DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 43-45, 48, 51-61, 63-65 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent No. 7,172,784 (RAO) in view of United States Application Publication No. 2009/0311407 (LUCEY).
As to claim 43, RAO teaches a baked good with an emulsifier (col. 10, lines 20-30) that helps lower the batter density (see col. 9, lines 10-20 calculating batter density and batter density of 93 g/l at col. 10, lines 35-40). This reads on that claimed. It would have been obvious to vary the amount of emulsifier based on the desired density.
As to the amount of emulsifier added, the incorporation of emulsifier composition in the batter produced a decrease in batter density and an increase in fine, uniform and evenly distributed air cells resulting in cakes with an increased specific loaf volume and a decreased crumb firmness value (col. 1, lines 50-60). In this regard, it would have been obvious to vary the amount of emulsifier based on the desired density, specific loaf volume, and decreased crumb firmness value.
However, RAO does not teach the type of claimed emulsifier.
LUCEY teaches a protein polysaccharide conjugate. The conjugate is an emulsifier [0011].
The protein can be casein [0039].
It is also taught that the protein can be hydrolyzed to reduce the size/molecular weight of the protein to reduce the allergenicity of the composition. in [0132], LUCEY clearly states that hydrolyzed proteins of various extents can be used. In [0133], hydrolyzed proteins are referenced and in [0137] is concluded that the conjugation of partially hydrolyzed whey proteins can improve hypoallergenicity. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to vary the extent (i.e., molecular weight of the conjugates) of hydrolysis based on the level of improvement needed in terms of hypoallergenicity.
In this regard, the size/molecular weight is a result effective variable and it would have been obvious to reduce the size/molecular weight of the proteins to reduce the allergenicity of the particles.
Ribose, xylose, galactose, glucose, mannose and fructose can be used and are reducing sugars [0039].
In [0133], hydrolyzed proteins are referenced and in [0137] is concluded that the conjugation of partially hydrolyzed whey proteins can improve hypoallergenicity. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to vary the extent (i.e., molecular weight of the conjugates) of hydrolysis based on the level of improvement needed in terms of hypoallergenicity.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art that the conjugates are at least 90% soluble. Moreover, it would have been obvious to increase/vary the solubility as desired given that LUCEY teaches conjugates may significantly decrease the interfacial tension, and improve the solubility at severe heat treatments, lower pH, and higher salt concentration than whey protein [0055]. The ratio of sugar to peptide is 1:3 to 1:9. Thus, the claimed range falls within that claimed. Moreover, given that LUCEY teaches that a higher level of solubility is desired and that solubility is linked to the degree of conjugation, it would have been desirable to have a high degree of conjugation (i.e., at least 10%).
As to 44, LUCEY teaches that the protein is casein (i.e., an animal protein) [0041].
As to claim 45, RAO teaches a baked good with an emulsifier (col. 10, lines 20-30) that helps lower the batter density to below 90 g/l (see col. 9, lines 10-20 calculating batter density and batter density of 93 g/l at col. 10, lines 35-40). This reads on that claimed.
As to claim 48, LUCEY teaches that the protein can be hydrolyzed to reduce the size/molecular weight of the protein to reduce the allergenicity of the composition [0133]. In this regard, the size/molecular weight is a result effective variable and it would have been obvious to reduce the size/molecular weight of the proteins to reduce the allergenicity of the particles.
As to claim 51, RAO teaches a baked good with an emulsifier (col. 10, lines 20-30). As to the amount of emulsifier added, the incorporation of emulsifier composition in the batter produced a decrease in batter density and an increase in fine, uniform and evenly distributed air cells resulting in cakes with an increased specific loaf volume and a decreased crumb firmness value (col. 1, lines 50-60). In this regard, it would have been obvious to vary the amount of emulsifier based on the desired density, specific loaf volume, and decreased crumb firmness value.
As to claim 52, RAO is silent as to an enzymatically produced protein hydrolysate. LUCEY teaches that the protein can be hydrolyzed to reduce the size/molecular weight of the protein to reduce the allergenicity of the composition [0133]. In this regard, the size/molecular weight is a result effective variable and it would have been obvious to reduce the size/molecular weight of the proteins to reduce the allergenicity of the particles. It would have been obvious to vary the amount of protein based on the desired level of emulsification. Additionally, the hydrolysis is enzymatic (see [00133]-[0134]).
As to claim 53, while LUCEY teaches that the hydrolyzed proteins can be dialyzed to concentrate, there is no teaching that filtration is required in the overall teachings of the reference. In this regard, filtration is a preferred embodiment. In other words, one skilled in the art would the option of not filtering.
As to claim 54, RAO is free of lecithin. There is no mention of the recited emulsifiers in LUCEY
As to claim 55, RAO teaches a baked good (e.g., cake)with an emulsifier (col. 10, lines 20-30) that helps lower the batter density to below 90 g/l (see col. 9, lines 10-20 calculating batter density and batter density of 93 g/l at col. 10, lines 35-40). The claimed amount of mono and di-glycerides is below 1 g/kg. This includes zero. Thus, such emulsifiers are optional.
As to claim 56, RAO teaches a baked good (e.g., cake) with an emulsifier (col. 10, lines 20-30) that helps lower the batter density to below 90 g/l (see col. 9, lines 10-20 calculating batter density and batter density of 93 g/l at col. 10, lines 35-40). It would have been obvious to vary the volume based on the density of batter and desired texture.
