DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of applicant’s amendment filed December 5, 2025. Claims 1-22 are pending with claims 3 and 12 being previously withdrawn. An action on the merits is as follows.
Objection to claim 20 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims have been considered and are addressed below.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: this claim includes the limitation “compensation roping members relative to the outer surface of the compensation sheaves”. However there is a lack of antecedent basis for “the outer surface” of multiple compensation sheaves. This limitation should be changed to state “compensation roping members relative to an outer surface of the compensation sheaves”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-11 and 13-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato et al. (US 12,195,304 B2) in view of Helenius et al. (US 2018/0319627 A1).
Claims 1 and 10: Kato et al. discloses a monitoring device and method for monitoring an elevator roping assembly, including an elevator compensation assembly (column 22 lines 56-63), where a detector (load weighing device 12) detects vibration generated in a roping (main rope 4), including a compensation roping of elevator compensation assembly, due to a broken portion (4c) of the compensation roping coming into contact with a rope guide (19) when passing through at least one sheave (column 6 lines 17-27). The broken portion of the compensation roping is a part of the compensation roping which protrudes from a surface of the compensation roping and comes into contact with the rope guide (19) (column 5 lines 36-44) when it moves out of a predetermined position on an outer surface of the at least one sheave in a direction that is outward of the outer surface, as shown in FIG. 6. Therefore the detector detects whether compensation roping moves out of a predetermined position on an outer surface of a sheave in a direction that is outward of the outer surface. A controller limits elevator movement (stops a car 1 at a nearest floor) based on an indication from the detector determining that the compensation roping has moved out of the predetermined position (column 11 lines 6-9). This reference fails to disclose the compensation roping to follow a path defined by compensation sheaves that are supported as part of a tie down mechanism, the predetermined position to be an outer surface of the compensation sheaves, and at least one detector to be associated with each of the compensation sheaves at the tie down mechanism.
However Helenius et al. teaches a monitoring device and method for monitoring an elevator compensation assembly, where a roping member is shown in Fig. 2 to be a compensation roping that follows a path defined by compensation sheaves (rope wheel 3e1, 3e2) that are supported as part of a tie down mechanism (rope wheel arrangement 3e), as shown in Fig. 17.
Given the teachings of Helenius et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the monitoring device and method disclosed in Kato et al. with providing the compensation roping to follow a path defined by compensation sheaves that are supported as part of a tie down mechanism, and the predetermined position to be an outer surface of the compensation sheaves. It would have further been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide at least one detector to be associated with each of the compensation sheaves at the tie down mechanism, since it has been held that a mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Doing so would help distribute lifting forces among different roping members, thereby preserving a lifespan of the compensation assembly, while “detecting occurrence of a break of a wire or a strand with a simple configuration with high accuracy” as taught in Kato et al. (column 2 lines 4-7) for compensation roping at each compensation sheave.
Claims 2 and 11: Kato et al. modified by Helenius et al. discloses a monitoring device and method as stated above, where the compensation roping is disclosed in Kato et al. to not contact the rope guide when the compensation roping is in the predetermined position, and contacts the rope guide when the compensation roping moves out of the predetermined position (column 6 lines 41-47). The rope guide is shown in FIG. 6 to be situated near the predetermined position. This reference fails to disclose the detector to comprise a light source and a light sensor situated to sense light emitted from the light source toward the light sensor, such that the light sensor senses the light when the compensation roping is in a predetermined position and the detects when the compensation roping interrupts the light from reaching the light sensor when the compensation roping moves out of the predetermined position.
However Helenius et al. teaches a monitoring device and method for monitoring an elevator compensation assembly, where a mechanical means (sensing member 6) of monitoring device (rope position detector 4) is shown in Fig. 3 which detects whether roping (2) moves out of a predetermined position (page 4 paragraph [0062]). The monitoring device is described as a light curtain device in another embodiment (page 2 paragraph [0023]), where a light curtain sensing device includes at least one detector comprising a light source situated to sense light emitted from the light source toward the light sensor, as is recognized in the art. The light sensor then would sense the light when the roping is in a predetermined position and detect that the roping interrupts the light from reaching the light sensor when the roping moves out of the predetermined position.
