DETAILED ACTION
The present application is being examined under the pre-AIA first to invent provisions. This Action is in response to Applicant’s remarks and amended claims filed on May 27, 2026. Claims 1-28 are now pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Response to Amendment
2. The outstanding rejections of Claims 1-28 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are withdrawn in light of Applicant's amendment to Claims 1, 8, 15, and 22 filed on May 27, 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement submitted on July 10, 2026 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Specification
4. The amendments to the specification received on May 27, 2026. These amendments to the specification are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 1, 4, 8, 11, 15, 18, 22 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over R2-093723 (“Impact of CA on MAC layer”, 29 June – 03 July, 2009), in view of ETSI (“TS 136 331 V10.3.0”, November 2011), and Chun et al. (WO# 2010143851 A2)(with English translation and citations to U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2012/0076042 A1).
Regarding claim 1, the R2-093723 document teaches a method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device (read as UE) from a base station (read as ENB), at least one radio resource control message (read as RRC signaling) comprising a plurality of configuration parameters for a plurality of random access channel resources (read as “… UE gets the system information including RACH configuration in non-camping component carrier by some way, such as RRC signaling similar to that in handover.”(Section 2.1, page 1));
However, the R2-093723 document fails to explicitly teach a radio resource control message comprising:
a preamble received target power parameter,
a threshold parameter,
measuring, by the wireless device, radio link quality of at least one radio link between the wireless device and the base station; and
transmitting, by the wireless device based on the preamble received target power parameter and via at least one random access channel resource, of the plurality of random access channel resources, that is selected based on the radio link quality, a preamble that is selected based on the threshold parameter.
The ETSI document teaches a radio resource control message (read as RRC messages (Section 6.2, page 108)) comprising:
a preamble received target power parameter (read as an initial preamble power (preambleInitialReceivedTargetPower) field (Section 6.2.1, page 180)),
a threshold parameter (read as Threshold for preamble selection (messagePowerOffsetGroupB)(Section 6.2.1, page 180)),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to employ the function for generating and transmitting an RRC message comprising of IE RACH-configCommon as taught by the ETSI document with a UE that communicates with a base station and vice versa as taught by the R2-093723 document for the purpose of enhancing random access control information used by devices in a communication network.
However, the the R2-093723 document and the ETSI document fail to explicitly teach measuring, by the wireless device, radio link quality of at least one radio link between the wireless device and the base station; and
transmitting, by the wireless device based on the preamble received target power parameter and via at least one random access channel resource, of the plurality of random access channel resources, that is selected based on the radio link quality, a preamble that is selected based on the threshold parameter.
Chun et al. teach a method for measuring, by the wireless device, radio link quality of at least one radio link between the wireless device and the base station (read as “a step of measuring the --channel qualities of one or more uplink component carriers, and determining the uplink component carrier having the highest channel quality;”(Abstract)); and
Also, Chun et al. teach a method transmitting, by the wireless device (read as UE (Fig(s).7 and 9-10)) based on the preamble received target power parameter (read as PREAMBLE _RECEIVED TARGET_POWER) and via at least one random access channel resource (read as PRACH resource), of the plurality of random access channel resources, that is selected based on the radio link quality, a preamble that is selected based on the threshold parameter. (read as “a step of selecting a physical random access channel (PRACH) resource on the uplink component carrier having the highest channel quality; and a step of transmitting a random access preamble to the base station using the selected PRACH resource.”(Fig(s).7 and 9-10, Abstract) Also, “The reference signal transmitted power may be provided to the user equipment by the higher layer.”(Paragraph [0109]) For example, “In selecting UL CC for a preamble retransmission, a user equipment calculates a preamble received target power (PREAMBLE_RECEIVED_TARGET_POWER) for all available UL CCs including PRACH resource and may be then able to compare it with a pathloss (PL) of DL CC. In particular, the user equipment calculates a formula of `x=PREAMBLE_RECEIVED_TARGET_POWER-PL` and may be then able to select a UL CC having a highest x as a UL CC for the preamble retransmission.”(Paragraph [0120]) Also, the function for receiving preamble received target power and other parameters and the function to send a preamble are taught in “3GPP standard documents (e.g., TS36.213, TS36.214, TS36.331, etc.).”(Paragraph [0109]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to employ the function for measuring and determining the highest channel quality and the function for selecting a PRACH and transmitting a preamble as taught by Chun et al. and the function for generating and transmitting an RRC message comprising of IE RACH-configCommon as taught by the ETSI document with a UE that communicates with a base station and vice versa as taught by the R2-093723 document for the purpose of improving connection selection based on random access parameters by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 8, the R2-093723 document teach a method comprising:
transmitting, by a base station (read as ENB) to a wireless device (read as UE), at least one radio resource control message comprising a plurality of configuration parameters for a plurality of random access channel resources(read as “… UE gets the system information including RACH configuration in non-camping component carrier by some way, such as RRC signaling similar to that in handover.”(Section 2.1, page 1));
However, the R2-093723 document fails to explicitly teach a radio resource control message comprising: a preamble received target power,
a power threshold,
receiving, by the base station from the wireless device, an indication of radio link quality of at least one radio link between the wireless device and the base station; and
receiving, by the base station, from the wireless device, and via at least one random access channel resource, of the plurality of random access channel resources, that is selected based on the indication of the radio link quality, a preamble that is transmitted based on the preamble received target power and that is selected on the power threshold.
