of the pulsed analog signal. Paragraphs [34-36,39].
With respect to claim 27, Moser as modified above, discloses in figure 2, comprising: the power amplifier (12) for combining the RF carrier and the modulating signal to generate the pulsed RF signal; and regulating a power level of the pulsed RF signal. Paragraphs [34-35].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Moser (US Pub. No: 2013/0163697) as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Park et al (US Pub. No: 2018/0076990).
With respect to claim 10, Moser discloses all limitations recited in claim 9 above, except for wherein the receiving the waveform file comprises: receiving the waveform file from a source at the radio frequency generator.
Park et al disclose in figures 2 and 4 that, wherein the receiving the waveform file comprises: receiving the waveform file (pulse shaper (240) from a source (data encoder (230)) at the radio frequency generator (pulse generator (220)). Paragraphs [63-67 or 84-90].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the pulse shaper, the data encoder, and the pulse generator of Park et al into the circuit for transmitting ASK RF signal of Moser to provide multi-bits per transmission and input data sequence into two bits.
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Moser (US Pub. No: 2013/0163697) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Moore et al (US Pub. No: 2009/0290658).
With respect to claim 21, Moser discloses a method of generating a pulsed radio frequency (RF) signal [Fig. 2], comprising: receiving a waveform file including digital representations of one or more pulsed waveforms [Fig. 2 shows Binary data signal input into ASK digital shaping unit 13 and paragraph 32 shows “shaping unit 13 receives at input a digital data signal”]; generating a digital waveform 13. As shown in claim 1 above.
Moser does not disclose an interface to receive the waveform file from a source at the radio frequency generator.
Moore et al disclose in figure 2 that, the digital waveform can be stored in a signal generator that has a memory for storing the M-ary digital signal, a controller, and a user interface. Paragraphs [27,33].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the interface of Moore et al into the circuit for transmitting ASK RF signal of Moser to provide parameters to determine RF signal and multiple pulse local oscillator(LO).
With respect to claim 22, Moser discloses a method of generating a pulsed radio frequency (RF) signal [Fig. 2], comprising: receiving a waveform file including digital representations of one or more pulsed waveforms [Fig. 2 shows Binary data signal input into ASK digital shaping unit 13 and paragraph 32 shows “shaping unit 13 receives at input a digital data signal”]; generating a digital waveform 13. As shown in claim 1 above.
Moser does not disclose an interface to receive the waveform file from a source external to the radio frequency generator.
Moore et al disclose in figure 2 that, the digital waveform can be stored in a signal generator that has a memory for storing the M-ary digital signal, a controller, and a user interface. Paragraphs [27,33].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the interface of Moore et al into the circuit for transmitting ASK RF signal of Moser to provide parameters that determine RF signal and multiple pulse local oscillator(LO). Paragraphs [27 and 33].
Claims 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Moser (US Pub. No: 2013/0163697) in view of Moore et al (US Pub. No: 2009/0290658) and further in view of Fredrick et al (US Pub. No: 2003/0016014) and further in view of Mazzaro et al (US Pub. No:2015/0084811).
With respect to claim 14, Moser discloses a radio frequency (RF) generation system comprising: a radio frequency (RF) generator [Fig.2] including: a digital shaper configured to generate a digital waveform [Fig. 2 shows Binary data signal input into ASK digital shaping unit 13 and paragraph 32 shows “shaping unit 13 receives at input a digital data signal”]; comprising a continuous sequence of one or more of the pulsed waveforms included in the waveform file [Fig. 4, ds through dsdm at Fig. 5, and paragraphs 32-33….at reference numeral 21 in Fig 4 and paragraph 38, shows the binary data signal input d being digitally shaped in pulse shaper to output a filtered wave shape ds….Fig. 5 shows the one or more pulsed waveforms d and ds];
a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) configured to generate a pulsed analog signal at least partially responsive to the digital waveform [Fig. 4 and paragraph 18 shows a digital-analogue conversion stage for converting the digital data signal shaped in the unit…reference numerals 26, 27 shows a digital-analogue conversion stage; paragraph 17 and 33]; and
a modulator configured to output a pulsed radio frequency (RF) signal exhibiting the envelope waveform of the pulsed analog signal by amplitude modulating an RF carrier using the pulsed analog signal as a modulating signal;[ amplitude modulating a radio frequency (RF) carrier 11, 12, 13 utilizing the pulsed analog signal as a modulating signal to generate a pulsed RF signal exhibiting the envelope waveform of the pulsed analog signal [paragraphs 15-17…paragraph 15 shows local oscillator 11 for generating an oscillating signal at a determined carrier frequency; paragraph 16 shows shaping data pulses to provide a data amplitude modulation signal…paragraphs 17, 33, and 39 shows power amplifier 12 to modulate the amplitude of the data in the oscillating carrier signal].
Moser does not discloses (1) an interface configured to receive a waveform file including digital representations of one or more pulsed waveforms and (2)a computer in electrical communication with the RF generator, the computer configured to provide the RF generator with the waveform file including the digital representations of one or more pulsed waveforms.
Moore et al disclose in figure 2 that, (1) the digital waveform can be stored in a signal generator that has a memory for storing the M-ary digital signal, a controller, and a user interface. Paragraphs [27,33].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the interface of Moore et al into the circuit for transmitting ASK RF signal of Moser to provide parameters to determine RF signal and multiple pulse local oscillator(LO). Paragraphs [27 and 33].
Moser and Moore er al do not disclose (2)a computer in electrical communication with the RF generator, the computer configured to provide the RF generator with the waveform file including the digital representations of one or more pulsed waveforms.
Fredrick et al disclose in figure 1, a computer (control device/computer(5)) in electrical communication with the RF generator(13), the computer configured to provide the RF generator(13).Paragraph[25].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the computer of Fredrick et al into the circuit for transmitting ASK RF signal of Moser and Moore el al to produce a waveform from the modulated frequency source. produce a waveform.
Moser and Moore er al and Fredrick et al do not disclose one or more arbitrary pulsed waveforms.
Mazzaro et al disclose one or more arbitrary pulsed waveforms (61). Paragraphs [89 or 99]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the one or more arbitrary waveforms of Mazzaro et al into the
circuit is provided for the transmission of data amplitude modulated radio frequency signals of Moser et al, Moore er al and Fredrick et alto improve more flexibility in the transmitted/received.
With respect to claim 15, Moser as modified as claim 14 above disclose wherein the computer is configured to generate waveform files including digital representations of arbitrary pulsed waveforms exhibiting a multi-step waveform or an arbitrary waveform.
With respect to claim 16, Moser as modified as claim 14 above, wherein the RF generator is configured to receive the waveform and store the waveform file at the RF generator.
With respect to claim 17, Moser as modified as claim 14 above, wherein the computer is configured to provide the waveform file to the interface of the RF generator and the digital shaper is configured to receive the digital representations of the one or more arbitrary pulsed waveforms included in the waveform file via the interface.
With respect to claim 18, Moser as modified as claims 14 and 16 above, wherein the computer is operable by a user to create arbitrary pulsed waveforms exhibiting arbitrary waveforms or multi-step waveforms.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 24-26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Citation of pertinent prior art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicants' disclosure. See prior arts/references listed on the PTO-892 form attached.
Inquiry
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Taningco Alexander H can be reached on 571-272-8048. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Minh Tran/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2844