DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18, 20, 25, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, and 60 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being Anticipated by Gilchrist et al. (US 20120232690 A1) in view of Hashimoto (US 20080025824 A1) and Yamagishi et al. (US 20120325148 A1).
Regarding Claim 18, Gilchrist teaches:
A transport apparatus (1801) comprising:
a substrate transport chamber (2075) configured to have process modules (2025) isolatably connected thereto [0060] and configured to have at least one load lock (2035 & 2040) isolatably connected thereto [0098], where the substrate transport chamber has a general elongate length extending along a centerline of the substrate transport chamber and a narrower width (Fig. 18), where the process modules are located along straight sides of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 18);
a robot drive (1801D & 1910) connected to the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 18), where the robot drive is fixedly mounted to the substrate transport chamber at a singular fixed stationary location on the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 18) [0098], where the location is at least partially offset from the centerline of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 18);
an arm (1810 & 1901) having a first end connected to the robot drive (Fig. 18), where the robot drive provides a rotatable shoulder axis (LX & RX) for the arm (Fig. 18 & Fig. 19A & Fig. 19B), where the rotatable shoulder axis is a fixed axis at the singular fixed stationary location offset from the longitudinal centerline of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 18), where the arm comprises two links connected in series to form the arm, where the two links comprise a first link (1810 & 1901UA) and a second link (1850 & 1901FA), where the first link comprises a first end connected to the robot drive at the rotatable shoulder axis and an opposite second end (Fig. 18 & Fig. 19A & Fig. 19B), where the second link comprises a first end connected to the second end of the first link (Fig. 18 & Fig. 19A & Fig. 19B); and
an end effector (155EH & 1901EE1) at a second end of the arm rotatably connected to a second end of the second link (Fig. 19B), where the end effector comprises a dual end effector having two laterally spaced holding areas (BH1 & BH2), where each of the holding areas is configured to hold a respective substrate [0046], where the two laterally spaced holding areas are fixed relative to each other (Fig. 2P) [0046],
where the arm is configured to be moved by the robot drive to move the end effector among the at least one load lock and the process modules such that the two laterally spaced holding areas can be inserted into and removed from adjacently-positioned load locks or one of the process modules [it is implied by [0046] (Fig. 2 & Fig. 2H & Fig. 2J & Fig. 2P) that the dual blade end effector of Gilchrist would necessarily have to be inserted into 2 spaced isolation valves simultaneously] while the robot drive is retained at the singular fixed stationary location on the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 18) [0098 & 0101 & 0102], the substrate transport chamber being a vacuum transport chamber [0038 & 0098].
Gilchrist does not teach:
the substrate transport chamber is rectangular in shape;
where the at least one load lock are located along straight sides of the rectangular shape of the substrate transport chamber;
Gilchrist does not explicitly teach:
the two laterally spaced holding areas can be inserted into and removed from adjacently-positioned load locks or one of the process modules.
Hashimoto teaches:
a transport apparatus (23) comprising:
a substrate transport chamber (28) configured to have process modules (22 & 30 & 107) connected thereto and configured to have at least one atmosphere isolating substrate supplying and receiving module (26) connected thereto, where the substrate transport chamber is rectangular in shape and has a general elongate length extending along a centerline of the substrate transport chamber and a narrower width (Fig. 1 & Fig. 3), where the process modules and the at least one atmosphere isolating substrate supplying and receiving module are located along straight sides of the rectangular shape of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 8 & Fig. 10 & Fig. 11);
a robot drive (43) connected to the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4 & Fig. 5), where the robot drive is fixedly mounted to the substrate transport chamber at a singular fixed stationary location on the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4 & Fig. 5), where the location is at least partially offset from the centerline of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4 & Fig. 5);
an arm (41) having a first end connected to the robot drive (Fig. 1 & Fig. 3), where the robot drive provides a rotatable shoulder axis for the arm (A0), where the rotatable shoulder axis is a fixed axis at the singular fixed stationary location offset from the longitudinal centerline of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1), where the arm comprises two links (41a & 41b) connected in series to form the arm (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3), where the two links comprise a first link (41a) and a second link (41b), where the first link comprises a first end connected to the robot drive at the rotatable shoulder axis and an opposite second end, where the second link comprises a first end connected to the second end of the first link (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3); and
an end effector (40 & 41c) at a second end of the arm rotatably connected to a second end of the second link (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3), where the end effector comprises a holding area, where the holding area is configured to hold a respective substrate (Fig. 1 & Fig. 3),
where the arm is configured to be moved by the robot drive to move the end effector among the at least one atmosphere isolating substrate supplying and receiving module and the process modules while the robot drive is retained at the singular fixed stationary location on the vacuum transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 3 & Fig. 6 & Fig. 7 & Fig. 8).
Yamagishi teaches:
A transport apparatus (1 & 3 & 4 & 5) comprising:
a substrate transport chamber (4) configured to have processing modules (1a & 1b & 1c & 1d) isolatably connected (9) thereto [0037] and configured to have at least one load lock (5) isolatably connected thereto [0037], where the process modules are located along straight sides of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1);
a robot drive (24) connected to the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2), where the robot drive is fixedly mounted to the substrate transport chamber at a singular fixed stationary location on the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1);
an arm (22a & 22b & 22c) having a first end connected to the robot drive (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2), where the robot drive provides a rotatable shoulder axis (23c) for the arm (Fig. 2), where the rotatable shoulder axis is a fixed axis at the singular fixed stationary location of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1), where the arm comprises two links connected in series to form the arm (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2), where the two links comprise a first link (22b) and a second link (22c), where the first link comprises a first end connected to the robot drive at the rotatable shoulder axis (Fig. 2) and an opposite second end (Fig. 2), where the second link comprises a first end connected to the second end of the first link (Fig. 2); and
an end effector (22a) at a second end of the arm rotatably connected to a second end of the second link (Fig. 2), where the end effector comprises a dual end effector having two laterally spaced holding areas (21L & 21R) (Fig. 2), where each of the holding areas is configured to hold a respective substrate (W) (Fig. 2) [0042], where the two laterally spaced holding areas are fixed relative to each other (Fig. 2) [0042],
where the arm is configured to be moved by the robot drive to move the end effector among the at least one load lock and the process modules such that the two laterally spaced holding areas can be inserted into and removed from adjacently-positioned load locks or one of the process modules (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2) [0042] while the robot drive is retained at the singular fixed stationary location on the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2) [0037 & 0042].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate transport system for transferring substrates from/to a series of load locks to/from a series of processing chambers using a robotic transfer arm located in a substrate transfer chamber where the robot drive is located at least partially offset from the centerline of the substrate transport chamber taught by Gilchrist with the substrate transport system for transferring substrates from/to a series of atmosphere isolating substrate supplying and receiving modules to/from a series of processing modules using a robotic transfer arm located in a substrate transfer chamber the substrate transport chamber is rectangular in shape and has a general elongate length extending along a centerline of the substrate transport chamber and a narrower width (Fig. 1 & Fig. 3), where the process modules and the at least one atmosphere isolating substrate supplying and receiving module are located along straight sides of the rectangular shape of the substrate transport chamber where the robot drive is located at least partially offset from the centerline of the substrate transport chamber taught by Hashimoto further modified with the substrate transport system for transferring substrates from/to a series of load locks to/from a series of processing chambers using a robotic transfer arm located in a substrate transfer chamber and an end effector rotatably connected at an end of the robot arm, where the end effector comprises a dual end effector having two laterally spaced holding areas, where each of the holding areas is configured to hold a respective substrate, where the two laterally spaced holding areas are fixed relative to each other taught by Yamagishi in order to provide a substrate processing system with a generally rectangular shape thereby optimizing the space utilized by the footprint of the substrate processing system and increasing throughput of the system without increasing the number of transfer robots thereby limiting cost increases.
