DETAILED ACTION
Claims 5, 7, 13, 18, 19, 22, 28, 49, 61, 94, 102, 132 and 147-153 are pending in the Claim Set filed 7/20/2026.
Claim 94 is an independent claim. Claims 5, 7, 13, 18, 19, 22, 28, 44, 49, 61 and 148-151 depend on claim 94.
Claim 102 is an independent claim.
Claim 132 is an independent claim. Claim 147 depends on claim 132.
Claims 94, 102, 132 have been amended.
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-12, 14-17, 20-21, 23-27, 29-43, 45-48, 50-60, 62-93, 95-101, 103-131, 133-146 are cancelled.
Claims 152 and 153 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP §821.03.
Applicants’ elected species made in the reply filed 3/01/2021 are as follows: semi-permanent colorant: genii; volatile solvents: water and ethanol; semi-volatile semi-permanent color solubilizer: diethylene glycol monoethyl ether; surface active agent: 1, 2-hexanediol; matrix component: trehalose; skin penetration enhancer: polyethylene glycol, and temporary colorant: acid blue.
Herein, claims 5, 7, 13, 18, 19, 22, 28, 44, 49, 61, 94, 102, 132 and 147-151 are for examination to the extent that they read on the elected species.
Withdrawn Rejections
The rejection of claims 5, 7, 13, 18, 19, 22, 28, 44, 49, 61, 94, 132 and 147-151 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement is withdrawn in view of the claim amendments. Applicants’ arguments are moot in view thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
nonobviousness.
Claims 5, 7, 13, 18, 19, 22, 28, 44, 49, 61, 94, 102, 132 and 147-151 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Handley et al (US20160367460, cited in IDS filed 3/03/2020) [Handley] in view of Blette et al (USP 8545613, cited in IDS filed 11/30/2021), Jager-Lezer (WO02/36364; herein referenced to English Translation, of record), Cross et al (USP 9670372, of record), Sano et al (USP 5324349, of record) [Sano], Stroud et al (WO2010054219, of record) [Stroud] and Edaka et al (US 20170135921, of record) [Edaka]. This rejection has been modified in view of the claim amendments.
Regarding claims 5, 7, 13, 18, 19, 22, 28, 44, 49, 61, 94, and 148-151 (claims 94, 102 and 132 are independent claims),
Handley teaches an adhesive applicator article to be used for semi-permanent tattooing comprising a composition including purified genipin (elected semi-permanent colorant), water and ethyl alcohol (elected volatile solvent), wherein ethyl alcohol is added to water solvent to enhance drying capabilities and to increase the solubility of genipin ([0032-0038]; ([0052-0065], Formula 3; [0070]; claims 1-19). Handley teaches that the composition comprises genipin in an amount in the range of 75 mM (about 0.8% w/w) to 200 mM (about 20% w/w) ([0038]; [0054]), i.e., genipin is present in an amount of about 0.8% w/w to about 20% w/w of the composition, of which overlaps with the claimed amount recited in instant claims 5, 7. Hanley teaches the solvent contains 75-99 percent by volume water and 1-20% organic co-solvent (e.g., ethanol) [0019], of which necessarily overlaps with volatile solvents are present in amount of about 60% to about 90% w/w of the composition as recited in instant claim 13. A prima facie case of obviousness typically exists when the ranges of a claimed composition overlap the ranges disclosed in the prior art, In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2003). Further, Handley teaches an adhesive applicator article for applying a temporary tattooing ink comprising multi-layered adhesive layers ([0022-0025]; claim 16) and an adhesive backing, wherein the adhesive layers comprise double-sided adhesive layers, wherein the temporary tattoo design (i.e., stencil) is cut into each of these layers [0053]. Handley teaches the composition is soaked in a fabric pad, which is then attached to a stencil outlining the design [0042]. Handley teaches an applicator for applying a temporary tattooing ink comprising a multi-layered pad having a first adhesive layer, a second adhesive layer, an ink-containing layer and a cut-away top layer; wherein a tattoo design is cut into each of the first and second adhesive layers and a temporary tattooing ink is absorbed into the ink containing layer: the temporary tattooing ink comprising genipin (claim 16). Handley teaches the intended temporary tattoo design is cut into each of these adhesive layers (i.e., multiple layers) [0053].
Handley differs from the claims in that Handley does not teach that the composition is printed as multiple separate layers forming a pattern on the first surface of adhesive layer to dispose the composition on the adhesive layers prior to adherence of the adhesive to the surface of the skin of the user.
However, Blette cures the deficiency.
