Response to Arguments
The amendment filed by the Applicant on 8/27/25 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4,10-15, 17,19 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen (US 20170295960, cited previously) in view of Wang (CN 204785631 U) and further in view of Griffiths (US 20100177533 A1)
Regarding claim 21, Allen teaches an illuminated door in a locker (Fig.7) , comprising: a substrate panel 21 comprising: a front surface; a rear surface; a top edge; a bottom edge; opposing side edges; and a cut-out portion 25 (aperture outline ;[0014]) having a selected geometrical shape; an indicia substrate panel 27 having the same geometrical shape as the cut-out portion, the indicia substrate panel being configured to be inserted into the cut-out portion of the substrate panel, the indicia substrate panel comprising: peripheral edges.
Allen does not teach a continuous planar perimeter surrounding the continuous strip light and the substrate panel, such that the continuous planar perimeter covers the continuous strip light along the top edge, the bottom edge, and the opposing side edges of the substrate panel; and one or more generally U-shaped edge clamps, each edge clamp having a web portion and two inwardly angled, planar arms, each edge clamp securing the continuous strip light and the continuous planar perimeter between the web portion and the top edge, the bottom edge, and the opposing side edges of the substrate panel by pressing against the front surface and the rear surface of the substrate panel with the angled, planar arms; wherein the continuous strip light completely illuminates the substrate panel and indicia substrate panel.
While Allen teaches back light indicia substrate panel, however, it is well known in the art to use either back lit or side light illuminated substrates.
Wang teaches a continuous planar perimeter (Fig.2 and 9) of a substrate panel 3 (light guide plate 3) surrounding the continuous strip light (lamp strip 5) and the substrate panel, the continuous strip light disposed along the top edge, the bottom edge, and the opposing side edges of the substrate panel; such that the continuous planar perimeter covers the continuous strip light along the top edge, the bottom edge, and the opposing side edges of the substrate panel; and one or more generally U-shaped edge clamps 6 (Fig.6; light source clip 6), each edge clamp having a web portion and two inwardly angled, planar arms, each edge clamp securing the continuous strip light and the continuous planar perimeter between the web portion and the top edge, the bottom edge, and the opposing side edges of the substrate panel (Fig.9) by pressing against the front surface and the rear surface of the substrate panel with the angled, planar arms; wherein the continuous strip light completely illuminates the substrate panel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the light strip from the teachings of Wang in the edges of the substrate panel of Allen in order to facilitate easy to assemble edge-lit illumination.
Further regarding a texture formed from a non-uniform distribution of dots located at a selected distance from the peripheral edges, the texture being formed on an interior plane of the indicia substrate panel; such that the indicia substrate panel is illuminated from the top edge, the bottom edge, and the opposing side edges, it is well known to form textures on/bottom of light guide surfaces; Wang teaches:
LED panel lamp in the existing technology using light guide plate, laying texture on one surface of the light guide plate. The with silk-screen texture, dull polish texture or concave-convex texture, with textured surface of light guide plate is coated with a layer of reflecting layer, then covering a layer of diffusing layer on the texture surface of the light guide plate, made of four aluminium alloy extruded section jointed to form frame, light guide plate assembly is placed in the frame.
Further even more, Griffiths teaches an edge lit light panel (Fig.9-16) , wherein 103 are the light sources) wherein: a texture formed from a non-uniform distribution of dots located at a selected distance from the peripheral edges, the texture being formed on an interior plane of the indicia substrate panel; such that the indicia substrate panel is illuminated from the top edge, the bottom edge, and the opposing side edges ([0065]) and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the textured dot pattern, as disclosed in Griffiths in the device of Allen in view of Wang, in order to create an even illumination ([0065] in Griffiths).
