DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The rejections of the previously presented claims have been withdrawn, however with regard to the new claims the applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 68 and 69 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eck (DE 10248064 A1), hereinafter Eck, in view of Takahashi (JP 2016048138 A), hereinafter Takahashi.
Regarding claims 68 and 69, Eck discloses a concentrated solar thermal receiver for receiving concentrated solar thermal energy from a concentrating array of solar reflectors, wherein:
the receiver comprises a single layered array of a plurality of tubes configured to carry a heat transfer fluid and be directly exposed to the concentrated solar thermal energy at a receiving surface of the array (“a solar receiver device according to the invention, which is denoted as a whole by 30 in FIG provided by spaced-apart absorber tubes 32, through which the heat absorbing medium flows in parallel” paragraph [0052]),
each tube is separately connected to a fluid inlet configured to communicate with at least one inlet conduit (“One or more supply lines 24 are provided for supplying heat absorption medium to the solar receiver device 20” paragraph [0048]), and separately connected to a fluid outlet configured to communicate with at least one outlet conduit (“One or more discharge lines 26 are provided for discharging heat absorption medium heated in the solar receiver device 20” paragraph [0048]),
the plurality of tubes are arranged predominantly in a single layer (Figure 3 for instance),
the array of tubes is substantially co-planar so as to provide a continuous co-planar energy receiving surface (Figure 3 for instance);
wherein the array of tubes includes at least two adjacent tubes.
Eck does not disclose:
wherein the plurality of tubes is a plurality of serpentine tubes, the array of tubes has predominantly transverse passes or components, with each serpentine tube having an upright or longitudinal component extending between successive transverse passes or components, wherein at least one of the upright or longitudinal components includes a respective straight section, the at least two adjacent tubes transition from two respective transverse passes or components to two upright or longitudinal components with two adjacent bends, the two adjacent bends having substantially equal radii.
However, Takahashi teaches wherein the plurality of tubes is a plurality of serpentine tubes, the array of tubes has predominantly transverse passes or components, with each serpentine tube having an upright or longitudinal component extending between successive transverse passes or components, wherein at least one of the upright or longitudinal components includes a respective straight section, the at least two adjacent tubes transition from two respective transverse passes or components to two upright or longitudinal components with two adjacent bends, the two adjacent bends having substantially equal radii (“many internal flow paths 313 of the heat collector 310 are arranged in parallel and having a meandering pattern. Thereby, more exhaust heat of the solar cell 210 heated by receiving sunlight can be taken away and acquired by each heat collector 310” citations from machine translation appended to foreign reference).
In view of Takahashi’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the configuration as is taught in Takahashi, in the receiver disclosed by Eck because Takahashi states that the configuration more heat can be taken away by each collector. Therefore, including packing a planar area as taught in Takahashi will improve heat collection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 37, 39, 40, 42-45, 47, 49, 51, 53-57, 60, 61, 63, 66, and 67 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
None of the prior art of record teaches or suggests a concentrated solar thermal receiver for receiving concentrated solar thermal energy with all of the limitations of independent claims 61 and 63.
Claim 61 recites the limitation “a portion of at least one of the transverse passes or components being bent out of plane such that said bent portion extends substantially perpendicular to at least one of the upright or longitudinal components on a side of the array of tubes opposite the receiving surface.” The closest prior art of record to this limitation is the previously recited Eck, Bouse, and Gilli which collectively disclose “a portion of at least one of the transverse passes or components being bent out of plane on a side of the array of tubes,” but fails to disclose the limitation in its entirety. No further art was found such that the limitation would have been obvious. Therefore, these limitations, when combined with every other limitation of the claim, distinguish the claims from the prior art.
Claim 63 recites the limitation “a portion of at least one of the transverse passes or components being bent out of plane such that said bent portion extends substantially perpendicular to at least one of the upright or longitudinal components on a side of the array of tubes opposite the receiving surface” and is allowable by the same or substantially the same rationale as articulated with regards to claim 61, above.
Claims 37, 39, 40, 42-45, 47, 49, 51, 53-57, 60, 66, and 67 are allowable at least because they depend from allowable independent claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Voelker (US 4079726 A)
Smith (US 4170220 A)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LOGAN P JONES/Examiner, Art Unit 3762 /MICHAEL G HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762