Blette teaches a device comprising a substrate having an image printed thereon with a composition of matter, wherein the method includes using an inkjet printer to print a graphic on a first major surface of a substrate; contacting the first major surface of the substrate to the user's skin surface; and removing the substrate from the user's skin surface, thereby leaving a mirror image of the printed graphic on the user's skin surface (Abstract). Blette teaches there are several advantages of using an inkjet printer to print a graphic on the surface of a substrate comprising printing of the printed image (tattoo design) on any suitable flexible substrate, thus, eliminating the need for expensive specialty papers such as thermal paper or hectograph paper, such that printing onto a transfer substrate results in a clearer reference image, i.e., tattoo design. In addition, Blette teaches advantages of using an inkjet printer to print a graphic comprises obtaining a graphic to be tattooed in a computer-printable form by means including downloading the graphic from the Internet, scanning a hard copy graphic, opening an email attachment containing the graphic, and creating or manipulating a computer-drawn Graphic (abstract; col.6, lns.4-65; see entire document). Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one skilled in the art to modify Handley in view of Blette to print a decorative pattern on a substrate using an inkjet printer to provide an improved graphic image. Moreover, it would have been well within the purview of one skilled in the art to use the composition as taught by Handley to print multiple separate layers on a substrate comprising the tattoo composition prior to adherence of the adhesive layer to skin of the user having a reasonable expectation of success.
Instant claims recite the transitional term ‘comprising’ and are open-ended and do not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps. See, e.g. Mars Inc. V. H. J. Heinz Co., 377 F.3d 1369, 1376, 71 USPQ2d 1837, 1843 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Instant claims are directed to ‘an adhesive applicator article, i.e., product, such that the limitation ‘forming a pattern on the first surface of the adhesive to dispose the composition on the first surface of the adhesive prior to adherence of the first surface to the skin of the user, is viewed as a product by process limitation. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior art product was made by a different process. "In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Therefore, instant claims do not exclude printing the composition as multiple layers on a substrate as taught by Handley and applying the composition on the precut adhesive layers comprising a stencil of various designs (Handley [0151]) forming a pattern upon which the composition is applied prior to adherence of the adhesive layer to the skin of the user.
A product defined by the process by which it can be made is still a product claim (In re Bridgeford, 357 F.2d 679, 149 USPQ 55 (CCPA 1966)) and can be restricted from the process if the examiner can demonstrate that the product as claimed can be made by another materially different process
Once a product appearing to be substantially identical is found the burden of proof shifts to applicant to show the difference. The Patent Office bears a lesser burden of proof in making out a case of prima facie obviousness for product-by-process claims because of their peculiar nature" than when a product is claimed in the conventional fashion. In re Fessmann, 489 F.2d 742, 744, 180 USPQ 324, 326 (CCPA 1974). Once the examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product. In re Marosi, 71 O F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir. 1983). Once the claimed invention is made obvious in view of prior art the burden shifts to applicant to provide evidence or arguments proving that the prior art does not possess the characteristic or showing structural differences (See MPEP 2141 IV; 2112, I).
Handley and Blette differ from the claims in that the documents do not teach the composition is transferrable from the first surface of adhesive to the skin of the user in a single step following removal of the removable silicon-coated liner from the first surface of the adhesive.
However, Jager-Lezer cures the deficiency.
