DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application was filed on and is a U.S. national Stage application under 35 U.S.C. 371 of International Patent Application No. PCT/EP2018/080557 filed 11/08/2018, which claims the benefit of the priority of European Patent Application No. 17201049.8 filed 11/10/2017.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Status
Claims 1, 3, 5, 10, 12, 16-23, 26-27, 30-32, 35, 37-43, 47- 56, and 59 are pending. Claims 2, 4, 6-9, 11, 13-15, 24-25, 28-29, 33-34, 36, 44-46, 57-58 are canceled. Claims 1, is amended. Claims 16-23, 26-27, 30-32, 35, 37-43, 47-54, 56, and 59 are withdrawn. Claims 1, 3, 5, 10, 12, and 55 are being examined on the merits in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 - New
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 10, 12, and 55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiyoichi et al. (JPH04300897A – hereinafter “Kiyoichi”) as evidenced by Wigham et al. (Soft Matter, 2025, 21, 2461), in view of Akiho et al. (JP2008169171A – hereinafter “Akiho”), Altman et al. (US20110020409A1 – hereinafter “Altman”), and Liebmann et al. (US20100278882A1 – hereinafter “Liebmann”).
Kiyoichi teaches a composition that comprises silk fibroin, alcohol and water, wherein the alcohol is methanol, ethanol, or isopropyl alcohol [0006], wherein the mixing ratio of methanol and water or ethanol and water is from {50:50} to 98: 2 and that silk fibroin is in a concentration up to 20% (Page 1). Examiner notes that as evidenced by Wigham et al., silk fibroin is a silk protein that self assembles (See abstract). Wigham teaches silk fibroin has a molecular weight of about 100 kDa (Page 2468). Kiyoichi teaches that the composition obtained was transparent composition [0008], which reads on clear.
Similarly, Akiho teaches an aqueous cosmetic composition comprising from 5% silk fibroin, a lower aliphatic alcohol and water (Abstract; Page 2, ), wherein the alcohol is preferably methyl alcohol, ethyl alcohol, or propyl alcohol, wherein the alcohol / water mixing ratio is preferably greater than 1, but is particularly preferably 5/5 to 10/0 (Page 2, 6th paragraph). Examiner notes that the range of alcohol and water ration encompasses the instant concentration of 60-90% alcohol and 5-39% water.
Furthermore, Altman teaches a silk fibroin hydrogel that comprises silk fibroin at a concentration of 1-10% (Abstract; claim 2), and that the composition further comprises 10% water and 90% ethanol [0013, 0029, 0085-0086]. Altman teaches that the formulation exhibits a dynamic viscosity [0124] and further that dynamic viscosity is also known as complex viscosity [0125] and further that the viscosity is about 10 Pas or about 20 Pas or about 30 Pas [0128]. Altman teaches that the hydrogel exhibited optical properties such as transparency [0111-0013, 0203], which reads on clear. Altman further teaches that silk hydrogel formulations for cosmetic use [0155,0176]. Altman further teaches that the silk hydrogel formulation was successful in improving a condition of the skin in an individual in need thereof [0156].
Kiyoichi does not teach that the composition is a fragrance or oil fragrance.
Liebmann teaches a cosmetic composition for skin cosmetic, nail cosmetic, hair cosmetic, dermatological, or hygiene, that the composition can be in form of a gel, and that the composition comprises perfume oils [0119-0122]. Liebmann teaches that the composition comprises a silk protein microbead, specifically a C16 silk protein [0019-0021], and that the composition further comprises alcohol such as ethanol and water [0083, 0325]. Liebmann teaches that the composition remained clear [0220, 0270, 0272, 0290, 0292, 0298]. Liebmann teaches that the silk protein has the polypeptide sequence shown in SEQ ID NO: 1 and includes functional equivalents, functional derivatives and salts of this sequence [0021-0022], and the sequence comprises the instant sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kiyoichi and include fragrance oil or perfume oil in the composition since both reference teach similar composition with silk protein, alcohol and water and for use as a cosmetic composition. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated and would have had a reasonable expectation of success in including perfume or fragrance oil in the composition since Liebmann teaches that such compositions that comprises silk protein, alcohol and water can also include fragrance oils and for use as a cosmetic composition.
Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of successfully combining the cited prior art teachings of Kiyoichi, Akiho, Altman and Liebmann , because the cited references hail from the same field of endeavor, i.e. aqueous cosmetic compositions that comprise silk, alcohol and water. The disclosure renders obvious claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Kiyoichi teaches a composition that comprises silk fibroin, alcohol and water, wherein the alcohol is methanol, ethanol, or isopropyl alcohol [0006], wherein the mixing ratio of methanol and water or ethanol and water is from {50:50} to 98: 2 and that silk fibroin is in a concentration up to 20% (Page 1). Examiner notes that the concentrations of Kiyoichi encompass the instant concentrations of claim 2 rendering obvious the claim.
Regarding claim 5, Kiyoichi teaches a composition that comprises silk fibroin, alcohol and water, wherein the alcohol is methanol, ethanol, or isopropyl alcohol [0006], wherein the mixing ratio of methanol and water or ethanol and water is from {50:50} to 98: 2 and that silk fibroin is in a concentration up to 20% (Page 1). Examiner notes that as evidenced by Wigham et al., silk fibroin is a silk protein that self assembles (See abstract). Wigham teaches silk fibroin has a molecular weight of about 100 kDa (Page 2468). Further, Akiho teaches molecular weight of about 10,000 to 30,000 (Page 1, 6th paragraph), which reads on 10-30 Kda.
Regarding claim 10, Altman teaches that the silk protein may be recombinant [0056]. It would have been obvious to modify Kiyoichi and use a recombinant silk protein as taught by Altman.
Regarding claim 12, ]. Liebmann teaches that the silk protein has the polypeptide sequence shown in SEQ ID NO: 1 and includes functional equivalents, functional derivatives and salts of this sequence [0021-0022], and the sequence comprises the instant sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1. It would have been obvious to use the silk protein sequence of Liebmann to prepare the cosmetic composition that comprises silk, alcohol and water since Liebmann teaches that the composition contributed to the moisturization and conditioning of the skin and to an improvement in the feel of the skin [0154].
Regarding claim 55, the Examiner notes that the cited references render obvious a composition comprising the protein, alcohol and water at the recited dosages. Examiner notes that claim 55 is a product-by-process type claim. Product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” See MPEP § 2113. Claim 55 is drawn to the aqueous formulation, pharmaceutical and cosmetic formulation of claim 1, and that the formulation is formed by combining the aqueous solutions comprising the structural protein and the aqueous solution comprising the alcohol simultaneously, and wherein the aqueous solutions are mixed for no more than 10 seconds. The formulation is not affected by these limitations, which merely reflect one version of a process that could be used to make the product. The product or formulation could be made in other ways; thus, the limitations do not add patentable weight to the claims. If the product in these claims is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable. The formulation comprising silk protein, alcohol, and water and in the recited amounts is clearly disclosed by Kiyoichi, Akiho, Altman and Liebmann. Kiyoichi teaches a composition that comprises silk fibroin, alcohol and water, wherein the alcohol is methanol, ethanol, or isopropyl alcohol [0006], wherein the mixing ratio of methanol and water or ethanol and water is from {50:50} to 98: 2 and that silk fibroin is in a concentration up to 20% (Page 1). Kiyoichi teaches that the composition obtained was transparent composition [0008], which reads on clear. Further, Akiho, Altman and Liebmann teach a similar composition. Thus, claim 55 is rejected as unpatentable over the cited references.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 10, 12, and 55 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/MERCY H SABILA/Examiner, Art Unit 1654