DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This office action is in reply to the request for continued examination filed on July 15, 2026. Claims 1, 15 and 23 have been amended. No additional claims have been added. No further claims have been cancelled. Claim interpretation previously made under 35 USC 112(f) is maintained. In view of the amendment to independent claims 1, 15 and 23, the previous rejection has been removed, however a new rejection is provided herewith and is discussed in greater detail below. Claims 1, 2, 5-11 and 13-23 are currently pending and have been fully examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 6, 8, 9, 14-17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over May et al. (2017/0071640, i.e. the embodiment as described in the last sentence of paragraph 33 and as shown in Figures 1-4) in view of Goss (2018/0003241) and Lukes (11215215).
In reference to claim 1, May et al. disclose a fastener system (10) comprising:
a fastener (14) comprising a head (52), wherein a recess (56) is provided in the head and comprises a configuration of lobes (58) and flutes (60) having vertical sidewalls (Figure 3), wherein the recess comprises a top (54, Figure 3); and
a non-deformable (i.e. because it can be made from “rigid materials”, see paragraph 21) bit (12) configured to contact a profile on the top of the recess along a plurality of continuous lines of contact (Note; the plurality of lines of contact extend continuously because there is no separation between any of the “one of the plurality of lines of contact” and any other of the “another one of the plurality of lines of contact”, see figure below and also see paragraph 31 disclosing that, “In some embodiments, fully contacting engagement of the entire surface of drive edge 34 with the interface surface of the socket of bone screw 14 provides a configuration that resists and/or prevents toggle between driver 12 and bone screw 14. In some embodiments, this configuration provides zero toggle and a robust drive interface”. Thus, the “fully contacting engagement… with the interface surface of the socket of bone screw 14” further supports how there is no separation between the bit and the recess) along both the lobes and the flutes of the recess of the fastener, wherein the plurality of lines of contact extend continuously along the lobes and the flutes of the recess to provide frictional adhesion (i.e. because of the “fully contacting engagement”) between the bit and the fastener (paragraph 31) between the bit and the fastener (see Figures 3 and 4 and further note the definition of the term “toggle” is defined according to www.merriam-webster.com as being, “to switch between two different options”. Thus, if there is zero toggle that means that there is zero switching or moving between the bit and the recess and thus would not have any separation therebetween, see paragraph 31 and Figures 1-4).
May et al. do not specifically disclose that the plurality of lines of contact are:
a plurality of curvilinear lines of contact;
wherein a profile of the bit is configured to contact a profile on the top of the recess along the plurality of curvilinear and continuous lines of contact; and
wherein a profile of the bit matches a configuration of the recess.
May et al. do teach that engagement portion (22) is “configured to mate with a socket…of screw 14” (see paragraph 28) thereby suggesting that depending on the shape/profile of the recess/socket of the fastener, the engagement portion (22) would be formed with a similar shape/profile that allows it to “mate” or engage or contact a profile on the top of the recess with the recess/socket (see paragraphs 27 and 28).
Furthermore, Goss teaches that it is old and well known in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a drive system (Figures 23 and 24) including a fastener (i.e. at 10 and is shown on the left in Figures 23 and 24 below) and a bit (i.e. at 20 and is shown on the right in Figures 23 and 24 and note Figure 24 has mislabeled the bit with numeral “10”);
wherein a profile (i.e. formed from walls 18 and the outer surface of lobes 12/14. The examiner also notes that the outer surface of lobes 12/14 are curved, see Figure 5 for clearly showing the curvature at the outer surface of “20”. Thus, in both of the embodiments of Figures 23 and 24, the outer surface of the lobes will include a curvilinear lines of contact) of the bit is configured to contact a profile on the top of the recess along a plurality of curvilinear and continuous lines of contact (see outline of the walls on the right in Figures 23 and 24 below); and
wherein the walls can be formed with a flat surface or a straight surface (i.e. at 18, see Figure 23, paragraphs 33 and 45 and also note that flat or straight wall surfaces [18] are similar to the flat or straight wall surfaces [i.e. 44 and 44a] of May et al., see Figure 2) or the walls (i.e. at 18 in Figure 24) can be formed with a semi-circular/curvilinear surface (i.e. at 40, “convex circular”, paragraph 46) thereby teaching that these two surfaces (e.g. flat and curved) are equivalent to one another.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the straight or flat wall surfaces of the bit, of May et al., with the known technique of forming a bit with the equivalent curvilinear wall surfaces, as taught by Goss, and the results would have been predictable. In this situation, one could provide a more advantageous and versatile device including a bit that has a shape that more effectively corresponds the shape of the recess of the fastener (paragraph 40) and/or that maximizes the surface contact pattern or area at typical bit-recess reaction (drive) torque values, thereby tending to minimize bit-recess surface contact stresses, coating damage, recess ream and premature bit fatigue failure (paragraph 8).
