DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 16, the claim limitation “reduction in maximum transvalvular flow” in claims 1, 8 and 16 was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification discloses that SAVI quantifies relative reduction in transvalvular flow (see par. [0037], [0043] of the Pg Pub. version of the specification), but does not explicitly disclose reduction in maximum transvalvular flow.
Claims 2-7, 9-15 and 17-20 are rejected as they depend from rejected claims 1, 8 and 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burwash et al. (“Flow Dependence of Measures of Aortic Stenosis Severity During Exercise; JACC Vol. 24, NO. 5, November 1, 1994; hereinafter Burwash), in view of Fortuin et al. (“Exercise Stress Testing”; Circulation, Volume 56, No 5, November 1977; hereinafter Fortuin), in view of Nystrom et al. (US 2017/0333000; hereinafter Nystrom).
Regarding claim 1, Burwash discloses a flow dependence of measured of aortic stenosis severity during exercise. Burwash shows a method for characterizing cardiac aortic valve function (see abstract): comprising: acquiring baseline measurements of cardiac activity (see right column on page 1343, and “results” on page 1344); increasing cardiac stress (see right column on page 1343); acquiring additional measurements of cardiac activity with increased cardiac stress (see right column on page 1343); and computing a stress aortic valve index value for an aortic valve (see right column on page 1343, and “results” on page 1344), wherein the SAVI quantifies transvalvular flow for the aortic valve (see “result” on page 1344).
As stated above that Burwash shows increasing cardiac stress using exercise stress test (see right column on page 1343), and typically an exercise stress test would increase cardiac contract force, but Burwash does not explicit state that the exercise stress test does increase cardiac contract force. Furthermore, Burwash fails to explicitly state that the SAVI quantifies a relative reduction in maximum transvalvular flow for the aortic valve between additional measurements after increasing cardiac stress and a normalized transvalvular flow.
Fortuin discloses an exercise stress testing and states that the exercise stress test does increase cardiac contract force (see “exercise physiology” on page 699).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of that the exercise stress test does increase cardiac contract force in the invention of Burwash, as taught by Fortuin, to be able determine whether the coronary circulation can increase oxygen delivery to the myocardium in the response to increase demands and assess exercise capacity.
But, Burwash and Fortuin fail to explicitly state that the SAVI quantifies a relative reduction in maximum transvalvular flow for the aortic valve between additional measurements and a normalized transvalvular flow.
Nystrom discloses a positioning sensing in intravascular process. Nystrom teaches SAVI quantifies a relative reduction in maximum transvalvular flow for the aortic valve between additional measurements and a normalized transvalvular flow (see par. [0006], [0063], [0077]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claim invention, to have utilized the teaching of SAVI quantifies a relative reduction in maximum transvalvular flow for the aortic valve between additional measurements and a normalized transvalvular flow in the invention of Burwash and Fortuin, as taught by Nystrom, to be able to provide additional information to determine the severity of aortic stenosis.
Regarding claim 4, Burwash shows positioning a non-invasive imaging system for cardiac imaging (see “method” on page 1343, and “results” on page 1344); and acquiring the baseline measurements and the additional measurements using the non invasive imaging system (see “method” on page 1343, and “results” on page 1344).
Regarding claim 6, Burwash shows wherein increasing cardiac stress comprises administering exercise (see right column on page 1343).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burwash et al. (“Flow Dependence of Measures of Aortic Stenosis Severity During Exercise; JACC Vol. 24, NO. 5, November 1, 1994; hereinafter Burwash), in view of Fortuin et al. (“Exercise Stress Testing”; Circulation, Volume 56, No 5, November 1977; hereinafter Fortuin), in view of Nystrom et al. (US 2017/0333000; hereinafter Nystrom) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hou et al. (US 2013/0274618; hereinafter Hou).
Regarding claim 2, Burwash, Fortuin and Nystrom discloses the invention substantially as disclosed in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Burwash shows acquiring the baseline measurement (see right column on page 1343, and “results” on page 1344) and the additional measurements (see right column on page 1343, and “results” on page 1344), but fails to explicitly state inserting a coronary pressure wire in a left ventricle; and acquiring measurements using the coronary pressure wire.
