DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 07/13/2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 10 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 1 and 10 recite the limitation “an activation trigger that is a round, knurled sheath wrapped around the stylet that is in close proximity to handle so as to allow thumb and finger activation and allows for constant contact by thumb and fingers regardless of stylet rotation”. Based on the instant specification on pages 6, lines 7-16, the activation trigger (actuator) 130 appears to be the same structure as the slidable steering control base that controls the articulation of the distal end of the stylet. These appear to be different names for the same structure in two different embodiments. Thus, claims 1 and 10 have two control elements for articulating the distal end of the stylet which is not supported in the specification.
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 10 recite the limitation “an activation trigger that is a round, knurled sheath wrapped around the stylet that is in close proximity to handle so as to allow thumb and finger activation and allows for constant contact by thumb and fingers regardless of stylet rotation”. It is unclear how the stylet can have two control elements for articulating the distal end of the stylet when the claims and specification require “a single slidable steering control base”. For the sake of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as reciting “the slidable steering control base is a round, knurled sheath wrapped around the stylet that is in close proximity to handle so as to allow thumb and finger activation and allows for constant contact by thumb and fingers regardless of stylet rotation”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Runnels (US 2018/0110950) in view of Machold (US 2018/0092647) and further in view of Nguyen (US 2002/0143378) and further in view of Mccormick (US 2014/0123976) and further in view of Sjostedt (US 2009/0248035).
Regarding claim 1, Runnels discloses a laryngoscopy tool (1460, Fig 63) for assisting in placement of an endotracheal tube (Para 0006), the laryngoscopy tool comprising: a) a stylet having a proximal end (end near tabs 1466, Fig 63) and a distal end (1482, Fig 63), the stylet: i) configured for receiving an endotracheal tube, and ii) having an articulating distal end, the articulating distal end being configured to articulate between more than one shape (Para 0260); an upper control wire (portion of wire 1310 between tab 1466B and connection point 1470) and a lower control wire (portion of wire 1310 between tab 1466A and connection point 1468); and a steering control base (1466A-B, Fig 63) slidable along the stylet to articulate the distal end of the stylet (Para 0260); wherein the stylet articulates in a plane (Para 0260); wherein the stylet includes an internal mechanism for articulating the distal end (Para 0260).
Runnels is silent regarding a transition segment located intermediate the less stiff distal end of the stylet and a more stiff proximal portion of the stylet, the transition segment having a distal portion and proximal portion, the transition segment having two parallel openings along its length, a medial portion with a diameter greater than a distal portion and proximal portion of the transition segment, with the distal portion and proximal portion each having an outer diameter less than the outer diameter of each of the distal end of the stylet and the less flexible proximal portion of the stylet and fitting within the distal end and proximal portion of the stylet such that the distal end and proximal portion of the stylet and the medial portion of the transition segment have substantially the same dimeter; and an upper sheath portion and a separate lower sheath portion, the upper sheath portion and the lower sheath portion comprising pathways for an upper control wire and a lower control wire, the upper control wire and lower control wire located in separate openings in the transition segment; wherein the upper and lower sheath portions are mostly proximal to the transition segment and terminate within the transition segment; b) a handle removably secured to the proximal end of the stylet; having a single steering control base; and wherein the steering control base comprises a slidable tube surrounding a portion of the proximal end of the stylet configured to move forward and backward to articulate the distal end of the stylet; wherein the handle is removable from the proximal end of the stylet; wherein the handle is removable from the proximal end of the stylet to allow placement of an endotracheal tube in place; wherein the stylet further comprises a flexible intermediate portion; and wherein the stylet includes the slidable steering control base that is a round, knurled sheath wrapped around the stylet that is in close proximity to handle so as to allow thumb and finger activation. and allows for constant contact by thumb and fingers regardless of stylet rotation.
The embodiment of Fig 49 of Runnels discloses a handle (1200, Fig 49) removably secured to the proximal end of the stylet (Para 0241); wherein a steering control base (802, Fig 49) is positioned on an extension (portion of 804 between the control base 802 and the handle 1200, Fig 49) from the handle; wherein the handle is removable from the proximal end of the stylet (Para 0241); wherein the handle is removable from the proximal end of the stylet to allow placement of an endotracheal tube in place (Para 0241).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stylet disclosed by Runnels to further include a handle as further taught by Runnels in order to improve handling and control of the stylet (Para 0241).
