Response to Arguments
1. Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Specifically, Applicant’s arguments do not consider the new prior art references, Lee et al. (US 20170171606 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 1, 17, 20, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kutch et al. (US 20210349820 A1) in view Lee et al. (US 20170171606 A1), Cline et al. (US 20070291771 A1) and Sarangam et al. (US 20070127525 A1).
Claim 1 Kutch teaches an apparatus comprising:
a network interface device (FIG. 2, ¶0027, example system) comprising:
a network interface; (FIG. 2, ¶0033, network interface manager (NIM) 232 and network interface (NIC) 250)
a host interface; (FIG. 2, ¶0034, host interface manager (HIM) 234)
a direct memory access (DMA) circuitry; (FIG. 3, ¶0018 and ¶0036, direct memory access (DMA) engine 1052/1026) and
a circuitry (FIG. 2, Processors 230) to, based on a command from a host system coupled to the host interface, perform at least one operation offloaded from the host system (FIG. 2, ¶0034, performing operations using an offload processor) to:
in response to receipt of a request to transmit a media file, (FIG. 7B, step 750, ¶0054, receiving a packet transmit request) the circuitry is to copy at least one packet, from the host system, that comprises a portion of the media file in a packet payload, (FIG. 7B, step 756, ¶0055-¶0056, data copied from the system memory)
wherein the request to transmit the media file is received by the network interface device (FIG. 7B, ¶ step 750, 0054, receiving the packet transmit request by the offload processor, i.e. network interface device) and wherein the at least one packet is stored in the host system; (¶0055, copy data to system memory) and
provide the packet for transmission by the network interface device. (FIG. 7B, step 756 and step 762, ¶0056, wherein the data is provided for transmission by the device)
However, Kutch does not explicitly teach wherein the circuity is to further
wherein the packet comprises at least one pre-completed packet;
wherein the at least one pre-completed field of the packet is associated with one or more of: Real-time Transport Protocol (RTP), Transmission Control Protocol (TCP), or Internet Protocol version 4 (IPv4);
generate a transmit time stamp value for the packet;
generate a sequence number for the packet;
update at least one streaming media protocol header field for the packet to include the generated transmit time stamp value and the generated sequence number;
generate a validation value for a transport layer protocol based on the packet with the updated at least one header field and include the generated validation value in at least one header field of the packet.
From a related technology, Lee teaches wherein a packet comprises at least one pre-completed packet; (¶0639, a packet including initial data of the fragment, including header data) and wherein the at least one pre-completed field of the packet is associated with one or more of: Real-time Transport Protocol (RTP), (¶0782, wherein the header extension applies to the packet for a protocol such as RTP) Transmission Control Protocol (TCP), (¶1105, wherein the transmission can be through TCP) or Internet Protocol version 4 (IPv4); (¶0170, the system supporting and thus packets are associated with IPv4 for the IP stream)
generate a transmit time stamp value for the packet; (¶1097, timestamp information)
and generate a sequence number for the packet. (¶0579, wherein congestion control information includes sequence numbers)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kutch to incorporate the teachings of Lee in order to more effective manage the data contain in fields of packets and improve resource efficiency.
However, Kutch in view of Lee does not explicitly teach update at least one streaming media protocol header field for the packet to include the generated transmit time stamp value and the generated sequence number; and
generate a validation value for a transport layer protocol based on the packet with the updated at least one header field and include the generated validation value in at least one header field of the packet.
From a related technology, Cline teaches, generate a transmit time stamp value for the packet; (FIG. 1, ¶0013, assigning or generating a timestamp for the packet)
generate a sequence number for the packet; (FIG. 1, ¶0013, assigning or generating a sequence number for the packet) and
update at least one streaming media protocol header field for the packet to include the generated transmit time stamp value and the generated sequence number. (FIG. 1, ¶0013, wherein the header is updated to include the timestamp and sequence number)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kutch in view of Lee to incorporate updating or translating header fields of packets in order to account for various protocols as described by Cline that enable the more efficient utilization of network resources.
However, Kutch in view of Lee and Cline does not explicitly teach
generate a validation value for a transport layer protocol based on the packet with the updated at least one header field and include the generated validation value in at least one header field of the packet.
From a related technology, Sarangam teaches generate a validation value for a transport layer protocol based on the packet with the updated at least one header field and include the generated validation value in at least one header field of the packet. (¶0047 and ¶0086, writing a determined integrity validation value is included within the header)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Kutch in view of Lee and Cline to incorporate a validation value within their validation steps as taught by Sarangam in order to more effectively document valid data and error check computer processes.
