DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 7, 10, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hock et al. (US20100062396, hereinafter referred to as Hock).
Regarding claim 1, Hock makes obvious a zirconia (see Hock at [0001], disclosing zirconia) mill blank (see Hock at [0002], disclosing an oxide ceramic blank) for dental cutting and machining (see Hock at [0028], disclosing a dental structure), containing; a gallium compound (see Hock at the Table at [0018], disclosing 0-1% by weight gallium), wherein an amount of an yttrium compound is 6.9 to 12.5 wt.% in terms of yttria (see Hock at the Table at [0018], disclosing 1-7% by weight yttrium oxide, which overlaps with the claimed range.) In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05), and an amount of zirconia is within a range of 85 to 93 wt.% (see Hock at the Table at [0018], disclosing 90-98% by weight zirconia, which overlaps with the claimed range.).
Regarding claim 2, Hock makes obvious an amount of the gallium compound is within a range of 0.20 wt.% to 1.50 wt.% in terms of gallium oxide (see Hock at the Table at [0018], disclosing 0-1% by weight of one of the oxides of ... gallium, which overlaps with the claimed range.).
Regarding claim 7, while Hock does not explicitly disclose wherein; in a case in which a sintered body prepared by sintering at 1560 °C for a sintering time of 24 minutes is defined as a 24 minutes sintered body and a sintered body prepared by sintering at 1560 °C for a sintering time of 427 minutes is defined as a 427 minutes sintered body, a relationship of a contrast ratio of a sample having a thickness of 1 mm between the 24 minutes sintered body and the 427 minutes sintered body satisfies the following formula (1): Formula (1): (Contrast ratio of 24 minutes sintered body) / (Contrast ratio of 427 minutes sintered body) x 100 ≤ 102 (%), this is a property which depends upon the composition, and the composition of Hock is substantially identical to the instantly composition as detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above such that this property would be inherently present. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established (see MPEP 2112.01(I) first paragraph).
Regarding claim 10, while Hock does not explicitly disclose wherein; in a case in which a sintered body prepared by sintering at 1560 °C for a sintering time of 6.4 minutes is defined as a 6.4 minutes sintered body and a sintered body prepared by sintering at 1560 °C for a sintering time of 427 minutes is defined as a 427 minutes sintered body, a relationship of a contrast ratio of a sample having a thickness of 1 mm between the 6.4 minutes sintered body and the 427 minutes sintered body satisfies the following formula (2):Formula (2): (Contrast ratio of 6.4 minutes sintered body) / (Contrast ratio of 427 minutes sintered body) x 100 ≤ 102 (%), this is a property which depends upon the composition, and the composition of Hock is substantially identical to the instantly composition as detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above such that this property would be inherently present.
Regarding claim 18, while Hock does not explicitly disclose wherein; in a case in which a sintered body prepared by sintering at 1560 °C for a sintering time of 24 minutes is defined as a 24 minutes sintered body and a sintered body prepared by sintering at 1560 °C for a sintering time of 427 minutes is defined as a 427 minutes sintered body, a relationship of a contrast ratio of a sample having a thickness of 1 mm between the 24 minutes sintered body and the 427 minutes sintered body satisfies the following formula (1):Formula (1): (Contrast ratio of 24 minutes sintered body) / (Contrast ratio of 427 minutes sintered body) x 100 ≤ 102 (%), this is a property which depends upon the composition, and the composition of Hock is substantially identical to the instantly composition as detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above such that this property would be inherently present.
Regarding claim 19, while Hock does not explicitly disclose wherein; in a case in which a sintered body prepared by sintering at 1560 °C for a sintering time of 6.4 minutes is defined as a 6.4 minutes sintered body and a sintered body prepared by sintering at 1560 °C for a sintering time of 427 minutes is defined as a 427 minutes sintered body, a relationship of a contrast ratio of a sample having a thickness of 1 mm between the 6.4 minutes sintered body and the 427 minutes sintered body satisfies the following formula (2):Formula (2): (Contrast ratio of 6.4 minutes sintered body) / (Contrast ratio of 427 minutes sintered body) x 100 ≤ 102 (%), this is a property which depends upon the composition, and the composition of Hock is substantially identical to the instantly composition as detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above such that this property would be inherently present.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the Remarks, filed 06/30/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-2, 7, 10, and 18-19 under 103 in view of Mayr et al. (US20180127317) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. At pages 5-6 of the Remarks, Applicant argues that Mayr is discloses a printing sol which contains a large amount of polymer and is not a zirconia mill blank, which is convincing. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hock as detailed above.
Conclusion
CAMERON K MILLER
Examiner
Art Unit 1731
/CAMERON K MILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1731