In addition, Lukes teaches that it is old and well known in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a profile (see profile of bit 20 in Figures 3 and 4) of a bit (20) such that it matches (see Column 5, Line 67-Column 6, Line 1 for disclosing that, “torque transmission driver 20 is shown engaging corresponding recesses of similar shape”, see Column 9, Lines 7-23 for disclosing that, “the second end 64 is approximately the same as the fastener size and shape at the bottom plane P” and see Figures 3 and 8 showing the similar shapes) a configuration (see configuration/shape of recess 42 in Figure 1a or a configuration/shape of recess 44 in Figure 1b or a configuration/shape of recess 46 in Figure 1c) of a recess (e.g. one of recesses 42 or 44 or 46, Figures 1a-1c).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the profile of the bit and the recess of the fastener, of May et al., with the known technique of providing the profile of a bit that matches the configuration/shape of a recess of a fastener, as taught by Lukes, and the results would have been predictable. In this situation, one could provide a more advantageous and versatile device that can more effectively drive more than one size of fastener (Column 6, Lines 13-14) or that provides permits “good application of torque from the driver bit to the fastener” (Column 9, Lines 24-28).
In reference to claims 5 and 19, Goss discloses that each line of contact is curvilinear (paragraph 46 and Figures 5 and 24).
In reference to claims 6 and 20, May et al. disclose that each line of contact extends not only across an end (i.e. an inner end of lobes 58) of one of the lobes but also across and along a side (i.e. at a left side and/or a right side) of said one of the lobes going toward adjacent flutes (60, see Figure 4).
In reference to claim 8, May et al. disclose that the recess of the fastener comprises six lobes and six flutes (Figure 3). The examiner also notes that while May et al. includes additional lobes and flutes, it must be noted that May et al. still disclose the invention as claimed. The fact that it discloses additional structure (i.e. additional lobes and flutes) not claimed is irrelevant.
In reference to claim 9, May et al. disclose that the recess of the fastener comprises five lobes and five flutes (Figure 3). The examiner also notes that while May et al. includes additional lobes and flutes, it must be noted that May et al. still disclose the invention as claimed. The fact that it discloses additional structure (i.e. additional lobes and flutes) not claimed is irrelevant.
In reference to claim 14, modified May et al. disclose that the bit is configured to contact the top of the recess along the plurality of lines of contact along both the lobes and the flutes of the recess of the fastener (Figure 4), wherein each line of contact is curvilinear (as previously taught by Goss), and wherein each line of contact extends not only across an end (i.e. an inner end of lobes 58 of modified May et al.) of one of the lobes but also across and along a side (i.e. at a left side and/or a right side of modified May et al.) of said one of the lobes going toward adjacent flutes (60, see Figure 4).
In reference to claim 15, May et al. disclose a fastener system (10) comprising:
a fastener (14) comprising a head (52), wherein a recess (56) is provided in the head and comprises a configuration of lobes (58) and flutes (60) having vertical sidewalls (Figure 3), wherein the recess comprises a top (54, Figure 3); and
a non-deformable (i.e. because it can be made from “rigid materials”, see paragraph 21) bit (12) configured to contact a profile on the top of the recess along a plurality of continuous lines of contact (Note; the plurality of lines of contact extend continuously because there is no separation between any of the “one of the plurality of lines of contact” and any other of the “another one of the plurality of lines of contact”, see figure below and also see paragraph 31 disclosing that, “In some embodiments, fully contacting engagement of the entire surface of drive edge 34 with the interface surface of the socket of bone screw 14 provides a configuration that resists and/or prevents toggle between driver 12 and bone screw 14. In some embodiments, this configuration provides zero toggle and a robust drive interface”. Thus, the “fully contacting engagement… with the interface surface of the socket of bone screw 14” further supports how there is no separation between the bit and the recess) along both the lobes and the flutes of the recess of the fastener (Again, note the definition of the term “toggle” is defined according to www.merriam-webster.com as being, “to switch between two different options”. Thus, if there is zero toggle that means that there is zero switching or moving between the bit and the recess and thus would not have any separation therebetween, see paragraph 31 and Figures 1-4), wherein the plurality lines of contact provides frictional adhesion (i.e. because of the “fully contacting engagement”) between the bit and the fastener (paragraph 31).