The modified invention of Runnels discloses all of the elements of the invention as discussed above, however, is silent regarding a transition segment located intermediate the less stiff distal end of the stylet and a more stiff proximal portion of the stylet, the transition segment having a distal portion and proximal portion, the transition segment having two parallel openings along its length, a medial portion with a diameter greater than a distal portion and proximal portion of the transition segment, with the distal portion and proximal portion each having an outer diameter less than the outer diameter of each of the distal end of the stylet and the less flexible proximal portion of the stylet and fitting within the distal end and proximal portion of the stylet such that the distal end and proximal portion of the stylet and the medial portion of the transition segment have substantially the same dimeter; and an upper sheath portion and a separate lower sheath portion, the upper sheath portion and the lower sheath portion comprising pathways for an upper control wire and a lower control wire, the upper control wire and lower control wire located in separate openings in the transition segment; wherein the upper and lower sheath portions are mostly proximal to the transition segment and terminate within the transition segment; having a single steering control base; and wherein the steering control base comprises a slidable tube surrounding a portion of the proximal end of the stylet configured to move forward and backward to articulate the distal end of the style; wherein the stylet further comprises a flexible intermediate portion; and wherein the stylet includes the slidable steering control base that is a round, knurled sheath wrapped around the stylet that is in close proximity to handle so as to allow thumb and finger activation. and allows for constant contact by thumb and fingers regardless of stylet rotation.
Machold teaches an introducer tube (device of Fig 3) having a transition segment (42, Fig 3) located intermediate the less stiff distal end (44, Fig 3) of the tube and a more stiff proximal portion (40, Fig 3) of the tube (Para 0034), the transition segment having a medial portion (48, Fig 5) with a diameter greater than a distal portion (50, Fig 5) and proximal portion (52, Fig 5) of the transition segment, with the distal portion and proximal portion each having an outer diameter less than the outer diameter of each of the distal end of the stylet and the less flexible proximal portion of the stylet (Para 0034) and fitting within the distal end and proximal portion of the stylet such that the distal end and proximal portion of the stylet and the medial portion of the transition segment have substantially the same diameter (Para 0034 and See Fig 3); wherein the stylet further comprises a flexible intermediate portion (portion of flexible articulating end 44 between or intermediate the distal tip and the transition segment 42, Fig 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stylet disclosed by Runnels to comprise a transition segment and a flexible intermediate portion as taught by Machold in order to a stylet that can have a proximal portion and a distal portion with varying physical properties to allow for more accurate control of the distal end (Para 0005 and 0009).
Examiner notes that the modified invention of Runnels and Machold would have the transition segment having two parallel openings along its length and have the upper control wire and lower control wire located in separate openings in the transition segment as Machold teaches the transition section having a hole 61 for a single wire (Para 0036) and Runnel teaches that the wires have their respective routes through the length of the stylet from the proximal end to the distal end (Para 0197) and thus, one of ordinary skill would understand that the transition section would necessarily require two holes within the transition section for the wires to traverse the transition section.
The modified invention of Runnels and Machold disclose all of the elements of the invention as discussed above, however, is silent regarding an upper sheath portion and a separate lower sheath portion, the upper sheath portion and the lower sheath portion comprising pathways for an upper control wire and a lower control wire; wherein the upper and lower sheath portions are mostly proximal to the transition segment and terminate within the transition segment; and wherein the steering control base is a single steering control base that comprises a slidable tube surrounding a portion of the proximal end of the stylet configured to move forward and backward to articulate the distal end of the style; and wherein the stylet includes the slidable steering control base that is a round, knurled sheath wrapped around the stylet that is in close proximity to handle so as to allow thumb and finger activation. and allows for constant contact by thumb and fingers regardless of stylet rotation.