The ETSI document teaches a radio resource control message (read as RRC messages (Section 6.2, page 108)) comprising:
a preamble received target power parameter (read as an initial preamble power (preambleInitialReceivedTargetPower) field (Section 6.2.1, page 180)),
a threshold parameter (read as Threshold for preamble selection (messagePowerOffsetGroupB)(Section 6.2.1, page 180)),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to employ the function for generating and transmitting an RRC message comprising of IE RACH-configCommon as taught by the ETSI document with a base station (ENB) as taught by the R2-093723 document for the purpose of enhancing random access control information used by devices in a communication network.
However, the the R2-093723 document and the ETSI document fail to explicitly teach receiving, by the base station from the wireless device, an indication of radio link quality of at least one radio link between the wireless device and the base station; and
receiving, by the base station, from the wireless device, and via at least one random access channel resource, of the plurality of random access channel resources, that is selected based on the indication of the radio link quality, a preamble that is transmitted based on the preamble received target power and that is selected on the power threshold.
Chun et al. teach a method for receiving, by the base station (read as eNB (Fig(s).7 and 9-10)) from the wireless device (read as UE (Fig(s).7 and 9-10)), an indication of radio link quality of at least one radio link between the wireless device and the base station (read as “a control signal in UL as a channel quality indicator (CQI), a precoding matrix index (PMI), a rank indicator (RI), a sounding reference signal (SRS) and the like can be transmitted to a base station from a user equipment.”(Paragraph [0054])); and
Also, Chun et al. teach a method for receiving, by the base station (read as eNB (Fig(s).7 and 9-10)), from the wireless device (read as UE (Fig(s).7 and 9-10)), and via at least one random access channel resource (read as PRACH resource), of the plurality of random access channel resources, that is selected based on the indication of the radio link quality, a preamble that is transmitted based on the preamble received target power and that is selected on the power threshold. (read as PREAMBLE_RECEIVED_TARGET_POWER; For example, “a step of selecting a physical random access channel (PRACH) resource on the uplink component carrier having the highest channel quality; and a step of transmitting a random access preamble to the base station using the selected PRACH resource.”(Fig(s).7 and 9-10, Abstract) Also, “The reference signal transmitted power may be provided to the user equipment by the higher layer.”(Paragraph [0109]) For example, “In selecting UL CC for a preamble retransmission, a user equipment calculates a preamble received target power (PREAMBLE_RECEIVED_TARGET_POWER) for all available UL CCs including PRACH resource and may be then able to compare it with a pathloss (PL) of DL CC. In particular, the user equipment calculates a formula of `x=PREAMBLE_RECEIVED_TARGET_POWER-PL` and may be then able to select a UL CC having a highest x as a UL CC for the preamble retransmission.”(Paragraph [0120]) Also, the function for receiving preamble received target power and other parameters and the function to send a preamble are taught in “3GPP standard documents (e.g., TS36.213, TS36.214, TS36.331, etc.).”(Paragraph [0109]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to employ the function for measuring and determining the highest channel quality and the function for selecting a PRACH and transmitting a preamble as taught by Chun et al. and the function for generating and transmitting an RRC message comprising of IE RACH-configCommon as taught by the ETSI document by with a base station (ENB) that communicates with a UE that as taught by the R2-093723 document for the purpose of improving connection selection based on random access parameters by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 15, the R2-093723 document teach a wireless device (read as UE) comprising:
receive, from a base station, at least one radio resource control message comprising a plurality of configuration parameters for a plurality of random access channel resources (read as “… UE gets the system information including RACH configuration in non-camping component carrier by some way, such as RRC signaling similar to that in handover.”(Section 2.1, page 1));
However, the R2-093723 document fails to explicitly teach one or more processors; and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to:
a radio resource control message comprising:
a preamble received target power,
a power threshold,
measure radio link quality of at least one radio link between the wireless device and the base station; and
transmit, based on the preamble received target power and via at least one random access channel resource, of the plurality of random access channel resources, that is selected based on the radio link quality, a preamble that is selected based on the power threshold.