Given the teachings of Helenius et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the monitoring device and method disclosed in Kato et al. with providing the monitoring device to be a light curtain monitoring device, where a detector comprises a light source and a light sensor situated to sense light emitted from the light source toward the light sensor. The light sensor then would sense the light when the compensation roping is in a predetermined position and detects when the compensation roping interrupts the light from reaching the light sensor when the compensation roping moves out of the predetermined position. Doing so would provide a more accurate and immediate monitoring if any portion of the compensation roping moved out of the predetermined position.
Claims 4 and 13: Kato et al. modified by Helenius et al. discloses a monitoring device and method as stated above, where the controller is disclosed in Kato et al. to issue a command to stop an associated elevator at a nearest floor when the compensation roping is outside of the predetermined position (column 11 lines 6-9).
Claims 5 and 14: Kato et al. modified by Helenius et al. discloses a monitoring device and method corresponding to an elevator compensation assembly where the predetermined position includes a position of the compensation roping relative to the outer surface of the compensation sheaves, as stated above. The monitoring device is shown in FIG. 2 of Kato et al. along with a plurality of roping members (main rope 4). The predetermined position then includes a position of each of a plurality of compensation roping members relative to the outer surface of the compensation sheaves, and the detector detects when any of the plurality of compensation roping members moves radially outward of the predetermined position relative to the outer surface of the compensation sheaves to contact the rope guide (column 5 lines 36-44), as can be seen from FIG. 6.
Claims 6 and 15: Kato et al. modified by Helenius et al. discloses an elevator compensation assembly and method as stated above, where each compensation sheave includes a plurality of grooves formed in the outer surface, and a portion of each of the plurality of compensation roping members is received in a corresponding one of the plurality of grooves when the plurality of compensation roping members are in the predetermined positions, as shown in FIG. 6 of in Kato et al. (column 5 lines 31-35). The detector detects when any of the plurality of compensation roping members is radially outside of the corresponding one of the plurality grooves, as can be seen from FIG. 6.
Claim 7: Kato et al. modified by Helenius et al. discloses a compensation assembly as stated above, where an elevator system is shown in Fig. 2 of Helenius et al. to comprise the elevator compensation assembly including an elevator car (1), a counterweight (7), a traction roping (2) suspending the elevator car and counterweight, a machine including a traction sheave (rope wheel arrangement 3a) that selectively causes movement of the traction roping to control movement of the elevator car, as is recognized in the art. The plurality of compensation roping members (2) are further shown to be suspended beneath the elevator car and the counterweight.
Claim 8: Kato et al. modified by Helenius et al. discloses a compensation assembly where the controller limits movement of the elevator car when the compensation roping is outside of the predetermined position, as stated above. An elevator drive would further be included that controls operation of the machine such that the controller provides an indication to the elevator drive to limit movement of the elevator car, as is recognized in the art.
Claim 9: Kato et al. modified by Helenius et al. discloses a compensation assembly as stated above, where the controller controls operation of the machine, as is recognized in the art.
Claims 16 and 18: Kato et al. modified by Helenius et al. discloses a monitoring device and method as stated above, where the limiting elevator movement is disclosed in Kato et al. to include reducing a speed of an elevator car before stopping (column 14 line 61 through column 15 line 4), and stopping the elevator car at the nearest floor (column 11 lines 6-9).