Regarding Claim 20, Gilchrist teaches:
the transport apparatus further comprises at least one additional end effector (1901EE2) rotatably connected to the second end of the arm [0101 & 0102].
Regarding Claim 25, Gilchrist teaches:
the dual end effector is configured to support a plurality of substrates thereon in a spaced configuration at each of the two laterally spaced holding area (Fig. 19D) [0046 & 0101 & 0102].
Regarding Claim 27, Gilchrist teaches:
the arm is configured to be moved by the robot drive to move the end effector among the at least one load lock and two or more opposing ones of the process modules while the robot drive is retained at the singular location on the vacuum transport chamber (Fig. 18) [0098 & 0101 & 0102].
Regarding Claim 28, Gilchrist teaches:
the arm is configured to be moved by the robot drive to move the end effector among the at least one load lock and two or more opposing sets of the process modules while the robot drive is retained at the singular location on the vacuum transport chamber (Fig. 18) [0098 & 0101 & 0102].
Regarding Claim 29, Gilchrist teaches:
A method comprising:
providing a substrate transport chamber (2075) configured to have process modules (20205) isolatably connected thereto [0060] and at least one load lock (2035 & 2040) isolatably connected thereto [0098], where the substrate transport chamber has a general elongate length extending along a centerline of the substrate transport chamber and a narrower width (Fig. 18);
fixedly mounting a robot drive (1801D & 1910) to the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 18), where the robot drive is mounted to the substrate transport chamber at a singular stationary location on the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 18) [0098], where the location is at least partially offset from the centerline of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 18);
connecting a robot arm (1810 & 1901) to the robot drive, where a first end of the robot arm is connected to the robot drive (Fig. 18), where the robot drive provides a rotatable shoulder axis (LX & RX) for the robot arm (Fig. 18 & Fig. 19A & Fig. 19B), where the rotatable shoulder axis is a fixed axis at the singular stationary location offset from the centerline of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 18) [0098], and where the robot arm comprises two links (1810 & 1850 & 1860 & 1861 & 1901 UA & 1901 FA) connected in series (Fig. 18 & Fig. 19A & Fig. 19B); and
connecting at least one end effector (155EH & 1901EE1) to a second end of the robot arm (Fig. 19B), where the connecting of the at least one end effector includes the at least one end effector comprising an end effector having at least two laterally spaced holding areas (BH1 & BH2) configured to respectively hold at least one respective substrate at each of the at least two laterally spaced holding areas [0046], where the at least two laterally spaced holding areas are fixed relative to each other and extend from a same side of the end effector (Fig. 2P) [0046] such that the two laterally spaced holding areas can be inserted into and removed from adjacently-positioned load locks or one of the process modules [it is implied by [0046] (Fig. 2 & Fig. 2H & Fig. 2J & Fig. 2P) that the dual blade end effector of Gilchrist would necessarily have to be inserted into 2 spaced isolation valves simultaneously].
Gilchrist does not teach:
the substrate transport chamber is rectangular in shape;
where the at least one load lock are located along straight sides of the rectangular shape of the substrate transport chamber;
Gilchrist does not explicitly teach:
the two laterally spaced holding areas can be inserted into and removed from adjacently-positioned load locks or one of the process modules.
Hashimoto teaches:
a transport apparatus (23) comprising:
a substrate transport chamber (28) configured to have process modules (22 & 30 & 107) connected thereto and configured to have at least one atmosphere isolating substrate supplying and receiving module (26) connected thereto, where the substrate transport chamber is rectangular in shape and has a general elongate length extending along a centerline of the substrate transport chamber and a narrower width (Fig. 1 & Fig. 3), where the process modules and the at least one atmosphere isolating substrate supplying and receiving module are located along straight sides of the rectangular shape of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 8 & Fig. 10 & Fig. 11);
a robot drive (43) connected to the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4 & Fig. 5), where the robot drive is fixedly mounted to the substrate transport chamber at a singular fixed stationary location on the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4 & Fig. 5), where the location is at least partially offset from the centerline of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4 & Fig. 5);
an arm (41) having a first end connected to the robot drive (Fig. 1 & Fig. 3), where the robot drive provides a rotatable shoulder axis for the arm (A0), where the rotatable shoulder axis is a fixed axis at the singular fixed stationary location offset from the longitudinal centerline of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1), where the arm comprises two links (41a & 41b) connected in series to form the arm (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3), where the two links comprise a first link (41a) and a second link (41b), where the first link comprises a first end connected to the robot drive at the rotatable shoulder axis and an opposite second end, where the second link comprises a first end connected to the second end of the first link (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3); and
an end effector (40 & 41c) at a second end of the arm rotatably connected to a second end of the second link (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3), where the end effector comprises a holding area, where the holding area is configured to hold a respective substrate (Fig. 1 & Fig. 3),
where the arm is configured to be moved by the robot drive to move the end effector among the at least one atmosphere isolating substrate supplying and receiving module and the process modules while the robot drive is retained at the singular fixed stationary location on the vacuum transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 3 & Fig. 6 & Fig. 7 & Fig. 8).
Yamagishi teaches:
A transport apparatus (1 & 3 & 4 & 5) comprising:
a substrate transport chamber (4) configured to have processing modules (1a & 1b & 1c & 1d) isolatably connected (9) thereto [0037] and configured to have at least one load lock (5) isolatably connected thereto [0037], where the process modules are located along straight sides of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1);
a robot drive (24) connected to the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2), where the robot drive is fixedly mounted to the substrate transport chamber at a singular fixed stationary location on the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1);
an arm (22a & 22b & 22c) having a first end connected to the robot drive (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2), where the robot drive provides a rotatable shoulder axis (23c) for the arm (Fig. 2), where the rotatable shoulder axis is a fixed axis at the singular fixed stationary location of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1), where the arm comprises two links connected in series to form the arm (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2), where the two links comprise a first link (22b) and a second link (22c), where the first link comprises a first end connected to the robot drive at the rotatable shoulder axis (Fig. 2) and an opposite second end (Fig. 2), where the second link comprises a first end connected to the second end of the first link (Fig. 2); and
an end effector (22a) at a second end of the arm rotatably connected to a second end of the second link (Fig. 2), where the end effector comprises a dual end effector having two laterally spaced holding areas (21L & 21R) (Fig. 2), where each of the holding areas is configured to hold a respective substrate (W) (Fig. 2) [0042], where the two laterally spaced holding areas are fixed relative to each other (Fig. 2) [0042],
where the arm is configured to be moved by the robot drive to move the end effector among the at least one load lock and the process modules such that the two laterally spaced holding areas can be inserted into and removed from adjacently-positioned load locks or one of the process modules (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2) [0042] while the robot drive is retained at the singular fixed stationary location on the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2) [0037 & 0042].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate transport system for transferring substrates from/to a series of load locks to/from a series of processing chambers using a robotic transfer arm located in a substrate transfer chamber where the robot drive is located at least partially offset from the centerline of the substrate transport chamber taught by Gilchrist with the substrate transport system for transferring substrates from/to a series of atmosphere isolating substrate supplying and receiving modules to/from a series of processing modules using a robotic transfer arm located in a substrate transfer chamber the substrate transport chamber is rectangular in shape and has a general elongate length extending along a centerline of the substrate transport chamber and a narrower width (Fig. 1 & Fig. 3), where the process modules and the at least one atmosphere isolating substrate supplying and receiving module are located along straight sides of the rectangular shape of the substrate transport chamber where the robot drive is located at least partially offset from the centerline of the substrate transport chamber taught by Hashimoto further modified with the substrate transport system for transferring substrates from/to a series of load locks to/from a series of processing chambers using a robotic transfer arm located in a substrate transfer chamber and an end effector rotatably connected at an end of the robot arm, where the end effector comprises a dual end effector having two laterally spaced holding areas, where each of the holding areas is configured to hold a respective substrate, where the two laterally spaced holding areas are fixed relative to each other taught by Yamagishi in order to provide a substrate processing system with a generally rectangular shape thereby optimizing the space utilized by the footprint of the substrate processing system and increasing throughput of the system without increasing the number of transfer robots thereby limiting cost increases.