The ETSI document teaches a radio resource control message (read as RRC messages (Section 6.2, page 108)) comprising:
a preamble received target power parameter (read as an initial preamble power (preambleInitialReceivedTargetPower) field (Section 6.2.1, page 180)),
a threshold parameter (read as Threshold for preamble selection (messagePowerOffsetGroupB)(Section 6.2.1, page 180)),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to employ the function for generating and transmitting an RRC message comprising of IE RACH-configCommon as taught by the ETSI document with a UE that communicates with a base station and vice versa as taught by the R2-093723 document for the purpose of enhancing random access control information used by devices in a communication network.
However, the the R2-093723 document and the ETSI document fail to explicitly teach one or more processors; and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to:
measure radio link quality of at least one radio link between the wireless device and the base station; and
transmit, based on the preamble received target power and via at least one random access channel resource, of the plurality of random access channel resources, that is selected based on the radio link quality, a preamble that is selected based on the power threshold.
Chun et al. teach a UE (Fig.10 @ 1000) comprising of one or more processors (read as processor (Fig.10)); and
memory (Fig.10 @ 1040) storing instructions (read as operated information (Paragraph [0133])) that, when executed by the one or more processors (read as processor (Fig.10)), cause the wireless device (Fig.10 @ 1000) to:
measure radio link quality of at least one radio link between the wireless device and the base station (read as “a step of measuring the channel qualities of one or more uplink component carriers, and determining the uplink component carrier having the highest channel quality; ”(Abstract)); and
transmit, based on the preamble received target power (read as PREAMBLE_RECEIVED_TARGET_POWER) and via at least one random access channel resource, of the plurality of random access channel resources, that is selected based on the radio link quality, a preamble that is selected based on the power threshold. (read as “a step of selecting a physical random access channel (PRACH) resource on the uplink component carrier having the highest channel quality; and a step of transmitting a random access preamble to the base station using the selected PRACH resource.”(Fig(s).7 and 9-10, Abstract) Also, “The reference signal transmitted power may be provided to the user equipment by the higher layer.”(Paragraph [0109]) For example, “In selecting UL CC for a preamble retransmission, a user equipment calculates a preamble received target power (PREAMBLE_RECEIVED_TARGET_POWER) for all available UL CCs including PRACH resource and may be then able to compare it with a pathloss (PL) of DL CC. In particular, the user equipment calculates a formula of `x=PREAMBLE_RECEIVED_TARGET_POWER-PL` and may be then able to select a UL CC having a highest x as a UL CC for the preamble retransmission.”(Paragraph [0120]) Also, the function for receiving preamble received target power and other parameters and the function to send a preamble are taught in “3GPP standard documents (e.g., TS36.213, TS36.214, TS36.331, etc.).”(Paragraph [0109]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to employ the function for measuring and determining the highest channel quality and the function for selecting a PRACH and transmitting a preamble as taught by Chun et al. and the function for generating and transmitting an RRC message comprising of IE RACH-configCommon as taught by the ETSI document by with a base station (ENB) that communicates with a UE that as taught by the R2-093723 document for the purpose of improving connection selection based on random access parameters by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 22, the R2-093723 document teach a base station (read as ENB) comprising:
transmit, to a wireless device, at least one radio resource control message comprising a plurality of configuration parameters for a plurality of random access channel resources(read as “… UE gets the system information including RACH configuration in non-camping component carrier by some way, such as RRC signaling similar to that in handover.”(Section 2.1, page 1));
However, the R2-093723 document fails to explicitly teach one or more processors; and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the base station to:
a radio resource control message comprising:
a preamble received target power,
a power threshold,
receive, from the wireless device, an indication of radio link quality of at least one radio link between the wireless device and the base station; and
receive, from the wireless device, and via at least one random access channel resource, of the plurality of random access channel resources, that is selected based on the indication of the radio link quality, a preamble that is transmitted based on the preamble received target power and that is selected on the power threshold.