May et al. do not specifically disclose that the plurality of lines of contact are:
a plurality of curvilinear lines of contact;
wherein a profile of the bit is configured to contact a profile on the top of the recess along the plurality of curvilinear and continuous lines of contact; and
wherein a profile of the bit matches a configuration of the recess.
May et al. do teach that engagement portion (22) is “configured to mate with a socket…of screw 14” (see paragraph 28) thereby suggesting that depending on the shape/profile of the recess/socket of the fastener, the engagement portion (22) would be formed with a similar shape/profile that allows it to “mate” or engage or contact a profile on the top of the recess with the recess/socket (see paragraphs 27 and 28).
Furthermore, Goss teaches that it is old and well known in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a drive system (Figures 23 and 24) including a fastener (i.e. at 10 and is shown on the left in Figures 23 and 24 below) and a bit (i.e. at 20 and is shown on the right in Figures 23 and 24 and note Figure 24 has mislabeled the bit with numeral “10”);
wherein a profile (i.e. formed from walls 18 and the outer surface of lobes 12/14. The examiner also notes that the outer surface of lobes 12/14 are curved, see Figure 5 for clearly showing the curvature at the outer surface of “20”. Thus, in both of the embodiments of Figures 23 and 24, the outer surface of the lobes will include a curvilinear lines of contact) of the bit is configured to contact a profile on the top of the recess along a plurality of curvilinear and continuous lines of contact (see outline of the walls on the right in Figures 23 and 24 below); and
wherein the walls can be formed with a flat surface or a straight surface (i.e. at 18, see Figure 23, paragraphs 33 and 45 and also note that flat or straight wall surfaces [18] are similar to the flat or straight wall surfaces [i.e. 44 and 44a] of May et al., see Figure 2) or the walls (i.e. at 18 in Figure 24) can be formed with a semi-circular/curvilinear surface (i.e. at 40, “convex circular”, paragraph 46) thereby teaching that these two surfaces (e.g. flat and curved) are equivalent to one another.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the straight or flat wall surfaces of the bit, of May et al., with the known technique of forming a bit with the equivalent curvilinear wall surfaces, as taught by Goss, and the results would have been predictable. In this situation, one could provide a more advantageous and versatile device including a bit that has a shape that more effectively corresponds the shape of the recess of the fastener (paragraph 40) and/or that maximizes the surface contact pattern or area at typical bit-recess reaction (drive) torque values, thereby tending to minimize bit-recess surface contact stresses, coating damage, recess ream and premature bit fatigue failure (paragraph 8).
In addition, Lukes teaches that it is old and well known in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a profile (see profile of bit 20 in Figures 3 and 4) of a bit (20) such that it matches (see Column 5, Line 67-Column 6, Line 1 for disclosing that, “torque transmission driver 20 is shown engaging corresponding recesses of similar shape”, see Column 9, Lines 7-23 for disclosing that, “the second end 64 is approximately the same as the fastener size and shape at the bottom plane P” and see Figures 3 and 8 showing the similar shapes) a configuration (see configuration/shape of recess 42 in Figure 1a or a configuration/shape of recess 44 in Figure 1b or a configuration/shape of recess 46 in Figure 1c) of a recess (e.g. one of recesses 42 or 44 or 46, Figures 1a-1c).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the profile of the bit and the recess of the fastener, of May et al., with the known technique of providing the profile of a bit that matches the configuration/shape of a recess of a fastener, as taught by Lukes, and the results would have been predictable. In this situation, one could provide a more advantageous and versatile device that can more effectively drive more than one size of fastener (Column 6, Lines 13-14) or that provides permits “good application of torque from the driver bit to the fastener” (Column 9, Lines 24-28).
In further reference to claim 15, May et al. also lack,
an arc width of the lobe and an arc of the flute are equal at recess involute pitch radius of the recess, and
the involute pitch radius is a radius at which a height of the lobe from the involute pitch radius to circumscribed diameter of the recess is equal to a depth of the flute from the involute pitch radius to inscribed diameter of the recess.
