DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the response filed on 1/26/2023. Claims 1-3 and 11-13 were amended in the response filed on 1/26/2023. Claims 1-3, 9, 11 and 19 were amended in the response filed on 5/30/2023. Claims 1, 3, 6-9, 11, 13, and 16-19 were amended and claims 2 and 12 were cancelled in the response filed on 9/18/2023. Claims 1, 3, 11, 13, and 19 were amended, claims 9-10 were cancelled, and claims 21-24 were newly added in the response filed on 4/26/2024. Claims 1, 4, 11, 13, and 21-24 were amended, claim 20 was cancelled, and claim 25 was added in the response filed on 2/24/2025. Claims 1, 11, and 21 were amended in the reply filed 9/25/2025. Claims 1, 4, 11, and 21-25 were amended in the reply filed 3/9/2026. Claims 1, 3-8, 11, 13-19, and 21-25 are pending. This action is final.
Response to Arguments
Regarding Applicant’s argument starting on page 7 regarding claims 1, 3, 5-7, 11, 13, 15, and 21-25: Applicant’s arguments filed with respect to the rejections made under 35 USC § 102 have been fully considered, but are moot. Claims 1 and 11 are now rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Henderson (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0262690) in view of Kong (U.S. Pat. No. 9,171,278).
Although Applicant’s arguments regarding 35 U.S.C. § 102 are moot, Examiner would still like to address them. First, Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s argument that Examiner’s interpretation of “medication overpacks” as “mail” is unreasonably broad. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand the term “mail” to include delivered packages. In the case of Henderson, the medication overpacks are merely delivered packages. Second, Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s argument that Henderson’s reader 32 “scans codes, but it does not detect the presence of a container.” However, Henderson describes the system recognizing the presence of an overpack by scanning a code on the overpack. The system further recognizes that the scanning of a medication code followed by the scanning of the overpack code indicates that both the medication and the overpack are present at the scanner, and that the medication has been packed into the overpack.
Regarding Applicant’s argument starting on page 8 regarding claims 4, 8, 14, 16-19: Applicant’s arguments filed with respect to the rejections made under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered, but are moot. Claims 4, 14, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henderson (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0262690) in view of Kong (U.S. Pat. No. 9,171,278) in view of Laury (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0228375). Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henderson (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0262690) in view of Kong (U.S. Pat. No. (U.S. Pat. No. 9,171,278) in view of Purwin (U.S. Pat. No. 10,000,284). Claims 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henderson (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0262690) in view of Kong (U.S. Pat. No. (U.S. Pat. No. 9,171,278) in view of Laury (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0228375) in view of Purwin (U.S. Pat. No. 10,000,284). Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henderson (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0262690) in view of Kong (U.S. Pat. No. 9,171,278) in view of Rivaya (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0122831).
Reasons for Patent Eligibility Under 35 U.S.C. § 101
Claims 1, 3-8, 11, 13-19, and 21-25 are patent eligible under 35 USC § 101 because the claims integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and amount to “significantly more” than the abstract idea itself. The claims are directed to a system which performs a plurality of functions. These functions include reading a code on a container to be transported within a facility, summoning an automated guidance vehicle to the location of the container, and controlling the automated guidance vehicle to pick up the container and navigate it to a drop off location. This direct control of an automated guidance vehicle as part of a package processing method integrates the abstract idea into a practical application and amounts to “significantly more” than the abstract idea itself. Therefore, claims 1, 3-8, 11, 13-19, and 21-25 are patent eligible under 35 USC § 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 11, 13, 15, and 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henderson (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0262690) in view of Kong (U.S. Pat. No. 9,171,278).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Henderson discloses the following limitations:
A system of processing items, the system comprising: [See [Abstract] Henderson teaches apparatuses, systems, and methods for transporting medication within a healthcare facility (i.e., A system of processing items).]
a sensor ... the sensor configured to: [See [0112]; (Fig. 14); Henderson teaches a machine equipped with a reader 32 (i.e., sensor) configured to read identifying indicia such as a barcode. Henderson further teaches that the machine is used to pack (i.e., sort) medication (i.e., items) into overpacks (i.e., bins/containers) for transportation to nurses and patients.]