The ETSI document teaches a radio resource control message (read as RRC messages (Section 6.2, page 108)) comprising:
a preamble received target power parameter (read as an initial preamble power (preambleInitialReceivedTargetPower) field (Section 6.2.1, page 180)),
a threshold parameter (read as Threshold for preamble selection (messagePowerOffsetGroupB)(Section 6.2.1, page 180)),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to employ the function for generating and transmitting an RRC message comprising of IE RACH-configCommon as taught by the ETSI document with a base station (ENB) as taught by the R2-093723 document for the purpose of enhancing random access control information used by devices in a communication network.
However, the the R2-093723 document and the ETSI document fail to explicitly teach one or more processors; and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the base station to:
receive, from the wireless device, an indication of radio link quality of at least one radio link between the wireless device and the base station; and
receive, from the wireless device, and via at least one random access channel resource, of the plurality of random access channel resources, that is selected based on the indication of the radio link quality, a preamble that is transmitted based on the preamble received target power and that is selected on the power threshold.
Chun et al. teach a eNB (Fig(s).7 and 9-10) comprising of one or more processors (read as processor (Fig.10)); and
memory (Fig.10 @ 1040) storing instructions (read as operated information (Paragraph [0133])) that, when executed by the one or more processors (read as processor (Fig.10)), cause the base station (Fig(s).7, and 9-10) to:
receive, from the wireless device, an indication of radio link quality of at least one radio link between the wireless device and the base station (read as “a control signal in UL as a channel quality indicator (CQI), a precoding matrix index (PMI), a rank indicator (RI), a sounding reference signal (SRS) and the like can be transmitted to a base station from a user equipment.”(Paragraph [0054])); and
Also, Chun et al. teach a method to receive, from the wireless device (read as UE (Fig(s).7 and 9-10)), and via at least one random access channel resource, of the plurality of random access channel resources, that is selected based on the indication of the radio link quality, a preamble that is transmitted based on the preamble received target power and that is selected on the power threshold. (read as PREAMBLE_RECEIVED_TARGET_POWER (Paragraph [0120]); For example, “a step of selecting a physical random access channel (PRACH) resource on the uplink component carrier having the highest channel quality; and a step of transmitting a random access preamble to the base station using the selected PRACH resource.”(Fig(s).7 and 9-10, Abstract) Also, “The reference signal transmitted power may be provided to the user equipment by the higher layer.”(Paragraph [0109]) For example, “In selecting UL CC for a preamble retransmission, a user equipment calculates a preamble received target power (PREAMBLE_RECEIVED_TARGET_POWER) for all available UL CCs including PRACH resource and may be then able to compare it with a pathloss (PL) of DL CC. In particular, the user equipment calculates a formula of `x=PREAMBLE_RECEIVED_TARGET_POWER-PL` and may be then able to select a UL CC having a highest x as a UL CC for the preamble retransmission.”(Paragraph [0120]) Also, the function for receiving preamble received target power and other parameters and the function to send a preamble are taught in “3GPP standard documents (e.g., TS36.213, TS36.214, TS36.331, etc.).”(Paragraph [0109]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to employ the function for measuring and determining the highest channel quality and the function for selecting a PRACH and transmitting a preamble as taught by Chun et al. and the function for generating and transmitting an RRC message comprising of IE RACH-configCommon as taught by the ETSI document by with a base station (ENB) that communicates with a UE as taught by the R2-093723 document for the purpose of improving connection selection based on random access parameters by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claims 4 and 18, and as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, the R2-093723 document teaches a random access procedure between a UE and ENB. (Section 2.1, pages 1-2)
The ETSI document teaches the function for generating and transmitting an RRC message comprising of IE RACH-configCommon. (Section(s) 6.2 and 6.2.1, pages 108 and 180)
However, the R2-093723 document and the ETSI document fail to explicitly teach the step to receive, from the base station, an indication of the preamble, wherein the indication comprises at least one of:
a preamble identifier (ID) or the at least one of the plurality of random access channel resources.