Nguyen teaches a steerable tube having an upper sheath portion (one of sheaths 48, Fig 2) and a separate lower sheath portion (the other one of sheaths 48, Fig 2), the upper sheath and the lower sheath comprising pathways for an upper control wire and a lower control wire (wires 32, Fig 2) (Para 0046); the upper and lower sheath portions are proximal to the transition section (36, Fig 2) and terminate within the transition segment (Para 0049 and See Fig 2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stylet disclosed by Runnels to include an upper sheath, a lower sheath, and compression coils as taught by Nguyen in order to have a proximal portion that can resist compression while preventing unintended contact between the coils and other elements of the stylet (Para 0046).
The modified invention of Runnels, Machold, and Nguyen discloses all of the elements of the invention as discussed above, however, is silent regarding wherein the steering control base is a single steering control base that comprises a slidable tube surrounding a portion of the proximal end of the stylet configured to move forward and backward to articulate the distal end of the style; and wherein the stylet includes the slidable steering control base that is a round, knurled sheath wrapped around the stylet that is in close proximity to handle so as to allow thumb and finger activation. and allows for constant contact by thumb and fingers regardless of stylet rotation.
Mccormick teaches a stylet (10, Fig 1) comprising a single slidable steering control base (20, Fig 8) is slidable along the stylet to articulate the distal end of the stylet (Para 0035); and wherein the steering control base comprises a slidable tube (channel 44 for receiving the wire 22, Fig 8) surrounding a portion of the proximal end of the stylet (as the wire is a portion of the stylet, the channel surrounding the wire can be interpreted as surrounding a portion of the stylet) configured to move forward and backward to articulate the distal end of the stylet (Para 0035); the steering control base having a diameter narrow enough to pass through an endotracheal tube (Para 0036).
Sjostedt teaches a stylet (1 and 2, Fig 1) comprising a single slidable steering control base (4, Fig 1) that completely surrounds the stylet and is slidable along the stylet to articulate the distal end of the stylet (Para 0025); and wherein the steering control base comprises a slidable tube surrounding a portion of the proximal end of the stylet configured to move a wire forward and backward to articulate the distal end of the stylet (See Fig 6); and wherein the stylet includes the slidable steering control base that is a round, knurled sheath wrapped around the stylet that is in close proximity to handle so as to allow thumb and finger activation, and allows for constant contact by thumb and fingers regardless of stylet rotation (See Figs 6 and 7 wherein the slidable steering control base is round, has knurls or ridges, and is in close proximity to handle 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control base disclosed by Runnels, Machold, and Nguyen to be the slidable control base taught by Mccormick in order to allow for the stylet and steering control base to be slidably disposed in a conventional endotracheal tube (Para 0036). Further, the slidable control base can be a slidable tube completely surrounding the stylet as taught by Sjostedt in order to be able to rotate the stylet and still have access to the steering control base (Para 0027).
Claims 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Runnels (US 2018/0110950) in view of Bon (US 2003/0171736) and further in view of Machold (US 2018/0092647) and further in view of Mccormick (US 2014/0123976) and further in view of Sjostedt (US 2009/0248035).
Regarding claim 10, Runnels discloses a method for placement of an endotracheal tube, the method comprising: a) providing a laryngoscopy tool for assisting in placement of an endotracheal tube, the laryngoscopy tool comprising: i) a stylet having a proximal end and an articulating distal end, the stylet configured for receiving an endotracheal tube, the articulating distal end being configured to articulate between more than one shape; ; an upper control wire (portion of wire 1310 between tab 1466B and connection point 1470) and a lower control wire (portion of wire 1310 between tab 1466A and connection point 1468); b) inserting the distal end of the stylet of the laryngoscopy tool into the trachea of a person, including articulating the distal end of the stylet during insertion to aid in passage through the larynx (See Figs 10-13; Para 0174-0177); d) inserting an endotracheal tube over the proximal end of the stylet and down toward the distal end of the stylet (See Fig 14; Para 0178); and e) removing the stylet from the patient's trachea while keeping the endotracheal tube in place (Para 0094, lines 9-15) ; and wherein the laryngoscopy tool for assisting in placement of the endotracheal tube is removable from a proximal end of the endotracheal tube (Para 0094; after proper placement of the distal end of the endotracheal tube, the stylet is removed by sliding it out of the proximal end of the endotracheal tube to allow an external ventilator to be connected to the proximal end of the endotracheal tube); wherein the stylet articulates in a plane (Para 0260); wherein the stylet includes an internal mechanism for articulating the distal end (Para 0260).