detect the presence of a container ... proximate the mail processing equipment; [See [0112]; (Fig. 14); Henderson teaches a machine equipped with a reader 32 (i.e., sensor) configured to read identifying indicia such as a barcode. Henderson further teaches scanning a barcode on a unit does medication, allowing a user to confirm the identity of the medication via the machine’s user interface 34. Henderson further teaches the machine automatically selecting an appropriately sized bin for packing the scanned medication (i.e., detect the presence of a container ... proximate the mail processing equipment).]
read a code on the container to be transported within a mail processing facility, the code comprising an item identifier; [See [0112]; (Fig. 14); Henderson teaches a machine equipped with a reader 32 (i.e., sensor) configured to read identifying indicia such as a barcode. Henderson further teaches scanning a barcode on a unit does medication, allowing a user to confirm the identity of the medication via the machine’s user interface 34 (i.e., read a code on the container ... the code comprising an item identifier). Henderson [0003-0004]; [0163]; [0262]; Henderson teaches that overpacks containing medication are scanned in order to determine the patient which they are to be transported to (i.e., to be transported within a mail processing facility).]
communicate an identifier of the mail processing equipment in response to reading the code on the container to be transported, the item sorting machine identifier identifying a location of the container within the mail processing facility; (Examiner’s Note: The claim term “identifier” is interpreted broadly here to include any type of information that provides any type of identifying information for the item sorting machine. This includes identifying location information associated with the item sorting machine.) [See [0108] Henderson teaches that after items are scanned and packed into overpacks at the item packing station, the overpacks are loaded onto trays. Henderson [0118] further teaches the trays being loaded onto a transportation cart. Henderson (Fig. 18); [0123-0124] further teaches autonomous transportation carts used to transport packed trays of items from an item packing station (i.e., item sorting machine) to a destination (e.g., patient). Henderson [0147] further teaches providing a retrieving device for retrieving the requested medication or supply overpack from the unit storage device and a loading device to load the retrieved medication onto a transport device configured to transport the requested medication or supply to the nurse server or patient server. Henderson [0099] further teaches establishing a route for each of the items within the transportation cart from the pickup point to their respective destinations (i.e., communicate an identifier of the mail processing equipment in response to reading the code on the container to be transported, the item sorting machine identifier identifying a location of the item sorting machine within the mail processing facility). Henderson [0263-0264] further teaches that a plurality of overpacks may be scanned and grouped according to their similar destination. For example, overpacks that are designated to go to a patient on the long-term care unit may be grouped together, while overpacks designated to go to an intensive care unit (ICU) may be grouped together. The grouping of overpacks together may be performed automatically, for example by the logistics software that routes medications to the appropriate patients. The grouped overpacks may then be loaded onto a transport cart for transport to the appropriate local storage or unit storage device.]
and generate, based on the detected presence of the container at the mail processing equipment, a request to summon an automated guidance vehicle to the location of the container within the mail processing facility; [See [0108] Henderson teaches that after items are scanned and packed into overpacks at the item packing station, the overpacks are loaded onto trays. Henderson [0118] further teaches the trays being loaded onto a transportation cart. Henderson (Fig. 18); [0123-0124] further teaches autonomous transportation carts used to transport packed trays of items from an item packing station (i.e., item sorting machine) to a destination (e.g., patient). Henderson [0147] further teaches providing a retrieving device for retrieving the requested medication or supply overpack from the unit storage device and a loading device to load the retrieved medication onto a transport device configured to transport the requested medication or supply to the nurse server or patient server (i.e., generate, based on the detected presence of the container at the mail processing equipment, a request to summon an automated guidance vehicle to the location of the container within the mail processing facility). Henderson [0099] further teaches establishing a route for each of the items within the transportation cart from the pickup point to their respective destinations. Henderson [0206] further teaches an automated guided vehicle, or AGV, arriving at a unit storage device and may be loaded automatically with medications and supplies before transporting the medications and supplies to a destination via an established route.]
a vehicle control computer configured to receive the request to summon the automated guidance vehicle to location of the container; [See [0108] Henderson teaches that after items are scanned and packed into overpacks at the item packing station, the overpacks are loaded onto trays. Henderson [0118] further teaches the trays being loaded onto a transportation cart. Henderson (Fig. 18); [0123-0124] further teaches autonomous transportation carts used to transport packed trays of items from an item packing station (i.e., item sorting machine) to a destination (e.g., patient). Henderson [0147] further teaches providing a retrieving device for retrieving the requested medication or supply overpack from the unit storage device and a loading device to load the retrieved medication onto an autonomous transport device configured to transport the requested medication or supply to the nurse server or patient server (i.e., a vehicle control computer configured to receive the request to summon the automated guidance vehicle to location of the container). Henderson [0099] further teaches establishing a route for each of the items within the autonomous transportation cart from the pickup point to their respective destinations.]