Moreover, the applicant is also respectfully reminded that while food items are patentable, the culinary creativity of chefs is not the type of creativity which meets the standards for patentability. See General Mills v. Pillsbury Co.,378 F.2d 666 (8th Cir.1967) (first commercially successful one step mix for angel food cakes is not patentable because of nonobviousness standard since alleged invention is only the exact proportion of an already known leavening agent). In this regard, courts have taken the position that new recipes or formulas for cooking food which involve the addition or elimination of common ingredients, or for treating them in ways which differ from the former practice, do not amount to invention merely because it is not disclosed that, in the constantly developing art of preparing food, no one else ever did the particular thing upon which the applicant asserts his right to a patent. In re Levin, 178 F.2d 945, 948 (C.C.P.A.1949) (butter substitute not patentable).
As to clam 57, LUCEY teaches using lyophilized protein hydrolysates in [0131].
As to claim 58, LUCEY teaches ratio of sugar to peptide is 1:3 to 1:9. Thus, the claimed range falls within that claimed. Casein is a milk protein.
As to clam 59, LUCEY teaches that the protein is casein (i.e., an animal protein) [0041].
As to claims 60-61, 63, RAO teaches a baked good with an emulsifier (col. 10, lines 20-30) that helps lower the batter density (see col. 9, lines 10-20 calculating batter density and batter density of 93 g/l at col. 10, lines 35-40). This reads on that claimed. It would have been obvious to vary the amount of emulsifier based on the desired density.
However, RAO does not teach the type of claimed emulsifier.
LUCY teaches a protein polysaccharide conjugate. The conjugate is an emulsifier [0011].
The protein can be casein [0041].
It is also taught that the protein can be hydrolyzed to reduce the size/molecular weight of the protein to reduce the allergenicity of the composition. In this regard, the size/molecular weight is a result effective variable and it would have been obvious to reduce the size/molecular weight of the proteins to reduce the allergenicity of the particles.
Ribose, xylose, galactose, glucose, mannose and fructose can be used and are reducing sugars [0039].
In [0114] of LUCEY, it is shown that the conjugates are soluble. FIG. 9 is a graph showing the solubility of conjugates (0.1% protein) at room temperature and heated 30 min at 80 C. within the pH range 3.5-7.5, in comparison with whey protein (0.1% WPI). The higher the absorbance at 500 nm, the lower the solubility is. The highest absorbance (i.e., lowest solubility) is for unconjugated wpi. LUCEY does not assign a level of solubility in terms of percentages but does teach that a desirable outcome of their conjugates is that they increase solubility [0055]. Moreover, Fig. 9 shows that the conjugates show little to no absorbance indicating that the conjugates are highly soluble, if not 100% soluble. Fig. 9 is as follows:
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art that the conjugates are at least 90% soluble. Moreover, it would have been obvious to increase vary the solubility as desired given that LUCEY teaches conjugates may significantly decrease the interfacial tension, and improve the solubility at severe heat treatments, lower pH, and higher salt concentration than whey protein [0055]. The ratio of sugar to peptide is 1:3 to 1:9. Thus, the claimed range falls within that claimed. Moreover, given that LUCEY teaches that a higher level of solubility is desired and that solubility is linked to the degree of conjugation. It would have been desirable to have a high degree of conjugation (i.e., at least 10%).
As to claim 61, RAO teaches a baked good with an emulsifier (col. 10, lines 20-30) that helps lower the batter density (see col. 9, lines 10-20 and col. 10, lines 35-40). It would have been obvious to lower the batter density based on desired consistency, as this impacts the taste and texture of product.
As to claim 63, LUCEY teaches a protein polysaccharide conjugate [0011]. The protein can be casein [0041]. In [0133], hydrolyzed proteins are referenced and in [0137] is concluded that the conjugation of partially hydrolyzed whey proteins can improve hypoallergenicity. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to vary the extent (i.e., molecular weight of the conjugates) of hydrolysis based on the level of improvement needed in terms of hypoallergenicity.
As to claim 64, LUCEY teaches that casein can be used as the protein [0039].
As to claim 65, LUCEY teaches that glucose can be the reducing sugar [0034].
Claim(s) 49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RAO and LUCEY as applied to claims above, and further in view of United States Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0288533 (LIVNEY).
The references above are silent as to using wheat as the protein.
LIVNEY teaches that wheat can also be used for the protein for the conjugate and serves as an excellent emulsifier.
It would have been obvious to use wheat as the protein in the references above, as wheat conjugates serves as excellent emulsifiers.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that the paragraph cited by the examiner - paragraph [0133] of Lucey - discusses the impact of the molecular weight of polysaccharides (PS), rather than protein hydrolysates or hydrolysate conjugates, as the instant claims require. It is also argued that Lucey only contemplates the allergenicity of polysaccharides having a 10-500 kDa molecular weight.
However, [0029] of LUCEY teaches a method preparing protein-polysaccharide conjugates. The protein-polysaccharide conjugates may be used as emulsifiers. [0039] teaches that the conjugates can be casein.
Moreover, in [0132], LUCEY clearly states that hydrolyzed proteins of various extents can be used. In [0133], hydrolyzed proteins are referenced and in [0137] is concluded that the conjugation of partially hydrolyzed whey proteins can improve hypoallergenicity. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to vary the extent (i.e., molecular weight of the conjugates) of hydrolysis based on the level of improvement needed in terms of hypoallergenicity.
Conclusion
/PHILIP A DUBOIS/Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791