However, Goss also teaches that it is old and well known in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a drive system (see Abstract, paragraphs 38-40 and Figures 1 and 8-9) comprising;
an arc width (Fb) of a lobe (Figure 9) and an arc (Eb) of a flute are equal at recess involute pitch radius (P) of the recess (paragraph 39), and
wherein the involute pitch radius is a radius at which a height (Fa) of the lobe from the involute pitch radius to circumscribed diameter (at A in Figure 1) of the recess is equal to a depth (Ea) of the flute from the involute pitch radius to inscribed diameter (at B in Figure 1) of the recess (note; Fa=0.0086 and Ea=0.0086 in paragraph 39).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the drive system, of May et al., with the known technique of providing a drive system having the arc width of a lobe and the arc of a flute being equal at recess involute pitch radius of the recess and wherein the involute pitch radius is a radius at which a height of the lobe from the involute pitch radius to circumscribed diameter of the recess is equal to a depth of the flute from the involute pitch radius to inscribed diameter of the recess, as taught by Goss, and the results would have been predictable. In this situation, one could provide a more advantageous and versatile drive system having a blend radius that does not get washed away and which reduces the chance of chipping of a heading tool and increases the bit area at the lobes (paragraph 38).
In reference to claim 16, May et al. disclose that the plurality of lines of contact of the non-deformable bit extend continuously along the lobes and the flutes of the recess (i.e. because of the “fully contacting engagement”) between the bit and the fastener (paragraph 31).
In reference to claim 17, May et al. disclose that the plurality of lines of contact of the non-deformable bit continuously engage the vertical sidewalls of the lobes and the flutes of the recess to provide frictional adhesion (i.e. because of the “fully contacting engagement”) between the bit and the fastener (paragraph 31).
Claims 2, 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over May et al. (2017/0071640) in view of Goss (2018/0003241), Lukes (11215215) and Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art2 (hereafter referred to as AAPA2, see pages 14-16 and Figures 7-8 and 14-15).
In reference to claims 2 and 18, May et al. disclose the claimed invention as previously mentioned above, but lack,
a bit cutter which matches the configuration of the recess in the fastener, wherein the bit cutter comprises a taper and a profile, wherein the profile progresses along the taper.
However, AAPA2 teaches that it is old and well known in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a bit cutter (at 40b, see Figures 14 and 15) which matches the configuration of the recess in the fastener (see last paragraph on page 15 for disclosing that the, “bit cutter is used to form a profile on a bit where the bit cutter matches the configuration of a recess in a corresponding fastener…”), wherein the bit cutter comprises a taper and a profile, wherein the profile progresses along the taper (see last paragraph on page 15 for disclosing that, “The bit cutter profile preferably progresses along a taper…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the device, of May et al., with the known technique of forming a profile on a bit by using a cutter in order to match a configuration of a fastener recess, wherein the cutter includes a taper and a profile that progresses along the taper, as taught by AAPA2, and the results would have been predictable. In this situation, one could provide a more advantageous and versatile device having a cutter which ensures that all the lobes and flutes of a bit are the same size and which match with all the lobes and flutes in a fastener recess thereby increasing the frictional adhesion or “stick fit” between the bit and the fastener thereby preventing any unwanted disconnection during normal operation (see pages 14-16).
In reference to claim 13, AAPA2 discloses that a cross-sectional configuration diameter of bit (26b) changes along a tapered cutter path (see tapered flute and lobe portions on the end of bit 26b in Figure 15 [and in the figure below] and also see last paragraph on page 15 for disclosing that, “The bit cutter profile preferably progresses along a taper…”).
Claim 7, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over May et al. (2017/0071640) in view of Goss (2018/0003241), Lukes (11215215) and Ross (2015/0104271).
In reference to claim 7, May et al. disclose the claimed invention as previously mentioned above, but lack,
having the flutes of the recess being deeper than the lobes.
However, Ross teaches that it is old and well known in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a fastener (120) with flutes (136) of a recess (128) being deeper than lobes (134, see Paragraphs 45 and 69).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the flutes and lobes, of May et al., with the known technique of providing flutes of a recess that are deeper than the lobes, as taught by Ross, and the results would have been predictable. In this situation, one could provide a more advantageous and versatile fastener having extra room for receiving a coating, such as zinc-flake coating thereby providing a fastener with more favorable tolerances (paragraph 69).