a facility management database configured to: [See [0094] Henderson teaches a database used to track and monitor medication dispensing within a healthcare facility.]
receive the identified location of the container; [See [0108] Henderson teaches that after items are scanned and packed into overpacks at the item packing station, the overpacks are loaded onto trays. Henderson [0118] further teaches the trays being loaded onto a transportation cart. Henderson (Fig. 18); [0123-0124] further teaches autonomous transportation carts used to transport packed trays of items from an item packing station (i.e., item sorting machine) to a destination (e.g., patient). Henderson [0147] further teaches providing a retrieving device for retrieving the requested medication or supply overpack from the unit storage device and a loading device to load the retrieved medication onto an autonomous transport device configured to transport the requested medication or supply to the nurse server or patient server. Henderson [0099] further teaches establishing a route for each of the items within the autonomous transportation cart from the pickup point to their respective destinations. Henderson [0272-0273] further teaches tracking medication, overpacks, and transportation carts as they move throughout the facility from item packing stations (i.e., receive the identified location of the container) to their associated destinations.]
receive the item identifier of the container to be transported; [See [0108] Henderson teaches that after items are scanned (i.e., receive the item identifier of the container to be transported) and packed into overpacks at the item packing station, the overpacks are loaded onto trays. Henderson [0118] further teaches the trays being loaded onto a transportation cart. Henderson (Fig. 18); [0123-0124] further teaches autonomous transportation carts used to transport packed trays of items from an item packing station (i.e., item sorting machine) to a destination (e.g., patient). Henderson [0147] further teaches providing a retrieving device for retrieving the requested medication or supply overpack from the unit storage device and a loading device to load the retrieved medication onto an autonomous transport device configured to transport the requested medication or supply to the nurse server or patient server. Henderson [0099] further teaches establishing a route for each of the items within the autonomous transportation cart from the pickup point to their respective destinations. Henderson [0272-0273] further teaches tracking medication, overpacks, and transportation carts as they move throughout the facility from item packing stations to their associated destinations.]
receive the mail processing equipment identifier; [See [0108] Henderson teaches that after items are scanned and packed into overpacks at the item packing station, the overpacks are loaded onto trays. Henderson [0118] further teaches the trays being loaded onto a transportation cart. Henderson (Fig. 18); [0123-0124] further teaches autonomous transportation carts used to transport packed trays of items from an item packing station (i.e., item sorting machine) to a destination (e.g., patient). Henderson [0147] further teaches providing a retrieving device for retrieving the requested medication or supply overpack from the unit storage device and a loading device to load the retrieved medication onto an autonomous transport device configured to transport the requested medication or supply to the nurse server or patient server. Henderson [0099] further teaches establishing a route for each of the items within the autonomous transportation cart from the pickup point to their respective destinations. Henderson [0272-0273] further teaches tracking medication, overpacks, and transportation carts as they move throughout the facility from item packing stations (i.e., receive the mail processing equipment identifier) to their associated destinations.]
determine a next processing event for the container based on mail processing equipment identifier; [See [0108] Henderson teaches that after items are scanned and packed into overpacks at the item packing station, the overpacks are loaded onto trays. Henderson [0118] further teaches the trays being loaded onto a transportation cart. Henderson (Fig. 18); [0123-0124] further teaches autonomous transportation carts used to transport packed trays of items from an item packing station (i.e., item sorting machine) to a destination (e.g., patient). Henderson [0147] further teaches providing a retrieving device for retrieving the requested medication or supply overpack from the unit storage device and a loading device to load the retrieved medication onto an autonomous transport device configured to transport the requested medication or supply to the nurse server or patient server (i.e., determine a next processing event for the container based on mail processing equipment identifier). Henderson [0099] further teaches establishing a route for each of the items within the autonomous transportation cart from the pickup point to their respective destinations. Henderson [0272-0273] further teaches tracking medication, overpacks, and transportation carts as they move throughout the facility from item packing stations to their associated destinations.]