Regarding Claim 30, Gilchrist teaches:
the connecting of the robot arm includes the two links comprising a first link (1810 & 1901UA) and a second link (1850 & 1901FA), where the first link comprises a first end connected to the robot drive and an opposite second end (Fig. 18 & Fig. 19A & Fig. 19B), where the second link comprises a first end connected to the second end of the first link (Fig. 18 & Fig. 19A & Fig. 19B), where the second link comprises a second end having the at least one end effector connected thereto (Fig. 19A & Fig. 19B).
Regarding Claim 31, Gilchrist teaches:
the connecting of the at least one end effector includes the at least one end effector comprising at least two end effectors (1901EE1 & 1901EE2) rotatably connected to the second end of the robot arm [0101 & 0102].
Regarding Claim 32, Gilchrist teaches:
the connecting of the at least one end effector includes the at least two end effectors comprising a first end effector configured to support only one substrate thereon (Fig. 19D) [0101 & 0102].
Regarding Claim 33, Gilchrist teaches:
the connecting of the at least one end effector includes the at least two end effectors comprising a first end effector configured to support a plurality of substrates thereon in a spaced configuration (Fig. 2P & Fig. 19D) [0046 & 0101 & 0102].
Regarding Claim 34, Gilchrist teaches:
the connecting of the at least one end effector includes the at least two end effectors each being connected to the robot arm to be independently rotatable relative to each other (Fig. 19D & 0101].
Regarding Claim 38, Gilchrist teaches:
A transport apparatus (1801) comprising:
a substrate transport chamber (2075) configured to have process modules (2025) isolatably connected thereto [0060] and configured to have at least one load lock (2035 & 2040) isolatably connected thereto [0098], where the substrate transport chamber has a general elongate length extending along a centerline of the substrate transport chamber and a narrower width (Fig. 18);
a robot drive (1801D & 1910) connected to the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 18), where the robot drive is fixedly mounted to the substrate transport chamber at a single fixed location on the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 18) [0098], where the single fixed location is at least partially offset from the centerline of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 18);
a robot arm (1810 & 1901) having a first end connected to the robot drive (Fig. 18), where the robot drive provides a rotatable shoulder axis (LX & RX) for the robot arm (Fig. 18 & Fig. 19A & Fig. 19B), where the rotatable shoulder axis is a fixed axis at the single fixed location offset from the centerline of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 18), where the robot arm comprises a first arm link (1810 & 1901UA) and a second arm link (1850 & 1901FA), where the first arm link comprises a first end connected to the robot drive and an opposite second end (Fig. 18 & Fig. 19A & Fig. 19B), where the second arm link comprises a first end rotatably connected to the second end of the first arm link (Fig. 18 & Fig. 19A & Fig. 19B); and
an end effector (155EH & 1901EE1) rotatably connected to a second end of the second arm link at a rotatable connection (Fig. 19B), where the end effector comprises an end effector having two laterally spaced holding areas (BH1 & BH2) extending in a general same direction from the rotatable connection (Fig. 2P), where each of the holding areas is configured to hold a respective substrate [0046], where the two laterally spaced holding areas are fixed relative to each other (Fig. 2p) [0046],
where the arm is configured to be moved by the robot drive to move the end effector among the plurality of process modules and the at least one load lock such that the two laterally spaced holding areas can be inserted into and removed from adjacently-positioned load locks or one of the process modules [it is implied by [0046] (Fig. 2 & Fig. 2H & Fig. 2J & Fig. 2P) that the dual blade end effector of Gilchrist would necessarily have to be inserted into 2 spaced isolation valves simultaneously] while the robot drive is retained, at least partially offset from the centerline of the substrate transport chamber, at the single location on the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 18) [0098 & 0101 & 0102], the substrate transport chamber being a vacuum transport chamber [0038 & 0098].
Gilchrist does not teach:
the substrate transport chamber is rectangular in shape;
where the at least one load lock are located along straight sides of the rectangular shape of the substrate transport chamber;
Gilchrist does not explicitly teach:
the two laterally spaced holding areas can be inserted into and removed from adjacently-positioned load locks or one of the process modules.
Hashimoto teaches:
a transport apparatus (23) comprising:
a substrate transport chamber (28) configured to have process modules (22 & 30 & 107) connected thereto and configured to have at least one atmosphere isolating substrate supplying and receiving module (26) connected thereto, where the substrate transport chamber is rectangular in shape and has a general elongate length extending along a centerline of the substrate transport chamber and a narrower width (Fig. 1 & Fig. 3), where the process modules and the at least one atmosphere isolating substrate supplying and receiving module are located along straight sides of the rectangular shape of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 8 & Fig. 10 & Fig. 11);
a robot drive (43) connected to the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4 & Fig. 5), where the robot drive is fixedly mounted to the substrate transport chamber at a singular fixed stationary location on the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4 & Fig. 5), where the location is at least partially offset from the centerline of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4 & Fig. 5);
an arm (41) having a first end connected to the robot drive (Fig. 1 & Fig. 3), where the robot drive provides a rotatable shoulder axis for the arm (A0), where the rotatable shoulder axis is a fixed axis at the singular fixed stationary location offset from the longitudinal centerline of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1), where the arm comprises two links (41a & 41b) connected in series to form the arm (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3), where the two links comprise a first link (41a) and a second link (41b), where the first link comprises a first end connected to the robot drive at the rotatable shoulder axis and an opposite second end, where the second link comprises a first end connected to the second end of the first link (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3); and
an end effector (40 & 41c) at a second end of the arm rotatably connected to a second end of the second link (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3), where the end effector comprises a holding area, where the holding area is configured to hold a respective substrate (Fig. 1 & Fig. 3),
where the arm is configured to be moved by the robot drive to move the end effector among the at least one atmosphere isolating substrate supplying and receiving module and the process modules while the robot drive is retained at the singular fixed stationary location on the vacuum transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 3 & Fig. 6 & Fig. 7 & Fig. 8).