Chun et al. teach receive, from the base station (read as eNB (Fig(s).7 and 9-10)), an indication of the preamble (read as random access response), wherein the indication comprises at least one of:
a preamble identifier (ID) or the at least one of the plurality of random access channel resources. (read as random access preamble ID (RAPID) (Paragraph [0077]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to employ the function for generating and transmitting a preamble ID in a random access response as taught by Chun et al. and the function for generating and transmitting an RRC message comprising of IE RACH-configCommon as taught by the ETSI document by with a base station (ENB) that communicates with a UE and vice versa as taught by the R2-093723 document for the purpose of improving connection selection based on random access parameters by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claims 11 and 25, and as applied to claims 8 and 22 above, the R2-093723 document teaches a random access procedure between a UE and ENB. (Section 2.1, pages 1-2)
The ETSI document teaches the function for generating and transmitting an RRC message comprising of IE RACH-configCommon. (Section(s) 6.2 and 6.2.1, pages 108 and 180)
However, the R2-093723 document and the ETSI document fails to explicitly teach the step to select, based on the at least one random access channel resource, the preamble and
transmit, to the wireless device, an indication of the preamble, wherein the indication comprises at least one of:
a preamble identifier (ID) or the at least one of the plurality of random access channel resources.
Chun et al. teach to select, based on the at least one random access channel resource, the preamble (read as “a step of selecting a physical random access channel (PRACH) resource on the uplink component carrier having the highest channel quality; and a step of transmitting a random access preamble to the base station using the selected PRACH resource.”(Fig(s).7 and 9-10, Abstract))and
transmit, to the wireless device (read as UE (Fig(s).7 and 9-10)), an indication of the preamble (read as a random access response), wherein the indication comprises at least one of:
a preamble identifier (ID) or the at least one of the plurality of random access channel resources. (read as random access preamble ID (RAPID) (Paragraph [0077]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to employ the function for measuring and determining the highest channel quality, the function for selecting a PRACH and transmitting a preamble, and the function for generating and transmitting a preamble ID in a random access response as taught by Chun et al. and the function for generating and transmitting an RRC message comprising of IE RACH-configCommon as taught by the ETSI document by with a base station (ENB) that communicates with a UE and vice versa as taught by the R2-093723 document for the purpose of improving connection selection based on random access parameters by devices in a communication network.
Claims 2, 9, 16, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over R2-093723 (“Impact of CA on MAC layer”, 29 June – 03 July, 2009), in view of ETSI (“TS 136 331 V10.3.0”, November 2011), Chun et al. (WO# 2010143851 A2) (with English translation and citations to U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2012/0076042 A1), and Uemura et al. (WO # 2011/016377A1).
Regarding claims 2, 9, 16, and 23, and as applied to claims 1, 8, 15, and 22 above, the R2-093723 document teaches a random access procedure between a UE and ENB. (Section 2.1, pages 1-2)
The ETSI document teaches the function for generating and transmitting an RRC message comprising of IE RACH-configCommon. (Section(s) 6.2 and 6.2.1, pages 108 and 180)
Chun et al. teach “a method and apparatus for performing a random access in a wireless communication system that supports multi-carriers.”(Fig(s).7 and 9-10; Paragraph [0001])
However, the R2-093723 document, the ETSI document, and Chun et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the plurality of configuration parameters comprises:
a plurality of random access resource parameters; and
a plurality of power control parameters for random access preamble
Uemura et al. teach a method wherein the plurality of configuration parameters comprises:
a plurality of random access resource parameters (read as data information and downlink control channel information (Paragraph [0099])); and
a plurality of power control parameters for random access preamble transmission.(read as “The reception processing unit 109 measures the power of the uplink reference signal and the reception signal of the uplink shared channel received from the mobile station apparatus 1, … “ (Paragraph [0097]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to employ the function for determining a power of uplink reference signals as taught by Uemura et al., the function for measuring and determining the highest channel quality and the function for selecting a PRACH and transmitting a preamble as taught by Chun et al., and the function for generating and transmitting an RRC message comprising of IE RACH-configCommon as taught by the ETSI document by with a base station (ENB) that communicates with a UE and vice versa as taught by the R2-093723 document for the purpose of improving connection selection based on random access parameters by devices in a communication network.