Claims 10, 11 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over May et al. (2017/0071640) in view of Goss (2018/0003241), Lukes (11215215) and Chang (2009/0129887).
In reference to claims 10 and 21, May et al. disclose the claimed invention as previously mentioned above, but lack,
the recess of the fastener has a middle, and comprises a post at the middle of the recess which is configured to provide tamper-resistance.
However, Chang teaches that it is old and well known in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a drive system (Figure 3) including a fastener (1) having a recess (111) and a middle, and comprises a post (see figure below) at the middle of the recess which is configured to provide tamper-resistance (see paragraphs 3 and 19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the fastener, of May et al., with the known technique of providing a tamper-resistance fastener having a post at the middle of the recess, as taught by Chang, and the results would have been predictable. In this situation, one could provide a more advantageous and versatile fastener having improved theft protection that prevents unauthorized persons from gaining access to a piece of equipment or otherwise dissemble an object where such fasteners have been employed (paragraphs 3 and 19).
In reference to claims 11 and 22, Chang also discloses that a bit (2) comprises an end (211) having an opening (i.e. within 211, Figure 3), wherein the opening is configured to receive the post (see figure above) in the middle of the recess when the bit is engaged in the recess of the fastener (paragraph 19).
In reference to claim 23, May et al. disclose a fastener system (10) comprising:
a fastener (14) comprising a head (52), wherein a recess (56) is provided in the head and comprises a configuration of lobes (58) and flutes (60) having vertical sidewalls (Figure 3), wherein the recess comprises a top (54, Figure 3); and
a non-deformable (i.e. because it can be made from “rigid materials”, see paragraph 21) bit (12) configured to contact a profile on the top of the recess along a plurality of continuous lines of contact (Note; the plurality of lines of contact extend continuously because there is no separation between any of the “one of the plurality of lines of contact” and any other of the “another one of the plurality of lines of contact”, see figure below and also see paragraph 31 disclosing that, “In some embodiments, fully contacting engagement of the entire surface of drive edge 34 with the interface surface of the socket of bone screw 14 provides a configuration that resists and/or prevents toggle between driver 12 and bone screw 14. In some embodiments, this configuration provides zero toggle and a robust drive interface”. Thus, the “fully contacting engagement… with the interface surface of the socket of bone screw 14” further supports how there is no separation between the bit and the recess) along both the lobes and the flutes of the recess of the fastener, wherein the plurality of lines of contact extend continuously along the lobes and the flutes of the recess to provide frictional adhesion (i.e. because of the “fully contacting engagement”) between the bit and the fastener (paragraph 31) between the bit and the fastener (see Figures 3 and 4 and further note the definition of the term “toggle” is defined according to www.merriam-webster.com as being, “to switch between two different options”. Thus, if there is zero toggle that means that there is zero switching or moving between the bit and the recess and thus would not have any separation therebetween, see paragraph 31 and Figures 1-4).
May et al. do not specifically disclose that the plurality of lines of contact are:
a plurality of curvilinear lines of contact;
wherein a profile of the bit is configured to contact a profile on the top of the recess along the plurality of curvilinear and continuous lines of contact; and
wherein a profile of the bit matches a configuration of the recess.
May et al. do teach that engagement portion (22) is “configured to mate with a socket…of screw 14” (see paragraph 28) thereby suggesting that depending on the shape/profile of the recess/socket of the fastener, the engagement portion (22) would be formed with a similar shape/profile that allows it to “mate” or engage or contact a profile on the top of the recess with the recess/socket (see paragraphs 27 and 28).