Yamagishi teaches:
A transport apparatus (1 & 3 & 4 & 5) comprising:
a substrate transport chamber (4) configured to have processing modules (1a & 1b & 1c & 1d) isolatably connected (9) thereto [0037] and configured to have at least one load lock (5) isolatably connected thereto [0037], where the process modules are located along straight sides of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1);
a robot drive (24) connected to the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2), where the robot drive is fixedly mounted to the substrate transport chamber at a singular fixed stationary location on the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1);
an arm (22a & 22b & 22c) having a first end connected to the robot drive (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2), where the robot drive provides a rotatable shoulder axis (23c) for the arm (Fig. 2), where the rotatable shoulder axis is a fixed axis at the singular fixed stationary location of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1), where the arm comprises two links connected in series to form the arm (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2), where the two links comprise a first link (22b) and a second link (22c), where the first link comprises a first end connected to the robot drive at the rotatable shoulder axis (Fig. 2) and an opposite second end (Fig. 2), where the second link comprises a first end connected to the second end of the first link (Fig. 2); and
an end effector (22a) at a second end of the arm rotatably connected to a second end of the second link (Fig. 2), where the end effector comprises a dual end effector having two laterally spaced holding areas (21L & 21R) (Fig. 2), where each of the holding areas is configured to hold a respective substrate (W) (Fig. 2) [0042], where the two laterally spaced holding areas are fixed relative to each other (Fig. 2) [0042],
where the arm is configured to be moved by the robot drive to move the end effector among the at least one load lock and the process modules such that the two laterally spaced holding areas can be inserted into and removed from adjacently-positioned load locks or one of the process modules (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2) [0042] while the robot drive is retained at the singular fixed stationary location on the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2) [0037 & 0042].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate transport system for transferring substrates from/to a series of load locks to/from a series of processing chambers using a robotic transfer arm located in a substrate transfer chamber where the robot drive is located at least partially offset from the centerline of the substrate transport chamber taught by Gilchrist with the substrate transport system for transferring substrates from/to a series of atmosphere isolating substrate supplying and receiving modules to/from a series of processing modules using a robotic transfer arm located in a substrate transfer chamber the substrate transport chamber is rectangular in shape and has a general elongate length extending along a centerline of the substrate transport chamber and a narrower width (Fig. 1 & Fig. 3), where the process modules and the at least one atmosphere isolating substrate supplying and receiving module are located along straight sides of the rectangular shape of the substrate transport chamber where the robot drive is located at least partially offset from the centerline of the substrate transport chamber taught by Hashimoto further modified with the substrate transport system for transferring substrates from/to a series of load locks to/from a series of processing chambers using a robotic transfer arm located in a substrate transfer chamber and an end effector rotatably connected at an end of the robot arm, where the end effector comprises a dual end effector having two laterally spaced holding areas, where each of the holding areas is configured to hold a respective substrate, where the two laterally spaced holding areas are fixed relative to each other taught by Yamagishi in order to provide a substrate processing system with a generally rectangular shape thereby optimizing the space utilized by the footprint of the substrate processing system and increasing throughput of the system without increasing the number of transfer robots thereby limiting cost increases.
Regarding Claim 39, Gilchrist teaches:
the plurality of process modules comprise at least two of the process modules on a first side of the substrate transport chamber and at least two of the process modules on an opposite second side of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 18).
Regarding Claim 40, Gilchrist teaches:
the plurality of process modules comprise at least two of the process modules on a third side of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 18).
Regarding Claim 41, Gilchrist teaches:
the substrate transport chamber has a general rectangular shape, and where the at least one load lock is on a fourth side of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 18).
Regarding Claim 42, Gilchrist teaches:
the substrate transport chamber has a general rectangular shape, and where the at least one load lock is on a fourth side of the substrate transport chamber [0038 & 0098].
Regarding Claim 43, Gilchrist teaches:
a second robot drive (344 & 1930), a second robot arm (155B & 1902) connected to the second robot drive (Fig. 3A & Fig. 19A), and a second end effector (155EB & 1902EE) connected to the second robot arm (Fig. 3A & Fig. 19A), where the second robot drive is fixedly mounted to the substrate transport chamber at the first location on the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 2H & Fig. 18), where the first location is at least partially offset from the centerline of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 18), and where the second end effector comprises a dual end effector (155EH) having two laterally spaced holding areas fixed relative to each other, where each of the holding areas of the second end effector is configured to hold a respective substrate [0046 & 0102].
Gilchrist does not explicitly teach:
the second robot drive is fixedly mounted to the substrate transport chamber at a single spaced second location on the substrate transport chamber, where the single second location is at least partially offset from the centerline of the substrate transport chamber.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the second robot drive fixedly mounted to the substrate transport chamber at a single spaced second location on the substrate transport chamber, where the single second location is at least partially offset from the centerline of the substrate transport chamber in order to provide a processing system with increased throughput and a robotic arm with a decreased arm member length reducing the bending moment on the arm thereby reducing wear on the moving support parts of the arm reducing maintenance requirements, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (referred to in MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C)).
Regarding Claim 44, Gilchrist teaches:
A transport apparatus (1801) comprising:
a substrate transport chamber (2075);
a robot drive (1801D & 1910) fixedly mounted to the substrate transport chamber at a fixed single location on the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 18) [0098], where the fixed single location is at least partially offset from a longitudinal centerline of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 18);
a robot arm (1810 & 1901) having a first end connected to the robot drive (Fig. 18), where the robot drive provides a rotatable shoulder axis (LX & RX) for the robot arm (Fig. 18 & Fig. 19A & Fig. 19B), where the shoulder axis is a fixed axis at the fixed single location offset from the longitudinal centerline of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 18), where the robot arm comprises a first arm link (1810 & 1901UA) and a second arm link (1850 & 1901FA), where the first arm link comprises a first end connected to the robot drive and an opposite second end (Fig. 18 & Fig. 19A & Fig. 19B), where the second arm link comprises a first end rotatably connected to the second end of the first arm link (Fig. 18 & Fig. 19A & Fig. 19B); and
a first end effector (155EH & 1901EE1) rotatably connected to a second end of the second arm link (Fig. 19B), where the first end effector is configured to hold at least one substrate thereon [0046 & 0101],
where the robot arm is configured to be moved by the robot drive to move the first end effector among a plurality of process modules (2025) isolatably connected [0060] to a plurality of sides of the substrate process module transport chamber (Fig. 18) and at least one load lock (2035 & 2040) isolatably connected [0098] to a side of the substrate process module transport chamber (Fig. 18) such that the two laterally spaced holding areas can be inserted into and removed from adjacently-positioned load locks or one of the process modules [it is implied by [0046] (Fig. 2 & Fig. 2H & Fig. 2J & Fig. 2P) that the dual blade end effector of Gilchrist would necessarily have to be inserted into 2 spaced isolation valves simultaneously] while the robot drive is retained, at least partially, offset from the longitudinal centerline of the substrate transport chamber, at the fixed single location on the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 18) [0098 & 0101 & 0102], the substrate transport chamber being a vacuum transport chamber [0038 & 0098].
Gilchrist does not teach:
the substrate transport chamber is rectangular in shape;
where the at least one load lock are located along straight sides of the rectangular shape of the substrate transport chamber;
Gilchrist does not explicitly teach:
the two laterally spaced holding areas can be inserted into and removed from adjacently-positioned load locks or one of the process modules.