Claims 3, 10, 17, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over R2-093723 (“Impact of CA on MAC layer”, 29 June – 03 July, 2009), in view of ETSI (“TS 136 331 V10.3.0”, November 2011), Chun et al. (WO# 2010143851 A2) (with English translation and citations to U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2012/0076042 A1), and Fwu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2014/0369322 A1).
Regarding claims 3 and 17, and as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, the R2-093723 document teaches a random access procedure between a UE and ENB. (Section 2.1, pages 1-2)
The ETSI document teaches the function for generating and transmitting an RRC message comprising of IE RACH-configCommon. (Section(s) 6.2 and 6.2.1, pages 108 and 180)
Chun et al. teach “a method and apparatus for performing a random access in a wireless communication system that supports multi-carriers.”(Fig(s).7 and 9-10; Paragraph [0001])
However, the R2-093723 document, the ETSI document, and Chun et al. fail to explicitly teach receiving, from the base station via a primary cell, a random access response.
Fwu et al. teach a method for receiving, from the base station via a primary cell, a random access response. (read as Random Access Response (Paragraph [0064]); For example, “receiving 1020 a Random Access Response (RAR) at the UE from the eNodeB for the PCell.”(Paragraph [0064]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to employ the function for generating and exchanging a RAR for a PCELL as taught by Fwu et al., the function for measuring and determining the highest channel quality and the function for selecting a PRACH and transmitting a preamble as taught by Chun et al., and the function for generating and transmitting an RRC message comprising of IE RACH-configCommon as taught by the ETSI document by with a base station (ENB) that communicates with a UE and vice versa as taught by the R2-093723 document for the purpose of improving connection selection based on random access parameters by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claims 10 and 24, and as applied to claims 8 and 22 above, the R2-093723 document teaches a random access procedure between a UE and ENB. (Section 2.1, pages 1-2)
The ETSI document teaches the function for generating and transmitting an RRC message comprising of IE RACH-configCommon. (Section(s) 6.2 and 6.2.1, pages 108 and 180)
Chun et al. teach “a method and apparatus for performing a random access in a wireless communication system that supports multi-carriers.”(Fig(s).7 and 9-10; Paragraph [0001])
However, the R2-093723 document, the ETSI document, and Chun et al. fail to explicitly teach transmitting, to the wireless device via a primary cell, a random access response.
Fwu et al. teach a method for transmitting, to the wireless device via a primary cell, a random access response. (read as Random Access Response (Paragraph [0064]); For example, “receiving 1020 a Random Access Response (RAR) at the UE from the eNodeB for the PCell.”(Paragraph [0064]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to employ the function for generating and exchanging a RAR for a PCELL as taught by Fwu et al., the function for measuring and determining the highest channel quality and the function for selecting a PRACH and transmitting a preamble as taught by Chun, and the function for generating and transmitting an RRC message comprising of IE RACH-configCommon as taught by the ETSI document by with a base station (ENB) that communicates with a UE and vice versa as taught by the R2-093723 document for the purpose of improving connection selection based on random access parameters by devices in a communication network.
Claims 5-7, 12-14, 19-21, and 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over R2-093723 (“Impact of CA on MAC layer”, 29 June – 03 July, 2009), in view of ETSI (“TS 136 331 V10.3.0”, November 2011), Chun et al. (WO# 2010143851 A2)(with English translation and citations to U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2012/0076042 A1), and Yamada (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2012/0257513 A1).