Jager-Lezer teaches a system for transferring a colored pattern to the skin making it possible to create semi-permanent decorative patterns on the skin (p.1). Jager-Lezer teaches the transfer system comprises a composite structure consisting of at least two elements: a first element is the support layer consisting of a material impermeable to the skin coloring agent so as to prevent evaporation of the latter and facilitate contact with, and transfer onto, the skin and avoid stains on clothing (i.e., a backing on the adhesive layer to eliminate stickiness of the adhesive layer when applying the adhesive layer to the skin); a second element is an adhesive matrix fixed on the support layer and comprising at least one adhesive polymer and the skin coloring agent (i.e., coloring agent is dispersed in the polymeric adhesive material), this matrix (i.e., adhesive layer that contains the coloring agent) being able to come directly into contact with the skin. Moreover, Jager-Lezer teaches that the system may comprise additional adhesive layers such as for example, an adhesive layer used to ensure adhesion a stencil layer (p.3). Jager-Lezer teaches that the support layer is adhesive. The support layer can, for example, be made of adhesive non-woven fabric (p.4), wherein the adhesive matrix (i.e., adhesive layer) is fixed on the support layer (backing on the adhesive layer, i.e., an adhesive backing) and comprises at least one adhesive polymer and the coloring agent (p.4), wherein the coloring agent is dispersed and/or solubilized within the polymeric composition (p.5). The coloring agents that can be used are chosen from dyes of plant or synthetic origin, for example, Genipa Americana (i.e., a source of genipin: See Handley at paragraph [0033]: Fruit juices extracted from genipin-containing fruits, such as Genipa Americana, have been used in tattoo and body ink compositions in the prior art). Jager-Lezer teaches that the skin coloring agent is present in the adhesive matrix in proportions sufficient to impart coloring to the skin after application. It is thus generally present in proportions ranging from 0.5 to 50% by weight of active material relative to the total weight of the adhesive matrix and preferably ranging from 10 to 35% by weight of active material relative to the total weight of the adhesive matrix (p.7). Jager-Lezer teaches that the transfer system may optionally further comprise at least one other layer, e.g., adhesive, and may optionally comprise active ingredients (p.8). The transfer system can have any desired shape and dimension, corresponding to the intended use; it can be adapted to the skin surface intended to receive the makeup, for example, it has a decorative pattern that one wishes to transfer to the skin and then keep on the skin for a period that can vary from several hours to several weeks, wherein the transfer system may represent a decorative motif (p.8). Jager-Lezer teaches transfer systems with several colours by using different colouring agents, distributed in different places in the matrix, for example, in different layers, wherein this may be used to provide a decorative pattern in several colors on the skin (p.9). Jager-Lezer teaches that the application time may vary depending on the coloring agent used, depending on the concentration of said coloring agent within the adhesive matrix and depending on the intensity of the color desired in the end on the skin. In fact, the total or partial transfer of the coloring agent from the adhesive matrix into the stratum corneum of the skin will depend on the time the system is applied to the skin (p.9). Jager-Lezer teaches that the transfer system consists of a support layer and an adhesive matrix comprising a coloring agent; wherein colored pattern transfer system is applied directly to the skin, e.g., a person’s forearm, to provide a colored marking on the skin (see example 1 at page 10).
Further, Jager-Lezer teaches in an advantageous embodiment of the invention, the system further comprises a protective peelable layer covering the adhesive matrix. Jager-Lezer teaches that the system is protected by a protective peelable layer, this is removed at the time of use. It can be made of any material impermeable to the skin coloring agent as well as to any other component present in the adhesive matrix. Among the materials that can be used, mention may preferably be made of a sheet of silicone paper (i.e., reads on removable silicon-coated liner. In the case where the system according to the invention comprises a peelable protective layer, the adhesive matrix comprising the coloring agent being protected within the system both by the support layer and by the peelable protective layer, the system can be easily transported, in a bag for example, and can be used when traveling for example. It is therefore extremely practical, quick and easy to use) (p.8, lns.322-335; Figure 1). Jager-Lezer teaches that the transfer system according to the invention can be used, after removal of the protective peelable layer on the surface of the skin which it is desired to decorate, by directly applying the system to said surface (p.9, lns.369-370). Jager-Lezer teaches the system comprises non-adhesive layers such as for example, a protective peelable layer, so as to protect it from any external contamination during the storage time prior to use of the system (p.3, lns.112-115) (Instant claims 94,6,7,13,18, 61).
Thus, it would have been obvious to modify Handley and Blette in view of Jager-Lezer to provide an adhesive comprising a first surface configured to adhere to skin of a user, wherein the composition is printed directly upon the first surface of a substrate to dispose the composition on the first surface of the substrate prior to adherence of the first surface to the skin of a user, and wherein the composition is transferred from the adhesive to the skin of the user in a single step. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to provide a removable silicon-coated liner in view of Jager-Lezer. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a semi-tattoo as taught by Handle and Blette wherein the tattoo is transferred to the user in single, thus, avoiding the potential complication associated with transferring an ink using multistep procedure. Moreover, Jager-Lezer teaches many advantages such as the use of the transfer system is extremely easy: it is sufficient to apply the system to the area of the body where one wishes to create a pattern for the desired time for the desired intensity and then to remove the system. This produces a decorative pattern that will last on the skin, under normal conditions of use, generally for at least six hours, for example from more than six hours to a few weeks. The decorative pattern will fade over time through repeated washing and/or flaking. We can therefore speak of semi-permanent coloring. The duration of the application and therefore the intensity of the resulting coloring can be controlled as desired. In addition, since the dyes are not subject to oxidation in the air or degradation by UV radiation, they are stable and more effective. Moreover, one skilled in the art would have recognized of the advantages of a protective peelable layer, i.e., a removable silicon-coated liner, covering the adhesive matrix, wherein this can be removed at the time of use. Thus, the system can be easily transported, in a bag for example, and can be used when traveling for example. Further, Jager-Lezer that the transfer system can be used, after removal of the protective peelable layer on the surface of the skin which it is desired to decorate, by directly applying the system to said surface (p.9, lns.369-370).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an adhesive applicator article comprising an adhesive having a surface configured to adhere to skin of a user, wherein an ink composition is printed by an inkjet printer directly upon the adhesive surface to dispose the ink on the surface of the adhesive to provide a decorative pattern, e.g., tattoo, prior to adherence of the adhesive comprising the decorative pattern that has been printed on the adhesive by inkjet printer, to the surface to the skin of a user, so that the composition comprising a decorative pattern printed on the adhesive is transferred from the adhesive to the skin of a user in a single step in view of the teachings of Jager-Lezer and Blette, as a whole, having a reasonable expectation of success.