Hashimoto teaches:
a transport apparatus (23) comprising:
a substrate transport chamber (28) configured to have process modules (22 & 30 & 107) connected thereto and configured to have at least one atmosphere isolating substrate supplying and receiving module (26) connected thereto, where the substrate transport chamber is rectangular in shape and has a general elongate length extending along a centerline of the substrate transport chamber and a narrower width (Fig. 1 & Fig. 3), where the process modules and the at least one atmosphere isolating substrate supplying and receiving module are located along straight sides of the rectangular shape of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 8 & Fig. 10 & Fig. 11);
a robot drive (43) connected to the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4 & Fig. 5), where the robot drive is fixedly mounted to the substrate transport chamber at a singular fixed stationary location on the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4 & Fig. 5), where the location is at least partially offset from the centerline of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4 & Fig. 5);
an arm (41) having a first end connected to the robot drive (Fig. 1 & Fig. 3), where the robot drive provides a rotatable shoulder axis for the arm (A0), where the rotatable shoulder axis is a fixed axis at the singular fixed stationary location offset from the longitudinal centerline of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1), where the arm comprises two links (41a & 41b) connected in series to form the arm (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3), where the two links comprise a first link (41a) and a second link (41b), where the first link comprises a first end connected to the robot drive at the rotatable shoulder axis and an opposite second end, where the second link comprises a first end connected to the second end of the first link (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3); and
an end effector (40 & 41c) at a second end of the arm rotatably connected to a second end of the second link (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3), where the end effector comprises a holding area, where the holding area is configured to hold a respective substrate (Fig. 1 & Fig. 3),
where the arm is configured to be moved by the robot drive to move the end effector among the at least one atmosphere isolating substrate supplying and receiving module and the process modules while the robot drive is retained at the singular fixed stationary location on the vacuum transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 3 & Fig. 6 & Fig. 7 & Fig. 8).
Yamagishi teaches:
A transport apparatus (1 & 3 & 4 & 5) comprising:
a substrate transport chamber (4) configured to have processing modules (1a & 1b & 1c & 1d) isolatably connected (9) thereto [0037] and configured to have at least one load lock (5) isolatably connected thereto [0037], where the process modules are located along straight sides of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1);
a robot drive (24) connected to the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2), where the robot drive is fixedly mounted to the substrate transport chamber at a singular fixed stationary location on the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1);
an arm (22a & 22b & 22c) having a first end connected to the robot drive (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2), where the robot drive provides a rotatable shoulder axis (23c) for the arm (Fig. 2), where the rotatable shoulder axis is a fixed axis at the singular fixed stationary location of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1), where the arm comprises two links connected in series to form the arm (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2), where the two links comprise a first link (22b) and a second link (22c), where the first link comprises a first end connected to the robot drive at the rotatable shoulder axis (Fig. 2) and an opposite second end (Fig. 2), where the second link comprises a first end connected to the second end of the first link (Fig. 2); and
an end effector (22a) at a second end of the arm rotatably connected to a second end of the second link (Fig. 2), where the end effector comprises a dual end effector having two laterally spaced holding areas (21L & 21R) (Fig. 2), where each of the holding areas is configured to hold a respective substrate (W) (Fig. 2) [0042], where the two laterally spaced holding areas are fixed relative to each other (Fig. 2) [0042],
where the arm is configured to be moved by the robot drive to move the end effector among the at least one load lock and the process modules such that the two laterally spaced holding areas can be inserted into and removed from adjacently-positioned load locks or one of the process modules (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2) [0042] while the robot drive is retained at the singular fixed stationary location on the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2) [0037 & 0042].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate transport system for transferring substrates from/to a series of load locks to/from a series of processing chambers using a robotic transfer arm located in a substrate transfer chamber where the robot drive is located at least partially offset from the centerline of the substrate transport chamber taught by Gilchrist with the substrate transport system for transferring substrates from/to a series of atmosphere isolating substrate supplying and receiving modules to/from a series of processing modules using a robotic transfer arm located in a substrate transfer chamber the substrate transport chamber is rectangular in shape and has a general elongate length extending along a centerline of the substrate transport chamber and a narrower width (Fig. 1 & Fig. 3), where the process modules and the at least one atmosphere isolating substrate supplying and receiving module are located along straight sides of the rectangular shape of the substrate transport chamber where the robot drive is located at least partially offset from the centerline of the substrate transport chamber taught by Hashimoto further modified with the substrate transport system for transferring substrates from/to a series of load locks to/from a series of processing chambers using a robotic transfer arm located in a substrate transfer chamber and an end effector rotatably connected at an end of the robot arm, where the end effector comprises a dual end effector having two laterally spaced holding areas, where each of the holding areas is configured to hold a respective substrate, where the two laterally spaced holding areas are fixed relative to each other taught by Yamagishi in order to provide a substrate processing system with a generally rectangular shape thereby optimizing the space utilized by the footprint of the substrate processing system and increasing throughput of the system without increasing the number of transfer robots thereby limiting cost increases.
Regarding Claim 45, Gilchrist teaches:
the first end effector comprises two laterally spaced holding areas (BH1 & BH2), where each of the holding areas is configured to hold a respective substrate [0046], where the two laterally spaced holding areas are fixed relative to each other (Fig. 2P) [0046].
Regarding Claim 46, Gilchrist teaches:
the substrate transport chamber is configured to have the process modules connected to at least two opposite sides of the substrate transport chamber and configured to have the at least one load lock connected to another side of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 18), where the substrate transport chamber has a general elongate length extending along the longitudinal centerline of the substrate transport chamber and a narrower width (Fig. 18), and where the robot arm and the robot drive are configured to move the first end effector into the process modules at the at least two opposite sides of the substrate transport chamber and into the at least one load lock at the another side of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 18) [0098 & 0101 & 0102].
Regarding Claim 47, Gilchrist teaches:
the two laterally spaced holding areas of the dual end effector are located on a same side of the end effector, where the two laterally spaced holding areas are configured to be inserted into a process module at a same time (Fig. 2P) [0046].
Regarding Claim 48, Gilchrist teaches:
the at least one end effector comprises a first end effector having a general U shape with the at least two laterally spaced holding areas being located at opposite ends of the general U shape (Fig. 2P).
Regarding Claim 49, Gilchrist teaches:
the end effector comprises a general U shape with the two laterally spaced holding areas being located at opposite ends of the general U shape (Fig. 2P).
Regarding Claim 50, Gilchrist teaches:
a second end effector (1901EE2) rotatably connected to the second end of the second arm link, where the second end effector is configured to hold at least one substrate thereon, where the second end effector is independently rotatable relative to the first end effector [0101].
Regarding Claim 51, Gilchrist teaches:
the first end effector comprises two laterally spaced holding areas (BH1 & BH2) (Fig. 2P), where each of the two laterally spaced holding areas is configured to hold a respective substrate [0046], where the two laterally spaced holding areas are fixed relative to each other (Fig. 2P) [0046].
Regarding Claim 52, Gilchrist teaches:
a second robot drive (344 & 1930) fixedly mounted to the substrate transport chamber at least partially offset from the longitudinal centerline of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 18);
a second robot arm (155B & 1902) having a second end connected to the second robot drive (Fig. 3A & Fig. 19A), where the second robot drive provides a rotatable shoulder axis (SX & RX) for the second robot arm, a fixed axis a fixed single location offset from the longitudinal centerline of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 18), where the second robot arm comprises a third arm link (155UB & 1902UA) and a fourth arm link (155FB & 1902FA), where the third arm link comprises a first end connected to the second robot drive and an opposite second end (Fig. 3A & Fig. 19A & Fig. 19B), where the fourth arm link comprises a first end rotatably connected to the second end of the third arm link (Fig. 3A & Fig. 19A & Fig. 19B); and
a third end effector (1902EE) rotatably connected to a second end of the fourth arm link (Fig. 19C), where the third end effector is configured to support at least one substrate thereon [0102 & 0103 & 0104],
where the second robot arm is configured to be moved by the second robot drive to move the third end effector among the plurality of process modules connected to the plurality of sides of the substrate process module transport chamber while the second robot drive is retained, at least partially, offset from the longitudinal centerline of the substrate transport chamber, at the fixed single location on the vacuum transport chamber [0101 & 0102 & 0103 & 0104].