and determine a drop off location within the mail processing facility for the container based on the determined next processing event; [See [0108] Henderson teaches that after items are scanned and packed into overpacks at the item packing station, the overpacks are loaded onto trays. Henderson [0118] further teaches the trays being loaded onto a transportation cart. Henderson (Fig. 18); [0123-0124] further teaches autonomous transportation carts used to transport packed trays of items from an item packing station (i.e., item sorting machine) to a destination (e.g., patient). Henderson [0147] further teaches providing a retrieving device for retrieving the requested medication or supply overpack from the unit storage device and a loading device to load the retrieved medication onto an autonomous transport device configured to transport the requested medication or supply to the nurse server or patient server. Henderson [0099] further teaches establishing a route for each of the items within the autonomous transportation cart from the pickup point to their respective destinations (i.e., and determine a drop off location within the mail processing facility for the container based on the determined next processing event). Henderson [0272-0273] further teaches tracking medication, overpacks, and transportation carts as they move throughout the facility from item packing stations to their associated destinations.]
and an automated guidance vehicle controller configured to navigate the automated guidance vehicle to the identified location to pick up the container and to navigate the automated guidance vehicle to the drop off location. [See [0108] Henderson teaches that after items are scanned and packed into overpacks at the item packing station, the overpacks are loaded onto trays. Henderson [0118] further teaches the trays being loaded onto a transportation cart. Henderson (Fig. 18); [0123-0124] further teaches autonomous transportation carts used to transport packed trays of items from an item packing station (i.e., item sorting machine) to a destination (e.g., patient). Henderson [0147] further teaches providing a retrieving device for retrieving the requested medication or supply overpack from the unit storage device and a loading device to load the retrieved medication onto an autonomous transport device configured to transport the requested medication or supply to the nurse server or patient server (i.e., an automated guidance vehicle controller configured to navigate the automated guidance vehicle). Henderson [0099] further teaches establishing a route for each of the items within the autonomous transportation cart from the pickup point to their respective destinations (i.e., navigate the automated guidance vehicle to the pick-up location to pick up the container and to navigate the automated guidance vehicle to the drop off location). Henderson [0272-0273] further teaches tracking medication, overpacks, and transportation carts as they move throughout the facility from item packing stations to their associated destinations.]
Henderson does not, however Kong does, disclose the following limitations:
... the sensor having a view of a portion of a floor proximate to mail processing equipment, the sensor configured to: ... detect the presence of a container on the portion of the floor proximate to the mail processing equipment ... [See (Fig. 9); [Col. 29, Line 40 – Col. 30, Line 2]; Kong teaches an image capture device 806 (i.e., the sensor) capturing images within an image capture area 107 (i.e., a view) before, during, or after the picking (or stowing) process. Kong further teaches that images of items may automatically be captured as part of the stowing and/or picking process. Kong (Fig. 9) depicts an agent working at a station 808 (i.e., mail processing equipment) comprising the image capture device (i.e., the sensor). Kong [Col. 4, Line 61 – Col. 5, Line 31] further teaches capturing an image of an item in a particular storage area during the stowing and/or picking process. Kong [Col. 4, Line 61 – Col. 5, Line 31] further teaches that storage area captured in the image may be an indicated area on the floor (i.e., the sensor having a view of a portion of a floor proximate to mail processing equipment, the sensor configured to: ... detect the presence of a container on the portion of the floor proximate to the mail processing equipment).]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to combine the item scanning system of Henderson with the item scanning system of Kong. By making this combination, the system of Henderson could be used to more easily scan larger items which can’t be conveniently lifted to be scanned. Instead, the system of Henderson would be able to capture images and/or scan items which are too large/heavy to lift or move from a resting position on the floor.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Henderson in view of Kong discloses all claim 1 and 11 limitations. Henderson further discloses the following limitations:
further comprising a route management database configured to store the location and status of each of a plurality of automated guidance vehicles and to select one of the plurality of automated guidance vehicles to pick up the container [See [0108] Henderson teaches that after items are scanned and packed into overpacks at the item packing station, the overpacks are loaded onto trays. Henderson [0118] further teaches the trays being loaded onto a transportation cart. Henderson (Fig. 18); [0123-0124] further teaches autonomous transportation carts used to transport packed trays of items from an item packing station (i.e., item sorting machine) to a destination (e.g., patient). Henderson [0147] further teaches providing a retrieving device for retrieving the requested medication or supply overpack from the unit storage device and a loading device to load the retrieved medication onto an autonomous transport device configured to transport the requested medication or supply to the nurse server or patient server (i.e., select one of the plurality of automated guidance vehicles to pick up the container). Henderson [0099] further teaches establishing a route for each of the items within the autonomous transportation cart from the pickup point to their respective destinations. Henderson [0272-0273] further teaches tracking medication, overpacks, and transportation carts as they move throughout the facility from item packing stations to their associated destinations (i.e., further comprising a route management database configured to store the location and status of each of a plurality of automated guidance vehicles). Henderson [0282] further teaches transporting certain items (i.e., based at least in part on the item identifier) packed in carriers to a location proximate to an associated patient via a transportation cart when one is available (i.e., based at least in part on ... the locations and status of the plurality of automated guidance vehicles).]