Further, Handley and Blette differ from the claims in that the document does not teach viscosity or surface tension of the semi-permanent tattooing ink composition or that the composition further comprises a semi-volatile semi-permanent color solubilizer: diethylene glycol monoethyl ether; surface active agent: 1, 2-hexanediol; matrix component: trehalose; skin penetration enhancer: polyethylene glycol, and a temporary colorant: acid blue.
However, Cross, Sano, Stroud and Edaka, as a whole, cure the deficiencies.
Cross teaches inkjet ink compositions comprising colorants, wherein the inkjet ink compositions have a viscosity of less than about 10 mPa·s (i.e., centipoise) preferably less than about 5 mPa·s, more preferably less than about 3 mPa·s, and most preferably less than about 2 mPa·s, for example, a viscosity from about 1 to 4 or from about 1 to about 3 mPa·s at 25° C. Cross teaches that if the viscosity of inkjet ink compositions is too high (i.e., above 10 mPa·s at 25° C.) it is difficult to achieve good jetting behaviour from a thermal inkjet ink. Cross teaches more preferably the viscosity is below 5 mPa·s (centipoise) at 25° C (col.5, lns.40-51; col.10, lns.31-38). Furthermore, Cross that the inkjet composition has a surface a tension from about 20 to about 50 mN/m (i.e., dynes/cm) preferably from about 21 to about 35 mN/m (dynes/cm) at 25° C (Title; Abstract; col.2, lns.51-67; col.5, lns.39-51; col.10, lns.31-44; See entire document). (Instant claims 2, 4). Thus, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to provide an adhesive applicator article comprising an inkjet composition as taught by Handley having a viscosity of from about 5 mPa·s (centipoise) and a surface tension from about 21 to about 35 mN/m (dynes/cm) in order to provide good jetting behavior in accordance with the teachings of Cross, of which overlaps with the claimed amounts in instant claims 2,4. In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Sano teaches an ink for inkjet printing comprising a pigment type ink composition for ink jet printing, which is capable of evenly producing an image, excellent in preservability and does not cause obstruction in a nozzle, wherein the ink composition for ink jet printing is capable of producing an image which has a high optical density and is excellent in rapid drying properties and moisture abrasion resistance, wherein the ink composition comprises an organic pigment and a component selected from saccharides, wherein the saccharide is trehalose in about 0.5% to 30% by weight (reads on claims 148, of which overlaps with the claimed amounts (Abstract; col.2, lns.1-30; col.3, lns.50-68: component b; col.5, lns.17-25; claims 1,2,11). In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Further, Sano teaches an ink for inkjet printing further comprises ethanol and a wetting agent that is polyethylene glycol. Further, Sano teaches trehalose is a saccharide that enhances the stability of the ink composition and polyethylene glycol is taught as a wetting agent of which would increase penetrating properties of the inkjet printing composition. Furthermore, trehalose can similarly be classified as matrix component and polyethylene glycol can be classified as a skin penetration enhancer because if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. (Instant claims 94,44,61,148)
Stroud teaches ink compositions for marking surgical patients and for other uses needing a scrub-resistant ink comprising water and water miscible alcohol, e.g., ethanol, (i.e., the residue or balance of the composition), wherein glycol ethers enhance penetration through skin, wherein flammability issues are abated when glycol ethers are substituted for primary alcohols in dye formulations, wherein ethoxydiglycol (diethylene glycol monoethyl ether) is a preferable glycol ether because of its low toxicity (p.4-5, [0022]; Stroud: claim 7), wherein the balance of the ink composition is no more than about 20 percent of glycol-ether, of which overlaps with the claimed amounts, wherein the balance of the solution containing glycol ethers is no more than 5%, or 3%, or 2%, or 1 %, or 0.5% of the ink composition [0023]. (Instant claims 94,22,27). In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Stroud teaches ethoxydiglycol (diethylene glycol monoethyl ether) enhances ink penetration through the skin, however, ethoxydiglycol can similarly be classified as semi-volatile semi-permanent color solubilizer because if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.