Claim 17 is taught by Kutch in view of Lee, Cline and Sarangam as described for Claim 1.
Claim 20 is taught by Kutch in view of Lee, Cline and Sarangam as described for Claim 1.
Claim 24 is taught by Kutch in view of Lee, Cline and Sarangam as described for Claim 1, and further teaches wherein the at least one packet comprises multiple packets that include media files of a media stream. (Cline, FIG. 1, ¶0013, wherein the packet is a packet of a packet stream; ¶0008, wherein the packets are media packets, for example, audio or video)
3. Claims 3, 5-10, 13, 16 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kutch et al. (US 20210349820 A1) in view Lee et al. (US 20170171606 A1), Cline et al. (US 20070291771 A1) and Sarangam et al. (US 20070127525 A1) and in further view of Pfister et a. (US 20190116246 A1).
Claim 3 Kutch in view of Cline and Sarangam teaches Claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the circuitry is to generate a pseudo-random sequence number, update the sequence number for a subsequent packet transmission, and include a value derived from the generated sequence number in at least one header field.
From a related technology, Pfister teaches wherein the circuitry is to generate a pseudo-random sequence number, (Pfister, ¶0028, generating a checksum) update the sequence number for a subsequent packet transmission, and include a value derived from the generated sequence number in at least one header field. (Pfister, ¶0028, generating a summed partial checksum value included in the header field for transmission)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kutch in view of Cline and Sarangam to incorporate the teachings of Pfister to utilize the packet transmission techniques to more effectively utilize network resources.
Claim 5 Kutch in view of Cline and Sarangam teaches Claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the circuitry is to generate a validation value for a transport layer protocol based on the packet with the updated at least one header field.
From a related technology, Pfister teaches wherein the circuitry is to generate a validation value for a transport layer protocol based on the packet with the updated at least one header field. (Pfister, ¶0028, wherein the checksum value comprises a validation value for transport and is based on the updated header field)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kutch in view of Cline and Sarangam to incorporate the teachings of Pfister to utilize the packet transmission techniques to effectively utilize network resources.
Claim 6 Kutch in view of Cline and Sarangam teaches Claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the network interface device comprises a memory and the memory is to receive a copy of a prototype header and the circuitry is to update at least one header field of the prototype header.
From a related technology, Pfister teaches wherein the network interface device comprises a memory and the memory is to receive a copy of a prototype2 header (Pfister, ¶0010, wherein the received request includes client-specific information wherein the client-specific information comprises the prototype header, as this information is the prototype for the constructed header) and the circuitry is to update at least one header field of the prototype header. (Pfister, FIG. 3, Step 348-350, ¶0026, updating protocol headers for a packet segment)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kutch in view of Cline and Sarangam to incorporate the teachings of Pfister to utilize the packet transmission techniques to effectively utilize network resources.
Claim 7 Kutch in view of Cline and Sarangam teaches Claim 1, but does not explicitly teach comprising a computing platform communicatively coupled to the interface, wherein the computing platform comprises a server, data center, rack, or host computing platform.
From a related technology, Pfister teaches comprising a computing platform communicatively coupled to the interface, wherein the computing platform comprises a server, data center, rack, or host computing platform. (Pfister, FIG. 1, Server 102, ¶0011, a server communicatively coupled to the delivery node interface)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kutch in view of Cline and Sarangam to incorporate the teachings of Pfister to utilize the packet transmission techniques to effectively utilize network resources.
Claim 8 Kutch in view of Cline and Sarangam teaches Claim 1, but does not explicitly teach comprising the host system communicatively coupled to the network interface device, wherein the host system is to execute an operating system (OS) that is to provide a segmentation offload command that identifies content to be transmitted and the OS is to provide the command to perform the operation to update the at least one streaming protocol header field for the packet.
From a related technology, Pfister teaches comprising the host system communicatively coupled to the network interface device, wherein the host system is to execute an operating system (OS) (Pfister, ¶0011, wherein the content server executing an operating system, i.e. the server system software operating its functions) that is to provide a segmentation offload command that identifies content to be transmitted and the OS is to provide the command to perform the operation to update the at least one streaming protocol header field for the packet. (Examiner notes that the limitation “that is to provide a segmentation offload command… and provide the command to perform the operation…” comprises an intended use statement regarding the operating system which does not have patentable weight)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kutch in view of Cline and Sarangam to incorporate the teachings of Pfister to utilize the packet transmission techniques to effectively utilize network resources.
