DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1, 3, 6, 8, 15-16, 18, 22, 29 and 32-34 are pending. Claims 23-24 have been canceled. Claims 1, 29 and 32-34 have been amended. Claims 1, 3, 6, 8, 15-16, 18, 22, 29 and 32-34 are being examined in this application. In the response to the restriction requirement, Applicants elected Group I, SEQ ID NO: 3 and chronic hepatitis B virus infection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
This rejection has been modified.
Claims 1, 3, 6, 8, 15-16, 18, 22, 29 and 32-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (WO 2015/000371).
With respect to claims 1 and 3, Liu teaches a drug formulation comprising SEQ
ID NO: 1 (claim 1). As evidenced by Liu (US 2017/0112898), SEQ ID NO: 1 consists of
the amino acid sequence GTNLSVPNPLGFFPDHQLDPAFGANSNNPDWDFNPNKDHWPEANQVG, which
corresponds to instantly claimed SEQ ID Nos: 3 and 23.
Liu further teaches that the drug formulation is for treating a HBV infectious
disease (claim 32).
Liu also teaches that the pharmacodynamical dose in an animal was determined
as 0.4mg/kg. As calculated by body surface area, the effective dose for an adult human
(60kg) is 4.2mg (para [0060]).
Liu additionally teaches administering at day 0, 1, 2, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11 and 13 after
infection (para [0059]).
Liu also teaches that fifty adult tree shrews were grouped randomly into 5
groups, which included PBS control group, high dose group (hepalatide, 2mg/kg),
middle dose group (0.4mg/kg), low dose group (0.08mg/kg) and HBIG blocking group
(60IU/kg) (para [0059]). Liu also teaches that the average weight of the patients is 60kg
(para [0060]). Thus, Liu teaches administering 120mg, 24mg, and 4.8mg.
Liu does not teach administering for at least 7 consecutive days.
However, the MPEP 2144.05 A states that "[G]enerally, differences in
concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or
temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the
prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine
experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
(Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and
an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a
reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was
performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also
Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or
artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to
determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of
percentages."); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed
elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held
to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of
the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more
recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc.,
874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re
Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d
1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997)".
Since Applicant has not disclosed that the specific limitations recited in the
instant claims are for any particular purpose or solve any stated problem, absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to discover the
optimum dosage and time of administration by normal optimization procedures known in
the pharmaceutical art.
With respect to the limitation “reaching a saturation level of a polypeptide in the liver target organ”, it is noted that said limitation is inherent to the polypeptide and to the amount of said polypeptide being administered. As discussed above. The skilled artisan would have administered the same amount instantly administered, thus reaching a saturating level of a polypeptide in the liver target organ.
With respect to claims 6, 15-16 and 18, Liu teaches that the N-terminus of the
polypeptide is modified by myristic acid and the C-terminus is modified by amidation
(claim 1).
With respect to claim 8, Liu teaches that the HBV infectious disease comprises
chronic hepatitis, HBV related liver transplantation and blockage of HBV maternal neonatal transmission (claim 33).
With respect to claim 22, Liu teaches that the HBV infectious disease comprises
HBV related liver transplantation (claim 33). Thus, reading on the limitations "selecting a
patient having a hepatitis B-related disorder" and "the administration is before, during or
after transplantation".
With respect to claim 29, Liu teaches administering at day 0, 1, 2, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11
and 13 after infection (para [0059]).
Furthermore, since Applicant has not disclosed that the specific limitations
recited in the instant claims are for any particular purpose or solve any stated problem,
absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to
discover the optimum dosage by normal optimization procedures known in the
pharmaceutical art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 11/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are
not persuasive.
Applicant argues that "[L]iu does not disclose a saturating level of its polypeptide in the liver of a human. In fact, Liu is totally silent in this concept and, thus, the skilled artisan would not have been motivated to determine, nor could a skilled artisan have reasonably expected, the dose at which administration would reach such a saturating level in the liver of a human subject”.
Applicant also argues that “[t]he skilled artisan would not use a dosage of 6.3-10.5 mg, based on the disclosure of Liu '371, nor would the skilled artisan have a reasonable expectation of success in reaching a saturating level of a polypeptide in the liver of a human. Further, as disclosed in paragraph [0145] of this application, single administration of 0.525 mg - 4.2 mg does not saturate the liver. The apparent distribution volume of 135 L was shown after a single subcutaneous injection of 5 mg Myrcludex B, which did not reach liver target organ saturation. Therefore, even though Liu discloses a dosage form of 4.2 mg, Liu '371 does not indicate with what dosage form a saturating level of its polypeptide in liver could reach by a single administration. As a single dosage that produces a saturating level of the claimed polypeptide in the liver of a human subject having or suffering from hepatitis B virus-related liver diseases was not disclosed in the prior art, each of the elements of claim 1, let alone the "general conditions" of claim 1 was not disclosed in the prior art”.