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Henderson in view of Kong discloses all claim 1, 3, 11, and 13 limitations. Henderson further discloses the following limitations:
wherein the status of each of the plurality of automated guidance vehicles includes whether or not the automated guidance vehicle is currently transporting an item. [See (Fig. 18); [0123-0124] Henderson teaches autonomous transportation carts used to transport packed trays of items from an item packing station to a destination (e.g., patient). Henderson [0147] further teaches providing a retrieving device for retrieving the requested medication or supply overpack from the unit storage device and a loading device to load the retrieved medication onto an autonomous transport device configured to transport the requested medication or supply to the nurse server or patient server. Henderson [0099] further teaches establishing a route for each of the items within the autonomous transportation cart from the pickup point to their respective destinations. Henderson [0272-0273] further teaches tracking medication, overpacks, and transportation carts as they move throughout the facility from item packing stations to their associated destinations. Henderson [0282] further teaches transporting certain items packed in carriers to a location proximate to an associated patient via a transportation cart when one is available (i.e., wherein the status of each of the plurality of automated guidance vehicles includes whether or not the automated guidance vehicle is currently transporting an item).]
Regarding claims 6, Henderson in view of Kong discloses all claim 1 and 3 limitations. Henderson further discloses the following limitations:
wherein the route management database is further configured to select one of the plurality of automated guidance vehicles based on characteristics of the container to be picked up. [See [0099] Henderson teaches grouping items bound for the same or a similar destination (i.e., characteristics of the container) onto the same transportation cart (i.e., wherein the route management database is further configured to select one of the plurality of automated guidance vehicles based on characteristics of the container to be picked up).]
Regarding claim 7, Henderson in view of Kong discloses all claim 1, 3, and 6 limitations. Henderson further discloses the following limitations:
wherein the characteristics include the container's service class, value, weight, or size. [See [0088]; Henderson teaches certain items, such as controlled substances, are a high-value candidate for theft. Henderson [0121] further teaches certain transportation carts being equipped with security features which are used to transport controlled substances and require a high level of authorization in order to remove the controlled substances from the transportation cart (i.e., wherein the characteristics include the container's ... value ...).]
Regarding claim 22, Henderson in view of Kong discloses all claim 1 limitations. Henderson further discloses the following limitations:
wherein the facility management database is further configured to determine an estimated time a sorting event at the mail processing equipment will be complete. [See [0146-0147] Henderson teaches predicting a period of time when a medication will be needed and thereby dispensed and packed into an overpack for transportation to a patient (i.e., determine an estimated time a sorting event at the mail processing equipment will be complete).]
Regarding claim 23, Henderson in view of Kong discloses all claim 1 and 22 limitations. Henderson further discloses the following limitations:
wherein the facility management database is further configured to summon the automated guidance vehicle to arrive at the location of the mail processing equipment at the determined time the processing event will be complete. [See [0146-0147] Henderson teaches predicting a period of time when a medication will be needed and thereby dispensed and packed into an overpack for transportation to a patient (i.e., at the determined time the processing event will be complete). Henderson [0108] further teaches that after items are scanned and packed into overpacks at the item packing station, the overpacks are loaded onto trays. Henderson [0118] further teaches the trays being loaded onto a transportation cart. Henderson (Fig. 18); [0123-0124] further teaches autonomous transportation carts used to transport packed trays of items from an item packing station (i.e., mail processing equipment) to a destination (e.g., patient). Henderson [0147] further teaches providing a retrieving device for retrieving the requested medication or supply overpack from the unit storage device and a loading device to load the retrieved medication onto a transport device configured to transport the requested medication or supply to the nurse server or patient server (i.e., summon the automated guidance vehicle to arrive at the location of the mail processing equipment). Henderson [0099] further teaches establishing a route for each of the items within the transportation cart from the pickup point to their respective destinations.]