Regarding claims 5, 12, 19, and 26, and as applied to claims 1, 8, 15, and 22 above, the R2-093723 document teaches a random access procedure between a UE and ENB. (Section 2.1, pages 1-2)
The ETSI document teaches the function for generating and transmitting an RRC message comprising of IE RACH-configCommon. (Section(s) 6.2 and 6.2.1, pages 108 and 180)
Chun et al. teach “a method and apparatus for performing a random access in a wireless communication system that supports multi-carriers.”(Fig(s).7 and 9-10; Paragraph [0001])
However, the R2-093723 document, the ETSI document, and Chun et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein:
the plurality of configuration parameters for the plurality of random access channel resources are for a plurality of cells grouped into a plurality of cell groups;
the plurality of cell groups comprise a primary cell group and a secondary cell group; and
the secondary cell group comprises a plurality of secondary cells.
Yamada teaches a method wherein:
the plurality of configuration parameters for the plurality of random access channel resources are for a plurality of cells grouped into a plurality of cell groups (read as “The RRC signaling may indicate the PSCell based on one selected from the group consisting of an SCell with a random access channel (RACH), an SCell with a lowest order in a group configuration and an SCell that is a reference cell for uplink timing.”(Paragraph [0028]));
the plurality of cell groups comprise a primary cell group and a secondary cell group (read as “The RRC signaling may indicate the PSCell based on one selected from the group consisting of an SCell with a random access channel (RACH), an SCell with a lowest order in a group configuration and an SCell that is a reference cell for uplink timing.”(Paragraph [0028])); and
the secondary cell group comprises a plurality of secondary cells. (read as non-PCell group (Paragraph(s) [0050] and [0128]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to employ the function for generating and exchanging an RRC message with group indicators as taught by Yamada, the function for measuring and determining the highest channel quality and the function for selecting a PRACH and transmitting a preamble as taught by Chun et al., and the function for generating and transmitting an RRC message comprising of IE RACH-configCommon as taught by the ETSI document by with a base station (ENB) that communicates with a UE and vice versa as taught by the R2-093723 document for the purpose of improving connection selection based on random access parameters by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claims 6, 13, 20, and 27, and as applied to claims 5, 12, 19, and 26 above, the R2-093723 document teaches a random access procedure between a UE and ENB. (Section 2.1, pages 1-2)
The ETSI document teaches the function for generating and transmitting an RRC message comprising of IE RACH-configCommon. (Section(s) 6.2 and 6.2.1, pages 108 and 180)
Chun et al. teach “a method and apparatus for performing a random access in a wireless communication system that supports multi-carriers.”(Fig(s).7 and 9-10; Paragraph [0001])
However, the R2-093723 document, the ETSI document, and Chun et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein:
uplink transmission timing associated with the primary cell group is based on a first cell of the primary cell group; and
uplink transmission timing associated with the secondary cell group is based on a second cell of the secondary cell group.
Yamada teaches a method wherein:
uplink transmission timing associated with the primary cell group is based on a first cell of the primary cell group (uplink timing reference (Paragraph [0050]); For example, “Each group may have one specific cell that is used as an uplink timing reference.”(Paragraph [0050])); and
uplink transmission timing associated with the secondary cell group is based on a second cell of the secondary cell group. (uplink timing reference (Paragraph [0050]); For example, “Each group may have one specific cell that is used as an uplink timing reference.”(Paragraph [0050]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to employ the function for generating an uplink timing reference for a cell within group as taught by Yamada, the function for measuring and determining the highest channel quality and the function for selecting a PRACH and transmitting a preamble as taught by Chun et al., and the function for generating and transmitting an RRC message comprising of IE RACH-configCommon as taught by the ETSI document by with a base station (ENB) that communicates with a UE and vice versa as taught by the R2-093723 document for the purpose improving connection selection based on random access parameters by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claims 7, and 21, and as applied to claims 5 and 19 above, the R2-093723 document teaches a random access procedure between a UE and ENB. (Section 2.1, pages 1-2)
The ETSI document teaches the function for generating and transmitting an RRC message comprising of IE RACH-configCommon. (Section(s) 6.2 and 6.2.1, pages 108 and 180)
Chun et al. teach “a method and apparatus for performing a random access in a wireless communication system that supports multi-carriers.”(Fig(s).7 and 9-10; Paragraph [0001])
However, the R2-093723 document, the ETSI document, and Chun et al. fail to explicitly teach a method further comprising:
transmitting, to the base station, an indication of radio link quality of the plurality of secondary cells;
receiving, from the base station, an indication of a random access channel resource, of the plurality of random access channel resources, associated with a secondary cell of the plurality of secondary cells; and
receiving, from the base station, a command to cause the transmitting the preamble.