Hou discloses a guidewire system for use in transcatheter aortic valve implantation procedure. Hou teaches inserting a coronary pressure wire in a left ventricle (see par. [0073]; and acquiring measurements using the coronary pressure wire (see par. [0073]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have utilized inserting a coronary pressure wire in a left ventricle; and acquiring measurements using the coronary pressure wire in the invention of Burwash, Fortuin and Nystrom, as taught by Hou, to be able to measure or determine the blood pressure gradient prior to performing a TAVI procedure.
Regarding claim 3, Burwash, Fortuin and Nystrom discloses the invention substantially as disclosed in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Burwash shows acquiring the baseline measurement (see right column on page 1343, and “results” on page 1344) and the additional measurements (see right column on page 1343, and “results” on page 1344), but fails to explicitly state inserting a coronary pressure wire in an ascending aorta.
Hou discloses a guidewire system for use in transcatheter aortic valve implantation procedure. Hou teaches inserting a coronary pressure wire in an ascending aorta (see par. [0073]; and acquiring measurements using the coronary pressure wire (see par. [0073]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have utilized inserting a coronary pressure wire in an ascending aorta; and acquiring measurements using the coronary pressure wire in the invention of Burwash, Fortuin and Nystrom, as taught by Hou, to be able to measure or determine the blood pressure gradient prior to performing a TAVI procedure.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burwash et al. (“Flow Dependence of Measures of Aortic Stenosis Severity During Exercise; JACC Vol. 24, NO. 5, November 1, 1994; hereinafter Burwash), in view of Fortuin et al. (“Exercise Stress Testing”; Circulation, Volume 56, No 5, November 1977; hereinafter Fortuin), in view of Nystrom et al. (US 2017/0333000; hereinafter Nystrom) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Mansi et al. (US2016/0220311).
Regarding claim 5, Burwash, Fortuin and Nystrom disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, but fails to explicitly state transthoracic echocardiogram.
Mansi teaches using transthoracic echocardiogram. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of transthoracic echocardiogram in the invention of Burwash, Fortuin and Nystrom, as taught by Mansi, to be able to provide a in depth 3D or 4D image of the heart.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burwash et al. (“Flow Dependence of Measures of Aortic Stenosis Severity During Exercise; JACC Vol. 24, NO. 5, November 1, 1994; hereinafter Burwash), in view of Fortuin et al. (“Exercise Stress Testing”; Circulation, Volume 56, No 5, November 1977; hereinafter Fortuin), in view of Nystrom et al. (US 2017/0333000; hereinafter Nystrom) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Taylor (US2016/0066861)
Regarding claim 7, Burwash, Fortuin and Nystrom disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, but fails to explicitly state that the stress aortic valve index value as a unitless mean ratio of aortic to left ventricular systolic ejection pressure during stress.
Taylor teaches a similar method of a unitless mean ratio of aortic to left ventricular systolic ejection pressure during stress (see par. [0006], [0119], [0172], [0150], [0319]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of a unitless mean ratio of aortic to left ventricular systolic ejection pressure during stress in the invention of Burwash, Fortuin and Nystrom, as taught by Taylor, to be able to predict and diagnosis the patient and determine whether a lesion is functionally significant and whether to treat the lesion.
Claims 8, 11, 13, 15, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burwash et al. (“Flow Dependence of Measures of Aortic Stenosis Severity During Exercise; JACC Vol. 24, NO. 5, November 1, 1994; hereinafter Burwash), in view of Fortuin et al. (“Exercise Stress Testing”; Circulation, Volume 56, No 5, November 1977; hereinafter Fortuin), in view of Nystrom et al. (US 2017/0333000; hereinafter Nystrom), in view of Ben-Dor et al. (“Coronary blood flow in patients with severe aortic stenosis before and after transcatheter aortic valve implantation”; the American Journal of Cardiology; volume 114; hereinafter Ben-Dor).
