DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 7 and 9-10 are objected to because:
Claim 4, line 5, “the ground” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 7, line 2, “the sleeves” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 9, line 2, “the contact studs” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 9, line 4, “their central longitudinal axis” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 9, line 5, “the cross section” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 10, line 2, “a gas generator” should be -the gas generator-.
Claim 10, line 5, “the end opposite” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 10, lines 14-15, “the ground” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 10, line 15, “the transportation means” lacks antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim limitations “transportation means” (in claims 4 and 10) have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AlA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because they use a generic placeholder “means” coupled with functional language “transportation” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitations invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 4 and 10 have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AlA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: All devices for the transportation of people and/or goods by land, water and air are to be considered here as transportation means.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner's interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Oldani et al, US 9013070 [Oldani].
Regarding claim 1, Oldani discloses (figs.1-5) an electrical system (1), comprising:
a load circuit (100) comprising a plurality of series- connected storage/converter cells (6) for supplying the load circuit (100); and
an event sensor (10), where isolator switches (5) are provided between series-connected storage/converter cells (6), said isolator switches (5) being in a closed position during normal operation of the electrical system (1), said isolator switches (5) being arranged such that they change to an open position when the event sensor (10) is triggered.
Regarding claim 2, Oldani further discloses where the isolator switches (5) are located between groups of storage/converter cells (6), where each group is configured to deliver a voltage below a predefined threshold.
Regarding claim 3, Oldani further discloses where at least one additional isolator switch (5) is provided between the series-connected storage/converter cells (6) and the load circuit (100), the isolator switch (5) being in the closed position in normal operation of the electrical system (1).
Regarding claim 4, Oldani further discloses where the at least one additional isolator switch (5) is combined with a main switch (11) which, after triggering the event sensor (10), is in a position in which the load circuit (100) is short-circuited to the ground of an electrically driven (16) transportation means.
Regarding claim 5, Oldani further discloses where the isolator switches (5) comprise a contact stud (56), the contact stud (56) being movable in a sleeve (51) with at least two contact rings (510, 511), where a first contact ring (510) is connected to a negative pole (negative battery terminal) of a first storage/converter cell (6) and a second contact ring (511) is connected to a positive pole (positive terminal of the battery) of a second storage/converter cell (6).
Regarding claim 6, Oldani further discloses where a gas generator (16) is provided, the gas generator (16) being operable to be triggered via the event sensor (10), where the isolator switch (5) is operable to be brought from the closed to the open position by the gas pressure generated by the gas generator (16).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 7, the prior art fails to teach or show, alone or in combination, the claimed electrical system, where the sleeves of a plurality of isolator switches are connected to form a switching tube, and wherein the gas generator is provided at one end of the switching tube.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Auguet et al, Beard et al, Umphenour et al, Chuang et al, Slavik, Froschl and Chapuis et al are examples of electrical systems comprising isolator switches between storage/converter cells configured similar to the present invention.
/WILLIAM A BOLTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833