DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/15/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 6-7 regarding prior art rejections Applicant argues amendments overcome the prior art of record.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees, pointing out that Armstrong teaches the features Applicant has included in the amended claims. Please see the rejection below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the adhesive must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the structure including a first structural component and a second structural component.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 29 is indefinite for claiming “a portion of the membrane is non-degradable” since claim 1, from which this claim depends, has already claimed that the membrane includes “a second structural component that is non-degradable”. It is unclear to the Examiner whether or not this “portion” and “second structural component” are considered to be the same element of the medical device which is non-degradable, or whether they are distinct parts of the medical device as is currently claimed. The specification does not appear to distinctly refer to a second “non-degradable” structure within the membrane, and so for the purposes of examination this will be understood to be the same non-degradable “second structural component” of claim 1. Considering this, claim 29 does not further limit claim 1, from which it depends.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 8, 15, 22-24, 27, 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mangiardi (US 20140356407 A1) in view of Armstrong et al. (US 20120303112 A1) hereinafter known as Armstrong.
Regarding claims 1 and 29, Mangiardi discloses a medical device ([0002]) comprising:
a filament (Figure 2a item 21) which is degradable (abstract) and defines a first scaffold (Figure 1 and [0005]); and
a membrane arranged about the filament (Figure 2a item 23) and configured to contain fragments of the filament and maintain structure of the first scaffold in response to the fracture or degradation of the filament (the applicant is advised that, while the features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In addition, it has been held by the courts that apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. See MPEP 2144 (I). In this case, the patented apparatus of Mangiardi discloses (as detailed above) all the structural limitations required to perform the recited functional language, therefore was considered to anticipate the claimed apparatus.), the membrane including a second scaffold (Applicant’s specification has defined this as being “woven, knitted, non-woven, absorbable, or non-absorbable” ([00082]). Since the membrane 23 is woven or non-woven, it meets the limitation. Alternatively, the Examiner refers back to Figure 2 item 23, where the coating surrounding the core 21 is its own framework with the core located therein, and alternatively again, at the Combination below)
but is silent with regards to the membrane’s second scaffold being defined by a first structural component which is degradable and a second structural component that is non-degradable,
and an adhesive for coupling the membrane to the filament.
However, regarding claims 1 and 29 Armstrong teaches medical devices can include a membrane material ([0059] covering) which can include a first structural component which is degradable ([0114] a therapeutic agent with a degradable polymer agent) and a second structural component which is non-degradable ([0114], [0059] ePTFE), and an adhesive coupling the membrane to the underlying scaffold ([0118] the stent and its covering can be attached via a suitable adhesive). Mangiardi and Armstrong are involved in the same field of endeavor, namely medical devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the medical device of Mangiardi so that the surrounding membrane includes both a degradable and non-degradable component as is taught by Armstrong since this is a known alternative in the art to an entirely degradable membrane (Armstrong [0059]) and acts to provide plaque stabilization and scaffolding (Armstrong [0060]). Both degradable and non-degradable materials are well-used and understood alternatives in the art which are not recognized as being patentably distinct from one another. The Examiner points out that the goal of Mangiardi is simply to catch degradation products of the underlying degradable filament, and thus the amount of time the membrane is present would not affect any essential goal of Mangiardi. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to attach Mangiardi’s scaffold and membrane together via an adhesive coupling as is taught by Armstrong in order to provide a tie layer to ensure the filament and membrane stay adequately attached/connected as is desired.
The Examiner further respectfully notes additionally that the Mangiardi Armstrong Combination, with the membrane including first and second structural components is described as being its own “scaffold” ([0059], multiple coverings on the interior or exterior of the stent or both; [0060] the cover material forms a lattice with a plurality of openings; [0113]-[0114] the multiple layers of coating lattice can have multiple layers bonded together with openings offset or staggered, be imbibed, etc.; [0118]-[0120] the coating is a cover attached to the underlying stent adhesively, mechanically, or via extrusion, etc.).
Regarding claim 2 the Mangiardi Armstrong Combination teaches the medical device of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein further discloses the filament is absorbable and configured to degrade over time ([0061] degradable inner core).