Regarding claim 8, Burwash discloses a flow dependence of measured of aortic stenosis severity during exercise. Burwash shows a method for characterizing cardiac aortic valve function (see abstract): comprising: acquiring baseline measurements of cardiac activity (see right column on page 1343, and “results” on page 1344); increasing cardiac stress (see right column on page 1343); acquiring additional measurements of cardiac activity with increased cardiac stress (see right column on page 1343); and computing a stress aortic valve index value for an aortic valve (see right column on page 1343, and “results” on page 1344), wherein the SAVI quantifies transvalvular flow for the aortic valve (see “results” on page 1344 ).
As stated above that Burwash shows increasing cardiac stress using exercise stress test (see right column on page 1343), and typically an exercise stress test would increase cardiac contract force, but Burwash does not explicit state that the exercise stress test does increase cardiac contract force, the SAVI quantifies a relative reduction in maximum transvalvular flow for the aortic valve between additional measurements after increasing cardiac stress and a normalized transvalvular flow, and recommends implanting transcatheter aortic valve implantation and transcatheter aortic valve implantation.
Fortuin discloses an exercise stress testing and states that the exercise stress test does increase cardiac contract force (see “exercise physiology” on page 699).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of that the exercise stress test does increase cardiac contract force in the invention of Burwash, as taught by Fortuin, to be able determine whether the coronary circulation can increase oxygen delivery to the myocardium in the response to increase demands and assess exercise capacity.
But, Burwash and Fortuin fail to explicitly state the SAVI quantifies a relative reduction in maximum transvalvular flow for the aortic valve between additional measurements after increasing cardiac stress and a normalized transvalvular flow, and recommends implanting transcatheter aortic valve implantation and transcatheter aortic valve implantation.
Nystrom discloses a positioning sensing in intravascular process. Nystrom teaches SAVI quantifies a relative reduction in maximum transvalvular flow for the aortic valve between additional measurements and a normalized transvalvular flow (see par. [0006], [0063], [0077]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claim invention, to have utilized the teaching of SAVI quantifies a relative reduction in maximum transvalvular flow for the aortic valve between additional measurements and a normalized transvalvular flow in the invention of Burwash and Fortuin, as taught by Nystrom, to be able to provide additional information to determine the severity of aortic stenosis.
But, Burwash, Fortuin and Nystrom fail to explicitly recommends implanting transcatheter aortic valve implantation and transcatheter aortic valve implantation.
Ben-Dor discloses coronary blood flow before and after transcatheter aortic valve implantation. Ben-Dor teaches recommending recommends implanting transcatheter aortic valve implantation (see abstract and discussion), transcatheter aortic valve implantation (see abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of transcatheter aortic valve implantation in the invention of Burwash, Fortuin and Nystrom, as taught by Ben-Doe, to improve coronary blood flow.
Regarding claim 11, Burwash shows positioning a non-invasive imaging system for cardiac imaging (see “method” on page 1343, and “results” on page 1344); and acquiring the baseline measurements and the additional measurements using the non invasive imaging system (see “method” on page 1343, and “results” on page 1344).
Regarding claim 13, Burwash shows wherein increasing cardiac stress comprises administering exercise (see right column on page 1343).
Regarding claim 15, Burwash, Fortuin, Nystrom and Ben-Dor disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection, furthermore, combined invention of Burwash, Fortuin and Ben-Dor suggest transcatheter aortic valve implantation at sever stenosis, but furthermore Nystrom teaches that the stress aortic valve index value is less than 0.7( see par. [0077]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claim invention, to have utilized the teaching of the stress aortic valve index value is less than 0.7 in the invention of Burwash and Fortuin, as taught by Nystrom, to be able to provide additional information to determine the severity of aortic stenosis.
