DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “bayonet connection” in anchor housing is not shown in Figs. 2A-2C must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 10 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson US9181691 (hereinafter, Thompson) in view of Espinosa US20150184373 (hereinafter, Espinosa).
Regarding claim 1, Thompson discloses a cast-in-place anchor system for anchoring objects to a concrete structure after concrete pouring and concrete setting, the cast-in-place anchor system comprising:
an anchor housing 13, the anchor housing including an opening (central opening of the housing 13) therein along a longitudinal axis (vertical direction) thereof for receiving an elongate load bearing member (threaded rods 19 21), the anchor housing also including a jaw assembly (see threaded locking region 43 & 47 or 45 & 49 in Figs. 6-7) for lockingly engaging and axially securing the elongate load bearing member relative to the anchor housing (see Figs. 5-7),
a wood anchor assembly (see Figs. 14-15) including a base housing 69 and at least one elongate wood fastener 71, the base housing including a receptacle (see Figs. 14-15 where anchor housing 13 is being received in receptacle of the base housing 69) for receiving and supporting the anchor housing, the base housing further including an opening 26 for receiving the load bearing member, the receptacle and the opening generally aligned along the longitudinal axis (see Fig. 15 where opening 26 and the receptacle are aligned vertically),
a metal anchor assembly (see Fig. 16-17) including a bias member 83, a plate 15, and a nose-piece 85.
wherein, the anchor housing 13 is alternately connectable to the wood anchor assembly (see Figs. 14-15) and to the metal anchor assembly (see Figs. 16-17).
Thompson fails to expressly teach wherein the nose-piece including an anchor connector configured to releasably engage a nose connector of the anchor housing.
However, Espinosa teaches an anchor assembly for metal decks in Figs. 13-14. The nose piece 90 including an anchor connector (see threaded section 26 receiving male thread 98 in Fig. 14) configured to releasably engage a nose connector 98 of the anchor housing 96.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the housing in Thompson to be modified to be releasably engage a nose connector of the anchor housing as taught by Espinosa so the nose piece 90 is secured and held back from being pulled out as shown in Fig. 14.
Regarding claim 2, Thompson in view of Espinosa teaches and/or make obvious of the cast-in-place anchor system of claim 1, wherein Thompson further teaches the nose-piece 85 further includes an opening 14 for receiving the elongate load bearing member 19, 21, the nose connector and the opening generally aligned along the longitudinal axis (see Fig. 17 where the nose connector and opening aligned vertically).
Regarding claim 5, Thompson in view of Espinosa teaches and/or make obvious of the cast-in-place anchor system of claim 1, Espinosa further teaches wherein the anchor connector includes nose projections (see threads 26 in Fig. 14) and the nose connector includes anchor projection (see threads 98) and wherein the anchor projections and nose projections engage each other to connect the nose-piece to the anchor housing (see Fig. 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified the anchor connector and nose connector of Thompson to threaded connection as taught by Espinosa so the nose piece 90 is secured and held back from being pulled out as shown in Fig. 14.
Regarding claim 6, Thompson in view of Espinosa teaches and/or make obvious of the cast-in-place anchor system of claim 5, wherein Espinosa further teaches the selective removal is by twisting and axial movement of the nose piece.
It is the examiner’s position that Thompson modified by Espinosa teaches and/or make obvious of the such functional limitations of twisting and axial movement as threaded connection of threaded sections 98 and 26 in Fig. 14 requires such steps for selective removal.
Regarding claim 7, Thompson in view of Espinosa teaches and/or make obvious of the cast-in-place anchor system of claim 1, wherein Thompson further teaches the jaw assembly includes threads (see threads 43 & 47 and 45 & 49 in Figs. 6-7) for the locking engaging and axially securing of the elongate load bearing member 19, 21.
Regarding claim 10, As established in claim 1 above, Thompson in view of Espinosa teaches a cast-in-place anchor assembly (see Fig. 5 of Thompson) for anchoring objects to a concrete structure after concrete pouring and concrete setting, the cast-in-place anchor assembly comprising:
an anchor housing 13, the anchor housing including an opening (central opening of the housing 13) therein along a longitudinal axis (vertical direction) thereof for receiving the elongate load bearing member (threaded rod 19, 21), the anchor housing also including a jaw assembly (see threaded locking regions 43 & 47 and 45 & 49) for lockingly engaging and axially securing the elongate load bearing member relative to the anchor housing (see Figs. 5-7),
an anchor body including a bias member 83, a plate 15, and a nose-piece 85, the nose-piece including an anchor connector (the Examiner interprets the portion of the housing 13 coupled to the one end of the fingers/connections 87 to be a nose connector).
Thompson fails to teach wherein an anchor connector configured to releasably engage a nose connector of the anchor housing.