Runnels is silent regarding a transition segment located intermediate the articulating distal end of the stylet and a less flexible proximal portion of the stylet, the transition segment having a distal portion and proximal portion, the transition segment having a diameter greater than each of the articulating distal end of the stylet and the less flexible proximal portion of the stylet; and an upper sheath portion and a separate lower sheath portion, the upper sheath and lower sheath comprising pathways for an upper control wire and a lower control wire; the upper and lower sheet portions proximal to the transition segment; and ii) a handle secured to the proximal end of the stylet; c) removing the handle from the proximal end of the stylet; and wherein the control base comprises a tube surrounding a portion of the proximal end of the stylet; the steering control base having a diameter narrow enough to pass through an endotracheal tube; the tube slidable on the stylet to articulate the articulating distal end of the stylet; wherein the stylet further comprises a flexible intermediate portion; and wherein the stylet includes an activation trigger that is a round, knurled sheath wrapped around the stylet that is in close proximity to handle so as to allow thumb and finger activation. and allows for constant contact by thumb and fingers regardless of stylet rotation.
The embodiment of Fig 49 of Runnels discloses a handle (1200, Fig 49) removably secured to the proximal end of the stylet (Para 0241); and a step of removing the handle from the proximal end of the stylet (Para 0241, lines 8-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stylet disclosed by Runnels to further include a removable handle as further taught by Runnels in order to improve handling and control of the stylet while still allowing removal of the handle to facilitate insertion of the endotracheal tube over the stylet (Para 0241).
The modified invention of Runnels discloses all of the elements of the invention as discussed above, however, is silent regarding a transition segment located intermediate the articulating distal end of the stylet and a less flexible proximal portion of the stylet, the transition segment having a distal portion and proximal portion, the transition segment having a diameter greater than each of the articulating distal end of the stylet and the less flexible proximal portion of the stylet; and an upper sheath portion and a separate lower sheath portion, the upper sheath and lower sheath comprising pathways for an upper control wire and a lower control wire; the upper and lower sheet portions proximal to the transition segment; and wherein the control base comprises a tube surrounding a portion of the proximal end of the stylet; the steering control base having a diameter narrow enough to pass through an endotracheal tube; the tube slidable on the stylet to articulate the articulating distal end of the stylet; wherein the stylet further comprises a flexible intermediate portion; and wherein the stylet includes an activation trigger that is a round, knurled sheath wrapped around the stylet that is in close proximity to handle so as to allow thumb and finger activation. and allows for constant contact by thumb and fingers regardless of stylet rotation.
Bon teaches a steerable tube having an upper sheath portion (one of stiffeners 30, Fig 1) and a separate lower sheath portion (the other one of stiffeners 30, Fig 1), the upper sheath and the lower sheath comprising pathways (20, Fig 1) for an upper control wire and a lower control wire (Para 0022); the upper and lower sheath portions proximal to a flexible distal segment (Para 0025, “one or more positive stiffeners 30 are preferably embedded within a proximal segment 14a of the shaft 14, and stiffeners are omitted from a distal segment 14b of the shaft”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stylet disclosed by Runnels to include an upper sheath and a lower sheath as taught by Bon in order to maintain the overall stiffness of the shaft and resist socking (Para 0009).
The modified invention of Runnels and Bon disclose all of the elements of the invention as discussed above, however, is silent regarding a transition segment located intermediate the articulating distal end of the stylet and a less flexible proximal portion of the stylet, the transition segment having a distal portion and proximal portion, the transition segment having a diameter greater than each of the articulating distal end of the stylet and the less flexible proximal portion of the stylet; and wherein the control base comprises a tube surrounding a portion of the proximal end of the stylet; the steering control base having a diameter narrow enough to pass through an endotracheal tube; the tube slidable on the stylet to articulate the articulating distal end of the stylet; wherein the stylet further comprises a flexible intermediate portion; and wherein the stylet includes an activation trigger that is a round, knurled sheath wrapped around the stylet that is in close proximity to handle so as to allow thumb and finger activation. and allows for constant contact by thumb and fingers regardless of stylet rotation.
