DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
This Official Action is Non-Final.
Claims 31-33, 36, 38 are pending.
Claims 36, 38 are free of prior art.
Claim Objections
Claim 31 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 31 recites the term “gram”. It is believed that the term should be -- grain --. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 31-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al, Volatile Compounds of Raw Spirits from Different Distilling Stages of Luzhou-flavor spirit, 2014 Volume 20 Issue 2 Pages 283-293 (ZHENG) in view of United States Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0066217 (McCann).
.
Fig. 1 of ZHENG shows that:
ZHENG teaches that unfermented grain in the form of “fresh grains” can be added with fermented grains (see Fig. 1 B) and placed in a vessel.
In the Extraction of Volatile Compounds, it is noted that the extraction is a liquid extraction. Thus, it would have been obvious to place liquid in the vessel ( see Fig 1b). The extraction naturally contains volatiles from the fermentation AND from the fresh grains.
It is also taught that steam is used to heat the liquid which naturally extracts and drives the extracted volatile compounds into a vapor phase (see Fig. 1 with steam (a) being added to the vessel).
The volatiles are captured and condensed in the tube type exchanger (see Fig. 1 B).
Fig. 1 B shows that the volatiles (which include volatiles from the fresh grains) are aged and blended. Thus it would have bene obvious to blend/mix the volatiles from the fresh grain with other alcoholic mixtures. Liquors are blended to create a balanced product with a desired flavor profile.
Fig. 1 of ZHENG shows that:
ZHENG teaches that unfermented grain in the form of “fresh grains” can be added with fermented grains (see Fig. 1 B) and placed in a vessel.
In the Extraction of Volatile Compounds, it is noted that the extraction is a liquid extraction. Thus, it would have been obvious to place liquid in the vessel ( see Fig 1b). The extraction naturally contains volatiles from the fermentation AND from the fresh grains.
It is also taught that steam is used to heat the liquid which naturally extract and drive the extracted volatile compounds into a vapor phase (see Fig. 1 with steam (a) being added to the vessel).
The volatiles are captured and condensed in the tube type exchanger (see Fig. 1 B).
Fig. 1 B shows that the volatiles (which include volatiles from the fresh grains) are aged and blended. Thus it would have bene obvious to blend/mix the volatiles from the fresh grain with other alcoholic mixtures. Liquors are blended to create a balanced product with a desired flavor profile.
ZHENG does not teach the addition of a separate structure for the unfermented grain.
McCann teaches botanical baskets constructed of stainless piping and are oriented vertically with a capacity of 5 gallons (see [0018, FIGS 1-3). As a non-limited example, the botanicals contemplated for use in the flavor vessels 3, 4, include grains (i.e., with no indication of being fermented). In [0019], it is taught that each flavor vessel 3, 4 houses one or more perforated stainless sheets (trays) that contain the botanicals and allow for vapor to pass through the botanicals to extract flavor.
It would have been obvious to provide unfermented grain in a separate container that is attached to the device of ZHENG to provide good flavor and aroma.
Claims 32-33
In the Extraction of Volatile Compounds, it is noted that the extraction is a liquid-liquid extraction where water is added ( ZHENG, see Fig 1b). The water can be mixed with a raw spirit. Thus, it would have been obvious to have selected water or an alcohol-water solution as the extraction liquid.
Claims Free of Prior Art
Claims 36, 38 are free of prior art.
Claims 36, 38 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Vapor infusion techniques are known where vapors are passed over botanicals held in a botanical basket to obtain botanical volatiles (see Hodel, Influence of distillation parameters on the extraction of Juniperus communis L. in vapour infused gin, J. Inst. Brew. 2020; 126: 184–193). However, these vapor infusion techniques are not known for adding unfermented grains and using separate and attached reflux and distillation columns, as claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/5/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argued that neither ZHENG nor Fujimaki teach the claimed method. While ZHENG is still cited, Fujimaki is no longer relied upon. McCann is cited to teach this feature.
Conclusion
/PHILIP A DUBOIS/ Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791