Regarding claim 22, Allen teaches an illuminated door in a locker (Fig.7) , comprising: a substrate panel 21 comprising: a front surface; a rear surface; a top edge; a bottom edge; opposing side edges; and a cut-out portion 25 (aperture outline ;[0014]) having a selected geometrical shape; an indicia substrate panel 27 having the same geometrical shape as the cut-out portion, the indicia substrate panel being configured to be inserted into the cut-out portion of the substrate panel, the indicia substrate panel comprising: peripheral edges.
Allen does not teach a continuous planar perimeter surrounding the continuous strip light and the substrate panel, such that the continuous planar perimeter covers the continuous strip light along the top edge, the bottom edge, and the opposing side edges of the substrate panel; and one or more generally U-shaped edge clamps, each edge clamp having a web portion and two inwardly angled, planar arms, each edge clamp securing the continuous strip light and the continuous planar perimeter between the web portion and the top edge, the bottom edge, and the opposing side edges of the substrate panel by pressing against the front surface and the rear surface of the substrate panel with the angled, planar arms; wherein the continuous strip light completely illuminates the substrate panel and indicia substrate panel.
While Allen teaches back light indicia substrate panel, however, it is well known in the art to use either back lit or side light illuminated substrates.
Further, Wang teaches a continuous planar perimeter (Fig.2 and 9) of a substrate panel 3 (light guide plate 3) surrounding the continuous strip light (lamp strip 5) and the substrate panel, the continuous strip light disposed along the top edge, the bottom edge, and the opposing side edges of the substrate panel; such that the continuous planar perimeter covers the continuous strip light along the top edge, the bottom edge, and the opposing side edges of the substrate panel; and one or more generally U-shaped edge clamps 6 (Fig.6; light source clip 6), each edge clamp having a web portion and two inwardly angled, planar arms, each edge clamp securing the continuous strip light and the continuous planar perimeter between the web portion and the top edge, the bottom edge, and the opposing side edges of the substrate panel (Fig.9) by pressing against the front surface and the rear surface of the substrate panel with the angled, planar arms; wherein the continuous strip light completely illuminates the substrate panel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the light strip from the teachings of Wang in the edges of the substrate panel of Allen in order to facilitate easy to assemble edge-lit illumination.
Further regarding and a dot matrix formed by plasma etching (the method of plasma etching is not considered as germane to the device/product claims) at a selected distance from the peripheral edges, it is well known to form textures on/bottom of light guide surfaces; Wang teaches:
LED panel lamp in the existing technology using light guide plate, laying texture on one surface of the light guide plate. The with silk-screen texture, dull polish texture or concave-convex texture, with textured surface of light guide plate is coated with a layer of reflecting layer, then covering a layer of diffusing layer on the texture surface of the light guide plate, made of four aluminium alloy extruded section jointed to form frame, light guide plate assembly is placed in the frame.
Further even more, Griffiths teaches an edge lit light panel (Fig.9-16) 103 are the light sources) wherein: a texture formed from a non-uniform distribution of dots located at a selected distance from the peripheral edges, the texture being formed on an interior plane of the indicia substrate panel; such that the indicia substrate panel is illuminated from the top edge, the bottom edge, and the opposing side edges ([0065]) and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the textured dot pattern, as disclosed in Griffiths in the device of Allen in view of Wang, in order to create an even illumination ([0065] in Griffiths).
Regarding claim 15, Allen in view of Wang and Griffith teaches a method for illuminating the indicia substrate panel of an edge-lit locker, comprising: forming a first substrate panel of the edge-lit locker having: a front surface; a rear surface; a top edge; a side edge; a back surface; a cut-out portion having a selected geometrical shape; an indicia substrate panel configured to be inserted into the cut-out portion; and a first pattern (from the teachings of Griffith in rejection of claims 21 and 22 above) formed at a selected distance from the top edge and the side edge; abutting a strip light to and along the entire perimeter of the indicia substrate panel, such that the cut-out portion is illuminated from the side; and clamping the strip light to the indicia substrate panel with one or more edge clamps, such that the strip light is held directly between the arms of the edge clamps; wherein each edge clamp is generally U-shaped and comprises two inwardly angled, planar arms configured to clamp the substrate panel and the indicia substrate panel together, and to secure the continuous strip light to the edges of the indicia substrate panel (see rejection in claims 21 and 22 above).