Regarding claim 16, Burwash discloses a flow dependence of measured of aortic stenosis severity during exercise. Burwash shows a method for characterizing cardiac aortic valve function (see abstract): comprising: acquiring baseline measurements of cardiac activity (see right column on page 1343, and “results” on page 1344); increasing cardiac stress (see right column on page 1343); acquiring additional measurements of cardiac activity with increased cardiac stress (see right column on page 1343); and computing a stress aortic valve index value (see right column on page 1343, and “results” on page 1344), wherein the SAVI quantifies a transvalvular flow for the aortic valve see “results” on page 1344).
As stated above that Burwash shows increasing cardiac stress using exercise stress test (see right column on page 1343), and typically an exercise stress test would increase cardiac contract force, but Burwash does not explicit state that the exercise stress test does increase cardiac contract force, that the SAVI quantifies a relative reduction in maximum transvalvular flow for the aortic valve between additional measurements after increasing cardiac stress and a normalized transvalvular flow, transcatheter aortic valve implantation, and comparing the computed stress aortic valve index value to a predetermined stress aortic valve index value to assess the effectiveness of the transcatheter aortic valve implantation.
Fortuin discloses an exercise stress testing and states that the exercise stress test does increase cardiac contract force (see “exercise physiology” on page 699).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of that the exercise stress test does increase cardiac contract force in the invention of Burwash, as taught by Fortuin, to be able determine whether the coronary circulation can increase oxygen delivery to the myocardium in the response to increase demands and assess exercise capacity.
Burwash and Fortuin fail to explicitly state that the SAVI quantifies a relative reduction in maximum transvalvular flow for the aortic valve between additional measurements after increasing cardiac stress and a normalized transvalvular flow, transcatheter aortic valve implantation, and comparing the computed stress aortic valve index value to a predetermined stress aortic valve index value to assess the effectiveness of the transcatheter aortic valve implantation.
Nystrom discloses a positioning sensing in intravascular process. Nystrom teaches SAVI quantifies a relative reduction in maximum transvalvular flow for the aortic valve between additional measurements and a normalized transvalvular flow (see par. [0006], [0063], [0077]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claim invention, to have utilized the teaching of SAVI quantifies a relative reduction in maximum transvalvular flow for the aortic valve between additional measurements and a normalized transvalvular flow in the invention of Burwash and Fortuin, as taught by Nystrom, to be able to provide additional information to determine the severity of aortic stenosis.
Burwash, Fortuin and Nystrom fail to explicitly transcatheter aortic valve implantation, and comparing the computed stress aortic valve index value to a predetermined stress aortic valve index value to assess the effectiveness of the transcatheter aortic valve implantation.
Ben-Dor discloses coronary blood flow before and after transcatheter aortic valve implantation. Ben-Dor teaches transcatheter aortic valve implantation (see abstract), comparing the computed stress aortic valve index value to a predetermined stress aortic valve index value to assess the effectiveness of the transcatheter aortic valve implantation (see abstract; method, Fig. 1 and table 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of transcatheter aortic valve implantation, and comparing the computed stress aortic valve index value to a predetermined stress aortic valve index value to assess the effectiveness of the transcatheter aortic valve implantation in the invention of Burwash, Fortuin and Nystrom, as taught by Ben-Doe, to improve coronary blood flow, and the verify the improvement of the blood flow after TAVI.
Regarding claim 17, Burwash, Fortuin, Nystrom, and Ben-Dor disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore Ben-Dor teaches the predetermined stress aortic valve index value comprises a stress aortic valve index value computed based on baseline measurements and additional measurements acquired prior to the transcatheter aortic valve implantation (see abstract; method, Fig. 1 and table 1).
Claims 9, 10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burwash et al. (“Flow Dependence of Measures of Aortic Stenosis Severity During Exercise; JACC Vol. 24, NO. 5, November 1, 1994; hereinafter Burwash), in view of Fortuin et al. (“Exercise Stress Testing”; Circulation, Volume 56, No 5, November 1977; hereinafter Fortuin), in view of Nystrom et al. (US 2017/0333000; hereinafter Nystrom), in view of Ben-Dor et al. (“Coronary blood flow in patients with severe aortic stenosis before and after transcatheter aortic valve implantation”; the American Journal of Cardiology; volume 114; hereinafter Ben-Dor) as applied to claims 8 and 16 above, and further in view of Hou et al. (US 2013/0274618; hereinafter Hou).