Edaka teaches colorants and ink formulation materials for use in cosmetic applications comprising 1, 2-hexanediol in an of about 2.5% wt, wherein 1, 2-hexanediol is provided therein as a penetrant, polyethylene glycol is used for humectant and colorant blue dye is disclosed as a suitable colorant, wherein an advantage of the formulations comprise ink sets used to provide a full spectrum of colors for use in cosmetic applications ([0002]; [0009]; Table 1; see entire document). Edaka teaches colorants and ink formulation materials for use in cosmetic applications comprising 1, 2-hexanediol, wherein 1, 2-hexanediol is provided therein as a penetrant, polyethylene glycol is used for humectant and colorant blue dye is disclosed as a suitable colorant, wherein an advantage of the formulations comprise ink sets used to provide a full spectrum of colors for use in cosmetic applications ([0002]; [0009]; Table 1; see entire document). (Instant claims 49, 61). Furthermore, 1, 2-hexanediol can similarly be classified as surface active agent and polyethylene glycol can be classified as a skin penetration enhancer because if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.
One skilled in the art would have been motivated to include ethoxydiglycol (diethylene glycol monoethyl ether) in the composition because it enhances penetration of the ink composition through skin as taught by Stroud. Furthermore, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to include 1, 2-hexanediol because it acts as surface active agent and a penetrant for colorants and polyethylene glycol because it can advantageously act as skin penetration enhancer, a wetting agent and a humectant, in accordance with the teachings of Sano and Edaka. Accordingly, a compound cannot be separated from its properties, regardless of what type of excipient it is classified as. See MPEP 2112. 01. Furthermore, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to include a blue dye as taught by Edaka for use in ink sets in order to provide a full spectrum of colors for use in tattooing applications having a reasonable expectation of success.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a composition to provide a temporary tattooing ink comprising genipin and a volatile solvent combination comprising water and ethyl alcohol in view of Handley. One skilled in the art would have recognized the benefit and many advantages of modifying the composition as taught by Handley to further comprise trehalose (elected matrix), a semi-volatile semi-permanent colorant solubilizers that is diethylene glycol monoethyl ether (elected solubilizers), surface active agent that is 1, 2-hexanediol (elected surface-active agent), and a skin penetration enhancer that is polyethylene glycol (elected skin penetration enhancer) and a temporary colorant that is acid blue (elected temporary colorant) in accordance with the teachings of Cross, Sano, Stroud and Edaka, as a whole, that provides a composition for particular use as a tattooing ink composition that is designed to provide an adhesive applicator article that can transfer a decorative pattern directly to the skin in a single step of the user having a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 102,
An adhesive applicator as taught by Handley, Blette, Jager-Lezer, Blette, Cross, Sano, Stroud and Edaka, as a whole, is described above.
In particular, as described above, Jager-Lezer teaches in an advantageous embodiment of the invention, the system further comprises a protective peelable layer covering the adhesive matrix. Jager-Lezer teaches that the system is protected by a protective peelable layer, this is removed at the time of use. It can be made of any material impermeable to the skin coloring agent as well as to any other component present in the adhesive matrix. Among the materials that can be used, mention may preferably be made of a sheet of silicone paper (i.e., reads on removable silicon-coated liner. In the case where the system according to the invention comprises a peelable protective layer, the adhesive matrix comprising the coloring agent being protected within the system both by the support layer and by the peelable protective layer, the system can be easily transported, in a bag for example, and can be used when traveling for example. It is therefore extremely practical, quick and easy to use) (p.8, lns.322-335; Figure 1). Jager-Lezer that the transfer system according to the invention can be used, after removal of the protective peelable layer on the surface of the skin which it is desired to decorate, by directly applying the system to said surface (p.9, lns.369-370). Jager-Lezer teaches the system comprises non-adhesive layers such as for example, a protective peelable layer, so as to protect it from any external contamination during the storage time prior to use of the system (p.3, lns.112-115). Thus, Handley, Blette, Jager-Lezer, Cross, Sano, Stroud and Edaka, as a whole, make prima facie obvious the subject matter as claimed in claim 102.