Applicant's arguments are not persuasive.
Liu clearly teaches administering 0.08mg/kg, 0.4mg/kg, or 2mg/kg, which corresponds to 4.8 mg, 24 mg, or 120mg in a human weighting 60kg.
Therefore, it is clear that the dosage of Liu can be adjusted depending on the weight of the patient.
Since Liu teaches that the effective dose for an adult human of 60Kg is 4.2 mg,
one of ordinary skill in the art following the teachings of Liu would have administered 6.3
mg to a patient weighting 90Kg.
Even assuming arguendo, that one of ordinary skill in the art would have
calculated the dosage based on body surface, the MPEP 2144.05 A states that
"[G]enerally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the
patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence
indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions
of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or
workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ
233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature
between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to
be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in
that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The
normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known
provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is
the optimum combination of percentages."); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ
809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope
of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other
reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular
weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck
& Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert.
denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir.
1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997)".
Since Applicant has not disclosed that the specific limitations recited in the
instant claims are for any particular purpose or solve any stated problem, absent
unexpected results, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to discover the
optimum workable dosage and time interval between dosages by normal optimization
procedures known in the pharmaceutical art.
With respect to Applicant's alleged unexpected results (i.e. the polypeptides to
reach a saturating level in a liver target organ without dose-limiting toxicity), the MPEP
716.02(e) states that the claimed subject matter must be compared with the closest
prior art to be effective to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness.
Therefore, since the Office does not have the facilities for examining and
comparing applicants' dosage with the dosage of the prior art, the burden is on the
applicant to show a novel or unobvious difference between the claimed method and the method of the prior art. See In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977)
and In re Fitzgerald et al., 205 USPQ 594.
For the reasons stated above the rejection is maintained.
Double Patenting
This rejection is maintained.
Claims 1, 3, 6, 8, 15-16, 18 and 32-34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 10603352.
With respect to claims 1 and 3, '352 teaches a drug formulation comprising SEQ
ID NO: 1 (claim 1), which corresponds to instantly claimed SEQ ID Nos: 3 and 23.
'352 further teaches that the drug formulation is for treating a HBV infectious disease
(column 2, lines 14-15; column 5, lines 48-50). Please note that it is proper to turn to
and rely on the disclosure of a patent application to ascertain what constitutes an
obvious modification. This position is supported by the courts. See In re Vogel, 422
F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970). The skilled artisan would have been motivated
to use the drug formulation of '352 to treat a HBV infectious disease.
'352 also teaches that the formulations contain 0.25, 0.5, 1 .0, 2.0, 2.1, 4.0, 4.2, 5
or 8 mg of the polypeptide (claim 10), and further teaches the pharmacodynamical dose
in an animal was determined as 0.4mg/kg. As calculated by body surface area, the
effective dose for an adult human (60kg) is 4.2mg (Examples 4 and 13; column 6, lines
57-59; column 7, lines 25-27).
'352 further teaches that fifty adult tree shrews were grouped randomly into 5
groups, which included PBS control group, high dose group (hepalatide, 2mg/kg),
middle dose group (0.4mg/kg), low dose group (0.08mg/kg) and HBIG blocking group
(60IU/kg) (Example 4), and further teaches that the average weight of the patients is
60kg (Example 4). Thus, '352 teaches administering 120mg, 24mg, and 4.8mg.
'352 does not teach administering for at least 7 consecutive days.
However, the MPEP 2144.05 A states that "[G]enerally, differences in
concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter
encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or
temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the
prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine
experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
(Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and
an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a
reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was
performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also
Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or
artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of
percentages."); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed
elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held
to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of
the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more
recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc.,
874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re
Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d
1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997)".
Since Applicant has not disclosed that the specific limitations recited in the
instant claims are for any particular purpose or solve any stated problem, absent
unexpected results, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to discover the
optimum time of administration by normal optimization procedures known in the
pharmaceutical art.
With respect to claims 6, 15-16 and 18, '352 teaches that the N-terminus of the
polypeptide is modified by myristic acid and the C-terminus is modified by amidation
(claim 1).
With respect to claim 8, '352 teaches treating HBV chronic infection (Example 4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 11/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant arguments have been addressed above under "Response to
Arguments" on pages 5-8.
For the reasons stated above, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SERGIO COFFA Ph.D./
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1658
/SERGIO COFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1658