Claim 9 Kutch in view of Cline and Sarangam teaches Claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the packet comprises a media file portion that was generated and stored prior to a request for the media file portion.
From a related technology, Pfister teaches wherein the packet comprises a media file portion that was generated and stored prior to a request for the media file portion. (Pfister, ¶0010, wherein the data packets comprises data stored directly into memory prior to receiving downstream client requests for the same content, FIG. 5, step 512)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kutch in view of Cline and Sarangam to incorporate the teachings of Pfister to utilize the packet transmission techniques to effectively utilize network resources.
Claim 10 Kutch in view of Cline, Sarangam and Pfister teaches Claim 9, and further teaches comprising the host system communicatively coupled to the network interface device, the hos system to store pre-packetized files for at least one media quality level. (Pfister, ¶0016-¶0018, delivery node 306, storing the data packets in a main memory, wherein data is inherently of at least one media quality level)
Claims 13 are taught by Kutch in view of Cline, Sarangam and Pfister as described for Claim 1.
Claim 16 Kutch in view of Cline and Sarangam teaches Claim 13, and further teaches comprising instructions stored thereon, that if executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to:
pre-packetize and store at least one file for at least one media quality level prior to a request for the at least one file. (Pfister, ¶0016-¶0018, delivery node 306, storing the data packets in a main memory, wherein data is inherently of at least one media quality level)
Claim 23 Kutch in view of Cline and Sarangam teaches Claim 20, further teaches wherein the updating the at least one streaming media protocol header field comprises updating a time stamp. (Kim, ¶0062, header comprising a time-to-live header field)
However Kutch in view of Kim does not explicitly teach wherein the updating the at least one streaming media protocol header field comprises updating a sequence number, and a validation value and wherein the validation value comprises a checksum or cyclic redundancy check (CRC) value.
From a related technology, Pfister teaches wherein the updating the at least one streaming media protocol header field comprises updating a sequence number, (Pfister, ¶0028, checksum value) and a validation value and wherein the validation value comprises a checksum (Pfister, ¶0028, checksum value) or cyclic redundancy check (CRC) value.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kutch in view of Cline and Sarangam to incorporate the teachings of Pfister to utilize the packet transmission techniques to effectively utilize network resources.
4. Claims 4 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kutch et al. (US 20210349820 A1) in view Lee et al. (US 20170171606 A1), Cline et al. (US 20070291771 A1) and Sarangam et al. (US 20070127525 A1) and in further view of Rocha De Maria et al. (US 20160080241 A1).
Claim 4 Kutch in view of Cline and Sarangam teaches Claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the circuitry is to generate a time stamp based on one or more of:
an initial timestamp value, a clock rate, or a number of bytes sent and the circuitry is to is to include the generated time stamp in at least one header field.
From a related technology, Rocha De Maria teaches generate a time stamp based on one or more of:
an initial timestamp value, a clock rate, (Rocha De Maria, ¶0083, Example Protocol: Upstream Mode, Example Protocol Downstream Mode, “The decimal number is ordinarily expected to be a timestamp according to the client device's clock and in units appropriate to the client device” ) or a number of bytes sent and the circuitry is to is to include the generated time stamp in at least one header field.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kutch in view of Cline and Sarangam to incorporate the teachings of Rocha De Maria to more effectively utilize network resources.
Claim 19 Kutch in view of Cline and Sarangam teaches Claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the circuitry is to perform one or more of:
generate a pseudo-random starting sequence number, update the sequence number for subsequent a packet transmission, and include the generated sequence number in at least one header field or
generate a time stamp based on one or more of:
an initial timestamp value, a clock rate, or a number of bytes sent and the circuitry is to is to include the generated time stamp in at least on header field.
From a related technology, Rocha De Maria teaches generate a time stamp based on one or more of:
an initial timestamp value, a clock rate, (Rocha De Maria, ¶0083, Example Protocol: Upstream Mode, Example Protocol Downstream Mode, “The decimal number is ordinarily expected to be a timestamp according to the client device's clock and in units appropriate to the client device” ) or a number of bytes sent and the circuitry is to is to include the generated time stamp in at least on header field.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kutch in view of Cline and Sarangam to incorporate the teachings of Rocha De Maria to more effectively utilize network resources.
5. Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kutch et al. (US 20210349820 A1) in view Lee et al. (US 20170171606 A1), Cline et al. (US 20070291771 A1), Sarangam et al. (US 20070127525 A1) and Pfister et a. (US 20190116246 A1) and in further view of Lo et al. (US 20190394498 A1).
Claim 11 Kutch in view of Cline, Sarangam and Pfister teaches Claim 9, and further teaches wherein the network interface device comprises a processor (Pfister, FIG. 3, Processor 307) to modify a quality level of audio or video media to a second quality level provided for transmission of the audio or video in the second quality level in at least one packet. (Pfister, FIG. 5, step 512, ¶0027, constructing a client-specific data packet, wherein the client specific data packet has had its qualities modified to satisfy client request)
However, Kim in view of Pfister does not explicitly teach wherein the network interface comprises a processor to detect a change in a traffic receipt rate.
From a related technology, Lo teaches a processor to detect a change in a traffic receipt rate. (Lo, ¶0065, monitoring bandwidth/transmission rate)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kutch in view of Cline, Sarangam and Pfister to incorporate the teachings of Lo to more effectively utilize network resources.
Claim 12 Kutch in view of Cline, Sarangam and Pfister and Lo teaches Claim 11, and further teaches wherein to modify the quality level of media to a second level provided for transmission in the at least one packet, the network interface device is to select and transmit a pre-generated packet associated with a next time stamp for the second quality level. (Lo, ¶0077, selecting a lower quality versions based on the conditions)
6. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kutch et al. (US 20210349820 A1) in view Lee et al. (US 20170171606 A1), Cline et al. (US 20070291771 A1), Sarangam et al. (US 20070127525 A1) and Pfister et a. (US 20190116246 A1) and Nuggehalli et al. (US 20180132263 A1).
Claim 18 Kutch in view of Cline, Sarangam, and Pfister teaches Claim 17, but does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one header field comprises one or more of a sequence number or a time stamp, wherein the at least one header field is based on Real-time Transport Protocol (RTP).
From a related technology, Pfister teaches wherein the at least one header field comprises one or more of a sequence number (Pfister, ¶0028, checksum value) or a time stamp.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kutch in view of Cline, Sarangam, and Pfister to incorporate the teachings of Pfister to utilize the packet transmission techniques to effectively utilize network resources.
However, Kutch in view of Kim and Pfister does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one header field is based on Real-time Transport Protocol (RTP).
From a related technology, Nuggehalli at least one header field is based on Real-time Transport Protocol (RTP). (Nuggehalli, ¶0029, wherein the header field is based on RTP)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kutch in view of Cline, Sarangam, and Pfister to incorporate the teachings of Nuggehalli to more effectively utilize network resources.
7. Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kutch et al. (US 20210349820 A1) in view Lee et al. (US 20170171606 A1), Cline et al. (US 20070291771 A1) and Sarangam et al. (US 20070127525 A1) and in further view of Corlett (US 20090161569 A1).
Claim 22 Kutch in view of Cline and Sarangam teaches Claim 20, but does not explicitly teach generating a pseudo-random starting sequence number,
update the sequence number for subsequent a packet transmission, and
include the generated sequence number in at least one header field of the packet and generating a time stamp based on one or more of:
an initial timestamp value, a clock rate, or a number of bytes sent and including the generated time stamp in at least on header field of the packet.
From a related technology, Corlett teaches generating a pseudo-random starting sequence number, (¶0232, generating a pseudo-random bi sequence) update the sequence number for subsequent a packet transmission, (See 112(b) rejection, the claim lacks antecedent basis for “the sequence number) and include the generated sequence number (See 112(b) rejection, antecedent basis is unclear to whether the generated pseudo-random starting sequence number is being referenced by “the generated sequence number”) in at least one header field of the packet (¶0232, including in the header information of the packet) and
generating a time stamp based on one or more of: an initial timestamp value, (¶0161, generating a time stamp based on a received, i.e. initial timestamp value)
a clock rate, or a number of bytes sent and including the generated time stamp in at least on header field of the packet.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kutch in view of Cline and Sarangam to incorporate the technique utilized in Corlett in order to more effectively utilized network resources.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER P CADORNA/Examiner, Art Unit 2444
/JOHN A FOLLANSBEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2444