DETAILED ACTION
Reopening after Appeal Brief
In view of the Appeal Brief filed on 09/16/2025, PROSECUTION IS HEREBY REOPENED. New ground of rejection is set forth below.
To avoid abandonment of the application, appellant must exercise one of the following two options:
(1) file a reply under 37 CFR 1.111 (if this Office action is non-final) or a reply under 37 CFR 1.113 (if this Office action is final); or,
(2) initiate a new appeal by filing a notice of appeal under 37 CFR 41.31 followed by an appeal brief under 37 CFR 41.37. The previously paid notice of appeal fee and appeal brief fee can be applied to the new appeal. If, however, the appeal fees set forth in 37 CFR 41.20 have been increased since they were previously paid, then appellant must pay the difference between the increased fees and the amount previously paid.
A Supervisory Patent Examiner (SPE) has approved of reopening prosecution by signing below:
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “bayonet connection” in anchor housing is not shown in Figs. 2A-2C must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “the objects fastened to an elongated load bearing member which is connected to an anchor member of the cast-in-place anchor system” in lines 2-4 is inconsistent with the description provided in the specification.
For example, “elongated load bearing member” is now understood as a “threaded rod”, and “anchor member” is also defined as “threaded rod” in para. [0005].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thompson US9181691 (hereinafter, Thompson).
Regarding claim 1, Thompson discloses a cast-in-place anchor system for anchoring objects to a concrete structure after concrete pouring and concrete setting, the objects fastened to an elongated load bearing member 19, 21 which is connected to an anchor member (as best understood, anchor housing member 13) of the cast-in-place anchor system, the cast-in-place anchor system comprising:
an anchor housing 13, the anchor housing including an opening (central opening of the housing 13) therein along a longitudinal axis (vertical direction) thereof for receiving the elongate load bearing member (threaded rods 19 21), the anchor housing also including a jaw assembly (see threaded locking region 43 & 47 or 45 & 49 in Figs. 6-7) for lockingly engaging and axially securing the elongate load bearing member relative to the anchor housing (see Figs. 5-7),
a wood anchor assembly (see Figs. 14-15) including a base housing 69 and at least one elongate wood fastener 71, the base housing including a receptacle (see Figs. 14-15 where anchor housing 13 is being received in receptacle of the base housing 69) for receiving and supporting the anchor housing, the base housing further including an opening 26 for receiving the load bearing member, the receptacle and the opening generally aligned along the longitudinal axis (see Fig. 15 where opening 26 and the receptacle are aligned vertically),
a metal anchor assembly (see Fig. 16-17) including a bias member 83, a plate 15, and a nose-piece 85, the nose-piece including an anchor connector 87 for connecting to a nose connector (the Examiner interprets the portion of the housing 13 coupled to the one end of the fingers/connectors 87 to be a nose connector) of the anchor housing 13,
wherein, the anchor housing 13 is alternately connectable to the wood anchor assembly (see Figs. 14-15) and to the metal anchor assembly (see Figs. 16-17).
Regarding claim 2, Thompson discloses the cast-in-place anchor system of claim 1, wherein the nose-piece 85 further includes an opening 14 for receiving the elongate load bearing member 19, 21, the nose connector and the opening generally aligned along the longitudinal axis (see Fig. 17 where the nose connector and opening aligned vertically).
Regarding claim 7, Thompson discloses the cast-in-place anchor system of claim 1, wherein the jaw assembly includes threads (see threads 43 & 47 and 45 & 49 in Figs. 6-7) for the locking engaging and axially securing of the elongate load bearing member 19, 21.
Regarding claim 10, Thompson discloses a cast-in-place anchor assembly (see Fig. 5) for anchoring objects to a concrete structure after concrete pouring and concrete setting, the objects fastened to an elongated load bearing member (see threaded rods 19, 21) which is connected to the anchor assembly, the cast-in-place anchor assembly comprising:
an anchor housing 13, the anchor housing including an opening (central opening of the housing 13) therein along a longitudinal axis (vertical direction) thereof for receiving the elongate load bearing member (threaded rod 19, 21), the anchor housing also including a jaw assembly (see threaded locking regions 43 & 47 and 45 & 49) for lockingly engaging and axially securing the elongate load bearing member relative to the anchor housing (see Figs. 5-7),
an anchor body including a bias member 83, a plate 15, and a nose-piece 85, the nose-piece including an anchor connector (the Examiner interprets the portion of the housing 13 coupled to the one end of the fingers/connections 87 to be a nose connector) for connecting to a nose connector of the anchor housing 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 8-9, 11-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson in view of Reiling US3676986 (hereinafter, Reiling).