Furthermore, Goss teaches that it is old and well known in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a drive system (Figures 23 and 24) including a fastener (i.e. at 10 and is shown on the left in Figures 23 and 24 below) and a bit (i.e. at 20 and is shown on the right in Figures 23 and 24 and note Figure 24 has mislabeled the bit with numeral “10”);
wherein a profile (i.e. formed from walls 18 and the outer surface of lobes 12/14. The examiner also notes that the outer surface of lobes 12/14 are curved, see Figure 5 for clearly showing the curvature at the outer surface of “20”. Thus, in both of the embodiments of Figures 23 and 24, the outer surface of the lobes will include a curvilinear lines of contact) of the bit is configured to contact a profile on the top of the recess along a plurality of curvilinear and continuous lines of contact (see outline of the walls on the right in Figures 23 and 24 below); and
wherein the walls can be formed with a flat surface or a straight surface (i.e. at 18, see Figure 23, paragraphs 33 and 45 and also note that flat or straight wall surfaces [18] are similar to the flat or straight wall surfaces [i.e. 44 and 44a] of May et al., see Figure 2) or the walls (i.e. at 18 in Figure 24) can be formed with a semi-circular/curvilinear surface (i.e. at 40, “convex circular”, paragraph 46) thereby teaching that these two surfaces (e.g. flat and curved) are equivalent to one another.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the straight or flat wall surfaces of the bit, of May et al., with the known technique of forming a bit with the equivalent curvilinear wall surfaces, as taught by Goss, and the results would have been predictable. In this situation, one could provide a more advantageous and versatile device including a bit that has a shape that more effectively corresponds the shape of the recess of the fastener (paragraph 40) and/or that maximizes the surface contact pattern or area at typical bit-recess reaction (drive) torque values, thereby tending to minimize bit-recess surface contact stresses, coating damage, recess ream and premature bit fatigue failure (paragraph 8).
In addition, Lukes teaches that it is old and well known in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a profile (see profile of bit 20 in Figures 3 and 4) of a bit (20) such that it matches (see Column 5, Line 67-Column 6, Line 1 for disclosing that, “torque transmission driver 20 is shown engaging corresponding recesses of similar shape”, see Column 9, Lines 7-23 for disclosing that, “the second end 64 is approximately the same as the fastener size and shape at the bottom plane P” and see Figures 3 and 8 showing the similar shapes) a configuration (see configuration/shape of recess 42 in Figure 1a or a configuration/shape of recess 44 in Figure 1b or a configuration/shape of recess 46 in Figure 1c) of a recess (e.g. one of recesses 42 or 44 or 46, Figures 1a-1c).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the profile of the bit and the recess of the fastener, of May et al., with the known technique of providing the profile of a bit that matches the configuration/shape of a recess of a fastener, as taught by Lukes, and the results would have been predictable. In this situation, one could provide a more advantageous and versatile device that can more effectively drive more than one size of fastener (Column 6, Lines 13-14) or that provides permits “good application of torque from the driver bit to the fastener” (Column 9, Lines 24-28).
In further reference to claim 23, May et al. also lack,
an arc width of the lobe and an arc of the flute are equal at recess involute pitch radius of the recess, and
the involute pitch radius is a radius at which a height of the lobe from the involute pitch radius to circumscribed diameter of the recess is equal to a depth of the flute from the involute pitch radius to inscribed diameter of the recess.
However, Goss also teaches that it is old and well known in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a drive system (see Abstract, paragraphs 38-40 and Figures 1 and 8-9) comprising;
an arc width (Fb) of a lobe (Figure 9) and an arc (Eb) of a flute are equal at recess involute pitch radius (P) of the recess (paragraph 39), and
wherein the involute pitch radius is a radius at which a height (Fa) of the lobe from the involute pitch radius to circumscribed diameter (at A in Figure 1) of the recess is equal to a depth (Ea) of the flute from the involute pitch radius to inscribed diameter (at B in Figure 1) of the recess (note; Fa=0.0086 and Ea=0.0086 in paragraph 39).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the drive system, of May et al., with the known technique of providing a drive system having the arc width of a lobe and the arc of a flute being equal at recess involute pitch radius of the recess and wherein the involute pitch radius is a radius at which a height of the lobe from the involute pitch radius to circumscribed diameter of the recess is equal to a depth of the flute from the involute pitch radius to inscribed diameter of the recess, as taught by Goss, and the results would have been predictable. In this situation, one could provide a more advantageous and versatile drive system having a blend radius that does not get washed away and which reduces the chance of chipping of a heading tool and increases the bit area at the lobes (paragraph 38).
In further reference to claim 23, May et al. also lack,
the recess of the fastener has a middle, and comprises a post at the middle of the recess which is configured to provide tamper-resistance.
However, Chang teaches that it is old and well known in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a drive system (Figure 3) including a fastener (1) having a recess (111) and a middle, and comprises a post (see figure below) at the middle of the recess which is configured to provide tamper-resistance (see paragraphs 3 and 19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the fastener, of May et al., with the known technique of providing a tamper-resistance fastener having a post at the middle of the recess, as taught by Chang, and the results would have been predictable. In this situation, one could provide a more advantageous and versatile fastener having improved theft protection that prevents unauthorized persons from gaining access to a piece of equipment or otherwise dissemble an object where such fasteners have been employed (paragraphs 3 and 19).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument in Section D, on page 10 directed to the amendment of claims 1, 15 and 23 including that, “bit profile [that] matches a recess profile”, filed July 15, 2026, has been fully considered and is persuasive. The previous rejection of claims 1, 15 and 23 has been withdrawn.