Regarding claim 24, Henderson in view of Kong discloses all claim 11 limitations. Henderson further discloses the following limitations:
determining a time a sorting event at the mail processing equipment will be complete; [See [0146-0147] Henderson teaches predicting a period of time when a medication will be needed and thereby dispensed and packed into an overpack for transportation to a patient (i.e., determining a time a sorting event at the mail processing equipment will be complete).]
and summoning the automated guidance vehicle to arrive at the pick-up location at the determined time the processing event will be complete. [See [0146-0147] Henderson teaches predicting a period of time when a medication will be needed and thereby dispensed and packed into an overpack for transportation to a patient (i.e., at the determined time the processing event will be complete). Henderson [0108] further teaches that after items are scanned and packed into overpacks at the item packing station, the overpacks are loaded onto trays. Henderson [0118] further teaches the trays being loaded onto a transportation cart. Henderson (Fig. 18); [0123-0124] further teaches autonomous transportation carts used to transport packed trays of items from an item packing station (i.e., mail processing equipment) to a destination (e.g., patient). Henderson [0147] further teaches providing a retrieving device for retrieving the requested medication or supply overpack from the unit storage device and a loading device to load the retrieved medication onto a transport device configured to transport the requested medication or supply to the nurse server or patient server (i.e., summoning the automated guidance vehicle to arrive at the pick-up location). Henderson [0099] further teaches establishing a route for each of the items within the transportation cart from the pickup point to their respective destinations.]
Regarding claim 25, Henderson in view of Kong discloses all claim 1 limitations. Henderson further discloses the following limitations:
in response to a pick-up of the container by the automated guidance vehicle, request a second automated guidance vehicle bring a batch of items to the mail processing equipment. [See [0108] Henderson teaches that after items are scanned and packed into overpacks at the item packing station, the overpacks are loaded onto trays. Henderson [0118] further teaches the trays being loaded onto a transportation cart. Henderson (Fig. 18); [0123-0124] further teaches autonomous transportation carts used to transport packed trays of items from an item packing station (i.e., mail processing equipment) to a destination (e.g., patient). Henderson [0147] further teaches providing a retrieving device for retrieving the requested medication or supply overpack from the unit storage device and a loading device to load the retrieved medication onto a transport device configured to transport the requested medication or supply to the nurse server or patient server (i.e., a pick-up of the container by the automated guidance vehicle). Henderson [0099] further teaches establishing a route for each of the items within the transportation cart from the pickup point to their respective destinations. Henderson [0127] further teaches that the autonomous transportation carts may also be used to restock medications that have a low level of inventory at the unit storage device due to dispensing, packing, and transporting them to patients (i.e., in response to a pick-up of the container by the automated guidance vehicle, request a second automated guidance vehicle bring a batch of items to the mail processing equipment).]
Claims 4, 14, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henderson (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0262690) in view of Kong (U.S. Pat. No. 9,171,278) in view of Laury (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0228375).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Henderson in view of Kong discloses all claim 1, 3, 11, and 13 limitations. Although Henderson teaches selecting available autonomous transportation vehicles for performing item transportation tasks, Henderson in view of Kong does not teach performing this selection based on the transportation vehicles’ relative proximity to its pickup location (e.g., an item sorting machine). Therefore, Henderson in view of Kong does not disclose the following claim limitations. Laury does, however, disclose the following limitations:
wherein the automated guidance vehicle is selected at least in part based on the proximity of the location of each of the plurality of automated guidance vehicles to the mail processing equipment. [See [0031] Laury teaches its delivery management system 100 can select a vehicle based on a vehicle current location 214 relative to the pickup location corresponding to the requested payload 106. For example, the delivery management system 100 can select the autonomous delivery vehicle that is closest to the pickup location (i.e., wherein the automated guidance vehicle is selected at least in part based on the proximity of the location of each of the plurality of automated guidance vehicles to the mail processing equipment).]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to combine the autonomous transportation methods of Henderson with the autonomous transportation methods of Laury. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized, as Laury States [0085], “Allowing the autonomous delivery vehicle 302 to determine/update the stop location within the target zone near the corresponding delivery location and to send the stop location, and calculating the delivery route 216 at the delivery management system 100 based on the received stop location can provide increased efficiency in operating the autonomous delivery vehicle 302.”