Gilchrist does not explicitly teach:
the second robot drive fixedly mounted to the substrate transport chamber at a different second fixed single location on the substrate transport chamber, where the different second fixed single location is at least partially offset from the longitudinal centerline of the substrate transport chamber;
where the second shoulder axis is a fixed axis at the different second fixed single location offset from the longitudinal centerline of the substrate transport chamber,
the second robot drive is retained, at least partially, offset from the longitudinal centerline of the substrate transport chamber, at the different second fixed single location on the vacuum transport chamber.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the second robot drive second robot drive fixedly mounted to the substrate transport chamber at a different second fixed single location on the substrate transport chamber, where the different second fixed single location is at least partially offset from the longitudinal centerline of the substrate transport chamber; where the second shoulder axis is a fixed axis at the different second fixed single location offset from the longitudinal centerline of the substrate transport chamber, and the second robot drive is retained, at least partially, offset from the longitudinal centerline of the substrate transport chamber, at the different second fixed single location on the vacuum transport chamber in order to provide a processing system with increased throughput and a robotic arm with a decreased arm member length reducing the bending moment on the arm thereby reducing wear on the moving support parts of the arm reducing maintenance requirements, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (referred to in MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C)).
Regarding Claim 53, Gilchrist teaches:
a fourth end effector (1902EE2) rotatably connected to the second end of the fourth arm link, where the fourth end effector is configured to hold at least one substrate thereon, where the fourth end effector is independently rotatable relative to the third end effector [0101 & 0102 & 0103 & 0104].
Regarding Claim 54, Gilchrist does not explicitly teach:
the two locations are located on opposite sides of the longitudinal centerline of the substrate transport chamber.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the second robot drive second robot drive fixedly mounted to the substrate transport chamber at a different second fixed single location on the substrate transport chamber, where the different second fixed single location is at least partially offset from the longitudinal centerline of the substrate transport chamber; where the second shoulder axis is a fixed axis at the different second fixed single location offset from the longitudinal centerline of the substrate transport chamber, and the second robot drive is retained, at least partially, offset from the longitudinal centerline of the substrate transport chamber, at the different second fixed single location on the vacuum transport chamber, the two locations are located on opposite sides of the longitudinal centerline of the substrate transport chamber in order to provide a processing system with increased throughput and a robotic arm with a decreased arm member length reducing the bending moment on the arm thereby reducing wear on the moving support parts of the arm reducing maintenance requirements, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (referred to in MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C)).
Regarding Claim 55, Gilchrist teaches:
at least one first process module (PM & 2025) connected to the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 2H & Fig. 18), where the at least one first process module is coupled to the substrate transport chamber by two spaced isolation valves [0060], and where the dual end effector is configured such that the two laterally spaced holding areas each pass through respective ones of the two isolation valves at a same time as the respective substrates are moved into and out of the at least one first process module [it is implied by [0046] (Fig. 2 & Fig. 2H & Fig. 2J & Fig. 2P) that the dual blade end effector of Gilchrist would necessarily have to be inserted into 2 spaced isolation valves simultaneously].
Gilchrist does not explicitly teach:
the two laterally spaced holding areas can be inserted into and removed from adjacently-positioned load locks or one of the process modules.
Yamagishi teaches:
A transport apparatus (1 & 3 & 4 & 5) comprising:
a substrate transport chamber (4) configured to have processing modules (1a & 1b & 1c & 1d) isolatably connected (9) thereto [0037] and configured to have at least one load lock (5) isolatably connected thereto [0037], where the process modules are located along straight sides of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1);
a robot drive (24) connected to the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2), where the robot drive is fixedly mounted to the substrate transport chamber at a singular fixed stationary location on the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1);
an arm (22a & 22b & 22c) having a first end connected to the robot drive (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2), where the robot drive provides a rotatable shoulder axis (23c) for the arm (Fig. 2), where the rotatable shoulder axis is a fixed axis at the singular fixed stationary location of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1), where the arm comprises two links connected in series to form the arm (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2), where the two links comprise a first link (22b) and a second link (22c), where the first link comprises a first end connected to the robot drive at the rotatable shoulder axis (Fig. 2) and an opposite second end (Fig. 2), where the second link comprises a first end connected to the second end of the first link (Fig. 2); and
an end effector (22a) at a second end of the arm rotatably connected to a second end of the second link (Fig. 2), where the end effector comprises a dual end effector having two laterally spaced holding areas (21L & 21R) (Fig. 2), where each of the holding areas is configured to hold a respective substrate (W) (Fig. 2) [0042], where the two laterally spaced holding areas are fixed relative to each other (Fig. 2) [0042],
where the arm is configured to be moved by the robot drive to move the end effector among the at least one load lock and the process modules such that the two laterally spaced holding areas can be inserted into and removed from adjacently-positioned load locks or one of the process modules (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2) [0042] while the robot drive is retained at the singular fixed stationary location on the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2) [0037 & 0042].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate transport system for transferring substrates from/to a series of load locks to/from a series of processing chambers using a robotic transfer arm with an end effector having dual laterally spaced holding areas for supporting two substrates located in a substrate transfer chamber having where the robot drive is located at least partially offset from the centerline of the substrate transport chamber taught by Gilchrist with the substrate transport system for transferring substrates from/to a series of load locks to/from a series of processing chambers using a robotic transfer arm located in a substrate transfer chamber and an end effector rotatably connected at an end of the robot arm, where the end effector comprises a dual end effector having two laterally spaced holding areas, where each of the holding areas is configured to hold a respective substrate, where the two laterally spaced holding areas are fixed relative to each other taught by Yamagishi in order to provide a substrate processing system with an increased throughput without increasing the number of transfer robots thereby limiting cost increases.
Regarding Claim 56, Gilchrist teaches:
the at least one load lock comprises two load locks connected to the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 2H & Fig. 18), where the two load locks are coupled to the substrate transport chamber by two other isolation valves [0060], and where the dual end effector is configured such that the two laterally spaced holding areas each pass through respective ones of the two other isolation valves as the respective substrates are moved respectively into and out of the two load locks [it is implied by [0046] (Fig. 2 & Fig. 2H & Fig. 2J & Fig. 2P) that the dual blade end effector of Gilchrist would necessarily have to be inserted into 2 spaced isolation valves simultaneously].
Gilchrist does not explicitly teach:
the two laterally spaced holding areas can be inserted into and removed from adjacently-positioned load locks or one of the process modules.