Regarding claim 9, Burwash, Fortuin, Nystrom, and Ben-Dor disclose the invention substantially as disclosed in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Burwash shows acquiring the baseline measurement (see right column on page 1343, and “results” on page 1344) and the additional measurements (see right column on page 1343, and “results” on page 1344), but fails to explicitly state inserting a coronary pressure wire in a left ventricle; and acquiring measurements using the coronary pressure wire.
Hou discloses a guidewire system for use in transcatheter aortic valve implantation procedure. Hou teaches inserting a coronary pressure wire in a left ventricle (see par. [0073]; and acquiring measurements using the coronary pressure wire (see par. [0073]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have utilized inserting a coronary pressure wire in a left ventricle; and acquiring measurements using the coronary pressure wire in the invention of Burwash, Fortuin, Nystrom, and Ben-Dor, as taught by Hou, to be able to measure or determine the blood pressure gradient prior to performing a TAVI procedure.
Regarding claim 10, Burwash, Fortuin, Nystrom, and Ben-Dor disclose the invention substantially as disclosed in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Burwash shows acquiring the baseline measurement (see right column on page 1343, and “results” on page 1344) and the additional measurements (see right column on page 1343, and “results” on page 1344), but fails to explicitly state inserting a coronary pressure wire in an ascending aorta.
Hou discloses a guidewire system for use in transcatheter aortic valve implantation procedure. Hou teaches inserting a coronary pressure wire in an ascending aorta (see par. [0073]; and acquiring measurements using the coronary pressure wire (see par. [0073]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have utilized inserting a coronary pressure wire in an ascending aorta; and acquiring measurements using the coronary pressure wire in the invention of Burwash, Fortuin, Nystrom, and Ben-Dor, as taught by Hou, to be able to measure or determine the blood pressure gradient prior to performing a TAVI procedure.
Regarding claim 18, Burwash, Fortuin, Nystrom, and Ben-Dor disclose the invention substantially as disclosed in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Burwash shows acquiring the baseline measurement (see right column on page 1343, and “results” on page 1344) and the additional measurements (see right column on page 1343, and “results” on page 1344), fails to explicitly state inserting a coronary pressure wire in a left ventricle; and inserting second coronary pressure wire in an ascending aorta.
Hou discloses a guidewire system for use in transcatheter aortic valve implantation procedure. Hou teaches inserting a coronary pressure wire in a left ventricle (see par. [0073], inserting a second coronary pressure wire in an ascending aorta (see par. [0073], and acquiring measurements using the coronary pressure wire (see par. [0073]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have utilized inserting a coronary pressure wire in a left ventricle; inserting a second coronary pressure wire in an ascending aorta, and acquiring measurements using the coronary pressure wire in the invention of Burwash, Fortuin, Nystrom, and Ben-Dor, as taught by Hou, to be able to measure or determine the blood pressure gradient prior to performing a TAVI procedure.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burwash et al. (“Flow Dependence of Measures of Aortic Stenosis Severity During Exercise; JACC Vol. 24, NO. 5, November 1, 1994; hereinafter Burwash), in view of Fortuin et al. (“Exercise Stress Testing”; Circulation, Volume 56, No 5, November 1977; hereinafter Fortuin), in view of Nystrom et al. (US 2017/0333000; hereinafter Nystrom), in view of Ben-Dor et al. (“Coronary blood flow in patients with severe aortic stenosis before and after transcatheter aortic valve implantation”; the American Journal of Cardiology; volume 114; hereinafter Ben-Dor) as applied to claims 8 and 11 above, and further in view of Mansi et al. (US2016/0220311).
Regarding claim 12, Burwash, Fortuin, Nystrom, and Ben-Dor disclose the invention substantially described the 103 invention above, but fails to explicitly state transthoracic echocardiogram.
Mansi teaches using transthoracic echocardiogram. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of transthoracic echocardiogram in the invention of Burwash, Fortuin, Nystrom, and Ben-Dor, as taught by Mansi, to be able to provide a in depth 3D or 4D image of the heart.