Regarding claims 16, Henderson in view of Kong discloses all claim 11 and 13 limitations. Henderson in view of Kong in view of Laury discloses all claim 14 limitations. Henderson further discloses the following limitations:
wherein selecting the one of the plurality of automated guidance vehicle is based on a characteristic of the container to be picked up. [See [0099] Henderson teaches grouping items bound for the same or a similar destination (i.e., characteristics of the container) onto the same transportation cart (i.e., wherein selecting the one of the plurality of automated guidance vehicle is based on a characteristic of the container to be picked up).]
Regarding claim 17, Henderson in view of Kong discloses all claim 11 and 13 limitations. Henderson in view of Kong in view of Laury disclose all claim 14 and 16 limitations. Henderson further discloses the following limitations:
wherein the characteristic of the container to be picked up includes the container's service class, value, weight, or size. [See [0088]; Henderson teaches certain items, such as controlled substances, are a high-value candidate for theft. Henderson [0121] further teaches certain transportation carts being equipped with security features which are used to transport controlled substances and require a high level of authorization in order to remove the controlled substances from the transportation cart (i.e., wherein the characteristic of the container to be picked up includes the container's ... value ...).]
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henderson (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0262690) in view of Kong (U.S. Pat. No. (U.S. Pat. No. 9,171,278) in view of Purwin (U.S. Pat. No. 10,000,284).
Regarding claim 8, Henderson in view of Kong discloses all claim 1, 3, and 6 limitations. Henderson in view of Kong does not, however Purwin does, explicitly disclose the following limitations:
wherein the route management database is further configured to cancel other automated guidance vehicle's tasks based on the characteristics of the container. [See (Col. 32, Lines 41-52) Purwin teaches that if a payload weight exceeds a limit for a designated UAV, then the UAV is not used and an alternative retrieval system is used (i.e., wherein the route management database is further configured to cancel other automated guidance vehicle's tasks based on the characteristics of the container).]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to combine the autonomous transportation system of Henderson in view of Kong with the autonomous transportation system of Purwin. By making this combination, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized, as Purwin states (Column 9, Lines 49-56), “Thus, based on its knowledge of the location, current state, and/or other characteristics of the various components of inventory system 10 and an awareness of all the tasks currently being completed, management module 15 can generate tasks, allot usage of system resources, and otherwise direct the completion of tasks by the individual components in a manner that optimizes operation from a system-wide perspective.”
Claims 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henderson (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0262690) in view of Kong (U.S. Pat. No. (U.S. Pat. No. 9,171,278) in view of Laury (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0228375) in view of Purwin (U.S. Pat. No. 10,000,284).
Regarding claim 18, Henderson in view of Kong in view of Laury discloses all claim 11, 13, 14, and 16 limitations. Henderson in view of Kong in view of Laury does not, however Purwin does, explicitly disclose the following limitations:
wherein the route management database is further configured to cancel other automated guidance vehicle's tasks based on the characteristics of the container. [See (Col. 32, Lines 41-52) Purwin teaches that if a payload weight exceeds a limit for a designated UAV, then the UAV is not used and an alternative retrieval system is used (i.e., wherein the route management database is further configured to cancel other automated guidance vehicle's tasks based on the characteristics of the container).]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to combine the autonomous transportation system of Henderson in view of Kong in view of Laury with the autonomous transportation system of Purwin. By making this combination, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized, as Purwin states (Column 9, Lines 49-56), “Thus, based on its knowledge of the location, current state, and/or other characteristics of the various components of inventory system 10 and an awareness of all the tasks currently being completed, management module 15 can generate tasks, allot usage of system resources, and otherwise direct the completion of tasks by the individual components in a manner that optimizes operation from a system-wide perspective.”
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henderson (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0262690) in view of Kong (U.S. Pat. No. 9,171,278) in view of Rivaya (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0122831).