Yamada et al. teach a method further comprising:
transmitting, to the base station, an indication of radio link quality of the plurality of secondary cells (read as Multi-Group Control Information (Fig.5 @ 531));
receiving, from the base station, an indication of a random access channel resource, of the plurality of random access channel resources, associated with a secondary cell of the plurality of secondary cells (read as Signal Information (Fig.5 @ 523)); and
receiving, from the base station, a command to cause the transmitting the preamble. (read as Time Advance Command(s) (Fig.5 @ 527))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to employ the function for generating TA commands for a cell within group as taught by Yamada, the function for measuring and determining the highest channel quality and the function for selecting a PRACH and transmitting a preamble as taught by Chun, and the function for generating and transmitting an RRC message comprising of IE RACH-configCommon as taught by the ETSI document by with a base station (ENB) that communicates with a UE and vice versa as taught by the R2-093723 document for the purpose of improving connection selection based on random access parameters by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claims 14 and 28, and as applied to claims 12 and 26 above, the R2-093723 document teaches a random access procedure between a UE and ENB. (Section 2.1, pages 1-2)
The ETSI document teaches the function for generating and transmitting an RRC message comprising of IE RACH-configCommon. (Section(s) 6.2 and 6.2.1, pages 108 and 180)
Chun et al. teach “a method and apparatus for performing a random access in a wireless communication system that supports multi-carriers.”(Fig(s).7 and 9-10; Paragraph [0001])
However, the R2-093723 document, the ETSI document, and Chun et al. fail to explicitly teach a method further comprising:
receiving, from the wireless device, an indication of radio link quality of the plurality of secondary cells;
transmitting, to the wireless device, an indication of a random access channel resource, of the plurality of random access channel resources, associated with a secondary cell of the plurality of secondary cells; and
transmitting, to the wireless device, a command to cause transmission of the preamble.
Yamada teaches a method further comprising:
receiving, from the wireless device, an indication of radio link quality of the plurality of secondary cells (read as signal information (Fig.7 @ 707));
transmitting, to the wireless device, an indication of a random access channel resource, of the plurality of random access channel resources, associated with a secondary cell of the plurality of secondary cells (read as Group Configuration Information (Fig.7 @ 757)); and
transmitting, to the wireless device, a command to cause transmission of the preamble. (read as Timing Advance Command(s) (Fig.7 @ 761))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to employ the function for generating TA commands for a cell within group as taught by Yamada, the function for measuring and determining the highest channel quality and the function for selecting a PRACH and transmitting a preamble as taught by Chun, and the function for generating and transmitting an RRC message comprising of IE RACH-configCommon as taught by the ETSI document by with a base station (ENB) that communicates with a UE and vice versa as taught by the R2-093723 document for the purpose of improving connection selection based on random access parameters by devices in a communication network.
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant's arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-28 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
ETSI (“TS 136 213 V10.3.0”, October 2011) document teach “From the physical layer perspective, the L1 random access procedure encompasses the transmission of random access preamble and random access response.” (Section 6.1, page 21) For example, the ETSI document teaches “A preamble index, a target preamble received power (PREAMBLE_RECEIVED_TARGET_POWER), a corresponding RA-RNTI and a PRACH resource are indicated by higher layers as part of the request.”(Section 6.1, page 21)
Yi et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2009/0316586 A1) teach “A RACH Preamble is selected. The Preamble Transmission counter value is compared with the Preamble Transmission maximum value. If the Preamble Transmission counter value equals the Preamble Transmission maximum value +1, the RRC entity is informed that the RACH procedure has problem. The selected RACH Preamble is transmitted.” (Paragraph [0068])
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Un C. Cho can be reached on (571) 272- 7919. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/SALVADOR E RIVAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413
August 18, 2026