DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicants arguments have been fully considered but are moot because they do not apply to the new combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 9, 18, 21, 28, 30 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paterson (US 2021/0243656), in view of Kim et al (US 2021/0153086).
Regarding Claim 1, Paterson teaches a method in a base station central unit (CU) coupled to one or more base station distributed units (DUs) ([0094], Fig. 6, used in situations when the UE 3-2 moves from one gNB-DU (a source en-gNB-DU 5-2 a-1) to another gNB-DU (a target en-gNB-DU 5-2 a-1) within the same en-gNB-CU 5-2 b during NR operation), the method comprising:
transmitting, by the base station CU to a base station DU, a UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST message for a UE, the UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST message including a CG- ConfigInfo Information Element (IE) ([0112], Fig. 7, On receipt of the SgNB Modification Request message the en-gNB-CU 5-2 b sends, at step S723, a UE Context Modification Request message that includes the DU Configuration Query IE (or similar indicator) to the source en-gNB-DU 5-2 a-1, [0114], step S703, the en-gNB-CU 5-2 b sends a UE Context Setup Request message to the target en-gNB-DU 5-2 a-2 to create an UE context and setup one or more bearers. This message can thus include the full configuration information applied for the UE 3-2 at the source en-gNB-DU 5-2 a-1 (e.g. in a CG-ConfigInfo IE in a CU to DU RRC Information IE) thereby enabling the target en-gNB-DU 5-2 a-2 to apply a delta configuration));
receiving, by the base station CU from the base station DU, a UE CONTEXT SETUP RESPONSE message including a cellGroupConfig IE ([0115], target en-gNB-DU 5-2 a-2 responds to the en-gNB-CU 5-2 b, at step S704, with a UE Context Setup Response message (e.g. including delta configuration information for use by the UE when establishing the connection with the target)); and
generating, by the base station CU based on the UE CONTEXT SETUP RESPONSE message, a message for the UE including the cellGroupConfig IE ([0116], Fig. 7, On receipt of the UE Context Setup Response message, in step S705, the en-gNB-CU 5-2 b transmits an SgNB Modification Request Acknowledge message to the MeNB 5-1 (which may include the configuration information—delta or full) received in step S704).
Paterson fails to teach including a ReconfigurationWithSync IE with the cellGroupConfig IE.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches including a ReconfigurationWithSync IE with the cellGroupConfig IE ([0371], When the security configuration is completed in steps 2e-50 and 2e-55, the BS 2e-02 transmits an RRCConnectionReconfiguration message to the UE 2e-01 in step 2e-60. The message may include bearer configuration information (RadioBearerConfig), cell group configuration information (CellGroupConfig), or frequency measurement information (MeasConfig) which the UE 2e-01 should measure, [0373], The RRCConnectionReconfiguration message may include a ReconfigurationWithSync information element (IE)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a reconfigurationWithSync IE in the UE Context Setup Response message, as taught in Kim, in the system of Paterson, in order to reduce signaling overhead by clearly indicating when synchronization procedures will be required.
Regarding Claim 6, Paterson, modified by Kim, teaches the invention of Claim 1, wherein Paterson further teaches wherein the base station CU and the base station DU operate as a secondary node (SN) to support, with a master node (MN), dual connectivity (DC) at the UE; the method further comprising: transmitting the message for the UE to the MN ([0116], Fig. 7, On receipt of the UE Context Setup Response message, in step S705, the en-gNB-CU 5-2 b transmits an SgNB Modification Request Acknowledge message to the MeNB 5-1 (which may include the configuration information—delta or full) received in step S704).
Regarding Claim 9, Paterson, modified by Kim, teaches the invention of Claim 1, wherein Paterson further teaches transmitting the CG- Configlnfo Information IE in a CU to DU Radio Resource Control (RRC) Information IE ([0099], At step S603, the en-gNB-CU 5-2 b sends a UE Context Setup Request message to the target gNB-DU to create an UE context and setup one or more bearers. This message can thus include the full configuration information applied for the UE 3-2 at the source en-gNB-DU 5-2 a-1 (e.g. in a CG-ConfigInfo IE in a CU to DU RRC Information IE) thereby enabling the target en-gNB-DU 5-2 a-2 to apply a delta configuration).