Claims 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burwash et al. (“Flow Dependence of Measures of Aortic Stenosis Severity During Exercise; JACC Vol. 24, NO. 5, November 1, 1994; hereinafter Burwash), in view of Fortuin et al. (“Exercise Stress Testing”; Circulation, Volume 56, No 5, November 1977; hereinafter Fortuin), in view of Nystrom et al. (US 2017/0333000; hereinafter Nystrom), in view of Ben-Dor et al. (“Coronary blood flow in patients with severe aortic stenosis before and after transcatheter aortic valve implantation”; the American Journal of Cardiology; volume 114; hereinafter Ben-Dor) as applied to claims 8 and 16 above, and further in view of Taylor (US2016/0066861).
Regarding claim 14, Burwash, Fortuin, Nystrom, and Ben-Dor disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, but fails to explicitly state that the stress aortic valve index value as a unitless mean ratio of aortic to left ventricular systolic ejection pressure during stress.
Taylor teaches a similar method of a unitless mean ratio of aortic to left ventricular systolic ejection pressure during stress (see par. [0006], [0119], [0172], [0150], [0319]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of a unitless mean ratio of aortic to left ventricular systolic ejection pressure during stress in the invention of Burwash, Fortuin, Nystrom, and Ben-Dor, as taught by Taylor, to be able to predict and diagnosis the patient and determine whether a lesion is functionally significant and whether to treat the lesion.
Regarding claim 20, Burwash, Fortuin, Nystrom, and Ben-Dor disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Ben-Dor teaches a similar method of computing prosthetic resistance of the TAVI as a slope of a pressure loss versus flow curve computed based on basement measurements and additional measurements (see left column on page 1267; and fig. 2), but fails to explicitly state that the stress aortic valve index value as a unitless mean ratio of aortic to left ventricular systolic ejection pressure during stress.
Taylor teaches a similar method of a unitless mean ratio of aortic to left ventricular systolic ejection pressure during stress (see par. [0006], [0119], [0172], [0150], [0319]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of a unitless mean ratio of aortic to left ventricular systolic ejection pressure during stress in the invention of Burwash, Fortuin, Nystrom, and Ben-Dor, as taught by Taylor, to be able to predict and diagnosis the patient and determine whether a lesion is functionally significant and whether to treat the lesion.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burwash et al. (“Flow Dependence of Measures of Aortic Stenosis Severity During Exercise; JACC Vol. 24, NO. 5, November 1, 1994; hereinafter Burwash), in view of Fortuin et al. (“Exercise Stress Testing”; Circulation, Volume 56, No 5, November 1977; hereinafter Fortuin), in view of Nystrom et al. (US 2017/0333000; hereinafter Nystrom), in view of Ben-Dor et al. (“Coronary blood flow in patients with severe aortic stenosis before and after transcatheter aortic valve implantation”; the American Journal of Cardiology; volume 114; hereinafter Ben-Dor) as applied to claims 16 above, and further in view of Mansi et al. (US2016/0220311).
Regarding claim 19, Burwash, Fortuin, Nystrom, and Ben-Dor disclose the invention substantially described the 103 invention above, furthermore, Burwash shows positioning a non-invasive imaging system for cardiac imaging (see “method” on page 1343, and “results” on page 1344); and acquiring the baseline measurements and the additional measurements using the non invasive imaging system (see “method” on page 1343, and “results” on page 1344), but fails to explicitly state transthoracic echocardiogram.
Mansi teaches using transthoracic echocardiogram. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of transthoracic echocardiogram in the invention of Burwash, Fortuin, Nystrom, and Ben-Dor, as taught by Mansi, to be able to provide a in depth 3D or 4D image of the heart.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 07/24/2025 with respect to prior art rejection have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any rejection applied in the prior office action of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The examiner has provided new prior art Nystrom for independent claims 1, 8 and 16.
Conclusion
/SHAHDEEP MOHAMMED/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797