DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Applicant contends that there is no motivation to combine Yang and Koester. However, both references describe a network of dispensers of various types communicating with a controller various types of information and then alerting the user in different ways. Koester merely teaching a rearrangement of features already disclosed or functionally disclosed in Yang. It been long held that a rearrangement of parts of an invention is obvious and thus patentability cannot hinge on such reorganization.
In response to applicant's argument that Koester is concerned with hygiene compliance and not servicing needs of the dispensers themselves and thus is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, these inventions relate to a network of dispensers intercommunicating various information and informing the user of pertinent data points as programed by the user. Thus, modifying the Yang/LeBlond with the benefits of additional alert cues would only serve to benefit those systems and their users with additional means of indicating a programmed need of the system. Further, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually i.e. Koester is silent to service mode or servicing need, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In this case, the primary references of Yang and LeBlond already disclose servicing modes issuing servicing needs. Koester is introduced that alert cues may take a visual form such as a light on individual dispensers.
Applicant argues that one of ordinary skill would not be motivated to place the domestic appliance communication system in the room of dispenser as taught by Koester. However, the law is replete with cases in which the difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is some range or other variable within the claims. In such a situation, the applicant must show that the particular variable is critical, generally by showing that the claimed variable achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art variable. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In this case the specification of this application has placed no criticality on said location stating that it may be proximate to the washroom or in the same room (para. 19). Further, there is nothing in the primary references, Yang/LeBlond, teaching away from a repositioning of the controller. Its unclear how one of ordinary skill would not find placing the controller in a desired location would be anything other than a simple matter of design choice.
Applicant argues LeBlond doesn’t teach the controller as claimed. However, the wireless communication device of LeBlond clearly is depicted as a separate controller from each and every dispenser within the washroom as depicted in Fig. 2. Further receives signals from the said dispensers and transmits commands to each of said dispensers (Col. 4, lines 40-42), satisfying the broadest reasonable interpretation of a controller. Just because the data processing occurs offsite doesn’t negate that the final control of the constituent parts of the system are relayed by controller (20). Further delineation is needed to distinguish the claimed controller from the prior art of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 8, 12, and 16-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 2015/0366411 A1) and further in view of Koester et al. (US Patent No. 10,818,157), Rexach et al. (US 2019/0089550 A1 with priority to 62/559,199), Yenni (US 2009/0119142 A1), and LeBlond et al. (US Patent No. 7,242,307), and as evidenced by Osborne, Jr. (US 2016/0353947 A1).
Re: Claim 1 and 8, Yang discloses the claimed invention including a dispensing system comprising:
a plurality of dispensers (106) and dispense a respective consumable hygiene product; and a controller (100), remote to the plurality of dispensers (Fig. 1 depicts as a separate device), and figure 5 depicts a handheld controller that may be brought into the bathroom and is separate from the dispensers themselves (Para. 70, handheld controller) except for expressly stating the controller is in the same room as the dispensers. However, Koester teaches placing the controller (20) in the same room as the dispensers (110) but separate and distinct, and remote from them (Col. 5, lines 48-50, separately mounted controller in the room)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to place the controller in the same room as the dispensers at taught by Koester, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Further, Koester states in col. 5, lines 48-50 that in such a rearrangement is a matter of design choice since it is contemplated that the controller can be mounted separately or can be located on one dispenser.
Yang discloses a plurality of dispensers includes any domestic appliance where consumables are used (Para. 5,12, variety of dispensing devices may be used) except for expressly mentioning a paper towel and paper tissue being one of them. However, LeBlond teaches a dispensing system (10) including a plurality of dispensers including at least a bath tissue dispenser (64), a paper towel dispenser, or both and a soap dispenser (62) (Fig. 2, Col. 5, lines 1-7, a plurality of domestic appliances can include soap dispensers and paper dispensers).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to include a paper dispenser as one of the domestic appliances as taught by LeBlond, since LeBlond teaches that washrooms include, along with soap dispensers, paper dispensers and toilet paper dispenser appliances, and Yang already teaches monitoring additional domestic appliances in washrooms (Para. 28, bathroom appliance monitoring) and including paper dispensers in the system of Yang would have been obvious to a user in the art, as an additional function.