Regarding Claim 18, Paterson teaches a base station central unit (CU) coupled to one or more base station distributed units (DUs) ([0094], Fig. 6, used in situations when the UE 3-2 moves from one gNB-DU (a source en-gNB-DU 5-2 a-1) to another gNB-DU (a target en-gNB-DU 5-2 a-1) within the same en-gNB-CU 5-2 b during NR operation), the base station CU comprising processing hardware (Fig. 4) and configured to:
transmit, to a base station DU, a UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST message for a UE, the UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST message including a CG-Configlnfo Information Element (IE) ([0112], Fig. 7, On receipt of the SgNB Modification Request message the en-gNB-CU 5-2 b sends, at step S723, a UE Context Modification Request message that includes the DU Configuration Query IE (or similar indicator) to the source en-gNB-DU 5-2 a-1, [0114], step S703, the en-gNB-CU 5-2 b sends a UE Context Setup Request message to the target en-gNB-DU 5-2 a-2 to create an UE context and setup one or more bearers. This message can thus include the full configuration information applied for the UE 3-2 at the source en-gNB-DU 5-2 a-1 (e.g. in a CG-ConfigInfo IE in a CU to DU RRC Information IE) thereby enabling the target en-gNB-DU 5-2 a-2 to apply a delta configuration));
receive, from the base station DU a UE CONTEXT SETUP RESPONSE message including a cellGroupConfig IE ([0115], target en-gNB-DU 5-2 a-2 responds to the en-gNB-CU 5-2 b, at step S704, with a UE Context Setup Response message (e.g. including delta configuration information for use by the UE when establishing the connection with the target)); and
generate, based on the UE CONTEXT SETUP RESPONSE message, a message for the UE including the cellGroupConfig IE ([0116], Fig. 7, On receipt of the UE Context Setup Response message, in step S705, the en-gNB-CU 5-2 b transmits an SgNB Modification Request Acknowledge message to the MeNB 5-1 (which may include the configuration information—delta or full) received in step S704).
Paterson fails to teach including a ReconfigurationWithSync IE with the cellGroupConfig IE.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches including a ReconfigurationWithSync IE with the cellGroupConfig IE ([0371], When the security configuration is completed in steps 2e-50 and 2e-55, the BS 2e-02 transmits an RRCConnectionReconfiguration message to the UE 2e-01 in step 2e-60. The message may include bearer configuration information (RadioBearerConfig), cell group configuration information (CellGroupConfig), or frequency measurement information (MeasConfig) which the UE 2e-01 should measure, [0373], The RRCConnectionReconfiguration message may include a ReconfigurationWithSync information element (IE)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a reconfigurationWithSync IE in the UE Context Setup Response message, as taught in Kim, in the system of Paterson, in order to reduce signaling overhead by clearly indicating when synchronization procedures will be required.
Regarding Claim 21, Paterson teaches a method in a base station distributed unit (DU) coupled to a base station central unit (CU) ([0094], Fig. 6, used in situations when the UE 3-2 moves from one gNB-DU (a source en-gNB-DU 5-2 a-1) to another gNB-DU (a target en-gNB-DU 5-2 a-1) within the same en-gNB-CU 5-2 b during NR operation), the method comprising:
receiving, by the base station DU from the base station CU, a UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST message for a UE, the UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST message including a CG- Configlnfo Information Element (IE) ([0112], Fig. 7, On receipt of the SgNB Modification Request message the en-gNB-CU 5-2 b sends, at step S723, a UE Context Modification Request message that includes the DU Configuration Query IE (or similar indicator) to the source en-gNB-DU 5-2 a-1, [0114], step S703, the en-gNB-CU 5-2 b sends a UE Context Setup Request message to the target en-gNB-DU 5-2 a-2 to create an UE context and setup one or more bearers. This message can thus include the full configuration information applied for the UE 3-2 at the source en-gNB-DU 5-2 a-1 (e.g. in a CG-ConfigInfo IE in a CU to DU RRC Information IE) thereby enabling the target en-gNB-DU 5-2 a-2 to apply a delta configuration));
in response to determining that the UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST message includes the CG-Configlnfo IE in a cellGroupConfig IE for the UE ([0115], target en-gNB-DU 5-2 a-2 responds to the en-gNB-CU 5-2 b, at step S704, with a UE Context Setup Response message (e.g. including delta configuration information for use by the UE when establishing the connection with the target)); and
transmitting, by the base station DU to the base station CU, a UE CONTEXT SETUP RESPONSE including the cellGroupConfig IE ([0116], Fig. 7, On receipt of the UE Context Setup Response message, in step S705, the en-gNB-CU 5-2 b transmits an SgNB Modification Request Acknowledge message to the MeNB 5-1 (which may include the configuration information—delta or full) received in step S704).
Paterson fails to teach including a ReconfigurationWithSync IE with the cellGroupConfig IE.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches including a ReconfigurationWithSync IE with the cellGroupConfig IE ([0371], When the security configuration is completed in steps 2e-50 and 2e-55, the BS 2e-02 transmits an RRCConnectionReconfiguration message to the UE 2e-01 in step 2e-60. The message may include bearer configuration information (RadioBearerConfig), cell group configuration information (CellGroupConfig), or frequency measurement information (MeasConfig) which the UE 2e-01 should measure, [0373], The RRCConnectionReconfiguration message may include a ReconfigurationWithSync information element (IE)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a reconfigurationWithSync IE in the UE Context Setup Response message, as taught in Kim, in the system of Paterson, in order to reduce signaling overhead by clearly indicating when synchronization procedures will be required.