The examiner notes that the other Applicant's arguments (i.e. in Sections A-C, E and F) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive as further discussed below.
Applicant contends that in Section, “A. Applicant's Successive Structural Amendments and the Office's Unchanged Articulated Rationale”.
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees with this statement. The examiner has provided clear and articulated reasons in the rejection above for each teaching and/or interpretation. These articulated reasons and/or interpretations have been changed throughout prosecution because various rejections have previously been provided, some of which including different references. The examiner recommends further defining the claims with additional structural limitations that are not taught or disclosed by the prior art. Since, all of the structural limitations of the claims have been met the examiner believes that the rejection is proper.
Applicant contends that in Section, “B. The Claims Recite Specific Contact-Interface Geometry, Not a Functional Result… A rejection that identifies references sharing a similar functional goal does not thereby establish that those references teach or suggest the specific geometric structure required to achieve it, and Applicant respectfully submits that this distinction has not been squarely addressed.”
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees with this statement. The examiner has not interpreted any functional goals in the references above such that they read on structural limitations of the claims but rather has clearly identified the structural elements in each reference, which read on the structural limitations of the claims and has provided proper motivation for each additional teaching reference. Thus, the argument above has been considered but is deemed unpersuasive.
Applicant contends that in Section, “C. May Requires an Offset, Localized-Interference Operating Principle That Is Incompatible With the Claimed Geometry…May's own disclosure establishes that driver 12 is a clearance-fit design, not a matched- profile design. May discloses that upon initial insertion, "there are gaps 21 between drive walls 24 of the bit 20 and the drive walls 14 of the recess 10" (May ¶36), and that after the bit is rotated, while the leading walls achieve full contact, the trailing walls of the bit remain "spaced away from corresponding drive walls 14 of the recess 10 to provide gaps 22" that are expressly described as remaining "constant while the bit 20 rotates" (May ¶¶ 36-37).”
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees with this statement. The examiner has reviewed the section above (allegedly in May’s disclosure) disclosing that, “there are gaps 21 between drive walls 24 of the bit 20 and the drive walls 14 of the recess 10”, supported in paragraphs 36-37, of May, but the examiner notes that these paragraphs are not from May’s disclosure but rather are from Goss. In the rejection above, Goss teaches that the walls (i.e. at 18 in Figure 24) of a bit can be formed with a straight/flat surface or with a semi-circular/curvilinear surface (i.e. at 40, “convex circular”, paragraph 46) thereby teaching that these two surfaces (e.g. flat and curved) are equivalent to one another. Thus, while the argument above has been considered, it does not factually apply to the rejection above. Since, all of the structural limitations of the claims have been met the examiner believes that the rejection is proper.
Applicant contends that in Section, “E. Goss Teaches Component Wall Shape, Not Contact-Interface Geometry, and Cannot Cure May's Deficiencies… A curved wall shape is not the same thing as a curvilinear line of contact, and Goss's silence on the actual contact-interface geometry between an engaged bit and recess means Goss cannot supply the missing limitation, whether considered alone or in combination with May.”.
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees with this statement. Goss has not been used for “Contact-Interface Geometry”. This was already provided in May (i.e. from the “fully contacting engagement”, see paragraph 31) between the bit and the fastener (see Figures 3 and 4 of May showing full contact engagement). Goss merely teaches of using flat/straight lines or curvilinear lines, as previously discussed above. Since, all of the structural limitations of the claims have been met the examiner believes that the rejection is proper.
Applicant contends that in Section, “F. The Secondary References Do Not Remedy the Deficiencies of the May/Goss Combination.”
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees with this statement. The examiner has reviewed this section but notes that there are no arguments directed to the combination of references used in the rejection above. And, since, all of the structural limitations of the claims have been met, the examiner believes that the rejection is proper.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Goss (5291811) clearly shows that it is known to provide a bit (10) with a profile (from portions 24 and 26, see Figures 1 and 2) that matches a configuration (formed from 28 and 30) of a recess (18, Figures 1-3).
/ROBERT J SCRUGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723