Machold teaches an introducer tube (device of Fig 3) having a transition segment (42, Fig 3) located intermediate the articulating distal end (44, Fig 3) of the tube and a less flexible proximal portion (40, Fig 3) of the tube (Para 0034), the transition segment having a distal portion (50, Fig 5) and proximal portion (52, Fig 5), the transition segment having a diameter greater than either the distal portion or proximal portion (See Fig 5); wherein the stylet further comprises a flexible intermediate portion (portion of flexible articulating end 44 between or intermediate the distal tip and the transition segment 42, Fig 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stylet disclosed by Runnels and Bon to comprise a transition segment and a flexible intermediate portion as taught by Machold in order to a stylet that can have a proximal portion and a distal portion with varying physical properties to allow for more accurate control of the distal end (Para 0005 and 0009).
Examiner notes that the combined invention of Runnels, Bon, and Machold discloses that the upper and lower sheath portions are proximal to the transition segment as Bon teaches that the sheath portions (stiffeners 30) are embedded within a proximal portion but are omitted from the flexible distal portion (Para 0025) and Machold teaches that the transition segment is between the proximal portion and flexible distal portion (Para 0034).
The modified invention of Runnels, Bon, and Machold discloses all of the elements of the invention as discussed above, however, is silent regarding wherein the control base comprises a tube surrounding a portion of the proximal end of the stylet; the steering control base having a diameter narrow enough to pass through an endotracheal tube; the tube slidable on the stylet to articulate the articulating distal end of the stylet; and wherein the stylet includes an activation trigger that is a round, knurled sheath wrapped around the stylet that is in close proximity to handle so as to allow thumb and finger activation. and allows for constant contact by thumb and fingers regardless of stylet rotation.
Mccormick teaches a stylet (10, Fig 1) comprising a single steering control base (20, Fig 8) is slidable along the stylet to articulate the distal end of the stylet (Para 0035); and wherein the steering control base comprises a slidable tube (channel 44 for receiving the wire 22, Fig 8) surrounding a portion of the proximal end of the stylet (as the wire is a portion of the stylet, the channel surrounding the wire can be interpreted as surrounding a portion of the stylet) configured to move forward and backward to articulate the distal end of the stylet (Para 0035); the steering control base having a diameter narrow enough to pass through an endotracheal tube (Para 0036).
Sjostedt teaches a stylet (1 and 2, Fig 1) comprising a single slidable steering control base (4, Fig 1) that completely surrounds the stylet and is slidable along the stylet to articulate the distal end of the stylet (Para 0025); and wherein the steering control base comprises a slidable tube surrounding a portion of the proximal end of the stylet configured to move a wire forward and backward to articulate the distal end of the stylet (See Fig 6); and wherein the stylet includes the slidable steering control base that is a round, knurled sheath wrapped around the stylet that is in close proximity to handle so as to allow thumb and finger activation, and allows for constant contact by thumb and fingers regardless of stylet rotation (See Figs 6 and 7 wherein the slidable steering control base is round, has knurls or ridges, and is in close proximity to handle 13)..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control base disclosed by Runnels, Machold, and Nguyen to be the slidable control base taught by Mccormick in order to allow for the stylet and steering control base to be slidably disposed in a conventional endotracheal tube (Para 0036). Further, the slidable control base can be a slidable tube completely surrounding the stylet as taught by Sjostedt in order to be able to rotate the stylet and still have access to the steering control base (Para 0027).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 07/13/2026, on pages 5-7, regarding the prior art of record failing to teach “an activation trigger that is a round, knurled sheath wrapped around the stylet that is in close proximity to handle so as to allow thumb and finger activation, and allows for constant contact by thumb and fingers regardless of stylet rotation” have been fully considered but is not persuasive. As detailed in the rejection above, the activation trigger is being interpreted as the slidable control base and, as taught by Sjostedt, the slidable control base can be round, knurled and in close proximity to the handle.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTARIUS S DANIEL/
Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/KEVIN C SIRMONS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783