Regarding claims 132 and 147,
An adhesive applicator as taught by Handley, Blette, Jager-Lezer, Blette, Cross, Sano, Stroud and Edaka, as a whole, is described above
Jager-Lezer teaches a system for transferring a colored pattern to the skin making it possible to create semi-permanent decorative patterns on the skin (p.1). Jager-Lezer teaches the transfer system comprises a composite structure consisting of at least two elements: a first element is the support layer consisting of a material impermeable to the skin coloring agent so as to prevent evaporation of the latter and facilitate contact with, and transfer onto, the skin and avoid stains on clothing (i.e., a backing on the adhesive layer to eliminate stickiness of the adhesive layer when applying the adhesive layer to the skin); a second element is an adhesive matrix fixed on the support layer and comprising at least one adhesive polymer and the skin coloring agent (i.e., coloring agent is dispersed in the polymeric adhesive material), this matrix (i.e., adhesive layer that contains the coloring agent) being able to come directly into contact with the skin. Particularly, Jager-Lezer teaches that the system comprises additional layers that would encompass additional adhesive layers comprising a coloring agent composition, e.g., inkjet composition, and additional adhesive backings. Jager-Lezer teaches the transfer system comprises several colours by using different coloring agents, distributed in different layers in order to provide a decorative pattern in several colors on the skin. Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide additional adhesive backings, e.g., a first adhesive layer; a first backing; a second adhesive layer; and a second backing; in order to provide multiple adhesive layers comprising different colored inks, wherein an adhesive backing is adhered to the adhesive in order to separate the adhesive layers in order to provide a multi-colored decorative pattern to provide a clear and distinct image on the skin of the user. Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide adhesive layer that is configured to adhere to skin of a user, and wherein the first adhesive layer is configured to receive the composition and to allow release of at least a portion of the composition onto and/or into the skin of a use having a reasonable expectation of success. Moreover, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to print a decorative pattern on the adhesive by an inkjet printer as taught by Blette. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to do so in view of the many advantages of providing a decorative pattern on the skin of a user as taught by Blette that includes inkjet printing can be provided to print an image on any suitable flexible substrate and inkjet printing onto a transfer substrate, e.g., adhesive, particularly provides for more of the inkjet ink composition to be transferred to the skin resulting in a clearer reference image. Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to provide an adhesive applicator article comprising a temporary ink composition wherein the first portion of the external layer, i.e., adhesive layer comprising the temporary tattooing composition as taught by Handley, Cross, Sano, Stroud and Edaka, as a whole, that is configured to adhere to skin of a user, wherein the temporary ink composition is printed by an inkjet printer directly upon the first portion of the external layer to dispose the composition on the first portion of the external layer prior to adherence of the first portion of the external layer to the skin of the user, and wherein the adhesive layer is the external layer so that the temporary tattooing composition is transferred from the external layer to the skin of the user in a single step in view of the teachings of Jager-Lezer and Blette, as a whole, having a reasonable expectation of success.
Moreover, as described above, Jager-Lezer teaches in an advantageous embodiment of the invention, the system further comprises a protective peelable layer covering the adhesive matrix. Jager-Lezer teaches that the system is protected by a protective peelable layer, this is removed at the time of use. It can be made of any material impermeable to the skin coloring agent as well as to any other component present in the adhesive matrix. Among the materials that can be used, mention may preferably be made of a sheet of silicone paper (i.e., reads on removable silicon-coated liner. In the case where the system according to the invention comprises a peelable protective layer, the adhesive matrix comprising the coloring agent being protected within the system both by the support layer and by the peelable protective layer, the system can be easily transported, in a bag for example, and can be used when traveling for example. It is therefore extremely practical, quick and easy to use) (p.8, lns.322-335; Figure 1). Jager-Lezer that the transfer system according to the invention can be used, after removal of the protective peelable layer on the surface of the skin which it is desired to decorate, by directly applying the system to said surface (p.9, lns.369-370). Jager-Lezer teaches the system comprises non-adhesive layers such as for example, a protective peelable layer, so as to protect it from any external contamination during the storage time prior to use of the system (p.3, lns.112-115). Thus, Handley, Blette, Jager-Lezer, Cross, Sano, Stroud and Edaka, as a whole, make prima facie obvious the subject matter as instantly claimed.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to provide instantly claimed invention and one of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, in the absence of evidence to the contrary, the invention as a whole would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by Handley, Blette, Jager-Lezer, Cross, Sano, Stroud, and Edaka, as a whole.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the Applicants’ reply file 7/20/2026.
Applicants argue that they have amended the term "a discrete layer" and have added the term "multiple separate layers."
Applicants argue that Applicant's remarks with respect to the Examiner's rejections are sufficient to overcome the present rejections, any silence as to assertions in the Office Action or certain requirements that may be applicable to such assertions (e.g., whether a reference constitutes prior art, reasons to modify a reference or to combine references, assertions as to dependent claims, allegations of Official Notice, etc.) is not a concession by Applicant that such assertions are accurate or such requirements have been met, and Applicant reserves the right to dispute such assertions in the future.