However, Espinosa teaches an anchor assembly for metal decks in Figs. 13-14. The nose piece 90 including an anchor connector (see threaded section 26 receiving male thread 98 in Fig. 14) configured to releasably engage a nose connector 98 of the anchor housing 96.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the housing in Thompson to be modified to be releasably engage a nose connector of the anchor housing as taught by Espinosa so the nose piece 90 is secured and held back from being pulled out as shown in Fig. 14.
Regarding claim 13, Thompson in view of Espinosa teaches and/or make obvious of the cast-in-place anchor system of claim 10, wherein the anchor connector includes nose projections and the nose connector includes anchor projections and wherein the anchor projections and nose projections engage each other to connect the nose-piece to the anchor housing.
(Limitations in claim 13 are similar to claim 5. Therefore, Thompson in view of Espinosa still teaches and/or make obvious of the limitations. Please refer to the rejection and rationale set forth above in claim 5).
Regarding claim 14, The cast-in-place anchor system of claim 13, wherein the releasably engagement is by friction fit.
(Limitations in claim 14 are similar to claim 10. Therefore, Thompson in view of Espinosa still teaches and/or make obvious of the limitations. Please refer to rejection and rationale set forth above in claim 4).
Claims 3-4, 8-9 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson in view of Espinosa, in further view of Reiling US3676986 (hereinafter, Reiling).
Regarding claim 3, Thompson in view of Espinosa teaches and/or make obvious of the cast-in-place anchor system of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the anchor connector and the nose connector engage with each other as a bayonet connection.
However, Reiling teaches a connection between a housing 20 and a cap 27, similar to a nose piece and a housing respectively, having the anchor connector 29 and the nose connector 28 engage with each other as a bayonet connection (see column 2, lines 28-48).
It is the Examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified the anchor housing and the nose piece to have bayonet connector for mutually slidable interconnection, which is effective and easily removable compared to other type of connections, i.e. friction fit.
Regarding claim 4, Thompson in view of Espinosa teaches and/or make obvious of the cast-in-place anchor system of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the anchor connector and the nose connector engage with each other as a rotational lock connection.
However, Reiling teaches the anchor connector 29 and the nose connector 28 engage with each other as a rotational lock connection (see Figs. 2-3).
It is the Examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified the anchor housing and the nose piece to have rotational lock connection as taught by Reiling for mutually slidable interconnection, which is effective and easily removable compared to other type of connections, i.e. friction fit.
Regarding claim 8, Thompson in view of Espinosa teaches the cast-in-place anchor system of claim 1, wherein Thompson in view of Reiling teaches and/or make obvious of the anchor housing is lockably connected to the base housing (please refer to the rejection and rationale set forth in claim 3 above regarding bayonet connection).
Regarding claim 9, Thompson in view of Espinosa teaches the cast-in-place anchor system of claim 8, wherein Thompson in view of Reiling fails to teach that the lockable connection includes a friction fit between the base housing and the anchor.
However, Thompson does shows connection between the base housing and the anchor housing in Figs. 15 and 17 appear to be a friction fit.
However, it is the Examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have a friction fit between the base housing and the anchor for pre-loading of the anchor system to the structure since the anchor system is set to be installed in concrete or wood by nails securely. Also, the disclosure does not provide any evidence of the criticality of the friction fit in para. [0021 & 0024].
Regarding claim 11, The cast-in-place anchor system of claim 10, wherein the anchor connector and the nose connector engage with each other as a bayonet connection.
(Limitations in claim 11 are similar to claim 3. Therefore, Thompson in view of Espinosa, in further view of Reiling still teaches and/or make obvious of the limitations. Please refer to rejection and rationale set forth above in claim 3).
Regarding claim 12, The cast-in-place anchor system of claim 10, wherein the anchor connector and the nose connector engage with each other as a rotational lock connection.
(Limitations in claim 12 are similar to claim 4. Therefore, Thompson in view of Espinosa, in further view of Reiling still teaches and/or make obvious of the limitations. Please refer to rejection and rationale set forth above in claim 4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s argument in response to previous drawing objection has been found unpersuasive because the applicant is claiming anchor housing 120 is alternately connectable to the wood anchor assembly or the metal anchor assembly (see claim 1), however examiner doesn’t see how the housing in Figs. 2A-2C is alternately connectable to metal anchor without the locking structure 128 in Fig. 2A-2C.
Therefore, previous drawing objection still stands.
Applicant argues Thompson does not disclose the anchor assembly is alternatively connectable to both.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Thompson discloses housing 13 being used in wood anchor in Figs. 14-15 and in metal anchor in Figs. 16-17. Hence, applicant’s argument has been found unpersuasive. Please refer to the rejection and rationale set forth above in claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DIL K. MAGAR/Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675