Yamagishi teaches:
A transport apparatus (1 & 3 & 4 & 5) comprising:
a substrate transport chamber (4) configured to have processing modules (1a & 1b & 1c & 1d) isolatably connected (9) thereto [0037] and configured to have at least one load lock (5) isolatably connected thereto [0037], where the process modules are located along straight sides of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1);
a robot drive (24) connected to the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2), where the robot drive is fixedly mounted to the substrate transport chamber at a singular fixed stationary location on the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1);
an arm (22a & 22b & 22c) having a first end connected to the robot drive (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2), where the robot drive provides a rotatable shoulder axis (23c) for the arm (Fig. 2), where the rotatable shoulder axis is a fixed axis at the singular fixed stationary location of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1), where the arm comprises two links connected in series to form the arm (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2), where the two links comprise a first link (22b) and a second link (22c), where the first link comprises a first end connected to the robot drive at the rotatable shoulder axis (Fig. 2) and an opposite second end (Fig. 2), where the second link comprises a first end connected to the second end of the first link (Fig. 2); and
an end effector (22a) at a second end of the arm rotatably connected to a second end of the second link (Fig. 2), where the end effector comprises a dual end effector having two laterally spaced holding areas (21L & 21R) (Fig. 2), where each of the holding areas is configured to hold a respective substrate (W) (Fig. 2) [0042], where the two laterally spaced holding areas are fixed relative to each other (Fig. 2) [0042],
where the arm is configured to be moved by the robot drive to move the end effector among the at least one load lock and the process modules such that the two laterally spaced holding areas can be inserted into and removed from adjacently-positioned load locks or one of the process modules (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2) [0042] while the robot drive is retained at the singular fixed stationary location on the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2) [0037 & 0042].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate transport system for transferring substrates from/to a series of load locks to/from a series of processing chambers using a robotic transfer arm with an end effector having dual laterally spaced holding areas for supporting two substrates located in a substrate transfer chamber having where the robot drive is located at least partially offset from the centerline of the substrate transport chamber taught by Gilchrist with the substrate transport system for transferring substrates from/to a series of load locks to/from a series of processing chambers using a robotic transfer arm located in a substrate transfer chamber and an end effector rotatably connected at an end of the robot arm, where the end effector comprises a dual end effector having two laterally spaced holding areas, where each of the holding areas is configured to hold a respective substrate, where the two laterally spaced holding areas are fixed relative to each other taught by Yamagishi in order to provide a substrate processing system with an increased throughput without increasing the number of transfer robots thereby limiting cost increases.
Regarding Claim 57, Gilchrist teaches:
the at least one load lock comprises two load locks connected to the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 2H & Fig. 18), where the two load locks are coupled to the substrate transport chamber by two respective spaced isolation valves [0060], and where the dual end effector is configured such that the two laterally spaced holding areas each pass through respective ones of the two isolation valves as the respective substrates are moved respectively into and out of the two load locks [it is implied by [0046] (Fig. 2 & Fig. 2H & Fig. 2J & Fig. 2P) that the dual blade end effector of Gilchrist would necessarily have to be inserted into 2 spaced isolation valves simultaneously].
Gilchrist does not explicitly teach:
the two laterally spaced holding areas can be inserted into and removed from adjacently-positioned load locks or one of the process modules.
Yamagishi teaches:
A transport apparatus (1 & 3 & 4 & 5) comprising:
a substrate transport chamber (4) configured to have processing modules (1a & 1b & 1c & 1d) isolatably connected (9) thereto [0037] and configured to have at least one load lock (5) isolatably connected thereto [0037], where the process modules are located along straight sides of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1);
a robot drive (24) connected to the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2), where the robot drive is fixedly mounted to the substrate transport chamber at a singular fixed stationary location on the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1);
an arm (22a & 22b & 22c) having a first end connected to the robot drive (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2), where the robot drive provides a rotatable shoulder axis (23c) for the arm (Fig. 2), where the rotatable shoulder axis is a fixed axis at the singular fixed stationary location of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1), where the arm comprises two links connected in series to form the arm (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2), where the two links comprise a first link (22b) and a second link (22c), where the first link comprises a first end connected to the robot drive at the rotatable shoulder axis (Fig. 2) and an opposite second end (Fig. 2), where the second link comprises a first end connected to the second end of the first link (Fig. 2); and
an end effector (22a) at a second end of the arm rotatably connected to a second end of the second link (Fig. 2), where the end effector comprises a dual end effector having two laterally spaced holding areas (21L & 21R) (Fig. 2), where each of the holding areas is configured to hold a respective substrate (W) (Fig. 2) [0042], where the two laterally spaced holding areas are fixed relative to each other (Fig. 2) [0042],
where the arm is configured to be moved by the robot drive to move the end effector among the at least one load lock and the process modules such that the two laterally spaced holding areas can be inserted into and removed from adjacently-positioned load locks or one of the process modules (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2) [0042] while the robot drive is retained at the singular fixed stationary location on the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2) [0037 & 0042].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate transport system for transferring substrates from/to a series of load locks to/from a series of processing chambers using a robotic transfer arm with an end effector having dual laterally spaced holding areas for supporting two substrates located in a substrate transfer chamber having where the robot drive is located at least partially offset from the centerline of the substrate transport chamber taught by Gilchrist with the substrate transport system for transferring substrates from/to a series of load locks to/from a series of processing chambers using a robotic transfer arm located in a substrate transfer chamber and an end effector rotatably connected at an end of the robot arm, where the end effector comprises a dual end effector having two laterally spaced holding areas, where each of the holding areas is configured to hold a respective substrate, where the two laterally spaced holding areas are fixed relative to each other taught by Yamagishi in order to provide a substrate processing system with an increased throughput without increasing the number of transfer robots thereby limiting cost increases.
Regarding Claim 58, Gilchrist teaches:
connecting at least one first process module (PM & 2025) to the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 2H & Fig. 18),
where the at least one first process module is connected to the substrate transport chamber with two spaced isolation valves [0060], and where the end effector is configured such that the two laterally spaced holding areas each pass through respective ones of the two isolation valves at a same time as the respective substrates are moved into and out of the at least one first process module [it is implied by [0046] (Fig. 2 & Fig. 2H & Fig. 2J & Fig. 2P) that the dual blade end effector of Gilchrist would necessarily have to be inserted into 2 spaced isolation valves simultaneously].
Gilchrist does not explicitly teach:
the two laterally spaced holding areas can be inserted into and removed from adjacently-positioned load locks or one of the process modules.
Yamagishi teaches:
A transport apparatus (1 & 3 & 4 & 5) comprising:
a substrate transport chamber (4) configured to have processing modules (1a & 1b & 1c & 1d) isolatably connected (9) thereto [0037] and configured to have at least one load lock (5) isolatably connected thereto [0037], where the process modules are located along straight sides of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1);
a robot drive (24) connected to the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2), where the robot drive is fixedly mounted to the substrate transport chamber at a singular fixed stationary location on the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1);
an arm (22a & 22b & 22c) having a first end connected to the robot drive (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2), where the robot drive provides a rotatable shoulder axis (23c) for the arm (Fig. 2), where the rotatable shoulder axis is a fixed axis at the singular fixed stationary location of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1), where the arm comprises two links connected in series to form the arm (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2), where the two links comprise a first link (22b) and a second link (22c), where the first link comprises a first end connected to the robot drive at the rotatable shoulder axis (Fig. 2) and an opposite second end (Fig. 2), where the second link comprises a first end connected to the second end of the first link (Fig. 2); and
an end effector (22a) at a second end of the arm rotatably connected to a second end of the second link (Fig. 2), where the end effector comprises a dual end effector having two laterally spaced holding areas (21L & 21R) (Fig. 2), where each of the holding areas is configured to hold a respective substrate (W) (Fig. 2) [0042], where the two laterally spaced holding areas are fixed relative to each other (Fig. 2) [0042],
where the arm is configured to be moved by the robot drive to move the end effector among the at least one load lock and the process modules such that the two laterally spaced holding areas can be inserted into and removed from adjacently-positioned load locks or one of the process modules (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2) [0042] while the robot drive is retained at the singular fixed stationary location on the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2) [0037 & 0042].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate transport system for transferring substrates from/to a series of load locks to/from a series of processing chambers using a robotic transfer arm with an end effector having dual laterally spaced holding areas for supporting two substrates located in a substrate transfer chamber having where the robot drive is located at least partially offset from the centerline of the substrate transport chamber taught by Gilchrist with the substrate transport system for transferring substrates from/to a series of load locks to/from a series of processing chambers using a robotic transfer arm located in a substrate transfer chamber and an end effector rotatably connected at an end of the robot arm, where the end effector comprises a dual end effector having two laterally spaced holding areas, where each of the holding areas is configured to hold a respective substrate, where the two laterally spaced holding areas are fixed relative to each other taught by Yamagishi in order to provide a substrate processing system with an increased throughput without increasing the number of transfer robots thereby limiting cost increases.
