DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1-10) in the reply filed on 7/17/25 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations use the word “means” and is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: “a means of chance” in claim 1. Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. If applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
This application also includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” but is nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a manual, a mechanical, or an electrical means” in claim 9. Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are not being interpreted to cover only the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Drawings
3. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “dropping mechanism” (claim 7), a “manual” means (claim 7) and a “manual” component (claim 9) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim limitation “a means of chance” in claim 1 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure fails to properly delineate the permitted components corresponding to the “means of chance”, simply indicating it is “preferably a die”. Therefore, claims 1-10 are indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The recitation in claim 2 of “wherein an accessory is comprised of at least one attachment node” renders the scope unascertainable because it is unclear if this is a distinct component from the previously recited claim 2 limitation of “an accessory or a plurality of accessories”. It is recommended to amend to “wherein [[an]]the accessory is comprised of at least one attachment node”. For examining purposes, the scope will be construed commensurate with this suggested language, as this appears to comport with the intended scope in view of the specification as a whole.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The recitations in claim 3 to “wherein at least one accessory” renders the scope unascertainable because it is unclear if this is a distinct component from the previously recited claim 2 limitation of “a plurality of accessories”. It is recommended to amend to “wherein at least one accessory of the plurality of accessories”. For examining purposes, the scope will be construed commensurate with this suggested language, as this appears to comport with the intended scope in view of the specification as a whole.
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The recitation in claim 4 of “a projection” renders the scope unascertainable because it is unclear if this is a distinct component from the previously recited claim 4 limitation of “a projection or a plurality of projections”. It is recommended to amend to “the[[a]] projection”. For examining purposes, the scope will be construed commensurate with this suggested language, as this appears to comport with the intended scope in view of the specification as a whole.
The recitations in claim 4 to “at least one attachment node” renders the scope unascertainable because it is unclear if this is a distinct component from the previously recited claim 1 limitation of “a plurality of attachment nodes”. It is recommended to amend to “at least one attachment node of the plurality of attachment nodes”. For examining purposes, the scope will be construed commensurate with this suggested language, as this appears to comport with the intended scope in view of the specification as a whole.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The recitations in claim 5 to “a projection” renders the scope unascertainable because it is unclear if this is a distinct component from the previously recited claim 4 limitation of “a projection or plurality of projections”. It is recommended to amend to “[[a]]the projection”. For examining purposes, the scope will be construed commensurate with this suggested language, as this appears to comport with the intended scope in view of the specification as a whole.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The recitations in claim 6 to “a deck of playing” renders the scope unascertainable because it is unclear if this is a distinct component from the previously recited claim 6 limitation of “at least one deck”. It is recommended to amend to “[[a]]the at least one deck of playing cards”. For examining purposes, the scope will be construed commensurate with this suggested language, as this appears to comport with the intended scope in view of the specification as a whole.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The recitation therein of “a dropping mechanism which may be operated by a manual, a mechanical, or an electrical means, or by any combination thereof” is unclear, overly confusing and indefinite. A person ordinary skill in the art cannot properly ascertain the metes and bounds of this claim. Applicant should provide clarity to the scope and structure of the dropping mechanism. Additionally, applicant should provide additional guidance of the scope of “a manual” means.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The recitation therein of “a manual, a mechanical, or an electrical component that causes the frustum board, and any projection, accessories, playing character, or any combination thereof located on the frustum board to move or vibrate” is unclear, overly confusing and indefinite. A person ordinary skill in the art cannot properly ascertain the metes and bounds of this claim. Applicant should provide clarity to the scope, including what features are being positively recited. Additionally, applicant should provide additional guidance of the scope of “a manual” component.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The recitations in claim 10 to “wherein at least one playing character” renders the scope unascertainable because it is unclear if this is a distinct component from the previously recited claim 1 limitation of “at least one set of playing characters”. It is recommended to amend to “wherein at least one playing character of the set of playing characters”. For examining purposes, the scope will be construed commensurate with this suggested language, as this appears to comport with the intended scope in view of the specification as a whole.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosenwinkel (US Pat. No. 4,569,527) in view of Howell et al. (US Pat. No. 10,758,828).
With respect to claim 1, Rosenwinkel teaches a game apparatus 20 comprising: a board 32 having a plurality of attachment nodes 48, 50; a plurality of playing currency 172; at least one set of playing characters 24, 26; and, a means of chance 80 (Fig. 1; column 7, lines 5-12).
Admittedly, Rosenwinkel does not expressly teach wherein the board is comprised of rectangularly shaped boards, and not a frustrum board. However, analogous art reference Howell et al. teaches that it is known for a game apparatus to comprise a frustrum board – column 6, lines 4-10. At time of applicant’s effective filing, a person ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to make the board a frustrum board. The rationale to combine is to utilize a known shape for the board. This will expectantly provide an ergonomic shape, easily manipulated by the players, and also allow convenient stacking.
Examiner notes the claims are directed to an apparatus, not a method claim. As such, limitations pertaining to game rules are being treated as intended use / functional limitations. Per MPEP 2114 - a claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). If a prior art structure is inherently capable of performing the intended use as recited, then it shifts the burden to applicant to establish that the prior art does not possess the characteristic relied on. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997). The structure of Rosenwinkel set forth above is considered capable of being used as recited. For example, the plurality of chests 172 can be used as currency.
With respect to claims 2-3, Rosenwinkel teaches wherein the game is further comprised of an accessory 36 or a plurality of accessories, wherein an accessory is comprised of at least one attachment node 48, wherein at least one accessory 36 is an active accessory and at least one accessory 34 is a passive accessory. See MPEP 2114 - In re Schreiber. See also MPEP 2131 - when a claim covers several structures or compositions, either generically or as alternatives, the claim is deemed anticipated if any of the structures or compositions within the scope of the claim is known in the prior art. Brown v. 3M, 265 F.3d 1349, 1351, 60 USPQ2d 1375, 1376 (Fed. Cir. 2001).
With respect to claims 4-5, Rosenwinkel teaches wherein the game is further comprised of a projection 36 or a plurality of projections 34, 36; and, wherein a projection is comprised of at least one attachment node 48, wherein a projection includes, or multiple projections include, a functional element 52 or multiple functional elements 52, 170. See MPEP 2114 - In re Schreiber. See also MPEP 2131 - Brown v. 3M.
With respect to claim 6, Rosenwinkel teaches wherein the game is further comprised of at least one deck of playing cards 120, 130; and, wherein a deck of playing cards includes positive playing cards and negative playing cards. See MPEP 2114 - In re Schreiber
With respect to claim 7, Rosenwinkel teaches wherein the game is further comprised of a dropping mechanism 52 which may be operated by a manual, a mechanical, or an electrical means, or by any combination thereof. See MPEP 2114 - In re Schreiber
With respect to claim 8, Rosenwinkel teaches wherein the game is further comprised of a non-player 170 or character or of multiple non-player characters. See MPEP 2114 - In re Schreiber.
With respect to claim 9, Rosenwinkel teaches components 52, 170, which are construed as a manual or mechanical component that is capable of causing the board, any projection, accessories, playing character, or any combination thereof located on the frustum board to move or vibrate. See MPEP 2114 - In re Schreiber.
With respect to claim 10, Rosenwinkel teaches wherein at least one playing character 26 is a specialized playing character. See MPEP 2114 - In re Schreiber.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL D DENNIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711