Regarding claim 19, Henderson discloses all claim 11 limitations. Henderson does not, however Rivaya does, explicitly disclose the following limitations:
wherein determining the drop off location is based upon a type of a corresponding item sorting equipment corresponding to the pick- up location. [See [0080] Rivaya teaches a drone detecting a machine-readable optical element disposed on a vehicle. Rivaya [0033] further teaches that the machine-readable optical element may be a bar code, a QR code, or the like. Rivaya [0070] further teaches the drone 102 may fly away at block 252, and the vehicle 104 may exit the drone package delivery driving mode, at block 250. In addition, the net 158 may be lowered to the lowered position at blocks 254 and 256, and the package 110 may be removed from the net 158 by a sorting mechanism or the like within the vehicle 104. Rivaya [0070] further teaches the vehicle may comprise a sorting mechanism or the like. These citations in combination show how Rivaya teaches determining a drop off location (the vehicle) based upon the scanning of the vehicle’s identification code and determining that it is the correct vehicle (i.e. a type of a corresponding item sorting equipment) for drop off and corresponding vehicle pick up.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to combine the autonomous vehicle routing methods of Henderson in view of Kong with the autonomous vehicle routing methods of Rivaya. By making this combination, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that scanning a bar code at the processing equipment or vehicle would lead to an improvement to the route efficiency due to minimizing the number of vehicles needed to deliver packages along a route. As Rivaya states in [0031], “The delivery of the package from the drone to the vehicle can occur while the vehicle is in route, which may improve the efficiency of the route, minimize the number of return trips by the vehicle to a depot for picking up packages for delivery, and minimize the number of vehicles needed to deliver packages along the route. of vehicles needed to deliver packages along the route.”
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henderson (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0262690) in view of Kong (U.S. Pat. No. 9,171,278) in view of Voeller (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0379487).
Regarding claim 21, Henderson in view of Kong discloses all claim 1 limitations. Although Henderson in view of Kong discloses a camera for detecting items within a designated area of the floor, Henderson in view of Kong does not explicitly teach that the way the system detects items within the designated area of the floor includes a target within the designated area of the floor and the item obscuring the camera’s view of the target. Therefore, Henderson in view of Kong does not, however Voeller does, explicitly disclose the following limitations:
wherein the portion of the floor in view of the sensor comprises a target, and wherein the sensor is configured to detect the presence of ... (an object) ... by detecting that the target is obscured. [See (Fig. 1, elements 200, 100, 103, 108); [0024-0025]; Voeller teaches a system comprising an imaging sensor 108 (i.e., the sensor) with a view of a target feature 200 (i.e., a target) marked on a floor surface 10 (i.e., the floor). Voeller further teaches identifying the presence of a vehicle 103 (i.e., ... (an object) ...) by detecting, via the imaging sensor 108, that the target feature 200 is obscured by the vehicle 103 (i.e., wherein the portion of the floor in view of the sensor comprises a target, and wherein the sensor is configured to detect the presence of ... (an object) ... by detecting that the target is obscured).]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to combine the item detecting system of Henderson in view of Kong with the item detecting system of Voeller. By making this combination, the system of Henderson in view of Kong would have a known expected image (a target image) when pointing the camera at the designated floor area. Having such a known expected image registered by the image sensor of Henderson in view of Kong would clearly indicate to the system that no object was in the designated floor area. By implementing this target image method, the image sensor system would be able to better recognize objects in the designated floor area. For example, without using the target image method a box of the same color as the bare floor may easily blend in with the floor and be unrecognized by an image sensor. In such an example, the use of the target image method of Voeller would fix this issue and help the image sensor recognize the box in the designated floor area.
Prior Art
The following prior art is relevant to the invention but was not used in prior art rejections:
Gariepy (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0276604) – Systems and methods for autonomous provision replenishment
Klausner (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0005741) - Induction unit and label generation
Dearing (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0042320) – System and method for dynamically routing items
Kulkarni (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0137454) – Autonomous multimodal logistics
Stamm (U.S. Pat. No. 6,705,523) – System and method for delivering supplies to a production line
Bolotski (U.S. Pat. No. 11,086,336) – Wireless communication with robots tasked with sorting items
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER GOMEZ/
Examiner, Art Unit 3628