Further, Yang teaching the controller having a service mode (120) and an operation mode (110) different than the service mode (Para. 32-33, operation mode and service mode modules), wherein, when in the service mode, the controller is configured cause the at least one of the plurality of dispensers to issue an audible or visual indication of a servicing need of at least one of the plurality of dispensers (Fig. 5, Para. 70, the dispenser issues a visual depicts the controller in service mode notifying the user visually of the consumption state of each dispenser),
wherein the servicing need is one of the at least one of the plurality of dispensers having:
low or no consumable hygiene product remaining (Para. 33, low level of product),
an electrical or mechanical malfunction (Para. 33, malfunction) except for specifying the malfunction is a jam. However, as evidenced by Osborne a malfunction may include a jam preventing the at least one of the plurality of dispensers from dispensing or from properly dispensing (Osborne: Para. 45, dispensing jam is a service need).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to include a jam as a servicing condition as taught by Osborne, since such a modification would allow the user to bring the appropriate tools to the dispenser to fix the jam rather than sending a general malfunction alert; and
a low battery condition (Para. 33, low battery);
each of the plurality of dispensers has an identifier (Fig. 5 depicts and Para. 63, each dispenser with its own identifier), and the controller has a speaker and, when in the service mode, is configured to communicate the servicing need of the at least one of the plurality of dispensers, its identifier, and its location (Para. 33, 35 & 80, communicates to the user the servicing need of a particular dispenser and its location) except for verbally speaking said need. However, Rexach teaches a controller having a speaker and, when in the service mode, is configured to verbally speak both the servicing need of the at least one of the plurality of dispensers/devices and the identifier of the at least one of the plurality of dispensers/devices, and a location of the at least one of the plurality of dispensers/devices in the washroom (62/559,199: Para. 42, 71, 84-86,305 speaker for verbally speaking and receiving commands, implicitly if the controller is communicating a servicing need the controller is capable of telling the user where said need is as evidenced in para. 291), and the location comprising at least one of a location the washroom stored within the controller (Para. 291, the controller capable of relaying location of the device identified for service based on geography and layout of the bathroom).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to include a speaker as taught by Rexach, since such a modification allows for handsfree interaction with the controller for receiving and giving verbal cues as to the condition of the dispenser;
Yang in view of Rexach disclose the claimed invention except for expressly stating a preprogrammed map of the washroom. However, Yenni discloses a location of a device comprising at least one of a location from a preprogrammed map of the washroom stored within the controller (Para. 120, preprogrammed map of the washroom).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to include a preprogrammed map of the washroom as taught by Yenni, since Yenni states in paragraph 120 that such a modification allows the controller configuration can also utilize and take into account a Cartesian mapping (method of identifying location of fixtures within a drawn restroom grid) of the restroom fixture and probabilistic models of the restroom fixture usage, such that the washroom may be modified to maximize the usage of an asset or alternative restroom facilities without a risk of a monitoring system being overly intrusive from the perspective of the patrons.
Yang discloses the claimed invention including a serving mode wherein the controller when in the service mode is configured to communicate with the at least one of the plurality of dispensers to cause the at least one of the plurality of dispensers to issue an indicator that it has a servicing need (Para. 33, 35 & 80, communicates to the user the servicing need of a particular dispenser and its location) except for expressly mentioning a light visual cue. However, Koester discloses the controller, when in the service mode, is configured to communicate with the at least one of the plurality of dispensers to cause the at least one of the plurality of dispensers to illuminate a sound, light on the at least one of the plurality of dispensers thus issue a visual cue indicating a servicing need (Col. 6, lines 38-48, speaker to speak or light denoting a visual cue of a service need), and the controller includes a light to shine on the at least one of the plurality of dispensers that has a servicing need (Col. 6, lines 38-48, light denoting a visual cue of a service need),
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to include a speaker or a light denoting a visual cue for alerting of a service need as taught by Koester, since Koester states in column 6, lines 42-48 that such a modification directs the attention of target worker to the one or more hand hygiene dispenser(s) present in the room and remind the target worker of the need to engage in hand hygiene activities to be completed either upon room entry and/or prior to room exit depending on the nature of the occupation of the target worker.
Re: Claim 2, Yang discloses the claimed invention including the plurality of dispensers comprises at least one a soap dispenser, an air freshener dispenser, and a sanitizer dispenser (Para. 45, soap dispenser).
Re: Claim 3, Yang discloses the claimed invention including the controller is configured to enter the service mode in response to a verbal command (Para. 69, voice commands may be used to enable functionality and modes).
Re: Claim 4, Yang discloses the claimed invention including the controller is configured to enter the service mode in response to detecting the presence of a location beacon on a service attendant (Para. 35, enters service mode when user location detected).
Re: Claim 5, Yang discloses the claimed invention including the controller is configured to enter the service mode in response to receipt of a communication from a wireless device initiated by a service attendant (Para. 36, the user accessing service mode via wireless device).