Examiner acknowledges Applicants’ statement that they have amended independent claim 94, 102 and 132 and are herein entered.
As disclosed above: The rejection of claims 5, 7, 13, 18, 19, 22, 28, 44, 49, 61, 94, 132 and 147-151 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement is withdrawn in view of the claim amendments. Applicants’ arguments are moot in view thereof.
Further, the rejection of claims 5, 7, 13, 18, 19, 22, 28, 44, 49, 61, 94, 102, 132 and 147-151 under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Handley et al (US20160367460, cited in IDS filed 3/03/2020) [Handley] in view of Blette et al (USP 8545613, cited in IDS filed 11/30/2021), Jager-Lezer (WO02/36364; herein referenced to English Translation, of record), Cross et al (USP 9670372, of record), Sano et al (USP 5324349, of record) [Sano], Stroud et al (WO2010054219, of record) [Stroud] and Edaka et al (US 20170135921, of record) [Edaka] has been modified in view of the claim amendments. The rejections as discussed are final.
Regarding the reply file 7/28/2026.
As disclosed above: The rejection of claims 5, 7, 13, 18, 19, 22, 28, 44, 49, 61, 94, 132 and 147-151 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement is withdrawn in view of the claim amendments.
Applicants’ arguments are moot in view thereof.
Applicants argue that Independent claims 94 and 102 have been amended specify" ... wherein the composition is printed as a discrete layer forming a pattern on the first surface of the adhesive ... " Independent claim 132 has also been amended to include similar limitations.
Applicant argues that the combination of references and taking into account the teachings of Jager-Lezer do not render amended independent claims 94, 102 and 132 obvious.
Applicants argue that Jager-Lezer discloses a system in which a coloring agent is dispersed within an adhesive matrix. In contrast, the present claims require that the composition be printed as a discrete layer on a surface of an adhesive, forming a pattern. This distinction is structural, not merely procedural.
Here, the claimed invention requires a layered structure-i.e., a printed composition on an adhesive surface-rather than a homogeneous matrix containing a colorant. Thus, Jager-Lezer does not teach or suggest the claimed structure. Furthere, applicants argue that Blette teaches inkjet printing onto a transfer substrate used as a stencil. However, Blette does not teach printing directly onto a skin-adhering adhesive layer as required by the claims. Also, Blette disclose, teach, or suggest a removable silicone-coated liner disposed over a printed composition on an adhesive surface. The remaining references of Handley, Cross, Sano, Stroud, and Edaka fail to disclose, teach, or suggest these limitations. The office action stated that Handley does not teach a removable silicon-coated liner, and the transferring of the composition in a single step. Cross and Sano both teach using an inject in composition, which are no longer limitations in the amended independent claims. Stroud teaches an ink composition for use with marking surgical patients but does not teach or suggest the claimed discrete layer forming a pattern on the first surface of the adhesive. Likewise, Edaka also does not teach the claimed discrete layer and focuses on a cosmetic application having a colored ink dye for penetrating the skin.
Applicants’ arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, Instant claims recite the transitional term ‘comprising’ and are open-ended and do not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps. See, e.g. Mars Inc. V. H. J. Heinz Co., 377 F.3d 1369, 1376, 71 USPQ2d 1837, 1843 (Fed. Cir. 2004). Instant claims are directed to ‘an adhesive applicator article, i.e., product, such that the limitation ‘forming a pattern on the first surface of the adhesive to dispose the composition on the first surface of the adhesive prior to adherence of the first surface to the skin of the user, is viewed as a product by process limitation. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior art product was made by a different process. "In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Therefore, instant claims do not exclude printing the composition as multiple layers on a substrate as taught by Handley and applying the composition on the precut adhesive layers comprising a stencil of various designs (Handley [0151]) forming a pattern upon which the composition is applied prior to adherence of the adhesive layer to the skin of the user. A product defined by the process by which it can be made is still a product claim (In re Bridgeford, 357 F.2d 679, 149 USPQ 55 (CCPA 1966)) and can be restricted from the process if the examiner can demonstrate that the product as claimed can be made by another materially different process
Once a product appears to be substantially identical is found the burden of proof shifts to applicant to show the difference. The Patent Office bears a lesser burden of proof in making out a case of prima facie obviousness for product-by-process claims because of their peculiar nature" than when a product is claimed in the conventional fashion. In re Fessmann, 489 F.2d 742, 744, 180 USPQ 324, 326 (CCPA 1974). Once the examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product. In re Marosi, 71 O F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir. 1983). Once the claimed invention is made obvious in view of prior art the burden shifts to applicant to provide evidence or arguments proving that the prior art does not possess the characteristic or showing structural differences (See MPEP 2141 IV; 2112, I).