Regarding Claim 28, Paterson, modified by Kim, teaches the invention of Claim 18, wherein Paterson further teaches wherein: the base station CU and the base station DU operate as a secondary node (SN) to support, with a master node (MN), dual connectivity (DC) at the UE; the base station CU further configured to:transmit the message for the UE to the MN ([0116], Fig. 7, On receipt of the UE Context Setup Response message, in step S705, the en-gNB-CU 5-2 b transmits an SgNB Modification Request Acknowledge message to the MeNB 5-1 (which may include the configuration information—delta or full) received in step S704).
Regarding Claim 30, Paterson, modified by Kim, teaches the invention of Claim 18, wherein Paterson further teaches transmit the CG-Configlnfo IE-in a CU to DU Radio Resource Control (RRC) Information IE ([0114], step S703, the en-gNB-CU 5-2 b sends a UE Context Setup Request message to the target en-gNB-DU 5-2 a-2 to create an UE context and setup one or more bearers. This message can thus include the full configuration information applied for the UE 3-2 at the source en-gNB-DU 5-2 a-1 (e.g. in a CG-ConfigInfo IE in a CU to DU RRC Information IE) thereby enabling the target en-gNB-DU 5-2 a-2 to apply a delta configuration)).
Regarding Claim 34, Paterson, modified by Kim, teaches the invention of Claim 21, wherein Paterson further teaches receiving the CG-Configlnfo IE in a CU to DU RRC Information IE ([0114], step S703, the en-gNB-CU 5-2 b sends a UE Context Setup Request message to the target en-gNB-DU 5-2 a-2 to create an UE context and setup one or more bearers. This message can thus include the full configuration information applied for the UE 3-2 at the source en-gNB-DU 5-2 a-1 (e.g. in a CG-ConfigInfo IE in a CU to DU RRC Information IE) thereby enabling the target en-gNB-DU 5-2 a-2 to apply a delta configuration)).
Claims 25-27, 31-33, and 35-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paterson (US 2021/0243656), in view of Kim et al (US 2021/0153086), and further in view of Wu (US 2019/0350029).
Regarding Claims 25, 31, and 35, Paterson, as modified by Kim, teaches all aspects of the invention according to Claims 1, 18, and 21 above, except receiving, prior to the transmitting of the UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST message, an INITIAL UL RRC MESSAGE TRANSFER message including an RRC message from the UE.
In the same field of endeavor, Wu teaches receiving, prior to the transmitting of the UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST message, an INITIAL UL RRC MESSAGE TRANSFER message including an RRC message from the UE ([0017], first CU receives a first INITIAL UPLINK (UL) RADIO RESOURCE CONTROL (RRC) MESSAGE TRANSFER message from the first DU, wherein the first INITIAL UL RRC MESSAGE TRANSFER message includes a first RRC Reestablishment Request (RRCReestablishmentRequest) message or a first RRC Resume Request (RRCResumeRequest) message received from a first UE, and includes a first cell group configuration (CellGroupConfig) for the first UE).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a resume request in initial uplink RRC messaging, as taught in Wu, in the system of Paterson, modified by Kim, in order to more efficiently reestablish in fallback situations. (See Wu [0002])
Regarding Claims 26, 32, and 36, Paterson, modified by Kim and Wu teach all aspects of the invention as disclosed in 18, 21 and 25 above, Wu further teaches wherein the INITIAL UL RRC MESSAGE TRANSFER message includes an RRCResumeRequest message ([0017], first CU receives a first INITIAL UPLINK (UL) RADIO RESOURCE CONTROL (RRC) MESSAGE TRANSFER message from the first DU, wherein the first INITIAL UL RRC MESSAGE TRANSFER message includes a first RRC Reestablishment Request (RRCReestablishmentRequest) message or a first RRC Resume Request (RRCResumeRequest) message received from a first UE, and includes a first cell group configuration (CellGroupConfig) for the first UE).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a resume request in initial uplink RRC messaging, as taught in Wu, in the system of Paterson, modified by Kim, in order to more efficiently reestablish in fallback situations. (See Wu [0002])
Regarding Claims 27, 33, and 37, Paterson, as modified by Kim, teaches all aspects of the invention as disclosed in Claims 1, 18 and 21 above, except wherein the message for the UE includes an RRCResume request.