Regarding claim 3, Allen in view Wang and Griffith teaches the edge-lit door, further comprising a texture formed from a uniform distribution of dots on or in a second substrate panel (29 in Fig.7 of Allen, wherein 27 is considered as the first substrate).
Regarding claim 4, Allen in view Wang and Griffith teaches the edge-lit door, further comprising: a second substrate panel 29 comprising: a second front surface; a second top surface; a second top edge; a second bottom edge; a second set of opposing side edges; and a second texture formed from a non-uniform distribution of dots at a selected distance from the second top edge, the second side edge, and the second set of opposing side edges (from the teachings of uniform or non-uniform pattern in [0015] of Griffith, the technique of which can be universally used in any lighting substrate/guide, in the desired regions, with respect to the edges, in order to achieve uniform illumination).
Regarding claim 10, Allen in view Wang and Griffith teaches the edge-lit door, further comprising a texture formed from a non-uniform distribution of dots on or in a second substrate panel (from the teachings of uniform or non-uniform pattern in [0015] of Griffith, the technique of which can be universally used in any lighting substrate/guide, in the desired regions, with respect to the edges, in order to achieve uniform illumination).
Regarding claim 11, Allen in view Wang and Griffith teaches the edge-lit door, further comprising: a second substrate panel comprising: a second top surface ; a second bottom surface: a second top edge; a second bottom edge; a second set of opposing side edges; and a second pattern formed from a uniform distribution of dots at a selected distance from the second top edge, the second side edge, and the second set of opposing side edges (from the teachings of uniform or non-uniform pattern in [0015] of Griffith, the technique of which can be universally used in any lighting substrate/guide, in the desired regions, with respect to the edges, in order to achieve uniform illumination and from the teachings of second substrate 29 in Allen).
Regarding claim 12, Allen in view Wang and Griffith teaches the edge-lit door, further comprising: a second flexible edge light disposed along the top edge, the bottom edge, and the opposing side edges of the second substrate panel (from the teachings of second substrate 29 in Allen 29).
Regarding claim 13, Allen in view Wang and Griffith teaches the edge-lit door, further comprising: a first planar perimeter framing the second flexible edge light and the second substrate panel; and a second planar perimeter framing the first flexible edge light and the first substrate panel (from the combined teachings of Allen in view Wang and Griffith; and from the teachings of second substrate 29 in Allen 29).
Regarding claim 14, Allen in view Wang and Griffith teaches an edge-lit door, further comprising; a power source connected to the first flexible edge light and to the second flexible edge light; wherein the second substrate panel (from multiple panels for example 27,29 in Allen) forms an illuminated indicia panel ([0016] in Allen, [0015]).
Regarding claim 17, Allen in view Wang and Griffith teaches an edge-lit door, further comprising: forming a second substrate panel (from the teachings of element 29 in Allen) having a second pattern formed therein or thereon; wherein the first pattern comprises a dot pattern (from the teachings of Griffith, also see rejection in claims 21 and 22 above).
Regarding claim 19, Allen in view Wang and Griffith teaches a method, further comprising; sealing at least one of the first substrate panel and the second substrate panel (from the teachings of Allen wherein multiple flat surface elements are sealed together using back frame and peripheral frames 31 and 43 respectively).
Regarding claim 20, Allen in view Wang and Griffith teaches the step of sealing at least one of the first substrate panel and the second substrate panel comprises framing the second substrate panel by attaching a planar perimeter (steel enclosure 31 or frame 43 in [0017] in Allen) around the second substrate panel (wherein Allen teaches the steel frame, multiple substrates in [0016] in Allen), and a cover plate 45 (Fig.8 in Allen) over the first substrate panel and the second substrate panel (multiple sheets disclosed in [0016] in Allen); the method further comprising; fastening the cover plate, first substrate panel, and second substrate panel to a compartment of a locker ([0013] in Allen); and activating a power source ([0016] in Allen) connected to the strip light.
