Status
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Amendments and Arguments file 21 November 2025. As directed by Applicant, only claim 53 is amended. No new claims are added or cancelled Thus, claims 42-58 and 60- 62 are pending. This is a Final Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
(Examiner’s Note: Strikethrough indicates that the limitation is not taught by the reference.)
Claim(s) 53, 54, 55, 57, 61 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Sbar (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/ 0302122) in view of Beteille (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2007/ 0141360).
Regarding claim 53, Sbar discloses a method of ablating a portion of (¶0032) in an electrochromic (¶0003, electrochromic) device, the method comprising:
(a) ; and
(b) rasterizing the laser focus spot (¶0064) once over each rasterizing region of a plurality of rasterizing regions (Sbar, ¶0054, “the repair unit 52 may be operated to ablate portions of the EC device to repair the defect”) to ablate an ablation area including only the single defect. (Sbar, Fig. 4, ¶0032, 0070,0071, “ablating laser beam…to remove portions of the electrochromic at or surrounding the defect”, “remove material…by…moving the beam in raster or other systematic manner”.
Now, Sbar does not precisely disclose “locating a laser focus at a first position at or near a center of a single defect of the electrochromic device”.
However, Beteille, in his device for removing defects in an electrochromic device, teaches “locating a laser focus at a first position at or near a center of a single defect of the electrochromic device” (Beteille, “a phase of pinpointing the defect using at least a first laser beam pulse” ¶0027, “The defect is then pinpointed using a train of laser pulses of low power”, ¶0058). After this, in Beteille, “ablation of the defect consists in moving the laser beam so as to follow approximately the periphery of the defect (Beteille, ¶¶0033, 0059). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Sbar with the teachings of Beteille, “to locate a laser focus …at or near a center of a single defect”, in order to locate the defect precisely with the laser, to then be able to surround it in order to ablate and remove it, as Sbar also does, surrounding the defect to remove it, and thus this would be a using a conventional method in a conventional way to achieve the expected result of focusing the laser beam in the proper place.
Regarding claim 54, Sbar in view of Beteille teaches all the limitations of claim 53, as above, and further teaches a method wherein at least two of the plurality of rasterizing regions are overlapping (Sbar, fig. 7, one section “overlapping” encompassing both defects).
Regarding claim 55, Sbar in view of Beteille teaches all the limitations of claim 54, as above, and further teaches a method wherein overlapping the laser focus during rasterizing in one or more overlapping regions (¶0064, “path 136 to be followed by a beam emitted from a laser device to ablate portions of the electrochromic device”; ¶0059 “small overlap between adjacent path views; ¶0080, laser device may be controlled to provide a predetermined amount of overlap of laser pulses”).
Regarding claim 57, Sbar in view of Beteille teaches all the limitations of claim 53, as above, and further teaches a method wherein the ablation area has a rectangular shape (Sbar, fig. 7, element 136 is “rectangular”, this would be incorporated into at least one of the ablation areas) or a circular shape (this limitation is in the alternative).
Regarding claim 60, Sbar in view of Beteille teaches all the limitations of claim 59, as above, but does not further teach a method wherein the laser spot is in a rectangular shape. However, Sbar does teach that a single pulse can ablate the entire area (¶0064, In one embodiment, the path 136 may correspond to a spot region …such that the beam emitted by the laser is not moved relative when a laser repair is performed. For example, the laser device may be controlled to emit a single pulse to ablate a region of the electrochromic device including the defect”) and Sbar also teaches to have a rectangular ablation area (Sbar, fig. 7, element 136, ¶0059, rectangular beam path.). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, to modify Sbar and to have the spot as a rectangular spot, in order to ablate the whole area quickly and efficiently with one pulse ablation and to cover the desired area, such as in fig. 7.
Regarding claim 61, Sbar in view of Beteille teaches all the limitations of claim 53, as above, and further teaches a method wherein there is an overlap of the laser focus during rasterizing (Sbar, ¶0071, moving the beam in raster; and ¶0059 describes a “search path” can have an “overlap” between adjacent sections”).
Claims 56, 58 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Sbar (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/ 0302122) in view of Beteille (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2007/ 0141360) and further in view of Im (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2010/0032586).
Regarding claim 56, Sbar in view of Beteille teaches all the limitations of claim 53, as above, but does not further teach specifically a method wherein the ablation area has a cross shape. Sbar does disclose that the beam “desirably” should be a “closed figure, such as a circle, oval, or polygon, around the defect” (so other shapes are contemplated (Sbar, ¶0070). Im teaches conventional ablating using different patterns, including cross (Im, ¶0055, fig. 7a). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time of the invention to modify Sbar with the teaching of Im, to use such a claimed conventional pattern, in order to better ablate the material according to the defect and be as specific and as efficient using a proper shape for ablation.
Regarding claim 58, Sbar in view of Beteille teaches all the limitations of claim 53, as above, but does not further teach a method wherein the ablation area has a sawtooth pattern. However, Sbar does teach various ways to ablate through or around the defect, including though the defect in “raster or other systematic manner” (¶0070, 0071). Im teaches conventional ablating using different patterns, including sawtooth (Im, ¶0055, fig. 7a). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time of the invention to modify Sbar with the teaching of Im, to use such a claimed conventional pattern, in order to better ablate the material according to the defect and be as specific and as efficient using a proper shape for ablation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 42-52, and 62 are allowed.
Applicant’s arguments are persuasive (Remarks, p. 6-7). A Terminal Disclaimer to U.S. Patent 10,583,523 was previously filed and approved.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 53, filed 21 November 2025, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Specifically, a new reference was combined.
No other independent arguments are made.
Please contact examiner regarding any questions or concerns.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see previously filed forms PTO-892.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAWRENCE H SAMUELS/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761