Regarding Claim 59, Gilchrist teaches:
connecting at least two load locks to the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 2H & Fig. 18), where the two load locks are connected to the substrate transport chamber with two other isolation valves [0060], and where the end effector is configured such that the two laterally spaced holding areas each pass through respective ones of the two other isolation valves as the respective substrates are moved respectively into and out of individual ones of the two load locks [it is implied by [0046] (Fig. 2 & Fig. 2H & Fig. 2J & Fig. 2P) that the dual blade end effector of Gilchrist would necessarily have to be inserted into 2 spaced isolation valves simultaneously].
Gilchrist does not explicitly teach:
the two laterally spaced holding areas can be inserted into and removed from adjacently-positioned load locks or one of the process modules.
Yamagishi teaches:
A transport apparatus (1 & 3 & 4 & 5) comprising:
a substrate transport chamber (4) configured to have processing modules (1a & 1b & 1c & 1d) isolatably connected (9) thereto [0037] and configured to have at least one load lock (5) isolatably connected thereto [0037], where the process modules are located along straight sides of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1);
a robot drive (24) connected to the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2), where the robot drive is fixedly mounted to the substrate transport chamber at a singular fixed stationary location on the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1);
an arm (22a & 22b & 22c) having a first end connected to the robot drive (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2), where the robot drive provides a rotatable shoulder axis (23c) for the arm (Fig. 2), where the rotatable shoulder axis is a fixed axis at the singular fixed stationary location of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1), where the arm comprises two links connected in series to form the arm (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2), where the two links comprise a first link (22b) and a second link (22c), where the first link comprises a first end connected to the robot drive at the rotatable shoulder axis (Fig. 2) and an opposite second end (Fig. 2), where the second link comprises a first end connected to the second end of the first link (Fig. 2); and
an end effector (22a) at a second end of the arm rotatably connected to a second end of the second link (Fig. 2), where the end effector comprises a dual end effector having two laterally spaced holding areas (21L & 21R) (Fig. 2), where each of the holding areas is configured to hold a respective substrate (W) (Fig. 2) [0042], where the two laterally spaced holding areas are fixed relative to each other (Fig. 2) [0042],
where the arm is configured to be moved by the robot drive to move the end effector among the at least one load lock and the process modules such that the two laterally spaced holding areas can be inserted into and removed from adjacently-positioned load locks or one of the process modules (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2) [0042] while the robot drive is retained at the singular fixed stationary location on the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2) [0037 & 0042].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate transport system for transferring substrates from/to a series of load locks to/from a series of processing chambers using a robotic transfer arm with an end effector having dual laterally spaced holding areas for supporting two substrates located in a substrate transfer chamber having where the robot drive is located at least partially offset from the centerline of the substrate transport chamber taught by Gilchrist with the substrate transport system for transferring substrates from/to a series of load locks to/from a series of processing chambers using a robotic transfer arm located in a substrate transfer chamber and an end effector rotatably connected at an end of the robot arm, where the end effector comprises a dual end effector having two laterally spaced holding areas, where each of the holding areas is configured to hold a respective substrate, where the two laterally spaced holding areas are fixed relative to each other taught by Yamagishi in order to provide a substrate processing system with an increased throughput without increasing the number of transfer robots thereby limiting cost increases.
Regarding Claim 60, Gilchrist teaches:
connecting at least two load locks to the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 3H & Fig. 18), where the two load locks are connected to the substrate transport chamber with two respective spaced isolation valves [0060], and where the end effector is configured such that the two laterally spaced holding areas each pass through respective ones of the two isolation valves as the respective substrates are moved respectively into and out of the two load locks [it is implied by [0046] (Fig. 2 & Fig. 2H & Fig. 2J & Fig. 2P) that the dual blade end effector of Gilchrist would necessarily have to be inserted into 2 spaced isolation valves simultaneously].
Gilchrist does not explicitly teach:
the two laterally spaced holding areas can be inserted into and removed from adjacently-positioned load locks or one of the process modules.
Yamagishi teaches:
A transport apparatus (1 & 3 & 4 & 5) comprising:
a substrate transport chamber (4) configured to have processing modules (1a & 1b & 1c & 1d) isolatably connected (9) thereto [0037] and configured to have at least one load lock (5) isolatably connected thereto [0037], where the process modules are located along straight sides of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1);
a robot drive (24) connected to the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2), where the robot drive is fixedly mounted to the substrate transport chamber at a singular fixed stationary location on the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1);
an arm (22a & 22b & 22c) having a first end connected to the robot drive (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2), where the robot drive provides a rotatable shoulder axis (23c) for the arm (Fig. 2), where the rotatable shoulder axis is a fixed axis at the singular fixed stationary location of the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1), where the arm comprises two links connected in series to form the arm (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2), where the two links comprise a first link (22b) and a second link (22c), where the first link comprises a first end connected to the robot drive at the rotatable shoulder axis (Fig. 2) and an opposite second end (Fig. 2), where the second link comprises a first end connected to the second end of the first link (Fig. 2); and
an end effector (22a) at a second end of the arm rotatably connected to a second end of the second link (Fig. 2), where the end effector comprises a dual end effector having two laterally spaced holding areas (21L & 21R) (Fig. 2), where each of the holding areas is configured to hold a respective substrate (W) (Fig. 2) [0042], where the two laterally spaced holding areas are fixed relative to each other (Fig. 2) [0042],
where the arm is configured to be moved by the robot drive to move the end effector among the at least one load lock and the process modules such that the two laterally spaced holding areas can be inserted into and removed from adjacently-positioned load locks or one of the process modules (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2) [0042] while the robot drive is retained at the singular fixed stationary location on the substrate transport chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2) [0037 & 0042].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate transport system for transferring substrates from/to a series of load locks to/from a series of processing chambers using a robotic transfer arm with an end effector having dual laterally spaced holding areas for supporting two substrates located in a substrate transfer chamber having where the robot drive is located at least partially offset from the centerline of the substrate transport chamber taught by Gilchrist with the substrate transport system for transferring substrates from/to a series of load locks to/from a series of processing chambers using a robotic transfer arm located in a substrate transfer chamber and an end effector rotatably connected at an end of the robot arm, where the end effector comprises a dual end effector having two laterally spaced holding areas, where each of the holding areas is configured to hold a respective substrate, where the two laterally spaced holding areas are fixed relative to each other taught by Yamagishi in order to provide a substrate processing system with an increased throughput without increasing the number of transfer robots thereby limiting cost increases.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 18, 20, 25, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, and 60 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRENDAN P TIGHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652