Regarding claim 4 the Mangiardi Armstrong Combination teaches the medical device of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein the Combination further teaches the membrane is configured to promote tissue ingrowth onto the membrane, tissue attachment onto the membrane, or tissue encapsulation of the membrane (this is a functional limitation of the membrane (see explanation in the rejection to claim 1 above). See also Mangiardi [0050]; Armstrong [0114]).
Regarding claim 8 the Mangiardi Armstrong Combination teaches the medical device of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Mangiardi further discloses the filament includes a cross-section that is at least one of uneven, jagged, star-like, and polygonal (see, for example Figure 3b in which the cross-section of the device is elliptical or oval. This is understood to be “uneven” (i.e. “not uniform” or “unequal”)). Alternatively the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to modify the cross-section of the filament to be uneven: it has been held by the courts that a change in shape or configuration, without any criticality in operation of the device, is nothing more than one of numerous shapes that one of ordinary skill in the art will find obvious to provide based on the suitability for the intended final application. See MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(B). It appears that the disclosed device would perform equally well shaped as disclosed by Mangiardi.
Regarding claim 15 Mangiardi discloses an implantable medical device (abstract) comprising:
a structural element (Figure 1) formed by one or more absorbable filaments (Figure 2a item 21), the one or more filaments being configured to degrade over time into a plurality of fragments following implantation (This is stated as a “functional limitation” of the filaments (see explanation in the rejection to claim 1 above). See also Mangiardi’s abstract: the filaments are made of degradable metal), the plurality of fragments including one or more fragments of a first minimum size (this is considered to be inherent); and
a sheath element (Figure 2a item 23) at least partially covering the structural element (Figure 2a), the sheath element including a membrane ([0060] a thin biodegradable polymer coating is understood to be a membrane) and being configured to capture and retain the one or more fragments of the first minimum size during degradation of the one or more filaments (this is stated as a functional limitation of the membrane (see explanation in the rejection to claim 1 above). Since Mangiardi discloses all the structural features which would be required to perform the functional language, they anticipate the claimed apparatus.), and the membrane including a scaffold structure (Applicant’s specification has defined this as being “woven, knitted, non-woven, absorbable, or non-absorbable” ([00082]). Since the membrane 23 is woven or non-woven, it meets the limitation),
but is silent with regards to the membrane’s scaffold structure including a first, degradable structural component and a second, non-degradable structural component,
and an adhesive for coupling the membrane to the filament.
However, regarding claim 15 see the rejection/modification in the rejection to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 23 the Mangiardi Armstrong Combination teaches the medical device of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Armstrong further teaches the membrane is “imbibed” ([0114]).
Regarding claim 27 the Mangiardi Armstrong Combination teaches the medical device of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Armstrong further teaches the first and second structural components define a porosity ([0114] ePTFE is inherently porous; any degradable polymer agent will inherently have some level of porosity as soon as it begins to degrade).
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mangiardi in view of Armstrong as is applied above, further in view of Greenhalgh (US 20020052649 A1).
Regarding claim 28 the Mangiardi Armstrong Combination teaches the medical device of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Mangiardi further teaches the membrane is porous ([0061] coating 23 is porous), and
wherein Armstrong also teaches the membrane is porous ([0114] porous ePTFE),.
While neither reference mentions whether or not the porous membrane is “configured for tissue ingrowth”, the Examiner points out this is a functional limitation of the claim. See the explanation above regarding “functional limitations”. In this case, the Examiner understands that all pores are not sized appropriately to allow tissue ingrowth, as cells have a certain size. Since Armstrong teaches the membrane is porous ePTFE ([0114]), and Greenhalgh, who is in the same field of endeavor of ePTFE medical devices, teaches that porous ePTFE can be sized appropriately to allow tissue ingrowth ([0031]), the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to modify the Combination so that the membrane allowed tissue ingrowth as is taught by Greenhalgh in order to ensure the device is securely attached to the tissue of the patient before encapsulation of the underlying metal filament begins (Mangiardi [0087]), thus ensuring a secure biological attachment, reducing the probability of migration before encapsulation, and increasing patient safety and accuracy of implantation.
Conclusion
/Jacqueline Woznicki/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774 01/28/26