Re: Claim 7, Yang discloses the claimed invention including the controller, when in the service mode, is configured to send the servicing need and the identifier to a wireless device of a service attendant (Fig. 5, Para. 34 & 38, depicts the service needs being sent to user via a wireless device).
Re: Claim 12, the device of Yang in view of Koester as recited in the rejection of claim 1 above is capable of performing the method of this claim.
Re: Claim 16, the device of Yang in view of Koester as recited in the rejection of claim 5 above is capable of performing the method of this claim.
Re: Claim 17, the device of Yang in view of Koester as recited in the rejection of claim 3 above is capable of performing the method of this claim command (Para. 69, voice commands may be used to enable functionality and modes with controller).
Re: Claim 18, Yang in view of Koester discloses separating the controller form the dispenser and placing in the same room (Koester: col. 5, lines 48-50)except for any particular location relative thereto including expressly placing the controller in the ceiling. However, the controller is located on the ceiling of the washroom. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to arrange the controller in the ceiling, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Re: Claim 19, Yang in view of Rexach, Rexach discloses the claimed invention including the controller comprises a light and the service mode comprises shining the light on the dispenser that needs servicing through accessing the preprogrammed map of the washroom (Rexach: Para. 12, 271, light source directing light onto appliance needing servicing ). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to include a light for shining as taught by Rexach, since Rexach states in paragraph 271 that such a modification guides the user to the device or help illuminate the area near the device.
Re: Claim 20, Yang in view of Rexach as modified in claim 1 above the controller, when in the service mode, is configured to communicate with the at least one of the plurality of dispensers to cause the at least one of the plurality of dispensers to issue an audible cue indicting it has the servicing need (Rexach: 62/559,199: Para. 42, 71, 84-86,305 speaker for verbally speaking and receiving commands
Re: Claim 21, Yang discloses the claimed invention including re-entering the operation mode after a pre- determined period or in response to instructions from the service attendant (Para. 28, operation mode and service mode modules, and capable of reengaging service after a timer period).
Claim 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 8, 12, 16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LeBlond et al. (US Patent No. 7,242,307), and further in view of Yenni (US 2009/0119142 A1), Rexach et al. (US 2019/0089550 A1), and Koester et al. (US Patent No. 10,818,157) and as evidenced by Osborne, Jr. (US 2016/0353947 A1).
Re: Claim 1 and 8, LeBlond discloses the claimed invention including a dispensing system (10) comprising:
a plurality of dispensers (62, 64, 66, 68), each dispenser being located in a same washroom (44) for dispensing a respective consumable hygiene product (Fig. 2), the plurality of dispensers including at least a bath tissue dispenser (68), a paper towel dispenser (64), or both (Col. 5, lines 1-7, paper or soap); and
a controller (20), separate and distinct from each dispenser, the controller being located in the same washroom, remote to the plurality of dispensers (Fig. 2, Col. 4, lines 1-7, plurality, Col. 6, lines 15-17, may be a handheld that can be brought into the washroom as well) and a service mode and an operation mode different than the service mode, and wherein the servicing need is one of the at least one of the plurality of dispensers having:
low or no consumable hygiene product remaining (Col. 5, lines 52-55, low product);
an electrical or mechanical malfunction, wherein the electrical or mechanical malfunction comprises a jam preventing the at least one of the plurality of dispensers from dispensing or properly dispensing (Col. 5, lines 52-55, operational status includes whether the dispenser is able to dispense or not) as further evidenced by Osborne teaches sending a servicing need of an electrical or mechanical malfunction is a jam preventing the at least one of the plurality of dispensers from dispensing or from properly dispensing (Osborne: Para. 45, dispensing jam is a service need).
a low battery condition (Col. 5, lines 52-55, operational status); and
wherein each of the plurality of dispensers has an identifier, and the controller has a speaker and, when in the service mode, is configured to verbally speak both the servicing need of the at least one of the plurality of dispensers and its identifier.