In the same field of endeavor, Wu teaches wherein the message for the UE includes an RRCResume request ([0017], first CU receives a first INITIAL UPLINK (UL) RADIO RESOURCE CONTROL (RRC) MESSAGE TRANSFER message from the first DU, wherein the first INITIAL UL RRC MESSAGE TRANSFER message includes a first RRC Reestablishment Request (RRCReestablishmentRequest) message or a first RRC Resume Request (RRCResumeRequest) message received from a first UE, and includes a first cell group configuration (CellGroupConfig) for the first UE).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a resume request in initial uplink RRC messaging, as taught in Wu, in the system of Paterson, modified by Kim, in order to more efficiently reestablish in fallback situations. (See Wu [0002])
Claims 7 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paterson (US 2021/0243656), in view of Kim et al (US 2021/0153086), and further in view of Futaki et al (US 2022/0070740)
Regarding Claims 7 and 29, Paterson, modified by Kim, teaches the invention of Claims 6 and 18 above, except receiving, from the MN and prior to transmitting the message for the UE, a request to add the base station CU and the base station DU as the SN, the request including a cell information.
In the same field of endeavor, Futaki teaches receiving, from the MN and prior to transmitting the message for the UE, a request to add the base station CU and the base station DU as the SN, the request including a cell information ([0092], a conditional mobility may be executed in the secondary node change (SN Change) in DC, the source RAN node (i.e. source SN) or the MN sends a request message (e.g., SN ADDITION REQUEST) of a conditional SN Change to the target SN, the request message of the conditional SN change may indicate a plurality of candidate target cells, target RAN node (e.g., target SN) transmits toa radio terminal (UE), via the MN, a first configuration common to the plurality of candidate target cells (e.g., PSCell candidate cells of the target SN) and a plurality of second configurations each associated with a respective one of the plurality of candidate target cells, the radio terminal receives in an MCG cell an RRC message (e.g., LTE RRC Connection Reconfiguration) of MN RAT containing an RRC message(e.g., NR RRC Reconfiguration) of SN RAT that includes the common first configuration and the plurality of second configurations, the radio terminal then performs the conditional SN Change by using the received common first configuration and the received second configurations).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include adding the base station units as secondary nodes prior to performing any mobility procedures, as taught in Futaki, in the system of Paterson, in order to reduce signaling overhead of an inter-RAN node interface (and an air interface). (See Futaki [0011, 0138])
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Chen et al (US 2019/0110300) teaches For the event-triggered measurement report, the triggering event may be related to whether the cell quality is above (or below) a given cell-level threshold in response to the specified formula. That is, when the corresponding beam information is changed, the source base station would not receive the changed beam information. For example, the measurement report of a neighboring cell A is sent because its cell quality fulfilling the triggering condition. The cell quality of cell A and the related beam information (e.g., beam #2, which may be identified by SSB or CSI-RS in response to the measurement configuration), are included in the corresponding measurement report. In the beam information, it indicates that beam #2 is the best beam at the time of measurement. The source base station may initiate a handover procedure with a target base station in response to the measurement report, and the target base station may preserve dedicated random access resource(s) associated with beam #2 for fast access. However, due to the UE mobility, when the source base station receives the Handover Command, for example, via a non-ideal Xn interface, and transmits the synchronous reconfiguration (e.g., ReconfigurationWithSync including parameters for synchronous reconfiguration to the target SpCell) contained in the Handover ([0069]);
Da Silva et al (US 2022/0038975) teaches receiving, from the first node, a response that includes a configuration for the mobility procedure and that indicates the UE can be accepted unless a cancelling message is subsequently received from the second node. In some embodiments, the configuration can include one or more conditions for triggering UE execution of the mobility procedure. For example, an exemplary condition can be that the quality of the target cell becomes X dB stronger than the UE's serving cell associated with the second node. In some embodiments, the response can be an RRCReconfiguration message including a reconfigurationWithSync configuration, or an RRCConnection-Reconfiguration message including a mobilityControlInfo configuration. ([0042]);
Yuan et al (US 2021/0013959) teaches target donor node may directly send, by using the handover response message, the synchronization signal information to the relay node by using the original donor node, or may indicate, by using indication information of a synchronization signal obtaining manner, the relay node to automatically obtain the synchronization signal information from the target donor node. This specifically depends on the donor node. This is not limited in this application. The synchronization signal information is encapsulated in a transparent container (transparent container), and is sent to the source donor node as a part of the handover response message. The transparent container may be, for example, an RRC connection reconfiguration message. The synchronization signal information may be a part of an IE (Information Element) of the RRC connection reconfiguration message. For example, the IE may be reconfigurationWithSync or mobilityControlInformation. The source donor node does not parse the transparent container, but forwards the transparent container to the relay node, that is, directly forwards the RRC connection reconfiguration message to the relay node. It should be understood that this is merely an example, and may alternatively be another IE or even another RRC message. This is not limited. ([0144]).
/MARGARET G WEBB/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641