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen in view of Wang and Griffith and further in view of Veentra (WO 2017078683 A1,cited previously)
Regarding claim 5, Allen in view of Wang and Griffith teaches the invention set forth in claim 4 above but is silent regarding; a flexible LED strip light attached around a perimeter of the second substrate panel.
Veentra teaches a flexible LED strip light 34 ([0040]: In yet another example, the light engine 34 can be in the form of multiple LEDs provided in a flexible strip) attached around a perimeter of a substrate panel. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to use a flexible LED strip, from the teachings of Veenstra in the device of over Allen in view of Wang and Griffith in order to achieve easy installation surrounding the substrate panel.
Regarding claim 6, Allen in view of Wang, Griffith and Veenstra teaches a display panel wherein a second planar perimeter framing (43 in Fig.8 in Allen) the light source 33 and the first substrate panel (41) with an opaque perimeter/frame (steel frame, [0017]). From the teachings of Allen, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use an opaque perimeter/frame in the device of Allen in view of Wang, Griffith and Veenstra in order to secure the light source and substrate by the frame ([0017] in Allen).
Regarding claim 7, Allen in view of Wang and Griffith and Veenstra teaches the edge-lit door, further comprising; a power source connected to at least one of the edge light and flexible LED strip light; wherein the second substrate panel forms an illuminated indicium ([0016] in Allen) in order to operate the display device.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen in view of Wang and Griffith and further in view of Xiong (US 20170196064, cited previously)
Regarding claim 16, Allen in view of Wang and Griffith teaches the invention set forth in claim 15 above, but is silent regarding soldering a connection between a power source and the strip light; and wherein the strip light comprises a flexible LED light strip.
Xiong teaches soldering a connection between a power source and the strip light; and wherein the strip light comprises a flexible LED light strip.
From the teachings of Xiong, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use soldering to connect the power source and light strip in the device of Allen in view of Wang and Griffith in order to operate the display device ([0043], [0129] in Xiong).
Response to Arguments
The arguments filed by the Applicant on 8/27/25 is acknowledged, and is moot in light of new grounds of rejection.
Further, Applicant has argued from the previous actions, as well as for the recent office action that Applicant’s invention is not back lit and is edge lit. However, it is respectfully noted that present Application 16/731587 also teaches back lit panels (in US Publication of the instant Applicant):
[0031] Referring now also to FIG. 8, in embodiments using the single-layer monolithic panel (FIG. 4), a single sheet of acrylic, preferably translucent or light-transmitting white, may be mounted within a steel perimeter frame by adhesives or fasteners. This combination then forms the door or panel. The panel 22 and a back light LED panel 24 are secured to a frame behind an acrylic sheet to form an illuminated panel 12.
AND
[0055] Step 47 includes attaching additional light sources to one or more substrate panels. For example, light strip 20b may be attached around the surrounding panel 22. In at least one embodiment, Step 47 is optional, and includes attaching the back LED panel to the illuminated panel 12 formed from a single-layer substrate indicia panel 18. Step 47 is optional because not all embodiments disclosed herein use the LED back lighting panel 24. Step 47 may also be performed in a different order if a multi-layer substrate panel 18 (e.g., clear and colored layers) is used to form an illuminated panel.
Further even more, edge lit and back lit illumination panels are well known alternatives in the design of illumination panels. However, new prior art Wang teaches edge emitting panel with light strips having clips that hold them, and also surrounded by a frame, which are well known elements that are used for assembling and protection of the light guide plate/substrate that emits light.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Fatima Farokhrooz whose telephone number is (571)-272-6043. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday- Friday, 9 am - 5 pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, James Greece can be reached on (571) 270-3711. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http;//pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/Fatima N Farokhrooz/
Examiner, Art Unit 2875