Claims 17 and 19: Kato et al. modified by Helenius et al. discloses a monitoring device and method, where at least one detector is associated with each of the compensation sheaves, as stated above. The compensation sheaves have a first end and a second end opposite the first end, with the outer surface extending from the first end to the second end, as shown in FIG. 6 of Kato et al. The rope guide is shown to be radially outward of the at least one sheave such that the compensation roping does not contact the rope guide when the compensation roping is in the predetermined position, and contacts the rope guide when the compensation roping moves out of the predetermined position (column 6 lines 41-47). This reference fails to disclose the detector to comprise a light source and a light sensor radially outward of each compensation sheave, the detecting to comprise positioning the light source radially outward of the outer surface at one of the first end and second end, positioning the light sensor radially outward of the outer surface at the other of the first end and second end that faces the light source, such that light is emitted from the light source toward the light sensor and the compensation roping is detected to move radially outward of the predetermined position on the outer surface and interrupt the light from reaching the light sensor.
However Helenius et al. teaches a monitoring device and method for monitoring an elevator compensation assembly, where a mechanical means (sensing member 6) of monitoring device (rope position detector 4) is shown in Fig. 3 which detects whether roping (2) moves out of a predetermined position (page 4 paragraph [0062]). The monitoring device is described as a light curtain device in another embodiment (page 2 paragraph [0023]), where a light curtain sensing device includes a light source and a light sensor radially outward of the at least one sheave. The light source then would be positioned radially outward of the outer surface at one of a first end and second end of at least one sheave, and the light sensor would be positioned radially outward of the outer surface at the other of the first end and second end that faces the light source, such that light is emitted from the light source toward the light sensor and the compensation roping is detected to move radially outward of the predetermined position on the outer surface and interrupt the light from reaching the light sensor, as is recognized in the art.
Given the teachings of Helenius et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the monitoring device and method disclosed in Kato et al. with providing the detector to comprise a light source and a light sensor radially outward of each compensation sheave, and the detecting to comprise positioning the light source radially outward of the outer surface at one of the first end and second end, and positioning the light sensor radially outward of the outer surface at the other of the first end and second end that faces the light source. Light then would be emitted from the light source toward the light sensor and detect when the compensation roping moves radially outward of the predetermined position on the outer surface and interrupt the light from reaching the light sensor. Doing so would provide a more accurate and immediate monitoring if any portion of the compensation roping moved out of the predetermined position.
Claim 20: Kato et al. modified by Helenius et al. discloses a method where a detector is associated with each compensation sheave at the tiedown mechanism, as stated above. The compensation sheaves are shown in Fig. 17 of Helenius et al. to comprise a first compensation sheave (3e1) and a second compensation sheave (3e2) that are located within the tie down mechanism. Fig. 2 of Helenius et al. shows a traction roping suspending the elevator car (1) and counterweight (7), and a machine including a traction sheave that selectively causes movement of the traction roping to control movement of the elevator car, and wherein the compensation roping is suspended beneath the elevator car and the counterweight. The at least one detector then comprises a first detector that detects when the compensation roping moves radially outward of the predetermined position relative to the outer surface of the first compensation sheave and a second detector that detects when the compensation roping moves radially outward of the predetermined position relative to the outer surface of the second compensation sheave
Claims 21 and 22: Kato et al. modified by Helenius et al. discloses a method
and elevator system as stated above, where one end of the traction roping is shown in Fig. 2 of Helenius et al. to be connected to the elevator car and an opposite end of the traction roping is connected to a top of the counterweight. One end of the compensation roping is further shown to be connected to the elevator car and an opposite end of the compensation roping is connected to a bottom of the counterweight.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 5, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states on pages 1-2 of the response that “Helenius does not disclose that a detector is associated with each compensation sheave at a tie down mechanism” and “there is no disclosure or suggestion of associating a detector with each compensation sheave at a tie down mechanism as defined in claims 1 and 10”. However the primary reference of Kato et al. was shown to disclose a detector to be associated with a compensation assembly (column 22 lines 56-63). A compensation assembly was shown in Figs. 2 and 17 of Helenius et al. to include a compensation rope and multiple compensation sheaves (3e1, 3e2) as part of a tie down mechanism (3e). One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Therefore the teachings of Helenius et al. combined with the disclosure of Kato et al. properly renders obvious applicant’s invention as required by claims 1 and 10.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Christopher Uhlir/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619 January 13, 2026