As described above, Jager-Lezer teaches in an advantageous embodiment of the invention, the system further comprises a protective peelable layer covering the adhesive matrix. Jager-Lezer teaches that the system is protected by a protective peelable layer, this is removed at the time of use. It can be made of any material impermeable to the skin coloring agent as well as to any other component present in the adhesive matrix. Among the materials that can be used, mention may preferably be made of a sheet of silicone paper (i.e., reads on removable silicon-coated liner. In the case where the system according to the invention comprises a peelable protective layer, the adhesive matrix comprising the coloring agent being protected within the system both by the support layer and by the peelable protective layer, the system can be easily transported, in a bag for example, and can be used when traveling for example. It is therefore extremely practical, quick and easy to use) (p.8, lns.322-335; Figure 1). Jager-Lezer that the transfer system according to the invention can be used, after removal of the protective peelable layer on the surface of the skin which it is desired to decorate, by directly applying the system to said surface (p.9, lns.369-370). Jager-Lezer teaches the system comprises non-adhesive layers such as for example, a protective peelable layer, so as to protect it from any external contamination during the storage time prior to use of the system (p.3, lns.112-115).
As described above, Blette teaches a device comprising a substrate having an image printed thereon with a composition of matter, wherein the method includes using an inkjet printer to print a graphic on a first major surface of a substrate; contacting the first major surface of the substrate to the user's skin surface; and removing the substrate from the user's skin surface, thereby leaving a mirror image of the printed graphic on the user's skin surface (Abstract). Blette teaches there are several advantages of using an inkjet printer to print a graphic on the surface of a substrate comprising printing of the printed image (tattoo design) on any suitable flexible substrate, thus, eliminating the need for expensive specialty papers such as thermal paper or hectograph paper, such that printing onto a transfer substrate results in a clearer reference image, i.e., tattoo design. In addition, Blette teaches advantages of using an inkjet printer to print a graphic comprises obtaining a graphic to be tattooed in a computer-printable form by means including downloading the graphic from the Internet, scanning a hard copy graphic, opening an email attachment containing the graphic, and creating or manipulating a computer-drawn Graphic (abstract; col.6, lns.4-65; see entire document). Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one skilled in the art to modify Handley in view of Blette to print a decorative pattern on a substrate using an inkjet printer to provide an improved graphic image. Moreover, it would have been well within the purview of one skilled in the art to use the composition as taught by Handley to print discrete layers (i.e., multiple separate layers, on a substrate comprising the tattoo composition prior to adherence of the adhesive layer to skin of the user having a reasonable expectation of success.
Thus, the teachings of Handley, Blette, Jager-Lezer, Blette, Cross, Sano, Stroud and Edaka, as a whole, makes prima facie obvious an adhesive applicator as instantly claimed, absence evidence to the contrary.
Applicants argue that the Examiner has asserted that certain limitations may be interpreted as product-by-process limitations. However, in light of the claim amendments, Applicant argues that the amended claims define structural characteristics: a discrete printed layer, a pattern formed on an adhesive surface, and a liner disposed in contact with both, patententability of a product-by-process claim depends on the structure of the claimed product. Here, the recited structure-discrete printed layer versus embedded matrix-is materially different from the prior art.
Applicants’ arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, because Applicants must traverse (argue against) the rejection by clearly explaining the structural or functional differences between the prior art of record (as a whole) and the claim limitations. Applicants fail to specifically point out the discrepancies in the prior art of record. Moreover, Instant claims have been amended to recite ‘composition is printed as multiple separate layers.
Moreover, the teachings of Handley, Blette, Jager-Lezer, Blette, Cross, Sano, Stroud and Edaka, as a whole, makes prima facie obvious an adhesive applicator as instantly claimed, absence evidence to the contrary.
Accordingly, Applicants arguments directed to ‘a discrete layer’ is moot.
Moreover, a product defined by the process by which it can be made is still a product claim (In re Bridgeford, 357 F.2d 679, 149 USPQ 55 (CCPA 1966)) and can be restricted from the process if the examiner can demonstrate that the product as claimed can be made by another materially different process. Furthermore, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Applicant is reminded that obviousness does not require absolute predictability In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976).
No claim is allowed.
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/T.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1619
/SARAH ALAWADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1619