Regarding claim 3, Thompson discloses the cast-in-place anchor system of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the anchor connector and the nose connector engage with each other as a bayonet connection.
However, Reiling teaches a connection between a housing 20 and a cap 27, similar a nose piece and a housing respectively, having the anchor connector 29 and the nose connector 28 engage with each other as a bayonet connection (see column 2, lines 28-48).
It is the Examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified the anchor housing and the nose piece to have bayonet connector for mutually slidable interconnection, which is effective and easily removable compared to other type of connections, i.e. friction fit.
Regarding claim 4, Thompson discloses the cast-in-place anchor system of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the anchor connector and the nose connector engage with each other as a rotational lock connection.
However, Reiling teaches the anchor connector 29 and the nose connector 28 engage with each other as a rotational lock connection (see Figs. 2-3).
It is the Examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified the anchor housing and the nose piece to have rotational lock connection as taught by Reiling for mutually slidable interconnection, which is effective and easily removable compared to other type of connections, i.e. friction fit.
Regarding claim 8, Thompson teaches the cast-in-place anchor system of claim 1, wherein Thompson in view of Reiling teaches and/or make obvious of the anchor housing is lockably connected to the base housing (please refer to the rejection and rationale set forth in claim 3 above regarding bayonet connection).
Regarding claim 9, Thompson teaches the cast-in-place anchor system of claim 8, wherein Thompson in view of Reiling fails to teach that the lockable connection includes a friction fit between the base housing and the anchor.
However, Thompson does shows connection between the base housing and the anchor housing in Figs. 15 and 17 appear to be a friction fit.
However, it is the Examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have a friction fit between the base housing and the anchor for pre-loading of the anchor system to the structure since the anchor system is set to be installed in concrete or wood by nails securely. Also, the disclosure does not provide any evidence of the criticality of the friction fit in para. [0021 & 0024].
Regarding claim 11, The cast-in-place anchor system of claim 10, wherein the anchor connector and the nose connector engage with each other as a bayonet connection.
(Limitations in claim 11 are similar to claim 3. Therefore, Thompson in view of Reiling still teaches and/or make obvious of the limitations. Please refer to rejection and rationale set forth above in claim 3).
Regarding claim 12, The cast-in-place anchor system of claim 10, wherein the anchor connector and the nose connector engage with each other as a rotational lock connection.
(Limitations in claim 12 are similar to claim 4. Therefore, Thompson in view of Reiling still teaches and/or make obvious of the limitations. Please refer to rejection and rationale set forth above in claim 4).
Regarding claim 14, he cast-in-place anchor system of claim 13, wherein the selective removal is by friction fit.
(Limitations in claim 14 are similar to claim 9. Therefore, Thompson in view of Reiling still teaches and/or make obvious of the limitations. Please refer to rejection and rationale set forth above in claim 4).
Claims 5-6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson in view of Koenig US5730235 (hereinafter, Koenig).
Regarding claim 5, Thompson discloses the cast-in-place anchor system of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the anchor connector includes nose projections and the nose connector includes anchor projections and wherein the anchor projections and nose projections engage each other to connect the nose-piece to the anchor housing and the nose-piece is selectively removeable from the anchor housing.
However, Koenig teaches similar connection where the anchor connector 356 includes nose projections (see pings 356) and the nose connector (J-slot in tube 340 in Fig. 11) includes anchor projection (see J shape slot cut and projected sideways in Fig. 11) and wherein the anchor projections and nose projections engage each other to connect nose piece 350 to the anchor housing 340 and the nose-piece is selectively removeable from the anchor housing (see a bayonet-type locking in Fig. 11 which is capable of selectively removeable).
It is the Examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified the nose piece and the housing of Thompson to have projected nose-piece connector and anchor connector as taught by Koenig to prevent excessive loading, and to securely connects and align components to each other.
Regarding claim 6, Thompson in view of Koenig teaches the cast-in-place anchor system of claim 5, wherein the selective removal of Koenig is by twisting and axial movement of the nose-piece (see bayonet-type locking capability shown in Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 13, The cast-in-place anchor system of claim 10, wherein the anchor connector includes nose projections and the nose connector includes anchor projections and wherein the anchor projections and nose projections engage each other to connect the nose-piece to the anchor housing and the nose-piece is selectively removeable from the anchor housing.
(Limitations in claim 13 are similar to claim 5. Therefore, Thompson in view of Koenig still teaches and/or make obvious of the limitations. Please refer to rejection and rationale set forth above in claim 5).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 4 and 7-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/DIL K. MAGAR/Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675