each of the plurality of dispensers has an identifier (Fig. 5 depicts and Para. 63, each dispenser with its own identifier), and the controller has a speaker and, when in the service mode, is configured to communicate the servicing need of the at least one of the plurality of dispensers, its identifier, and its location (Col. 6, lines 18-29, communicates to the user the servicing need of a particular dispenser and its location) except for verbally speaking said need. However, Rexach teaches a controller having a speaker and, when in the service mode, is configured to verbally speak both the servicing need of the at least one of the plurality of dispensers/devices and the identifier of the at least one of the plurality of dispensers/devices, and a location of the at least one of the plurality of dispensers/devices in the washroom (62/559,199: Para. 42, 71, 84-86,305 speaker for verbally speaking and receiving commands, implicitly if the controller is communicating a servicing need the controller is capable of telling the user where said need is as evidenced in para. 291), and the location comprising at least one of a location the washroom stored within the controller (Para. 291, the controller capable of relaying location of the device identified for service based on geography and layout of the bathroom).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to include a speaker as taught by Rexach, since such a modification allows for handsfree interaction with the controller for receiving and giving verbal cues as to the condition of the dispenser;
Yang in view of Rexach disclose the claimed invention except for expressly stating a preprogrammed map of the washroom. However, Yenni discloses a location of a device comprising at least one of a location from a preprogrammed map of the washroom stored within the controller (Para. 120, preprogrammed map of the washroom).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to include a preprogrammed map of the washroom as taught by Yenni, since Yenni states in paragraph 120 that such a modification allows the controller configuration can also utilize and take into account a Cartesian mapping (method of identifying location of fixtures within a drawn restroom grid) of the restroom fixture and probabilistic models of the restroom fixture usage, such that the washroom may be modified to maximize the usage of an asset or alternative restroom facilities without a risk of a monitoring system being overly intrusive from the perspective of the patrons;
LeBlond discloses the claimed invention including the controller when in the service mode is configured to communicate with the at least one of the plurality of dispensers to cause the at least one of the plurality of dispensers to issue an indicator that it has a servicing need (Col. 6, lines 18-29, communicates to the user the servicing need of a particular dispenser and its location) except for expressly disclosing a light visual cue on the dispenser. However, Koester discloses the controller, when in the service mode, is configured to communicate with the at least one of the plurality of dispensers to cause the at least one of the plurality of dispensers to illuminate a sound, light on the at least one of the plurality of dispensers thus issue a visual cue indicating a servicing need (Col. 6, lines 38-48, speaker to speak or light denoting a visual cue of a service need), and the controller includes a light to shine on the at least one of the plurality of dispensers that has a servicing need (Col. 6, lines 38-48, light denoting a visual cue of a service need).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to include a speaker or a light denoting a visual cue for alerting of a service need as taught by Koester, since Koester states in column 6, lines 42-48 that such a modification directs the attention of target worker to the one or more hand hygiene dispenser(s) present in the room and remind the target worker of the need to engage in hand hygiene activities to be completed either upon room entry and/or prior to room exit depending on the nature of the occupation of the target worker.
Re: Claim 2, LeBlond discloses the claimed invention including the plurality of dispensers comprises at least one a soap dispenser, an air freshener dispenser, and a sanitizer dispenser (Col. 5, lines 4-7, soap dispenser, air freshener).
Re: Claim 4, LeBlond discloses the claimed invention including the controller is configured to enter the service mode in response to detecting the presence of a location beacon (18) on a service attendant (Col. 5, lines 50-60, enters service mode when user location detected).
Re: Claim 5, LeBlond discloses the claimed invention including the controller is configured to enter the service mode in response to receipt of a communication from a wireless device initiated by a service attendant (Col. 6, lines 12-29, the user accessing service mode via wireless device).
Re: Claim 7, LeBlond discloses the claimed invention including the controller, when in the service mode, is configured to send the servicing need and the identifier to a wireless device of a service attendant (Fig. 2, Col. 6, lines 12-29, depicts the service needs being sent to user via a wireless device).
Re: Claim 12, the device of LeBlond in view of Rexach, Koester, and Osborne as recited in the rejection of claim 1 above is capable of performing the method of this claim.
Re: Claim 16, the device of LeBlond as recited in the rejection of claim 5 above is capable of performing the method of this claim.
Re: Claim 18, LeBlond in view of Koester discloses separating the controller form the dispenser and placing in the same room (Koester: col. 5, lines 48-50) except for any particular location relative thereto including expressly placing the controller in the ceiling. However, the controller is located on the ceiling of the washroom. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to arrange the controller in the ceiling, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim 3 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LeBlond et al. (US Patent No. 7,242,307), Rexach et al. (US 2019/0089550 A1), Yenni (US 2009/0119142 A1), Koester et al. (US Patent No. 10,818,157), and Osborne, Jr. (US 2016/0353947 A1) and further in view of Yang et al. (US 2015/0366411 A1).
Re: Claim 3 and 16, LeBlond discloses the claimed invention except for utilizing voice commands. However, Yang discloses the claimed invention including the controller is configured to enter the service mode in response to a verbal command (Para. 69, voice commands may be used to enable functionality and modes).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to include voice commands as taught by Yang, since such a modification would allow for handsfree functionality with the device especially if the users hands are wet and cannot interface with controller without damaging it.
Conclusion
/CHARLES P. CHEYNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754