DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 is indefinite because it is unclear what is meant by an algebraic distance between values of a signal. It is unclear how only a single signal is used because two images are compared. Alternatively, it is unclear if values in the same signal are used and if so it is unclear from the claims and the specification how comparing a single signal is involved in a comparison of two images.
Claim 15 is indefinite because it is unclear if “different exposure times” means different starting times of exposure or different durations of exposure.
Claim 18 is indefinite because the claim recites a functional limitation without any structure to achieve said function or any explanation of how said function is achieved.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8, 9, 11-15, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. PG Pub. No. 2010/0069759 A1 to Schuhrke et al.
Regarding claim 8, Schuhrke discloses a method, comprising monitoring diffusion over time of a fluorescent marker that has been injected into a biological tissue at an injection-time, wherein monitoring said diffusion of said fluorescent marker comprises using an excitation light source (see Figs. 1 and 4 and para 6-10, 17-19, and 23), exciting said fluorescent marker and, during an interval that begins after said injection-time and ends at an end-time (see Figs. 1 and 4 and para 6-10, 17-19, and 23), using a camera to acquire fluorescence images of an area of said biological tissue, wherein each of said fluorescence images corresponds to a set of pixels, wherein a value of a signal that represents an intensity of fluorescence emission at a point in said tissue is associated with each pixel in said set of pixels, wherein using said camera to acquire said fluorescence images comprises at a first start-time within said interval (see Figs. 1 and 4 and para 6-10, 17-19, and 23), executing a first image acquisition sequence, at a second start-time within said interval, executing a second image acquisition sequence, processing images that were acquired during said first image-acquisition (see Figs. 1 and 4 and para 6-10, 17-19, and 23), thereby generating a first image for comparison, processing images that were acquired during said second image-acquisition, thereby generating a second image for comparison, and displaying, on a screen, a result of said comparison, said result being an image representative of said area of said biological tissue (see Figs. 1 and 4 and para 6-10, 17-19, and 23).
Regarding claim 9, Schuhrke discloses a method, wherein comparing said first and second images comprises subtracting values of a signal representative of said intensity of said fluorescence emission (see Figs. 1 and 4 and para 6-10, 17-19, and 23).
Regarding claim 11, Schuhrke discloses a method, wherein comparing said first and second images comprises computing an algebraic distance between values of a signal representative of said intensity of said fluorescence emission (see Figs. 1 and 4 and para 6-10, 17-19, and 23, noting the difference taken in Schuhrke is specific form of an algebraic distance in one dimension and the specific species reads on the broader genus of an algebraic distance).
Regarding claim 12, Schuhrke discloses a method, wherein comparing said first and second images comprises executing a logic operation on values of a signal representative of said intensity of said fluorescence emission, said logic operation being selected from the group consisting of "or," “nor,” and "xor" (see Figs. 1 and 4 and para 6-10, 17-19, and 23, noting maximum values are selected and other not, such an arrangement includes “or” and “nor”).
Regarding claim 13, Schuhrke discloses a method, wherein processing of said fluorescence images is carried out for a given series of fluorescence images in order to align them with one another before summing them pixel-by-pixel (see Figs. 1 and 4 and para 6-10, 17-19, and 23).
Regarding claim 14, Schuhrke discloses a method, wherein executing an image acquisition sequence comprises acquiring a current background image, said method further comprising using said current background image to locate dynamic variations in said fluorescence signal in said area of said biological tissue when displaying said fluorescence images (see Figs. 1 and 4 and para 6-10, 17-19, and 23, noting that the first image is a background image used as a minimum value).
Regarding claim 15, Schuhrke discloses a method, wherein executing an image-acquisition sequence comprises acquiring plural series of fluorescence images, each of said series having different exposure times (see Figs. 1 and 4 and para 6-10, 17-19, and 23). Examiner notes the above rejection is in light of the indefiniteness rejection noted herein.
Regarding claim 17, Schuhrke discloses a device, for monitoring fluorescence emitted from a surface of a biological tissue, said apparatus comprising an excitation source, a camera, a computer, and a screen, wherein said excitation source is configured for emitting excitation radiation that excites a fluorescence marker, wherein said camera comprises a sensor that senses fluorescence light emitted as a result of said excitation radiation, wherein said computer is configured to record and store images captured by said camera and to execute computer- readable instructions for processing said images by carrying out said method recited in claim 8, and wherein said screen is configured to display images that result from said computer having processed said fluorescence images (see Figs. 1 and 4 and para 6-10, 17-19, and 23).
Claim 18 fails to recite a further structural limitation and the device of the prior art is capable of performing said functional limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Schuhrke or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Schuhrke in view of the skill in the art.
Regarding claim 16, Schuhrke discloses a method, wherein executing an image-acquisition sequence comprises acquiring plural series of fluorescence images, each of said series having different gains (see para 10, noting that a skilled artisan would have known that amplification factor for changing brightness is another term for gain in the imaging arts).
Alternatively, Examiner takes Official Notice that multiple gains can be used and then adjusted to a common brightness for a better basis of comparison under varying imaging conditions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schuhrke in view of U.S. PG Pub. No. 2012/0326055 A1 to Wilson et al.
Regarding claim 10, Wilson discloses a similar fluorescence imaging method, wherein comparing said first and second images comprises computing a norm of a quantity represented by values of a signal representative of said intensity of said fluorescence emission (see para 51 and 71).
It would have been obvious and predictable to have used normalization of data because doing so would standardize data, thus providing for a better comparison that is already made in Schuhrke.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 8-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/RAJEEV P SIRIPURAPU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798