DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner notes the amendment to claim 1 has overcome all 112(a) rejections from the non-final rejection dated 07/16/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 7, 10, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mayr et al. (US20180127317, hereinafter referred to as Mayr).
Regarding claim 1, Mayr discloses a zirconia (see Mayr at the Abstract, disclosing zirconia) mill blank (see Mayr at [0096], disclosing a mill blank) for dental cutting and machining (see Mayr at [0048], disclosing dental articles), containing; a gallium compound (see Mayr at [0156], disclosing Ga2O3).
Concerning an amount of an yttrium compound is 6.9 wt.% or more in terms of yttria, while it is mathematically impossible to directly convert mol% ranges to wt.% ranges, it is possible to demonstrate that the mol% ranges disclosed by Mayr overlap with the claimed wt.% ranges by selecting a point within the mol% ranges disclosed by Mayr, converting that point to wt.% and demonstrating that point is within the claimed range. In the instant case, Mayr discloses 70-100 mol% ZrO2 (see Mayr at claim 4), up to 1 mol% Ga2O3 (see Mayr at [0156]), and 0 to 30 mol% Y2O3 (see Mayr at claim 4). Examiner notes this range contains the point 94 mol% ZrO2, 1 mol% Ga2O3, and 5 mol% Y2O3, which corresponds to approximately 89.7 wt% ZrO2, 8.8 wt% Y2O3, and 1.5 wt% Ga2O3, which is within the instantly claimed range. Therefore, the mol% ranges disclosed by Mayr overlap with the instantly claimed wt.% ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
Examiner notes this range of Mayr disclosed above fully encompasses the claimed range, as demonstrated by the following: The point 92 mol% ZrO2, 0.75 mol% Ga2O3, and 7.25 mol% Y2O3 is within the range disclosed by Mayr above, and corresponds to approximately 86.44 wt.% ZrO2, 1.07 wt.% Ga2O3, and 12.5 wt.% Y2O3, which is the upper limit of the claimed range. The point 95.1 mol% ZrO2, 1 mol% Ga2O3, and 3.9 mol% Y2O3 is within the range disclosed by Mayr above, and corresponds to approximately 91.65 wt.% ZrO2, 1.47 wt.% Ga2O3, and 6.9 wt.% Y2O3. Therefore, not only does the range disclosed by Mayr overlap with the claimed range at least one point, but the range disclosed by Mayr encompasses the entire claimed range.
Regarding claim 2, Mayr discloses an amount of the gallium compound is within a range of 0.20 wt.% to 1.50 wt.% in terms of gallium oxide (see the rejection of claim 1 above, showing the mol% ranges of Ga2O3 disclosed by Mayr overlap with the claimed range).
Regarding claim 7, while Mayr does not explicitly disclose wherein; in a case in which a sintered body prepared by sintering at 1560 °C for a sintering time of 24 minutes is defined as a 24 minutes sintered body and a sintered body prepared by sintering at 1560 °C for a sintering time of 427 minutes is defined as a 427 minutes sintered body, a relationship of a contrast ratio of a sample having a thickness of 1 mm between the 24 minutes sintered body and the 427 minutes sintered body satisfies the following formula (1): Formula (1): (Contrast ratio of 24 minutes sintered body) / (Contrast ratio of 427 minutes sintered body) x 100 ≤ 102 (%), this is a property which depends upon the composition, and the composition of Mayr is substantially identical to the instantly composition as detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above such that this property would be inherently present. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established (see MPEP 2112.01(I) first paragraph).
Regarding claim 10, while Mayr does not explicitly disclose wherein; in a case in which a sintered body prepared by sintering at 1560 °C for a sintering time of 6.4 minutes is defined as a 6.4 minutes sintered body and a sintered body prepared by sintering at 1560 °C for a sintering time of 427 minutes is defined as a 427 minutes sintered body, a relationship of a contrast ratio of a sample having a thickness of 1 mm between the 6.4 minutes sintered body and the 427 minutes sintered body satisfies the following formula (2):Formula (2): (Contrast ratio of 6.4 minutes sintered body) / (Contrast ratio of 427 minutes sintered body) x 100 ≤ 102 (%), this is a property which depends upon the composition, and the composition of Mayr is substantially identical to the instantly composition as detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above such that this property would be inherently present.
Regarding claim 18, while Mayr does not explicitly disclose wherein; in a case in which a sintered body prepared by sintering at 1560 °C for a sintering time of 24 minutes is defined as a 24 minutes sintered body and a sintered body prepared by sintering at 1560 °C for a sintering time of 427 minutes is defined as a 427 minutes sintered body, a relationship of a contrast ratio of a sample having a thickness of 1 mm between the 24 minutes sintered body and the 427 minutes sintered body satisfies the following formula (1):Formula (1): (Contrast ratio of 24 minutes sintered body) / (Contrast ratio of 427 minutes sintered body) x 100 ≤ 102 (%), this is a property which depends upon the composition, and the composition of Mayr is substantially identical to the instantly composition as detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above such that this property would be inherently present.
Regarding claim 19, while Mayr does not explicitly disclose wherein; in a case in which a sintered body prepared by sintering at 1560 °C for a sintering time of 6.4 minutes is defined as a 6.4 minutes sintered body and a sintered body prepared by sintering at 1560 °C for a sintering time of 427 minutes is defined as a 427 minutes sintered body, a relationship of a contrast ratio of a sample having a thickness of 1 mm between the 6.4 minutes sintered body and the 427 minutes sintered body satisfies the following formula (2):Formula (2): (Contrast ratio of 6.4 minutes sintered body) / (Contrast ratio of 427 minutes sintered body) x 100 ≤ 102 (%), this is a property which depends upon the composition, and the composition of Mayr is substantially identical to the instantly composition as detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above such that this property would be inherently present.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the 112(a) section of page 5 of the Remarks, filed 12/16/2025, with respect to claims 1-3, 6-12, and 18-19 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112(a) rejections of claims 1-3, 6-12, and 18-19 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments concerning the 103 rejections on pages 5-6 of the Remarks filed 12/16/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Mayr fails to disclose specific formulations that anticipate the claimed ranges, however, Examiner notes this argument is not convincing because the rejections above are not based upon a specific example which is within the claimed range. The rejections above are based upon overlapping ranges, and therefore the claimed ranges are obvious because the range of Mayr overlaps with the claimed range as detailed by the rejection of claim 1 above. As such, Applicant’s arguments are not convincing.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CAMERON K MILLER
Examiner
Art Unit 1731
/CAMERON K MILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1731